Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 77 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

77 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

77 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
58
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
2
1-20 of 73 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
I fully intended to buy Kingsford Briquettes...
6/25/2012

Customer review by Philvis

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by Philvis
by Philvis

...but saw the Royal Oak Lump Charcoal and gave it a quick lookup on my phone. I liked what I saw from the reviews, and decided to feed my Weber something new. This stuff is way better than the Cowboy stuff they sell at the hardware store and performed just as well as the expensive stuff my local butcher shop carries. The pieces were well sized (big enough to scatter, but small enough to fit easily in my chimney starter). They burned clean, hot, and for a good amount of time...long enough for my Tandori wings to finish as well as a dozen hot dogs...and I could easily have cooked another 30 minutes with the fire. Overall I am very happy I made the purchase and it will probably increase the usage of my Kettle Grill over my Weber Gas Grill this summer. GOOD STUFF!

Was this review helpful? (44) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Philvis
Fredericksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Perfect, but why the huge price increase?
6/4/2016

Customer review by lemaize

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by lemaize
by lemaize

This stuff is a must for grillers and dedicated bbq'ers. Been buying it in store for like 15 years. Last time (last summer) I bought a bag it was less than nine bucks! Now for the last two months they have not carried it. Associate says, try online. OVER 20 bucks? Why? You have taken away my greatest form of cooking and made it UN-AFFORDABLE! Not happy with you Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lemaize
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best there is
5/31/2014

Customer review by bbqpitmaster

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by bbqpitmaster
by bbqpitmaster

As a BBQ pitmaster, I use to use the stuff in the blue bag. There was just too much ash and hard to control temps. So, I switched to Royal Oak Lump abt 7 yrs ago and have never looked back. It lights easier, cooks clean, hardly no ash, and consistent temps. Too bad my local WM store only had 6 bags this spring. After they sold out, thanks to me, they have not gotten anymore in... so now I have to go to an orange box hardware store next to my local WM to buy it... come on Walmart wise up and stock this stuff. Just look at all these positive reviews.... I alone will go through abt 200 lbs a year.

Was this review helpful? (36) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bbqpitmaster
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Great Charcoal for Big Green Egg
3/29/2014

Customer review by mkellync

5.0 stars 3/29/2014 by mkellync
by mkellync
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This charcoal is great. Low ash, high temperature >900 degrees Great value compared to the BGE brand charcoal

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mkellync
Durham, nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best lump charcoal I've used!
6/18/2012

Customer review by AzFord427

5.0 stars 6/18/2012 by AzFord427
by AzFord427

I've used other "lump charcoals" and most of the others are little bitty pieces, one HUGE piece and DUST! Royal Oak is pretty good size pieces perfect for a small backyard grill all the way to the bottom of the bag.

Was this review helpful? (33) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AzFord427
Surprise, Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Dont Buy Any Other Charcoal
12/5/2013

Customer review by bertacus

5.0 stars 12/5/2013 by bertacus
by bertacus

I have been smoking for quite sometime and have tried a lot of different varieties. This is by far the best. It burns hot and long with a small amount of ash. It is very clean and doesn't have weird insulation looking things in it like other popular brands. This is the same charcoal that Big Green Egg uses. The only downside is it will impart some oak smoke. I say its a downside because sometimes you want to control exactly what kind of smoke hits the meat. (e.g. 2 oz of peach with 3 oz of pecan). If you want to go to a great resource for charcoal reviews: http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm

Was this review helpful? (19) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bertacus
Suwanee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
excellent charcoal
6/6/2012

Customer review by Manana1

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Manana1
by Manana1

Lights easily with newspaper. Ready quickly. No chemicals like other leading charcoals. Buy a charcoal chimney and use this. You'll love the difference in taste.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manana1
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great charcoal at an excellent price
11/5/2012

Customer review by qtrchickendark

5.0 stars 11/5/2012 by qtrchickendark
by qtrchickendark
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Burns hot, slow and leaves very little ash.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
qtrchickendark
Fairfax VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
unlike most charcoals this natural one burns well
3/26/2012

Customer review by GJS2

5.0 stars 3/26/2012 by GJS2
by GJS2

this thing about this charcoal it burns well and has no added kerosene which a horrible taste to food I have used this for years always works well, a little news paper gets it burning

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GJS2
mullins, SC.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Better than Cowboy Lump
2/21/2013

Customer review by PGHMike

5.0 stars 2/21/2013 by PGHMike
by PGHMike

This is pretty good lump charcoal. It burns well and doesn't have much fillers from what I can tell. Low ash and seems to actually be wood scraps, not particle board and nails like other brands. 10/10 would allow to cook meat. Also... Charcoal briquettes... what is this armature hour? If you are a true charcoal fan hardwood lump is the only way to go!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PGHMike
Pittsburgh PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome
3/3/2014

Customer review by julioa

4.0 stars 3/3/2014 by julioa
by julioa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this originally for my forge and its works great for heating up steel. It hardly smokes and makes some great barbecued chicken!

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
julioa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/27/2012

Customer review by Wywin7

5.0 stars 2/27/2012 by Wywin7
by Wywin7

I use this charcoal all the time and its good to know that I can pick it up locally in Ridgeland. Cooks quick and evenly and food has a wonderful, natural taste.

Was this review helpful? (18) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wywin7
Hazlehurst, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent taste, easy to start, great value
12/17/2012

Customer review by cgibbs

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by cgibbs
by cgibbs

First and foremost, this is a hardwood lump charcoal, and is not a briquette. It is additive free and imparts a light, smoky flavor on the grill. I use it with many different woods like peach, apple, hickory, cherry, and mesquite. I use it in my Big Green Egg, and it will easily reach 700+ degrees. One of the keys is to not overload your grill, and to use the bigger, solid pieces. It is a great value and there is no substitute.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cgibbs
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Trash the briquettes
7/26/2014

Customer review by Cavalierman

5.0 stars 7/26/2014 by Cavalierman
by Cavalierman

Do yourself a big favor and try this natural lump charcoal.You will then see the tremendous difference in how your grilled food tastes.I wouldn't use briquettes now if someone gave them to me.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cavalierman
Waynesboro,Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very Good Choice for the money and availability...
9/5/2014

Customer review by FloridaCrackerBoy

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by FloridaCrackerBoy
by FloridaCrackerBoy

Given the options available for the best quality lump in my state, I would say it is the best choice for me. I have 4 Weber Smokey Mountain Smokers and run them low and slow for traditional BBQ as well as high heat for cooking meatloaf, pizza, chicken, etc. The taste is very mild and only compliments the smoke woods I add. When smoking fish I go back and forth between my gas smoker and the charcoal depending on what flavor profile I am trying to achieve. If smoking fish you may want to try no smoke wood or using only Alder wood as other woods may give a little too much smoke for most people depending on the type of fish, thickness, and fat content. You can do much worse when picking lump charcoal and if you really want to compare to some other brand, then try http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm for good data points.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FloridaCrackerBoy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works awesome
3/5/2014

Customer review by PDXsmith

4.0 stars 3/5/2014 by PDXsmith
by PDXsmith

I originally used cowboy charcoal for my forge but once i got a bag of this stuff,i'll never go back. Barely smokes Big pieces Great value,6 bucks a bag which is super cost effective Only downside is i got one bag and it was only half full

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PDXsmith
Portland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Burns hot but pieces are small
11/7/2016

Customer review by Toughtoplease100

1.0 stars 11/7/2016 by Toughtoplease100
by Toughtoplease100

Bought 3 20 lb. bags and the pieces are too small. Returning 2 of thenm and not buying from Walmart or this brand again, worthless for quality grilling

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toughtoplease100
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love it
11/7/2016

Customer review by NooNoo

5.0 stars 11/7/2016 by NooNoo
by NooNoo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love how it dont taste like chemicals or makes your food smell like chemicals like all other charcoals do.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NooNoo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great charcoal
11/7/2016

Customer review by Ddgmf

5.0 stars 11/7/2016 by Ddgmf
by Ddgmf
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is some of the best charcoal you can get and it very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ddgmf
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A true clean hardwood charcoal
6/26/2013

Customer review by BaldEagle5

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by BaldEagle5
by BaldEagle5

Excellent product, no monster hunks of charcoal. A true hardwood product. Heats up quickly and evenly. Starts easily/

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BaldEagle5
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews