Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 650 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

650 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

650 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
413
4 stars
150
3 stars
32
2 stars
31
1 stars
24
1-20 of 648 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 648 total reviews
1-20 of 648 reviews
Most Awesome Laptop Ever
8/2/2011

Customer review by PatelInAK

5.0 stars 8/2/2011 by PatelInAK
by PatelInAK

AMD A8 3530mx, AMD 6490 512MB DDR5, 1920*1080 Full HD screen, 6 cell high capacity. The laptops amazingly fast. The best part about the laptop is the screen! It is the most awesome laptop screen I have worked on. Have been used to 720p screens but decided to upgrade to 1080p matte screen. The amount of extra screen space gained is just phenomenal and the web looks so much more rich. The processor is just awesome and easily overclockable safely without heating! Have overclocked mine from 1.9 to 2.6ghz and 2.8 in turbo. Turbo works really well for several of mine simulation runs. Can easily outrun high end i5's. Not sure about i7's. All this performance at atleast couple of hundred dollars less than the intel's. Absolutely no heat at all! Got close to 7 hours of battery with wifi swithched off and reading documents and about 5:30 hours with wifi on and light browsing. Youtube goes down to about 3 hours. Just dont know why HP did not offer backlit keyboard. Otherwise a perfect laptop!

PatelInAK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Amazing Laptop Worth The Price
2/14/2012

Customer review by LatinaMaffia

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by LatinaMaffia
by LatinaMaffia

I absolutely love this laptop. The sound quality is amazing with the beats and the keys are functional and easy to use. The web cam on it has great clarity and easy to use features. The screen is beautiful and colors are crisp. The speed of the drive is astounding and my husband is constantly on it even though he has is own, and he's a computer geek. I bought this for school and it is used well beyond that as well as I'm constantly watching movies on here. I also enjoy the steel gray as prints don't show up much at all compared to the darker version. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for something that's going to last a long time rather than just a couple years.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LatinaMaffia
Bloomfield, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Laptop...
5/11/2012

Customer review by Dalmi

5.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Dalmi
by Dalmi

This Dv6 is a great laptop blows every other computer I have had out of the water... but has one flaw, the build quality it terrible. Every time I type on the keyboard i can feel the computer depress, makes me feel like I'm going to break something. I got the upgraded graphics, the 7690M, and I will say this graphics card is amazing! I can play many games that i could not before such as BF3, SWTOR, and RIFT. So in that aspect I am very happy with the computer. Also the battery life is decent, I got the high capacity 6 cell and I can last about 5-6 hours on low power settings just browsing the internet. Overall I would say I am happy with my purchase, I just feel that the "quality build" is not on par with many other computer brands. If you are looking to get this as a desktop replacement, then look no further, but if you want a laptop for everyday, use like using for college and what not, you many want to look in to a computer with more care put into the build quality. Hope this helps!

Dalmi
Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Dead on Arrival
6/10/2012

Customer review by Ping

2.0 stars 6/10/2012 by Ping
by Ping

I originally ordered the prior model laptop with the I7, and Radeon GPU; and I ended up having to return it once the GPU chip starting malfunctioning. I woul get blue screens 3 out of 5 times using the laptop. The build quality was great as were the specs, but you do not expect to have problems with a new unit. The HP customer was great they offered to send me one of the new Dv6t-7000 with the Ivy Bridge, and I was really surprised at their efforts to take care of my situation. The new replacement got here on Monday, and was dead on arrival. It showed the dreaded no readable disk or hard drive error. I was a bit surprised as well with the build quality as the prior version, seemed to be a bit better thought out an put together. The Blue-Ray drive doo in particular was loose, and just seemed to not seat properly. At this point, I have returned the laptop, and am waiting on a full refund from HP. I have to give them kudo for great CSR's but the product itself was a bit underwhelming.

Ping
Would recommend to a friend? No
HP dv6z quad
9/16/2011

Customer review by Slim2u

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by Slim2u
by Slim2u

This is clearly the best laptop computer I have used in years. The keyboard--with its numeric keypad on the right--is excellent, far better than most laptops. The anti-glare screen makes viewing quite easy. Though the touchpad is not as sensitive as I would prefer, it is adequate for the amount I use it. An external wireless mouse, however, is a better choice and truly makes the features of the dvdz quad easier for me to access. Though I have only owned the machine about three weeks, I absolutely love its performance and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a very portable laptop that does not sacrifice screen size or keyboard functionality to achieve an accceptable weight or reasonable dimensions. The machine is not very heavy, and it easily fits in my briefcase for transporting it to work. I have not verified the battery life between charges, but I have not yet run into situations where I could not plug it is if I needed to do so. Thus, I am happy with the machine.

