Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 1939 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1939 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

1939 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

50%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
1488
4 stars
351
3 stars
72
2 stars
12
1 stars
16
1-20 of 1937 total reviews
50%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 1937 total reviews
1-20 of 1937 reviews
Comfortable handle, best shave ever, but...,
5/27/2013

Customer review by pezric

4.0 stars 5/27/2013 by pezric
by pezric

Overall, the cost of the replacement blades kills the deal. This razor was provided free to me as part of a review promotion by Gillette. The handle itself is a little thin for my big hands though it is tapered at the right places and quite ergonomic. I've never had a better shave but the replacement blades make it hard to justify the cost. While this razor provided the BEST shave I ever had it's too expensive for the average consumer. The reason why the shave is so good is that the blades are placed closer together than other razor blade systems like the Mach 3. I think if they came out with a 3 blade razor where the blades were close together as they are on the Gillette Fusion ProGlide (to reduce the cost) they would have a winner! The handle itself is a little thin for my big hands though it is tapered at the right places and quite ergonomic. This would be a 5-Star if not for the cost of replacement blades, which keeps me from continuing to use this handle/razor.

pezric
Windsor
Would recommend to a friend? No
Too Much Glide, Not Enough Shave
8/22/2011

Customer review by Thomas

2.0 stars 8/22/2011 by Thomas
by Thomas

After hearing from a trusted source how great the Fusion ProGlide razor is, I tried it. I am not overly impressed. Barring a remarkable shave next time, which I don't foresee, I'll be going back to my simple Sensor Excel. The “glide” lives up to its name – it glides over your skin, but I thought there was way too much glide at times and not enough shave. For example, I had to repeat shaving parts of my face where significant gel had remained, leaving me to wonder why the glide didn't shave those parts the first time. And I still seem to have a few whiskers under my nose and on the neck. Yes, you don't feel the shave and that's pretty neat – I had absolutely no worries about nicks and cuts – but how much of this is due to the razor and how much to using ForMen2 quality shave cream, I don't know. I am not sure if the battery powered razor does better, but I couldn't fathom using it, since I no longer use an electric shaver, I don't see the point.

Comment from Dee - 8/24/2011

Sorry you feel there is too much "glide" to the ProGlide Razor and we appreciate your review. We do stand behind our product 100% and want you to have the best shave possible. Please give us a call at (800) 445-5388 and we'll try to make it up to you! Thanks!

Thomas
IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gilette has a handle on it's razor...Literally!
6/24/2013

Customer review by lrdwyatt

5.0 stars 6/24/2013 by lrdwyatt
by lrdwyatt

I received the Gillette Fusion ProGlide Manual Razor via a program through Gillette. Gillette has done a great job in the designing of the handle for this razor. I believe the shape and flow of the handle itself is just just a plain handle without the genius rubberized portions. They've added a rubber section to the top and bottom side of the razor for a better grip. Shaving cream, water and a plastic/metal handle do not make for a steady shave. However the rubber bits allow you to move, twist, hold and shave with great transitions. I may not be performing brain surgery here, but I am getting close shaves to my skin. One slip and I'm sitting in the Monday executive meetings aka Mr. Toilet Tissue Band-Aid Guy. There's also rubberized portions on the razor release allowing for simple, fluid, and EASY blade changes. When it comes to shaving, I didn't really take much stock in features. But having used the Gillette Fusion ProGlide, it made me take notice. I'd suggest this razor to anyone simply because of the handle, let alone the great shave.

lrdwyatt
Boiling Springs
Would recommend to a friend? No
A perfect design!
6/29/2013

Customer review by davidators

5.0 stars 6/29/2013 by davidators
by davidators

I was given a Gillette Fusion ProGlide cartridge as part of a program run by Gillette. I have used Gillette razor products for years, but had not used the Gillette Fusion ProGlide until now. I have always been satisfied with Gillette's line of razors/blades, and the Fusion ProGlide was no exception. In this review, I will be specifically concentrating on the handle. This handle is definitely designed to get the most out of the other components (the razor cartridge). Whether you are using the five blades to shave, or the single blade for details, the handle serves each purpose with flying colors. The ergonomic design also allows me to comfortable grab the razor in different angles, depending on what I'm trying to accomplish. I have also used this razor to shave my head, and I could not be happier with the comfort and ease of use. The Gusion ProGlide is definitely another product I recommend as being the best in its category.

davidators
El Paso
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better Than I Thought.
6/29/2013

Customer review by artboy444

4.0 stars 6/29/2013 by artboy444
by artboy444

I was skeptical about trying the Gillette Fusion ProGlide after finding its predecessor to be less than satisfactory, but now I am glad I did. Where the Gillette Fusion Power was a very harsh shave, the ProGlide was anything but. I knew I had found my new razor after only one solidly smooth stroke. The Power was harsh and felt as if it was tearing out my hairs as opposed to cutting them. The Gillette Fusion ProGlide however was anything but. Every stroke I took was as smooth as the last. It also shaved closer than any other razor I have used before making it so that I could even skip days between shaves. My only fault with the ProGlide was the lack of a razor housing making storage more difficult. Luckily I still had the casing for my Power so this wasn't a problem as it fit right in. I truly did not expect to like this razor as much as I do. I've been looking for a replacement for my Mach 3 for so long never once thinking I would find it. However Gillette has yet again proven itself as the Gillette Fusion ProGlide has become my new go to razor from now on. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

artboy444
Middleburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better Than I Thought.
6/15/2013

Customer review by artboy444

4.0 stars 6/15/2013 by artboy444
by artboy444

I was skeptical about trying the Gillette Fusion ProGlide after finding its predecessor to be less than satisfactory, but now I am glad I did. Where the Gillette Fusion Power was a very harsh shave, the ProGlide was anything but. I knew I had found my new razor after only one solidly smooth stroke. The Power was harsh and felt as if it was tearing out my hairs as opposed to cutting them. The Gillette Fusion ProGlide however was anything but. Every stroke I took was as smooth as the last. It also shaved closer than any other razor I have used before making it so that I could even skip days between shaves. My only fault with the ProGlide was the lack of a razor housing making storage more difficult. Luckily I still had the casing for my Power so this wasn't a problem as it fit right in. I truly did not expect to like this razor as much as I do. I've been looking for a replacement for my Mach 3 for so long never once thinking I would find it. However Gillette has yet again proven itself as the Gillette Fusion ProGlide has become my new go to razor from now on. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

artboy444
Middleburgh
Would recommend to a friend? No
Most comfortable shave ever!
6/29/2013

Customer review by enduser2941

5.0 stars 6/29/2013 by enduser2941
by enduser2941

I recently received the Gillette Fusion ProGlide handle to review as part of a program run by Gillete and I could not have been more pleased with the handle! The handle has a great contour and is very comfortable in your hand and the padded handle makes it that more comfortable to hold. The handle is heavier the most razors I have used which helps to get more precise and closer shave by keeping the center of gravity down in your hand as apposed to having the weight at the top which like most disposable or lower end regular razor. By having the weight down in the handle you pretty much are just letting the razors do all the work for you so that you can enjoy an awesome shave with out looking like you just got attacked by a honey badger. In my opinion this razor is one of the best,if not the best razor, you can buy today. I really enjoyed using this razor, however, my only con about this razor would be the price. It is a pretty expensive live. Having said that though, I would highly recommend the Gillette Fusion ProGlide handle, to anyone who shaves on a daily basis.

enduser2941
Eatontown
Would recommend to a friend? No
Most comfortable shave ever!
6/18/2013

Customer review by enduser2941

5.0 stars 6/18/2013 by enduser2941
by enduser2941

I recently received the Gillette Fusion ProGlide handle to review as part of a program run by Gillete and I could not have been more pleased with the handle! The handle has a great contour and is very comfortable in your hand and the padded handle makes it that more comfortable to hold. The handle is heavier the most razors I have used which helps to get more precise and closer shave by keeping the center of gravity down in your hand as apposed to having the weight at the top which like most disposable or lower end regular razor. By having the weight down in the handle you pretty much are just letting the razors do all the work for you so that you can enjoy an awesome shave with out looking like you just got attacked by a honey badger. In my opinion this razor is one of the best,if not the best razor, you can buy today. I really enjoyed using this razor, however, my only con about this razor would be the price. It is a pretty expensive live. Having said that though, I would highly recommend the Gillette Fusion ProGlide handle, to anyone who shaves on a daily basis.

enduser2941
Eatontown
Would recommend to a friend? No
6/12/2013

Customer review by elanka

3.0 stars 6/12/2013 by elanka
by elanka

absolutely love these ProGlides. They give me a much closer shave compared to my older fusion power cartridges. They look narrower compared to the older Gillete fusion power cartridges at first glance, but the width is exactly the same and it's a little shorter than the older model. The cartridges are interchangeable between the older Gillete fusion power handle and the newer proglide handle. I can do just one pass ALONG the grain and get good results - this means a lot because I have extremely thick and fast-growing hair, and I usually have to do two to three passes to get a close shave. The blades seem to bend a bit more and there's sort of a serrated/furrowed thing (not sharp) at the bottom which I think is used to guide and align the hairs better. They're a tad bit on the pricey side, but other than that I really, really like these. Would have given them five stars if they were a little cheaper [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

elanka
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gripping!!
6/7/2013

Customer review by dwhitt

5.0 stars 6/7/2013 by dwhitt
by dwhitt

As this product may have been received as a gift for free by a program by Gillette, do not let this detract from my pure honesty of my product experience. I have been buying this product at least a year before I ever got a free razor to try out. I have also purchased one for my father last Father's Day and he too has enjoy the fresh skin. The gripped handle of the Gillette Fusion is ergonomically designed to not only fit inside the hand but to allow an easy grip with the rubber inlayed handle. Those sleek and smooth handled models of other competitors make it easier for the handle to slip in your hand as your shaving which any man knows will leave a cut. Not with Gillete's Fusion rubber grip, it remains firm in your grip to help add to the smooth cuts from its five blades to give a smooth shave without the worry of cutting your skin. I will continue to be a faithful consumer of Gillette's products.

dwhitt
Lakeland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Grip - Even For Large Hands!
6/28/2013

Customer review by liamfmfl

5.0 stars 6/28/2013 by liamfmfl
by liamfmfl

Finally, a razor handle I can firmly grasp. I actually never have given a single thought about razor handles. I simply didn't know better. I guess one is too focused on the blades. This changed, however, when I received a complimentary razor by Gillette. I obtained a free Gillette Fusion ProGlide through a site online - luck me. Compared to others, it provides a much more cleaner and closer shave. Yet, what me surprised is how the shape of the handle allows me to hold it firmly and comfortably. It's large enough for my big hands and the rubber side grips allows me to hold my razor securely and with the confidence that it won't slide off my hands just because I'm full of shaving cream. I'm happy now that I can hold my razor like a "manly" tool and not like a pencil just because the handle is thin, small and not shaped ergonomically. Finally, a razor that's comfortable for shaving AND holding :)

liamfmfl
Fort Myers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good Grip - Even For Large Hands!
5/27/2013

Customer review by liamfmfl

5.0 stars 5/27/2013 by liamfmfl
by liamfmfl

Finally, a razor handle I can firmly grasp. I actually never have given a single thought about razor handles. I simply didn't know better. I guess one is too focused on the blades. This changed, however, when I received a complimentary razor by Gillette. I obtained a free Gillette Fusion ProGlide through a site online - luck me. Compared to others, it provides a much more cleaner and closer shave. Yet, what me surprised is how the shape of the handle allows me to hold it firmly and comfortably. It's large enough for my big hands and the rubber side grips allows me to hold my razor securely and with the confidence that it won't slide off my hands just because I'm full of shaving cream. I'm happy now that I can hold my razor like a "manly" tool and not like a pencil just because the handle is thin, small and not shaped ergonomically. Finally, a razor that's comfortable for shaving AND holding :)

liamfmfl
Fort Myers
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pure greatness!!!!!
11/9/2011

Customer review by wayne

5.0 stars 11/9/2011 by wayne
by wayne

I recently started back shaving. I do have senstive skin, and years back when I shaved, I basically did it incorrectly and from there I got the unpleasant razor bumps. Simply because I wanted to save money by decreasing my trips to the barber shop and I wanted to shave my head (bald) and face, I purchased this Gillette Fusion Manual Razor, as well as other products like Bump Patrol and some traditional Gillette shaving cream. To make a long explanation short, this razor is tremendous, and it gets the job done in every way. When it comes to shaving my head completely bald and shaving my face (and under my chin), it delivers a very close shave and the results speak for themselves. Shaving every night has become a routine procedure now (thanks to advice from a close friend and Bump Patrol) and I'm fully satisfied with this Gillette Fusion Razor. Highly recommended!!!!!

wayne
North Chesterfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Getting a handle on shaving
5/28/2013

Customer review by kejur1

5.0 stars 5/28/2013 by kejur1
by kejur1

A great shave isn't solely reliant on great blades. If the handle of the razor is poorly designed, the overall experience and comfort of each shave will be sorely lacking. I received a Gillette Fusion Proglide for free via a program by Gillette. The blades are fantastic! So what about the handle? Barely noticed it. Does that make this a bad review? Nope. Not noticing the handle during each shave is the point. It's comfortable to hold and turn and twist and reposition on my face and neck. Using it is so fluid that I forget about it. If you keep stopping your shave because of the handle then it's not a good design. The Proglide's handle is perfectly designed. There are grips and curves in all the right spots. Gillette knows that consumers are going to have this handle for a long time as only the blades would get changed. This shaving system is really top notch and gives me a smooth, comfortable shave every time. I have no idea what they could possibly improve if they were to come out with a newer model in the future. Maybe include a free pizza? Just remember, don't try to shave and eat a slice at the same time.

kejur1
Harriman
Would recommend to a friend? No
I wasn't impressed
6/28/2013

Customer review by AdoAlv

3.0 stars 6/28/2013 by AdoAlv
by AdoAlv

I was excited to get a free Gillette razor since I prefer Gillette over other brands and use the Gillette Fusion Power. The handle is heavy enough and has rubber on the right spots but it was to small for my hands. The Fusion Power seems to have a bigger one. It also feels uncomfortable turning the handle in different positions to reach certain areas of my face. The first couple of times I shaved it felt really smooth and went great. After a couple times of using the razor the blades become quickly dull and you can see and feel it while shaving. I have the feeling the blades from the Fusion Power lasting longer. But I liked the single blade on the end of the razor and find it very helpful to get a close shave in certain spots of my face - like under my nose. I stick to my old razor. Progllide is a nice one but not nice and improved enough to switch over.

AdoAlv
Spring
Would recommend to a friend? No
I wasn't impressed
6/15/2013

Customer review by AdoAlv

3.0 stars 6/15/2013 by AdoAlv
by AdoAlv

I was excited to get a free Gillette razor since I prefer Gillette over other brands and use the Gillette Fusion Power. The handle is heavy enough and has rubber on the right spots but it was to small for my hands. The Fusion Power seems to have a bigger one. It also feels uncomfortable turning the handle in different positions to reach certain areas of my face. The first couple of times I shaved it felt really smooth and went great. After a couple times of using the razor the blades become quickly dull and you can see and feel it while shaving. I have the feeling the blades from the Fusion Power lasting longer. But I liked the single blade on the end of the razor and find it very helpful to get a close shave in certain spots of my face - like under my nose. I stick to my old razor. Progllide is a nice one but not nice and improved enough to switch over.

AdoAlv
Tempe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Preference Is The Key Word
6/3/2013

Customer review by QuiteDecent

4.0 stars 6/3/2013 by QuiteDecent
by QuiteDecent

It's a decent razor. I received the ProGlide by way of a program that Gillette was running, and, as advertised, it glides smoothly and gives a close and comfortable shave. The handle and grip on it is fine. Everything about it is legit. However, as with many products that are mass produced, there are a few small modifications that could be done to perfect it. First off, as smooth as it was, I felt as though I lost a bit of leverage as the head was very flexible. If the flexibility of the head could be adjusted by the user, that would be nice. Next, the lubrication strip at the top seems like it deteriorates much faster than the blades wear down. Maybe if an extra strip was provided (or a bigger/thicker one), that would be better. All in all, these aren't deal breaker for people who use these types of razors. It's all about what one prefers. -Cheers

QuiteDecent
Brooklyn
Would recommend to a friend? No
No More Scratchy Face
5/28/2013

Customer review by ikkipoo

5.0 stars 5/28/2013 by ikkipoo
by ikkipoo

I got the Gillette Fusion ProGlide for my boyfriend to try out and see if he could tell a difference between his regular brand razor and the Proglide.Not only could he tell a difference so could I. First thing he mentioned was how many blades the Proglide had . His normal razon only has two at the most.The Proglide has four thin sharp blades. Then he noticed the curved comfortable handle. You would have thought he had just discovered the best thing in the world. After his first shave with it he mentioned to me that his face had never felt better. I got close to him rubbed my fingertips across his cheek and he was right. His face was as soft as a rose petal. I am so excited that he is now a Gillette Fusion ProGlide user. No more scratchy skin when he kisses me! Thanks Gillette Fusion ProGlide for making both our lives softer and saving our skin. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

ikkipoo
STUART
Would recommend to a friend? No
Decent Handle, Expensive Cartridges
6/29/2013

Customer review by walzac

4.0 stars 6/29/2013 by walzac
by walzac

I was provided a free razor to try and review as part of a program run by Gillette, so my stake in the product wasn't too high (and I guess for $10 per handle, yours isn't either). That being said, I had a pretty nice time using the Fusion ProGlide. The handle worked well, had decent give at the cartridge, and had a really nice grip. For that, I guess I would give the handle itself 5 stars. It's pretty ornate, but does what it is supposed to do. As for the overall shave I received, I would say the 5-bladed cartridge I was provided with was a bit overkill and caused irritation at first, especially since I've been using 3-blade razors for the past 7 years or so. I keep clean-shaven most of the time - only shaving ever 3 days or so - and after the first few shaves, the initial irritation went away and I was able to enjoy a nice, close shave (the trimming blade is also a major plus). The price of replacing these cartridges seems a bit high though, and since there was really nothing spectacular about the overall product I don't think I can recommend it to everyone. It does a good job at what it's supposed to, but just at a relatively high price in my opinion.

walzac
Decatur
Would recommend to a friend? No
Weighty Matters
6/13/2013

Customer review by Joseph58

4.0 stars 6/13/2013 by Joseph58
by Joseph58

I recently recieved the Gillette Fusion Proglide Manual Razor with a free blade from a program run by Gillette. My first impression was that the handle was rather weighty unlike most razors I am use to. I mostly use disposable razors because I find them to be cost effective but I was treated to a bit of luxury with the Gillette Fusion ProGlide Manual Razor. On the first use of the razor I noticed the smoothness and copmfort that the five blades provided. The handle was easy to grip and hold on too. It had substance and was comfortable to hold in the shower and did not slip from hands easily. I really liked the wieght of the handle and how it felt in my hand. I believe it would be equally comfortable for left or right handed person. I feel that the handle itself is enough to motivate me to buy replacement blades.

Joseph58
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 1937 total reviews
1-20 of 1937 reviews