Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

29 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

29 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 stars
4
1-20 of 21 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
A Real Piece of Junk
4/20/2012

Customer review by FredB64

1.0 stars 4/20/2012 by FredB64
by FredB64

I originally bought the Black & Decker two door model of this refrigerator from Walmart for use in my home office mainly to hold canned soda but had to return it because the compressor was bad causing the internal circuit breaker to constantly trip and reset. I had it for four days and nothing got cold so I exchanged it for this model. When I unpacked this model the first thing I noticed was the finish was terrible. The paint on the sides is rough and has bubbles in it. I leveled it according to the instructions but found the leveling legs were very short. One would have to place it on a nearly level surface or else one or both adjusting legs will come completely out trying to adjust them. I have owned many compact refrigerators including the one I returned and all had much longer adjusting legs. Fortunately I was able to move it around until I found a surface that was level enough. After leveling it I plugged it in and it was very noisy. like I said I use it in my home office but I could hear it running all the way in my living room. My Daughter just came into my office and commented on how it was so loud that it was bothering her in her bedroom. After it had run for about an hour the sides of the refrigerator were very hot. But after it had run for about four hours it quieted down to an acceptable level and the sides were no longer hot. Then I tried to load the can dispenser up with cola cans and the cans bound up at the bar at the bottom that holds the guide arm in place rendering that feature useless. This is a manufacturing defect and others may not have this problem but everything else considered I am very dissatisfied with Blank & Decker's quality control. The instructions say to use the freezer for ice and short term food storage only. This renders the freezer next to useless. In the past I have always had good luck with Black & Decker products but for these last few years they have acquired other companies and in 2009 Stanley acquired Black & Decker. Since then I have never bought anything from Black & Decker that I did not eventfully return. The bottom line is I will never buy a refrigerator, or for that matter any other product with Black & Decker's name on it again.

Was this review helpful? (39) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FredB64
Elverta, CA (Sacramento County)
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Lasted 4 months - out of warranty!
7/8/2012

Customer review by Barry777

1.0 stars 7/8/2012 by Barry777
by Barry777

I purchased this piece of junk in March 2012. By July, all the Freon had leaked out. The unit would still run all day but NO cooling whatsoever. Assuming that any reputable manufacturer puts a one year warranty on their products, I was shocked to find that the warranty is only 90 days. Now I'm out $160 and Wal Mart is blessed with a beautiful, sleek, NON WORKING refrigerator. I figured the least they could do is junk it for me - I wasn't about to load it back into the car. I never was much of a Black and Decker fan, and this refrigerator sealed the deal. Total JUNK.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Barry777
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great refrigerator overall
7/10/2012

Customer review by DSR10

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by DSR10
by DSR10

This refrigerator works extremely well! Keeps drinks really nice and cold, temp control works perfectly. So does the freezer! Runs very quietly, and easy to move around. Very satisfied!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DSR10
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Nice looking, but not quite what I expected.
6/1/2012

Customer review by billybobjr

3.0 stars 6/1/2012 by billybobjr
by billybobjr

When I bought this I was expecting it to not have a freezer because it is a waste of space...it had a freezer (it was advertised as a fridge). I removed the drip tray under the freezer because it took up so much space, and on the second day 2 cans of soda exploded because it was too cold under the freezer! The temperature dial can only be set at 2 now without freezing things under the freezer. That leaves the rest of my beverages just cool (not really cold). The owners manual was no help at all figuring anything out with this freezer, drip tray and temp setting.

Was this review helpful? (23) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
billybobjr
stevens point, wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Too noisy!
7/14/2012

Customer review by fgrandt

3.0 stars 7/14/2012 by fgrandt
by fgrandt

Way too noisy. And the can beverage dispenser doesn't dispense standard 12 oz cans. Bad design. Can't figure out if it can be fixed. Other than that it serves the purpose. If I thought I could get a quieter unit for the same price I'd take this back. I would not recommend this item to a friend.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fgrandt
Berea, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Too loud.
6/18/2012

Customer review by dcsk8erboy

2.0 stars 6/18/2012 by dcsk8erboy
by dcsk8erboy

I had this for two days before I returned it. I bought this to replace my old mini fridge and this is several times louder than my old GE one. Since I keep it in my bedroom I need a quiet fridge, not one that gives me headaches every time it turns on.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dcsk8erboy
NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Louder than any full-sized refrigerator
4/15/2013

Customer review by Wordwreck

2.0 stars 4/15/2013 by Wordwreck
by Wordwreck

This thing is far louder than my Whirlpool double-door refrigerator. If you need a refrigerator for any place other than your garage (or an area where noise isn't an issue), then pass on this one. I haven't had any problems with it cooling or anything else, but the noise is stupid-loud.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wordwreck
Savannah, Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/13/2012

Customer review by coll87

4.0 stars 3/13/2012 by coll87
by coll87

This refrigerator serves my purpose very well, it keeps drinks and food products very cold.

Was this review helpful? (9) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
coll87
29 Palms, California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not as good as I expected
5/28/2012

Customer review by 43318

2.0 stars 5/28/2012 by 43318
by 43318

Bought this to keep drinks in and keep main fridge cooler in the summer. I found out that the can dispenser does not hold cans, as you can not get them to fall to the bottom of the dispenser. But does have enough space to keep plenty of beverages cold.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
43318
De Graff, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Does what I bought it for.
7/14/2012

Customer review by ReviewSkeptic

5.0 stars 7/14/2012 by ReviewSkeptic
by ReviewSkeptic

I bought it, plugged it up, and it's keeping things cold. Value is excellent, meets expectations (keeps things cold). Durability is a year away from review. Appearance is black and not ugly. I bought it to go beside my computer desk in my home office. It keeps my beer cold. If it lasts a year I'm ahead of the game. A year's worth of ice is much more than the cost of this fridge. I didn't expect a JenAir for $128.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ReviewSkeptic
Gastonia, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Black & Decker....can't go wrong
4/4/2013

Customer review by Drew6546545645646

5.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Drew6546545645646
by Drew6546545645646

I checked Home Depot, Sears and a few others and finally landed at Wal-Mart. I may have actually paid about ten bucks more than I needed to but, I'm a busy small business owner and GUARANTEE that if it fails Wal-Mart will make it right for me.....no questions asked. That's the value I expect and receive when I go there.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drew6546545645646
Arroyo Grande, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellect Compact Fridge
9/24/2013

Customer review by verypicky10

5.0 stars 9/24/2013 by verypicky10
by verypicky10

My wife and I needed a small refrigerator and this one is excellent. We store food in ours and it works very well and looks very good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
verypicky10
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice and economical, VERY LOUD when it runs!!!
8/21/2012

Customer review by Lats80

4.0 stars 8/21/2012 by Lats80
by Lats80

I looked at this product at the store and did further review on line, felt it was the biggest bang for my buck. When I realzed they would deliver for free I decided it was the best option, because then we wouldn't have to hassle with loading and unloading at the store. I was impressed by the speedy turn around from order to delivery. However when we opened the box, it had obviously been dropped. A top front corner mashed and a ding in the front of the door. Very disappointing, so we had to repackage and load (Heavy too) into a truck and exchange at the store. So much for not having that hassle. Works great no complaints, other than even when sitting between two cupboards it runs VERY Loudly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lats80
Anna, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
bought for my office at work and it fits perfectly
11/30/2012

Customer review by bannirabbit

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by bannirabbit
by bannirabbit

works great and is great to have in my office at work. has a lot of room in it and am sharing this refrigerator with other co workers and have lots of extra space. good price

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bannirabbit
washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
wonderful and perfecto
8/14/2012

Customer review by pianogirl39

5.0 stars 8/14/2012 by pianogirl39
by pianogirl39

Frig is great. Just what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pianogirl39
Windsor, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Lots of room
1/7/2013

Customer review by Terra0422

4.0 stars 1/7/2013 by Terra0422
by Terra0422

My 18.5 cu refridgerator died on Christmas Eve, and I needed a fast replacement. Liked the energy star rating on this model. Received it in good condition - just the small freezer area was slanted slightly but I did not need the freezer. The refridgerator holds much more than I thought.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Terra0422
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Unit
2/21/2013

Customer review by zephyrrob

4.0 stars 2/21/2013 by zephyrrob
by zephyrrob

Received well packaged. Unit easy to set up and get running. Excellent layout inside. Would give overall five stars except this unit is a little noisier than I'm used to for a refrigerator but good unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zephyrrob
Virginia Beach, Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Let there be LIGHT
4/17/2013

Customer review by wutsup4u

3.0 stars 4/17/2013 by wutsup4u
by wutsup4u

So far so good. mine is not noisey as everyone says but its only been couple days. I have read all the reviews and for some reason no one says anything about not having a LIGHT. is it mine or does that not matter to anyone. I would like to see what I`m getting without turning on a light switch. hopefully mine is just blown?. any comments?

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wutsup4u
Hixson, Tn.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Absolutely Garbage
8/16/2013

Customer review by CantonConnecticut

1.0 stars 8/16/2013 by CantonConnecticut
by CantonConnecticut

It works ok if you're looking for a refrigerator to last less than 1 year. This one died out at 11 months. The company won't fix it like promised under their 1 year warranty plan. I went to go see if they still sell these and of course, they do at Walmart. The catch is, the cashier has to enter the serial # into the cpu before you buy it. That says it all. People are returning these pieces of junk like crazy! Save your money!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CantonConnecticut
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Black & Decker 4.5-cu ft ENERGY STAR Refrigerator,
9/24/2012

Customer review by kdwells06

5.0 stars 9/24/2012 by kdwells06
by kdwells06

Seems to work well and do exactly what i wanted it for !!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kdwells06
Ozark Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews