Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 345 reviews
5 stars
200
4 stars
87
3 stars
12
2 stars
10
1 stars
36
Sort by: 
1-20 of 314 reviews
1-20 of 314 reviews
Great 1st time buyer lawn mower
6/3/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just purchased this mower. I must admit I'm satisfied. I've only used it once; however, so far I have no complaints. The one drawback I might include is that it only has one speed, full throttle. I'm sure its governed not to be full blast. It came with a pint of oil or so I dont remember but it was the required amount for use. I added the oil, 1 gallon of gas, and it cranked right up on first pull; i pulled rather easily just to see how tight the motor was and it fired up. I dont use the side or bag, I just let it mulch and it does great. I mowed my whole lawn on the one gallon. Took me about an hour and never needed to refill gas. It has 1 front height adjustment and 1 rear height adjustment, meaning one adjustment lever on one side adjusts both front wheels, works good. I looked at others but for the price and torque and looks, this mower was the one for me. when you assemble, remember to pull the push handle out to the correct position. It comes in transport mode pushed in and it locks the blade in place.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (149)No (60)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice product so far
6/14/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used the mower once since getting it. It was pretty easy to assemble since most was already done for you, however, the directions didn't explain that if the handle wasn't properly pulled out far enough the blade wouldn't spin, hence to try and start it would be impossible. So after calling the customer support number that came in the manual, they referred me to another number. This number was to the "Proactive Face Cleanser". So as expected, she was unable to help with the mower issue but could give me Information on face cleanser. So, after trying to find a proper customer support for Briggs and Stratton i did manage to get in touch with their tech support gentleman. Who wasn't much help and said sorry but you have to return the item. So made a call to my local walmart and took the mower in an they started her right up after properly pulling the handle all the way out. Moral of this is that te directions could be a little bit more explainable for those of us granny's who may not be real technically inclined
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (36)
Report
Was this review helpful?
defective front-wheel/axle connector
10/8/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Will be returning mower tomorrow, this after having taken it out of the box today. After extending the handle, I stepped forward a few steps in my small shed, pushing the mower. I noticed that the mower was pulling to the right. I stepped backwards, pulling the mower, and noticed the same. Turns out that the piece of steel that connects the front axle to the front-right wheel was bent. Being that this connecting piece is such a strong, solid piece of metal, I wondered how it could possible become so bent without other parts of the mower showing damage. No way that it was damaged in the box. Whoever assembled it should have noticed the faulty piece. I'm a handy guy, but trying to straighten out this piece would be unwise because it's tough to get at and because I might break it off from the front axle. Not only does that bent piece cause the mower to pull to the side, it also causes a height imbalance between the front wheels.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Murray 21" Gas Push Mower
5/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I recently purchased this item on walmart.com. The site gave specs, availability, and allowed me to ship to store. The entire process was seamless and convenient. I was notified, via email when my order was ready for pickup. When I arrived at the store, an associate assisted me with my purchase, and my package was brought to my car. The lawnmower was already assembled, but there were several items that had to be screwed or attached, properly. The instructions were helpful, but an old push mower, standing by in the garage, simplified the process and made me feel more confident about the assembly. After adding some oil, that was included with the mower, and gas that I purchased, the lawnmower started on my first attempt. I am pleased with the performance of the mower, as well as its mulching capability. A great value for the price. I highly recommend this item.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is a great mower, I've only had it 3 weeks, but so far it has exceeded my expectations. It is VERY lightweight so maneuvering it is effortless. I have used a self propelled mower before and prefer this one. The bagger has worked just fine so far. It seats onto the back of the mower very easily and removes just the same. I haven't had any issues with clogging but I do empty the bag often while mowing, every 10 minutes or so. I only have a quarter of an acre to mow, if that, and can knock it out in 45 minutes. I have not used the chute or mulching functions yet so I can't speak on those. After priming the button on the engine a few times it has always started up with one pull. Briggs and Stratton makes fine engines. I bought this as a package deal with a gas weedeater for around $275 with free shipping to my local store which took 3 days. I am very satisfied with my purchase and would recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic mower, on 5th year !
4/8/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I guess it's finally time i write my review for this mower. 2016 will be it's 5th season of service, i have always kept it in the shed, changed the spark plug and oil every 2nd season, and it ALWAYS starts on the first pull. I just mowed today for the first time this season, pulled it out of the shed, checked the oil, primed it, and it fired right up on the first pull. It cuts great, but like most push mowers of this size it gets sluggish in thick grass. The only maintenance i have done was clean the carburetor last season, and installed a new blade, and today it got a new gas cap...which i will discuss below. The ONLY negative i have about this mower is the gas cap, it started leaking last year, so today before i mowed for the first time i replaced the cap with a new one, i started to mow and i am pretty sure it's leaking worse now than it was last year with the old cap. I have no idea why this is happening, there appears to be no damage or anything around the cap, so i may have to call the service dept. to figure something out. The mower runs amazing, but with a gas leak i may have to replace the mower.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (49)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I like it
6/18/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought it in the box. Following the directions, I had it setup in about 10 minutes. It was for my sister who lives with my mom. They can almost never use Gas stuff because of the hard starting. Once I pit the oil and gas in... 1 pull. No priming, nothing. 1 pull and it started. It gave off white smoke at first. I believe that's be cause they make it run rich at first for easy starting. I mowed our whole yard and it worked wonderfully. Good mower so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Engine Does Not Reliably Start
12/31/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I actually bought this mower twice. Both times it worked fine the first time or two I used it. After that, it refused to start again. When this first happened, I ruled out all the usual issues (like engine flooding) and finally concluded the mower was defective and so replaced it with a new one. But then the very same problem happened again. After asking around and doing online research, I came to learn that the engines now used in this brand of mower apparently require VERY FRESH gasoline. Old gas, even if only just a few weeks old, does not seem to work (at all). Apparently this issue is due to some kind of change in engine design aimed at making the mowers more environmentally friendly. I contacted the manufacturer about the problem to see if there was anything they could recommend but I received no response from Murray. I previously owned an older model from this manufacturer and it provided reliable service for 10 years. Today two of their brand new mowers could not even last the one summer. I have since purchased another brand and I have had no further problems with engine starting.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Light weight mower
4/20/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This mower is much lighter than the last Murray I purchased many years ago from Walmart. It is very easy to set up and starts right up. If you are not into paying alot for a walking lawn mower You can't beat it for the price The test will be in its longevity so we shall see. My last one lasted 7-8 years and I would expect this to to the same.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (176)No (21)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ENGINE BROKE ON FIRST USE
8/8/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was hoping this was going to be a purchase I didn't have to take back. I was really excited about trying this mower out. I brought it home and put it together. I was amazed at how easy it started. When it came time to mow I was amazed with the whole mower until the one thing I thought that wouldn't break did. The engine! A piece of plastic under the engine cover fell down into the flywheel and got chewed up. I think I would like this mower if it had the bigger engine. They are built a little better. I took this one back to the store. They need to fix this problem with this engine. It didn't even finish my yard once. That's sad! I miss the old mowers that would blow the grass out good and last a long time. All new push mowers seem to be junk. They don't make them like they used to.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good push mower for the money.
5/5/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this mower for the features offered at the price. Lightweight, easy to assemble and start, handle folds easily for compact storage although i would recommend using some type of lubricant at the point the handle slides into/out of the mower. The single front/rear height adjusters are easy to use although being molded plastic not sure how well they'll hold up. Bagging system is easy to use but once again some components are molded plastic so not sure about longevity. Overall a very good mower for the price. This is the second Murray push mower i've owned, the first has lasted 7 years and still runs strong and cranks on first or second pull everytime. Purchased this one for the bagging feature.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My last two push mowers were too hard to start and too heavy to push respectively. This one is perfect. Also, it is easy to assemble.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (223)No (30)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Mower
4/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this yesterday, it was good putting together though it doesn't include instructions for putting the bag together. For anyone reading this the metal bar goes inside the bag. (this is our first mower and first time putting one together). Oil is included. We pushed the prime button 4 times and started up. Cuts great. We also bought a extended warranty would recommend buying the extended as if anything goes wrong it can be replaced. I find it easy to push and the yard I'm mowing is uneven. After researching the cheaper versions I found these reveiws to be the best for the mowers in this price range. Research what you are buying. This the mower with the best reveiws in this price range. thats why we bought it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic Mower I Love It!
5/31/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have always used self propelled lawn mowers Toro, Troy-Bilt, Lawn-Boy, and John Deere. This is the first manual push and the first Murray mower I have ever owned so I didn't know what to expect and honestly I wasn't expecting to much. I am amazed by this mower it starts on the first pull every single time cold or hot doesn't matter. The engine is very quiet and excellent on gas I can mow the entire house about 3 times on one full tank my old mowers were gas hogs I would have to fill the tank every time I mowed. The Murray is so light weight compared to my previous mowers. I have had both steel deck and cast aluminum deck mowers but they were all heavy tanks to lift or move this one I can lift off the ground with 3 fingers it weighs nothing I love it and because it is so light weight it's extremely easy to push. My self propelled mowers would take me 45 minutes to mow the entire house with this one it now only takes me 20 minutes to mow the entire house because I am not limited to the speed of the mower. I can now walk at my own personal speed which at 6' tall I walk pretty fast. To sum it all up this is an excellent machine at a great price I recommend this mower strongly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very good product
10/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was skeptical of this product at first because of the low price I got with the package deal of the mower and the trimmer for $250. But the day before I picked the product up I was at my job and someone was talking about mowers and how Murray was a very decent product. Very easy to put together and very comfortable to use. It clips in place and makes for very easy use. I enjoy the multiple levels of cutting height as my yard is at an angle in several places and it makes trimming the angles easier then with a set height mower. Attaching the frame of the grass catcher is easier then expected and cleanup in nice. Also comes with oil for the first few uses and you don't have to mix gas and oil together for the product. Feels sturdy and has a pretty decent amount of power.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/10/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Starts easy. Is light, and easy to push. The only thing I would change is the side shoot. It can come off if pumped against something.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (100)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
8/31/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
In my opinion this product is amazing and easy to handle. This product offers a smooth cut with easy moveability. I would recommend this product to everyone who is is looking for an in expensive lawn mower for great results. Happy customer
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This lawn mower was pretty easy to assemble(basically just a matter of putting the handle and grass catcher together), started on FIRST pull, cuts well, and is SO LIGHT in weight and therefore so easy to push that you would never miss the fact that it's not self-propelled..I'm 55 years old and it is the BEST and EASIEST mower I have EVER used..All in all, an EXCELLENT value!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This is the greatest lawn mower I ever purchased
4/13/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great hard working lawn mower. I have about 3 acres that I didn't touch for about 2 years and at some point I thought I need a riding lawn mower to get rid of the grass. But my friend told me to go ahead and get this one just to see if it works. I bought it and I was surprised that this small machine is cutting anything it sees. I ended up not needing the riding lawn mower. This is very strong and does the job great. It cuts, it mulch, it does everything. Its light weight so even if you have hills, its light to push, so you wouldn't have problem pushing this thing. Trust me this is the one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
easy to use and clean up after mowing is a breeze
8/28/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was able to put together in less than 15 minutes. Good on gas and oil and easy to use. I just don't like the way the bag attachment works. If you don't have the rubber guard in the proper place you have clippings flying at you, but over all it is OK.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643928, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-