Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 66 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

66 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
57
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
4
1-20 of 62 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
12/2/2012

Customer review by Bodacious1966

5.0 stars 12/2/2012 by Bodacious1966
by Bodacious1966

I have used this dutch oven for a while and I have never had a problem. I use low heat on my induction stovetop. The foods you cook will leave browning bits that can then be used to make flavorful sauces. You also need to use oil to cook with this. It does not have a non stick surface, and that's the point...to get those tasty brown bits. I use this dutch oven for braising, browning, frying, and recipies that call for stovetop to oven. It's awesome. Clean with a non abrasive sponge. Soak if there are stuck on bits. I dry mine right after washing, and it still looks beautiful. It's a heavy piece of kitchen equipment. But it conducts heat evenly, and is oven safe, too. Don't expect a flimsy covered pot. By the way, America's Test Kitchen listed this Dutch oven as their best buy. After testing different brands of Dutch ovens, they presented this Dutch oven as the value alternative to the LeCruset $300+ dollar Dutch oven. Visit their website for great recipes you can use with this essential piece of kitchen equipment.

Was this review helpful? (80) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bodacious1966
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My favorite new pot
1/3/2013

Customer review by 323rose

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by 323rose
by 323rose

A very heavy pot but love it! I've only used it a few times and intend for it to be my go to pot and am very happy with it so far. I asked my husband to get it for me for Christmas because I couldn't bring myself to pay $60 for a pot just because at any other time of the year which is why I gave a four star rate on the value. Time will tell if it's worth five stars at the cost of $60. With that said, it seems to cook evenly and a little faster using less liquids than my usual dutch pots and sticking so far isn't an issue. I try to make sure also that I use either a wooden or plastic spoon to keep from scratching the porcelain to ensure it's proper durability as suggested in the care manual. I can't wait to see how it cooks up other recipes. So far it's my new favorite and I have a feeling it'll stay that way.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
323rose
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love mine!
1/12/2013

Customer review by Mimiz3

5.0 stars 1/12/2013 by Mimiz3
by Mimiz3

I asked for a cast iron dutch oven for Christmas. My son bought me this one because the red matched my kitchen. It is not a bright red but not quite a brick red. I LOVE it! I am seeing complaints that it is heavy. It is CAST IRON of course it will be heavy. I let it warm up prior to use and add just a spritz of oil. I don't have issues with anything sticking or burning. If you don't know how to use cast iron or don't like it, this isn't the item for you. I would like to have more pieces for my kitchen!

Was this review helpful? (37) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mimiz3
TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AWESOME
2/26/2013

Customer review by Mess472

5.0 stars 2/26/2013 by Mess472
by Mess472
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Never mind the great price, this pot is awesome works just as good as the expensive ones.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mess472
Wilmington NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Forget Le Creuset!
12/29/2015

Customer review by Adorn

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Adorn
by Adorn

This cookware is so beautiful that I leave it out on my stove! I have cooked numerous stews and soups and the results have been tremendous. It heats evenly and cleans easily.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adorn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tramontina pots
12/27/2015

Customer review by Rosie

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by Rosie
by Rosie

Best cooking pots you will find. Easy clean-up. I have bought them all, I love them so much. Very heavy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rosie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super Dutch Oven!
12/27/2015

Customer review by pandabear

5.0 stars 12/27/2015 by pandabear
by pandabear

This Dutch oven cooks great just at a cheaper price than the more expensive brands..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pandabear
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent
12/26/2015

Customer review by LovestoCook

5.0 stars 12/26/2015 by LovestoCook
by LovestoCook

Excellent quality. As good as more well known name brands that cost three times as much.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LovestoCook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Just get it you'll be happy you did!
12/12/2013

Customer review by Crazycontinued

5.0 stars 12/12/2013 by Crazycontinued
by Crazycontinued
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have wanted an enameled dutch oven for years but I just couldn't swallow the price of the other French brands, and other store and generics I looked at just didn't make the cut for quality. I was thrilled to find that Tramontina made this line of enameled cast iron. I have been using Tramontina stainless tri-ply cookware for over a decade and I am familiar with their products quality and value for the money. With over 20 pieces of Tramontina cookware in my kitchen getting heavy use for over 10 years, I have had only 1 warranty related issue with a lid handle. I found the customer service easy to work with and eager to help. With this in mind I jumped at this dutch oven hoping the same quality would follow through to this product line. Let me tell you, I am not disappointed! This dutch oven is everything I hoped it would be! I found no flaws in the manufacturing: the sides and bottom are even, the ceramic is flawless, the lid sits perfectly and the stainless steel knob on the lid is nice and tight. It is a dream to cook with. Nice even heating, holds heat well and super easy to clean up afterward. And it looks so pretty on the stove. I am so happy with this pan that I just came back to order the 4 qt. brazier and the 3.5 qt dutch oven as well. In the end, I will have 3 good quality pieces for less than I would have spent for one decent sized piece by Le Creuset or Staub. I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Crazycontinued
Austin TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the price
1/12/2014

