Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.5out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 | 79 reviews
5 stars
59
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 stars
3
Sort by: 
1-20 of 75 reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
I fully intended to buy Kingsford Briquettes...
6/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
...but saw the Royal Oak Lump Charcoal and gave it a quick lookup on my phone. I liked what I saw from the reviews, and decided to feed my Weber something new. This stuff is way better than the Cowboy stuff they sell at the hardware store and performed just as well as the expensive stuff my local butcher shop carries. The pieces were well sized (big enough to scatter, but small enough to fit easily in my chimney starter). They burned clean, hot, and for a good amount of time...long enough for my Tandori wings to finish as well as a dozen hot dogs...and I could easily have cooked another 30 minutes with the fire. Overall I am very happy I made the purchase and it will probably increase the usage of my Kettle Grill over my Weber Gas Grill this summer. GOOD STUFF!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best there is
5/31/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As a BBQ pitmaster, I use to use the stuff in the blue bag. There was just too much ash and hard to control temps. So, I switched to Royal Oak Lump abt 7 yrs ago and have never looked back. It lights easier, cooks clean, hardly no ash, and consistent temps. Too bad my local WM store only had 6 bags this spring. After they sold out, thanks to me, they have not gotten anymore in... so now I have to go to an orange box hardware store next to my local WM to buy it... come on Walmart wise up and stock this stuff. Just look at all these positive reviews.... I alone will go through abt 200 lbs a year.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Charcoal for Big Green Egg
3/29/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This charcoal is great. Low ash, high temperature >900 degrees Great value compared to the BGE brand charcoal
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Best lump charcoal I've used!
6/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've used other "lump charcoals" and most of the others are little bitty pieces, one HUGE piece and DUST! Royal Oak is pretty good size pieces perfect for a small backyard grill all the way to the bottom of the bag.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Dont Buy Any Other Charcoal
12/5/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been smoking for quite sometime and have tried a lot of different varieties. This is by far the best. It burns hot and long with a small amount of ash. It is very clean and doesn't have weird insulation looking things in it like other popular brands. This is the same charcoal that Big Green Egg uses. The only downside is it will impart some oak smoke. I say its a downside because sometimes you want to control exactly what kind of smoke hits the meat. (e.g. 2 oz of peach with 3 oz of pecan). If you want to go to a great resource for charcoal reviews: http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm
Was this review helpful?
Yes (21)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
unlike most charcoals this natural one burns well
3/26/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
this thing about this charcoal it burns well and has no added kerosene which a horrible taste to food I have used this for years always works well, a little news paper gets it burning
Was this review helpful?
Yes (33)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
excellent charcoal
6/6/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Lights easily with newspaper. Ready quickly. No chemicals like other leading charcoals. Buy a charcoal chimney and use this. You'll love the difference in taste.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great charcoal at an excellent price
11/5/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Burns hot, slow and leaves very little ash.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect, but why the huge price increase?
6/4/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This stuff is a must for grillers and dedicated bbq'ers. Been buying it in store for like 15 years. Last time (last summer) I bought a bag it was less than nine bucks! Now for the last two months they have not carried it. Associate says, try online. OVER 20 bucks? Why? You have taken away my greatest form of cooking and made it UN-AFFORDABLE! Not happy with you Walmart.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
3/3/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this originally for my forge and its works great for heating up steel. It hardly smokes and makes some great barbecued chicken!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use this charcoal all the time and its good to know that I can pick it up locally in Ridgeland. Cooks quick and evenly and food has a wonderful, natural taste.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent taste, easy to start, great value
12/17/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First and foremost, this is a hardwood lump charcoal, and is not a briquette. It is additive free and imparts a light, smoky flavor on the grill. I use it with many different woods like peach, apple, hickory, cherry, and mesquite. I use it in my Big Green Egg, and it will easily reach 700+ degrees. One of the keys is to not overload your grill, and to use the bigger, solid pieces. It is a great value and there is no substitute.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than Cowboy Lump
2/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is pretty good lump charcoal. It burns well and doesn't have much fillers from what I can tell. Low ash and seems to actually be wood scraps, not particle board and nails like other brands. 10/10 would allow to cook meat. Also... Charcoal briquettes... what is this armature hour? If you are a true charcoal fan hardwood lump is the only way to go!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
worst ever kingford three time better
7/15/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
bought 2 big bag on sale never again sti ck to kingford blow the blank out of royal oak
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Trash the briquettes
7/26/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Do yourself a big favor and try this natural lump charcoal.You will then see the tremendous difference in how your grilled food tastes.I wouldn't use briquettes now if someone gave them to me.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very Good Choice for the money and availability...
9/5/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Given the options available for the best quality lump in my state, I would say it is the best choice for me. I have 4 Weber Smokey Mountain Smokers and run them low and slow for traditional BBQ as well as high heat for cooking meatloaf, pizza, chicken, etc. The taste is very mild and only compliments the smoke woods I add. When smoking fish I go back and forth between my gas smoker and the charcoal depending on what flavor profile I am trying to achieve. If smoking fish you may want to try no smoke wood or using only Alder wood as other woods may give a little too much smoke for most people depending on the type of fish, thickness, and fat content. You can do much worse when picking lump charcoal and if you really want to compare to some other brand, then try http://www.nakedwhiz.com/lump.htm for good data points.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works awesome
3/5/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I originally used cowboy charcoal for my forge but once i got a bag of this stuff,i'll never go back. Barely smokes Big pieces Great value,6 bucks a bag which is super cost effective Only downside is i got one bag and it was only half full
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A true clean hardwood charcoal
6/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Excellent product, no monster hunks of charcoal. A true hardwood product. Heats up quickly and evenly. Starts easily/
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great in the BGE!
9/20/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Needed some Royal Oak for the BGE and didn't want to drive across town. Walmart had it in their warehouse and shipped it to my local store same day at a competitive price to the BBQ specialty stores.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
REAL WOOD CHARCOAL THE BEST
3/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
BRICKETS ARE A WASTE OF MONEY. USE THE REAL THINGS AND GET BETTER FLAVOR EVERYTIME.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641777, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-