Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

39 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 35 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews
unlike most charcoals this natural one burns well
3/26/2012

Customer review by GJS2

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by GJS2
by GJS2

this thing about this charcoal it burns well and has no added kerosene which a horrible taste to food I have used this for years always works well, a little news paper gets it burning

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GJS2
mullins, SC.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
I fully intended to buy Kingsford Briquettes...
6/25/2012

Customer review by Philvis

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by Philvis
by Philvis

...but saw the Royal Oak Lump Charcoal and gave it a quick lookup on my phone. I liked what I saw from the reviews, and decided to feed my Weber something new. This stuff is way better than the Cowboy stuff they sell at the hardware store and performed just as well as the expensive stuff my local butcher shop carries. The pieces were well sized (big enough to scatter, but small enough to fit easily in my chimney starter). They burned clean, hot, and for a good amount of time...long enough for my Tandori wings to finish as well as a dozen hot dogs...and I could easily have cooked another 30 minutes with the fire. Overall I am very happy I made the purchase and it will probably increase the usage of my Kettle Grill over my Weber Gas Grill this summer. GOOD STUFF!

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Philvis
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best lump charcoal I've used!
6/18/2012

Customer review by AzFord427

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by AzFord427
by AzFord427

I've used other "lump charcoals" and most of the others are little bitty pieces, one HUGE piece and DUST! Royal Oak is pretty good size pieces perfect for a small backyard grill all the way to the bottom of the bag.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AzFord427
Surprise, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best there is
5/31/2014

Customer review by bbqpitmaster

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by bbqpitmaster
by bbqpitmaster

As a BBQ pitmaster, I use to use the stuff in the blue bag. There was just too much ash and hard to control temps. So, I switched to Royal Oak Lump abt 7 yrs ago and have never looked back. It lights easier, cooks clean, hardly no ash, and consistent temps. Too bad my local WM store only had 6 bags this spring. After they sold out, thanks to me, they have not gotten anymore in... so now I have to go to an orange box hardware store next to my local WM to buy it... come on Walmart wise up and stock this stuff. Just look at all these positive reviews.... I alone will go through abt 200 lbs a year.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bbqpitmaster
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
excellent charcoal
6/6/2012

Customer review by Manana1

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Manana1
by Manana1

Lights easily with newspaper. Ready quickly. No chemicals like other leading charcoals. Buy a charcoal chimney and use this. You'll love the difference in taste.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Manana1
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2/27/2012

Customer review by Wywin7

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Wywin7
by Wywin7

I use this charcoal all the time and its good to know that I can pick it up locally in Ridgeland. Cooks quick and evenly and food has a wonderful, natural taste.

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wywin7
Hazlehurst, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Dont Buy Any Other Charcoal
12/5/2013

Customer review by bertacus

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by bertacus
by bertacus

I have been smoking for quite sometime and have tried a lot of different varieties. This is by far the best. It burns hot and long with a small amount of ash. It is very clean and doesn't have weird insulation looking things in it like other popular brands. This is the same charcoal that Big Green Egg uses. The only downside is it will impart some oak smoke. I say its a downside because sometimes you want to control exactly what kind of smoke hits the meat. (e.g. 2 oz of peach with 3 oz of pecan). If you want to go to a great resource for charcoal reviews: http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bertacus
Suwanee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great Charcoal for Big Green Egg
3/29/2014

Customer review by mkellync

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by mkellync
by mkellync

This charcoal is great. Low ash, high temperature >900 degrees Great value compared to the BGE brand charcoal

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mkellync
Durham, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome
3/3/2014

Customer review by julioa

4.0 stars 3/3/2014 by julioa
by julioa

I got this originally for my forge and its works great for heating up steel. It hardly smokes and makes some great barbecued chicken!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
julioa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great charcoal at an excellent price
11/5/2012

Customer review by qtrchickendark

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by qtrchickendark
by qtrchickendark

Burns hot, slow and leaves very little ash.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
qtrchickendark
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Better than Cowboy Lump
2/21/2013

Customer review by PGHMike

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by PGHMike
by PGHMike

This is pretty good lump charcoal. It burns well and doesn't have much fillers from what I can tell. Low ash and seems to actually be wood scraps, not particle board and nails like other brands. 10/10 would allow to cook meat. Also... Charcoal briquettes... what is this armature hour? If you are a true charcoal fan hardwood lump is the only way to go!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PGHMike
Pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Trash the briquettes
7/26/2014

Customer review by Cavalierman

5.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Cavalierman
by Cavalierman

Do yourself a big favor and try this natural lump charcoal.You will then see the tremendous difference in how your grilled food tastes.I wouldn't use briquettes now if someone gave them to me.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cavalierman
Waynesboro,Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent taste, easy to start, great value
12/17/2012

Customer review by cgibbs

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by cgibbs
by cgibbs

First and foremost, this is a hardwood lump charcoal, and is not a briquette. It is additive free and imparts a light, smoky flavor on the grill. I use it with many different woods like peach, apple, hickory, cherry, and mesquite. I use it in my Big Green Egg, and it will easily reach 700+ degrees. One of the keys is to not overload your grill, and to use the bigger, solid pieces. It is a great value and there is no substitute.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cgibbs
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works awesome
3/5/2014

Customer review by PDXsmith

4.0 stars 3/5/2014 by PDXsmith
by PDXsmith

I originally used cowboy charcoal for my forge but once i got a bag of this stuff,i'll never go back. Barely smokes Big pieces Great value,6 bucks a bag which is super cost effective Only downside is i got one bag and it was only half full

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PDXsmith
Portland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A true clean hardwood charcoal
6/26/2013

Customer review by BaldEagle5

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by BaldEagle5
by BaldEagle5

Excellent product, no monster hunks of charcoal. A true hardwood product. Heats up quickly and evenly. Starts easily/

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BaldEagle5
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great!
4/9/2013

Customer review by JRS1978

5.0 stars 4/9/2013 by JRS1978
by JRS1978

This is by far THE BEST charcoal I have ever used! Cooks evenly, easily ignites, and last a long time.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRS1978
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great in the BGE!
9/20/2013

Customer review by NykeLV

5.0 stars 9/20/2013 by NykeLV
by NykeLV

Needed some Royal Oak for the BGE and didn't want to drive across town. Walmart had it in their warehouse and shipped it to my local store same day at a competitive price to the BBQ specialty stores.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NykeLV
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Hardwood Lump Charcoal!!!!!!
4/24/2013

Customer review by SmokeThatFatPig

5.0 stars 4/24/2013 by SmokeThatFatPig
by SmokeThatFatPig

I use this stuff every time I grill or smoke! It has a very clean burn and no additives. I use a chimney to get it started. Burns really HOT and doesn't leave very much ash behind. Best thing about Hardwood Lump Charcoal is when your done using it you can put it out with water and reuse what didn't burn next time after it dries out. Be very careful when you poor the water on it so you don't burn yourself from the steam. I have recommended this Hardwood Lump Charcoal to everyone that I know and they love it as well!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmokeThatFatPig
Pueblo West, Co
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
awesome
12/21/2013

Customer review by CoachBean

5.0 stars 12/21/2013 by CoachBean
by CoachBean

Awesome

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoachBean
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very Good Choice for the money and availability...
9/5/2014

Customer review by FloridaCrackerBoy

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by FloridaCrackerBoy
by FloridaCrackerBoy

Given the options available for the best quality lump in my state, I would say it is the best choice for me. I have 4 Weber Smokey Mountain Smokers and run them low and slow for traditional BBQ as well as high heat for cooking meatloaf, pizza, chicken, etc. The taste is very mild and only compliments the smoke woods I add. When smoking fish I go back and forth between my gas smoker and the charcoal depending on what flavor profile I am trying to achieve. If smoking fish you may want to try no smoke wood or using only Alder wood as other woods may give a little too much smoke for most people depending on the type of fish, thickness, and fat content. You can do much worse when picking lump charcoal and if you really want to compare to some other brand, then try http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm for good data points.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FloridaCrackerBoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1-20 of 35 reviews