Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 150 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

150 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
54
4 stars
55
3 stars
13
2 stars
16
1 stars
12
1-20 of 116 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews
A great, inexpensive TV
11/27/2015

Customer review by DCiguyucfuotfuofgil

5.0 stars 11/27/2015 by DCiguyucfuotfuofgil
by DCiguyucfuotfuofgil

I have had this TV for over a year now and have no issues with it. It is easy to use, has a very good picture, and sound. I would definitely recommend this TV.

DCiguyucfuotfuofgil
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great Cabin TV
6/4/2015

Customer review by ND8C

5.0 stars 6/4/2015 by ND8C
by ND8C

Bought the E243BD for our get away cabin, and it works great. Especially enjoy the built in DVD player. That it would be too small but it actually turned out to be perfect for watching in those evening hours. Nice job Sceptre!

ND8C
Blue Ridge, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Good picture not so good sound
11/28/2014

Customer review by HGC25

4.0 stars 11/28/2014 by HGC25
by HGC25

Use this TV in my bedroom like. It has a very good picture and I like that it has a DVD player. I don't like the sound it produces but I expected that as most flat screen TV's have that issue. I attached a pair of small powered speakers to it and settled that problem.

HGC25
California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Great TV Excellent Picture
6/5/2015

Customer review by etpapa

5.0 stars 6/5/2015 by etpapa
by etpapa

Bought this for information and entertainment in my computer/HAM radio room. It is doing double-duty as the second computer monitor and as a TV for accessing weather information and news programs. Perfect for my needs!

etpapa
Spanaway, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Design and Performance
5/28/2015

Customer review by Bearkat50

5.0 stars 5/28/2015 by Bearkat50
by Bearkat50

Having a great experience with our first Sceptre TV, we wanted one for the bedroom with a built-in DVD player. The design and performance of this set surpassed our expectations.

Bearkat50
Mesquite, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Versatile
6/23/2015

Customer review by MartinL

5.0 stars 6/23/2015 by MartinL
by MartinL

TV/Monitor/DVD all work great.

MartinL
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Lots of inputs. Solid little TV
6/22/2016

Customer review by jones562

4.0 stars 6/22/2016 by jones562
by jones562
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Tons of great features. Small but sturdy. Build in DVD player. Easy too move around.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jones562
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sceptre 23" Class LED 1080p 60Hz HDTV
3/14/2016

Customer review by Twightlight

3.0 stars 3/14/2016 by Twightlight
by Twightlight

I bought this TV to keep up with the times and replace a 1991 TV that was still going but just not up to date. It came in a timely manner before they said it would be so that's good. The box was a bit crumpled but everything looked O.K.when I got it out of the box. Everything went together easy enough. It was pretty easy to set up. I don't like the fact that I have to have a second remote to be able to watch cable.. But everything else I can do on this TV's remote even set the sleep timer, which is important to me. When I'm watching a DVD everything goes good except when the DVD is over and the DVD player makes noise but thank goodness it stops if I take it out or just turn the DVD player off and watch something else. The picture is clear enough. I like very much that it has 3 HDMI ports but I don't like where they are located. They stick out of the side and get in the way of other things and are unbecoming. The TV is easy to use and I would recommend it to anyone. I just wish the price was lower. I paid about $161.00.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Twightlight
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/2/2012

Customer review by a3rgjlmj

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by a3rgjlmj
by a3rgjlmj

I've had this tv for a few weeks and am very happy with it. It's small and light enough to pick up with one hand and carry under my arm. The tv it replaced was so heavy I could barely lift it. Moving will be that much easier now. I can see the picture from across the room but normally sit five or six feet from it. I hooked it up to my computer and it worked fine. DVD player worked well. I use it now with a coax cable to an antenna for over the air reception and true HD and no cable bill. The picture quality is outstanding when the program is broadcast in HD. My only objection is that it doesn't have a signal meter so you don't know how strong the signal on each channel is. Still picks up as many channels, I just can't use a meter to adjust the antenna. The sound is ok. It's adjustable and better than my last tv and you can add speakers if you want. The test of this tv or any equipment is how long will it last before it needs repair. I paid $179 in Feb. '12. Seemed like the best deal at Walmart for a tv of about this size with a DVD player.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
a3rgjlmj
New Smyrna Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More details on connections
1/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I will edit the review after I hook it up but wanted to put some stuff here so that people know what they are getting besides 3 hdmi inputs. For some reason Walmart (and every other review agency out there) didn't add this to the product description You also get a VGA connect so you can hook it to your PC it has a mini audio jack as well to connect PC sound to the tv. Composite A/V as well as regular A/V so you can hook up an "old fashioned" VHS to it. No S Video however. The product ships with the stand UNINSTALLED but they give you not only screws (expected) but a phillips screwdriver (unexpected) to accomplish this. Instructions indicate that the remote uses "Sony Standards" so assuming if you have the Sony codes for other devices you can also program your remote to operate other components, will get back to you on this.

