Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 671 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

671 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

671 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
406
4 stars
184
3 stars
37
2 stars
17
1 stars
27
1-20 of 653 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 653 total reviews
1-20 of 653 reviews
Wonderful safe seat for the price
7/5/2014

Customer review by Carriagepushingmomma

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Carriagepushingmomma
by Carriagepushingmomma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love how well made and simple this seat is to use. If you read the entire manual and use pool noodles for recline angle, it's a fantastic affordable seat for many children. I cannot give it 5 stars though; the starting harness slots are too high for an infant. Although it is crash tested to begin at 5 lbs, that does not mean a 5 lb newborn will have a high enough shoulder/torso height to fit the harness slots at or below for rear facing. My 2.5 year old is only on the second slot. The capacity to fit tall children is superb, but not infants.

Was this review helpful? (15) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carriagepushingmomma
Niagara Falls NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great value!
7/29/2014

Customer review by kloopsy

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by kloopsy
by kloopsy

We researched convertible car seats for months before deciding on this one. I didn't want to spend hundreds on one seat especially having multiple cars. I did order Diono strap covers for this seat and was very pleased! The seat is very soft, we went with it for the comfort, price and ease of use. I love the black and grey, gender neutral is great! She seems to enjoy her seat so far. Excited for the longevity of this seat being such a high rated rear facing car seat and having such a petite little. This seat really is the best for your buck!

Was this review helpful? (13) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kloopsy
az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Held up in horrible crash!
9/2/2013

Customer review by MrsFrugality

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by MrsFrugality
by MrsFrugality

I just wanted to share our story. We were on a very tight budget when we purchased this seat for our daughter. Originally we had bought a cheaper-larger seat, but it wouldnt fit in our car. We were pleased to find this one as is was compact enough to fit in our small KIA. About a week ago we were T-boned dead on. My 8 month old daughter was behind the passenger seat. Not only did she survive the crash, but she didnt have a single scratch!!! This seat absolutely saved my daughters life. I was going to purchase it again, but decided to upgrade to the Safety 1st - Complete Air 65 Convertible Car Seat. If you are on a tight budget this is the seat to buy!!

Was this review helpful? (581) (38)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsFrugality
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Seat and Great price
5/23/2013

Customer review by Mbags19782

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Mbags19782
by Mbags19782

After doing research and reasing lots of great reviews I decided to purchase this car seat for my 7 month old son. Although he had not yet outgrown his infant carrier (he's only 15 lbs), I had to purchase a new car seat due to a car accident and it didn't make sense to purchase another carrier if he would be outgrowing it soon. Installing this seat was a breeze. The seat is well padded and seems super comfy. The padded headrest can be adjusted to your child height. He loves it. The only complaint I have is loosening the harness is a little tough sometimes. The seat fits in a smaller car wonderfully and still leaves room for other passangers in the back seat. I love that I can use this seat rear facing to 40 lbs and forward facing to 65 lbs. Overall I and extremely satisfied with this car seat and would definitely reccommed it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mbags19782
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Car Seat!! Unbeatable price!
7/5/2013

Customer review by Gracie313

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Gracie313
by Gracie313
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I seriously evaluated a lot of convertible car seats, I read online reviews, and followed parent blogs. When it was time to buy a convertible car seat, I also went to the Consumer Reports site to check for safety ratings. I drive a Kia Sportage which is on the small side, and needed something that would easily fit in the back seat and still let the front passenger sit comfortably without being forced up against the dash. I am soooo happy with this seat. Even in the rear facing position, this seat is so comfortable for my 11 month old grandaughter and the sides still allow her to look out which is great. It's cushy, well made, highly safety rated by consumer reports, and compact enough to easily fit two in the back of my small car. In fact the company says 3 of these seats can easily fit in the rear seat of a car. And all this for far under $80!! My daughter is wishing she would have bought this seat instead of the $225 one she bought. One of the best buys ever. You will not regret getting this car seat.

