Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 231 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

231 reviews | 3 out of 5

3.0 stars

231 reviews | 3 out of 5

54%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
39
3 stars
17
2 stars
22
1 stars
83
1-20 of 229 total reviews
54%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 229 total reviews
1-20 of 229 reviews
Must be defective?
4/17/2017

Customer review by PjjSmmn

1.0 stars 4/17/2017 by PjjSmmn
by PjjSmmn

This lipstick just crumbles when I put it on. Gritty. I was surprised to read through the other reviews and find so many problems with "Infinitely Iris". Maybe it's just a defective batch of that color? No way I can use this.

PjjSmmn
St. Michael, Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Skin type:Normal
Great lipstick..one problem
3/17/2017

Customer review by Liz Buono

4.0 stars 3/17/2017 by Liz Buono
by Liz Buono

Great lipstick...but one problem A few weeks ago, I complimented a lady on her lipstick. She told me her secret was the peony color 14 hour lipstick. I rushed to CVS and bought one. With all the lipsticks I've tried for color stay, this by far is the best and at a good price. So, another day, I went to CVS again at a different location. There was a sale, so I then bought another peony color and mauve. However...ITS GRITTY!!! I will still purchase this lipstick, but will have to keep the receipt in case I buy a defective one. I'm disappointed it happen to me. You can see the grit on the 1st 2 lipsticks....the 3rd one is perfect....But I wouldn't be discouraged and just try it out!!

Liz Buono
Bronx, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Combination
Oh HECK NO! Give me my $ back
2/24/2017

Customer review by Happy NOT

1.0 stars 2/24/2017 by Happy NOT
by Happy NOT

Bought this from 2 different locations thinking maybe it's a bad batch of the SAME color since I loved (the color- "infinite iris") so much. First swipe is fine but as you go on, it crumbles like sand/grains on your skin. Pics below, Maybelline- step up your game! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Happy NOT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Combination
Received free product:Yes
Usually great, but not this time!
5/10/2017

Customer review by Hammer

2.0 stars 5/10/2017 by Hammer
by Hammer

I bought this lipstick about 3 weeks ago. I usually use this same product but in a different color and have had no problems. This time was different. It is gritty and cakes up when you put it on. I loved the color but was disappointed.

Hammer
VA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Green
Skin type:Combination
Iffy
5/2/2017

Customer review by Amandy

2.0 stars 5/2/2017 by Amandy
by Amandy

I bought two colors of this because I liked it so much. The 010 Ultimate Blush is perfect! Smooth, pretty and it lasts all day. The 080 Infinite Iris, however is chunky and gritty. I had hoped it was maybe an "old" batch and that gritty layer would wear off, but it's only gotten worse. Love the color, but it comes off in chunks too when I drink from my coffee cup or a straw. I LOVE the color but don't think I'll buy another one for fear of it being gritty again.

Amandy
Eau Claire, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Blue
Skin type:Oily
Sand like lipstick
3/21/2017

Customer review by Sammy7119

1.0 stars 3/21/2017 by Sammy7119
by Sammy7119

Horrible product. It was like putting sand on my lips. Loved the color infinite iris, but the lipstick left tiny granuals all over my lips.

Sammy7119
New York
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Green
Skin type:Normal
Amazing!
1/30/2017

Customer review by Wendy1216

5.0 stars 1/30/2017 by Wendy1216
by Wendy1216

I spend a lot of money on high end make up & this is literally the only non high end make up I buy. They stay better than NARS, buxom, colour pop! It is my go to lipstick!

Wendy1216
Richmond Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Normal
GRITTY ☹️
12/26/2016

Customer review by Eh123

1.0 stars 12/26/2016 by Eh123
by Eh123

I got two of these lipsticks as a gift and I loved the shades. Then I applied it and, as explained in other reviews, it felt like sand and looks clumpy. It literally looks like I did the "100 layers of lipstick challenge." I've never really used Maybelline products before and I'm not one to judge an entire company on one product so I have nothing against Maybelline, just the lipstick. I rated one star because the shades were cute.

Eh123
Bradenton, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Blue
Skin type:Combination
BEST. LIPSTICK. **EVER**
3/21/2013

Customer review by dkaewill

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by dkaewill
by dkaewill
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This lipstick is THE best extended wear lipstick EVER MADE!! The colors are vibrant-and it truly does stay on through eating, drinking, lip licking, etc. I have had issues in the past with long wearing lipstick making my lips extremely dry & evetually cracking...this lipstick does NOT make my lips dry!! Even after several hours, they remain soft! If you wear long-lasting lipsticks, you know this is VERY rare. The colors are unbeatable, it glides on smoothly & truly does stay on for a long time. I like to take showers at night before bed; I do the hair & apply makeup then go to sleep. (strange, I know, but it saves me time in the morning if I have to jump up & run somewhere LOL) When I get up in the morning, the lipstick is still flawless & I usually don't have to reapply until late in the afternoon, if at all. I cannot say enough good about this product!! The walmart price is OUTSTANDING, I buy 2 or 3 at a time and I sinderely hope they NEVER discontinue this line. WORTH EVERY CENT!! **ps-I just ate some ribs & wiped my mouth afterwards-guess what?? Lipstick is STILL ON & still looks great!!! =)

Was this review helpful? (50) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dkaewill
Fort Gratiot,MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT VALUE
6/26/2013

Customer review by a9m9r9

4.0 stars 6/26/2013 by a9m9r9
by a9m9r9

I personally think this is a huge value for what you are paying.. $7?!? I usually do not buy drug store make up but this is one lipstick I love to use. It does not stay for 14hrs, yes, but if you want something to stay perfect for 14hrs in the first place, that's ridiculous and you should be looking for a lip stain. You wont even find that with smashbox or chanel. It is pigmented well and matte which is GREAT. You can choose the type of moisture you want to put on top. For my girls who's hair flys into their face while walking around/in the car, you know what I mean. The sticky or moisturizing lipsticks, smear or sticks to hair; this product doesn't. And if you pair it with your favorite moisturizer/balm, you are set. I dance competitively and this lipstick is what I use for my shows. Through sweat, it stays and photographs well. I realize there is a place for matte and satin finish or balmy lip color. I have always been drawn to matte because if i want a satin finish I pair with a lip balm or gloss. If I'm outside or in a show, it has to be matte. OH! It also smells good and doesn't give you a weird taste in your mouth. Added bonus.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
a9m9r9
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Bring Lasting Chestnut baaaaaack :(
5/10/2017

Customer review by dk95

5.0 stars 5/10/2017 by dk95
by dk95

I've been using this lipstick line long time and I really loved the shade chestnut. wanted to buy a new one since I have already used 3 and done with them. but I was surprised that they disconnected it :( pleaaaaaaase bring this shade back it;s really beautiful

dk95
Kuwait
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Combination
my lipstick is gritty and flaking off!!!!
5/12/2017

Customer review by mary t

1.0 stars 5/12/2017 by mary t
by mary t

I have been a user of this lipstick for years and now within the last 2 months I have bought 4 different lipsticks in 2 different colors and they are still gritty and flake off. Very disappointed to say the least! Please fix this problem!

mary t
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Blue
Skin type:Combination
VERY UPSET!!!
5/2/2017

Customer review by PCOMPARTY

1.0 stars 5/2/2017 by PCOMPARTY
by PCOMPARTY

I BROUGHT THIS LIPCOLOR (SOMETHING PLUM) IS WILL NOT STAY ON MY LIPS I WAS USING (SOMETHING TRUFFLE) AND IT WAS GREAT BUT YOU DISCONTINUED THAT COLOR .PLEASE GET IT BACK I LOVED THAT COLOR AND IT STAYED ON FOR HOURS

PCOMPARTY
Tennessee, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Combination
Maybelline SuperStay 14 HR Lipstick
5/8/2012

Customer review by LipstickLover4ever

5.0 stars 5/8/2012 by LipstickLover4ever
by LipstickLover4ever

I love this lipstick. It doesn't stay on for 14 hours, but it does stay on a lot longer than any other lipsticks I have tried. I like the different colors. I reapply probably every 4-6 hours. It stays on during eating or drinking. Great lipstick.

Was this review helpful? (67) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LipstickLover4ever
Fabulous!!!
8/18/2015

Customer review by Quebella

5.0 stars 8/18/2015 by Quebella
by Quebella

After reading the negative reviews saying this lipstick does not stay on for 14hrs, I just had to write to give my opinion. I don't believe any lipstick will stay on fully for 14hrs; However, this lipstick stays on much longer than lipsticks, that I have purchased, without breaking the bank. When I first wore this lipstick, I had gone to a restaurant, had food, drink and also dabbed my mouth, as one does, while eating. After eating, and before I leave the restaurant, I always take out my mirror and apply a fresh coat of lipstick. To my surprise, when I looked in the mirror, I was amazed that the lipstick was still on. Now, I'm not saying it was as when I first applied it, but goodness sakes, it still had its color. I said aloud, wow, it's still on!!! I was very surprised as well as very pleased. I am very happy with my purchase and will purchase additional colors. Yes, I would recommend this product and have done so!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Quebella
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/3/2012

Customer review by virginia

4.0 stars 4/3/2012 by virginia
by virginia

I like this lipstick, this is a very subtle color but looks natural. It stays on for quite a few hours, much better than other lipsticks that I have that I paid a higher price. Only reason it got one less star is because it is not as slick and shinny as I would like.

Was this review helpful? (52) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
virginia
Willows, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:65 or older
Smooth, Stays On, Smells Subtle & Great Packaging
1/19/2017

Customer review by LaraInMiamy

5.0 stars 1/19/2017 by LaraInMiamy
by LaraInMiamy

The negative reviews on this lipstick baffled me. Perhaps because I take good care of my lips (exfoliate, moisturize) I never experienced "gritty." Maybe because I live in a humid climate? Maybe it was the color? (Rose) When I apply it, it really does stay even after I eat! Doesn't smudge. Doesn't cake either even after several hours. It has a subtle smell that I REALLY like---fresh. I actually want to buy this in almost every color (the Peony probably won't look good on me.) The packaging is excellent and unique. The top doesn't come off and I like the white because I know that it is my lipstick at first glance. It is also easier to find in my purse because of it is unique and I don't mistake it for anything else, although it is kinda like a short mascara bottle. The angled dispenser thingy works great for me so I never over-apply. Please don't discontinue this product!

LaraInMiamy
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Eye color:Blue
Skin type:Dry
Love the longevity; not the grit...
4/11/2017

Customer review by Kathy67

3.0 stars 4/11/2017 by Kathy67
by Kathy67

I have found this is the best long-wear lipstick ....my favorite shade is "pout on pink" and regardless of where I purchase it, after a few applications it becomes gritty and leaves granules all around the outside of my lips. A real disappointment for the expense

Kathy67
Wyomissing, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Blue
Skin type:Normal
SO THICK AND GROSS!
4/10/2017

Customer review by Rayasun

1.0 stars 4/10/2017 by Rayasun
by Rayasun

How they can call this a weightless formula is beyond me. It was so grainy and took a few swipes to get the full color. After I applied it (#020 Eternal Rose) it gathered where my lips pressed together and then when I smiled it was all over my teeth. I couldn't get it off my lips fast enough!

Rayasun
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Hazel
Skin type:Oily
Horrible product !
3/29/2017

Customer review by Lvcen

1.0 stars 3/29/2017 by Lvcen
by Lvcen

I purchased this lipstick very excited thinking that it would be great to not have to reapply it so often . unfortunately from the very first try it was very grainy I thought that I didn't apply it correctly and I put some lip balm before and then after several times trying to make it work but it always caked and was very grainy now that I see all the reviews I wish I had read them before because I like to buy things and stick to them. Well definitely not sticking to this one .

Lvcen
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Eye color:Brown
Skin type:Normal
1-20 of 229 total reviews
1-20 of 229 reviews