Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 257 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

257 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

257 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
150
4 stars
70
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 stars
24
1-20 of 227 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews
Great 1st time buyer lawn mower
6/3/2012

Customer review by musicmanxoxo2004

4.0 stars 6/3/2012 by musicmanxoxo2004
by musicmanxoxo2004

I just purchased this mower. I must admit I'm satisfied. I've only used it once; however, so far I have no complaints. The one drawback I might include is that it only has one speed, full throttle. I'm sure its governed not to be full blast. It came with a pint of oil or so I dont remember but it was the required amount for use. I added the oil, 1 gallon of gas, and it cranked right up on first pull; i pulled rather easily just to see how tight the motor was and it fired up. I dont use the side or bag, I just let it mulch and it does great. I mowed my whole lawn on the one gallon. Took me about an hour and never needed to refill gas. It has 1 front height adjustment and 1 rear height adjustment, meaning one adjustment lever on one side adjusts both front wheels, works good. I looked at others but for the price and torque and looks, this mower was the one for me. when you assemble, remember to pull the push handle out to the correct position. It comes in transport mode pushed in and it locks the blade in place.

Was this review helpful? (91) (29)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
musicmanxoxo2004
Lawton, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice product so far
6/14/2014

Customer review by Grannystrong

4.0 stars 6/14/2014 by Grannystrong
by Grannystrong
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used the mower once since getting it. It was pretty easy to assemble since most was already done for you, however, the directions didn't explain that if the handle wasn't properly pulled out far enough the blade wouldn't spin, hence to try and start it would be impossible. So after calling the customer support number that came in the manual, they referred me to another number. This number was to the "Proactive Face Cleanser". So as expected, she was unable to help with the mower issue but could give me Information on face cleanser. So, after trying to find a proper customer support for Briggs and Stratton i did manage to get in touch with their tech support gentleman. Who wasn't much help and said sorry but you have to return the item. So made a call to my local walmart and took the mower in an they started her right up after properly pulling the handle all the way out. Moral of this is that te directions could be a little bit more explainable for those of us granny's who may not be real technically inclined

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grannystrong
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/28/2013

Customer review by keystonestg

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by keystonestg
by keystonestg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great mower, I've only had it 3 weeks, but so far it has exceeded my expectations. It is VERY lightweight so maneuvering it is effortless. I have used a self propelled mower before and prefer this one. The bagger has worked just fine so far. It seats onto the back of the mower very easily and removes just the same. I haven't had any issues with clogging but I do empty the bag often while mowing, every 10 minutes or so. I only have a quarter of an acre to mow, if that, and can knock it out in 45 minutes. I have not used the chute or mulching functions yet so I can't speak on those. After priming the button on the engine a few times it has always started up with one pull. Briggs and Stratton makes fine engines. I bought this as a package deal with a gas weedeater for around $275 with free shipping to my local store which took 3 days. I am very satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (16) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keystonestg
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good push mower for the money.
5/5/2012

Customer review by Lawnmowerman77

4.0 stars 5/5/2012 by Lawnmowerman77
by Lawnmowerman77

Bought this mower for the features offered at the price. Lightweight, easy to assemble and start, handle folds easily for compact storage although i would recommend using some type of lubricant at the point the handle slides into/out of the mower. The single front/rear height adjusters are easy to use although being molded plastic not sure how well they'll hold up. Bagging system is easy to use but once again some components are molded plastic so not sure about longevity. Overall a very good mower for the price. This is the second Murray push mower i've owned, the first has lasted 7 years and still runs strong and cranks on first or second pull everytime. Purchased this one for the bagging feature.

Was this review helpful? (42) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lawnmowerman77
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
5/22/2012

Customer review by cynyconn

4.0 stars 5/22/2012 by cynyconn
by cynyconn

Good little mower for the money.. engine lacks a throttle which was not indicated in the product specifications but it so far starts up easily. It was easy to assemble and started the first time. Really like the bag or mulch options; been using the bagger and lawn looks great. Thank You , as usual a great Walmart Value!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cynyconn
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good Light weight mower
4/20/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/20/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This mower is much lighter than the last Murray I purchased many years ago from Walmart. It is very easy to set up and starts right up. If you are not into paying alot for a walking lawn mower You can't beat it for the price The test will be in its longevity so we shall see. My last one lasted 7-8 years and I would expect this to to the same.

