Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 12 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

12 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-12 of 12 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Excellent value and good looks.
7/17/2012

Customer review by DeadwoodPete

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by DeadwoodPete
by DeadwoodPete

After being away from mountain biking for nearly 5 years, I decided to get back into it. I looked hi and low for a new mtb for nearly 6 months when I finally decided on this Ironhorse Sinister 6.5 because of the price, and value. Like the last reviewer, 3000 dollars and up for a carbon fiber mtb is just way out of my league and simply put, just way ridiculous in cost. So the cost of this Ironhorse was exactly what I wanted to spend. I do plan on upgrading some components in the near future though such as the standard pedals to clip in style pedals, the seat because it will wear your rear out quickly, and the rear spring shock to a rock shox, and probably some Kenda tires. Overall I recommend this mtb for the value and good looks.

Was this review helpful? (25) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeadwoodPete
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Sinister 6.5
8/20/2012

Customer review by RugerMagnum

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by RugerMagnum
by RugerMagnum

I purchased 3 weeks ago a Ironhorse 6.2 from Walmart. I took it home and had problems with it immediately. I returned it to the store and exchanged it for another 6.2. I rode it for 2 weeks and the front Suntour forks developed a horrible squeak and the back hub was so loose that the wheel had a serious wobble. I returned it and kicked in the price difference for the sinister 6.5. I have had it for a week now and I am in total shock of the difference. This bike is really a good bike for the money. I need to adjust the front derailer a bit but nothing serious. Rides quiet and smooth. Changed out the handlebars for a set that has a 4" rise and can't believe the difference. The Rock-Shox suspension beats the Suntour suspension hands down. Really a nice bike! I ride 15 miles or more a day and love it.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RugerMagnum
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Low Price Full Suspension
6/18/2012

Customer review by neill050712

4.0 stars 6/18/2012 by neill050712
by neill050712

This is my first Full Suspension MTB, so the low price is what sold me. I would like to purchase a carbon fiber MTB one day, but, not at a price of $3000 and up. This bike is going to abused fairly hard this summer. Long rides of 30+ miles on-road, trails with mix of mud, sand, and thick brush. Every chance I have, I'll jump this bike into the river. This is a beater-bike for me. Pros: Low Price/Cost 24-speed trigger shift (i dislike the twist shift) Front fork Rock Shox Front and rear disk brake Adjustable full suspension Cons: Saddle (after 30min/5 miles it feels like there is no cushion) Very heavy bike 39.5lbs according to my scale Overall Review: Above average starter bike. The Sinister 6.5 upgraded components seem like a better value over the Sinister 6.2. I would recommend the Mongoose XR-Pro 29" if you can find it (better cost value and SRAM groupset). Watch YouTube videos, Sheldonbrown.com, and Bigboxbikes.com on how to adjust the derailuers and disk brakes. You'll enjoy the bike much more and save a ton of money once you learn how to make these adjustments yourself. The suspension smoothes out most bumps and the 29" wheels roll easy on all terrain. I'm 5'10" with a 32" inch inseam and top tube comes right up on me. I weight 225 lbs. so the saddle has to be replaced...plus me losing weight would help too. Ha!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
neill050712
Olive Branch, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Way above average entry level
12/18/2012

Customer review by volker87

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by volker87
by volker87

Totally blown away by the quality for the price. I would still upgrade some parts, but still a very attractive starting point and not very much to do to lighten the bike (39 and something pounds, no biggie). Went trailing at the snow hill trail in Florida, and this bike took the beating like a trooper. I've had it for a good two months now, using it four days a week, and two of those days on the trail. The bike is still in great shape, something you don't expect from a Walmart bike. Truly the 6.5 is an impressive bike and the price is unbeatable for what you get. Recommend 110%

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
volker87
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
3/29/2013

Customer review by ScottVampyre

5.0 stars 3/29/2013 by ScottVampyre
by ScottVampyre

I started riding bicycles to and from work in April 2012. from that date i have gone through 5 different bicycles(Mongoose hatchet, Mongoose deception, Genesis Two-Nine,Shwinn DSB, GMC denali) , each one had their own issues, from being to small (I am 6'2" ) to having mechanical issues like pedal arms breaking off. I then went into the sinister 6.5, it felt great for my size and doesn't seem to have any mechanical issues. I ride on 40-50 miles each day that I work, and in that the bike performs great.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ScottVampyre
Richardson,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
sweet ride
4/15/2013