Slim2u
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great computer!!
9/15/2012

Customer review by Bmi80

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by Bmi80
by Bmi80

This is a great computer! I went with the 2nd gen core i5, 8GB memory, NVIDIA 630M graphics card and 750GB 7200rpm hard drive. Am very happy with this purchase! The keyboard is solid. It does not have that cheap flex feeling that some other laptops do. I added the backlit keyboard option which makes it so much easier to type in dark environments. The speakers get pretty loud! However, I wouldn't say they are all they're cracked up to be and perhaps I haven't found it yet, but it would be nice if there were an equalizer so I could adjust the tone settings more precisely. But, overall...a nice sound for a computer. I love the fingerprint function! It works great and makes it so easy to access my accounts, email, etc without having to remember 800 passwords all the time! The computer as a whole has a very solid feel to it and it has plenty of ports including a memory card reader which is a plus! I've used a handful of other brands/models of laptops and I must say that this one seems far superior. Great buy!

Bmi80
Boulder, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Pretty Good
8/2/2012

Customer review by shoemoos

4.0 stars 8/2/2012 by shoemoos
by shoemoos

I've always had Dell computers, which run great but I wanted to try something different. I looked into many computers and decided to try for an HP. I received my computer a few days ago and so far I'm not disappointed. It runs great and does what I need it for. I'm not dissing Dell but I do enjoy this computer more so, then again my Dell is about 6 or 7 years old. I do like how it handles gaming better, and with the "full" keyboard it makes that alot easier. My only problems with it were: -The autorun would not work even with going into controls but I was able to fix that with some research online and the great help from the people from HP - The body it self looks cheaply made. I wish it was made with something that seemed a little sturdier, in fact the top part chipped slightly. Compared to my Dell, my Dell is defiantly a tank. - The right mouse button is lower than the left button which worries me that either the left is to loose, or the right is going to get stuck

shoemoos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Good choice.
8/17/2011

Customer review by burntliketoast

5.0 stars 8/17/2011 by burntliketoast
by burntliketoast

The first one they sent was not properly assembled so I did have to wait for a couple extra weeks to get a new one. Now that it's all there, this laptop has surpassed my expectations and has proven to be great value for the price. I like the keyboard and [backlit] mouse. The casing picks up fingerprints like crazy, but that's not the end of the world for me. The screen quality is very sharp and the camera is surprisingly clear. I read many reviews claiming the Beats audio was a gimmick, but I have to somewhat disagree. I know my last laptop speakers aren't hard to surpass, but these are loud enough to hear across my house, and with headphones in I can hear great at the lowest levels. I also saw a lot of complaints about the fingerprint reader, but it works just fine for me. I do think it's useful for saving passwords and prompting for my finger when I visit a site. However, it's not worth it to swipe to GET TO the site AND log in- it's pretty slow at that part. Overall it seems like I got an awesome computer.

burntliketoast
Eugene, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Love my new laptop
9/5/2012

Customer review by Mia047

5.0 stars 9/5/2012 by Mia047
by Mia047

In 1994 I bought my first computer from HP and have never strayed until 3 months ago...tried another brand......big mistake. I called HP, applogized then spent close to two hours with a delightful customer rep. The HP Pavillion dv6t 7000 was the result. It arrived on time, and hooked up to my wifi modem instantly. I had a lighted key board added and did not bother with a software bundle. In my opinion the fewer pre-installed programs the better. They tend to cause confusion during the set up process. They also are available for download from the internet. I feel that HP delivers the entire package. This includes excellent products, a reasonable return policy and superb technical support. Pricing is quite competitive. Bottom line, in this electronic era HP extends itself with many personal touches which I find to be exceedingly reassuring. There is nothing more frustrating to me then arguing for several seconds/ minutes with an automated recording while thinking there is a person on the other end. Thank you HP :))

Mia047
New York/Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
For the Electronic Musician
2/14/2013

Customer review by genetique

5.0 stars 2/14/2013 by genetique
by genetique

I perform live electronic music using DAW software. I needed a very powerful laptop that could handle near-realtime DSP on 10s of tracks with effects, and at least 4 USB ports for interfacing with hardware controllers. It also had to be pleasant to work with in the studio for hours on end, because I design my entire performance there. This laptop has far exceeded my expectations and I am extremely happy with my purchase. The laptop runs cool and quiet, even with tons of effects being processed at once, the 1080p screen is vibrant and sharp, case feels solid without being too heavy, and the 7200rpm hybrid drive really makes the laptop feel as responsive as a desktop. I don't care about the Beats audio, bluetooth, Office starter, mcaffee whatever-it-comes-with, but it was critical for audio production that I could get Windows 7 (as always, format as soon as you get it). If you are looking for a music production/performance laptop you will not be disappointed.

genetique
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic computer
7/31/2012

Customer review by Onite44

5.0 stars 7/31/2012 by Onite44
by Onite44

As a student, I've used both computers at home and at school for my entire life, but this is the best I've ever had the pleasure to use. Its super fast: like lightning. On every other machine I've used, from desktops to laptops to tablets, there's always been some slow feature. Not on this machine. Everything is smooth, quick, and responsive. The Beats audio sounds fantastic, whether just playing music, a movie, or a game. Plugging in headphones is a treat as well, and when I plugged in my speakers I had great sound quality as well. As an added bonus, my computer arrived a week ahead of schedule. I am a student, and it handles everything from multitasking to graphically intense games. The build quality feels solid and the design is great too. Get the back-lit keyboard. I love the quality and look to it. Each key is lit up beautifully and is very handy in low light situations. I highly recommend this computer to anyone who is looking for a quality machine.

Onite44
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Performance for Great Price!
9/16/2012

Customer review by Duncan

5.0 stars 9/16/2012 by Duncan
by Duncan

Very easy to custom design my own laptop, and shipping was very quick from hp. Performance is amazing, everything (programs, games) are so fast. Games run smoother than an xbox or ps3. I would recommend getting the 9 cell battery along with it, especially if you can get it for 50% off when buying it with the laptop. It lasts for 9+ hours on the power saving setting, and lasts for 5-6 hours on full performance settings. Quad core i7 processor whips through any program, even high power consuming programs, with ease. I got the 12 GB of ram, and i never even go above 1/4 Memory usage (even when running multiple adobe programs, web browser with many tabs, media player, and windows explorer). This computer is overall amazing and I'm glad I bought it. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who needs a very high performance laptop. Everyone is jealous of this thing(especially because I have a better laptop in every way, and I got it for less $). THANKS HP!!

Duncan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very disappointed
6/5/2012

Customer review by Culater

1.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Culater
by Culater

I was very excited about my first lap top purchase. BUT,it had to be sent back to HP because it had a hard drive problem showing up as intermittent flashing fine white line running horizontally across the Desk Top screen. Tech support said that is a hard drive problem and to return it. I went on to ask tech support why my HDMI videos that I imported to the laptop from my brand new camcorder were not playing back smoothly even when I had a dedicated graphics card....and then I learned....that even though I told the initial sales person the main use of the laptop would be home use of HDMI video and burning DVDs ( of sporting events), I was sold a laptop that did not have a processor that was fast enough to play back HDMI video smoothly-consistently. Needed the I-5 processor. So, I ordered it to replace the one I sent back. Good thing I went on to ask questions even though I had to send it back because of the white line problem! Tech support was amazingly helpful to me: she who understands little in the land of laptops.

Culater
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great laptop for the price
1/13/2013

Customer review by chooks

5.0 stars 1/13/2013 by chooks
by chooks

I've had the laptop for several weeks and so far have been very pleased. It has been speedy, responsive and overall has done its job well. A couple of notable positives: 1) Configurability was great with a good set of options for the laptop. 2) Keyboard has a good tactile feel 3) Fingerprint integration. I have never used this before but I am surprised that I like it. It is easy to set up and works well. The only negative is that it could be more configurable so that you can launch any program and not just a small subset of ones. 4) Graphics is good for what I need it for. 5) Windows 7 stock (I really didn't feel like getting used to another OS -- if I want to do that I would just switch to Linux) The only negative is that I will hit the touchpad while typing often. This is annoying, but the touchpad is easy toggle on/off if necessary. Overall, I am happy with the purchase and was a huge step up from the netbook while not hitting the wallet too hard.

chooks
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Powerful, but...
7/16/2012

Customer review by nranks

4.0 stars 7/16/2012 by nranks
by nranks

I configured mine to have i7-3612QM, 1TB HDD, 9-cell. It is truly a powerful laptop. The 9-cell is definitely worth it because it increases the battery life almost 5 times. There are a few things that I did not like. First was that the audio drivers automatically do volume normalization which means it constantly tries to change the volume levels to avoid peaks or dips in volume but this feature is annoying because it is so noticeable and also it cannot be turned off which basically means I cannot enjoy listening to audio on this laptop. Other than that, the laptop is very well designed. It has a very nice and sleek design. It is pretty thin and very light weight making it great for portability. It's screen is outline with a border which protects the screen when it is closed shut and avoids the problem which other laptops have when you close the screen and the rubber padings along the side of the screen leave a mark around the keyboard area. This was a very nice design idea they included. Also the HP logo lights up!

nranks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good value, but some little issues
2/3/2013

