Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

85 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

5 stars
37
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 stars
11
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
Don't purchase this item in a box to assemble!
6/4/2014

Customer review by TNMature

1.0 stars by TNMature

This item was shipped to TN from California! When notified to pickup shipment at my local Walmart the 60 lb + package seemed to be in good condition: no fork lift stabs; no corners severely dented, etc. Some sealing tape was partially ripped off; fur, for the most part the corrugated box was in tack. Upon unpacking ALL the individual packaged parts within the shipping carton all still seemed to be fine with all the plentiful styrofoam padding in place. However, commencing with following the assembly through step 6 out of 20 I found all panels in steps 2 thru 6 bent and dented in irrepairably causing screw holes not to match up. Assembly step 2 through step 6 was painfully difficult; but, with extra time and patience it finally became assembled. These four interim steps took two hours to complete satisfactorily. (?) I will never purchase another "to assemble" item in a box! I will want to see the finished product on display and for sale without any scratches or dents. This is a perfect example of the old addage, "You get what you pay for!" I suspect this purchase was damaged before shipment.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 6/5/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and always want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of all that your grill has to offer. Has a case been created with us? Please give us a call. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists are more than happy to best assist.

TNMature
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ship to home a disaster
5/1/2014

Customer review by Brian1535

3.0 stars by Brian1535

I purchased this online and ship to home was free. FedEx must have dropped this off the truck somewhere as it was badly damaged. I returned the grill and did not reorder. They had changed the cooking grate design from what was shown online. I would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Brian1535
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value
8/14/2013

Customer review by Ratboysr

5.0 stars by Ratboysr

Well made grill. Did not take long to set up. But the instructions leave out a part where you have remove two factory installed bolts in the rear to properly support the side wings prior to attaching them. Once assembled it fired right up and was at cooking temp in no time. Seared the meat perfectly. However I highly recommend a cleaning brush that can get into the infrared panel grooves. Can't wait to use this more.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Ratboysr
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
6/14/2013

Customer review by BaileyBoybest1

5.0 stars by BaileyBoybest1

This barbecue exceeds my expectation.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BaileyBoybest1
Gardnerville NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks decent, but fit/finish is lacking
8/27/2013

Customer review by justacustomer703

3.0 stars by justacustomer703

The product arrived on time, but damaged. The monolithic grill portion was dented by the ignite button and I didn't notice until I had assembled the entire thing. I'm upset that my $350+ purchase came pre-dented, but I'm also not interested in putting another grill together so I'm a bit torn. On top of that, the fit/finish of the cabinet portion is a bit off and the doors are about 1/4 of an inch off at the top when closed. I haven't checked the accuracy of the three temp probes, but their accuracy is also suspect. As for grilling, we've used it once and it seemed to do a decent job. The TRU-Infrared grill plates are stainless steel, which is nice, but cleaning them with a brush like you would with standard grill plates is out of the question.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
justacustomer703
Erie, Co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WILL BE OK
3/11/2014

Customer review by KINLOKS

1.0 stars by KINLOKS

WHEN I UNPACKED THE GLILL, I NOTICED THAT THE FRONT PANEL WAS DAMAGED. THE PACKAGING COMPLETELY FELL APPART MAKING IT VERTUALY IMPOSSIBLE TO REPACK, I DECIDED TO MAKE-DO AND KEEP IT. THE QUALITY CONTROL PLUS/NINUS STANDARDS ARE NOT TIGHT ENOUGH. THE DOORS TO THE CABINET ARE UNEVEAN AND DO NOT FIT PROPERLY. THE ASSEMBLY INSTRUCTIONS ARE VAUGE AND TOO UNIVERSAL. THEY SHOULD BE MORE MODEL SPSCIFIC. ANY-WAY HAVE A NICE DAY

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 3/13/2014

We're very sorry to hear about this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of everything your grill has to offer. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to assist with replacing the damaged parts and getting you up and grilling.

KINLOKS
CHATSWORTH; CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Juicy Meat
7/30/2014

Customer review by TruthDefender

5.0 stars by TruthDefender

This grill does an amazing job on steaks and ribs. Very juicy! No worries about flare ups burning things. Fish turned out great, too. Very happy. Assembly was not too involved and it was shipped directly to my house in less than a week from ordering. All around very happy. Design of grates is superior. I didn't burn the ribs for once!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TruthDefender
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grilling
8/9/2014

Customer review by clevelandsuburb

4.0 stars by clevelandsuburb

1st use had 8 steaks and all cooked equal no matter position on the grill. Great grilling so far. Putting grill together was a nightmare, missing parts, damaged fire box, screw and nut positions were near impossible to get at.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
clevelandsuburb
N. Royalton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very poor packing and quality of product
9/2/2013

Customer review by FriscoWall

2.0 stars by FriscoWall

Very poor packing and quality of product. Tough to assemble with dented parts

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 10/30/2013

We're sorry to hear about this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your TRU-Infrared Grill. Was a case created with us. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to assist with replacing any damaged parts.

FriscoWall
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/1/2013

Customer review by BLGC

5.0 stars by BLGC

We purchased this grill for our son. He lives in Eastern PA and we live in Western PA so the fact that we could have the grill delivered directly to him was GREAT, especially since it was for his birthday. He is enjoying his grilling experiences.

Was this review helpful? (5) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BLGC
Clarion, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Charbroiler Grill
2/9/2014

Customer review by blondie454

3.0 stars by blondie454

The grill arrived and we checked for dents first thing due to reading other reviews. There was a big dent in grill cover and front. We contacted Charbroiler whom states they will replace these parts but it is not recified yet. The box had been previously opened so it may have been returned for the same reason but didn't get placed in damaged goods and was sent out again. The grill itself is very nice and cooks very quickly. We didn't return the grill as we had planned to use it that weekend and since Charbroiler has said they would just replace damaged parts. We are looking forward to many cookouts with this grill. Love the ease of starting and heats quickly.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
blondie454
Southlake , Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed when received!
5/11/2014

Customer review by ISAGuy

3.0 stars by ISAGuy

I was very excited to get my first gas grill and after doing some homework I felt this grill the best for a $400 grill. I received the grill and after unpacking I noticed the burner front panel was completely smashed in and the cover had excessive scuffing/scratches on it too. Wal-Mart was completely helpful and tried to find a replacement for me. Although unsuccessful, the effort and attempt is much appreciated! Not sure if I am going to order another Char-Broil grill. Better packaging would have prevented this damage. I only rated it a three star because of the damage. I believe I would have been very happy with this grill but do not want to risk having another grill shipped.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ISAGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great grill for the price
4/23/2014

Customer review by RM12144

5.0 stars by RM12144

This is a great grill, works perfectly and looks great. Be sure to inspect the grill thoroughly upon arrival (if you have it delivered). I didn't notice a dent in the front fascia area until I had the grill fully assembled. I will just deal with the dent at this point versus returning the grill and assembling a replacement. The damage most certainly came during shipping, as the box the grill arrived in looked like it was ran over by a train.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
RM12144
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good grill for the money
8/18/2014

Customer review by danaalan

5.0 stars by danaalan

Learn the two zone cook with the grill. Best steak ever, pink throughout.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
danaalan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New technology pays off
8/30/2013

Customer review by cooker34

5.0 stars by cooker34

The grill is excellent. Our delivery was a bit tarnished by the grill top being dented but Walmart stood up and took care of that, great product, great experience all the way around.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cooker34
Farmington Hills Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent
7/29/2014

Customer review by hockyboky

5.0 stars by hockyboky

I received mine in excellent condition comparing to all other reviews I have been using it for 3 weeks now excellent perfect grill for my needs

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hockyboky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
mr Collier
8/1/2014

Customer review by fufikt

5.0 stars by fufikt

I have had it for about 2 weeks now and am very impressed with the cooking we have had steaks and hamburgers goth came out delicious in only about 10 min for a 1 in steak and about 6 min for a hamburger.to assemble the unit while time consuming lots of time (about 4 hours) the instructions sere clear and all the parts fit easily together

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
fufikt
Warren, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Damaged Goods No one cares!
6/28/2014

Customer review by FiredUpaboutthis

1.0 stars by FiredUpaboutthis

Opened box to find shelf and cooking box severely bent. Still waiting to hear from company one week later. I have parts all over my house

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from Charbroil - 6/30/2014

We're very sorry to hear of the damaged part with your grill. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to get you up and grilling. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to get this part replaced.

FiredUpaboutthis
Ft. Lauderdale
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Fantastic Grill !!!
6/28/2014

Customer review by Papagrill

5.0 stars by Papagrill

Grill arrived earlier than expected delivery time. Putting together was pain staking but I was prepared. Since I chose to buy online from Walmart. I would highly recommend this grill. They really mean it when they did mention regarding holding the juice in the meat inside. Also there was a small dent on the lid. I did call the customer service, they are sending new lid through warranty.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Papagrill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Solid Item
9/15/2014

Customer review by burbaniak

5.0 stars by burbaniak

Looks good. Rolls nice. Hardly do you ever hear someone mention that. Over all very happy. Walmart Associates were kind of enough to assemble. Over all very solid unit. I do have a couple of questions. Is it suppose to ignite with the dial turned all the way down? The grill we replaced started with the dials turned on high. Also my 3 temp gauges always read very high. Each of the times that I used the grill the temps have not dropped below 400. Even with the dials turned all the way down. None the less, over all very happy. I would totally recommend this to anyone. If someone could answer my questions, that would be cool.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
burbaniak
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 79 total reviews