Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 751 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

751 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

751 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
413
4 stars
212
3 stars
34
2 stars
25
1 stars
67
1-20 of 681 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 681 total reviews
1-20 of 681 reviews
EXCELLENT DEAL, DO NOT WORRY, THAT YOU NEVER HEARD
4/24/2012

Customer review by MetaRoc

5.0 stars 4/24/2012 by MetaRoc
by MetaRoc

of this brand before, its awesome... HAS A LCD SCREEN THATS OUT OF THIS WORLD... The only chalenge is, the DVD is very sensitive, so make sure the dvd is clean...

Was this review helpful? (327) (33)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MetaRoc
ORANGE, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV/DVD player :)
3/6/2014

Customer review by Missdonnaxo

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by Missdonnaxo
by Missdonnaxo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my daughters room. Her room isn't that big so this was perfect! Great picture and sound quality! She loves to watch movies so the DVD player built in was a must have! The DVD player plays smoothly...have no problems. This is a fantastic tv/dvd player at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (222) (65)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Missdonnaxo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Impressed
9/23/2015

Customer review by Lysha

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by Lysha
by Lysha

I needed a tv and wanted one that the dvd was included. This was the perfect size with the dvd and at a price point I am comfortable with. I left it in the box for some time because I'm not one to mess with wires and electronics. Dreading the task, I finally opened this past weekend. Well for those that are hesitant, such as I, NO worries. Right out of the box I was impressed with the packaging IE: the plastic bag had everything contained which also included a phillip's head screw driver, batteries and the cloth wipe for the tv. I just liked that everything was included in that bag and I didn't lose my mind looking for needed items. I like the quality of the tv, the picture color and I thought it was very easy to set up. You need only attach the base to the tv and this is easy to do. Then the tv swivels and it seems quite stable, not like others that make you "feel" like they'll tip at any moment. All in all, a great purchase and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lysha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor sound level and quality. No QAM tuner.
1/27/2016

Customer review by KKshr

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by KKshr
by KKshr

Like some of the other reviews state, the sound level is poor. You can turn the sound all the way up and it is by no means "deafening". I did notice I could get a little louder sound out of it by turning the surround sound off. The sound also has no bass to it...very tinny sound. Yes, I have changed the sound settings (to both the various preset sound settings and the adjustable user sound setting) and none seem to have any affect on the sound quality at all (maybe the sound settings don't work?). I did notice the sound level is higher when playing DVDs, but the sound quality is still poor...tinny and no bass. And again, the various sound settings have no affect on the sound. I'll go to walmart and see if they have one of these as display model. If they do I'll see how the sound and picture quality is on it. If there is a noticeable difference between the display model and the one I have, I'll exchange this one for another one. As some others have stated, the DVD player does make a lot of noise, when playing DVDs. Probably not a good sign for longevity. I have another 32" model of Sceptre TV that I bought a few years ago and it is a great TV. The picture and sound (both level and quality) on it are great. Maybe this TV is defective, or just a poor quality TV. There is no QAM tuner in this TV. It says so right in the paperwork that comes with the TV. So I don't know why it says in the specs on here that it does.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KKshr
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great TV for a great price!
1/11/2016

Customer review by Chris

4.0 stars 1/11/2016 by Chris
by Chris

Great price for a LED-TV with built-in DVD player. The picture is very good, but the sound could have been of better quality.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chris
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for the price!
1/11/2016

Customer review by MChe

5.0 stars 1/11/2016 by MChe
by MChe

Bought it for my grandmother -- she loves it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MChe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's my 2nd Sceptre. I've got no complaints.
12/25/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 12/25/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I'm a sound guy, not a video guy. To me a picture is a picture. 720p, 60Hz... Fine by me. I want it to be inexpensive and reliable. That's exactly what Sceptre is for me. It's a pricepoint monitor that gives me good picture quality, with all the ports I need, that has not given me even one problem in over a year. I have a Samsung and a Vizio in other rooms. Same specs as the Sceptre, no difference except the others cost more. And on this one, the DVD player works perfectly. I'd buy another of these if I needed another 32" monitor.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value for the Price
8/11/2014

Customer review by KeystoneKate

4.0 stars 8/11/2014 by KeystoneKate
by KeystoneKate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We ordered this TV to use as a secondary TV in our bedroom, and wanted to have an included DVR player. This Sceptre TV meets all of our expectations. The picture quality is excellent! The sound is not the same quality as our main TV which is a Samsung, but we are definitely satisfied with it. The only problem we had was attaching the base stand to the bottom of the TV. It took some time as my husband has a paralyzed arm and wanted to do it himself, but the two of us got it together okay. The instructions for attaching the base could be a little better but with patience we got it together. It has a swivel base so you need to have a little "play" in the base for that reason. We haven't tried playing a DVR on it yet but I am sure we will enjoy that feature. This TV is not "top of the line" but it meets our needs very well and we are very happy with the purchase. We also bought the 4-year extended warranty which is a very good bargain for the peace of mind.

Was this review helpful? (19) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KeystoneKate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great so far
1/12/2016

Customer review by MobTown40

5.0 stars 1/12/2016 by MobTown40
by MobTown40

So far so good. I purchased this as a Christmas present for my son. No complaints from him yet.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MobTown40
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good tv for the price
6/19/2014

Customer review by lightingtheway

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by lightingtheway
by lightingtheway
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was looking to upgrade an old school 19 inch bedroom TV and didn't want to spend a lot this TV is great for the price with the DVD player built in picture is good the sound is kind of low even after playing with all the option other reviews said the same but figured in the bedroom would be ok wish it was a little louder but it does the job and it was a great price did find out from other review ans reading the owners manual the diretv satilite codes are sony codes and it was easy to set up couple of screws and the cable wire its was up and running was worried because I don't know how any of those thing hook up but it was east and good instructions to help figure it all out. also seen other reviews about auto shut off and I leave TV on all night it has settings to change and it only really turns it self off if the power or your cable goes out found that out because power went out and the TV stays off which is good no surges.

Was this review helpful? (23) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lightingtheway
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Stop complaining about the sound!
12/14/2015

Customer review by Christo

4.0 stars 12/14/2015 by Christo
by Christo

This is an ultra slim LED tv, it's too thin to house speakers capable of filling a room with sound. No ultra slim tv can do this! I own Sony, Samsung , and Sharp LED tv's and all have poor sound quality. If you want theatre quality sound, add a sound bar. This tv is a great value for the price. Works good in my kids' bedrooms. Picture is good in HD, sound is as expected. Built in tuner picks up free HD channels that would normally require an antenna.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Christo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Happy
1/10/2016

Customer review by Shannon

5.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Shannon
by Shannon

Love the crisp picture on my new TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shannon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good buy
1/10/2016

Customer review by Sarah

4.0 stars 1/10/2016 by Sarah
by Sarah

Working great so far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sarah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
noisy
12/8/2015

Customer review by Baker

3.0 stars 12/8/2015 by Baker
by Baker

The picture quality is ok but the DVD player is very noisy

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Baker
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not bad for the price
7/29/2014

Customer review by okayrose2

3.0 stars 7/29/2014 by okayrose2
by okayrose2

Easy set up. Didn't have to do anything to get it to work for dish, except switch the cables. Have to use the TV remote to turn it on and off though, since I don't know how to program the remote to the dish remote yet. but not really a problem for me. Just turn it on and off with the TV remote and everything else works with the dish remote. Awesome picture quality. I only have one drawback. I got this TV so my poor sighted hard of hearing stepfather could watch movies without an additional DVD player. Easier for him. But the sound quality was poor. Even for me! And I'm not hard of hearing. So I got some external speakers and set them up on each side of his chair. But don't think you can just plug them into the earphone jack. That does not give good sound for extra speakers, it's just for earphones. You must hook them up to the audio out (Red and White) hookups on the side, just below the headphone jack plug in. So I got an adapter to do this with fairly cheap external speakers. For a person with a smaller room, no hard of hearing issues, and no noise issues, like an air conditioner, or oxygen concentrator, the sound might not be a problem. But otherwise, plan on buying some external speakers.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
okayrose2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT LED TV & DVD combo
10/16/2013

Customer review by jdlmkl

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by jdlmkl
by jdlmkl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Being the LED TV & DVD combo was going to be for my garage soon to be my man-cave, price was the driving force when I selected the TV & DVD combo. So I was pleased to find the Sceptre 32" LED TV with DVD player for a little over $200.00. In some cases less than $100.00 of other manufactures with just a LED TV. After receiving the TV & DVD combo I was pleasantly surprised on how easily the the TV & DVD combo hooked up to the stand and how nice the unit looked. I noted if the the TV & DVD combo picture quality looked and played as well the Sceptre looked I would be a lucky man. Wiith the help of the quick set up I hooked the TV up turned it on. I was totally amazed at the picture quality and the sound on the TV & DVD player and I hadn't adjusted a thing.,,,a first! I think I had 5 - 7 horz bars of probably 40 for sound and the TV could be heard clearly about the garage. The sound was beautiful across my stereo. Lastly I tried the remote from various angles and found it had excellent functions and the commands were easily picked up. Thanks Sceptre for making my day. I couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful? (128) (47)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdlmkl
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sceptre32"/dvd player
1/5/2016

Customer review by vicky

2.0 stars 1/5/2016 by vicky
by vicky

Had to pay twc to hook it up,didn't understand the directions.the sound was too sharp ,tried to adjust it to soften the tone ,by doing so it made the volume lovwer.i had it on the max volume ,had a hard time hearing the tv.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
vicky
Would recommend to a friend? No
REVIEW
12/30/2015

Customer review by GDE34

1.0 stars 12/30/2015 by GDE34
by GDE34

THE DVD SOUND WAS BARELY AUDIBLE EVEN ON 100 COULD BE IT WAS DEFECTIVE AND NOT THE PRODUCT ITSELF BUT HAD TO TAKE IT BAKE FOR REFUND SO CAN ONLY GIVE IT THIS RATING

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GDE34
Would recommend to a friend? No
TV good, DVD has noise problem
1/20/2016

Customer review by Butch257

4.0 stars 1/20/2016 by Butch257
by Butch257

Set up was fairly easy. Had to turn the BASS way up to improve the sound. Going to take back because a annoying noise in the DVD. TV good for the money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butch257
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Except for DVD Placement
1/13/2016

Customer review by TWick

4.0 stars 1/13/2016 by TWick
by TWick

This tv was easy to set up, but the DVD player is on the back and we have it in the corner, so to get the DVD in, we have to move the TV out from the wall. But, the rest of the TV is good, or we would have scored it an Excellent.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TWick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 681 total reviews
1-20 of 681 reviews