Was this review helpful? (27) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gracie313
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great carseat, would buy again
10/26/2012

Customer review by JRsBeachMommy

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by JRsBeachMommy
by JRsBeachMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think this carseat is great! :) We bought it for the extended weight limit of up to 65lbs still being able to sit in a five point harness. It has replaced our Alpha Omega carseat that was in the main car we travel in with our son, and the Alpha was moved to our other vehicle. It's comfortable, gender neutral so when he outgrows it our baby girl can use it, and it fits perfectly in our Honda Accord EXL, as well as in our Nissan Frontier extended cab truck (I tried it out in there too just to see). The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cup holder it came with is kind of flimsy. My sons sippy cups often lean to the side causing his milk to drip out a bit. I took it off and ended up buying one of those seatbelt held in place seat organizers with two built in insulated cup holder pockets in the front (made by Eddie Bauer). It keeps his drink cold and he can easily reach it and put it back on his own from the seat. I would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend to a friend :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRsBeachMommy
Lake Butler, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wish I had tried it first
11/10/2014

Customer review by LostSaga

2.0 stars 11/10/2014 by LostSaga
by LostSaga

After ordering the Safety 1st - Guide 65 based on the reviews, I learned that it's better for car seats to try them out and see for yourself. It is not very highly rated for ease of use, which I also found out after I purchased it. It was not hard to figure out the install but you have to shove the seat belt or latch strap through hard plastic and your hands will get scratched up. I had to put a towel underneath it to get the proper recline angle. Not a big deal except you can't really tell you're going to need this until it's installed and then you have uninstall it to put the towel under it. Feels very secure though installed with the lap/shoulder belt. After the initial struggle, it is relatively easy to get my son in and out of it. Biggest complaint is that it is very hard to tighten the harness while rear-facing, since the strap you pull to tighten it sits flush against the seat back. I would not reccomend this seat because of that. Having a tight harness is kind of the point...

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LostSaga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Car Seat!
5/14/2012

Customer review by KJsMomma

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by KJsMomma
by KJsMomma

I love this car seat! It's great for smaller cars or as a second seat for your 'other car' or grandma's car! It doesn't have some of the bells and whistles as some other expensive models, but who care's it's only $80. All car seats have to be crash tested the same way, it's just as safe as a $200 in my option. I was in search of a second car seat to fit my 19 month old son #34in & 28lbs# and was looking for something that would rear face up to 40lbs because I want to rear face him up until he's at least 2yr or 2.5yrs. # I should note I have another car seat that I bought a year ago that rear faces only to 35lbs and I paid $199.99 for it, so we'll switch him full time to this Safety 1st seat for rear facing until he's 40lbs.# He fits great in it! He's only on the the second shoulder harness slot, he has 3 more slots till he's grown out of it, so there is tons of room for growth! He seems to really like it and is comfortable, the fabric is soft and seem to be enough padding. And I love the added safety of the adjustable headrest. I highly reccomend this seat!

Was this review helpful? (63) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJsMomma
Bellingham, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
I WOULD recommend this to a friend who wants...
1/31/2016

Customer review by ingram1225

3.0 stars 1/31/2016 by ingram1225
by ingram1225

... to forward face only or has flat seats. I could not get this thing to install securely in a 2010 Mazda3 or a 2011 Mazda CX-9 rear seats using the seat belt which is the only way to install rear facing (LATCH belts are for fwd facing only... I bought this a year ago and the LATCH belts are bolted to fwd facing with no way of removing the bolt). FWD facing, using either belt or LATCH it installs great and securely. The problem is, in rear facing, after putting all my weight on the carseat (to compress the air out of the seat), I can still flip the car seat over (again, using the belt). Both of my cars obviously have automatic seat belt retractors, and yes, I pulled the seat belt out ALL the way to set the retractor up). The car seat will not budge moving side to side or front to back if the car seat is parallel to the car's seat, but without any effort, lifting up on the car seat reveals that one can actually turn it on it's side. This does not make me feel comfortable at all. My next step is to take it to a certified carseat tech. to try to get it to work. I have tried everything from a towel to a noodle to breaking my back. I will update if things change.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ingram1225
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very pleasantly surprised
3/12/2012

Customer review by ARandACsMom

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by ARandACsMom
by ARandACsMom

