Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 5 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

5 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

5 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-5 of 5 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

This is the one...
3/12/2012

Customer review by JoAnne078

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by JoAnne078
by JoAnne078

We have been looking at tablets for the past 2 months. The more we looked, the more confused we got... Well, we found the Toshiba Thrive with 32 gig. The most important thing about the Toshiba Thrive are the connection ports... •USB 2.0 port, Mini-USB 2.0 port, HDMI port, dock connector port and SD memory cards. You do not relize how important these connections are until you try to go without them. It is so simple to hook the tablet up to a computer, insert a thumb drive, or a SD memory card and copy movies, games or whatever to them and go. You can also use WiFi to move your stuff. As far as the tablet itself, it has the Android 3.2 (Honeycomb) Operating System which is upgradeable to "Ice Cream" when it comes out and then to "Jellybean" later this fall when it comes out. All-in-all, it is the very best Tablet on the market now.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoAnne078
Dover, De
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Best on the Market
3/5/2012

Customer review by Tech Fool

5.0 stars 3/5/2012 by Tech Fool
by Tech Fool

I purchased my Thrive after Christmas 2012 & it now is 3-12 & flat still love this tablet. Camera & sound could be better, but I really don't use camera nor do I watch movies so perfect is not so important. It still fits in my purse, love all the ports, just love this tablet. I have a HP Touchpad and my husband has a I pad. I had to set up all three, this is by far the easiest to use and set up.

Tech Fool
Usa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Tablet Ever
1/17/2012

Customer review by Preacherman3

5.0 stars 1/17/2012 by Preacherman3
by Preacherman3

Would be nice if it was thinner, otherwise, this is the best tablet ever. I received this as a Christmas gift and been loving it every since. I thoroughly enjoy utilizing it because it is simple, easy, fast and convenient compared to a bulky laptop. Thanks to my wife for buying this for me.

Preacherman3
South Bend, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Tablet
1/16/2012

Customer review by Will

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by Will
by Will

Great overall Tablet. I would consider it almost military grade for its removable battery, sturdy design, quick access to key features like ports, power plug-in and USB slots Pros: - Great 3 day standby battery life, full workday of use -Ports and port dust cover for USB, MicroUSB and HDMI ports - Great processor -Excellent Toshiba Updates and customer support -Quick WiFi Connectivity (4g can be achieved thru tethering so no need for another 4g plan depending on carrier) -Android Honeycomb and future 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich updatability. - Small Led lights for power, Low battery and Wifi Internet Connectivity. - Quick Accessible SD Card slot. No covers to remove to expand tablet. - Removable Battery -Bluetooth setup and file transfers are easy! -HDMI dock available Cons: Design show a strong push for portrait/ upright mode vs the traditional Tablet/ Laptop widescreen mode. It is very noticeable at start up and when your hands cover the camera -Stereo Speakers are so so missing some parts in soundtrack movies but Bluetooth and 3.5mm jack output well performs for true audio quality! -Front Camera cannot really be used in the traditional tablet widescreen/landscape mode as its covered by the hand - Could have had a weather resistant tablet if all the ports had a dust cover. -No LED for Rear Camera, which isn't a big deal, I don't use the tablet often as a camera. LED lights and the APP make a great flashlight. -Fingerprint magnet but all tablets seem to be! The Cons are mostly cosmetic and although the designers were trying to convince us that the upright mode is what its designed for widescreen is great and there is a tablet onscreen keyboard App that makes typing with your thumbs fun. Toshiba needs to do what it has always done with laptops and keep driving the Tablet market. I Expect the next Toshiba Tablet to have a Quad Core Processor continue to be expandable thru SD / micro SD(which allows for card up to 128GB). The port covers were a great idea and a sealed tablet would have great benefits for accidents and spills. Toshiba should try to make deals with Wireless phone carriers and provide 4g LTE integration if possible.

Will
Wilmington, DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid product, with a few glitches
7/25/2012

Customer review by Happycamper41

3.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Happycamper41
by Happycamper41

I bought the top-of-the-line 10" Thrive tablet: 32GB memory with access to 4G. Customers who complain about the speed must have gotten a model with less memory. The 4G feature is very convenient for travel: I can accees the Internet without having to look for a Wi-Fi hot spot. 4G works well in urban areas, but in rural areas, in small towns that DO have cell phone service, 4G has failed for me. Also, when I bought the service contract for 4G, I was lead to believe that I could suspend the contract at any time when I don't need it (I am not traveling), but now I know that is not the case at all: suspending the service costs you almost as much (per month) as not suspending it. I like the sturdy build of the Thrive, and the available accessories: leatherette case, spare battery. I also bought a plug-in keyboard and mouse, which I don't use much. One disappointment: I cannot insert non-English characters into documents with the virtual keyboard. For example when I press and hold the virtual key "a", a small menu pops up: from this menu, one is supposed to be able to select a non-English variant of the letter "a", but, unfortunately, instead of the letter you choose, you get TWO letters (in some cases the letter you wanted, preceded by one you didn't want, in other cases, two letters that you don't want). The Thrive comes with the QuickOffice software. I purchased QuickOffice Pro, so I could edit Microsoft Office documents, but I was disappointed by the limitations of this software product. One small example: you can't freeze the top and left margins of a spreadsheet, which makes it impossible to work with a spreadsheet of any size. (And the list goes on and on). Overall impression: the thrive is a useful travel companion, but if you want to get any serious work done on an Office document, you'd better do it on a Windows machine. In a few years, Android will probably mature and so will this tablet.

Happycamper41
Durango, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes