Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 613 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

613 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

613 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
364
4 stars
174
3 stars
36
2 stars
17
1 stars
22
1-20 of 595 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 595 total reviews
1-20 of 595 reviews
Great value!
7/29/2014

Customer review by kloopsy

5.0 stars 7/29/2014 by kloopsy
by kloopsy

We researched convertible car seats for months before deciding on this one. I didn't want to spend hundreds on one seat especially having multiple cars. I did order Diono strap covers for this seat and was very pleased! The seat is very soft, we went with it for the comfort, price and ease of use. I love the black and grey, gender neutral is great! She seems to enjoy her seat so far. Excited for the longevity of this seat being such a high rated rear facing car seat and having such a petite little. This seat really is the best for your buck!

Was this review helpful? (9) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kloopsy
az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful safe seat for the price
7/5/2014

Customer review by Carriagepushingmomma

4.0 stars 7/5/2014 by Carriagepushingmomma
by Carriagepushingmomma
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love how well made and simple this seat is to use. If you read the entire manual and use pool noodles for recline angle, it's a fantastic affordable seat for many children. I cannot give it 5 stars though; the starting harness slots are too high for an infant. Although it is crash tested to begin at 5 lbs, that does not mean a 5 lb newborn will have a high enough shoulder/torso height to fit the harness slots at or below for rear facing. My 2.5 year old is only on the second slot. The capacity to fit tall children is superb, but not infants.

Was this review helpful? (13) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carriagepushingmomma
Niagara Falls NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Held up in horrible crash!
9/2/2013

Customer review by MrsFrugality

5.0 stars 9/2/2013 by MrsFrugality
by MrsFrugality

I just wanted to share our story. We were on a very tight budget when we purchased this seat for our daughter. Originally we had bought a cheaper-larger seat, but it wouldnt fit in our car. We were pleased to find this one as is was compact enough to fit in our small KIA. About a week ago we were T-boned dead on. My 8 month old daughter was behind the passenger seat. Not only did she survive the crash, but she didnt have a single scratch!!! This seat absolutely saved my daughters life. I was going to purchase it again, but decided to upgrade to the Safety 1st - Complete Air 65 Convertible Car Seat. If you are on a tight budget this is the seat to buy!!

Was this review helpful? (510) (36)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsFrugality
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Seat and Great price
5/23/2013

Customer review by Mbags19782

5.0 stars 5/23/2013 by Mbags19782
by Mbags19782

After doing research and reasing lots of great reviews I decided to purchase this car seat for my 7 month old son. Although he had not yet outgrown his infant carrier (he's only 15 lbs), I had to purchase a new car seat due to a car accident and it didn't make sense to purchase another carrier if he would be outgrowing it soon. Installing this seat was a breeze. The seat is well padded and seems super comfy. The padded headrest can be adjusted to your child height. He loves it. The only complaint I have is loosening the harness is a little tough sometimes. The seat fits in a smaller car wonderfully and still leaves room for other passangers in the back seat. I love that I can use this seat rear facing to 40 lbs and forward facing to 65 lbs. Overall I and extremely satisfied with this car seat and would definitely reccommed it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mbags19782
Citrus Heights, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Defective, Poor instructions, and Poor design
1/23/2016

Customer review by Ciara

2.0 stars 1/23/2016 by Ciara
by Ciara

I ordered this carseat online and had it shipped to my house. I am expecting a baby next month and I thought this would work great and liked the price. However, upon receiving it the carseat came in a regular box like it had been used and just had a small sticker on the outside which is not how carseats usually come. I inspected the carseat and it looked good. My husband and I proceeded to try and install it. The cup holder kept falling out of place and was difficult to attach especially since the cover had to be removed. The instructions were very difficult to follow and the pictures were not explanatory. After going through a few steps I noticed that both of the elastic straps that hold the cover into place were ripping. I originally picked this carseat because I have a compact car and knew it would fit. In the end I returned it and decided to go with a Graco Fit4Me 65. It was quite a bit more expensive, but it seems a lot safer for a newborn and the instructions were very easy to follow. It fits great in my compact Kia Spectra.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ciara
Would recommend to a friend? No
I WOULD recommend this to a friend who wants...
1/31/2016

Customer review by ingram1225

3.0 stars 1/31/2016 by ingram1225
by ingram1225

... to forward face only or has flat seats. I could not get this thing to install securely in a 2010 Mazda3 or a 2011 Mazda CX-9 rear seats using the seat belt which is the only way to install rear facing (LATCH belts are for fwd facing only... I bought this a year ago and the LATCH belts are bolted to fwd facing with no way of removing the bolt). FWD facing, using either belt or LATCH it installs great and securely. The problem is, in rear facing, after putting all my weight on the carseat (to compress the air out of the seat), I can still flip the car seat over (again, using the belt). Both of my cars obviously have automatic seat belt retractors, and yes, I pulled the seat belt out ALL the way to set the retractor up). The car seat will not budge moving side to side or front to back if the car seat is parallel to the car's seat, but without any effort, lifting up on the car seat reveals that one can actually turn it on it's side. This does not make me feel comfortable at all. My next step is to take it to a certified carseat tech. to try to get it to work. I have tried everything from a towel to a noodle to breaking my back. I will update if things change.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ingram1225
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Fantastic Car Seat!! Unbeatable price!
7/5/2013

Customer review by Gracie313

5.0 stars 7/5/2013 by Gracie313
by Gracie313
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I seriously evaluated a lot of convertible car seats, I read online reviews, and followed parent blogs. When it was time to buy a convertible car seat, I also went to the Consumer Reports site to check for safety ratings. I drive a Kia Sportage which is on the small side, and needed something that would easily fit in the back seat and still let the front passenger sit comfortably without being forced up against the dash. I am soooo happy with this seat. Even in the rear facing position, this seat is so comfortable for my 11 month old grandaughter and the sides still allow her to look out which is great. It's cushy, well made, highly safety rated by consumer reports, and compact enough to easily fit two in the back of my small car. In fact the company says 3 of these seats can easily fit in the rear seat of a car. And all this for far under $80!! My daughter is wishing she would have bought this seat instead of the $225 one she bought. One of the best buys ever. You will not regret getting this car seat.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gracie313
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wish I had tried it first
11/10/2014

Customer review by LostSaga

2.0 stars 11/10/2014 by LostSaga
by LostSaga

After ordering the Safety 1st - Guide 65 based on the reviews, I learned that it's better for car seats to try them out and see for yourself. It is not very highly rated for ease of use, which I also found out after I purchased it. It was not hard to figure out the install but you have to shove the seat belt or latch strap through hard plastic and your hands will get scratched up. I had to put a towel underneath it to get the proper recline angle. Not a big deal except you can't really tell you're going to need this until it's installed and then you have uninstall it to put the towel under it. Feels very secure though installed with the lap/shoulder belt. After the initial struggle, it is relatively easy to get my son in and out of it. Biggest complaint is that it is very hard to tighten the harness while rear-facing, since the strap you pull to tighten it sits flush against the seat back. I would not reccomend this seat because of that. Having a tight harness is kind of the point...

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LostSaga
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great carseat, would buy again
10/26/2012

Customer review by JRsBeachMommy

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by JRsBeachMommy
by JRsBeachMommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think this carseat is great! :) We bought it for the extended weight limit of up to 65lbs still being able to sit in a five point harness. It has replaced our Alpha Omega carseat that was in the main car we travel in with our son, and the Alpha was moved to our other vehicle. It's comfortable, gender neutral so when he outgrows it our baby girl can use it, and it fits perfectly in our Honda Accord EXL, as well as in our Nissan Frontier extended cab truck (I tried it out in there too just to see). The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the cup holder it came with is kind of flimsy. My sons sippy cups often lean to the side causing his milk to drip out a bit. I took it off and ended up buying one of those seatbelt held in place seat organizers with two built in insulated cup holder pockets in the front (made by Eddie Bauer). It keeps his drink cold and he can easily reach it and put it back on his own from the seat. I would definitely buy again and would definitely recommend to a friend :)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JRsBeachMommy
Lake Butler, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Compact, comfortable seat for a great price
12/24/2015

Customer review by Flygoose

5.0 stars 12/24/2015 by Flygoose
by Flygoose

This seat is the best rear-facing-to-65lb seat for the price that I could find. It has a 5-point harness and an adjustable head rest. My 22 month old has plenty of room to grow in it. I have a larger sedan (Impala), but I can fit my baby's infant car seat in the middle, and this seat right next to it, both rear-facing (As long as I don't attach the cup holder). My son seems comfortable in the seat. The harness was easy to adjust to his size and it was fairly straight-forward to install in the car with the LATCH system. When I was looking for this car seat, I wanted something that would let my son be rear-facing as long as possible, and then forward facing as long as possible so as to be the most safe and economical. This is a great seat for a great price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flygoose
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Car Seat!
5/14/2012

Customer review by KJsMomma

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by KJsMomma
by KJsMomma

I love this car seat! It's great for smaller cars or as a second seat for your 'other car' or grandma's car! It doesn't have some of the bells and whistles as some other expensive models, but who care's it's only $80. All car seats have to be crash tested the same way, it's just as safe as a $200 in my option. I was in search of a second car seat to fit my 19 month old son #34in & 28lbs# and was looking for something that would rear face up to 40lbs because I want to rear face him up until he's at least 2yr or 2.5yrs. # I should note I have another car seat that I bought a year ago that rear faces only to 35lbs and I paid $199.99 for it, so we'll switch him full time to this Safety 1st seat for rear facing until he's 40lbs.# He fits great in it! He's only on the the second shoulder harness slot, he has 3 more slots till he's grown out of it, so there is tons of room for growth! He seems to really like it and is comfortable, the fabric is soft and seem to be enough padding. And I love the added safety of the adjustable headrest. I highly reccomend this seat!

Was this review helpful? (62) (32)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KJsMomma
Bellingham, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
After two weeks of searching....
1/21/2016

Customer review by Thismomdidtheresearch

5.0 stars 1/21/2016 by Thismomdidtheresearch
by Thismomdidtheresearch

So many to choose from I was searching for a compact seat to accommodate my small frame 2yr old under $100 this seat is the BEST! Adjustable head rest, comfy padded, separate buckle latch (no matching up pieces). I currently have this seat in a Dodge neon & Nissan rouge rear facing & it fits perfect! I like it to b/c it was the only one who accommodated children to 65lbs. Two seat for $150!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Thismomdidtheresearch
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
If they made an adult sized one, I'd use it!
10/14/2015

Customer review by becca6794

5.0 stars 10/14/2015 by becca6794
by becca6794

I originally bought the Scenera convertible carseat, my son just turned a year old and was too big for his infant carseat, I tried to put the Scenera in the truck rear facing, and it was not happening, I then tried to put it in there front facing & it was just so big and bulky. I went to Walmart and found this one for $79.99 & I couldn't be ore pleased with it. It fits rear facing & it is so soft and cushiony, my son almost instantly falls asleep in it & I love the headrest because I don't have to worry about his head flopping while he's asleep and it can grow with him! I'm very pleased with my purchase! I'm one very happy momma!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
becca6794
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Car seat
1/22/2016

Customer review by Diane

3.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Diane
by Diane

I ordered this for my daughter in MN. I liked the reviews and the look . However after receiving it she noticed no handle. She had to return it

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diane
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very pleasantly surprised
3/12/2012

Customer review by ARandACsMom

5.0 stars 3/12/2012 by ARandACsMom
by ARandACsMom

I suddenly found myself needing to buy a new convertible carseat for my toddler, as our Evenflo Triumph LX only rear faces to 35 lbs and my daughter (2 1/2) is 35 lbs, and I am not ready to turn her forward facing for safety reasons. But I could not afford $170-$300 for a carseat that would fit her rear facing. I bought this one and am just amazed. First, according to the manual, they are safe to ride in it rear facing until the top of their head reaches the top of the head rest (which moves up), not with an inch in between as many carseats are...which means my 36" two year old has a lot more room to grow before turning forward facing. It RF to 40 lbs, and even though it isn't rated for this height (only to 40 inches), my 39 lb, 42 inch almost-five-year old fit in it rear facing with his head just even with the top of the headrest. I was also surprised at how comfortable the carseat seemed...side impact head protection and EPS foam...Not hard as a brick like the Scenera. And lastly, they really are not lying when they say it is a compact carseat. Though my daughter had plenty of room in it, it looked tiny compared to our Evenflo Triumph. Sitting in one of the captains' chairs of our Grand Caravan minivan, i could put both arm rests down on either side without it touching them, and with the front seat in a normal position I could easily get between the back of her carseat and the front seat...they weren't even close to touching as with many other rear facing seats. The box shows pictures of these seats three-across in the back of a standard sized car, and I believe it.This carseat didn't take up much more room than our son's Evenflo Big Kid Sport High back booster. I am very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (245) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ARandACsMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Survivors of a car crash
11/6/2015

Customer review by GratefulMother

5.0 stars 11/6/2015 by GratefulMother
by GratefulMother

My daughter and I were driving in my car on our way back home. As we were driving on a two lane back road my car hit the shoulder, I tried to swerve back onto the road. My car went off the road, on its side, into a ditch, and flipped twice. I am so happy and proud to say that when I got my daughter out of her Safety 1 carseat that she was perfectly fine and didnt have a scratch on her. This carseat is a blessing and true creation of God. After all that we went through she came out of the accident fine. And I will be buying this carseat again.

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GratefulMother
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great car seat.
11/1/2015

Customer review by bestcarseat

5.0 stars 11/1/2015 by bestcarseat
by bestcarseat

I love safety first and definitely wanted to stick with the safety 1st brand, the car seat I had for my son was starting to get too small for him and I didn't want to get one that he was forward facing in since he is only 1. I love that fact it is rear facing up to 40 lbs and he is only 26 lbs so he will be rear facing for a while which is what I wanted. it's easy to install I love the seat latches I prefer them over the seat belt. and it is light weight and easy to carry.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bestcarseat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
perfect
1/20/2016

Customer review by iris1548

5.0 stars 1/20/2016 by iris1548
by iris1548

prefect size for my growing boy

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
iris1548
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great quality, compact size, great value
12/6/2015

Customer review by Jomama

5.0 stars 12/6/2015 by Jomama
by Jomama

Great car seat for compact cars. We needed one that fits in my husband's Chevy Volt without taking up too much leg room and this is perfect. Many of the full size car seats are very bulky in depth and you end up needing to push the passenger seat all the way up when the car seat is rear-facing. The fabric was also surprisingly very nice and soft. As always, Walmart had the best price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jomama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
love it!!
1/19/2016

Customer review by Monica

5.0 stars 1/19/2016 by Monica
by Monica

Very nice comfy chair. Baby loves it!!! Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monica
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 595 total reviews
1-20 of 595 reviews