Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 89 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

89 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

89 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
4
1 stars
11
1-20 of 83 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
Don't purchase this item in a box to assemble!
6/4/2014

Customer review by TNMature

1.0 stars 6/4/2014 by TNMature
by TNMature

This item was shipped to TN from California! When notified to pickup shipment at my local Walmart the 60 lb + package seemed to be in good condition: no fork lift stabs; no corners severely dented, etc. Some sealing tape was partially ripped off; fur, for the most part the corrugated box was in tack. Upon unpacking ALL the individual packaged parts within the shipping carton all still seemed to be fine with all the plentiful styrofoam padding in place. However, commencing with following the assembly through step 6 out of 20 I found all panels in steps 2 thru 6 bent and dented in irrepairably causing screw holes not to match up. Assembly step 2 through step 6 was painfully difficult; but, with extra time and patience it finally became assembled. These four interim steps took two hours to complete satisfactorily. (?) I will never purchase another "to assemble" item in a box! I will want to see the finished product on display and for sale without any scratches or dents. This is a perfect example of the old addage, "You get what you pay for!" I suspect this purchase was damaged before shipment.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Charbroil - 6/5/2014

We're sorry to hear this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and always want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of all that your grill has to offer. Has a case been created with us? Please give us a call. Our phone number is 1-800-241-7548 and our knowledgeable grill service specialists are more than happy to best assist.

TNMature
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ship to home a disaster
5/1/2014

Customer review by Brian1535

3.0 stars 5/1/2014 by Brian1535
by Brian1535

I purchased this online and ship to home was free. FedEx must have dropped this off the truck somewhere as it was badly damaged. I returned the grill and did not reorder. They had changed the cooking grate design from what was shown online. I would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Brian1535
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value
8/14/2013

Customer review by Ratboysr

5.0 stars 8/14/2013 by Ratboysr
by Ratboysr

Well made grill. Did not take long to set up. But the instructions leave out a part where you have remove two factory installed bolts in the rear to properly support the side wings prior to attaching them. Once assembled it fired right up and was at cooking temp in no time. Seared the meat perfectly. However I highly recommend a cleaning brush that can get into the infrared panel grooves. Can't wait to use this more.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ratboysr
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
WILL BE OK
3/11/2014

Customer review by KINLOKS

1.0 stars 3/11/2014 by KINLOKS
by KINLOKS

WHEN I UNPACKED THE GLILL, I NOTICED THAT THE FRONT PANEL WAS DAMAGED. THE PACKAGING COMPLETELY FELL APPART MAKING IT VERTUALY IMPOSSIBLE TO REPACK, I DECIDED TO MAKE-DO AND KEEP IT. THE QUALITY CONTROL PLUS/NINUS STANDARDS ARE NOT TIGHT ENOUGH. THE DOORS TO THE CABINET ARE UNEVEAN AND DO NOT FIT PROPERLY. THE ASSEMBLY INSTRUCTIONS ARE VAUGE AND TOO UNIVERSAL. THEY SHOULD BE MORE MODEL SPSCIFIC. ANY-WAY HAVE A NICE DAY

Was this review helpful? (8) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Charbroil - 3/13/2014

We're very sorry to hear about this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to make sure that you are able to take advantage of everything your grill has to offer. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to assist with replacing the damaged parts and getting you up and grilling.

KINLOKS
CHATSWORTH; CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent
6/14/2013

Customer review by BaileyBoybest1

5.0 stars 6/14/2013 by BaileyBoybest1
by BaileyBoybest1

This barbecue exceeds my expectation.

Was this review helpful? (7) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BaileyBoybest1
Gardnerville NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very poor packing and quality of product
9/2/2013

Customer review by FriscoWall

2.0 stars 9/2/2013 by FriscoWall
by FriscoWall

Very poor packing and quality of product. Tough to assemble with dented parts

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Charbroil - 10/30/2013

We're sorry to hear about this. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want you to enjoy using your TRU-Infrared Grill. Was a case created with us. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to assist with replacing any damaged parts.

FriscoWall
Frisco, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/1/2013

Customer review by BLGC

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by BLGC
by BLGC

We purchased this grill for our son. He lives in Eastern PA and we live in Western PA so the fact that we could have the grill delivered directly to him was GREAT, especially since it was for his birthday. He is enjoying his grilling experiences.

Was this review helpful? (7) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BLGC
Clarion, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Juicy Meat
7/30/2014

Customer review by TruthDefender

5.0 stars 7/30/2014 by TruthDefender
by TruthDefender

This grill does an amazing job on steaks and ribs. Very juicy! No worries about flare ups burning things. Fish turned out great, too. Very happy. Assembly was not too involved and it was shipped directly to my house in less than a week from ordering. All around very happy. Design of grates is superior. I didn't burn the ribs for once!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TruthDefender
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Looks decent, but fit/finish is lacking
8/27/2013

