Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 932 reviews
5 stars
507
4 stars
256
3 stars
49
2 stars
32
1 stars
88
Sort by: 
1-20 of 862 reviews
1-20 of 862 reviews
EXCELLENT DEAL, DO NOT WORRY, THAT YOU NEVER HEARD
4/24/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
of this brand before, its awesome... HAS A LCD SCREEN THATS OUT OF THIS WORLD... The only chalenge is, the DVD is very sensitive, so make sure the dvd is clean...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (410)No (39)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great TV/DVD player :)
3/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Bought this for my daughters room. Her room isn't that big so this was perfect! Great picture and sound quality! She loves to watch movies so the DVD player built in was a must have! The DVD player plays smoothly...have no problems. This is a fantastic tv/dvd player at a great price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (295)No (72)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Out of the Box defective
7/20/2016
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I turned on the 32" TV and it had 1/3 of screen Black. I called Tech service @ Sceptre expecting the TECH to tell me to send it Back. Instead he asked me to take a picture and Email the picture of the defective screen it to them.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Tv was damaged. I returned it!
8/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The box was damaged they should have opened it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sceptre-32-Class-LED-Built-in-DVD-Player-
12/5/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Once I realized I needed the HD something or other cable and made a second trip to buy one, it was easy to hook up. I did have to call my cable service guy to walk me through the hookup, the menu and tuning. I am NOT a tech person and none of the alphabet-soup labels on the back of the TV or in the instruction book meant anything to me and therefore the menu was sheer hieroglyphics when I pulled it up. But once I got it up and going, the picture was great, the sound was great. The remote is not too convoluted. Now that I know what plug goes to which hole and which remote (cable box has a separate one) does what, I've labeled everything in non-tech stickies and I'm enjoying the product. It really is like having a giant movie screen in the living room. And the convenience of having the DVD player built in is great; especially since it eliminates more hookups and cables deciphering. This person from the dim side of the digital divide gives the product a big thumbs up on the price and the product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sceptre 32" TV with built-in DVD player
3/13/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Really great TV for the price! Easy to set up - synced right up with our cable so didn't have to search for the brand, etc like some sets. Seriously: took longer to get it out of the box than to set it up and get a beautiful picture! We have it on our covered patio (we live in Florida) and the picture is great in the sun or in the dark. We have it on the (included) stand, which leads to the ONLY problem: the sound. If you're going to put it on the wall you'll definitely need a sound-bar or some other sound output because the speakers are on the BACK of the tv.... Sound is tinny and volume is low. Tried the different different sound settings, but still not good. Turned the sound al the way up on the tv itself, and now use cable remote to control it. BUT, again, for the PRICE, we are very pleased! Haven't tried the DVD yet, but don't foresee a problem: the remote is easy to work with. We gave it 5 stars, but actually a 4 1/2 because of the sound...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Impressed
9/23/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I needed a tv and wanted one that the dvd was included. This was the perfect size with the dvd and at a price point I am comfortable with. I left it in the box for some time because I'm not one to mess with wires and electronics. Dreading the task, I finally opened this past weekend. Well for those that are hesitant, such as I, NO worries. Right out of the box I was impressed with the packaging IE: the plastic bag had everything contained which also included a phillip's head screw driver, batteries and the cloth wipe for the tv. I just liked that everything was included in that bag and I didn't lose my mind looking for needed items. I like the quality of the tv, the picture color and I thought it was very easy to set up. You need only attach the base to the tv and this is easy to do. Then the tv swivels and it seems quite stable, not like others that make you "feel" like they'll tip at any moment. All in all, a great purchase and would recommend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (72)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value for the Price
8/11/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We ordered this TV to use as a secondary TV in our bedroom, and wanted to have an included DVR player. This Sceptre TV meets all of our expectations. The picture quality is excellent! The sound is not the same quality as our main TV which is a Samsung, but we are definitely satisfied with it. The only problem we had was attaching the base stand to the bottom of the TV. It took some time as my husband has a paralyzed arm and wanted to do it himself, but the two of us got it together okay. The instructions for attaching the base could be a little better but with patience we got it together. It has a swivel base so you need to have a little "play" in the base for that reason. We haven't tried playing a DVR on it yet but I am sure we will enjoy that feature. This TV is not "top of the line" but it meets our needs very well and we are very happy with the purchase. We also bought the 4-year extended warranty which is a very good bargain for the peace of mind.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (43)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good tv for the price
6/19/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Was looking to upgrade an old school 19 inch bedroom TV and didn't want to spend a lot this TV is great for the price with the DVD player built in picture is good the sound is kind of low even after playing with all the option other reviews said the same but figured in the bedroom would be ok wish it was a little louder but it does the job and it was a great price did find out from other review ans reading the owners manual the diretv satilite codes are sony codes and it was easy to set up couple of screws and the cable wire its was up and running was worried because I don't know how any of those thing hook up but it was east and good instructions to help figure it all out. also seen other reviews about auto shut off and I leave TV on all night it has settings to change and it only really turns it self off if the power or your cable goes out found that out because power went out and the TV stays off which is good no surges.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (37)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
DEFECTIVE
5/23/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The 32" Sceptre TV I purchased had a DVD player built in. The TV lasted 2 days ... The second day I used the set, after pausing the DVD player to answer a phone call, it broke. The screen went black and all I could hear was the sound. So I had no option but to return the set. After waiting in a 25 minute customer care returns only line, Walmart took the set back - no problem there. I went to the TV department and bought an Emerson 32" with no built in DVD player for about $30 less. The Emerson quality of picture over was not the same at the Sceptre. Sceptre is a much more superior TV however, the reason for my purchase was to get a room ready for guests. I couldn't wait for another on line purchase to arrive. I was bummed the DVD player was defective. I hear that is a common problem and if the DVD player breaks thus goes the television set as well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT LED TV & DVD combo
10/16/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Being the LED TV & DVD combo was going to be for my garage soon to be my man-cave, price was the driving force when I selected the TV & DVD combo. So I was pleased to find the Sceptre 32" LED TV with DVD player for a little over $200.00. In some cases less than $100.00 of other manufactures with just a LED TV. After receiving the TV & DVD combo I was pleasantly surprised on how easily the the TV & DVD combo hooked up to the stand and how nice the unit looked. I noted if the the TV & DVD combo picture quality looked and played as well the Sceptre looked I would be a lucky man. Wiith the help of the quick set up I hooked the TV up turned it on. I was totally amazed at the picture quality and the sound on the TV & DVD player and I hadn't adjusted a thing.,,,a first! I think I had 5 - 7 horz bars of probably 40 for sound and the TV could be heard clearly about the garage. The sound was beautiful across my stereo. Lastly I tried the remote from various angles and found it had excellent functions and the commands were easily picked up. Thanks Sceptre for making my day. I couldn't be happier!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (143)No (59)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Didn't work from day one
1/30/2015
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This TV was a good value due to having a built in DVD player, but that is where it stops. After programming all the cable channels it could find, the sound was not right. We tried to adjust the fine tuning in the features, but it didn't change a thing. Then the TV would not have any sound on certain channels and poor sound continued on all the others. We sent it back to the company and they said they couldn't find anything wrong with the TV, and sent it back still broken. We hooked everything back up and even used brand new wires, but still the same poor sound quality. We called again months later and eventually convinced them to replace the TV with a new one. So, after spending $60 on shipping charges, putting up with a poor TV for months, going without one for even more months while they were checking into our complaint, we are now promised a new one. Which, at the time of this review, has not come back yet!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not bad for the price
7/29/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Easy set up. Didn't have to do anything to get it to work for dish, except switch the cables. Have to use the TV remote to turn it on and off though, since I don't know how to program the remote to the dish remote yet. but not really a problem for me. Just turn it on and off with the TV remote and everything else works with the dish remote. Awesome picture quality. I only have one drawback. I got this TV so my poor sighted hard of hearing stepfather could watch movies without an additional DVD player. Easier for him. But the sound quality was poor. Even for me! And I'm not hard of hearing. So I got some external speakers and set them up on each side of his chair. But don't think you can just plug them into the earphone jack. That does not give good sound for extra speakers, it's just for earphones. You must hook them up to the audio out (Red and White) hookups on the side, just below the headphone jack plug in. So I got an adapter to do this with fairly cheap external speakers. For a person with a smaller room, no hard of hearing issues, and no noise issues, like an air conditioner, or oxygen concentrator, the sound might not be a problem. But otherwise, plan on buying some external speakers.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great For My Daughter's Room
2/19/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We purchased for my 10 year old daughter for her birthday, she had old 120 pound 32" tv and it made it hard to rearrange her room. Had to have very sturdy shelf or dresser to sit it on. This is great only weighs about 15-20 lbs, and has built in dvd player so that is one less thing to put on shelf. So far the picture and sound is great on this tv. It goes plenty loud and at half turned up we can here it in the other side of house [ 2000 sq ft ] and have to tell her to turn it down. The dvd player so far works great. It tells you in the book to program cable or satellite remote with the codes used for a SONY, we have cable and the first code in the chart for our cable system for SONY worked great, fast set up. Going to put it on swivel wall mount next week as soon as wall mount is in, order from Wal-Mart also. We purchased the three year warranty with it also, have had no problems with other warranties we have purchased from Wal-Mart in the past, when something went wrong, we always purchase warranty with electronics!!! I would purchase another one if I needed one. VERY HAPPY WITH TV SO FAR, Daughter loves it and can't wait for the wait for the wall mount to get here.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT VALUE!
4/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Much better than the viore 32" w dvd i bought first.....thinner, better picture quality and no background buzz....GREAT VALUE!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (238)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The DVD PLAYER STOPPED WORKING after 4 months
5/17/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a TV/DVD combo, and the DVD player stopped working after four months. I purchased this in December 2012 for my son as a Christmas present, and the DVD player stopped working in April 2013. It was past WalMart's 90 day return policy, so I was very sad and disappointed. I talked to some of the managers at my local WalMart, and they were very understanding. They allowed me to return the TV with all it's packaging for store credit. Now I can buy another brand of TV/DVD combo, either online or in store, which is convenient. Walmart also sells a Vizio and a JVC with comparable features, screen size, and price. As far as picture and sound quality, this TV was excellent. If the built in DVD player worked, I would be happy to keep the TV.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
its okay
4/7/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I picked the tv up from the store. The box was not damaged and so I brought it home with me. It was very easy to mount on my wall. Overall the tv is okay. The picture is good, the sound is average (even loud for a narrow room like mine), and the dvd player is horrible. The dvd player hums loudly, so loud I have to turn up the volume on the tv just to drown out the sound. I dont like listening to high volume electronics. Sometimes it seems like the dvd player quiets down but its not long before it picks back up. This would have been an awesome tv if the dvd player wasnt so loud. I was able to scan for channels and pick up all my local stations.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A really really really good buy.
12/19/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this TV for a fireplace bookcase (stand) in my Den. I have a 52" LG in the living room and I did not expect the same quality but rather a "second" TV for occasional viewing. I was stunned by the quality of this TV. The picture is great! I have had no problems with the sound as suggested in some reviews. The DVD player is also excellent with viewing options you can customize from cinema to widescreen. The system worked seamlessly with my Direct TV remote and I couldn't be happier with this purchase. This is a 21st century TV without wi-fi but with everything else you need. It was so easy to hookup/install and move around to just the right place. It's simply a joy to watch and I spend a lot more time in the Den now. I would highly recommend this product. The price is right and the quality is awesome.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (124)No (58)
Report
Was this review helpful?
HORRIBLE - DIED AFTER 2 MONTHS
5/28/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I had this 2 TV for only 2 months and suddenly the screen went half black. Read other reviews and found that several other customers had the same problem. Returned it immediately!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice TV
12/26/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am not good at setting up electronics but this was easy. You only have to assemble the base (assuming it is not going on a wall) and that's a five minute job, even for someone like me. The first DVD I played in it had a squeak or hum for about the first half hour but it has been quiet and working well since then. I read some concerns about volume in some of the reviews; I have it in a home office and a setting of 13 out of 100 is loud to the point of distracting for me. The picture is beautiful. My only comment would be that the remote should have different colors for some of the buttons you will use most often (mute, source, etc.) rather than make you hunt with a magnifying glass to see what the writing above each button says.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641741, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-