Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 326 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

326 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

326 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
193
4 stars
82
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 stars
31
1-20 of 295 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 295 total reviews
1-20 of 295 reviews
please read
4/19/2016

Customer review by averagejoe

5.0 stars 4/19/2016 by averagejoe
by averagejoe

Let me start by saying nice push mower for 200$. I cant say I love this mower like I do my LAWN BOY, it has done what its supposed to do. It starts first to second pull after pushing prime 5 times, [ if run dry, ]. She does bog down a bit in thick grass but what do u expect it does not have a jet engine on it FOR THOSE WHO WRITE BAD REVIEWS thanks for ur input. The problems may possible be in the carborators, but the biggest problem is the gas u use. Please take note that you should only use 87 octane with NO MORE THAN 10% ETHANOL. If ur not aware u need to put a good fuel stabilizer in the gas you use [ LUCAS, SEAFOAM, BERKIBILE, OR A STABILIZER THAT IS MADE TO HELP WITH ETHANOL FUEL.] Go to YOUTUBE and look up ethanol problems you will get a good lesson on what these oil companys are doing to our investments[ ps. thanks government for stilling more out of our p[ockets..

Was this review helpful? (50) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
averagejoe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Murray 21" Gas Push Mower
5/23/2016

Customer review by FDavis

5.0 stars 5/23/2016 by FDavis
by FDavis
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I recently purchased this item on walmart.com. The site gave specs, availability, and allowed me to ship to store. The entire process was seamless and convenient. I was notified, via email when my order was ready for pickup. When I arrived at the store, an associate assisted me with my purchase, and my package was brought to my car. The lawnmower was already assembled, but there were several items that had to be screwed or attached, properly. The instructions were helpful, but an old push mower, standing by in the garage, simplified the process and made me feel more confident about the assembly. After adding some oil, that was included with the mower, and gas that I purchased, the lawnmower started on my first attempt. I am pleased with the performance of the mower, as well as its mulching capability. A great value for the price. I highly recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (15) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FDavis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic mower, on 5th year !
4/8/2016

Customer review by TG74

5.0 stars 4/8/2016 by TG74
by TG74

I guess it's finally time i write my review for this mower. 2016 will be it's 5th season of service, i have always kept it in the shed, changed the spark plug and oil every 2nd season, and it ALWAYS starts on the first pull. I just mowed today for the first time this season, pulled it out of the shed, checked the oil, primed it, and it fired right up on the first pull. It cuts great, but like most push mowers of this size it gets sluggish in thick grass. The only maintenance i have done was clean the carburetor last season, and installed a new blade, and today it got a new gas cap...which i will discuss below. The ONLY negative i have about this mower is the gas cap, it started leaking last year, so today before i mowed for the first time i replaced the cap with a new one, i started to mow and i am pretty sure it's leaking worse now than it was last year with the old cap. I have no idea why this is happening, there appears to be no damage or anything around the cap, so i may have to call the service dept. to figure something out. The mower runs amazing, but with a gas leak i may have to replace the mower.

Was this review helpful? (31) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TG74
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great 1st time buyer lawn mower
6/3/2012

Customer review by musicmanxoxo2004

4.0 stars 6/3/2012 by musicmanxoxo2004
by musicmanxoxo2004

I just purchased this mower. I must admit I'm satisfied. I've only used it once; however, so far I have no complaints. The one drawback I might include is that it only has one speed, full throttle. I'm sure its governed not to be full blast. It came with a pint of oil or so I dont remember but it was the required amount for use. I added the oil, 1 gallon of gas, and it cranked right up on first pull; i pulled rather easily just to see how tight the motor was and it fired up. I dont use the side or bag, I just let it mulch and it does great. I mowed my whole lawn on the one gallon. Took me about an hour and never needed to refill gas. It has 1 front height adjustment and 1 rear height adjustment, meaning one adjustment lever on one side adjusts both front wheels, works good. I looked at others but for the price and torque and looks, this mower was the one for me. when you assemble, remember to pull the push handle out to the correct position. It comes in transport mode pushed in and it locks the blade in place.

