Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
19
4 stars
13
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 28 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews
I would definately recommend!
4/30/2012

Customer review by metalheadlibra

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by metalheadlibra
by metalheadlibra

We've had this mower a couple weeks now and are very pleased with its performance. Our yard is a little too big to push yet not large enough for some monster mower. This mower gets the job done and the yard looks beautiful.

Was this review helpful? (169) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
metalheadlibra
Glen Dale, WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Great Value
5/19/2012

Customer review by SirMowsalot

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by SirMowsalot
by SirMowsalot

The Murray 38" riding mower is a great value for the price. Has a nice turn radius, runs very well and cuts grass with no problems. It dose not mow in reverse but i knew that when i bought and not a big deal to disengage blades to back up. If you are looking for a riding mower at decent price, you wont be disappointed. Would reccomend buying wheels for deck for more even cut but again dose fine just the way it is.

Was this review helpful? (87) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SirMowsalot
Latham,Ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
LOve my mower!
7/24/2012

Customer review by spark13

4.0 stars 7/24/2012 by spark13
by spark13

Looked at this riding mower about a week before I purchased it. It was $938 when I looked at it.... came back the next week and it had been reduced $100 !! Also I have no interest for 12 months...! Mower does good.... easy to run... I noticed that it is not cutting quite even... after reading other comments I am going to check the tire pressure and also will purchase wheels for the deck. I am a little old lady (85 years of age) so if I can run it anyone can !! I only weigh 130 lbs so we had to use a bungee cord to tie down the seat... works good !

Was this review helpful? (48) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
spark13
Washington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
for the price this is a out standing machine
5/4/2012

Customer review by rousabout

5.0 stars 5/4/2012 by rousabout
by rousabout

This mower is a very good machine for small yard's , It's easy to get around tree's and all of the stuff in my yard and beleave me i have alot .

Was this review helpful? (92) (34)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rousabout
very nice mower
6/24/2012

Customer review by foghornleghorn

5.0 stars 6/24/2012 by foghornleghorn
by foghornleghorn

simple machine to operate & does a fine job. lawn is cut to 3" 's & looks very nice. i added deck wheels, the mulcher kit and a deck wash kit... the mower deck gets easier to remove after the 3rd time! the above add-ons turned this into a great mower [the sale price of $838. was sweet also!] *ps* check the tire pressures! all 4 on my unit were off air wise. ENJOY!

Was this review helpful? (39) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
foghornleghorn
spencer, wv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Simple, Compact and Powerful
4/27/2014

Customer review by JB1953

4.0 stars 4/27/2014 by JB1953
by JB1953

Well I bought my Murray 38", 11hp 4 speed transaxle way back when Murray was still building them. Everything here except transmission seems the same but now MTD builds the mower. Mine is 21 years old and still going strong after about 500 hours of use. Basic maintainence and batteries (Yes this must have a battery included) and a pulley is all I've done to it. I don't know if the New MTD mower has poor quality steel but it looks very close to mine. Make sure to grease the mowing deck after a year to prevent rust. Wish someone would comment on theirs. Remember KISS. Keep it simple stupid Lol.

Was this review helpful? (29) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JB1953
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Top 1000 contributor
7/9/2012

Customer review by worriednana

5.0 stars 7/9/2012 by worriednana
by worriednana

Mower arrived at my door a day earlier than scheduled. Yahoo! It was in a large packing crate and was well protected. Assembly was easy and with a little gas in the tank it was ready to go. This is our first rider so it was a bit tricky to use the first time. We have ordered a mulch kit and deck wheels because our yard is not totally flat and the wheels will help that and the mulch kit is so the big chute will not stick out the side and it will be easier to maneuver through our gates. Runs very well and does an excellent job of cutting the grass.

Was this review helpful? (33) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
worriednana
kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
5/10/2012

Customer review by Borderchild

4.0 stars 5/10/2012 by Borderchild
by Borderchild

This was to replace a previous Murray 38" Discharge Riding Mower. My only complaint is that the new mower has less power than the previous mower.

Was this review helpful? (35) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Borderchild
iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great riding mower
9/1/2012

Customer review by Unibaby

4.0 stars 9/1/2012 by Unibaby
by Unibaby

This mower seems to be a great mower so far. It has a lot of power and mows my yard with ease and that is with my 6' 3" son on it. The only reason I gave it a 4 star overall rating is because it is not equipped to cut in reverse, but that is not a really big problem. I think this mower is great mower and has a fantastic price. If you need something easy to mow with and don't mind it not cutting in reverse, this is a great mower to buy. It is very easy to put together also.