Customer review by justacustomer703

3.0 stars 8/27/2013 by justacustomer703
by justacustomer703

The product arrived on time, but damaged. The monolithic grill portion was dented by the ignite button and I didn't notice until I had assembled the entire thing. I'm upset that my $350+ purchase came pre-dented, but I'm also not interested in putting another grill together so I'm a bit torn. On top of that, the fit/finish of the cabinet portion is a bit off and the doors are about 1/4 of an inch off at the top when closed. I haven't checked the accuracy of the three temp probes, but their accuracy is also suspect. As for grilling, we've used it once and it seemed to do a decent job. The TRU-Infrared grill plates are stainless steel, which is nice, but cleaning them with a brush like you would with standard grill plates is out of the question.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
justacustomer703
Erie, Co
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disappointed when received!
5/11/2014

Customer review by ISAGuy

3.0 stars 5/11/2014 by ISAGuy
by ISAGuy

I was very excited to get my first gas grill and after doing some homework I felt this grill the best for a $400 grill. I received the grill and after unpacking I noticed the burner front panel was completely smashed in and the cover had excessive scuffing/scratches on it too. Wal-Mart was completely helpful and tried to find a replacement for me. Although unsuccessful, the effort and attempt is much appreciated! Not sure if I am going to order another Char-Broil grill. Better packaging would have prevented this damage. I only rated it a three star because of the damage. I believe I would have been very happy with this grill but do not want to risk having another grill shipped.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ISAGuy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Charbroiler Grill
2/9/2014

Customer review by blondie454

3.0 stars 2/9/2014 by blondie454
by blondie454

The grill arrived and we checked for dents first thing due to reading other reviews. There was a big dent in grill cover and front. We contacted Charbroiler whom states they will replace these parts but it is not recified yet. The box had been previously opened so it may have been returned for the same reason but didn't get placed in damaged goods and was sent out again. The grill itself is very nice and cooks very quickly. We didn't return the grill as we had planned to use it that weekend and since Charbroiler has said they would just replace damaged parts. We are looking forward to many cookouts with this grill. Love the ease of starting and heats quickly.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blondie454
Southlake , Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Grilling
8/9/2014

Customer review by clevelandsuburb

4.0 stars 8/9/2014 by clevelandsuburb
by clevelandsuburb

1st use had 8 steaks and all cooked equal no matter position on the grill. Great grilling so far. Putting grill together was a nightmare, missing parts, damaged fire box, screw and nut positions were near impossible to get at.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
clevelandsuburb
N. Royalton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
excellent
7/29/2014

Customer review by hockyboky

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by hockyboky
by hockyboky

I received mine in excellent condition comparing to all other reviews I have been using it for 3 weeks now excellent perfect grill for my needs

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hockyboky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
New technology pays off
8/30/2013

Customer review by cooker34

5.0 stars 8/30/2013 by cooker34
by cooker34

The grill is excellent. Our delivery was a bit tarnished by the grill top being dented but Walmart stood up and took care of that, great product, great experience all the way around.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cooker34
Farmington Hills Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great grill for the price
4/23/2014

Customer review by RM12144

5.0 stars 4/23/2014 by RM12144
by RM12144

This is a great grill, works perfectly and looks great. Be sure to inspect the grill thoroughly upon arrival (if you have it delivered). I didn't notice a dent in the front fascia area until I had the grill fully assembled. I will just deal with the dent at this point versus returning the grill and assembling a replacement. The damage most certainly came during shipping, as the box the grill arrived in looked like it was ran over by a train.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RM12144
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good grill for the money
8/18/2014

Customer review by danaalan

5.0 stars 8/18/2014 by danaalan
by danaalan

Learn the two zone cook with the grill. Best steak ever, pink throughout.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
danaalan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for.
10/13/2014

Customer review by Fallisintheair

1.0 stars 10/13/2014 by Fallisintheair
by Fallisintheair

My husband and I thought this would be a good grill for us. Boy were we wrong. It looks nice, but that is about it. It is very cheaply made and rusts very quickly. Very hard to clean also. My neighbor bought one over a year ago, and it already needs to be replaced. Not a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Charbroil - 10/15/2014

We're sorry to hear this. How was this grill cleaned? Was a cover used? Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 so that we can best assist with this and help you to get back up and grilling.

Fallisintheair
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
mr Collier
8/1/2014

Customer review by fufikt

5.0 stars 8/1/2014 by fufikt
by fufikt

I have had it for about 2 weeks now and am very impressed with the cooking we have had steaks and hamburgers goth came out delicious in only about 10 min for a 1 in steak and about 6 min for a hamburger.to assemble the unit while time consuming lots of time (about 4 hours) the instructions sere clear and all the parts fit easily together

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fufikt
Warren, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Damaged Goods No one cares!
6/28/2014

Customer review by FiredUpaboutthis

1.0 stars 6/28/2014 by FiredUpaboutthis
by FiredUpaboutthis

Opened box to find shelf and cooking box severely bent. Still waiting to hear from company one week later. I have parts all over my house

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Comment from Charbroil - 6/30/2014

We're very sorry to hear of the damaged part with your grill. We value you as a Char-Broil customer and want to get you up and grilling. Please give us a call at 1-800-241-7548 and we will be able to get this part replaced.

FiredUpaboutthis
Ft. Lauderdale
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love this grill
5/31/2015

Customer review by JayinGeorgia

5.0 stars 5/31/2015 by JayinGeorgia
by JayinGeorgia

great grill for the price. Putting together a little of a challenge.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JayinGeorgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews