Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 132 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

132 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

132 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
47
3 stars
10
2 stars
16
1 stars
10
1-20 of 98 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews
3/2/2012

Customer review by a3rgjlmj

5.0 stars 3/2/2012 by a3rgjlmj
by a3rgjlmj

I've had this tv for a few weeks and am very happy with it. It's small and light enough to pick up with one hand and carry under my arm. The tv it replaced was so heavy I could barely lift it. Moving will be that much easier now. I can see the picture from across the room but normally sit five or six feet from it. I hooked it up to my computer and it worked fine. DVD player worked well. I use it now with a coax cable to an antenna for over the air reception and true HD and no cable bill. The picture quality is outstanding when the program is broadcast in HD. My only objection is that it doesn't have a signal meter so you don't know how strong the signal on each channel is. Still picks up as many channels, I just can't use a meter to adjust the antenna. The sound is ok. It's adjustable and better than my last tv and you can add speakers if you want. The test of this tv or any equipment is how long will it last before it needs repair. I paid $179 in Feb. '12. Seemed like the best deal at Walmart for a tv of about this size with a DVD player.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
a3rgjlmj
New Smyrna Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More details on connections
1/27/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/27/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I will edit the review after I hook it up but wanted to put some stuff here so that people know what they are getting besides 3 hdmi inputs. For some reason Walmart (and every other review agency out there) didn't add this to the product description You also get a VGA connect so you can hook it to your PC it has a mini audio jack as well to connect PC sound to the tv. Composite A/V as well as regular A/V so you can hook up an "old fashioned" VHS to it. No S Video however. The product ships with the stand UNINSTALLED but they give you not only screws (expected) but a phillips screwdriver (unexpected) to accomplish this. Instructions indicate that the remote uses "Sony Standards" so assuming if you have the Sony codes for other devices you can also program your remote to operate other components, will get back to you on this.

Was this review helpful? (498) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Scepter tv with DVD player
2/11/2016

Customer review by Samthegreat

5.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Samthegreat
by Samthegreat

I purchased this tv with built in DVD player to use in our camper. We used it for a two and a half week trip to Florida and it met our needs. When tv reception was not optimal we could watch a DVD. We did not have the appropriate antenna to pull in all the local channels. The picture was clear and the sound was adequate for our use.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Samthegreat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value and quality
3/9/2012

Customer review by Whootnhau

5.0 stars 3/9/2012 by Whootnhau
by Whootnhau

I purchased and had delivered site to store. Totally happy to this point it has been 3 weeks. I have heard the complaints about the speakers being inadequate it falls on deaf ears pun intended. If a person knows anything about reduced cabinet space and sound reproduction it is a given. That being said a seperate set of PC speakers are a welcome addition. I also purchased a 37 inch 1080i LCD Sceptre back in 2004 that is still performing well. So I do have a history with the brand. The picture on this 24' is very crisp. One noted drawback it must be in DVD mode before a disc may be loaded or unloaded very minor in detail multitaskers will understand the frustration. Worth the wait, though it took over 2 weeks for delivery. Evidently not a heavily stocked item.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Whootnhau
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful LED TV/DVD Combo Unit
2/17/2012

Customer review by laskil

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by laskil
by laskil

For this price range, it's a very good 23-24" LED TV/DVD Combo unit. I bought this two weeks back from Walmart and so far works good. Wall mounted it and tried over the air TV basic channels, Roku streaming via HDMI & DVD movies and picture/sound quality was very good. Initially I was little hesitate to buy this brand, but wanted to give a shot because of the reasonable/low price LED combo unit. It did not disappoint me and Overall very good product.

Was this review helpful? (68) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laskil
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
great
2/19/2012

Customer review by squareheadg

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by squareheadg
by squareheadg

Its in my sons room the whole thing is great we love the picture, the sleek look. everything about it. The dvd in the back it simple and the everything about this tv is great.. i would get another for the other room..

