Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.9out of 5 stars
2.9 out of 5 | 240 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
38
3 stars
18
2 stars
22
1 stars
91
Sort by: 
1-20 of 238 reviews
1-20 of 238 reviews
Must be defective?
4/17/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This lipstick just crumbles when I put it on. Gritty. I was surprised to read through the other reviews and find so many problems with "Infinitely Iris". Maybe it's just a defective batch of that color? No way I can use this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Oh HECK NO! Give me my $ back
2/24/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bought this from 2 different locations thinking maybe it's a bad batch of the SAME color since I loved (the color- "infinite iris") so much. First swipe is fine but as you go on, it crumbles like sand/grains on your skin. Pics below, Maybelline- step up your game! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Crumbly
7/30/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this 2 days ago for a party in hopes that it woukd be a good in between from regular lip stick to 24 hr lip stick and it just falls apart as soon as you try to apply. I loved the color but not how it becomes gritty and sand like :-( *sorry its blurry camera wouldn't focus on lipstick but the tube*
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Iffy
5/2/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought two colors of this because I liked it so much. The 010 Ultimate Blush is perfect! Smooth, pretty and it lasts all day. The 080 Infinite Iris, however is chunky and gritty. I had hoped it was maybe an "old" batch and that gritty layer would wear off, but it's only gotten worse. Love the color, but it comes off in chunks too when I drink from my coffee cup or a straw. I LOVE the color but don't think I'll buy another one for fear of it being gritty again.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Usually great, but not this time!
5/10/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this lipstick about 3 weeks ago. I usually use this same product but in a different color and have had no problems. This time was different. It is gritty and cakes up when you put it on. I loved the color but was disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sand like lipstick
3/21/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Horrible product. It was like putting sand on my lips. Loved the color infinite iris, but the lipstick left tiny granuals all over my lips.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GRITTY ☹️
12/26/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got two of these lipsticks as a gift and I loved the shades. Then I applied it and, as explained in other reviews, it felt like sand and looks clumpy. It literally looks like I did the "100 layers of lipstick challenge." I've never really used Maybelline products before and I'm not one to judge an entire company on one product so I have nothing against Maybelline, just the lipstick. I rated one star because the shades were cute.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Amazing!
1/30/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I spend a lot of money on high end make up & this is literally the only non high end make up I buy. They stay better than NARS, buxom, colour pop! It is my go to lipstick!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
BEST. LIPSTICK. **EVER**
3/21/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This lipstick is THE best extended wear lipstick EVER MADE!! The colors are vibrant-and it truly does stay on through eating, drinking, lip licking, etc. I have had issues in the past with long wearing lipstick making my lips extremely dry & evetually cracking...this lipstick does NOT make my lips dry!! Even after several hours, they remain soft! If you wear long-lasting lipsticks, you know this is VERY rare. The colors are unbeatable, it glides on smoothly & truly does stay on for a long time. I like to take showers at night before bed; I do the hair & apply makeup then go to sleep. (strange, I know, but it saves me time in the morning if I have to jump up & run somewhere LOL) When I get up in the morning, the lipstick is still flawless & I usually don't have to reapply until late in the afternoon, if at all. I cannot say enough good about this product!! The walmart price is OUTSTANDING, I buy 2 or 3 at a time and I sinderely hope they NEVER discontinue this line. WORTH EVERY CENT!! **ps-I just ate some ribs & wiped my mouth afterwards-guess what?? Lipstick is STILL ON & still looks great!!! =)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (51)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
GREAT VALUE
6/26/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I personally think this is a huge value for what you are paying.. $7?!? I usually do not buy drug store make up but this is one lipstick I love to use. It does not stay for 14hrs, yes, but if you want something to stay perfect for 14hrs in the first place, that's ridiculous and you should be looking for a lip stain. You wont even find that with smashbox or chanel. It is pigmented well and matte which is GREAT. You can choose the type of moisture you want to put on top. For my girls who's hair flys into their face while walking around/in the car, you know what I mean. The sticky or moisturizing lipsticks, smear or sticks to hair; this product doesn't. And if you pair it with your favorite moisturizer/balm, you are set. I dance competitively and this lipstick is what I use for my shows. Through sweat, it stays and photographs well. I realize there is a place for matte and satin finish or balmy lip color. I have always been drawn to matte because if i want a satin finish I pair with a lip balm or gloss. If I'm outside or in a show, it has to be matte. OH! It also smells good and doesn't give you a weird taste in your mouth. Added bonus.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Maybelline SuperStay 14 HR Lipstick
5/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love this lipstick. It doesn't stay on for 14 hours, but it does stay on a lot longer than any other lipsticks I have tried. I like the different colors. I reapply probably every 4-6 hours. It stays on during eating or drinking. Great lipstick.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fabulous!!!
8/18/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After reading the negative reviews saying this lipstick does not stay on for 14hrs, I just had to write to give my opinion. I don't believe any lipstick will stay on fully for 14hrs; However, this lipstick stays on much longer than lipsticks, that I have purchased, without breaking the bank. When I first wore this lipstick, I had gone to a restaurant, had food, drink and also dabbed my mouth, as one does, while eating. After eating, and before I leave the restaurant, I always take out my mirror and apply a fresh coat of lipstick. To my surprise, when I looked in the mirror, I was amazed that the lipstick was still on. Now, I'm not saying it was as when I first applied it, but goodness sakes, it still had its color. I said aloud, wow, it's still on!!! I was very surprised as well as very pleased. I am very happy with my purchase and will purchase additional colors. Yes, I would recommend this product and have done so!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
doesn't last
8/22/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought three colours ,060, 070, 510. All are sticky and transfer to glass cup etc. Definitely did not last for 1 hour let alone 14 hours. VERY MISLEADING
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/3/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like this lipstick, this is a very subtle color but looks natural. It stays on for quite a few hours, much better than other lipsticks that I have that I paid a higher price. Only reason it got one less star is because it is not as slick and shinny as I would like.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (52)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Icky gritty
8/16/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Wish I had read some of the reviews before I bought this lipstick today. It's gritty and feels like I have sand on my lips. It's been coming off in sand-like pieces since I put it on a couple of hours ago. Not very happy with this purchase.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not 14hr lipstick
5/2/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My friend and I decided to put this to the test. We went to walmart to buy the lipstick and try it out and see if it stands as to what the commerical says. Well first of all we both bought different colors (Eternal Rose and Infinite Iris). We both put it on and looks matte, there is no shine to it or glossy feel. It is just plain. She put it on and then put some lip gloss on top. We both had our morning drink (coffee). We both had lipstick in our cups. She most than I (maybe because of the lip gloss). Anyways as the day went by, by lunch time (noon) both our lipsticks was almost gone and the only thing we did was drank coffe and water. We had to reaply after lunch. So the moral to the story, is that it does not last 14hrs. The most is 4 hrs and have to reaply. This happens to almost every lipstick. What a shame I liked the color (eternal rose).
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Disappointing
8/1/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this, because the 24 hour lipsticks were so great. My 010 Ultimate blush is a flaky mess. It crumbs and doesn't really apply the way it ought to. I bought a 005 at the same time, so I know that I just got a bad lipstick!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I use this for blush
6/30/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have this in "Timeless Crimson" but I don't use it for lipstick. I use it for blush. It's an absolutely PERFECT color and looks 100% natural. After applying, I dust a bit of Sally Hansen - Skin Equalizing Powder Makeup on top of it and it looks like a "natural glow" that stays all day. I absolutely LOVE this for blush. For lipstick no it doesn't have the staying power it claims to have. I use Maybelline's Superstay for lipstick.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/15/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was looking for a pink shade of lipstick. So I picked it up and decided to try it (perpetual peony). I really like the shade it looks great on. As for the 14hr thing, it doesn't last longer than any other lipstick, but I was looking for a great color, not for a lipstick that would last.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love the color BUT..
7/21/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The last three tubes I have bought have gotten gritty after a few uses. I have to wipe off the end before applying which is messy in the car after lunch or anywhere. I have tried other brands BUT LOVE the color and the staying power. I have trouble finding it also. It must be popular.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640664, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-