Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 713 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

713 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

713 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
642
4 stars
45
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 stars
12
1-20 of 712 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 712 total reviews
1-20 of 712 reviews
Incredible and Unique!
4/18/2015

Customer review by Ames 91

5.0 stars 4/18/2015 by Ames 91
by Ames 91

I wanted this color because I had heard several bloggers speak very highly of it. I was not that impressed by the color in the bottom, but was VERY impressed when I put the color on my nails. I've heard this polish described as "dreamy," and I certainly agree. It's elegant and soft, yet not too girly. This is a lovely mixture between a purple and a blue. The first coat I put on was a little runny and surprisingly sheer, but a second coat provides full opaque coverage and levels out the polish well. If I had the time when I was painting my nails, I would have added a third coat (I think that would create an optimal look). The only negative I have ever heard about this color (and it wasn't a problem for me) is that the color doesn't "pop." That is true, but I like that the color is understated; it is the kind of soft blue that would be perfectly work-appropriate, and that can't be said for a lot of blue polishes! You won't regret this color!

Ames 91
Bowling Green, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad Romance: Chips Hours After Applying
5/30/2017

Customer review by CarmenRose

1.0 stars 5/30/2017 by CarmenRose
by CarmenRose

I'm beginning to believe that all Essie nail polishes chip, no matter what you do. I have literally TONS of Essie polishes because the colors are true, vibrant, and beautiful; however, it does not last...not even a mere few hours. You'll get a beautiful color, but prepare to have to redo your nails either the same or next day. What a bad romance! Bold, beautiful, luster-packing colors that don't last. :( This happens with every single Essie polish I use, not even my inexpensive polishes chip as fast as Essie. I've applied Essie base coat, Essie polish, and an Essie top coat...and still the results are lame. I even resorted to no-chip Essie polish and the gel setter and still no luck. I adore Essie's colors, but that doesn't help any when the polish won't last! I painted my nails last night to prep for a huge business meeting with a potential client the next day and now I have to show up looking like I have on two-week old polish. To me, that's so unprofessional, especially when I'm trying to represent a company and gain new business. I prefer to look my best because appearance can be impactful. I wanted to be bold and confident, now I'm hiding my hands and can't wait for a lunch break to find a nearby store and purchase polish remover and just wear bare nails. :( This has become such an headache that I even tried looking online and talk to other Essie nail polish lovers, and they experience the same thing. My very first experience with Essie was years ago at a nail salon and the paint chipped the same day, but because of the adorable packing and beautiful colors, I decided that I would find a solution but literally years later, still no solution. Even the solutions Essie gives (no chip top coat) doesn't work. You'll see in pictures what I'm talking about. I didn't have my hands in water or really use my hands for much of anything and the polish chipped and this is by far the first time this has happened. One time I used Bikini So Teeny and it chipped the same hour I painted my nails! Honestly, it chipped so badly that you would have thought that I painted my nails and went out and lived in the wilderness with no supplies for a month. It's mind-boggling. Because of my continued failed experience I'm coming to the decision of finding cheap Essie dupes for all my colors that I have and sadly give my Essie polishes to my 8-year old niece a package it as a "gift." I'm sure that will make her happy because children can care less if their polish chips easily. Sadly, I think I'm ending this bad romance with Essie. It's like I'm purchasing tons of Essie polishes because it looks great in the bottle and on the shelves in the stores, but becomes similar to disappearing ink because within minutes or hours, the polish will begin to chip away. I love my polishes but Essie, I think I'm leaving you...I've had too many bad experiences (even from the salons) and refuse to buy anymore of your polishes because they only last in the bottle. I'll look for a similar brand but one that lasts. I'm giving this one start because the colors are true and vibrant but that means nothing once you put it on your nails.

CarmenRose
New York County, NY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
So chic and sophisticated!
3/29/2015

Customer review by ames91

5.0 stars 3/29/2015 by ames91
by ames91

I have had my eye on this color for a while, but I couldn't decide if it would really match my personality. When I saw that "Marsala" was the Pantone color of the year, I knew that I should go ahead and invest in this color; I'm so glad I did! This color is simply stunning! It is the perfect shade of burgundy mixed with brick red; it's not so dark that it will get mistaken for black, but it's not an obvious red, either. It complements very pale skin like mine very well. I'm a big fan of Essie's "Wicked," and I feel like this is "Wicked" about four shades lighter. I bought this color during a cold snap in March, and now I'm a little sad that I probably won't be able to wear it again until fall. Seriously, you must get this color! It is one of those colors that you can put on and instantly feel elegant.

ames91
Bowling Green, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gorgeous dark grey!
3/7/2015

Customer review by Ames91

5.0 stars 3/7/2015 by Ames91
by Ames91

Let me preface this review by first saying that I adore Essie's grey shades. I have used Chinchilly and Mochacino before, and I think Essie makes better grey polishes than any other brand. Smokin' Hot is no exception! It is such a beautiful dark grey! This is the perfect shade for those who likes darker colors in the winter, but don't want to wear black polish. This is the type of shade that could only be mistaken for black from a distance. Even dim lighting will reveal that this is a grey color, and what a beautiful shade it is! It almost has plum or eggplant overtones, and the shade is very smokey. The formula went on easily. I got this as a mini, but I am certain I will be needing a full-sized bottle soon!

Ames91
Bowling Green, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A Classic!
3/2/2015

Customer review by robynm

5.0 stars 3/2/2015 by robynm
by robynm

I've been wearing this so long I've lost track of when I began and how many bottles I've gone through. This colour is a perfect blend of red and pink that is luxurious, sophisticated and feminine. I'm very fair skinned and this colour really makes my skin pop, it looks great with a little black dress or jeans and a t-shirt and makes me look glamorous when I'm in sweatpants. You can wear this colour anywhere you want, but it's so flirty I think it's great for date night or anytime you really want to turn heads. I feel like this is a colour Marie Antoinette would've worn if they had nail polish in the renaissance. It always makes me feel like royalty!

robynm
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Such a lovely shade of red!
12/29/2015

Customer review by Ames 91

5.0 stars 12/29/2015 by Ames 91
by Ames 91

Despite what the picture implies, Plumberry isn't metallic. I was never able to find this in stores, so I took a chance and ordered it online: I'm so glad I did! It is such a creamy formula, and the shade is just juicy and delicious looking! I really struggle to find a red I like, but Plumberry matches all my criteria! In natural lighting, the color is even more beautiful because the pink/plum tones come across more than in artificial lighting. I have only worn it once, but I have already gotten several compliments. Frankly, I can't believe this isn't one of the more well known Essies; it definitely should be!

Ames 91
Bowling Green, KY, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The best nude polish ever made !!!!
5/29/2015

Customer review by dyna26

5.0 stars 5/29/2015 by dyna26
by dyna26

The nude nail polish I have been looking for for yeaaars. Soo easy to apply and perfect for my medium skin tone (but would definitely suit a wide range of skin colors). All time favorite, gives such a neat look. I would buy this for the rest of my life.. (it looks greyer on my pictures than it really is but thats only because of the light, the colour is more of a sand beige)

dyna26
Lower Saxony, Deutschland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
10/18/2014

Customer review by alimep24

5.0 stars 10/18/2014 by alimep24
by alimep24

This is my favorite! The color is amazing and goes with everything. I use to go to work or when I go out with friends. It is a beautiful color that always looks great. Neutral colors other brands are just common but this is the most beautiful and unique shade that you can always use it. I highly recommend sand tropez if you want to look great in everywhere!

alimep24
san Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Love this shade!!!
11/5/2014

Customer review by demdem

5.0 stars 11/5/2014 by demdem
by demdem

I have used this color multiple times now and I can honestly say it is one of my favorite colors that Essie has come out with...well that I own right now. It has great coverage and has a very mature look to it. I love using this color with different effects it gives an edgy look to the design.

demdem
Pocono Pines, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Elegant , passion collor
10/10/2014

Customer review by zdravkacav

5.0 stars 10/10/2014 by zdravkacav
by zdravkacav

I bought it before 1 month, it is the most beautiful!!

zdravkacav
Zagreb, Hrvatska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
The perfect red!
10/21/2014

Customer review by DeeC

5.0 stars 10/21/2014 by DeeC
by DeeC

Fell in love with this hot red the moment I saw it!

DeeC
Houston, TX, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
10/9/2014

Customer review by Rosa923

5.0 stars 10/9/2014 by Rosa923
by Rosa923

Rosa923
Rockaway park, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great summer color
8/28/2017

Customer review by Bibi6598

5.0 stars 8/28/2017 by Bibi6598
by Bibi6598

First red polish I've bought, I usually gravitate towards pinks and pastel shades but this looks great especially in the summer

Bibi6598
Brussels, Belgium
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A bit disappointing
4/20/2017

Customer review by DolceJ

1.0 stars 4/20/2017 by DolceJ
by DolceJ

I bought this color as my first Essie nail polish just yesterday. Painted my nails in the evening when I came home and 2 hours later the nail polish already chipped off the tips of both of my ringer fingers and my left index finger. Me not happy at all! I'm also not too impressed with the consistency of the nail polish. I put 2 coats of color and the consistency is not even. It might be that the polish is too watery, I really don't know. I really like the color though and will definitely persist with this nail polish for a while to see if it gets any better. Not happy though, I really expected much much more!

DolceJ
Ljubljana, Slovenija
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best summer color
4/17/2017

Customer review by LJSF

5.0 stars 4/17/2017 by LJSF
by LJSF

The review that mentions that this polish is "see-thru" is precisely right. But that's what makes this color AMAZING. I agree the word creamy is misleading, but OMG the formula is so unique - I have never ever come across a translucent coral red like this from any other brand of polish, and it is the ultimate summer color. You really only need one coat - unlike Essie's "creamier" colors, this goes on smooth with no streaky-ness. It's unique, super vibrant, flattering, and I got compliments every time I wear it!

LJSF
Washington, DC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this polish
7/15/2015

Customer review by m5ap2e

5.0 stars 7/15/2015 by m5ap2e
by m5ap2e

I love this polish! It is very high quality and the color is gorgeous. The color is described as more of a blue on the website, however, it is close to a purple. The only negative I would have to say about this polish is that you have to be patient with the drying time. I wore this nail polish to my prom and it matched my dress perfectly. Lastly, if you allow for the polish to dry properly and apply a clear top coat, it lasts a long time.

m5ap2e
Virginia, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Simple with Sparkle
10/19/2014

Customer review by Emski

5.0 stars 10/19/2014 by Emski
by Emski

This is by far my favorite nail polish color I have ever purchased.The sparkle gives it the glitz and glamor that makes everybody want some more. I can look down at my nails and feel relaxed thinking of blue sky's and ocean views. Simple and fun with a name that makes you giggle. Essie, you hit a home run with this shade. Thank you.

Emski
Connecticut
Bougainvillea for fingertips
4/2/2015

Customer review by Courtesan

4.0 stars 4/2/2015 by Courtesan
by Courtesan

Extraordinary VERY HAPPY colour, loads of compliments on it. My only issue is the frosted aspect is chalky feeling which I 'fixed' by a triple top coat. A girlfriend on Skype (in Lahore, while I am in Rochester NY, and her husband is in UAE) so fell in love with the shade that she begged me to send her the link!

Courtesan
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Super hot
5/6/2015

Customer review by Lilly204

5.0 stars 5/6/2015 by Lilly204
by Lilly204

I love love love corals, they look great with my fair skin. This color is no exeption. Is creamy, rich, vibrant. And my manicure lasted three days without chipping (wich is almost a record!). Is more creamy than Clambake, which is normally my to-go coral. I absolutely love it!

Lilly204
Italy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great quality
4/10/2016

Customer review by Nailpolishlover8

5.0 stars 4/10/2016 by Nailpolishlover8
by Nailpolishlover8

It is a nice really dark grey with a hint of purple. It's very great quality as it only takes two coats to look very nice.

Nailpolishlover8
Minnesota, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 712 total reviews
1-20 of 712 reviews