Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 42 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

42 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 26 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
A racing experience like no other
3/30/2012

Customer review by JeyC

5.0 stars 3/30/2012 by JeyC
by JeyC

After playing all of the titles in this series, I was amped up for Gran Turismo 5. It was well worth the wait. The only bad thing about the game is the install of game data. It takes a long time, but it really cuts down on the load times. There are a ton of things to do in this game. From the Nascar school, rally school, and kart racing, to TRUE 24 hour races. There is enough content here to keep you busy for a while. The gran turismo online community is very good as well, mostly mature, clean drivers. This is a must have for all auto enthusiasts and fans of the race genre alike. Please not, this is a simulator, if you are looking for something like need for speed or Burnout, keep looking, this title is not for you. If you are looking for a title that can be mentally draining during some of the events...pick it up, you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeyC
Lakeland, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
amazing game
6/14/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

this game is an amazing action packed game. if you played the gran turismo a-spec you will love this one. it is 10 times better.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Mt. Vernon, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Favorite game!
11/10/2012

Customer review by Kingsfordguy

5.0 stars 11/10/2012 by Kingsfordguy
by Kingsfordguy

I am a racing game fan, probably my favorite genre. Many titles to pick from, but somehow Gran Turismo always ranks the best for me. Even on earlier Sony platforms, GT was the standard others were measured against. Graphics are breathtaking, the countless options, endless enjoyment...real bang for your buck. No game gets played more than this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kingsfordguy
Kinsford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GT5 is one of the best driving sims out there
12/20/2012

Customer review by Fishnndude

5.0 stars 12/20/2012 by Fishnndude
by Fishnndude

This is my second copy of the game, my first is stuck in my old PS3 that died and hasnt been fixed yet. I couldnt wait for them to mail it back to me so I bought another copy of GT5 and this one has all the downloadable content already on it and that alone is worth the price of the game. If you like racing games or driving sims you cant do better that Gran Turismo.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fishnndude
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It worth buying GT5 XL Edition.
12/21/2012

Customer review by Simeon2012

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Simeon2012
by Simeon2012

I honestly had owned the previous version of this game, GT5. But I did wanted to get the extra content included in this version/edition. Thankfully Walmart had it on a big discounted sale from Black Friday to Cyber Monday, no other retailer was offering at such comfortable price and I jumped all over it. I do recommend the game to anyone interested in the great cars included as bonus Download. Thank you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Simeon2012
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Racing for Two
11/28/2012

Customer review by Adolphis

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by Adolphis
by Adolphis

The split screen option allows two players to compete against each other. Also, there's the online experience available. The game is inexpensive and worth it! Fun racing adventure.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adolphis
Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GT5
12/10/2012

Customer review by buzz0ff

5.0 stars 12/10/2012 by buzz0ff
by buzz0ff

Game is most realistic ever. Doesn't work so well with my older steering wheel, but it does still work. Great value on Cyber Monday for 10$.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buzz0ff
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/5/2012

Customer review by daredevildarin

5.0 stars 12/5/2012 by daredevildarin
by daredevildarin

Well worth the $$$!!! Great sim game. I totally enjoy the HD graphics.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daredevildarin
Little Rock, IA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
If you like cars, and racing, this game is for you
12/18/2012

Customer review by MarkGT9mm

5.0 stars 12/18/2012 by MarkGT9mm
by MarkGT9mm

I happened upon this game at Wal Mart online at half the price at other retailers. It takes about an hour and a half to load up the tracks on the PS3 HDD but once it's loaded the cars, tracks all load quickly. Gran Turismo has been the best racing game and this one does not disappoint.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkGT9mm
Joliet, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hard to get the knack, but quite realistic.
12/6/2012

Customer review by Thedukester

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by Thedukester
by Thedukester

I've shared it with my friends , and they enjoy it as we'll.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Thedukester
Cheshire ct
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The poor mans Porsche.
9/25/2013

Customer review by newtzilla

4.0 stars 9/25/2013 by newtzilla
by newtzilla

Nothing really new about this game. Race cars, buy cars, tune cars. And what a fun list of cars. Here you can pretend to be wealthy and buy any car you want. What I find fun is the used car lot. There are classics from the other turismos and some rare treats that you can add to your garage. RUF can also be found in the used section, only in the used section, and are rare. The used cars rotate as you play the game so check often and have a nice bank saved up for rare treats. Jeers for the price of the tuned Ford GT40 when prologue offered it at a fraction of the price. If you don't like simulators and enjoy getting chased by cops then go play the kids series NFS. There are plenty of races online and off with seasonal events as well. The rim selection was a little thin. This is a fun game.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
newtzilla
il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The BEST SIMULATOR on the market
11/11/2013

Customer review by zax797

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by zax797
by zax797

I be came a major racing fan after a friend gave me gran turism 3. I imediatly fell in love with this series. I missed 4 and gt5 prologue. But when my library had five and I got a ps3. I fell back in love with the mother of all simulators. If you want kiddy racong games. Stop. Leave this page. If you want the best true to life racing SIMULATOR. Buy this game. The only thing this need to make it better is a full motion simulator simlar to what pilots use.but if you want to drive the most expensive cars in the world including concept, NASCAR, and karts. YOU. WILL. LOVE. THIS.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zax797
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Racing
7/26/2013

Customer review by BillB15906

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by BillB15906
by BillB15906

I have played Gran Turismo from it's beginning on the first Playstation. What people need to understand is that this is "not" a game, it's a "driving simulator" as the cars react as if they are real. I would only recommend this for serious gamer's who enjoy competitive racing.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BillB15906
Johnstown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best Racer Available
12/4/2012

Customer review by bbarr43

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by bbarr43
by bbarr43

Okay, I normally don't do reviews but this game is the most fun I've ever had in a driving sim or game in a long time. For starters, this is a collective review as I believe these accessories are required to fully enjoy what this game has to offer: Logitech G27 wheel (or any force feedback wheel) and a 3D HDTV. Now I realize this may not be Forza 4, may not have the amount of cars or the damage model and physics, or AI up to par with that game, etc. I haven't played it either. In fact, I haven't been much into racing for a while. Last I played was Forza 2 on X360, and I loved it. But I will say with GT5 in 3D and Logitech G27 force feedback wheel, I've never played a racing sim that is so immersive. You just aren't going to get these effects with Forza. The key here is 3D and force feedback wheel. My setup is an LG 65" 3DTV, and when I first played in 2D, I was thinking.. eh, this is okay. So next I selected 3D and thought hey... the perspective is pretty good. But then, I found the 3D depth settings and convergence settings and cranked em all the way up. That's when the WOW factor kicked in... virtual sim racing at its finest. Feels like a high profile simulation machine, or like you're at an expensive virtual arcade station. Cars really look large in front of you, and the distance in the horizon is really noticeable. May be too much depth for front menu screens, but you can adjust to your liking. To discuss the Logitech G27 racing wheel, it's got dual motors for strong feedback, a clutch, gas and brake (w/ stiffer brake feel) and 6 speed shifter. You get powerful feedback from the wheel, and it definitely adds to the realism. You must also use the clutch in this game to properly shift gears which is great. Full 900 degree rotation also adds to the experience as you will use it here. You also won't get these features on any X360 wheel. The other thing to mention here is that night driving and weather effects are unique to this game. Playing in rain, dirt and snow is an added WOW in this game. The feedback you get on the steering wheel is really different in each environment. On dirt, you feel the bumps and really feel the wheel fight with you. You're counter steering constantly as your tires are sliding on the track. Similar with snow, but has it's own feel also. On the negative side... good lordy, the install time. Atrocious! Takes likes a few hrs with all the updates. Once it's done, all is grand. It also probably doesn't have the library of cars I know I'd be able to get in Forza, but I'm okay with it. Aside from this, it's been pure enjoyment. In conclusion, it's a racing title that is a must for any PS3 owner and car lover. Best car game to date! 3D is the future, I don't think I could possibly enjoy a 2D racing title ever again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbarr43
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My son plays PS3. He is learning from this game.
1/4/2014

Customer review by mainstreetbackwoods

5.0 stars 1/4/2014 by mainstreetbackwoods
by mainstreetbackwoods

My son is 14 and plays a lot of games. He was disappointed when he unwrapped the game and saw it was a race game. Wanting to send it back for another. I told him keep it, and try it. He muttered and went off with it. He ended up loving it after trying it and told me it was also educational. I had to ask , How's that? He said it turned out to be lots of fun and INSURANCE HE FOUND OUT WAS VERY EXPENSIVE. I think depending on the car you race depends on the insurance cost. Not + about that but I know he pays insurance. ha ha I was disappointed he wasn't happy at first but very happy he loves the game now and started asking about insurance which gave me a chance to explain how wrecks in real life can effect insurance also. Ok kinda goofy just glad I had a chance to put my 2 cents in here. . The lower price is kinda why I got it. Not rich around here but really wanted to get him another games since he likes to play PS3 so much. My son is 14 and a half years old.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mainstreetbackwoods
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Game
1/27/2014

Customer review by Ladams41

5.0 stars 1/27/2014 by Ladams41
by Ladams41

Love the Gran Turismo games. Great game, fun to play.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ladams41
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Game
1/5/2014

Customer review by Dad127

5.0 stars 1/5/2014 by Dad127
by Dad127

Everyone loves it. You have to customize yours cars or it is very frustrating. Don't give up. Get good tires, and pick the right car for the race.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dad127
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
enjoyable
1/25/2014

Customer review by kinggamer222

4.0 stars 1/25/2014 by kinggamer222
by kinggamer222

Lots of fun

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kinggamer222
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simulation=great...Fun=not so great
9/23/2012

Customer review by Dealseekerman

3.0 stars 9/23/2012 by Dealseekerman
by Dealseekerman

Its a great game if you like simulators, but if you just want a fun game you can put on every now and then its not very good. As a simulator it gets a 8.5 out of ten, as a 'pop it in fun' type game, it gets a 2.

Was this review helpful? (3) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dealseekerman
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointed
2/2/2012

Customer review by Moys

1.0 stars 2/2/2012 by Moys
by Moys

I was disappointed with this. It didn’t seem that much different than GT4, other than there’s more tracks, but that’s offset by time wasted waiting for tracks to load (unless you want to wait 40 minutes to have the data loaded onto the drive). The menus are overly confusing and it also seems like it takes longer to open up circuits in career mode, so I found myself having to repeat races too much to gain experience points.

Was this review helpful? (4) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Moys
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews