Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 902 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

902 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

902 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
446
4 stars
240
3 stars
60
2 stars
66
1 stars
90
1-20 of 893 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 893 total reviews
1-20 of 893 reviews
IF you are traveling this is worth it, otherwise..
11/1/2012

Customer review by IamNoExpert

3.0 stars 11/1/2012 by IamNoExpert
by IamNoExpert

The Philips website rejected my review, so you decide if there is anything that they should object to. I bought this because I wanted to have something like a WaterPik when I travel. I hate flossing and the ads in the dentist office made it seem like a logical choice. I have tried several other traveling waterfloss products (Panasonic, Hitachi, etc). They were all a waste of my money. This product does work. However not as well as the Regular WaterPik product (but those are too bulky to travel with. NET: GET the AIRFLOSS, if you travel and want to have a water flossing device. DO NOT GET the AIRFLOSS, if you do not travel or want a unit for home use. It is not as good as the WaterPik or other brands that use a plugged in pump. That makes sense, more power and water means better cleaning.

Was this review helpful? (43) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IamNoExpert
Tampa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Turns simple flossing into more of a chore
6/17/2012

Customer review by rpm46

1.0 stars 6/17/2012 by rpm46
by rpm46

Having used SoniCare toothbrushes for many years I may have been expecting too much from this product. The new Hygienist at my dentists' office was raving about the SoniCare line and after I told her the dentist had me get a SoniCare brush about 20 years ago she said I should get the AirFloss. After 3 Sonicare brushing units you could say I've been quite happy with them. The AirFloss is another matter. I do not like the need to continuously press the button throughout the process. Unlike other water flossers the AirFloss' squirt of water is one button-press, one squirt. Perhaps if it was designed to keep squirting while holding the button down it would make the task less of an ordeal. My email to Philips went unanswered when asking if maybe the unit was defective or was this the intended design. I don't write complaints or reviews of products but this is the 3rd time Philips has asked for my opinion of the product. My Philips AirFloss unit has since been relegated to the garage.

rpm46
Malibu, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Jet of water and air mixture makes sense
6/4/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 6/4/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

As a mechanical engineer who knows fluid dynamics, I have to admit that mixture jet of water and air is a very clever idea. Depending on mostly the speed of fluid, mixture ratio, and so on, it may be more powerful than only water or only air. Also, as an ordinary consumer who has used Waterpik for 5 years, I now prefer Airfloss much to Waterpik, not just because of cleanness after use but also because of elimination of mess and drooling of Waterpik. Most of people cannot avoid drooling while using Waterpik as it over-pours water into people's mouths, which is Waterpik's main and simple method to clean mouths. Any engineer who even doesn't know fluid dynamics can make this kind of simple devices. Pumping and shooting water into everywhere in the mouth and flooding water falling from the mouth? Not so fancy. (The surfaces of teeth can be cleaned by brushing not by shooting too much water. And it is not the objective of flossing.) Comparing with this too simplistic way, Airfloss has much more delicate but also very powerful way of cleaning between teeth, by focusing the fluid mixture power jet onto only between teeth, with certain amount of water, so there is no drooling at all. I can walk around in the living room or watch TV while I am flossing. Now, I am enjoying my flossing time finally.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/30/2012

Customer review by Grovesp13

5.0 stars 8/30/2012 by Grovesp13
by Grovesp13

I did not recieve a form with the product for a $10 rebate. I recommend this product for someone that does not floss their teeth on a regular basis or not at all. I went from a non-flosser to flossing every day. I love the feel of my teeth. I rate this product as excellent. The price was a little high but for the benefits of my teeth it is worth it. Would have liked to have the $10 rebate. How do I obtain that?

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grovesp13
Calabash, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The best product I have purchased in many years.
10/25/2012

Customer review by DonnaBD

5.0 stars 10/25/2012 by DonnaBD
by DonnaBD

I would have a design suggestion. I bought this product because I am 60+ and have braces. It is very difficult to floss teeth with braces on. Your product is excellent for people with braces....however, I would suggest having the little, teeny part that shoots between the teeth be a little bit longer...or perhaps, have a separate nozzle designed specifically for those wearing braces. The braces get in the way of the teeny nozzle getting up close to the teeth. I really have to work to fit the nozzle between my braces and gum. I know that most children don't floss to begin with and flossing is very important with braces on. Parents would gladly buy your product because children would find it fun to use and being able to use mouthwash in it is an added bonus, as mouthwash is also very important to gum health. Once kids get in the habit of caring properly for their teeth and gums, they would go on to use your product into adulthood. "I'm just sayin'"

DonnaBD
Inyokern, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Cleans between the teeth!
12/1/2015

Customer review by Kondor

5.0 stars 12/1/2015 by Kondor
by Kondor

Just fill with water, aim and shoot. This is a simple to use effective tooth cleaning accessory.

Kondor
Oulu, Finland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Stylish & sleek but problematic when changing program while it is on and toothpaste is on it
6/17/2012

Customer review by Manny11195

2.0 stars 6/17/2012 by Manny11195
by Manny11195

The only big problem I find with this model is when changing the program from Clean to Gum Care to whatever desired mode/program when it has to be done while it is on and when you have toothpaste on it. If you want to avoid toothpaste splattering all over yourself and sink you put the brush in your mouth and select the mode while it is in your mouth . But by doing so, you don't see the mode to select from. My recommended fix is to be able to select the desired mode, put on the toothpaste then turn it on with the brush in yoru mouth and it will be in the desired program when you turn it on in your mouth. As it is, to avoid the toothpaste splashing/splattering all over, it stays on Clean mode, put the toothpaste on and turn it on in your mouth. I am so disappointed with this considering the cost -- I was not not anticipating this problem. I wouldn't have purchased this had I known about this problem. Other cheaper Sonicare toobrush I bought does a better job. Also, this need a travel case like previous Sonicare toothbrush I had before.

Manny11195
MD
Gender:Male
I love this flosser
11/17/2012

Customer review by Sfshopper1976

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by Sfshopper1976
by Sfshopper1976
Walmart associate
Staff sparks

Works great, easy to use. Holds a charge for 2 weeks once fully charged. I have been using this for about a week and I already feel a huge difference. I like that it is easy to fill and the ease of use is amazing. I think everyone needs one of these flossers.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sfshopper1976
San Francisco,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
No more bleeding gums!
10/30/2015

Customer review by dress4less

5.0 stars 10/30/2015 by dress4less
by dress4less

Ever since using this product, my quarterly deep cleaning appointments have resulted in no bleeding gums and praise from my hygienist. Thanks for a great product.

dress4less
Lake Worth, FL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Has made a significant difference in our dental healthcare
7/5/2012

Customer review by pat8845

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by pat8845
by pat8845

I like to keep my reviews factual so please bear with me. I bought one for my husband and one for me. We use it twice a day (once in the morning and once in the evening). Prior to using the AirFloss my husband's dental visits were painful. He had a combination of pockets that were primarily rated 6's and 4's. The only change in his at home dental care was using the air floss in place of regular floss. Result--no pockets rated 6s, the pockets rated 4 had improved to 3 and 2. Again, similar story. Prior to using the AirFloss I had pockets of 4 and 3. The only change in my daily dental health care regime was using the air floss. Result-no pockets rated 4, 2 pockets rated 3 and the rest were 2 and 1. We expect that come the next dentist visit we will continue to see improvement in our gum health. Both my husband and I love this product. It demonstrated results for us, and as a result we have been able to reduce our dental cleaning appointments from 4 times a year to 2 based upon our dentist's recommendation. So to net this out. Product has worked great for us.

pat8845
Trinity, FL 34655, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Much better than the Waterpik water floss
10/12/2012

Customer review by JandNsMom

4.0 stars 10/12/2012 by JandNsMom
by JandNsMom

Bought the Philips Airfloss for my 2 children to share (separate floss heads) and the Waterpik water floss for myself because the Waterpik one was cheaper but has more stars rating on amazon. My children cannot use the Waterpik because it uses more liquid for flossing, and the Philips Airfloss more air and less liquid. After 6-8 weeks of usage, the Philips Airfloss shared by my 2 toddlers still function fine. My Waterpik one simply stops working, and I still cannot figure out why. So disappointed with the Waterpik one and can't help asking how it got better rating on amazon than Philips one and how come some users give Philips few stars with reasons of its breaking after a short time usage when it has so far been withstanding my children's usage well. I give Philips only 4 out of 5 stars because I still want to wait and see how long the product will last since my children have not been using for long.

JandNsMom
AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Will definitely recommend this to my patients!
4/2/2012

Customer review by BrittanyM

5.0 stars 4/2/2012 by BrittanyM
by BrittanyM

I LOVE this product! I have an area that constantly gets inflamed (margin of a crown) and the Airfloss keeps it flushed out and I have not had one bit of recurring inflammation since I began using this product! I have a lot of patients who can benefit from this product just as I have. I will be recommending this to my patients with tight contacts and those who just hate to be bothered with traditional flossing! It does take some maneuvering to learn how to hold the Airfloss so that water does not run down your arm or face but it can be done. Also, using a little watered down mouth rinse can also help to freshen your breath and kill bacteria. I am sure they will continue to improve the Airfloss just as they have with their toothbrushes. I agree with another post that a combo charging station with a sanitizer would be amazing, but if I had to guess I would say Sonicare is already working on this!

BrittanyM
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Excellent product
6/15/2012

Customer review by lackofnickname

5.0 stars 6/15/2012 by lackofnickname
by lackofnickname

Have been using Sonicare toothbrush for years and was happy when the Airfloss came out. Recommended by my dentist as another great tool for good dental hygene. Easy to use!

Was this review helpful? (12) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lackofnickname
Crestview, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
strange but wonderful product
9/20/2012

Customer review by JRinNY

5.0 stars 9/20/2012 by JRinNY
by JRinNY

The wonderful part is that three months ago today I brought home this product from the dentist. I have been using the Sonicare brush for several years and have had good results, so I made the investment in this new weird product. I was told that I should use this and soft pics instead of dental floss. I abandoned the dental floss and used the new combination everyday. Today I went back in. The improvement in my gum pocket depth was so significant that I had the entire dental staff excited. And during the cleaning, I had almost no bleeding and the prodding was not painful as it had occasionally been. Cheers to this product. Now- downside. You have to keep is clean- run vinegar through it occasionally or it starts to smell. And the design is terrible. It has a curved bottom so it does not stand well and falls over on the counter. Having it roll around is really annoying.

JRinNY
Cold Spring, NY 10516, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
I hate flossing and this product is quick and efficient with some cavaets.
6/18/2012

Customer review by OnTheFence

3.0 stars 6/18/2012 by OnTheFence
by OnTheFence

Others have written about the pluses and minuses. On the plus, it does remove food particles if used on a daily basis. Even wedged in items. It is easy to use and much quicker than dental floss; it quickly recharges. On the negatives: not stable to stand for storage; not meant for people with caps....I blew a small chunk of surface out of a rear capped tooth; product only comes with one nozzle and those suckers are expensive to replace or buy additional for multiple users; it does not say on the box there is only one nozzle in it and have only been able to find the nozzle on line for purchase (have not seen it in stores); I have had this for a few months and already hearing a hissing noise which indicates loosing pressure. I still like the product and sort of recommend. If I am truly loosing pressure and it lasts less than two years then I would not recommend.

OnTheFence
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
overall experience
9/8/2015

Customer review by restore1

4.0 stars 9/8/2015 by restore1
by restore1

overall product is good but it only re charges so many times then it stops taking a charge. I owned my unit for 25 months then it stopped charging all together. I charged it about 13 times during my ownership. since my warranty expired I just threw it away .

restore1
Chicago, IL, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Best dental tool in a long time!
6/22/2012

Customer review by G37hotshot

5.0 stars 6/22/2012 by G37hotshot
by G37hotshot

The Airfloss has made my life so much easier! I really don't like flossing but this actually makes me want to floss. The strong pressure is a shock and it did make my gums bleed at first but this was resolved in about three days. I also have braces (for the second time) and this make flossing and cleaning around them a breeze. I don't have to use those annoying floss threaders. My teeth are weak since my adult enamel didn't form completely so I don't hear good things that often. But I have received several compliments on my gum and oral care since I have started using this. It holds a charge for about a month, maybe a little more, and I only need to fill the resevoir once for two rounds around my mouth. The only bad thing: it can be messy. If you hit your tooth directly with a stream of water, it splatters on the mirror. But it is worth the extra cleanup.

G37hotshot
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Phillips Sonicare Airfloss HX811/02
11/28/2012

Customer review by epson233

5.0 stars 11/28/2012 by epson233
by epson233

i have been a long time user of the sonicare toothbrushes since their introduction onto the market -- i was in the process of looking for a good oral water pik when i came across the airfloss -- i knew i could buy with confidence and receive a quality product with a company that stands behind the line in the event problems do arise -- i did have a mechanical problem as luck would have it with my first purchase -- i called the 800 number and it was handled immediately with a replacement and the addition of 2 perks for the inconvenience -- i got the whole family started on the sonicare toothbrush line and plan to do the same with the sonicare airfloss -- the products last for years and years and have always lead to good dental check ups i look forward to using the airfloss after brushing in the morning and receiving that clean dentist feeling

epson233
vancouver, wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
AMAZING!
5/7/2012

Customer review by AustinFromLA

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by AustinFromLA
by AustinFromLA

I brush my teeth 2 times and floss 4 times every day. (I floss before and after I brush my teeth) I hated flossing because it took a long time and it was annoying. I had braces and flossing was becoming a hassle. When I got my braces off flossing was a lot easier, but it was still time consuming. I wish the Air Floss was invented when I had braces because the waterpik was messy and wasn't very effective. I love the Air Floss because its super easy to use and gets the job done super fast! I love how it doesn't require a lot of water at all. The pressure it provides is wonderful because you can feel it going in between your teeth getting all the junk out. I am telling my sister to get one because we both have Sonicare toothbrushes and this is a perfect addition to the Sonicare family.

AustinFromLA
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
PERFECT FOR LAZY FLOSSERS
11/6/2012

Customer review by NeverInTheDark

4.0 stars 11/6/2012 by NeverInTheDark
by NeverInTheDark

I know it's good for the teeth, but I don't string floss. I don't even bother lying to my dentist. This works for those of us who simply don't floss. After brushing and using, often particles are dislodged and go down the sink drain. It isn't string flossing but it's better than nothing. I use distilled water to possibly avoid mineral deposits, the reservoir does need to be filled for each use but it only takes a few seconds. The output tube is thin which makes reaching to the back easy. The body fits the hand and is lightweight so no strain. Cordless of course means the plug in cord doesn't knock stuff over on the counter. All in all a worthwhile product. It is less important if you string floss. For the rest of us, I highly recommend this product.

NeverInTheDark
Pennsylvania, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 893 total reviews
1-20 of 893 reviews