Was this review helpful? (20) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Unibaby
West Palm Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Not a bad mower
5/22/2013

Customer review by Muttleyman

4.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Muttleyman
by Muttleyman

Compared to my old (1967) Wheelhorse, this little rider is a huge improvement! Rides a little rough with the small rear tires but runs great, plenty of power and mows like a pro. Biggest prob I found is the safety feature of engine shutting off if shifting into reverse, you have to shut PTO (mower drive) off before you can back up. Otherwise, this appears to be a great mower at a decent price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Muttleyman
Bradford, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
outstanding riding lawn mower at a great price!
3/9/2013

Customer review by Kinro

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by Kinro
by Kinro

The lawn mower I purchased online was just what I was lookig for. Marray 38 Inch I purchased one eighteen years ago and it died in 2012. It was a great mover just to old. My new more is so advance in what I wanted. Big differance in eighteen years. It so easily to order on line. And it was delivered when they said it wouldbe. The delivery sevice was right on time and the men did a great job.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kinro
Raleigh, North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome Mower
7/7/2014

Customer review by okikcfan

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by okikcfan
by okikcfan

I have had this mower about 6 weeks now and used it about 8 times. It's cut is even and smooth, runs Great, easy to use and cuts well with plenty of power for higher area's of grass and weeds. I have paid more in the past on bigger Brand name mowers and have no complaints with this mower.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
okikcfan
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Walmart associate
5/20/2013

Customer review by Young34

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by Young34
by Young34

For many years I have been mowing with second hand mowers It is so good to finally have a new one I take care of a trailer park so I do alot of mowing I love my murray I always did say they are good mowers When I buy my push mowers I alway buy a Murray I love the cup holder I always had trouble keeping a drink with me I love the safty features The tractor stopping when you get off And I thought I wouldn't like the fact you can;t mow backwards but it isn't too bad I have gotten use to it Very pleased

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Young34
Breezewood, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Riding Mower
9/30/2012

Customer review by Mason63

5.0 stars 9/30/2012 by Mason63
by Mason63

A simple old fashion riding lawn mower. Gets the job done. Lacking the lights; however, a great overall product. I am happy to own one.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mason63
Baton Rouge, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great mower for our budget and lawn.
9/5/2014

Customer review by Kitten82653

5.0 stars 9/5/2014 by Kitten82653
by Kitten82653

I love this mower. It is easy too handle and steer. My husband uses it more than I do. That is a plus, too. He loves it. For the price it is wonderful. The only drawback was it has no headlights but that is ok for us because we don't mow after dark. It seems to have a quieter motor than those we have used it the past.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kitten82653
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
product was in a flood
8/30/2013

Customer review by buttonsdad

1.0 stars 8/30/2013 by buttonsdad
by buttonsdad

After driving an hour to pick this up and then another 20 minutes to my cottage only to find out the engine was full of rusty water. After further investigation, it appeared that this riding mower was in a flood. After getting a neighbor to help me load this back on my truck and another 20 minutes back to Walmart and another 20 minutes to get someone to help me return this piece of junk, did I get a refund. Five hours of wasted time and money (GAS $$) for nothing. The guy at the garden center said that these come from NJ (hurricane Sandy) Needless to say, I'm not happy. No more purchases from Walmart for me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buttonsdad
Rochester,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/21/2012

Customer review by kasso

5.0 stars 7/21/2012 by kasso
by kasso

Murray mower shiped & received earlier than expected with excellant delivery to home. Very minor assembly was required. Rus perfect out of the crate. Nice affordible unit.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kasso
Riverton, WY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great tractor
8/25/2014

Customer review by Prokaren

4.0 stars 8/25/2014 by Prokaren
by Prokaren

Great tractor for the money. I have 2 acres of lawn and trees. Cuts my mowing time in half. I put a trailer on back to pick up sticks and twigs as I do the yard. Delivery time was promised at 2pm and it was here at 159 in perfect condition. It was easy to uncreated and to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Prokaren
Forestville n.y.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great lawn mower!
9/8/2014

Customer review by Shawling

5.0 stars 9/8/2014 by Shawling
by Shawling

My lawn was pretty grown up because I had to wait a couple of weeks until I could afford a new lawn mower. I moved in, in August and just cut my grass over this past weekend to give an idea of how high the grass was. The lawn mower cut through it with ease, and my yard is almost 2 acres. I got a 2 gallon gas can and filled it once, and it cut all of my grass with just 2 gallons. I love my new lawn mower, and I highly recommend it because it's a great mower at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shawling
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hope you don,t need Service...
9/23/2013

Customer review by ELMONTY

2.0 stars 9/23/2013 by ELMONTY
by ELMONTY

I bought this mower because I had an Older Murray 11 HP "38 and it had been such a good mower, all things change, this mower does not even resemble the old one. I have had it 30days now, used it once, it seemed to mow O.K. however it has been in the shop for most of this 30days, it did not shift into gear properly and made a loud sweeking noise when the deck was in the #5 position, after 30 days I still don't have my mower, service & repair is lacking, wish I hadn't sold my 15 yr. old Murray

Was this review helpful? (9) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ELMONTY
Kansas City Mo. area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 28 total reviews
1-20 of 28 reviews