Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 15 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

15 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
3
1-11 of 11 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Murray Parts Replacement
10/10/2012

Customer review by wjhrb3

4.0 stars 10/10/2012 by wjhrb3
by wjhrb3

I bought a 42" Murray Riding mower with Auto Drive (Hydro transmission), from Wal-Mart quite a few years ago, (over 10 years), and it still performs well, but ... If you need common replacement parts, such as Belts, (not engine) although Wal-Mart has started stocking these parts for the newer mowers, you may have a hard time finding the exact belt needed to properly replace the original part on an older model. (as time goes by) If you should purchase a new mower, I would recommend you should immediately record the Description, (w/model number), such as the following info: (Abbreviated description found as you search the web) Murray 42" S/D - L/T - 14.5 B&S IC OHV – HYDRO Model #42913X5B (Actual meaning of the abbreviated description) Murray 42"cut side discharge - lawn tractor - 14.5 Horse Power, Briggs & Stratton, Industrial Cast, Over Head Valve, (engine) - Hydraulic drive (transmission), Model #42913X5B (I must search under - Briggs & Stratton (formerly Murray) - as the manufacturer, when I search for replacement parts for my mower) When you do order common replacement belts for the mower deck blade drive, and the transmission motion drive, (which I suggest you have spares), record the part number and the measurements, such as width and total length of both belts. (Make, Model Number, Part Number) Murray 42" S/D - L/T - 14.5 B&S IC OHV – HYDRO Model #42913X5B Part number: 37x87MA = Belt, V-Belt - Motion Drive - Murray # 37X87 = 7/16" x 97.5" Part number: 37x88MA = Belt, V-Belt - Blade Drive - Murray # 37X88 = (I don’t know?) And make a copy of your owners’ manual. Also download and save to a CD disc, all the information you can find on your mower, using its model number. It will be invaluable, when it comes time for some repairs.

Was this review helpful? (52) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wjhrb3
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Cheap and workers
4/12/2012

Customer review by Romanmaster

4.0 stars 4/12/2012 by Romanmaster
by Romanmaster

I was not expecting to cut my grass in March. By April the grass was knee high. This came directly to my house. One tire was flat but the instructions were easy to ready and I had it going about 30 min. after the movers dropped it off in my driveway. It cut the grass very well even the really high grass. Good mower for the price.

Was this review helpful? (90) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Romanmaster
Lima, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
good riding mower
8/13/2012

Customer review by Foxyredhead

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by Foxyredhead
by Foxyredhead

this is a good mower, gets the job done and we have very rough and rolling lawns, it is a good price and we are satisfied with it, if you are a short person, this mower has a long reach for the clutch brake, but, you can reach it by stretching out your leg. it runs very well, and cuts excellent. we have a lot of lawns to do and so, we are satisfied with the shipping time and the cost of the mower. Murray is a pretty good mower, at least for the first few mowing time we have done.

Was this review helpful? (33) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Foxyredhead
McGregor Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Don't judge a book by it's cover
4/17/2013

Customer review by Borisovitch

1.0 stars 4/17/2013 by Borisovitch
by Borisovitch

On the 30th of March, 20131 I bought the Murray 155-42 riding mower, it was shipped in a fairly decent time, and was delivered new in the shipping crate. It was easy to prepare for service, and the first time I used the mower it performed as expected, cutting 1.4 acres in about 50 minutes. I parked the mower, covered it, and the next time I used it, about 10 days later, I had to jury rig the air intake valve with a piece of wire, as the engine would not run without holding the air valve open, after it warmed up, the engine ran well. I started mowing the yard, and on the first pass of my terrace, the transmission locked up, and would not go forward nor backward. I hoisted the tractor, could not find a belt that slipped or any other visual problem. I lowered the tractor and it worked properly. I cut the lawn in about 50 minutes again. then I went to the garden to clear the path, which was a bit hilly but not extraordinarily. The transmission or it's linkage jammed, and I have not been able to get the mower to move again. The engineering of this mower is pathetic. Tolerances for the linkage to properly operate were not allowed. The Briggs and Stratton engine's carburetor is in need of redesign, it should not be necessary to pin the air valve in the open position to get it to run. This product should never have left its Research and Development stage and should have been built by a more reliable source. The workmanship on this product is atrocious. Go buy something else. Thank God, I bought a 3 year warranty.

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Borisovitch
Ripley Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Not a real Murray
4/29/2012

Customer review by TECHWIZZZ

1.0 stars 4/29/2012 by TECHWIZZZ
by TECHWIZZZ

Not a real Murray...Briggs sold the Murray name/rights to MTD. This mower is built to fail. Might last 2 yrs if you keep it in a garage. Metal is way to thin on it. Dont hit a stick while mowing it may go through the deck. Dont waste your money.

Was this review helpful? (57) (35)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TECHWIZZZ
U.S.A.
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
Great Mower
9/13/2012

Customer review by sdtj1250

5.0 stars 9/13/2012 by sdtj1250
by sdtj1250

Great mower for the price. Easy start, cuts great & a smooth ride love it

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sdtj1250
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
6/5/2012

Customer review by Realmurray

1.0 stars 6/5/2012 by Realmurray
by Realmurray

This is not the real murray. This murray is made by mtd.The other murrays made back in the early 2000s and late 1900s are the real ones made the stainless steel so dont waste your money buying a fake murray riding lawn mower.The other murrays they made before this are the real ones.These are the fake ones

Was this review helpful? (34) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Realmurray
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/23/2012

Customer review by Esquivel00

5.0 stars 7/23/2012 by Esquivel00
by Esquivel00

This ride mower is excellent 4 my husband, price is great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Esquivel00
Milan, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
8/8/2013

Customer review by shardma

4.0 stars 8/8/2013 by shardma
by shardma

This mower is great but to locate the bag parts was a chore . the mower was delivered to my home and it arrived 4 days early and that was way nice .

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shardma
midvale utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/29/2013

Customer review by jmac652

5.0 stars 6/29/2013 by jmac652
by jmac652

we bought our murray about 10yrs. ago and have only starting having problems within the last year. nothing major. nickle and dime stuff.am well satisfied this is 2nd one. when my wife and i got married she had a john deer and i had a murray so, i had to sale mine. wish i had kept mine and sold the JD. it cost alot to keep up a JD.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jmac652
hawkinsville,ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
9/8/2013

Customer review by Weakly

3.0 stars 9/8/2013 by Weakly
by Weakly

The was shipped to me in a wooden crate. No instructions were included to assist me in removing it from the crate. I, not having mechanically education, could not remove it from the crate. I had to hire people to remove it for me. I guess if you want this mower, you should go to the store and purchase it rather order it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Weakly
Vidalia, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.