Was this review helpful? (163) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rochester NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Very good product
10/26/2013

Customer review by ObiBrockNobi

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by ObiBrockNobi
by ObiBrockNobi
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was skeptical of this product at first because of the low price I got with the package deal of the mower and the trimmer for $250. But the day before I picked the product up I was at my job and someone was talking about mowers and how Murray was a very decent product. Very easy to put together and very comfortable to use. It clips in place and makes for very easy use. I enjoy the multiple levels of cutting height as my yard is at an angle in several places and it makes trimming the angles easier then with a set height mower. Attaching the frame of the grass catcher is easier then expected and cleanup in nice. Also comes with oil for the first few uses and you don't have to mix gas and oil together for the product. Feels sturdy and has a pretty decent amount of power.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ObiBrockNobi
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
defective front-wheel/axle connector
10/8/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/8/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Will be returning mower tomorrow, this after having taken it out of the box today. After extending the handle, I stepped forward a few steps in my small shed, pushing the mower. I noticed that the mower was pulling to the right. I stepped backwards, pulling the mower, and noticed the same. Turns out that the piece of steel that connects the front axle to the front-right wheel was bent. Being that this connecting piece is such a strong, solid piece of metal, I wondered how it could possible become so bent without other parts of the mower showing damage. No way that it was damaged in the box. Whoever assembled it should have noticed the faulty piece. I'm a handy guy, but trying to straighten out this piece would be unwise because it's tough to get at and because I might break it off from the front axle. Not only does that bent piece cause the mower to pull to the side, it also causes a height imbalance between the front wheels.

Was this review helpful? (10) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Covington, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
ENGINE BROKE ON FIRST USE
8/8/2012

Customer review by SouthernCowboy

1.0 stars 8/8/2012 by SouthernCowboy
by SouthernCowboy

I was hoping this was going to be a purchase I didn't have to take back. I was really excited about trying this mower out. I brought it home and put it together. I was amazed at how easy it started. When it came time to mow I was amazed with the whole mower until the one thing I thought that wouldn't break did. The engine! A piece of plastic under the engine cover fell down into the flywheel and got chewed up. I think I would like this mower if it had the bigger engine. They are built a little better. I took this one back to the store. They need to fix this problem with this engine. It didn't even finish my yard once. That's sad! I miss the old mowers that would blow the grass out good and last a long time. All new push mowers seem to be junk. They don't make them like they used to.

Was this review helpful? (35) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SouthernCowboy
Walland, TN 37886
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Mower
4/8/2013

Customer review by DMW2005

5.0 stars 4/8/2013 by DMW2005
by DMW2005

We bought this yesterday, it was good putting together though it doesn't include instructions for putting the bag together. For anyone reading this the metal bar goes inside the bag. (this is our first mower and first time putting one together). Oil is included. We pushed the prime button 4 times and started up. Cuts great. We also bought a extended warranty would recommend buying the extended as if anything goes wrong it can be replaced. I find it easy to push and the yard I'm mowing is uneven. After researching the cheaper versions I found these reveiws to be the best for the mowers in this price range. Research what you are buying. This the mower with the best reveiws in this price range. thats why we bought it.

Was this review helpful? (38) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DMW2005
Knoxville Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
4/11/2012

Customer review by SugarII

5.0 stars 4/11/2012 by SugarII
by SugarII

My last two push mowers were too hard to start and too heavy to push respectively. This one is perfect. Also, it is easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (215) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SugarII
Mansfield, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Fantastic Mower I Love It!
5/31/2014

Customer review by VicksGuy33

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by VicksGuy33
by VicksGuy33

I have always used self propelled lawn mowers Toro, Troy-Bilt, Lawn-Boy, and John Deere. This is the first manual push and the first Murray mower I have ever owned so I didn't know what to expect and honestly I wasn't expecting to much. I am amazed by this mower it starts on the first pull every single time cold or hot doesn't matter. The engine is very quiet and excellent on gas I can mow the entire house about 3 times on one full tank my old mowers were gas hogs I would have to fill the tank every time I mowed. The Murray is so light weight compared to my previous mowers. I have had both steel deck and cast aluminum deck mowers but they were all heavy tanks to lift or move this one I can lift off the ground with 3 fingers it weighs nothing I love it and because it is so light weight it's extremely easy to push. My self propelled mowers would take me 45 minutes to mow the entire house with this one it now only takes me 20 minutes to mow the entire house because I am not limited to the speed of the mower. I can now walk at my own personal speed which at 6' tall I walk pretty fast. To sum it all up this is an excellent machine at a great price I recommend this mower strongly.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VicksGuy33
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
easy to use and clean up after mowing is a breeze
8/28/2012

Customer review by JimmieOh1

3.0 stars 8/28/2012 by JimmieOh1
by JimmieOh1

I was able to put together in less than 15 minutes. Good on gas and oil and easy to use. I just don't like the way the bag attachment works. If you don't have the rubber guard in the proper place you have clippings flying at you, but over all it is OK.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimmieOh1
Cleveland, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
8/31/2012

Customer review by Slaphappy9

5.0 stars 8/31/2012 by Slaphappy9
by Slaphappy9

In my opinion this product is amazing and easy to handle. This product offers a smooth cut with easy moveability. I would recommend this product to everyone who is is looking for an in expensive lawn mower for great results. Happy customer

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slaphappy9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
This is the greatest lawn mower I ever purchased
4/13/2013

Customer review by lawnrider

5.0 stars 4/13/2013 by lawnrider
by lawnrider

This is a great hard working lawn mower. I have about 3 acres that I didn't touch for about 2 years and at some point I thought I need a riding lawn mower to get rid of the grass. But my friend told me to go ahead and get this one just to see if it works. I bought it and I was surprised that this small machine is cutting anything it sees. I ended up not needing the riding lawn mower. This is very strong and does the job great. It cuts, it mulch, it does everything. Its light weight so even if you have hills, its light to push, so you wouldn't have problem pushing this thing. Trust me this is the one.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lawnrider
charlottesville,VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
for everything it does it is priced reasonably.
11/1/2012

Customer review by Leafman237

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by Leafman237
by Leafman237
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Lawnmower is easy to assemble and started up right away. the levers fo raising and lowering the mowing height make it simple to use and in low it picks up the mulched grass and leaves. have used it three times and so far cuts down on the time my old lawnmower took to pick up leaves and grass. it also mulches well without the bag. the only con is that the bag for bagging is on the smaller side so it fills up more rapidly than a larger one. Lastly it is light enough to take down stairs for storage and fits into back of wagon for movement to other locations. Better priced than most competitors.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leafman237
Riverside Il.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/2/2013

Customer review by GVWE

5.0 stars 4/2/2013 by GVWE
by GVWE

This lawn mower was pretty easy to assemble(basically just a matter of putting the handle and grass catcher together), started on FIRST pull, cuts well, and is SO LIGHT in weight and therefore so easy to push that you would never miss the fact that it's not self-propelled..I'm 55 years old and it is the BEST and EASIEST mower I have EVER used..All in all, an EXCELLENT value!

Was this review helpful? (31) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GVWE
De Soto, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
works great
1/14/2016

Customer review by sonickathy

4.0 stars 1/14/2016 by sonickathy
by sonickathy

very easy to put together.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sonickathy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Glad we purchased a Murray.
1/12/2016

Customer review by Danny

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by Danny
by Danny

We now have the nicest looking yard in the neighborhood. Does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Danny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/10/2012

Customer review by Diditall

4.0 stars 4/10/2012 by Diditall
by Diditall

Starts easy. Is light, and easy to push. The only thing I would change is the side shoot. It can come off if pumped against something.

Was this review helpful? (96) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diditall
Mathis TX.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 227 total reviews
1-20 of 227 reviews