Was this review helpful? (515) (41)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for the price
3/9/2012

Customer review by Tom1111111

4.0 stars 3/9/2012 by Tom1111111
by Tom1111111

Everything was good except that it has an imperfection on the screen; one of the LEDs is always red. I don't really notice anything while watching since there are so many colors randomly on the screen at any given time. Since it's such a small LED, it's only really noticable when the screen is dark(like at startup or during a show when the screen goes blank for a second between scenes or commercials, etc.). I doubt this is something that is standard and was most likely just a stroke of bad luck. I didn't bother to exchange it since it's not that big of a deal and it doesn't really effect the overall viewing of anything. The price was good for this size screen with a built in DVD player. The sound is not the best as there are just small speakers. It's good for a bedroom where you don't really need the thing blasting. There are plenty of input/output options to connect surround sound, blue-ray, gaming, computer, etc. Other than the one LED issue, the TV performs as expected. If I needed another smaller TV, I would probably end up getting the same one again.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tom1111111
Fontana, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value and quality
3/9/2012

Customer review by Whootnhau

5.0 stars 3/9/2012 by Whootnhau
by Whootnhau

I purchased and had delivered site to store. Totally happy to this point it has been 3 weeks. I have heard the complaints about the speakers being inadequate it falls on deaf ears pun intended. If a person knows anything about reduced cabinet space and sound reproduction it is a given. That being said a seperate set of PC speakers are a welcome addition. I also purchased a 37 inch 1080i LCD Sceptre back in 2004 that is still performing well. So I do have a history with the brand. The picture on this 24' is very crisp. One noted drawback it must be in DVD mode before a disc may be loaded or unloaded very minor in detail multitaskers will understand the frustration. Worth the wait, though it took over 2 weeks for delivery. Evidently not a heavily stocked item.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whootnhau
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful LED TV/DVD Combo Unit
2/17/2012

Customer review by laskil

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by laskil
by laskil

For this price range, it's a very good 23-24" LED TV/DVD Combo unit. I bought this two weeks back from Walmart and so far works good. Wall mounted it and tried over the air TV basic channels, Roku streaming via HDMI & DVD movies and picture/sound quality was very good. Initially I was little hesitate to buy this brand, but wanted to give a shot because of the reasonable/low price LED combo unit. It did not disappoint me and Overall very good product.

Was this review helpful? (81) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laskil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Scepter tv with DVD player
2/11/2016

Customer review by Samthegreat

5.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Samthegreat
by Samthegreat

I purchased this tv with built in DVD player to use in our camper. We used it for a two and a half week trip to Florida and it met our needs. When tv reception was not optimal we could watch a DVD. We did not have the appropriate antenna to pull in all the local channels. The picture was clear and the sound was adequate for our use.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Samthegreat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great
2/19/2012

Customer review by squareheadg

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by squareheadg
by squareheadg

Its in my sons room the whole thing is great we love the picture, the sleek look. everything about it. The dvd in the back it simple and the everything about this tv is great.. i would get another for the other room..

Was this review helpful? (55) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
squareheadg
avalon,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It is as It says
7/19/2012

Customer review by 1awokenspirit

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by 1awokenspirit
by 1awokenspirit

Hi there, well, if you're reading these reviews (as I did before purchase) you'll see that almost all the reviews are positive but for the sound...If you are looking for a good base, and surround sound quality...forget it, but if you are looking for a TV for the kids, or spare room...it's great for that, the price is right for the picture quality and features, plus you're getting a built in DVD player....**BUT**, one thing nobody mentions, or has noticed....it can be used on the road with DC power...just need to get the adapter, the power cord supplied is an inverter for AC. so YEAH IT"S A DEAL!!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1awokenspirit
Henderson,Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/17/2012

Customer review by foster65

4.0 stars 2/17/2012 by foster65
by foster65

liked everything - great tv - just the stand that connects to it is a lil wobbly

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
foster65
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/16/2012

Customer review by Beachie13

2.0 stars 6/16/2012 by Beachie13
by Beachie13

I could not wait to bring this back. I used it almost daily for 5 weeks. No matter how much I made adjustments to the picture ...in particular the color....I could not get it to look right. Just when I think it was acceptable, another show would come on or I'd change the channel and would have to start all over again. I liked the size and the build in DVD player. The sound was OK with a few adjustments, but the picture colors weren't good at all. I was very disappointed. I took it back, got a refund and bought a 26" RCA that Walmart carries. It's awesome! The colors are vivid and clear. Nice TV...after watching this one, I'm sure I made the right decision taking the Sceptre back.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachie13
Manchester WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Returned next day
3/6/2012

Customer review by mrcrash3

2.0 stars 3/6/2012 by mrcrash3
by mrcrash3

Poor quality TV. Right out of the box it had a dead pixel in upper left hand color that was red. I decided to test it out anyway in case I wanted to exchange it. The HDMI didn't transfer sound from DVR or blu-ray player, you have to hook up optical cable for sound which is weird because thats what HDMI is for. Picture quality was ok but not good or great. Sound was horrible, sounded like speakers in an empty beer can. I had to force a dvd into the player, It didn't just take it like other tv's I have. I returned it following day.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrcrash3
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
bad picture
6/16/2012

Customer review by mooney07

2.0 stars 6/16/2012 by mooney07
by mooney07

Can see the pixels and lines going through the screen thinking about returning tv

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mooney07
mpls,mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 116 total reviews
1-20 of 116 reviews