Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 261 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

261 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

261 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
138
4 stars
52
3 stars
10
2 stars
12
1 stars
49
1-20 of 202 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 202 total reviews
1-20 of 202 reviews
So far, so good!
3/12/2014

Customer review by stuffthisreview

4.0 stars 3/12/2014 by stuffthisreview
by stuffthisreview
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The refrigerator arrived a week sooner than expected! The box was in perfect shape and so was the refrigerator. So far it is working great, but it's only been a few days since I got it. It's very quiet. I only wish that it had reversible doors (the hinge is on the right) and the handle was on the side instead of at the top since I'm putting it under a shelf - don't worry, there's plenty of air space around it - more than the recommended 4". I wonder why it says that it needs that much since it barely even gets warm on the outside. I'm planning on getting a container for the ice, (fill it up from my other freezer) therefore, I won't have to fool with the tiny ice tray. The freezer can hold a 9" X 9" X 4" container. So far, so good! P.S. Sorry about my nickname. This site refused about 50 other nicknames that I came up with, and was about to quit so I wrote "stuffthisreview" and guess what? It was the only name not already chosen by other reviewers. LOL!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
stuffthisreview
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Small, convenient. Works well.
9/19/2013

Customer review by Streamin1977

4.0 stars 9/19/2013 by Streamin1977
by Streamin1977
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The only thing I don't like about this unit is that the cross bar on the door that is supposed to hold items in place, always moves when I open the door and dumps out my water bottles. PIA Also, I purchased this and paid for it online, Site To Store. When I got to the store, the box was torn open exposing the compressor and such. I told the clerk I didn't want an open box, so she said to go out in to the store to pick up another one. No problem. When I got there the fridge was marked down almost $18 dollars less. When I got up to the clerk again, she was nice enough to adjust the price. However, if the box had not been damaged, I would have paid $18 more than I should have for the fridge. I feel this should have been caught at the register beforehand. Walmart should match their own prices!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Streamin1977
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not worth the money
1/14/2014

Customer review by Tonils

1.0 stars 1/14/2014 by Tonils
by Tonils

I purchased the mini fridge without the freezer three years ago for my office. It was great for about a year and then I moved offices. It stopped getting cold and I thought I did something to it in the move. Therefore, I waited until it was on sale again and purchased another unit. Same brand, same size. Again, it seems to have been good for one year and now it will not keep anything colder than just above room temperature. I researched to see if there was a part that culd be replaced and found that this happens a lot to this brand of fridge. I would never buy it again and I would not encourage anyone else to do so. Iwill try another brand.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tonils
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great small fridge
10/16/2013

Customer review by Manderschmander

5.0 stars 10/16/2013 by Manderschmander
by Manderschmander
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this to keep meal worms in for my leopard gecko, because I didn't think my roommates would appreciate containers of worms in the communal fridge with their food. It also works as a makeshift bedside table because it is the perfect size for the spot right next to my bed, and comes up just high enough for me to put my phone on at night when it charges. This is random information but it may help someone! :) The fridge seems to be working fine, and doesn't make too much noise that is noticeable when I am trying to sleep at night! I wish I could have gotten a slightly smaller one, because I don't need that much room, but all of the smaller ones that I found online had bad reviews and seemed cheap, so I went with this. I'll probably hide my stash of girl scout cookies in here too during that season. :)

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Manderschmander
Pomona, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great fridge - some details to know before buying
9/9/2012

Customer review by ABQValue

5.0 stars 9/9/2012 by ABQValue
by ABQValue
Top 1000 contributor

Just like everyone else here I really went back and forth before deciding to purchase this fridge. I too was concerned about all the bad reviews. But after doing some research I found out why the huge difference in opinions of either 5 star or 1 star. Black & Decker must have recently replaced the model that did not have a compressor and received such negative reviews (the $69 one). I found pics on the net that shows the non-compressor model having vents on the sides and what appears to be a fan inside the back wall. The new model ($78) has a compressor, no vents, and is far better as it works like a regular fridge. The product seems to be of good quality and well made. Note that the box it comes in is literally all the protection it has from dents so look for an unscathed box. Mine was perfect. The packaging was a clever design had they mentioned how to open it on the box. Instead I cut the plastic band then opened the top only to lay it onto its side to remove. But! After cutting the strap all you need to do is lift straight up on the box - out comes your fridge as the bottom is only held by that strap. Pretty cool had there been instructions (I've never purchase a fridge before so maybe this is normal). After plugging it in it sprang to life in about 2-3 minutes. Super quiet - I was the only one in the building at my office with nothing else running. It also began to cool quickly. I noticed that the sides and top became a bit warm so I ran to the store and came back to check on it for safety sakes. It was already getting cool inside 20 min after starting and the metal on the outside had begun to cool back down as well. I can't really comment on durability as I just plugged it in this afternoon so that's why the 3 star in that that category! But if all goes well it will last some time. And if it doesn't I sprang a whopping $7 for the refund warranty option from WalMart. Even then it's probably still is a chance but we'll see. I found it has even more room than I was imagining so that was a welcome sight! I think it's cleveryly designed to take up as little space as possible while giving me all the features and room inside I wanted. After a bit more research on who really makes these as I knew Black & Decker certainly didn't, I found they are actually the exact same Haier model that runs $5 - 10 more at other stores. Now, that being said of course it's made in China but my opinion about that is even changing lately after purchasing an iPhone also made in China. It had a little "Certified and Passed Quality Inspection paper inside with someone's stamp which added a bit of peace in mind knowing that someone actually looked at the thing before it left the plant. Time will tell but so far I am very impressed and satisfied with my purchase!

