Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 280 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

280 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

280 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
179
4 stars
80
3 stars
14
2 stars
1
1 stars
6
1-20 of 258 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 258 total reviews
1-20 of 258 reviews
Great little guy
3/30/2011

Customer review by AxMan7

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by AxMan7
by AxMan7

I was working 4 hours cutting down two trees app.10" diameter. This saw is amazing. Without the pole is too light and little shaking.

Was this review helpful? (36) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AxMan7
Bridgport, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
This is a great piece of equipment for a homeowner
5/13/2014

Customer review by Drillmaster

5.0 stars 5/13/2014 by Drillmaster
by Drillmaster
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love it,,, I cut down the branch that was troubling me and took and separated the saw from the pole and cut up the other part of the branch,,my neighbor go,,,,can I have those wood blocks,,they would be right for my fireplace..........:-)

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drillmaster
Las Vegas, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked great for awhile
3/29/2014

Customer review by PurpleEverything

3.0 stars 3/29/2014 by PurpleEverything
by PurpleEverything

Glad we bought the 2-year replacement warranty. This one lasted 14 months before the chain kept falling off, it looks like the pin that holds the chain in broke off. I only use this for our residence and we have 3 mature trees that we have cut twice in the time since we bought it. A little iffy on whether I'd recommend it, definitely get the warranty if you do, it's well worth it. We don't have to return the saw, we were given a UPS label but still have to drive the label to a local UPS center in order to get our Walmart gift card emailed to us. We did have the option of getting a check refund but chose instead, to purchase another saw. Maybe even this one, WITH warranty. Walmart's customer service on the warranty call was quick & easy, not long at all to process. That alone I would recommend. We should get our gift card in 24-48 hours so we'll see and report back. Stay tuned... Overall, it's a really good pole saw, trimmed two different oaks & an ash quite well during the first year.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PurpleEverything
San Antonio, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Good Product
7/6/2012

Customer review by tmtx7

5.0 stars 7/6/2012 by tmtx7
by tmtx7

Product is very good as it is. Lightweight and easy to use, unlike other chainsaw that I have made in other country [this one is made in USA], after just a few use the tension adjustment give way. Tried to look if I can repair the tension clamp, unfortunately its made of plastic and can't find where can I buy the part. I cut only a few six/eight inches branches of trees and now it's collecting dust. :( This Remington chain saw is worth for the money. All I need to do is add the oil and ready to go. Chain tension is factory pre-set so no need to adjust for now; maybe to the future. Other good thing in this chain saw is, it can cut more than ten inches in diameter [all you need to do is turn yourself around the trunk of the tree and cut my fourteen-inch tree that lean toward my house]. Very good product. Shipping date is in the time frame given. Shipping is free to the store I chose. With in five minutes of waiting, the associate got the chainsaw and I'm done.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tmtx7
Somerset, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
wrong electric for ad
5/23/2016

Customer review by Jackie

3.0 stars 5/23/2016 by Jackie
by Jackie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Now I ordered the longer of two of this Remington electric pole saw. I have two of them one still works. The other was used about four times over a year's period and the pole broke first then a plastic gear broke on the inside. The original one still works. Even though once again I ordered the longer one which extends to 14' online the shorter 10' arrived. This is a online catalog product listing problem. Even though its listed as the more expensive longer one it shows up at Checkout screen as the 10' saw in price but In description says it extends to 14'. So Beware if you want the longer one, make sure it does not change to the 10ft length at checkout. So until I find a way to correct this listing online problem I had to immediately return it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jackie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Limb trimming
6/11/2016

Customer review by Graham

5.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Graham
by Graham
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was the easiest limb trimming I have ever done.Trim the limbs then detach the saw from the pole and cut up the limbs.Very surprised with the ample power.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Graham
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice for the Price
1/4/2016

Customer review by DrewShock

4.0 stars 1/4/2016 by DrewShock
by DrewShock

Haven't used it with the pole yet but the saw cuts great. I only use it as a chain saw and for a small 10" saw I think it cuts great. It took a while but I felled a 7 to 8 inch sour cherry tree and it had no problem cutting through it. I use it mostly for larger limb cutting of 4" or more. Works great for limbing a small tree that has been felled. The pole is quite heavy but sturdy. I haven't cut yet using the pole but my guess is it would be quite tough due to the weight of the saw and pole. When I am actively using it, it leaks very little oil. You have to push the oil button when you see the chain is getting dry as it doesn't have an automatic oiler. If you leave the oil in it and don't use it for 2 days or longer it will leak. So make sure to set it on some old plastic or cardboard. I just use 30w oil (what my lawnmower takes) for the chain and it works fine. Tightening the chain is easy but it does take tools.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DrewShock
Olympia, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Good for price, but it's breakable plastic.
2/3/2014

