Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 44 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

44 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
4
1-20 of 43 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews
good solid commuter with a little extra ruggedness
5/21/2012

Customer review by lowearthorbit

4.0 stars 5/21/2012 by lowearthorbit
by lowearthorbit

first off, i almost missed seeing this bike as it was quite new and i had done research before going to the stores, but hadn't encountered this model. but i was pleasantly surprised when it was brought down from the rack. (at this point i have to compliment the extremely helpful and patient associate that helped me with a great attitude, kudos to him!) this seems to be a sturdy yet versatile framed bike with lots of potential. i know i can safely ride trails and dirt roads and ditch-banks with ease and still have a quick, smooth ride on pavement as well. 21 speeds seems plenty for me, as i know i will find about 5- 7 favorites to use. the shifting system worked great off the rack. the tires are a nice hybrid being somewhat thin for a mountain bike, yet much more rugged and adept than most hybrid or cruiser types. i attached all my accessories and was still astonished at how light this bike was. i am still on the fence about the brakes on this bike, but as i learn more about them and tune them, they may suffice nicely, or i may look into switching over to a disk brake system in the future. the seat seemed adequate in the store, however for any length of riding i'm sure it would begin to develop resentment, so i grabbed a cushioned seat cover to help out and it is quite comfortable. for the money i spent on this bike and the accessories, i expect that i will get a lot of value from this bike, first things getting upgraded will be the inner tubes and the brake system, but aside from that, i may not need to do much more to it. you would have a hard time beating the value of this bike if it fits your style of riding. can be bought with confidence, i believe.

Was this review helpful? (82) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lowearthorbit
Rio Rancho, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike Get it!!
4/12/2013

Customer review by Bruroz

5.0 stars 4/12/2013 by Bruroz
by Bruroz

Coming from a person that has put over 7000 miles on a Trek 5.2 Madone this bike for the money is a buy. There are people that put the problem as built and problems blah blah blah. Its because they pay someone who doesn't know much about bikes to put them together. I recommend take it to a bike shop pay 30 bucks and have it tuned if you don't do this you cant give it a review because its not the bikes fault someone carelessly put it together. Anyway, its balanced well light and rides smooth looks great! Is it a Trek 5.2 for...no but for the money you cant go wrong!! I am giving this a 5 out of 5 based on the other bikes in this market group. Schwinn hit the bulls-eye with this one....or pacific cycle glad to see the Schwinn name continue to go on.

Was this review helpful? (57) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bruroz
Destin, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great upgrade bike
11/28/2013

Customer review by Mailman2181

5.0 stars 11/28/2013 by Mailman2181
by Mailman2181

I purchased this model after going to WalMart to buy a different one. I got it home and took several hard rides with it over the weekend with no problems. It shifts like a dream, corners great, and has given me no problems. There is a clicking in one if the rear gears, but is tolerable. Probably just a bent tooth. I haven't experienced any of the shifting problems that some of the other reviewers have. I ride my bike hard and it has kept up with me. Compared to my old steel mtn bike, this is incredibly lightweight, but durable and comfortable.

Was this review helpful? (27) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mailman2181
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Buy
7/5/2012

Customer review by abk911

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by abk911
by abk911

I am 6 ft, 165 pounds. I evaluated and tested a whole lot of bikes before finalizing this. Compared with: Mongoose deception, mongoose hatchet, genesis 29ers, other schwinn models and some off the shelf bikes. Other bike that came close was schwinn varsity or something (road bike) but dcb is both road and bit off road. what i like abt schwin dcb: 1) dual purpose on road and off road. I am not jumping rocks so should be fine. 2) very light and sleek 3) has a rich grip and feel to it - once you sit on it you would know 4) gear shift is kewl... better than a hatchet and mongoose. Genesis had a similar one. 5) one mongoose i sat on had a tire burst right in the walmart even when i am mere 165 pounds - so completely ran away from it (it may be good but u know first impression) 6) Hatchet was second contender - looked and felt like a lion... however lost out on color (this is black and hatchet is red :(, lost out on gear system, lost out on handle grip and feel, and yes the hybrid tires in schwinn dcb are really kewl with black spokes and a racer look. (they are 700c so hoping they dont blow out every turn thats the only worry i have. I am yet to go on long rides - so lets see how it does. would i recommend... i promise you its one sweet looking ride...

Was this review helpful? (43) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abk911
Orange CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Sleek Design with Elegant Color Combination
6/12/2012

Customer review by OceanPacific29

3.0 stars 6/12/2012 by OceanPacific29
by OceanPacific29

One evening, I went to a Walmart Store in Laguna Niguel to check on bikes. When I saw this bike, it immediately caught my eye. The combination of a sleek design, unique frame color, and reasonable price; I decided to put this item on hold & promised to purchase it the following day as I wasn't prepared to transport it with my Camry. The next day I borrowed my wife's van & was able to transport the bike home without a glitch. I eventually purchased a bike trunk mounted carrier bracket to allow for transport with my sedan. So far, this bike is okay, it's a lot better than my former mountain bike in weight & looks. However, one big concern about this bike is that the front derailleur hasn't work perfectly. Every time I change gear from #3 to #2, it never worked immediately; changing gear settings was not a smooth transition, and didn't happen when I switched it to my desired settings. It's a pain, especially when you're approaching a hill that requires gear changing. My experience with this bike's gear apparatus has not been very satisfactory, as I never experienced this problem with my old mountain bike. Hopefully this review will be helpful to those considering to purchased it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OceanPacific29
Dana Point
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great price for a Hybrid!
2/20/2014

Customer review by Mobius88

5.0 stars 2/20/2014 by Mobius88
by Mobius88

I've been searching along for a best bikes around, on what's good for road bikes, on whats good for off-road also. But then i found out about DSB stands for Dual Sports Bike, means that this can be used by Road Bike & Off-Road Bike for the price of one and for the better quality! Much much recommend this bike to a friend or family! have a good one guys! :)

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mobius88
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good value for the price
6/11/2013

Customer review by CString2

4.0 stars 6/11/2013 by CString2
by CString2

I recently purchased two of these bicycles. The order process was easy and they were delivered sooner than promised. I checked these out in the store before purchasing online, so I knew what I was getting. Very good bikes. Smooth and easy ride. I'm happy with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CString2
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice bike at a great price but POORLY BUILT
8/19/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 8/19/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this bike last night to replace an aging mountain bike. I was pleased with the construction and light weight of the bike. It was comfortable as it was not a full road bike but still had road bike features. The price at $250 is very attractive compared to the real roadbikes found at independent retailers. BUT, the front gear assembly on this bike is VERY poor quality. I test road it this morning and it was BAD. The front gears grind, howl and click. I am on my way back to Wal-Mart to return this bike. Do your self a favor and perform an internet search and you will find countless stories of the VERY same problem. I thought I had finally found the perfect bike but that was not the case.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Springfield, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Really nice bike....
10/30/2013

Customer review by PetefromTn

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by PetefromTn
by PetefromTn

I bought this bike for my wife so we could ride the local greenways with our kids together. She absolutely loves it and we ride a lot on relatively long distances each time we ride. I ride a recumbent bike and she tows my youngest daughter on a tag a long bike with this bike. So far even on hills and tougher rides she has been able to keep a quick pace and she enjoys it. The bike is actually quite nice to ride and has a comfortable seating position and excellent brakes. I have not experienced the front derailleur issues some have apparently seen. The bike shifts nice and the front shock does a nice job of smoothing out the road. I have ridden it quite a few times myself and I weigh 210 lbs and it is still comfortable and capable for me. I am actually going to get one for myself here soon as I can. It is also a very attractive looking bike with the bent lower tube and reach forward headset. We are now getting some goodies for it like a water bottle and mirrors etc for her to more enjoy the ride. I am wondering if the issue with the deraileur some see is not just a poor initial setup that needs adjusting. Peace

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PetefromTn
Maryville,Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Anything better anywhere near this price?
4/23/2013

Customer review by VeganAZ

4.0 stars 4/23/2013 by VeganAZ
by VeganAZ

First off, I've only gone about 100 miles on this bike so far, total. I'm 6' 2" 160lb. No other bike fit as well (most seats were ... jabby). Does the shifting work silky-smooth? No. Would some $1,700 bike work better? No doubt. But for $249, I didn't see anything that came close. My Schwinn Woodlands lasted 25 years. I'll be 70 if this bike lasts as long. Here's hoping!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VeganAZ
Tucson, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
This is a NIGHT MARE BIKE FOR REPLACEMENT TIRES!!
8/22/2013

Customer review by Leoisstellar1

4.0 stars 8/22/2013 by Leoisstellar1
by Leoisstellar1

I bought this bike during the Winter when Wal-Mart had them as a product in-store. It is a very good bike and carries a lot of gear. Does as a bike is expected to do. This bike is a total nightmare to find replacement tires. I have ridden my bike some 500 miles, and returned to Wal-Mart for replacement tires, and did not find any. Wal-Mart does not even carry the tires for the bike. I have been trying tire after tire to fit this bike and its not happening for me at all. The Local REI wants 40.00 dollars for 1 tire. I give this a 5 in the bike ratings as good but buyer beware!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Leoisstellar1
United States-Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good bike, will require adjustments
8/15/2012

Customer review by Smitty2004

4.0 stars 8/15/2012 by Smitty2004
by Smitty2004

I bought this bike after reviewing serveral others including the Schwinn OR2 which I liked the color scheme better, but it was $300 @ Target vs $250 for the DSB at Walmart. Everything on them is identical, the only difference is the color and the stores selling them. Not willing to pay $50 just for a paint scheme I bought this one. For the money this is a great bike with good shimano parts, fairly light weight frame. However I did run into some trouble after a week of riding it. I used it to ride to/from work which is 6 miles each direction. After a couple rides, I started noticing a noise from the rear hub. After checking it I noticed that rear cassette (gears) were loose and wobbled a bit. I called Schwinn and they shipped out a new cassette. So while I waited for that to arrive I figured I'd keep riding. Which I shouldn't have. I also noticed that the master link in the chain looked like it was crooked and on my next ride home from work it snapped while I was trying to cross a street. Bit embarrased, but lucky I don't live that far from home. So I'm still waiting on the replacement part from Schwinn but I'm going to just take the bike as it is now and exchange it for another one. I'll be checking gears, chain and wheel trueness before I walk out this time. If the everything works well, this is a great commuter bike with the opportunity

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smitty2004
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great bike for the money.
5/3/2014

Customer review by tuckerj4

5.0 stars 5/3/2014 by tuckerj4
by tuckerj4

I have been riding a Cruiser (no gears) for a couple of years and decided to get something that would make climbing hills a little easier on me. Not getting any younger. The bike came to my home and assembly took about an hour. After assembly all I had to adjust was the rear derailleur. I have ridden the bike about 20 miles and it is great on the road. I did buy another seat though. I must be a sissy because I could not handle the seat that came with the bike.

Was this review helpful? (11) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tuckerj4
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great bike for the price
3/28/2014

Customer review by ticorider

5.0 stars 3/28/2014 by ticorider
by ticorider

This is a nice looking bike and great performer if it is put together right. You will have no major issues with this bike if you get a good bike mechanic to assemble it or to check it out after you buy it. You never know who puts this bikes together so it is not that the bike comes with problems, but whoever puts it together. Once you pass the inspection, you will see how great this bike performs. My wife and I own one each and are enjoying it every day. No issues whatsoever because it was done right the first time.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ticorider
U.S.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
PLEASE READ THIS REVIEW
8/20/2012

Customer review by Chefjer

1.0 stars 8/20/2012 by Chefjer
by Chefjer

This was the second DSB I returned to Walmart the issue was the front derailleur,would not shift gears,I had to take it to a local bike shop and their reccommendation was to put a heavier derailleur on 30.00 later new cable new derailleur,2 days later hit the bike trail and the chain popped crossing an intersection,returned the bike,I learned my lesson,I purchased another bike from another Sports Authoritive store where they have real bike mechanics and better products.These Schwinn bikes are not the bikes we grew up with,spend the couple xtra bucks its worth the agrivation