Was this review helpful? (185) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABQValue
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Brrrr doesn't come to mind....
3/13/2012

Customer review by mostxcellent

1.0 stars 3/13/2012 by mostxcellent
by mostxcellent

This is a waste of money. On high, it only keeps things cool. I've thrown out a number of dairy products before their time because the fridge doesn't keep it cold. It is about three months old and now looking for a mini fridge that actually keeps things cold. Too bad, it looked real nice.

Was this review helpful? (84) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mostxcellent
Would recommend to a friend? No
For the price and quality, this is excellent!
9/18/2013

Customer review by sbt2013

5.0 stars 9/18/2013 by sbt2013
by sbt2013
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Despite some of the negative reviews, I purchased this compact fridge for the guest bedroom. At first, I refused to accept the package from the delivery guy because the box is marked "Haier". To my surprise, this was carefully packed and no dents whatsoever. We carefully removed the tape and the little manual and plugged it in right away. This is not noisy at all, pretty quiet and sometimes I have to check because I don't hear anything. It is cold and made the first ice after a few hours. I did not even adjust the thermostat despite the hot summer weather. It fits perfectly on the shelf below the microwave (see photo). I am happy for this purchase from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sbt2013
Hollywood, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good product
11/11/2013

Customer review by JDLG1

5.0 stars 11/11/2013 by JDLG1
by JDLG1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Thinking it would be cool very much, I put a bunch of water bottles inside and set the fridge at highest setting, came back Monday and they were all frozen solid! Now the fridge is set to 3 of 7 and the stuff inside is still very, very cold. I just wish I would have bought one that's a little bit bigger. It will hold about 3 days worth of lunch and snacks.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JDLG1
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great!
9/4/2012

Customer review by comstud22

5.0 stars 9/4/2012 by comstud22
by comstud22

I was sort of apprehensive about buying because I did see quite a few negative reviews. I needed a fridge for my college dorm and this one worked out great. Its a nice size does not take up too much space and I am able to fit a good amount of food and drinks inside. The fridge got cool within a matter of minutes of set up. The mini freezer comes with an ice tray and actually created ice. My last mini fridge would not even freeze the water I put inside and this one performed the task in no time. And the price was great especially for a college student on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
comstud22
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Don't know why it hasn't worked out for others.
7/4/2012

Customer review by justhangingon

5.0 stars 7/4/2012 by justhangingon
by justhangingon

After reading all of the reviews it made me discouraged to buy the item but after weeks and weeks of use i've never had a single problem with this refrigerator. Some people are saying that it's not getting cold enough but make sure you turn the temperature dial up a few notches, mine is at 5 and is beyond cold.

Was this review helpful? (46) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
justhangingon
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Doesn't last...
2/6/2012

Customer review by cafecito

2.0 stars 2/6/2012 by cafecito
by cafecito

Fridge worked beautifully for about a year and a half, but suddenly it stopped cooling. Although it's a useful item to keep in your office, it doesn't last long enough to make it worth the money spent.

Was this review helpful? (115) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cafecito
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Mini Fridge
12/1/2013

Customer review by LittleRiverBand

5.0 stars 12/1/2013 by LittleRiverBand
by LittleRiverBand

I bought this mini fridge over three years ago at Walmart. I took it home and set it on the lowest temperature. It stayed room temperature over night. The next day, I returned it for another white fridge. This one works great. It keeps food and drink items cold enough. It is very small though. Nice removable shelves, very durable, and it's very quiet. Still in mint condition after three years of use. Very reliable and easy to clean. I would buy another one if I needed it.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LittleRiverBand
Cumberland, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/25/2013

Customer review by WillRob

3.0 stars 4/25/2013 by WillRob
by WillRob
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was upset when this order arrived. This Black & Decker refrigerator was packed in a box that had the word "HAIER" imprinted on it, so I thought that Walmart had made a mistake and sent me the wrong refrigerator. I did not open the box, but wrote Walmart about the mistake. A few days later I decided to open the box, and lo and behold, it did contain a Black & Decker refrigerator, the one that I had ordered. The refrigerator replaces a white Black & Decker refrigerator that had quit cooling, and I prefered another white one, but settled for the black on, because white was not available. Walmart is very customer oriented, and responded to my original complaint, with a offer to replace this refrigerator with the correct one. However, that did not become necessary since the box actually did contain a Black & Decker refrigerator to begin with. I have the new one installed nd it is working just fine. I have even found use for the unwanted Freezer compartment.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WillRob
Mt. Carmel, Illinois.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do Not Buy
1/30/2012

Customer review by Coffee4203

1.0 stars 1/30/2012 by Coffee4203
by Coffee4203

Do not waste your money. It does not work-it does not get cold.

Was this review helpful? (69) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Coffee4203
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
not a good fridge
1/17/2012

Customer review by 702bgs

1.0 stars 1/17/2012 by 702bgs
by 702bgs

its not good for many reasons one is it doesnt have aa compressor to actually make it cold it sucks air from your room and blows it inside. so if your heat is up the fridge want even get cold. unless your house is like 50 degress i dont recomend this fridge. for something that actuall gets cold look for a fridge/freezer

Was this review helpful? (157) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
702bgs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Stopped working in less than a year
5/6/2012

Customer review by Dnine

1.0 stars 5/6/2012 by Dnine
by Dnine

I purchased this refrigerator in Sept of 2011 and it stopped working in March of 2012. I am grateful it worked until the time I really needed it, but unhappy that it didn't last a full year. I am in the process of trying to contact the Black&Decker service number provided in the book it came with. I do not plan or recommend purchasing this product unless it's purpose is for short term use and will be discarded afterwards.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dnine
Richmond
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Black and Decker vs Igloo
12/24/2013

Customer review by MommaD220

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by MommaD220
by MommaD220

I spent several days researching dorm refrigerators for my daughter. We decided to go with the Igloo 1.7 cu ft. Had it delivered to the home. It arrived in a shabby box and the refrigerator was slightly damaged from the delivery. We returned it mainly due to the noise it made while running. Decided to order the Black and Decker 1.7 cu ft. site to store. Very impressed from the moment we picked it up. The box was intact and the unit was in perfect condition. This refrigerator is so quiet and began cooling instantly. Very satisfied with our purchase.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MommaD220
Montgomery, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Microwave Anyone?
5/7/2012

Customer review by BurningUp2

1.0 stars 5/7/2012 by BurningUp2
by BurningUp2

I'm going to do my best to sell my Black and Decker online as a microwave. It does not keep food cold at all. It worked for the first month or two and then quit cooling altogether. I wished I would have kept my receipt and box. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BurningUp2
Short Lifespan
6/20/2012

Customer review by TheOrderingFemaleCritic

1.0 stars 6/20/2012 by TheOrderingFemaleCritic
by TheOrderingFemaleCritic

I had this model of mini-fridge for a little over a year past the warranty, but as soon as the year past, it started to decrease with the way it cooled itself. By about 4 months after the year warranty, even on the highest setting, it didn't cool down. I tried to unplug it for 30 seconds after removing everything from the compact fridge to the house fridge and waited 24 hours for it to re-cool, but it never did. In fact, it began to leak water on the inside. I tried calling the manufacturers to see if anything could be done by myself, but since the product is past its warranty, there was nothing to do but to get it repaired or replace it. $150 isn't worth replacing it. Find a better product, but NOT this one!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheOrderingFemaleCritic
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
EXCELENT LITTLE REFRIGERATOR
5/8/2013

Customer review by PITMAN1

5.0 stars 5/8/2013 by PITMAN1
by PITMAN1

I wanted a small refrigerator for my workshop. I have a 4.7 Igloo in my place of business, which does great. WalMart had the 1.7 Black and Decker on sale for $68.00 Lowes was $89.00, too much. Anyway Igloo, Black and Decker, are all the same, made by Haier. I bought the B&d last week, brought it home, plugged it up with a 24 pk of can drinks in it. The thermostat goes from 1 to 9. I set it on 3 and the temp stays right on 33 degrees. On 5 the temp went to 29 degrees. It keeps the temp right on the money and it runs so quite, you can barely hear it. I am 100% satisfied and would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PITMAN1
WINSTON SALEM, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 202 total reviews
1-20 of 202 reviews