Customer review by OldDocFred

3.0 stars 2/3/2014 by OldDocFred
by OldDocFred
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the third Remington I've owned. The first thing to break is the pole clamp-down on the handle. The plastic used to make the device is so thin it is guaranteed to break after modest use. I solved this problem by using a small vice grip pliers to hold the pole in position. The second, was the plate that holds the saw on the pole. I replaced this with one I made out of scrap sheet steel. The last thing to break was the coupler that holds the pole extensions together. I couldn't come up with an alternative fix so I bought another. The pluses: It's a lot cheaper than those that are better made. It's a foot longer than it's similarly priced competitors. It's light weight in comparison to gas powered models. Plus, if you have near access to an electrical outlet, you don't have to worry with the gas engine not starting. I have used mine up to 250 feet from an outlet.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldDocFred
Liberty Hill, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great, but it's not for all....
6/7/2014

Customer review by XYooper906

4.0 stars 6/7/2014 by XYooper906
by XYooper906

Not much more to add that others haven't already said, but if you know how to use a chainsaw properly, know that putting even a small one on the end of a long pole is going to be a bit ungainly and difficult to handle. So it's not for those who have limited upper body strength. I like that it's detachable to use for trimming the fallen branches into more manageable size. I have a gas powered Stihl for larger jobs, but for limbing I usually don't have to get it out when this one will suffice. Minor annoyances are that the handle attaches with a screw and wingnut. Easy to lose or misplace. Would be nice to have it quick attach/detach with a locking lever or similar setup. Bar & chain oil should be drained after use or it can leak out. But if you hang the saw vertically (bar end up), it won't leak out, assuming the cap is tight. Overall the tool works great!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XYooper906
Fayetteville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent Product
7/4/2016

Customer review by Lindy

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Lindy
by Lindy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the Remington Branch Wizard as a gift for my husband on Father's Day. I woke up the next day to find him outside "Testing it out." He finds a reason to use it everyday!!! Great Purchase!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lindy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wizard Pro 10" electric Pole saw
7/21/2016

Customer review by mynicnameisBT

4.0 stars 7/21/2016 by mynicnameisBT
by mynicnameisBT
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the first thing I liked was the fact I did not have hunt down a special oil for it I was able use some 30 w, I was very impressed with its power, went through 8" tree and more with eaze

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mynicnameisBT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value for the price.
9/6/2012

Customer review by w2j2

5.0 stars 9/6/2012 by w2j2
by w2j2

I bought it cheaper at Walmart than I could find at Amazon. It has a really sharp chain, and cuts like a hot knife through butter. The extension works great. Overall, a real solid product. The chain oiler is manual, and you wonder sometimes whether you are getting oil on the chain. I highly recommend this pole saw.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
w2j2
Alpena, Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Much better than expected!
6/8/2010

Customer review by drcnty

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by drcnty
by drcnty

The saw far outperformed my expectations. One problem though, the chain was installed backwards at the factory (cutting edge facing back) so if you buy one be sure to check this. Just a little monster of a saw!

Was this review helpful? (65) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drcnty
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Fast shipping, well built,
7/16/2016

Customer review by teddy

4.0 stars 7/16/2016 by teddy
by teddy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I received in very short time, and no damages at all. works well without pole, but with pole is quite heavy and harder to handle.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
teddy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GOOD
7/14/2016

Customer review by kendrakidd

5.0 stars 7/14/2016 by kendrakidd
by kendrakidd

SEEMS TO HAVE A LOT OF POWER!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kendrakidd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very Good
3/2/2014

Customer review by Limber

5.0 stars 3/2/2014 by Limber
by Limber
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am a homeowner and this is perfect. Light and powerful. It will get a lot of limbs on the ground in a hurry. I have a small gas powered saw for cutting up the limbs once they are down. Don't expect commercial grade at this price but homeowner perfect. Don't forget eye protection and a hard hat.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Limber
Redding, ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Even better than expected!
9/13/2014

Customer review by ghkusa

5.0 stars 9/13/2014 by ghkusa
by ghkusa

1. The operator's manual was easy to understand and rather complete. TIP I: To avoid oil seepage, the instructions advise emptying the bar oil tank (reservoir) "after each use". BUT, if I'm planning to use the saw again in a few hours or days, I simply store it with the chain and guide bar facing upward -- that results in the opening of the bar oil tank/reservoir facing upward which prevents oil seepage/leaking. TIP II: Consider viewing several YouTube videos, etc. before using power tools for the first time. 2. Assembly was quite fast and easy, after reading instructions. 3. It cuts well, vibration is minimal, and generally it's easy to use. TIP: When attached to the pole, it is significantly top heavy. So, take your time to prepare before starting the saw to cut an overhead limb. I practice or test by placing the (not running) chain on the limb at the point I plan to cut; that reveals whether or not I'll be properly balanced when actually making that cut. (Hey, I'm a novice!) 4. Disassembling/removing the chain and bar guide is not complicated even though instructions do not provide complete, step-by-step directions. Finally, I'm quite pleased with this product which seems sturdy and which incorporates several valuable safety devices. It's very reasonably priced and Walmart's ship-to-store makes the purchase a breeze. :)

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ghkusa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great tool, but read reviews before you buy.
3/27/2014

Customer review by TechWrench

5.0 stars 3/27/2014 by TechWrench
by TechWrench

I read many online reviews before I made purchase, and this saw met all my expectations when it arrived. I read all instructions first, before assembling saw and using it for first time. My only issue, abet a small one, was that the lock washer provided for securing saw to handle isn't sized properly for use. Because of the size of the hole in the handle bracket, the too small lock washer tends to get crushed into the center of hole, making it difficult to remove later on. I replaced the lock washer with a small flat washer and new lock washer sized to fit threaded shaft, which solved problem. I have read several reviews that stated the saw wouldn't cut well, or took way too long to complete cuts. After trying saw, I can only surmise that in these instances, the chain/blade may have been accidently installed backwards. I checked for proper chain installation, and checked chain tension adjustment before first using it (in both cases, the initial adjustments were correct out of the box#. I cut several branches of 3-4" diameter, and in each case, the cut was done in seconds. One should be aware that while not overly heavy #IMHO), the saw, when fully extended, can be a bit awkward to handle. As the safety instructions indicate, I would not recommend using this saw from a ladder. I have been using gas powered saws for over 45 years, so I am very well versed in the do's and don'ts of chain saw cutting. My only complaint with the operating instructions would be the section indicating the method of cutting a branch so that it doesn't split when cut. This procedure only works if you are on the ground, cutting at waist height or lower. Making the first horizontal cut on the underside of a branch while holding the saw in a near vertical position is impossible. If you try, you will either jam the saw, or it will jump and could cause one to lose control of the saw. If you undercut the branch on the side, then try to cut through on the other side, the branch will twist, and still most likely splinter. One who is experienced with chain saw use, should know this procedure isn't a good idea with this type of saw. I worry that inexperienced saw operators might try this procedure, as described in the owners manual, and have an unexpected result. Except for the two issues noted, I am very satisfied with the product and how it works.

Was this review helpful? (64) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechWrench
Glenville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great for small jobs
6/2/2014

Customer review by jglo0

5.0 stars 6/2/2014 by jglo0
by jglo0
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great tool for small jobs around the yard. Saw cuts fast and easy whether on the pole or not. I cut some firewood that was almost 10" in diameter. Works real well on tree limbs up to 10' high and cuts with ease. It was a little awkward for me to trim limbs 12' -14' high because I just did not have the arm strength to hold it that high for very long, and it was more awkward when the pole was extended all the way out. Would probably work great for someone who is a little stronger than a 66 year old.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jglo0
Brackettville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did the job nicely
11/22/2013

Customer review by MMIII

4.0 stars 11/22/2013 by MMIII
by MMIII
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Used this for 2 cutting sessions over a 2 week period. Only complaint - socket/plug connection between saw and pole comes loose. Had to secure with tie wrap. Would be nice if this was a twist-lock or some other connection that could be quickly secured/unsecured. Otherwise this did the job, and the price w/free shipping was the best I found. Had to trim one large live oak on my property, and had to use this off a ladder for several cuts (yes, I know this is not safe or recommended), but by being careful my son & I finished with no issues. Even got a complement from a professional tree trimmer working next door! Diameter of cuts made was 4" and less, although it can cut limbs a good deal larger. Be sure to oil the chain (via manual pump) after every major cut. Due to the leverage issue, when more than about 25 degrees from overhead it takes a little strength to hold after cutting through the limb, especially when fully extended. At full length it will flex & wobble some. Did not have any issue with the extension locking mechanism, but we only used this for one tree, and about 30 cuts total. Being able to use the saw without the pole to cut up the trimmings was a nice feature as well.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MMIII
Allen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 258 total reviews
1-20 of 258 reviews