Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 60 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

60 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

60 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
0
1-20 of 56 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews
I fully intended to buy Kingsford Briquettes...
6/25/2012

Customer review by Philvis

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by Philvis
by Philvis

...but saw the Royal Oak Lump Charcoal and gave it a quick lookup on my phone. I liked what I saw from the reviews, and decided to feed my Weber something new. This stuff is way better than the Cowboy stuff they sell at the hardware store and performed just as well as the expensive stuff my local butcher shop carries. The pieces were well sized (big enough to scatter, but small enough to fit easily in my chimney starter). They burned clean, hot, and for a good amount of time...long enough for my Tandori wings to finish as well as a dozen hot dogs...and I could easily have cooked another 30 minutes with the fire. Overall I am very happy I made the purchase and it will probably increase the usage of my Kettle Grill over my Weber Gas Grill this summer. GOOD STUFF!

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Philvis
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Dont Buy Any Other Charcoal
12/5/2013

Customer review by bertacus

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by bertacus
by bertacus

I have been smoking for quite sometime and have tried a lot of different varieties. This is by far the best. It burns hot and long with a small amount of ash. It is very clean and doesn't have weird insulation looking things in it like other popular brands. This is the same charcoal that Big Green Egg uses. The only downside is it will impart some oak smoke. I say its a downside because sometimes you want to control exactly what kind of smoke hits the meat. (e.g. 2 oz of peach with 3 oz of pecan). If you want to go to a great resource for charcoal reviews: http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bertacus
Suwanee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
unlike most charcoals this natural one burns well
3/26/2012

Customer review by GJS2

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by GJS2
by GJS2

this thing about this charcoal it burns well and has no added kerosene which a horrible taste to food I have used this for years always works well, a little news paper gets it burning

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GJS2
mullins, SC.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Best there is
5/31/2014

Customer review by bbqpitmaster

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by bbqpitmaster
by bbqpitmaster

As a BBQ pitmaster, I use to use the stuff in the blue bag. There was just too much ash and hard to control temps. So, I switched to Royal Oak Lump abt 7 yrs ago and have never looked back. It lights easier, cooks clean, hardly no ash, and consistent temps. Too bad my local WM store only had 6 bags this spring. After they sold out, thanks to me, they have not gotten anymore in... so now I have to go to an orange box hardware store next to my local WM to buy it... come on Walmart wise up and stock this stuff. Just look at all these positive reviews.... I alone will go through abt 200 lbs a year.

Was this review helpful? (24) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bbqpitmaster
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
excellent charcoal
6/6/2012

Customer review by Manana1

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Manana1
by Manana1

Lights easily with newspaper. Ready quickly. No chemicals like other leading charcoals. Buy a charcoal chimney and use this. You'll love the difference in taste.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manana1
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best lump charcoal I've used!
6/18/2012

Customer review by AzFord427

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by AzFord427
by AzFord427

I've used other "lump charcoals" and most of the others are little bitty pieces, one HUGE piece and DUST! Royal Oak is pretty good size pieces perfect for a small backyard grill all the way to the bottom of the bag.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AzFord427
Surprise, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Awesome
3/3/2014

Customer review by julioa

4.0 stars 3/3/2014 by julioa
by julioa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this originally for my forge and its works great for heating up steel. It hardly smokes and makes some great barbecued chicken!

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
julioa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Charcoal for Big Green Egg
3/29/2014

Customer review by mkellync

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by mkellync
by mkellync
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This charcoal is great. Low ash, high temperature >900 degrees Great value compared to the BGE brand charcoal

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mkellync
Durham, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Charcoal
1/5/2016

Customer review by Cpayne

2.0 stars 1/5/2016 by Cpayne
by Cpayne

I thought I was buying briquettes and it was something else. didn't like them, it was like shard of wood or something. Not what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cpayne
Would recommend to a friend? No
Lump hardwood
1/7/2016

Customer review by Someoneswifeindunedin

5.0 stars 1/7/2016 by Someoneswifeindunedin
by Someoneswifeindunedin

Burns great no chemicals

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Someoneswifeindunedin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great charcoal at an excellent price
11/5/2012

Customer review by qtrchickendark

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by qtrchickendark
by qtrchickendark
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Burns hot, slow and leaves very little ash.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
qtrchickendark
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very good
12/19/2015

Customer review by bill6868

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by bill6868
by bill6868

Easy to light and clean burn

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bill6868
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than Cowboy Lump
2/21/2013

Customer review by PGHMike

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by PGHMike
by PGHMike

This is pretty good lump charcoal. It burns well and doesn't have much fillers from what I can tell. Low ash and seems to actually be wood scraps, not particle board and nails like other brands. 10/10 would allow to cook meat. Also... Charcoal briquettes... what is this armature hour? If you are a true charcoal fan hardwood lump is the only way to go!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PGHMike
Pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
2/27/2012

Customer review by Wywin7

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Wywin7
by Wywin7

I use this charcoal all the time and its good to know that I can pick it up locally in Ridgeland. Cooks quick and evenly and food has a wonderful, natural taste.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wywin7
Hazlehurst, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent taste, easy to start, great value
12/17/2012

Customer review by cgibbs

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by cgibbs
by cgibbs

First and foremost, this is a hardwood lump charcoal, and is not a briquette. It is additive free and imparts a light, smoky flavor on the grill. I use it with many different woods like peach, apple, hickory, cherry, and mesquite. I use it in my Big Green Egg, and it will easily reach 700+ degrees. One of the keys is to not overload your grill, and to use the bigger, solid pieces. It is a great value and there is no substitute.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cgibbs
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works awesome
3/5/2014

Customer review by PDXsmith

4.0 stars 3/5/2014 by PDXsmith
by PDXsmith

I originally used cowboy charcoal for my forge but once i got a bag of this stuff,i'll never go back. Barely smokes Big pieces Great value,6 bucks a bag which is super cost effective Only downside is i got one bag and it was only half full

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PDXsmith
Portland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Trash the briquettes
7/26/2014

Customer review by Cavalierman

5.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Cavalierman
by Cavalierman

Do yourself a big favor and try this natural lump charcoal.You will then see the tremendous difference in how your grilled food tastes.I wouldn't use briquettes now if someone gave them to me.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cavalierman
Waynesboro,Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Royal Oak Lump Charcoal
11/25/2015

Customer review by VICKIEG

5.0 stars 11/25/2015 by VICKIEG
by VICKIEG

The very best I have ever tried. Quick to start - best overall flavor.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VICKIEG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great flavor
10/29/2015

Customer review by john

5.0 stars 10/29/2015 by john
by john

I got this stuff because I work in the warehouse and orderfill a lot of charcoal lol. This stuff caught my attention one day by the smell and I decided to pick some up to try. I was not disappointed! This stuff has a great smoky flavor and I feel better about cooking with wood. It takes a bit of lighter fluid to keep it lit thoroughly but it is worth it :) So far have cooked chicken, burgers and steak with it. Great price for such a large bag. Will continue to use this stuff for grilling and try to turn my friends onto it as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
john
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
overall pretty good!
11/15/2015

Customer review by LDumler

4.0 stars 11/15/2015 by LDumler
by LDumler

This is great for grilling. The only drawbacks r that there isn't as much in the bag as other types of charcoal, and when it turns white it starts falling apart faster. Other than those things it works great!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LDumler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1-20 of 56 reviews