I suddenly found myself needing to buy a new convertible carseat for my toddler, as our Evenflo Triumph LX only rear faces to 35 lbs and my daughter (2 1/2) is 35 lbs, and I am not ready to turn her forward facing for safety reasons. But I could not afford $170-$300 for a carseat that would fit her rear facing. I bought this one and am just amazed. First, according to the manual, they are safe to ride in it rear facing until the top of their head reaches the top of the head rest (which moves up), not with an inch in between as many carseats are...which means my 36" two year old has a lot more room to grow before turning forward facing. It RF to 40 lbs, and even though it isn't rated for this height (only to 40 inches), my 39 lb, 42 inch almost-five-year old fit in it rear facing with his head just even with the top of the headrest. I was also surprised at how comfortable the carseat seemed...side impact head protection and EPS foam...Not hard as a brick like the Scenera. And lastly, they really are not lying when they say it is a compact carseat. Though my daughter had plenty of room in it, it looked tiny compared to our Evenflo Triumph. Sitting in one of the captains' chairs of our Grand Caravan minivan, i could put both arm rests down on either side without it touching them, and with the front seat in a normal position I could easily get between the back of her carseat and the front seat...they weren't even close to touching as with many other rear facing seats. The box shows pictures of these seats three-across in the back of a standard sized car, and I believe it.This carseat didn't take up much more room than our son's Evenflo Big Kid Sport High back booster. I am very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (257) (28)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ARandACsMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Defective, Poor instructions, and Poor design
1/23/2016

Customer review by Ciara

2.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Ciara
by Ciara

I ordered this carseat online and had it shipped to my house. I am expecting a baby next month and I thought this would work great and liked the price. However, upon receiving it the carseat came in a regular box like it had been used and just had a small sticker on the outside which is not how carseats usually come. I inspected the carseat and it looked good. My husband and I proceeded to try and install it. The cup holder kept falling out of place and was difficult to attach especially since the cover had to be removed. The instructions were very difficult to follow and the pictures were not explanatory. After going through a few steps I noticed that both of the elastic straps that hold the cover into place were ripping. I originally picked this carseat because I have a compact car and knew it would fit. In the end I returned it and decided to go with a Graco Fit4Me 65. It was quite a bit more expensive, but it seems a lot safer for a newborn and the instructions were very easy to follow. It fits great in my compact Kia Spectra.

Was this review helpful? (1) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ciara
Would recommend to a friend? No
Comfy little seat
11/27/2012

Customer review by BabyPiers

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by BabyPiers
by BabyPiers

We've had this seat a couple of weeks now and love it! The deep head rest and plush sides doubles as a nice pillow for napping, which is VERY important for our long trek to town. Rear facing does require several towels underneath to recline properly, other than that, it installed easily in my Murano. The buckle strap does get twisted easily, but is just as easy to untwist it. The only complaint would be the manual re-threading of the straps, but that is minor. **A NOTE IF YOUR BUYING FOR AN INFANT-- Amazon has this seat, which costs a little more, but is pictured with the padding inserts around the torso area for a snug, comfy ride for your tiny infant, my daughter is 11 months and past that, but, if i was buying for a newborn, that info would interest me....

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BabyPiers
NW, Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Safe plus economical
6/5/2012

Customer review by tlc4uk

4.0 stars 6/5/2012 by tlc4uk
by tlc4uk

I purchased this for my 6 mo. old son who had outgrown his infant seat. I was looking for a seat that would not take up a great deal of space in the back seat but without compromising on safety. This is a perfect seat. I am continuing to use it as a rear facing seat and it takes no more space than his infant seat. I have a Honda Accord with this seat in the rear middle, I am still able to accommodate two basic travel booster seats when my niece and nephew are running about with me. I had intended to purchase a comparable seat in the Eddie Bauer line; however, this seat is primarily identical to it. The only exception is a small pad in the other brand. The price on this one however is substantially less so I could not see paying a higher price for the same style seat. Pros: *The additional head support. *Comfort- it is very well padded/cushioned under baby's bottom and back. *Doesn't take up a lot of room...can still accommodate 2 passengers in the back seat with the seat *Adjustable harness, buckle, and head support to grow with child Cons: *Some difficulty bracing the seat in the reclined position for babies under 20 lbs. (This could be unique to my make of car...the seat has to be in the middle due to side impact air bags). The biggest plus is my son loves it!!

Was this review helpful? (63) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tlc4uk
Union City, TN.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great seat so far!
8/15/2012

Customer review by ChildCareMama

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by ChildCareMama
by ChildCareMama

We've only been using this car seat for a couple of weeks, but we like it so far. My husband has a Pontiac Grand Prix, which have compact back seats, and it fits perfectly. My son is 15 months old; he's 30" and 25.5lbs and rear-facing still. We have him in the middle in the back seat, and the car seat fits perfectly between the 2 front seats without having to adjust our seats. I use a Graco My Ride 65, which we love, in my van. But it is way too large to fit in my husband's car. So we wanted something comparable, but smaller in size. This was the best option for us. The only complaint I have is that the straps seem to twist easily. We've always had the best luck with Graco straps, so these aren't quite as nice as Graco's seem to be. My son fits in it great, and has plenty of room to grow with the seat. And you can't beat the price on this!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ChildCareMama
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Super Easy Installation/Fit
11/30/2012

Customer review by PickyVTMama

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by PickyVTMama
by PickyVTMama

I installed this in 5 minutes in the Walmart parking lot, right out of the box. I read other reviews saying that it was shifty and loose. This seat is totally a bargain at the price, and it TOTALLY DOES NOT MOVE once installed *properly*. Just feed the lower seat anchor strap back through the back of the seat and pull from that angle. I'm 300 pounds and tried to move this seat once installed and it wouldn't budge AT ALL. Not bad! One downside is that the buckle in the front was hard to unhook, but considering that my 15 month old could figure out the Evenflo chest buckle already, I'm okay with adults having to put effort into unbuckling it. This isn't the Lotus of car seats but it serves it's purpose, it's not hideous, the price is right, and I feel 100% comfortable putting my first and only child into it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PickyVTMama
Montpelier, VT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
If they made an adult sized one, I'd use it!
10/14/2015

Customer review by becca6794

5.0 stars 10/14/2015 by becca6794
by becca6794

I originally bought the Scenera convertible carseat, my son just turned a year old and was too big for his infant carseat, I tried to put the Scenera in the truck rear facing, and it was not happening, I then tried to put it in there front facing & it was just so big and bulky. I went to Walmart and found this one for $79.99 & I couldn't be ore pleased with it. It fits rear facing & it is so soft and cushiony, my son almost instantly falls asleep in it & I love the headrest because I don't have to worry about his head flopping while he's asleep and it can grow with him! I'm very pleased with my purchase! I'm one very happy momma!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
becca6794
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Compact, comfortable seat for a great price
12/24/2015

Customer review by Flygoose

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Flygoose
by Flygoose

This seat is the best rear-facing-to-65lb seat for the price that I could find. It has a 5-point harness and an adjustable head rest. My 22 month old has plenty of room to grow in it. I have a larger sedan (Impala), but I can fit my baby's infant car seat in the middle, and this seat right next to it, both rear-facing (As long as I don't attach the cup holder). My son seems comfortable in the seat. The harness was easy to adjust to his size and it was fairly straight-forward to install in the car with the LATCH system. When I was looking for this car seat, I wanted something that would let my son be rear-facing as long as possible, and then forward facing as long as possible so as to be the most safe and economical. This is a great seat for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flygoose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome Seat!
6/12/2012

Customer review by TWINDADA

5.0 stars 6/12/2012 by TWINDADA
by TWINDADA

My Wife and I bought two of these seats for our twin boys. We have a minivan with two captains chairs. These seats are much smaller than the larger models and fit perfectly! They are soft with very good head cusions on both sides of their heads, and very spacious. The boys have plenty of room to move around in the seat while securely fastned in. I would definitely recommend these seats. The boys are 14mo and 25in tall with easy adjustments on the seat, they should last a long time!

Was this review helpful? (22) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TWINDADA
Newton,KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice car seat. We love Safety 1st car seats!
6/10/2012

Customer review by ProudINDYMomma

4.0 stars 6/10/2012 by ProudINDYMomma
by ProudINDYMomma

The only dray backs about this car seat is t hat it doesn't recline and the cup holder it kinda flimsy. It is a perfect size for cars! It is definitely a space saver! With our old car seat it took up so much room you really couldn't seat three in the backseat comfortably, but now we can! We would recommend this car seat to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ProudINDYMomma
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Survivors of a car crash
11/6/2015

Customer review by GratefulMother

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by GratefulMother
by GratefulMother

My daughter and I were driving in my car on our way back home. As we were driving on a two lane back road my car hit the shoulder, I tried to swerve back onto the road. My car went off the road, on its side, into a ditch, and flipped twice. I am so happy and proud to say that when I got my daughter out of her Safety 1 carseat that she was perfectly fine and didnt have a scratch on her. This carseat is a blessing and true creation of God. After all that we went through she came out of the accident fine. And I will be buying this carseat again.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GratefulMother
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 653 total reviews
1-20 of 653 reviews