Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

13 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

2.5 stars

13 reviews | 2.7 out of 5

46%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
7
1-13 of 13 total reviews
46%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good Paint & a great value
10/17/2012

Customer review by D337

5.0 stars 10/17/2012 by D337
by D337

My main reason for writing this review was after seeing the one star review. Bottom line is - I think the paint is great. I'm not a professional painter, but I am a landlord. Currently own 5 rental properties, use Walmart Color Place paint in them all & have never had any issues like the one star review stated. It's washable, never had chipping problems, lasts through more than one tenant. I've used Sherwin Williams Promar line interior paint before after a friend telling me how great it was, spent a ton & was not that impressed (but hey - I'm no pro paint seems like paint). Color Place paint is probably the only paint I'll ever use again! And best of all, it's MADE IN THE USA!!!

Was this review helpful? (35) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
D337
Pueblo West, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Have never had any issues with CP Paint.....
10/26/2013

Customer review by GregFromPA

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by GregFromPA
by GregFromPA

Have been using CP paint for quite awhile now. I'm in due process of repainting my home. It's been a hard journey. And I'm still not finished, due to my details, and being very particular. I've read on these reviews on occasions, of one particular reason for a fair or low rating....That is, paint not staying on the wall, peeling, bubbling, etc. There are some definite items you have to pay close attention to. ..1# Make sure the wall #or surface# is ready to be painted. Makes sure your drywall is smooth, no residue #dirt, dust, wetness, etc.# on the wall. And before I get too far ahead. The drywall is ready for any type of paint #finished drywall and a few coats of primer paint anyway#. And as an added measure, just so your not doubting yourself. Put an additional coat #or 2# of drywall primer just to be sure. 2# PAINT MIXING IS AN ABSOLUTE MUST......Paint cannot be stirred/mixed for 30 seconds with the wooden stick provided. Then expect magic. First of all, forget the stick. Walmart seems to always have short length stirrers/mixers in the paint section of the store. These mixers are made to be used with a home drill #electric or cordless#, whatever type you have. The short length stirrers are good for the following size cans > 1 Quart and 1 Gallon cans. They can be used easily with 2 & 3 gallon size buckets #these would be bought separately#. Anything larger, 4 gallon & 5 gallon buckets, you have to use a longer extension. Otherwise, it's nearly impossible to reach effectively into the bucket. This longer extension will also have a larger size stirrer on the end. Remember, paint has a certain thickness and weight increase as more quantity is added to a bucket. Long extension mixers can be purchased at any of the home fix-it stores. With all of the above quantities, THOROUGH mixing is Priority # 1...Obviously, the smaller the can, the quicker the stirring goes. Your 4 & 5 gallon buckets, you'll feel it in your arms and shoulders a bit. Be glad your using a power drill #and not a wooden stirrer#. In closing, make MIXING/STIRRING Priority # 1. I rated this exact paint, because I use it. But also have used the other bases and finishes #although I only have a liking for brighter finishes like satin or semi-gloss). Not that the others are not of good quality. But, brighter finishes add durability and mild wash ability. ColorPlace series paint is an above average product, with a more than fair price. Good Luck..Best Wishes

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GregFromPA
West Lawn, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
this is a very good paint.
11/4/2012

Customer review by edsal2000

4.0 stars 11/4/2012 by edsal2000
by edsal2000

ive used this paint and other styles of this brand i havent had a problem yet. it covers as good as some of those high priced paints but cost a lot less. if you like gilleden paint then you should like color place ,their made by the same company.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
edsal2000
bronston,ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Great value
3/22/2012

Customer review by netseller

5.0 stars 3/22/2012 by netseller
by netseller

Wal Mart Color Place is a great value. Sometime tough to find standard stock in stock, and getting custom is sometimes an issue, but for the price it rocks.

Was this review helpful? (13) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
netseller
Roswell, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
8/12/2013

Customer review by Kimmee1001

4.0 stars 8/12/2013 by Kimmee1001
by Kimmee1001

Prefer it to Valspar. Covers great. No issues. Great value.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kimmee1001
Mt. Jackson, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Thick Paint
10/26/2012

Customer review by rondad

1.0 stars 10/26/2012 by rondad
by rondad

I tried this paint because I was on a budget and I regret it. The paint is to thick and is of poor quality. Will not go on smooth. Does not last on your walls. DONT USE this brand. Spend the extra dollars and use Gliden.

Was this review helpful? (6) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rondad
Richmond Hill, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Horrible do NOT use this paint!!!!!!!!!
8/6/2012

Customer review by ATwistedYarn

1.0 stars 8/6/2012 by ATwistedYarn
by ATwistedYarn

I can't tll people how aweful this paint is and to stay away from it enough. This was our second time using it. What a HORRIBLE mistake. 3 months after painting it is still tacky. You absolutely can not wash the wall or you will wash the paint off. It peels and chips. It was the WORST paint we have EVER used. It ran and sprayed everywhere when rolling and cutting in. It practically ran off the wall. I talked my hubby into using this paint to save a few bucks. He is very angry at me for it. As a professional painter he is totally disgusted with how this paint worked and turned out. If there was some way to demand our money back we woud do it. People!!!! I cant stress this enough, save yourself money in the long run and buy a good quaity paint. After all this we now have to repaint. Believe you me, we WILL be going somewhere else and getting some quality paint! Say far away from this product!!!

Was this review helpful? (16) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ATwistedYarn
Cedar City, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Waste of money and time!!!!
1/2/2014

Customer review by ChrisGregA

1.0 stars 1/2/2014 by ChrisGregA
by ChrisGregA

Used this paint (2 different colors) to paint my daughters room and completely regret buying it! The paint is very watery, had to use 3 coats to paint over a lighter shade and some places you can still see the lighter shade through the darker paint. Peels easily. Horrible product!

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChrisGregA
Saratoga, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Quality has gone WAY down
8/27/2014

Customer review by paperforest

1.0 stars 8/27/2014 by paperforest
by paperforest

I have used this paint quite a few times in the past, but the last couple of times I used it (to paint a bedroom, door, and living room), the quality is so bad that I will never buy it again. It took three-four coats to cover a WHITE wall, that I used this brand of paint for to begin with. My husband and son were ready to toss me to the wolves after working so hard doing so many coats- and this morning when I passed by the front interior door, I noticed that it NEEDS ANOTHER COAT OF PAINT.....I painted it myself (again, over this brand of white paint), and gave it FOUR COATS. I will be heading over to Sherwin-Williams the next time I paint- it will cost me more, no doubt- but this stuff looks like the type of paint they use in cheap motel rooms, just awful.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
paperforest
Would recommend to a friend? No
Color Place Not the Same Quality
9/19/2014

Customer review by Recervan

1.0 stars 9/19/2014 by Recervan
by Recervan

I have used Color Place for the last 20 years because of the high quality of the paint and the low price. In the last two years I have noticed the quality has diminished and the price has increased dramatically. After spending hours and three coats of paint on three walls, I noticed the finish was not even. The walls I painted had two coats of primer already. I complained at the store and I was told that Sherwin Williams does not make Color Place anymore. It's now made by Glidden. So that's the reason for the change in quality. I will never buy Color Place again and I do not recommend anyone to use this inferior quality paint.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Recervan
Would recommend to a friend? No
bad very
1/23/2014

Customer review by elvisandrew

1.0 stars 1/23/2014 by elvisandrew
by elvisandrew

I brought color place white semi-gloss paint and it is bad you think it is white put it on your walls it turns gray and stays that way to I never had this happen to me ever

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elvisandrew
troy mo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
very disappointed this time
12/19/2013

Customer review by lulacc

1.0 stars 12/19/2013 by lulacc
by lulacc

I have been using this brand & color for over 20 years. Always been very pleased and kept it on hand for touch ups. Installed new cabinets & bought new gallon & its horrible. Very thick, won't spread and looks awful. So bought a different brand but may wait & try this again in few months to see if this was just a temporary manufacturing goof-up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lulacc
75147
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Small Bathroom Redo
2/6/2015

Customer review by shop4tots

5.0 stars 2/6/2015 by shop4tots
by shop4tots

I am redoing a very small bathroom that is on our first floor. Trying to paint, tile, and decorate for under $100! I was at my local Walmart looking for spray paint for a different project and I just thought I would take a look at their paint samples. After that I saw a place where they had paint marked down. I found a paint called Old Gaucho Trail. I put it back several times. Because of my budget. It was only $5.48. I did get it and I am SO SO glad I did. It drys fast, goes on smoothly,the color is gorgeous. And I painted my whole bathroom with that one 31 fluid ounce can. Still have some left for touch ups. One of the best things about this-I didn't have to sit there and try to decide what color paint I wanted. Old Gaucho Trail is Gorgeous! I am so glad that I didn't research it before I bought it (which I usually do) because with some of these reviews I wouldn't have purchased it. Maybe they changed formula of the paint since all the negative reviews were left. I will be buying this paint again and in the very near future. I have a kitchen, entry way and living room to still paint.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shop4tots
Would recommend to a friend? Yes