Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.5out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 | 147 reviews
5 stars
68
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
14
1 stars
33
Sort by: 
1-20 of 140 reviews
1-20 of 140 reviews
Sunbeam xpress heat XL heating pad
8/30/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm sick of sunbeam heating pads. I have owned 5 now and all of them have ended up flashing "f" and quit working after just a few months of use. They are way too expensive to go through every few months. I've also owned several very expensive electric blankets made by sunbeam and those always quit working after a few months. I have severe nerve damage and have to constantly have my heating pad and it's super frustrating spending so much money for them to constantly disappoint!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Heating pad
8/30/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this heating pad cause I suffer from fibromyalgia and for the last 3 days its been flashing with the letter "F". I am disappointed in this product never again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Almost Perfect
6/21/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is the perfect heating pad for me with only one exception. I have degenerative disc disease and live with chronic 24/7/365 back pain unless I am in this heating pad. Consequently, the "stay on" feature is extremely important to me. Most pads no longer provide that feature. I love the long cord, the quick hear-up feature, the soft cover that is part of the pad and the color of that cover. The break in connection doesn't even bug enough to really complain, even though it shouldn't happen so often. But I've learned that if I give the cord enough slack close to the pad, the connection doesn't break apart as often. The only problem I really have is that the cord turns black, meaning it is burning up, far too quickly, especially for almost $30.00. I have about 20 burned up pads!! That is ridiculous, I know, but I keep buying replacements because it is perfect for my situation otherwise - in every possible way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Exactly what I was looking for...
12/23/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wasn't sure about this based on the mixed reviews, but I adore mine. Because the velvet top is part of the heating pad, and not just a cover, it doesn't crinkle or feel hard, even when not in use. I use mine religiously due to chronic headaches, and I can't stand it when something doesn't feel soft under my head when its hurting. When I turn it on, I can feel it start to heat within about 15 seconds, and it is fully hot within about 45 seconds. I always use it on the hottest setting, and find that to be about perfect. Any hotter and I would be concerned about it possibly burning my skin. I also like that it has a 2 hour auto turn-off (and the option to keep on until manually turned off). My old one would shut off after 30 minutes and it felt like it was just finally warming up and then it would go off. I know others have expressed concerns about the cord coming undo from the pad, but thats never happened to me. And the way it is shaped, if it were a problem, it could easily be taped to keep it from pulling apart. I find this was money well-spent. If this one quits working, I'd buy the exact same one again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (74)No (29)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A GREAT PAD!!
2/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this heating pad! First of all, the cover doesn't come off so there is no shifting and trying to get the pad and cover going in the same directions. Nor does this pad bunch up, and wind up a hard clump when it cools off -- it stays soft and pliable. The heating pad stays on as long as you want it on -- it doesn't shut itself off as soon as your muscles just start to get warm. It has a nice, long cord for convenience. It's on the smaller side -- if you want a larger version, get one. This one is perfect to cover all but the largest of muscles (I'm 5'1" and it covers my back from just under the top of my shoulders to the middle lower small of my back). It has 6 heat levels -- the highest is very hot. I usually start at 6 and turn down to 5 or 4 once my muscles loosen up. We are purchasing a second one of these because my husband and I are always fighting over who gets it first. :) Other heating pads we've chosen with the blue snap-covers never last us a year and we're getting tired of throwing our money away on them. The cover on this pad is soft to the touch, and I love the red color -- it doesn't get lost and it looks good even sitting out. I wouldn't use this pad on someone who is TOTALLY disabled and can't move the pad themselves, but you aren't supposed to be doing that anyway. But most disabled persons can move a light pad around when they want to, so unless the person using this is totally infirm, it is a great little pad and WELL worth the price!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (142)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2 failed pads within 6 months
5/29/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have purchased 2 different pads (4, if you count the pad that ONLY stays on for 2 hours), from 2 different stores, and they've all done the same thing: flashed the letter F in the shortest amount of time. These pads cost $40 a piece, so they aren't cheap. I do not do anything with them but use them to keep warm, as I'm always cold. The last one was purchased at least around September and it simply started flashing F whilst I was using it to keep warm. Take heed, I've contacted the warranty department for the last pad, and expect a response tomorrow.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ahhhh... relief!!!
3/28/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have major back pain & purchased the Sunbeam XpressHeat Heating Pad without reading any reviews. I bought it because it was electric (had the microwave pad) and it looked nice. I am impressed!! Heats up quickly and is comfortable. It does get a little too hot on the high setting BUT that's why they make 6 settings. I set it on 6 & after my back starts to loosen up, I turn it down some. A really great product for the price and I would definitely recommend it!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (70)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Defective design
2/14/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this because it was the only one I could find that would not automatically shut itself off. Since the cord is not hard-wired to the pad, it frequently came apart. The reset involved unplugging and re-plugging it into the wall. My wall plug is not easily accessible so I had to use an extension cord, which is not safe. Now after 6 months, the control keeps flashing "F" requiring a reset. I does this after 5 minutes even if it sits alone without anyone touching it. Most one-star reviews on Amazon.com report the same problem-a defective controller. I would not recommend this item to anyone, much less a friend.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (39)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Buy Sunbeam King-Size Programmable Pad instead
1/25/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wanted to buy another Sunbeam Health King-Size Programmable Heating Pad item (# 0002704565282, $19) but my local store was out so I bought this one instead. As compared to the King-Size programmable this pad is more expensive, smaller, does not get as hot on the highest setting (as measured with an IR temp gun) and when the pad comes unplugged from the cord (which is every night so far), the controller flashes "F" until it is reset by unplugging the cord from the wall. On the plus side the controls are easier to understand on this model, but that's it. If you want a big pad that gets hot and can be programmed to stay on indefinitely, buy the Sunbeam King-Size Programmable Pad instead.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (73)No (29)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST HEATING PAD EVER!!!
8/9/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm not sure why this has such low ratings. I've had mine for over 2 years and it still works perfectly fine. I deal with chronic pain so I use it every single day, generally multiple times a day (or i'll have it "stay on"). I've never had a heating pad last more then... 6 months max until now. I totally think EVERYONE needs this heating pad! ps: to the ones that are seeing that F issue... its an issue with your outlet. I had it happen ONCE and that was the issue.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/22/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is difficult to write my first negative review. However, I believe that reviews require us to be honest. I read your reviews & drove a little over 42 miles round-trip to purchase this item. I also paid more for this heating pad then I've ever paid. Bottom line: Big price & too much hype. I could put a warm wash cloth on my shoulder and have more heat then this thing produces. Seriously, the highest setting was extremely weak. Maybe the manufacturer decided that all the bells and whistles were more important then the actual useful heat. Suffice to say, I will be returning to the store tomorrow for a complete refund.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (29)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worked about one minute and quit
4/28/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Yep, it does get hot in 30 seconds, but after a minute it quit and will not heat up again. Will display F in the window every time, no matter how much a check the cord. That means another trip to the store, I will pick a different one this time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Does not very warm
8/28/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's true that it begins heating up quickly. However, its not very useful for treating a sore back as the heat pad only gets lukewarm.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Excellent quality
2/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It has auto off after 2 hours or you can set it to go off when you want it to. Very nice velour material on the top side, easy to read control and excellent quality.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (46)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It will spoil you!!
12/31/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I do not mind the price point because of the features. I love the fact it has the "stay on" feature but rarely use it. I have CIDP and the pad keeps me warm and does reduce the back/leg pain. I ordered another today because I burned one up with daily/hourly use (kept turning it back on), have one in my bedroom and another in my office. Fast, very warm heat, long cord, soft cover. I will keep on buying as long as they make it. The rest of "the other types" stay in the closet collecting dust.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
heating pad
8/8/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Having the Pad all in one is great! It heats very quickly, and gives you the option if you want to have it on a timer or not.. Great product!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sunbeam Xpress Heat Pad
5/14/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I need to use a heating pad, every night on my lower back, for at least a half hour. I can actually lay back onto this heating pad and it's heats perfectly. It's soft and lays flat. I have not used the automatic control on it, so I cannot comment on that feature yet. This is one of the best I have had in many years.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I have bought 3 of these heating pads.
5/20/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have bought 3 of these heating pads. The first two were great. Super soft comfortable. The third one has been changed from the original. It still has the soft cover you can't remove, but now it is not near as soft and you can now feel the stiff plastic cover inside the pad. VERY DISAPPOINTED ABOUT THIS!!! THEY HAVE NOW MADE THEM CHEAPER LOOKING AND FEELING!!! Not worth the money anymore. I am looking for a better one now. Very disappointed they changed what WAS a very good product!!! NOT ANY MORE!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So many to pick from one but I love this one!!
2/12/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Well made and works great!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sunbeam XpressHeat Heating Pad
1/16/2017
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The heating pad was a little smaller than I realized when ordering but I found the smaller size was better. I put a pillow case over pad so it stays clean.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641744, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-