Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 852 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

852 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

852 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
465
4 stars
236
3 stars
45
2 stars
31
1 stars
75
1-20 of 782 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 782 total reviews
1-20 of 782 reviews
Out of the Box defective
7/20/2016

Customer review by DansPC

2.0 stars 7/20/2016 by DansPC
by DansPC
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I turned on the 32" TV and it had 1/3 of screen Black. I called Tech service @ Sceptre expecting the TECH to tell me to send it Back. Instead he asked me to take a picture and Email the picture of the defective screen it to them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DansPC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EXCELLENT DEAL, DO NOT WORRY, THAT YOU NEVER HEARD
4/24/2012

Customer review by MetaRoc

5.0 stars 4/24/2012 by MetaRoc
by MetaRoc

of this brand before, its awesome... HAS A LCD SCREEN THATS OUT OF THIS WORLD... The only chalenge is, the DVD is very sensitive, so make sure the dvd is clean...

Was this review helpful? (360) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MetaRoc
ORANGE, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV/DVD player :)
3/6/2014

Customer review by Missdonnaxo

5.0 stars 3/6/2014 by Missdonnaxo
by Missdonnaxo
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my daughters room. Her room isn't that big so this was perfect! Great picture and sound quality! She loves to watch movies so the DVD player built in was a must have! The DVD player plays smoothly...have no problems. This is a fantastic tv/dvd player at a great price!

Was this review helpful? (251) (69)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Missdonnaxo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sceptre 32" TV with built-in DVD player
3/13/2016

Customer review by MikeJoyinFlorida

5.0 stars 3/13/2016 by MikeJoyinFlorida
by MikeJoyinFlorida

Really great TV for the price! Easy to set up - synced right up with our cable so didn't have to search for the brand, etc like some sets. Seriously: took longer to get it out of the box than to set it up and get a beautiful picture! We have it on our covered patio (we live in Florida) and the picture is great in the sun or in the dark. We have it on the (included) stand, which leads to the ONLY problem: the sound. If you're going to put it on the wall you'll definitely need a sound-bar or some other sound output because the speakers are on the BACK of the tv.... Sound is tinny and volume is low. Tried the different different sound settings, but still not good. Turned the sound al the way up on the tv itself, and now use cable remote to control it. BUT, again, for the PRICE, we are very pleased! Haven't tried the DVD yet, but don't foresee a problem: the remote is easy to work with. We gave it 5 stars, but actually a 4 1/2 because of the sound...

Was this review helpful? (19) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MikeJoyinFlorida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
DEFECTIVE
5/23/2016

Customer review by ConsumerChrissy

1.0 stars 5/23/2016 by ConsumerChrissy
by ConsumerChrissy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The 32" Sceptre TV I purchased had a DVD player built in. The TV lasted 2 days ... The second day I used the set, after pausing the DVD player to answer a phone call, it broke. The screen went black and all I could hear was the sound. So I had no option but to return the set. After waiting in a 25 minute customer care returns only line, Walmart took the set back - no problem there. I went to the TV department and bought an Emerson 32" with no built in DVD player for about $30 less. The Emerson quality of picture over was not the same at the Sceptre. Sceptre is a much more superior TV however, the reason for my purchase was to get a room ready for guests. I couldn't wait for another on line purchase to arrive. I was bummed the DVD player was defective. I hear that is a common problem and if the DVD player breaks thus goes the television set as well.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsumerChrissy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Impressed
9/23/2015

Customer review by Lysha

5.0 stars 9/23/2015 by Lysha
by Lysha

I needed a tv and wanted one that the dvd was included. This was the perfect size with the dvd and at a price point I am comfortable with. I left it in the box for some time because I'm not one to mess with wires and electronics. Dreading the task, I finally opened this past weekend. Well for those that are hesitant, such as I, NO worries. Right out of the box I was impressed with the packaging IE: the plastic bag had everything contained which also included a phillip's head screw driver, batteries and the cloth wipe for the tv. I just liked that everything was included in that bag and I didn't lose my mind looking for needed items. I like the quality of the tv, the picture color and I thought it was very easy to set up. You need only attach the base to the tv and this is easy to do. Then the tv swivels and it seems quite stable, not like others that make you "feel" like they'll tip at any moment. All in all, a great purchase and would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (49) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lysha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for an extra room
7/2/2016

Customer review by Shari

3.0 stars 7/2/2016 by Shari
by Shari
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The picture is good but not something I would want for my primary TV, The sound is variable sometimes loud then very soft. The DVD player is easy to work even for younger children which is what I bought it for. You get what you pay for and the price made me feel safe to trust it for my grandchildren to have in their playroom.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Shari
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Value for the Price
8/11/2014

Customer review by KeystoneKate

4.0 stars 8/11/2014 by KeystoneKate
by KeystoneKate
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We ordered this TV to use as a secondary TV in our bedroom, and wanted to have an included DVR player. This Sceptre TV meets all of our expectations. The picture quality is excellent! The sound is not the same quality as our main TV which is a Samsung, but we are definitely satisfied with it. The only problem we had was attaching the base stand to the bottom of the TV. It took some time as my husband has a paralyzed arm and wanted to do it himself, but the two of us got it together okay. The instructions for attaching the base could be a little better but with patience we got it together. It has a swivel base so you need to have a little "play" in the base for that reason. We haven't tried playing a DVR on it yet but I am sure we will enjoy that feature. This TV is not "top of the line" but it meets our needs very well and we are very happy with the purchase. We also bought the 4-year extended warranty which is a very good bargain for the peace of mind.

Was this review helpful? (31) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KeystoneKate
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good tv for the price
6/19/2014

Customer review by lightingtheway

4.0 stars 6/19/2014 by lightingtheway
by lightingtheway
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Was looking to upgrade an old school 19 inch bedroom TV and didn't want to spend a lot this TV is great for the price with the DVD player built in picture is good the sound is kind of low even after playing with all the option other reviews said the same but figured in the bedroom would be ok wish it was a little louder but it does the job and it was a great price did find out from other review ans reading the owners manual the diretv satilite codes are sony codes and it was easy to set up couple of screws and the cable wire its was up and running was worried because I don't know how any of those thing hook up but it was east and good instructions to help figure it all out. also seen other reviews about auto shut off and I leave TV on all night it has settings to change and it only really turns it self off if the power or your cable goes out found that out because power went out and the TV stays off which is good no surges.

Was this review helpful? (31) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lightingtheway
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Replacement for free
7/3/2016

Customer review by cortspapa

5.0 stars 7/3/2016 by cortspapa
by cortspapa
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This set was purchased with funds provided by the protection plan. Buy it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cortspapa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not bad for the price
7/29/2014

Customer review by okayrose2

3.0 stars 7/29/2014 by okayrose2
by okayrose2

Easy set up. Didn't have to do anything to get it to work for dish, except switch the cables. Have to use the TV remote to turn it on and off though, since I don't know how to program the remote to the dish remote yet. but not really a problem for me. Just turn it on and off with the TV remote and everything else works with the dish remote. Awesome picture quality. I only have one drawback. I got this TV so my poor sighted hard of hearing stepfather could watch movies without an additional DVD player. Easier for him. But the sound quality was poor. Even for me! And I'm not hard of hearing. So I got some external speakers and set them up on each side of his chair. But don't think you can just plug them into the earphone jack. That does not give good sound for extra speakers, it's just for earphones. You must hook them up to the audio out (Red and White) hookups on the side, just below the headphone jack plug in. So I got an adapter to do this with fairly cheap external speakers. For a person with a smaller room, no hard of hearing issues, and no noise issues, like an air conditioner, or oxygen concentrator, the sound might not be a problem. But otherwise, plan on buying some external speakers.

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
okayrose2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Poor sound level and quality. No QAM tuner.
1/27/2016

Customer review by KKshr

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by KKshr
by KKshr

Like some of the other reviews state, the sound level is poor. You can turn the sound all the way up and it is by no means "deafening". I did notice I could get a little louder sound out of it by turning the surround sound off. The sound also has no bass to it...very tinny sound. Yes, I have changed the sound settings (to both the various preset sound settings and the adjustable user sound setting) and none seem to have any affect on the sound quality at all (maybe the sound settings don't work?). I did notice the sound level is higher when playing DVDs, but the sound quality is still poor...tinny and no bass. And again, the various sound settings have no affect on the sound. I'll go to walmart and see if they have one of these as display model. If they do I'll see how the sound and picture quality is on it. If there is a noticeable difference between the display model and the one I have, I'll exchange this one for another one. As some others have stated, the DVD player does make a lot of noise, when playing DVDs. Probably not a good sign for longevity. I have another 32" model of Sceptre TV that I bought a few years ago and it is a great TV. The picture and sound (both level and quality) on it are great. Maybe this TV is defective, or just a poor quality TV. There is no QAM tuner in this TV. It says so right in the paperwork that comes with the TV. So I don't know why it says in the specs on here that it does.

Was this review helpful? (20) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KKshr
Would recommend to a friend? No
GREAT LED TV & DVD combo
10/16/2013

Customer review by jdlmkl

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by jdlmkl
by jdlmkl
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Being the LED TV & DVD combo was going to be for my garage soon to be my man-cave, price was the driving force when I selected the TV & DVD combo. So I was pleased to find the Sceptre 32" LED TV with DVD player for a little over $200.00. In some cases less than $100.00 of other manufactures with just a LED TV. After receiving the TV & DVD combo I was pleasantly surprised on how easily the the TV & DVD combo hooked up to the stand and how nice the unit looked. I noted if the the TV & DVD combo picture quality looked and played as well the Sceptre looked I would be a lucky man. Wiith the help of the quick set up I hooked the TV up turned it on. I was totally amazed at the picture quality and the sound on the TV & DVD player and I hadn't adjusted a thing.,,,a first! I think I had 5 - 7 horz bars of probably 40 for sound and the TV could be heard clearly about the garage. The sound was beautiful across my stereo. Lastly I tried the remote from various angles and found it had excellent functions and the commands were easily picked up. Thanks Sceptre for making my day. I couldn't be happier!

Was this review helpful? (135) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jdlmkl
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't waste your money
4/26/2016

Customer review by Teresa

1.0 stars 4/26/2016 by Teresa
by Teresa

Folks I bought this tv for my spare guest room. It's been used a maybe 12 times. Bought in September 2015 - Can only return till 30 Dec - I didn't know this, oops my bad. Now It's Apr 2016, Less than a year old, used maybe 12 times and NO PICTURE. Yes I am upset!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Teresa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Didn't work from day one
1/30/2015

Customer review by therover

1.0 stars 1/30/2015 by therover
by therover

This TV was a good value due to having a built in DVD player, but that is where it stops. After programming all the cable channels it could find, the sound was not right. We tried to adjust the fine tuning in the features, but it didn't change a thing. Then the TV would not have any sound on certain channels and poor sound continued on all the others. We sent it back to the company and they said they couldn't find anything wrong with the TV, and sent it back still broken. We hooked everything back up and even used brand new wires, but still the same poor sound quality. We called again months later and eventually convinced them to replace the TV with a new one. So, after spending $60 on shipping charges, putting up with a poor TV for months, going without one for even more months while they were checking into our complaint, we are now promised a new one. Which, at the time of this review, has not come back yet!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
therover
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Noisy DVD player
4/1/2016

Customer review by Krystal

1.0 stars 4/1/2016 by Krystal
by Krystal

I purchases the TV/DVD combo for my bedroom. The picture quality is great. The sound is very low. The DVD player is loud! The thing worked quietly for a few days and then it started making low noise and gradually increased. I've removed DVD's put DVD's back in turned the TV off and then back on to see if I can "reset" the DVD player and nothing works. The noise just keeps getting louder and louder. I'm going to return this TV.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Krystal
Would recommend to a friend? No
Tv
7/22/2016

Customer review by Harlem77

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Harlem77
by Harlem77
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great tv all the tools need come with the tv Great color and sound great price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Harlem77
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
My new Sceptre TV
7/20/2016

Customer review by satisfiedcustomers

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by satisfiedcustomers
by satisfiedcustomers
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I am very satisfied with my purchase of the TV DVD combo.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
satisfiedcustomers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sceptre tv
7/19/2016

Customer review by Bigdawg

4.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Bigdawg
by Bigdawg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good tv for a good price

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bigdawg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great tv will buy again.
7/16/2016

Customer review by headpop

4.0 stars 7/16/2016 by headpop
by headpop
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this tv great buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
headpop
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 782 total reviews
1-20 of 782 reviews