Customer review by Jon1976485

4.0 stars 2/3/2013 by Jon1976485
by Jon1976485

Hardware: The laptop arrived with a small spot of bubbling of the plastic applique over the speakers (below the screen). Not worth it to return the laptop and wait another 2-4 weeks. The keyboard surface is wavy... that is, if you put a straightedge over the while keyboard, you would notice that the middle keys are higher than the outer keys. Just looks cheesy, but doesn't affect performance. Software: The laptop is loaded with shortcuts and links to junk software. Took a while to clean it all off. The other problem was the "Beats Audio." It does some sort of auto-leveling and compression, which is executed VERY POORLY. I noticed it immediately and thought I had a hardware defect. Turns out it's the software. Apparently, this is a known issue among savvy customers... I was able to turn off the auto-leveling by doing a registry edit. Overall, everything else has performed pretty well. Seems to be a good value, if you can work past the little stuff .

Jon1976485
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Satisfied Computer Science Student!
4/10/2012

Customer review by Boolean

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by Boolean
by Boolean

I am a 3rd year computer science student and I must say, this laptop is exactly what I needed. It easily keeps up with compiling my programs and allows me to render 3D graphics even when I am away from my desktop. The beautiful screen makes it possible to have my applications open on one half while my code is on the other. The viewing angles are great and make it easy for my pair programmer to see what I am typing. I haven't noticed any heat problems at all, which is great! My only complaint is the lack of back lit keys, but that isn't so bad. For those who care more about aesthetics, this laptop is so beautiful it made a friend who is an Apple fan come up and comment on how well made and beautiful it is. I didn't even pay for the alternate color! The speakers can be very loud when turned up all the way. Great for listening to music and watching movies. I would recommend this laptop to ANYONE looking for something well built, fast, and reliable.

Boolean
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Fantastic...but could be better.
12/26/2011

Customer review by HPTouchpad

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by HPTouchpad
by HPTouchpad

Great Specs. Great performance. All I am slightly annoyed by is the lack of touch. It basically has a standard synaptic download with multi-touch support. The problem is that multi-touch is not all that smooth on it. Fixed by downloading two-finger-scroll. It only smooths out scrolling and gives two and three finger tap ability, but it makes a world of difference (It is equal to apple scrolling). I wish features like that would come standard. Seeing as how a thrid party freeware opensource is able to put out a better product than synaptic or HP is beyond me. Otherwise great product. Solid build. I was confused by all the computer geeks out there who say you have to spend $800-1000 to get a good computer. I am kinda computer savy and I thought this product worked fast and snappy. This worked great right out of the box and has a very fast start up. Great buy. OH! And it is light (So don't get too worried about carrying around) Battery is great too!.

HPTouchpad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Happy
8/10/2011

Customer review by dontworryaboutit

2.0 stars 8/10/2011 by dontworryaboutit
by dontworryaboutit

I just purchased this product about 2 weeks ago and I have already had so many problems with it. I bought it online and I have never dropped it. Some things that I am not happy with include the following-- when having to scroll up and down on pages, you are suppose to use two fingers and drag across the key pad, which only works about 30 percent of the time. The fingerprint reader rarely works and after awhile, it just gets annoying to have to swipe your fingerprint. I opened up my computer once last week and lines were going across my screen, already glitching. One of the biggest things that happened was that my webcam stopped working-- completely went out! After spending about 3 hours on the phone with HP customer service, ended up losing all my files and still getting nothing accomplished. People were right, I should have gotten a MAC, but instead I am sitting here with a migraine over the stress I have encountered with this CHEAP computer. You really get what you pay for, that's for sure! Sorry HP, but I am not impressed.

dontworryaboutit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pavilion dv6 - a great midrange laptop
8/10/2012

Customer review by JaySee57

5.0 stars 8/10/2012 by JaySee57
by JaySee57

My new Pavilion dv6 has enough features to make it a pleasure to use and comes at a reasonable price because it is not overloaded. The CPU boots fast. The display is large enough for me to use on my desktop yet the laptop is nice and light when I need to carry it. The battery life is quite good. All in all I am a satisfied customer. There is always room for improvement. The most critical thing I have to say about the package that I received is that the charger is a behemoth, both in terms of size and weight. It is a shame that such a nice, light laptop comes with a charger that is like a boat anchor. I'd trade a slower charge rate for a smaller and lighter charger. The fingerprint scanner seems like a cool way to go if you forget your pins but I found it a bit creepy to think about the consequences of a hacker swiping data about my fingerprints. Besides, in order for it to work, one needs to create a file of pins anyway, which is hackable too.

JaySee57
Detroit, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 648 total reviews
1-20 of 648 reviews