Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
4
1-17 of 17 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Buy!!!
8/5/2012

Customer review by abk911

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by abk911
by abk911

Comparing to: Mongoose deception, mongoose hatchet, schwinn dsb tried all 4 bikes and here are my inputs: Schwinn DSB: Best overall bike but the front derailleur system is a mess. It is not a smooth change and i think thats a standard issue with any bike that has a 3 step front derailleur. other than that the bike was gorgeous. overall my heart still aches for this hybrid but no rear suspension and poor front shifts make it a difficult thing to retain. the only real pro... it has a 43" front height - tallest i have seen. Mongoose Deception: looked very cheaply built for my taste. All the ones in the shop were not smooth to roll. I know you can adjust things better but i like to see the mess i am buying and the lesser the mess the better Mongoose Hatchet: definitely better than the deception but again i dint get "this is my bike" feel from it. now: Iron horse 6.1: where should i start: the front shifter is not a 3 step shifter it is a series of down and up clips that enable you to give more or less tension. i think this works better cause the "3 hard stop" shifts usually require the front cable tension to be absolutely perfect - that to many could be an adjustment nightmare. But with this "so called cheap" front set up you can push a mark up or down and get the gears to move up- and down. I checked this on 4 bikes and now my 3 rides and it seems to work great... crossing my fingers... Other Pros: 1) Lovely feel to the bike 2) 39.5 inch front height - i had to buy a riser to get to the schwinn dsb height 3) lovely full suspension and awesome rear suspension for the price Cons: 1) a bit on the expensive side but worth it 2) a bit heavy 3) seat u will have to upgrade (but that you will need for all bikes and i am sure you know). I am using a Schwinn deluxe saddle. Hope this reviews help you guys... i say buy a 150$ bike or if u are picky buy this above 300 one.. anything in between will always give heartache...

Was this review helpful? (37) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
abk911
Orange CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great bike once personalilized
7/19/2012

Customer review by netmazter

5.0 stars 7/19/2012 by netmazter
by netmazter

the included seat hurts when your on it for more than 15min. after changing the seat the bike is wonderfull. one thing that I didn't think of before buying this bike the large tires are nice and ride smooth but you feel the wind alot more when it hits the side of the bike. all in all I am quite happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
netmazter
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Shoddy and poorly made
7/22/2012

Customer review by macmondo

1.0 stars 7/22/2012 by macmondo
by macmondo

I bought one of these and got it home and took it out for a spin. I got about 3 miles from home and tried to shift into high and the chain jumped the sprocket and jammed into the chain guard so hard that it broke the chain guard which turned out to be plastic. Really? A plastic chain guard on a $300 bike? It was jammed so hard the it had to be disassembled to fix. A nice 3 mile walk home. After that every attempt to shift into high caused the chain to jump. I went through the bike carefully and found the front derailleur was damaged beyond repair. Just about every screw on the bike was loose and RUSTED. I should also mention that the seat on the bike could double a torture device. Just about everything about this bike is shoddy. I was disappointed because Iron Horse used to have a good reputation. I did some checking and found out that some company called Dorel bought out Iron Horse bicycle so they could use the name. That is all you are getting now...the name. I took it back and got a refund. At least Walmart is great about that. Great service and zero hassles. They told me they hired a company to assemble their bikes. They were very upset also.

Was this review helpful? (17) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
macmondo
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
FANTASTIC BIKE!
7/8/2013

Customer review by ThePandaInPalmBay

5.0 stars 7/8/2013 by ThePandaInPalmBay
by ThePandaInPalmBay

Let me just start by saying, I am a 500+ lb man. I wanted a bike because I live about a mile from the closest bus stop, and I don't have a car, and I need the bus to get to school and back almost daily. I knew I wanted a 29 inch wheel (I mean, if you're big enough to ride it, who wouldn't? and I am also 6'5" tall.) I sat on this bike for the first time, and did not bottom out the tires, OR the springs, so, though it was a little more than I wanted to spend, i bought it. I HAVE NOT BEEN DISSAPOINTED! I absolutely LOVE this bike, it holds up to my weight well (which means those of you who are normal size will not have ANY problems with such things...) and flies like the wind, the more you push, the faster it goes (of course) and takes it all without a squeek. I am SO glad to be able to ride again, I cannot overstate how much I love this bike. seriously. (I did change the seat out, and angle the front of the seat down more than it came with out of the box, but other than that... SPOT on.) (you MAY want to tighten the brakes a little too, but that's personal preference... like the seat.)

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ThePandaInPalmBay
Palm Bay Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
eh... got it in the mail and had some issues
8/4/2013

Customer review by ehtothebike

3.0 stars 8/4/2013 by ehtothebike
by ehtothebike

over all i guess the bike is ok, my husband is kinda forced to like it even though i told him to return it and here is why: when we got it shipped to our house and we started to put it together we noticed the handle was flipped around. we had to unscrew it and adjust it to how its suppose to be. (maybe it was flipped to fit in the box idk) the second thing was when tightening the bolts, since we had to turn the handles around, the bolts didnt tighten. the handle was loose and something seemed off. somehow he manged to tighten it so it wouldnt move but almost stripping the bolt. if it was me i would have returned it but my husband is a mr. fix it so i let him deal with it. over the bike was easy to put together and is nice to ride. all i have to say is u better be tall to ride this bc im 5'1 and this bike is WAY too big for me. my husband is 6'1 so this bike is good for his long legs. if it didnt have those kicks i would have gave it 5 stars but we hand to work with what we had.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ehtothebike
garden grove, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Problem with the assembly.
9/16/2012

Customer review by LIRusty

1.0 stars 9/16/2012 by LIRusty
by LIRusty

I am unable to determine whether the bike is a good product or not. Whoever assembled the bike completely stripped the rear brake assembly in the process. The rear brake does not work at all. I now have to go through the process of returning the bike and am unable to go biking with my family. It is almost impossible for the person who assembled the bike not to notice this. It is very disappointing to see the lack of pride taken in the workmanship.

Was this review helpful? (9) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LIRusty
Long Island, New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Rides nice
6/10/2013

Customer review by tofiq

5.0 stars 6/10/2013 by tofiq
by tofiq

I have had the bike for a few months and can hardly find anything to complain about besides the seat, which I changed out and I had to adjust the derailleur. The bike wasn't assembled 100% to my expectations but watch some videos on youtube and you can figure it out and fine tune all the small issues. I adjusted the brakes several times including brake force and disc wobble. I also trued the wheels myself so they would spin straight instead of wobbling. Took a few tries and a couple of inexpensive tools but I got it down. Suspension works great, I mostly ride around my neighborhood and often in the dirt or trails around the house and the bike is awesome. Handles nicely, eats up bumps with full suspension and offers a good ride height for taller riders. I did upgrade to a longer stem because I was having to lean hard on the handle bars even with which made my hands and back hurt. Longer stem helped with a more comfortable riding position as well as better control on the trails. Hope this helps

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tofiq
Spring, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/7/2013

Customer review by wRENCH72

5.0 stars 9/7/2013 by wRENCH72
by wRENCH72

I,ve been a mechanic for 24 years,i had the bike shipped.and it was easy put together.The 29 in wheels have much larger hubs than a 26 in tire.fully assembled everthing is real tight.I put grease fittings in both hubs and crank so you don't have to take the hubs apart to grease them.Im 296lbs and the suspension responds great.alot the bad reveiews I ve read most of the problems are improper assembly.Have a bike shop tune it for you,its worth it.Ive ridden my 120 miles it shifts great all the bearings are tight.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wRENCH72
S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
29" Iron Horse
2/18/2013

Customer review by GCar80

4.0 stars 2/18/2013 by GCar80
by GCar80

Good Bike, especially for the price, only down side is the rock hard seat, will need to replace or buy mtb shorts.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GCar80
Escondido, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/27/2013

Customer review by Raineday

1.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Raineday
by Raineday

gears don't work right, never received my service paper work, need to pay someone to fix it a disapointment

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raineday
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bike was great, Service needed work...
10/26/2013

Customer review by Sigwab

4.0 stars 10/26/2013 by Sigwab
by Sigwab

Bike is a great product, took half a day to assemble (as I've never put a bike together before) some of the parts come in the box backward. I bought this product as a "pick-up in store same day" but it took a week to get there, when it did I got the box and Walmart didn't assemble it (which would have been done if I "picked-up in store same day") however it didn't say anything about any assembly required until the final email (saying it was ready to be picked-up some assembly required). The bike itself once assembled is a truly great bike and has great features. I take it to a local bike shop for tuning and they were all surprised with how great a bike I got for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sigwab
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Mountain Bike!!
5/22/2013

Customer review by BIP0LAR1

5.0 stars 5/22/2013 by BIP0LAR1
by BIP0LAR1

Decided to get back into biking after many years. This bike is great, especially if you have long legs. The 29" tires are very nice. I picked it up already assembled, and everything works perfect. Only thing I did replace was the seat. Helped out so much!! Now I can ride for hours.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIP0LAR1
Palatka, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awful
10/4/2013

Customer review by BamBamBoo

1.0 stars 10/4/2013 by BamBamBoo
by BamBamBoo

Bought this for my husband's birthday. The bike looks great and has loads of features. For the money you seem to be getting a lot. The first time my husband took this bike for a ride and changed the gears, the gears moved got caught in the spokes, bent, and the bike was completely jammed up and useless. Bike was returned and I got a full refund. Such a pity.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BamBamBoo
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
9/6/2013

Customer review by playtimemom2

4.0 stars 9/6/2013 by playtimemom2
by playtimemom2

The bike is very nice. The one we recieved had a mark on it when it arrived at our house but we contacted Wal-Mart and they made it good with us they told us a few things they could do and we got to decide which we wanted. But our 12 year old son loves it. He said it's a little hard getting use to how everything works but this is his first bike that has different gears. My husband and I wasn't sure if the 29 inch would be to big or not but with the seat all the way down it works for our son and he still has room to grow. He has had alot of people comment on how nice it is. This is a beautiful bike also if you like Harley Davidson's then you would love this bike the color is perfect for that.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
playtimemom2
Nokomis, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great starter bike for the$$
11/15/2013

Customer review by rvac

3.0 stars 11/15/2013 by rvac
by rvac

Its definitely not a down hill race bike, but it will do the job for many. I'm 6'3 330 and so far so good for a evening neighborhood ride.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rvac
riverside,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great road bike ONLY, not for rough riding!
8/10/2013

Customer review by Avidbikerliker

4.0 stars 8/10/2013 by Avidbikerliker
by Avidbikerliker

Ordered bike on Wednesday, received on Friday. Fast! Warning: This is a huge bike. In terms of size, it's long and tall. I am 6'1. With the seat all the way down, my feet barely touch the ground. Yes it's that tall. Bike measures, fully assembled, 6 1/2 feet long...yes it's a very long, front to back bike and very tall! Bike was shipped in a double box. Very well protected. Easy easy easy to set up. MUST HAVE ALLEN WRENCHES. For being a dual suspension bike, with front and rear disc breaks, I am totally impressed with quality! Please do not think this is a "true" mountain bike....it's a street bike. There is even a label under the front forks that say, no jumping, no downhill riding. Doing so may be hazardous. The bike is super fun to ride, the big 29in wheels ride like a dream. Very smooth. Very responsive. I'm totally impressed with the disc breaks. It's common to get "slightly warped" disc but mine are perfect! Even the rims spin with no wobble, no warps! The ONLY major complaint is the seat! It's bad. Had to get a gel cover for $20. Now it's much better!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Avidbikerliker
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bike arrived damaged
11/19/2012

Customer review by Shelley44

2.0 stars 11/19/2012 by Shelley44
by Shelley44

Bike arrived damaged, and still trying to fix the knocking and rubbing noises that occur when trying to ride the bike. The rear tire was tightened to tightly from the factory and caused the tire to be out of alignment. We managed to correct that that now there is an extremely loud knocking coming form somewhere.

Was this review helpful? (1) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shelley44
Crestview, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.