Was this review helpful? (128) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
musicmanxoxo2004
Lawton, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Nice product so far
6/14/2014

Customer review by Grannystrong

4.0 stars 6/14/2014 by Grannystrong
by Grannystrong
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used the mower once since getting it. It was pretty easy to assemble since most was already done for you, however, the directions didn't explain that if the handle wasn't properly pulled out far enough the blade wouldn't spin, hence to try and start it would be impossible. So after calling the customer support number that came in the manual, they referred me to another number. This number was to the "Proactive Face Cleanser". So as expected, she was unable to help with the mower issue but could give me Information on face cleanser. So, after trying to find a proper customer support for Briggs and Stratton i did manage to get in touch with their tech support gentleman. Who wasn't much help and said sorry but you have to return the item. So made a call to my local walmart and took the mower in an they started her right up after properly pulling the handle all the way out. Moral of this is that te directions could be a little bit more explainable for those of us granny's who may not be real technically inclined

Was this review helpful? (33) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grannystrong
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
very bad experience
6/10/2016

Customer review by Garfield

1.0 stars 6/10/2016 by Garfield
by Garfield

I bought my mom this lawn mower for my mom on March 25th, just a little over two months ago and now I have to spend $100 to get it repaired because Murray doesn't cover the problem. The mechanic stated that the gas clogged the carburetor and fuel line, but this is the same gas that has gone in all the lawn equipment even the car. When I called Murray, the tech stated that they have been having a lot of issue with bad gas. Not so sure if its the gas. but to have to fork over money for repairs on a new lawn mower is ridiculous. My first and last time buying a Murray product and probably my last time paying any lawn equipment for WalMart.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Garfield
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nothing but problems since purchased
4/3/2016

Customer review by Djordan

1.0 stars 4/3/2016 by Djordan
by Djordan

I bought this lawn mower about a year ago and have had nothing but problems since I got it. I works sporadically. I have used it 7-8 times and it stopped cranking, finally got it back working. Pulled it back out for this year and it wont crank. I spend more time trying to figure out whats wrong with it rather than being able to use it. Would not recommend this lawn mower. Nothing but problems since I bought it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Djordan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not what they used to be
4/11/2016

Customer review by Ralraus

2.0 stars 4/11/2016 by Ralraus
by Ralraus

The best thing this Murray has going is that it has a Briggs & Stratton engine. I noticed at first there was no throttle. That's fine I know the tech is better than in the past for cold starts, however many of the higher end models still have a throttle or a guarantee that theirs will start. After I got it back and unboxed it I also noticed this model has no primer bulb. That can be an issue when it has set up all winter. They say to use stabilizer fuel additive but that does not always work when the mower has a few years on it. A gas line shut off would be helpful for storage (the parts are cheap and they could do this and not change the price much). Then I noticed how the bag fits onto the frame. You have to maneuver it over the 'plastic' wing bolts. This is will be a problem on those hot summer days when the bag is full and your tired, or it catches on the 'plastic' wind bolts ( most likely snapping them off). I gave this two stars because it has the Briggs and Stratton engine. Can't blame them for this bad design. I am taking this back after only an hour of use. I have a Murray riding mower (older) so I am not biased against this brand, just disappointed. I am looking at another brand or another store to buy from.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ralraus
Would recommend to a friend? No
defective front-wheel/axle connector
10/8/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 10/8/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Will be returning mower tomorrow, this after having taken it out of the box today. After extending the handle, I stepped forward a few steps in my small shed, pushing the mower. I noticed that the mower was pulling to the right. I stepped backwards, pulling the mower, and noticed the same. Turns out that the piece of steel that connects the front axle to the front-right wheel was bent. Being that this connecting piece is such a strong, solid piece of metal, I wondered how it could possible become so bent without other parts of the mower showing damage. No way that it was damaged in the box. Whoever assembled it should have noticed the faulty piece. I'm a handy guy, but trying to straighten out this piece would be unwise because it's tough to get at and because I might break it off from the front axle. Not only does that bent piece cause the mower to pull to the side, it also causes a height imbalance between the front wheels.

Was this review helpful? (24) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Covington, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
8/28/2013

Customer review by keystonestg

5.0 stars 8/28/2013 by keystonestg
by keystonestg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great mower, I've only had it 3 weeks, but so far it has exceeded my expectations. It is VERY lightweight so maneuvering it is effortless. I have used a self propelled mower before and prefer this one. The bagger has worked just fine so far. It seats onto the back of the mower very easily and removes just the same. I haven't had any issues with clogging but I do empty the bag often while mowing, every 10 minutes or so. I only have a quarter of an acre to mow, if that, and can knock it out in 45 minutes. I have not used the chute or mulching functions yet so I can't speak on those. After priming the button on the engine a few times it has always started up with one pull. Briggs and Stratton makes fine engines. I bought this as a package deal with a gas weedeater for around $275 with free shipping to my local store which took 3 days. I am very satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (31) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
keystonestg
Edmond, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy it !
3/30/2016

Customer review by Bert

1.0 stars 3/30/2016 by Bert
by Bert

All these wonderful ratings are from people who just bought. I loved it too when I first got it. But in less than a year I was taking it to the shop for failure to start. Still would'nt run without pushing the primer bulb 8 or 9 times. Next it would start but would quit running after it burned the gas that the primer had pushed into the carb. This is not Murray's fault. It's on the Briggs people and their carburetors. I will never again buy a push or walk behind with a Briggs engine on it. I just ordered a Troy-built 21 inch with the Honda engine from Lowe's. Less than $300.00 This is a powerful little motor and not as loud.

Was this review helpful? (21) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bert
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very poor quality
4/20/2016

Customer review by lovelylh571

1.0 stars 4/20/2016 by lovelylh571
by lovelylh571

I bought this mower last summer because it looked nice and I thought the price was very good. Was easy to assemble, just take out of the box. Used it about 5 times last year and now that I am ready to mow the yard, it will not start. Was house all year long so it was taken care of. Haven't even owned it for a year and I can never get through to Murray because of the manufacturers warranty still good on it, the extended that I bought is no good. Found several dealers that Murray would have you take the thing to but the wait is 6 to 8 weeks for it to be fixed. FORGET IT!!! WILL NEVER BUY AGAIN!!!

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lovelylh571
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent lawmower
7/21/2016

Customer review by santos

5.0 stars 7/21/2016 by santos
by santos
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it so far

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
santos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great mower
7/16/2016

Customer review by Dtsb

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Dtsb
by Dtsb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It is basically ready in the box.just attach and adjust the handles, and pour in the oil that is included. It starts with one pull...! Runs and cuts great. Love the optional side or rear discharge.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dtsb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
FAST SHIPPING AND MOWER WORKS GREAT !!
7/16/2016

Customer review by SWEET

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by SWEET
by SWEET
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

FAST SHIPPING AND MOWER WORKS GREAT !!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWEET
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ease of use
5/21/2016

Customer review by DeeDee

5.0 stars 5/21/2016 by DeeDee
by DeeDee
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

For many years we had a lawn service, but decided to do it ourselves. We wanted to lawnmower that would be easy to use, able to do short Hills, and maintenance minimal. This lawnmower achieves all of this. Very easy to put together out of the box, it was ready within 10 minutes. Love the fact that you don't have to worry about the gas oil mixture. And the oil comes with it .'s we have use this about six or seven times now and it has been extremely easy to use. We do wash it off after each use and keep it in the garage to keep it out of the elements.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DeeDee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Murry 21 lawn mower
7/11/2016

Customer review by Marti

5.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Marti
by Marti
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love the mower, it is easy handling.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marti
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great
7/11/2016

Customer review by Jimm

4.0 stars 7/11/2016 by Jimm
by Jimm
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's great

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jimm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't let the picture fool you.
7/8/2016

Customer review by Mindy

1.0 stars 7/8/2016 by Mindy
by Mindy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The picture of this mower is not what comes in the box. Be sure you read the features. I was wanting the bigger tires like it shows but it only had 8" tires on the back.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mindy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Light weight mower
4/20/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 4/20/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This mower is much lighter than the last Murray I purchased many years ago from Walmart. It is very easy to set up and starts right up. If you are not into paying alot for a walking lawn mower You can't beat it for the price The test will be in its longevity so we shall see. My last one lasted 7-8 years and I would expect this to to the same.

Was this review helpful? (170) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Rochester NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 295 total reviews
1-20 of 295 reviews