Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 293 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

293 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

293 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
144
4 stars
76
3 stars
17
2 stars
15
1 stars
41
1-20 of 212 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews
7/8/2012

Customer review by tinnertic

1.0 stars 7/8/2012 by tinnertic
by tinnertic

We purchased this refrigerator and it appeared to be just what we were looking for. After 3 weeks it quit cooling. We returned it to walmart and got another one, which after 10 days has quit working!!! Would not recommend at all. Will return and get a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (109) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tinnertic
Alliance, NE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice item, bad quality.
6/4/2012

Customer review by AuntieStina

1.0 stars 6/4/2012 by AuntieStina
by AuntieStina

This item is a perfect size for our small office of four people. The fridge part is the same size as a small dorm fridge. However, the freezer is a great size for us to put in some freezer size Lean Cuisines or things like that. It comes with an ice tray as well. I liked how it was a completely separate unit from the fridge so things near it wouldn't freeze as well. I didn't have to wait long for things not to freeze...or stay cold at all. After about 10 days, the whole unit no longer works. It is a great disappointment as I didn't purchase the service plan since I would think the item would last longer than 10 days. Now I have to lug this back to Walmart and hope they will exchange it for me. I have email Walmart Customer Service, so I can update the review at a future time.

Was this review helpful? (163) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AuntieStina
Woburn, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pretty good
3/6/2012

Customer review by JoseJE

4.0 stars 3/6/2012 by JoseJE
by JoseJE

Its a lot bigger than I thought it would be, but that's not a bad thing for the price. This will keep your sodas really cold if you want it adjusted that way. Only thing I'd complain about is that gallons don't fit in the fridge unless you remove the bottom slide. Overall, this is a great product. Makes minimal noise. You can fit plenty of stuff in the fridge. If you want something smaller, this isn't for you. Like I said, it's a bit bulky. It really stands out in my room.

Was this review helpful? (119) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoseJE
Laredo, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lukewarm at best!
6/9/2012

Customer review by HopeyDee

1.0 stars 6/9/2012 by HopeyDee
by HopeyDee

I bought this freezer/refrigerator combo a few months back after thinking it would be an upgrade from some of the smaller mini-refrigerators I have had in the past. I WAS WRONG! Don't get me wrong, the size is great and it is sturdy enough. So here's my complaints: 1.) the "freezer" OVER freezes any and everything, if it's one item or 6... all with be frozen through to the core even past the plastic wrap. 2.) the "refrigerator" hardly works.. it makes the outside of items feel "cool" yet the inside of your water bottle or coke is lukewarm AT BEST! I don't care how many items (2 or 12) it stays barely "cool" to the touch even on the coldest setting. I wanted to write this review for anyone like me who expects a nice cold beverage only to get a cool can and a warm drink. Not worth the $160.00 in my opinion. Just saying..

Was this review helpful? (103) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HopeyDee
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Better than expected!
11/1/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 11/1/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This Black and Decker is cold. Dial goes from 1 to 9 and 5 is way cold enough. Ice Cream is very firm at 5 and the freezer is deeper to the back than it looks from the outside. done right, you can pack a lot of food in this. I can put 8 Pot Pies and a 3 pound box of patties breakfast sausage and 3 pound bag of Chicken Nuggets and a 2 pound pack of ground beef. That filled the freezer but nothing was on the door rack.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Cheboygan, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Product/Good Value !!
2/3/2014

Customer review by FishingFoolOnTheHunt

4.0 stars 2/3/2014 by FishingFoolOnTheHunt
by FishingFoolOnTheHunt

Like most reviews you read about this fridge mine also came with dents in it, 1 top back right corner & 1 bottom back left corner [see pics], they're small so I can't be bothered with sending it back as I'm selling all of my kitchen appliances & need it now, hard to believe that company management hasn't tracked down the cause & dealt with it !! With that said I've had it 2 weeks & put thermometers in both compartments from day one, started from highest setting of 7 & checking/adjusting the setting I found that putting it on #5 the freezer stayed at -2 F. & the fridge at 34 F. & doesn't come on very often, mind you that this is at a indoor ambient temp of 77-78 degrees in my house !! I saw some reviews that said it is loud but you have to remember that it's not encased in a hugh box like your kitchen fridge & therefore easier to muffle the sound ! I've been a HVAC tech. for 30 years & have heard thousands of compressors run & the sound level is normal !! If you leave the setting on 7 & run it all the time you'll probably know it's there & most likely it will have a shorter life also !! By the way, this a Haier product with a Black & Decker logo slapped on it !

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FishingFoolOnTheHunt
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Pretty good so far
4/28/2013

Customer review by Bob2194

5.0 stars 4/28/2013 by Bob2194
by Bob2194

I really wanted a dorm refrigerator that had a freezer. Some of the reviews had me worried about this one. I have had it over a week. The freezer works really well. I love all the features it has. Not many have these features. Glass shelves, light in refrigerator compartment, a crisper, and separate freezer. The refrigerator compartment is frost free, but the freezer is not. I used a thermometer to make sure it got cold enough. The freezer stays below 0 down to -10 My ice cream is solid as a rock, all week. The refrigerator on setting 6 keeps everything at 38-41 just perfect, for my beer. If you want to keep a gallon of milk, you have to remove the crisper, and half shelf. I don't need a crisper, so its no problem for me. As long as it doesn't stop working I will be happy. I hope this helps make your decision easier.

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bob2194
Cache, Ok
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great design but didn't even stay cold for a month
5/12/2013

Customer review by 4EVER40

2.0 stars 5/12/2013 by 4EVER40
by 4EVER40

I bought this for my son's dorm, and bought it early enough that I could return it if it lived up to the poor reviews of not working very long (all the while hoping that was not the case because I love the design of this fridge, especially the separate freezer and the fruit /veggie crisper). I followed the directions by leaving it sit up right for at least 24 hours before plugging it in. Initially it worked great. The ice cubes froze and the drinks were cold. Alas' that only lasted for 3-4 weeks before it was completely warm inside. We unplugged it- for another 24 hours, then plugged it back in again, and the freezer worked again (ice cubes froze) for another day, but after that one day, the freezer stopped working again and the fridge never did get cold again after that second attempt. We returned it 2 days shy of 1 month. I'm nervous to try again with the same fridge so we got something different instead.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4EVER40
Cary, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
7/14/2012

Customer review by Aleutsi

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by Aleutsi
by Aleutsi

This was bought for my daughter to use in college dorm. I was very pleased with the size of the freezer section and the fact that it has its own door so when the refrigerator door is open you won't be heating the freezer section up. Very attractive, looks just like a normal sized refrigerator/freezer. Small enough to move easily but large enough to hold what you need and then some.

Was this review helpful? (30) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Aleutsi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Small but MIGHTY - great compact refrigerator.
1/28/2014

Customer review by 1ClassyLady1

5.0 stars 1/28/2014 by 1ClassyLady1
by 1ClassyLady1

I live in a 31' 5th wheel travel trailer; I needed extra refrigerator space. I shopped for a long while before finally choosing this charming little item. After getting the refrigerator into the small area I had chosen for it, I set the thermostat at the coldest setting to get it cold quickly. The freezer section holds half of the items my full size RV refrigerator held; it took two days for the temp to settle to 0 or below. After a few days, I now have the setting at about half - the freezer section has settled at just below zero with the fresh food area has settled at just under 40. I am well pleased with the appearance and performance of this item.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1ClassyLady1
Brownwood, Texas - USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quit working after two weeks
7/10/2012

Customer review by TImeFOrThePerculator

1.0 stars 7/10/2012 by TImeFOrThePerculator
by TImeFOrThePerculator

doesnt cool anymore and need to lug this thing back to walmart and get a refund....Garbage in my opinion getting a better one this time around.....the fridge part quit cooling but the freezer is cold as ever ....

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TImeFOrThePerculator
Would recommend to a friend? No
Bought two, both stopped working within 2 weeks
10/31/2012

Customer review by flyingfish05

1.0 stars 10/31/2012 by flyingfish05
by flyingfish05

We bought two of these for our kids to take to college. My daughter's refrigerator stopped cooling after 10 days, and then my son's refrigerator stopped cooling after about 2 weeks. The freezers still worked. Called the number on the enclosed pamphlet and they recommended unplugging for 24 hours and plugging back in. This worked for my daughter's refrigerator for 3 days, then it quit cooling again and didn't work again. It never worked for my son's. Other reviewers had the same problem - there is obviously a defect in at least some of these. Our kids and their roommates are without a refrigerator until we can pick them up on break, since they don't have cars or access to a Walmart store. Returning them and buying a different brand!

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
flyingfish05
Salisbury, MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LOVE it!
9/21/2013

Customer review by soradanomi

5.0 stars 9/21/2013 by soradanomi
by soradanomi

Ok, starting with shipping, it arrived fast (mainly because it was shipping from cali to az) but it WAS damaged on one corner from shipping. I didn't bother replacing it, I wanted to make sure it worked. And boy does it work! It took a while for the cooling system in the fridge portion to kick in (I let it sit upright for 24 hours like the directions read before plugging it in, then let it sit another 24 hours on the warmest setting, as per the directions). That said, I let it run for two weeks before adding food to it. The extra time to let the coolant circulate REALLY helped it. Temp outside is at 105 on most days right now, and inside its running at around 90 in our room, and everything is nice and chilly (a little TOO chilly at the highest setting, since it froze my strawberries on the top shelf). The fridge itself was bigger than I anticipated, but DEFINITELY your moneys worth! I bought it as a FRIDGE, not as a 'beer cooler' so it works perfectly. 2 half gallons of milk fit perfectly in the door, no adjustments needed. Crisper is a little on the small side, but readily fits a package of grapes and 5 packages of deli meat. The freezer is HUGE! I've got 2 cartons of icecream, and a stack of 7-8 tv dinners and there's still room for more! Over all, its an incredible buy, but I would DEFINITELY 'splurge' for the 2 year replacement plan, if only because of the price.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
soradanomi
Tolleson, az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Mini frig for school
7/19/2013

Customer review by sipner

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by sipner
by sipner

After several years of having a single door mini frig in my classroom, I wanted one with a separate freezer door to keep ice and frozen fruit for shakes. I shopped around. I found this frig to be a good size, value and the best price. Wal mart shipped it to my house for free and it arrived a week early!

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sipner
Chula Vista, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good But Bad
5/4/2014

Customer review by MikeyMike3

1.0 stars 5/4/2014 by MikeyMike3
by MikeyMike3

This is an outstanding refrigerator for its features. The layout is all you could ask for. The separate freezer, the lighted refrigerator, the glass shelves, the crisper, outstanding. Unfortunately it is under powered. The compressor and possibly the coil ( I can't tell about the coil because you would have to disassemble the unit to discern.) is to small for the cavity. Using a refrigeration thermometer, I ascertained that the freezer meets spec but the refrigerator falls short. I would not keep anything in this refrigerator like milk or other spoilable items. My guess, and this is my opinion only, is that some bean counter told the engineers to put the tiny compressor in to save money. What could have been the best fridge ever is barely marginal in my opinion. You have to run it at maximum thermostat and the fridge portion still is not up to refrigeration standards. I am going to return the fridge to Walmart and get a refund. What a shame because it really was outstanding in every way except performance.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeyMike3
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very Nice Mini Fridge
5/14/2014

Customer review by STUDENTREVIEW

4.0 stars 5/14/2014 by STUDENTREVIEW
by STUDENTREVIEW

I bought this last year for my first dorm room at Seton Hill. I am very thrilled with it. It is very spacious. It is very large in depth compared to most fridges, so I was easily able to store large items. Not quite wide enough to fit a whole pizza box, though. I love the two doors, the freezer worked VERY well. Very spacious and I was able to fit many containers of ice-cream, frozen fruit, bread loaves, etc. A lot of people complained that it made too much noise, however I NEVER hear mine, (Unless you unplug and replug after it warmed up) except occasionally I can hear the freezer running when I actually open the door. I am very happy with my purchase. I did not have any problems, although I did buy it directly out of the store. Keep in mind- QUITE large compared to most.. really struggled getting it in and out of the car and what not.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
STUDENTREVIEW
Greensburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does not meet expectations for price
12/18/2013

Customer review by 4Ryan39

1.0 stars 12/18/2013 by 4Ryan39
by 4Ryan39

I wanted a work mini fridge that I could put drinks and maybe a few frozen lunch meals in. The freezer is sub zero temp while a glass pint of milk will curdle in 1 to 2 days in the fridge. I can not get the temp in the fridge to cool. It is on max cool after gradual increments. I've been freezing bottles of water and placing them on each shelf and one in door. I put a thermometer in the fridge and it fluctuates from 55 to 67 degrees throughtout the day. I will unplug for a weekend and see if it is froze up the teeny, tiny hole that the cold comes through from the freezer.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4Ryan39
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stopped working after less than a month
8/22/2012

Customer review by PoiJoy

1.0 stars 8/22/2012 by PoiJoy
by PoiJoy

I purchased this refrigerator with the impression that it was a good buy. It was fairly inexpensive but it was not worth what we paid. This refrigerator stopped working after only 2 weeks. The light still comes on, but it no longer cools.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PoiJoy
Burns, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
This is a great little frig for a single person.
7/27/2012

Customer review by Cathan2

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by Cathan2
by Cathan2

I use this for work. I keep it in my office. Small enough to save space and large enough to keep lunches and snacks for a whole week or so. I love it. I love the separate doors for the frig and freezer.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cathan2
Alexandria, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Keep the Receipt and Packaging!!! It won't last.
12/4/2012

Customer review by FoggyMountainTeacher

1.0 stars 12/4/2012 by FoggyMountainTeacher
by FoggyMountainTeacher

Just read all the reviews. I wish I had listened to them. Mine lasted exactly 45 days then stopped cooling - ruined all my groceries. Luckily I kept my receipt and the box/packaging. I took the refunded cash and bought a Kenmore... they actually make refrigerators (unlike Black & Decker). DO NOT EVER BUY THIS FRIDGE.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FoggyMountainTeacher
San Francisco Bay area
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 212 total reviews
1-20 of 212 reviews