Customer review by cookie1etc

4.0 stars 1/12/2014 by cookie1etc
by cookie1etc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I needed a dutch oven, but paying over $200-300 for a hunk of painted iron seems crazy to me, so was very happy to find this from tramontina at a quarter of the price. The finish perhaps isn't perfect, and I don't love the red-to-black coloration (would have preferred all red), but really, it's to cook in and it does the job. And with the stainless steel knob, there's no worries about melting in a hot oven. The mfg recommends seasoning the bare metal along the rim and lid, but make sure to use a higher temperature (at least 425 rather than 350), otherwise the oil doesn't harden correctly and you end up with sticky goo that you need to clean off.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cookie1etc
Bethpage, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/3/2013

Customer review by SIMMER1

5.0 stars 4/3/2013 by SIMMER1
by SIMMER1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

HEATS UP NICE AND STAYS AT TEMP. VERY EASY TO CLEAN. GREAT DUTCH OVEN, WORKS AS WELL AS SOME LE POTS ON THE MARKET AT A VERY NICE PRICE.THANK YOU.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SIMMER1
WOODLYN,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not perfection!
12/9/2013

Customer review by Baker1946

3.0 stars 12/9/2013 by Baker1946
by Baker1946
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Received pot in good timing. After examining the pot - noticed that there was imperfections in the making of the pot "dimples". Near the handle there is missing glaze and on bottom of pot some glaze is missing. But - this is not LeCreuset!!! I guess I got what I paid for. Used it to make baked beans and it worked fine. Overall for $49.00 - it is OK. I am going to call the company directly and relay the above to them.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Baker1946
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great product at a great price.
1/2/2014

Customer review by Ferry1

5.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Ferry1
by Ferry1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've been looking for a cast iron Dutch oven that could go from stove top to oven. This one had everything I wanted. It had a steel cover knob which was a must for me. It only came in red but it adds color to my kitchen and looks beautiful as a functional accent piece in my kitchen. The cast iron retains heat for more efficient cooking. I checked this item on many other sites and the Walmart price was half the amount of other sites. The only thing one needs to be aware of is that that metal knob gets very hot even when cooking on the stovetop so you need to warn others not to lift the lid unless they use a hot pad.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ferry1
Green Bay, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A must have for anyone that loves to cook!
3/16/2013

Customer review by ISLANDGRAM5555

5.0 stars 3/16/2013 by ISLANDGRAM5555
by ISLANDGRAM5555
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My son gave this to me for my BD. I loved it so much, I bought him one for his BD too. I love that it could safely go in the oven with it's steel knob. It cooks everything very evenly on low to medium heat. The color is fab, we bought the red. Be sure to buy a high temperature spatula with it so you do not scrape the finish, and be sure to season it as directed. I would not recommend it for a frail person, as it is quite heavy. Great value for the money. After comparing prices elsewhere for this product, I saved $30.00 buying it from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ISLANDGRAM5555
Florida Keys
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
QUALITY and SAVINGS!
1/13/2013

Customer review by MamaZ76

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by MamaZ76
by MamaZ76
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Shopped for months researching other Dutch ovens that cost as much as $200. This Dutch oven is as good as those! Love the quality, easy clean up and yummy meals I've served. It's MADE IN AMERICA. Can't lose with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (24) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MamaZ76
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for a handsome Dutch Oven.
12/27/2013

Customer review by Krisskringle

5.0 stars 12/27/2013 by Krisskringle
by Krisskringle
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We use the Tramontina Gourmet 6-Quart Cast Iron Covered Dutch Oven primarily for baking bread...for which it is an ideal size. The exterior is handsome in red and the white interior provides an attractive contrast. Bread recipes often bake at 400 to 425 degrees and this Tramontina Dutch Oven can be used up to 450 degrees which is an asset. We can't comment on durability since we have had it less than a month. However the workmanship appears to be top notch and it fully meets our expectations.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krisskringle
Mequon, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/7/2013

Customer review by MontereyBay

5.0 stars 5/7/2013 by MontereyBay
by MontereyBay

This is a welcome improvement over the composite-knobbed predecessor. Before, of one wanted a stainless steel knob, one had to buy a "replacement" Le Creuset knob, and then shop at ACE Hardware for the required metric machine screw for knob attachment. The built-on stainless knob avoids a "make do" (with the composite knob), and the hassle of ordering a repair part from a competitor.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MontereyBay
Monterey Bay, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Better built then older models
2/22/2014

Customer review by cheflj

5.0 stars 2/22/2014 by cheflj
by cheflj
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Arrived well packadged, a box within a box within a box. No scratces, dings or cracked enamel. Made split pea and ham soup yesterday, and it did a fantastic job. It seems to be lighter the the 5 1/2 Quart model and that is a good thing. This dutch oven will last forever.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheflj
Hot Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/3/2013

Customer review by Spinach2

5.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Spinach2
by Spinach2
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great product so far. Very pleased. Care instructions are a little confusing. It says not to heat empty but to put in oven to season egde of pot and cover.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Spinach2
Romulus, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/4/2013

Customer review by lexava

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by lexava
by lexava
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was looking for a heavy Dutch Oven to use for lamb shanks. This dutch oven delivered the goods and was well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lexava
Rochester, Vermont
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews