Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

71 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

71 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
8
1 stars
20
1-20 of 62 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
CHEAP REAR WHEELS!!!! WARNING! DO NOT PURCHASE!
4/23/2013

Customer review by 1080Pman

1.0 stars 4/23/2013 by 1080Pman
by 1080Pman

So, first let me explain why I gave it an "Excellent Value" rating and nothing more. It's a 3 in 1 mower with a big, torque-y motor. It actually IS an excellent value. However, the build quality and self propelled power is well below poor. If there is a class lower than poor, that's what the rear wheels should be classified as. Please see pics and video that I took. If you are cutting on any type of a hill, while going side to side on said hill, the rear wheels will break, plain and simple. I would NOT recommend this mower for use on anything but a flat yard with no holes, no hills, and no turns. You heard right. Even when making a turn at the end of a pass, and you put the weight on the rear wheels, you can see them struggle. It's amazing how this even passed through quality control. I bought this and there were only a few reviews at the time, figured I'd try it. Bad mistake. Looking now, it seems most of the reviews are the same. Broke the rear wheel. Mind you, this happened during the middle of it's second use. Each use is only 20 mins worth of cutting. What a disaster. I will be returning and going to either Lowes, Sears, or another large chain lawn center. In this case, you really do get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1080Pman
Eastern Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/17/2012

Customer review by mudhog

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by mudhog
by mudhog

This lawnmower does it all and does it very well. The motor has the power to cut through seriously high grass and pulls itself up hills with little strain. It always starts on the first pull and all adjustments are very easy to use. The ability to change from bagger to mulcher to side discharge is accomplished easily and quickly, all without the need for tools. Since it's set up as a rear bagger and the side discharge deflector is removable, it's very easy to do edge work on either side. The only things I can caution anyone about are the weight of the mower and possible weakness of the rear wheels. This is not the mower to buy if you are going to be picking it up to load over and over unless you have help. The four spoke design of the rear wheels, when cutting side to side, doesn't seem to be sturdy enough for repeated use on banks or hills of any noticeable slope. I have had to replace mine due to the wheel spokes cracking and breaking near the hub. I went with a set of heavier design to avoid a repeated result. Still, I love this mower.

Was this review helpful? (121) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mudhog
Gastonia, N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Overall it's good
6/25/2012

Customer review by Lonewlf76

3.0 stars 6/25/2012 by Lonewlf76
by Lonewlf76

If you want a mower that you don't have to mess with at all,.. DO NOT buy this one! That being said,... The engine is plenty strong and horsed though stuff that would kill the mower it is replacing. The variable speed drive works nicely. Wal-Mart.com took so long to get it to me that I was going to cancel my order and go buy the roughly same machine from a Sears scratch-n-dent outlet. (same base mower, just different accoutrements and marketed under Craftsman name) Came in the day I was about to say "Keep it!" The rear wheels are junk. Mine had cracks in all the support stringers near the axle. I contacted both Wal-mart AND Briggs and Stratton and received 2 new wheels within a few days. I have filled the recesses on the rear of the wheels near the axle mount with Bondo-glass short string fiberglass. Hopefully this will take care of the issue of using a bearingless wheel and putting all the load and flex to be supported on the end of the axle. For the price it's a good mower. If you are not mechanically inclined or don't wish to fix design flaws though,. I would suggest you keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lonewlf76
Mukwonago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
This is mower is not worth buying
5/9/2012

Customer review by NoMower

1.0 stars 5/9/2012 by NoMower
by NoMower

I was given the mower as a gift and one month went buy and I decided to open the box and start cutting. I added oil and then added the gas. It started easy and I started to mow my law. In one hour the back wheel cracked. I called the manufacture and they sent me a new wheel for free, good service. Then the following week and the mower engine shut off and would not restart and since it was over 30 days I had to take it to a repair dealer and they said it would be 3 weeks before they can even look at it, what a pain. This lawn mower is not cheap at almost $300 and all wheels and many parts are cheap plastic. This is mower is not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? (74) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NoMower
Could have just been this one....
9/3/2012

Customer review by roycealo

2.0 stars 9/3/2012 by roycealo
by roycealo

I ordered this mower online and had it sent site to store. The first time we used it the belt slipped off 4 times. We kept putting it back on just to get the yard finished. It was still under store warranty so the only thing I could do was return it and order a new one online. I took it back and was refunded the amount for the mower, I had purchased a 3 year extended warranty and had to call to get that refunded, but it was as well, no questions asked. It was easier to return than I expected, I give walmart Kudos for that and it could have just been this one mower; I'll probably purchase another one just like it, giving it the benifit of doubt. We'll see. If you have one please leave a review!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
roycealo
Aurora, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
runs great, the rest is disappointing
5/15/2012

Customer review by Chevellehoot

2.0 stars 5/15/2012 by Chevellehoot
by Chevellehoot

Bought it last summer. 4th time cutting the grass (and I don't have a big yard) this season and the cheap plastic wheels are already broken!!!

Was this review helpful? (55) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chevellehoot
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Poor wheel design
6/30/2012

Customer review by SwampBoss

1.0 stars 6/30/2012 by SwampBoss
by SwampBoss

The rear wheel broke at the hub after 14 months part of which it sat in the basement for winter. They do not cover wheels under the warranty even though it is a weak / poor design. DO NOT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SwampBoss
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
5/1/2012

Customer review by jenny1966

2.0 stars 5/1/2012 by jenny1966
by jenny1966

NICE LOOKING MOWER BUT ONLY USED 3 TIMES AND THE BACK WHEEL BROKE OFF

Was this review helpful? (57) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jenny1966
Problem with cheap wheels
9/22/2012

Customer review by SpaceCoastGal

1.0 stars 9/22/2012 by SpaceCoastGal
by SpaceCoastGal

The Briggs & Stratton engine is fine... no problem and plenty of power. It's the plastic wheels that are the weak link. I should have checked reviews before buying this. Two days after the 90-day return policy was up, the rear left wheel came off while mowing. I could not put it back on as it was damaged. I had used the mower about six times. I turned it in to a repair shop for warranty repairs and it was three weeks before they could get to it. Six weeks after I brought it in, I am still waiting for the wheel, which is on backorder. My shoulders ache from bursitis, and tendonitis, brought on by mowing my entire lawn with a grass trimmer, one section at a time. By the time I get to the last section, it's time to start over. Never again!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpaceCoastGal
Cocoa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Almost 5 stars
10/9/2012

Customer review by Peeerez101

4.0 stars 10/9/2012 by Peeerez101
by Peeerez101

I would have rated this mower a five star but the only thing keeping me from that was the yellow plastic covers on the front wheels that fell off almost immediately on its first run. I have owned this mower just over two years and have not had one single issue except that Walmart sells a product and then doesn't carry any replacement blades for it but can't blame the mower for that. My yard is pretty big and takes me two hours none stop to cut the front and back so the mower gets a work out and living in Florida I cut the grass every two weeks. The mower is pretty good on gas and oil and is powerful enough for its duties. The self propelled feature works without a hitch. I read many reviews complaining about broken rear wheel issues but i have not had that happen yet. I don't know if this issue is do to the fact that my mower has the large rear tires and the problems are on the small rear wheel models? I also use the mower as a mulcher and never have had the bag attached so there is no extra weight to drag around possibly causing the rear wheels to crack for some users? I'm pretty rough with it to getting it in and out of my shed that's about 18" off the ground. The mower has always started as well usually on the first pull no problem so all in all it's been great to me and I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Peeerez101
Sunrise,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Junk!!
5/16/2012

Customer review by noahsmommy2007

1.0 stars 5/16/2012 by noahsmommy2007
by noahsmommy2007

Didn't even last a year, and now we have to buy a new one. Not worth the money we paid, that's for sure. The part to fix it costs just about as much as a new mower does, and the MFG is ZERO help and will not stand behind the warranty and fix it.

Was this review helpful? (22) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
noahsmommy2007
WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
5/22/2012

Customer review by laf81055

2.0 stars 5/22/2012 by laf81055
by laf81055

I order this mower on line and had it shipped to me, I live 80 miles from nearest Walmart I thought I could save some gas money. When it arrivided and I inspected it a front wheel and axle were bent, so much for saving gas took it to the nearest store and returned it. when I picked up the next one it look fine brought it home removed it from the box, and a rear wheel was broken around the hub, and while using it for the frist time the fan belt broke. The good news is brigs and stranton are sending me replacement parts.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laf81055
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
No problem!
8/6/2012

Customer review by MysteryMe

5.0 stars 8/6/2012 by MysteryMe
by MysteryMe

I've had this mower close to three years and have never had a problem with it. Runs great and works great. Never had a problem with starting it. The front plastic yellow covers on the front wheels came off, but that was just decoration, didn't affect the mower at all.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MysteryMe
Middleburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
HORRIBLE HORRIBLE HORRIBLE
8/22/2012

Customer review by ArmPitOfTexas

2.0 stars 8/22/2012 by ArmPitOfTexas
by ArmPitOfTexas

Had this for two years but due to drought have only used it MAYBE 5 times. Self-propel quite working after the first use and I don't have a large yard. Today after the 5th, maybe 6th time it's ever been used the back wheel just snaps off.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArmPitOfTexas
North Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
8/16/2012

Customer review by Jackman28

3.0 stars 8/16/2012 by Jackman28
by Jackman28

The Brute 22" Self propelled mower I bought has a problem with the front wheel drive. I've mowed 4 times with it and the belt has come off 3 times. Took it to a repair center where they said it needed a slight adjustment. Brought it home mowed lawn and belt came off again. Planning on taking it back and either getting my money back or exchange it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jackman28
Jenison,MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Excellent (so far!)
4/14/2013

Customer review by Somerandompersonreviewing

5.0 stars 4/14/2013 by Somerandompersonreviewing
by Somerandompersonreviewing

This mower lives up to the name, "Brute." This machine is a beast that tore through my yard for the first mowing of the year, with grass that was thick and slightly damp. It's big, bulky and not very easy to maneuver...but then again, you probably aren't looking for a self-propelled mower if those are major concerns. Pros: Cheaper than any other self-propelled mower that I could find in stores or online. Having worked at a Briggs and Stratton assembly plant in the past, I can speak to the quality of their engines. Starts with one pull of the string--so long as the deck isn't clogged with wet grass #but that applies to all mowers.# Raw power, though the length of the handlebar from the actual mower means that you end up putting weight on the back end, which weakens the impact of the front drive. By slightly pushing up and forward on the bar you'll get better traction from the drive #plus you'll be mowing at a near-jogging pace if you crank up the speed!# 22 inch blade is a minor but noticeable improvement over smaller sizes that you'll see in this price range for self-propelled mowers. Cons: Immediately noticed that the wheels look and feel cheap...and then I read some of the other reviews posted on here. Hoping that the wheel issues of 2012 have been addressed for 2013. Side-discharge attachment is flimsy. It simply slides over two prongs and is held in place by the mulcher attachment via a spring. Had to stop mowing and reattach it after about five minutes of usage but didn't have any further troubles I used a little bit of caution. The side-discharge is quite powerful--be VERY careful of mowing near fences, especially if you wear contacts. Overall: Based solely on my own experience with this mower, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. However, if the complaints about the wheels and belts are too much of a concern for you, I'd recommend looking at other, pricier options from well-established brands.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Somerandompersonreviewing
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Brute 22" Mulch/Bag/Side Discharge Front Wheel Dri
5/28/2012

Customer review by Cheryl1979

1.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Cheryl1979
by Cheryl1979

It wouldn't start. I'm not sure I like the mowers without a primer bulb but they all seem to come that way now. It went back. Customer service was awesome though.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheryl1979
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice mower, does very well
6/27/2012

Customer review by Guessthenamegame

4.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Guessthenamegame
by Guessthenamegame

I purchased this mower a few years ago for the back lots and have had great success with it. The mower has run great until this year, 5 years later. Under no fault of the mower, it finally needs some attention. I believe the ethanol in the gas has finally got to it and then when I went to mow the lot today my new dog has decided to chew up every knob, button, cable, etc on the mower and rendered it currently useless. So my only real issue is finding parts. I never could locate the fresh fuel cap at the local Walmart and now I am looking online for the cable. I will visit the local Walmart store to see if they can order one. Overall, without dogs present this mower did fantastic.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guessthenamegame
Salem
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great mower
12/17/2012

Customer review by orangedaylily

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by orangedaylily
by orangedaylily
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This mower is powerful and does a great job on our fairly large lawn. It is also extremely easy to push for each of us. We are in our 60s and needed a self-propelled mower. This really handles the job.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
orangedaylily
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heads above all other mowers I have ever owned
10/26/2012

Customer review by Grumpygremlin

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Grumpygremlin
by Grumpygremlin
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Fantastic start up, no prime, one maybe two easy pulls on the starter rope and I am in busimess. Exceeds any other mower that I have owned.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Grumpygremlin
Tucson AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews