Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 217 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

217 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

3.0 stars

217 reviews | 3.1 out of 5

57%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
66
4 stars
43
3 stars
23
2 stars
18
1 stars
67
1-20 of 161 total reviews
57%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews
hassle not worth the price
2/7/2012

Customer review by lowtechmoma

2.0 stars 2/7/2012 by lowtechmoma
by lowtechmoma

I received my laptop three weeks ago and it turns out it was faulty, the keys got stuck and some keys did not work at all, I only used it about 36 hours, contacted company regarding warranty so shipped it back, should receive it back in a couple days, I never could get a representative on the phone regarding the status of the laptop for the past two weeks, so that I could get a refund and get another laptop, i have found in this experience it was not worth the hassle to buy a refurbished laptop.

Was this review helpful? (172) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lowtechmoma
southeast GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great price for a Dell
9/1/2012

Customer review by msdiamante

5.0 stars 9/1/2012 by msdiamante
by msdiamante

This was a good purchase. I have purchased a Dell refurb. desk top in the past and I haven't had any problems with it so I expected the same with this laptop. No scratches or signs of misuse on mine, connected to my wireless internet in a matter of minutes, so far working good.

Was this review helpful? (99) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msdiamante
Townville, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Average for the Price
2/17/2012

Customer review by Bohicarrl

2.0 stars 2/17/2012 by Bohicarrl
by Bohicarrl

Not sure if the laptop was refurbished at the factory, or someone just packaged it up (poorly) and shipped it. The screen, keyboard, case were filthy!....They might have "refurbished " it but they certainly didn't spend anytime cleaning the spills, crumbs, dirt from the unit. Cords and accessories were loose in the box. No other information was included. Otherwise, it appears to be working ok...., I'll have have a computer tech. do a diagnostic...make sure it's within working order.

Was this review helpful? (94) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bohicarrl
So. Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
probably worth about what I paid for it
7/18/2012

Customer review by Smedley60

2.0 stars 7/18/2012 by Smedley60
by Smedley60

After loosing my job, and thusly the need for a "high powered" laptop, the laptop I had crashed. So, I ordered a $200 Dell refurbished from WM. All I needed was some internet; and some basic office programs. The Dell refurbished machine gets a beautiful picture, and came with Windows 7, which you'll have to go thru the refurbisher's tech dept to get it registered, no matter what they say. However, no office programs, so instead of paying Microsoft for stuff I already had on the old laptop, I opted for "Open Office" (google it). Took the hard drive out of the old laptop, and turned it into an external drive, so got my files back. However, this Dell is so slow, it drives me crazy. If I hadn't loaded all this stuff on it already, I'd send it back, and add another $100 to it and get a faster machine. Now, don't get me wrong, it does work, but takes forever to open a file, or connect on the net.

Was this review helpful? (50) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smedley60
Northern Indiana near Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TERRIBLE!!!!
11/30/2012

Customer review by 17thkid

1.0 stars 11/30/2012 by 17thkid
by 17thkid

The laptop had a cracked cover and it was old. The laptop was a 2005 and was sold as a refurbished but didn't say it was really old. I took it back to the store and the clerk couldn't believe WalMart sold garbage! I should have taken pictures because it was unbelievable!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
17thkid
St. Augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Tried to be Eco-friendly.... Big mistake.
1/13/2013

Customer review by dmhardesty

1.0 stars 1/13/2013 by dmhardesty
by dmhardesty

Unfortunately, from the reviews I read I was excited about the refurbished laptop that could be used for my kids school work and projects. From the first time we powered the computer up, there was a problem, and has been every time since then. It is repacked and ready to be returned. But don't let this one bad review stop trying refurbished items, because I bought a refurbished Lexmark wireless printer, and it works great!

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmhardesty
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
computer newby
11/22/2012

Customer review by HopelessAttempt

1.0 stars 11/22/2012 by HopelessAttempt
by HopelessAttempt

I could not get it to anything I returned it after three days. The disc would not load and it would not connect to the internet.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HopelessAttempt
Edwardsville
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best for the offer and good warranty
2/4/2012

Customer review by kec4jdc

4.0 stars 2/4/2012 by kec4jdc
by kec4jdc

Only problem was the web-cam does not work otherwise my daughter is loving her laptop.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kec4jdc
Plant City, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great laptop for my purposes
10/26/2012

Customer review by A20F3A

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by A20F3A
by A20F3A

I use laptop on a WIFI anywhere in my home,I connected a wireless mouse and speakers for my use,runs all my applications with ease,great value

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
A20F3A
worthington,in.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Never buy a refurbished unit
1/12/2013

Customer review by Buckwheatsaythatbeotay

1.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Buckwheatsaythatbeotay
by Buckwheatsaythatbeotay

This item took a long time to ship and when it finally arrived it was defective. Several of the keys didn't work on the unit. I returned it and won't buy another.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Buckwheatsaythatbeotay
Fresno, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed in Joy Systems Lack of response.
1/25/2013

Customer review by Pebble13

1.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Pebble13
by Pebble13

I bought this Laptop and a 2 year extended warranty. Rec'd laptop 2 days early 01/12/2013 so that was a plus. But that's where it ends. Laptop touch pad inoperative and screen had various embedded spots. I was able to process the computer through initial boot setup through the keyboard tab and enter button. Was hoping that if I could get through the first boot up then the computer would recognize the issue but did not. I have worked on our home computers for the last 18 years, so I know a few things but wanted to not spend hours fixing something I just bought. I called their # which was not open on Sunday, understandable, then got right on task Monday morning at 9 am. Automatic answering service said techs were busy but someone would be with me soon, then 2 seconds went by, was asked to leave message. I called 5 times without leaving more messages but the same scenario...I E-mailed them as well, the following day called again, same scenario only this time the mail box was full. I decided this was not worth me having to fix this myself, and I surely could have, but it was just more worth the return to them in principle...I rec'd a call from Joy Systems on 1/20/2013 a mere 7 days after I called them. Not impressed at all. Wal-Mart took the return without a hitch in my local store and I called and rec'd my extended warranty as well. Had to do them separately for some reason. It was a nice laptop for the price and I was more than willing to work with person on the phone if I could have actually gotten a person on the phone to assist....the spots I may have been willing to live with ( hadn't really decided at that point) as I understand I was buying a refurb and was so hoping for a better result to get our company van up and running with computer mobility but all in all the main reason I returned it was lack of customer support from Joy Systems. I really suggest Wal-mart contract with a better company.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pebble13
Syr., NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Terrible experience.
10/30/2012

Customer review by Sagpa

1.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Sagpa
by Sagpa

Although the purchase and eventual return were easy, the computer was a total bust. It arrived with a power cord intended for a different country, which didn't really matter since the mousepad did not work. The computer was worthless. Obviously, there is no system in place to check that the refurbished products are packed correctly or even working properly.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sagpa
Downingtown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
the computer is a refurbished piece of junk!
1/25/2013

Customer review by DARE1

1.0 stars 1/25/2013 by DARE1
by DARE1

The laptop came with a broken power chord...I had to call joy systems and get a new one shipped. Then when I charged it up...the mouse didn't work... I bought this for my neice who is dying from from brain cancer...so she could type out her thoughts and emotions etc...and she has had the thing for a week and still can't use it! This is the worst purchase I have ever made and I will NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM WALMART.com EVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DARE1
Randolph, VT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dell Refurbished laptop
1/10/2013

Customer review by meme87533

1.0 stars 1/10/2013 by meme87533
by meme87533

The first day I used the laptop the mouse curser got stuck on me. It just froze up and I couldn't get it working again so I tried turning the laptop off, that didn't work, so I took the battery out and placed it back in but the thing wouldn't come back on. The power light would come on but the screen stayed blank. IT WAS DEFINITELY NOT REFURBISHED. I IMMEDIATELY RETURNED IT IN PERSON TO THE LOCAL STORE AND BOUGHT A NEW HP I will never take a chance on anything claiming to be refurbished just to save a couple bucks . You end up paying more with a headache when I couldve just bought it new from the beginning .

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
meme87533
Milwaukee Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
plan to return it.
1/24/2013

Customer review by curlychicken

1.0 stars 1/24/2013 by curlychicken
by curlychicken

missing screws and a dead battery.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
curlychicken
Dallas,GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not a good reconditioned product
1/27/2013

Customer review by Unhappycamper23455

1.0 stars 1/27/2013 by Unhappycamper23455
by Unhappycamper23455

Laptop was not factory refurbished... Case was cracked, scratched and the battery worn out... Not happy at all with product

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unhappycamper23455
Nsb fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
laptop is 6 years old, battery needs to be replace
1/26/2013

Customer review by mrrmatt

1.0 stars 1/26/2013 by mrrmatt
by mrrmatt

works okay but is old unit,walmark should make that clear. battery life 1/2 hour.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrrmatt
california
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/29/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/29/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT! LOVE IT!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
collinsville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good for a novice who has never had a computer
11/24/2012

Customer review by texasbee

4.0 stars 11/24/2012 by texasbee
by texasbee

This was purchased as a second home computer for my husband who has never gotten into computers other than for games. I wanted a second much lighter one for the occassional trip. This computer does not have any Microsoft software. The only word processing is with wordpad, which is okay for the occasional letter. He reads news online and does have a Facebook account. Start up was fairly easy and navigation quick. I took another reviewers advice and downloaded Microsoft Essentials as a spyware program. For a novice or a beginner or for traveling this computer will do just fine.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
texasbee
Southern Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/23/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 1/23/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Laptop arrived on time, which was great considering that it was a birthday present. However, when she opened it the lid was sticky. It had food grime imbedded in the keyboard, burn marks from high heat possibly an over charged battery, gouge marks in the case and hinge. I would not have given money for this thing. I ended up returning it to a local store and adding more money for a new laptop.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Portland, Or.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 161 total reviews
1-20 of 161 reviews