Was this review helpful? (50) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
squareheadg
avalon,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor sound
1/20/2016

Customer review by LoriM

1.0 stars 1/20/2016 by LoriM
by LoriM

Don't like it. The sound quality is terrible. Would not recommend it. I will be returning it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoriM
Would recommend to a friend? No
2/17/2012

Customer review by foster65

4.0 stars 2/17/2012 by foster65
by foster65

liked everything - great tv - just the stand that connects to it is a lil wobbly

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
foster65
Utica, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great, inexpensive TV
11/27/2015

Customer review by DCiguyucfuotfuofgil

5.0 stars 11/27/2015 by DCiguyucfuotfuofgil
by DCiguyucfuotfuofgil

I have had this TV for over a year now and have no issues with it. It is easy to use, has a very good picture, and sound. I would definitely recommend this TV.

DCiguyucfuotfuofgil
Fort Myers, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Returned next day
3/6/2012

Customer review by mrcrash3

2.0 stars 3/6/2012 by mrcrash3
by mrcrash3

Poor quality TV. Right out of the box it had a dead pixel in upper left hand color that was red. I decided to test it out anyway in case I wanted to exchange it. The HDMI didn't transfer sound from DVR or blu-ray player, you have to hook up optical cable for sound which is weird because thats what HDMI is for. Picture quality was ok but not good or great. Sound was horrible, sounded like speakers in an empty beer can. I had to force a dvd into the player, It didn't just take it like other tv's I have. I returned it following day.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mrcrash3
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
6/16/2012

Customer review by Beachie13

2.0 stars 6/16/2012 by Beachie13
by Beachie13

I could not wait to bring this back. I used it almost daily for 5 weeks. No matter how much I made adjustments to the picture ...in particular the color....I could not get it to look right. Just when I think it was acceptable, another show would come on or I'd change the channel and would have to start all over again. I liked the size and the build in DVD player. The sound was OK with a few adjustments, but the picture colors weren't good at all. I was very disappointed. I took it back, got a refund and bought a 26" RCA that Walmart carries. It's awesome! The colors are vivid and clear. Nice TV...after watching this one, I'm sure I made the right decision taking the Sceptre back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachie13
Manchester WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It is as It says
7/19/2012

Customer review by 1awokenspirit

4.0 stars 7/19/2012 by 1awokenspirit
by 1awokenspirit

Hi there, well, if you're reading these reviews (as I did before purchase) you'll see that almost all the reviews are positive but for the sound...If you are looking for a good base, and surround sound quality...forget it, but if you are looking for a TV for the kids, or spare room...it's great for that, the price is right for the picture quality and features, plus you're getting a built in DVD player....**BUT**, one thing nobody mentions, or has noticed....it can be used on the road with DC power...just need to get the adapter, the power cord supplied is an inverter for AC. so YEAH IT"S A DEAL!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1awokenspirit
Henderson,Mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
3/6/2012

Customer review by ssmgirl

1.0 stars 3/6/2012 by ssmgirl
by ssmgirl

This was junk. The dvd player sounded like it was dying from the first dvd I put in..while watching the picture started getting darker and darker....the next night watching regular TV the same thing was happening after watching for awhile the picture got darker and darker. Brought back immediately. This thing wasn't worth $1.00

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ssmgirl
Would recommend to a friend? No
bad picture
6/16/2012

Customer review by mooney07

2.0 stars 6/16/2012 by mooney07
by mooney07

Can see the pixels and lines going through the screen thinking about returning tv

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mooney07
mpls,mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good for the price
3/9/2012

Customer review by Tom1111111

4.0 stars 3/9/2012 by Tom1111111
by Tom1111111

Everything was good except that it has an imperfection on the screen; one of the LEDs is always red. I don't really notice anything while watching since there are so many colors randomly on the screen at any given time. Since it's such a small LED, it's only really noticable when the screen is dark(like at startup or during a show when the screen goes blank for a second between scenes or commercials, etc.). I doubt this is something that is standard and was most likely just a stroke of bad luck. I didn't bother to exchange it since it's not that big of a deal and it doesn't really effect the overall viewing of anything. The price was good for this size screen with a built in DVD player. The sound is not the best as there are just small speakers. It's good for a bedroom where you don't really need the thing blasting. There are plenty of input/output options to connect surround sound, blue-ray, gaming, computer, etc. Other than the one LED issue, the TV performs as expected. If I needed another smaller TV, I would probably end up getting the same one again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tom1111111
Fontana, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
wouldn't purchase this again
3/6/2012

Customer review by RockChalkJayhawkgoKU

2.0 stars 3/6/2012 by RockChalkJayhawkgoKU
by RockChalkJayhawkgoKU

The sound, and color quality leave a lot to be desired. The audio sounds as if it's a radio instead of a TV. The price was great, but I now know why.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockChalkJayhawkgoKU
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terrible Sound
2/19/2012

Customer review by Hawks05

1.0 stars 2/19/2012 by Hawks05
by Hawks05

The sound on the TV was terrible, had to return. Also, when a DVD was in, you could hear the DVD player working in the background.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hawks05
Would recommend to a friend? No
4 year fan.. correction.. Dissappointed fan :(
2/28/2012

Customer review by DaGuruslams

1.0 stars 2/28/2012 by DaGuruslams
by DaGuruslams

Let me start by saying I am NoT a Viewsonic hax.. I've posted 6 answers on this Sceptre TV before I even got it that's how excited I was about it and watched the prices and availability for 3 weeks!!! I've been a Sceptre fan since my first HX22-Naga 2ms LCD monitor in 2008 and I am very disappointed in this TV. I was expecting it to be awesome and it's not... It's a horrible picture (and I'm not exaggerating# compared to a Viewsonic VX2453Mh-LED with almost the same specs that I bought just last week and was going to use for the tv but decided to use the Viewsonic 2ms for my main monitor and went ahead and bought this Sceptre to use as the TV for my desk. Here's my grips. 1. Picture is horrible.. it is blocky, grainy, ghosting on white lettering on movie intros and the colors are way to exaggerated! This truly is NOT HD quality because I have an HD quality Viewsonic only #1 week old# sitting right beside it and it's night and day. Also, It has no contrast settings other than preset settings so you can't manually adjust contrast or brightness. 2. IT HAS 2 DEAD PIXELS!! Visible on black or dark images.. they shine blue and green. 3. Sceptres' return policy on pixels is that it has to have 6-8 dead pixels!!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME ?? this thing is going back in the morning regardless!! 4. This add says that it has a DVI input .. it DOES NOT HAVE DVI!!!! Only VGA for PC. 5. The stand will not tilt forward or is so tight it's stuck. 6. Again, I can't tell you how HORRIBLE this picture is and I'm not making a mistake .... I'm 9 years IT hardware specialist and I tested both monitors on the same cable box, same recorded movie, same settings and same HDMI cable. Like I said I have a perfect picture # both in PC mode and in TV mode# from my Viewsonic VX2453Mh-LED. This Sceptre is clearly eons behind the true HD picture on the Viewsonic for the same price!! IN Fact I got the Viewsonice LED monitor for $10.00 less. And it has speakers and all and 2 HDMI. IN closing I will say that at I am again thoroughly disappointed .. I love my current Sceptre 22" LCD HX22-Naga .. but this one falls far from the tree. :# I thought the one guy that said the same thing was just raging and picky.. my mistake for not listening.. if you've seen truly beautiful HD picture then you see this, you'll want to throw up!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaGuruslams
Borg Mothership
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/24/2012

Customer review by Suziegirl60

1.0 stars 7/24/2012 by Suziegirl60
by Suziegirl60

The TV only gets a very limited amount of channels. I have cable but apparently it is not compatible with this tv. I get 160 channels on my other TVs and only 17 on this one. i made the mistake of throwing the box out before I tried the tv now I am stuck with it. My son is going to try it at the dorm.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Suziegirl60
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
9/11/2012

Customer review by RackMerd

4.0 stars 9/11/2012 by RackMerd
by RackMerd

Great Flat screen for the money, love the built in dvd player and AC, DC capabilities, Works great in my Trailer!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RackMerd
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 98 total reviews
1-20 of 98 reviews