Was this review helpful? (11) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chefjer
TURNERSVILLE NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
5/8/2013

Customer review by TheRoBLeeZY

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by TheRoBLeeZY
by TheRoBLeeZY

All in all this is a verry good bike. I take my kids for bike rides at least 3-5 times a week! This bike stops on a dime and get up to speed quick, then I can change to a lower gear and just cruse if I want! I haven't had any probs. with this bike except a lil clicking noise coming from the front gears, when I change gears? Not all the time, just i think in 2-3, & 4th gears? I'm Shure it's not that big of a deal, but this bike was $249.99 plus tax! It should be quite when changing gears ya know! I plan on doing a lot of riding this summer and this is the perfect bike for bike trails, then the streets of down town Sac. See ya around!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheRoBLeeZY
West Sacramento, CALI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good but not Great
7/11/2012

Customer review by TLC48

3.0 stars 7/11/2012 by TLC48
by TLC48

After doing a lot of bike research I originally decided on a Schwinn ATB, but none were available approximately 3 months ago, and I saw this one at the store, so purchased it. Immediately had trouble with the front shifter not working properly while the rear worked flawlessly. Spent several hours studying and adjusting the front shifting and got it acceptable for my use. It is still a bit hesitant on up shifting from 2 to 3. My riding is usually from 5 to 10 miles at a time and the front suspension really smooths out the rough roads in my area. There's no vertical handlebar adjustment other than a slight rotation in the clamp to raise it slightly, but it was enough for me. I would love to be able to recommend this bike but with the front shifting issues, I cannot.

Was this review helpful? (13) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TLC48
Northwest Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great bike Frame and Gears, Struggled with tubes
7/29/2013

Customer review by Adamantium

2.0 stars 7/29/2013 by Adamantium
by Adamantium

I purchased this bike despite all of the low ratings and issues describing gear and tire issues. I purchased it because i didn't want to wait a week for the "seventh Avenue" bike order online and this was available right away in store. I had nothing but issues since i brought it home, i went through tubes before i brought it back and just waited for the alternate. Note: I wasn't even riding the DSB when the tube blew. It sat overnight and the other blew when I was installing the components like a back rack and bottle holder.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adamantium
Sanford, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good bike for money
6/12/2014

Customer review by alex8888

3.0 stars 6/12/2014 by alex8888
by alex8888

when i assembled the bike - i found that rear tire was blown at one spot, did look like smth hit the wheel. box was not damaged. overall the bike was ready to go - slight breaks adjustments. Gears switching was ok - but i would definitely take it to tune up rear gear to the shop. the bike has wider tires than schwinn seventh avenue that i have ordered too. the ride is very comfortable and smooth on pavements. it is slightly heavier than 7th ave. the seat is cheaper than on seventh ave. There is no dust covers for shocks like on seventh. but other components are the same. i have to return bike because of damage on rear wheel and blown tire. both wheels have slightly 'eights'. that is why i put 3 stars versus 5 stars. overall, well made bike with inexpensive components. frame size is 18''.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alex8888
redmond
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
700c Schwinn Men's DSB Sport Bike
12/26/2014

Customer review by JeffD654456

5.0 stars 12/26/2014 by JeffD654456
by JeffD654456

We gave this bike to my 13year old son for Christmas and this bike is better than imagined. For the money and the price was right; this bike is awesome. It has an aluminum frame, solid components, thin hybrid tires and a quick ride The components are great and solid. It is really easy to shift gears. I didn't spend the money on a more expensive bike to get disc brakes. If I had a complaint-wishlist, it would be that it had disc brakes. It would have been about $80 more It is light, aluminum frame with thin wheels, it is a fairly quick bike. We plan to use for road, city greenway traills, etc. Also, at the last minute, I bought my wife a bike for the same amount at Dick's sporting goods. That bike is junk.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeffD654456
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 43 total reviews
1-20 of 43 reviews