Customer review by emdocpa

5.0 stars 4/15/2013 by emdocpa
by emdocpa

Everything i expected and much more

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emdocpa
pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome bike for beginner trail rider
6/10/2013

Customer review by Flyboy1979

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by Flyboy1979
by Flyboy1979

I am writing this review on my bike that I have owned for just over a month now. I purchased this bike as my first re-introduction to a hobby that I love so much. I owned two mountain bikes, one hard tail 29, and a full suspension 26, both were stolen while I was away at basic training. They were not "Wal-Mart" bikes, they costed me $1,200 for one and $2,000 for the other. I waited until now to write my review so that I would be sure not to let the new bike "giddies" affect my review. I would just like to say that I absolutely love this bike, I have beaten the daylights out of it, and so far, nothing has broken. I am a daily rider, I live in the middle of nowhere in a small rural area with plenty of places to ride. It has been through every obsticle imaginable, according to my bike computer it has just over 100 miles on it, and has never let me down. I will say this though, if you do purchase this bike go through it with a fine tooth comb, or take it to a bike shop and let them take a look at it. My front brake was squeaking when I first got it due to a misadjustment as well as the chain popped off the front sproket also from a misadjustment. It was not the bike just the assembler, not paying attention to the task at hand. Once everything was dialed in, it was on! For the price and quality of the parts, I would much rather had this bike. There is only one modification in the works for this bike, a Rock Shox rear shock, the factory one is definately the weakest link on the bike. Oh and just in case you didn't know, it has a $150 front suspension, you can verify this for yourself the factory front shocks is a Rock Shox XC 28 TK Mg 29. You can find this at SRAM.com click on the Rock Shox icon at the top then, products, then XC on the left of the screen, it is on the bottom right. I hope this review is helpful, thanks for your time, and happy cycling!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flyboy1979
Alpine, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Bells & Whistles + Sturdy + Outstanding Price
9/7/2013

Customer review by SouthTexasRider

4.0 stars 9/7/2013 by SouthTexasRider
by SouthTexasRider

Got this bike in December of 2012 (Christmas). Got it instead of a higher-end bike because it had all of the features I wanted (29", Shimano Shifters, Front & Rear Suspension, Front & Rear Disc Brakes) at a fraction of the price. I was skeptical at the beginning because it did cost a couple of hundred bucks and there were some scratches on it fresh out of the box. Also, the crank needed tightening, the gears needed adjustments and the front brakes were a bit tight. Since ironing out the aforementioned details I have grown very fond of this bike. I have used it extensively on some rough South Texas trails and the open road, and it has never failed me. Furthermore, it has delivered a great ride throughout. If you are looking for a sturdy bike, equipped all the bells and whistles, and for a great price, then this may very well be the bike for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthTexasRider
Laredo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not worth it
4/1/2013

Customer review by k9mmm

3.0 stars 4/1/2013 by k9mmm
by k9mmm

Bought it to get back into MTB riding and didn't want to spend a ton of money so I purchased. Bike came damaged on frame ,and handlebars. Iron horse service was no help so I had to bring back the bike I waited two weeks to get. Came with cheaper tires than that were supposed to come on bike. Cheap crank, brakes, rear shock. Heavy!!!!. Good looking bike but needs upgrades. If the price was more reasonable it would be worth the upgrading. At $479.00 it is no deal. A good hard tail would be a better purchase for that money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
k9mmm
N. Conway NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Rear Brake had a manufacturer defect
8/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This bike came without any adjustment to the shifter and brakes. The rear brake disfunctioned after four or five rides. I am not sure what to do yet. Try to find out whether this bike has any warrantee at all. I took it to the local bike shop. Thay told me it'd cost $100 for the part and $20 for installation to replace the brake.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cupertino, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
6/3/2013

Customer review by FitzM

4.0 stars 6/3/2013 by FitzM
by FitzM

Great bike, get what you pay for: on the heavy side: overall great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FitzM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bike only for real beginners.
8/26/2013

Customer review by MTBMike

3.0 stars 8/26/2013 by MTBMike
by MTBMike

I got the bike expecting a little more than what I got. The rear suspension does not give very much travel, it isn't very comfortable. Also the day I got it, the non-drive crack arm fell off and stripped the bottom bracket. I love the front suspension and the looks of it. Pros. Good front suspension Good looks Cons. Bad rear suspension Bad crank set Horrible tires (no grip on flowy trails) Uncomfortable

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MTBMike
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.