Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

16 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

69%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 stars
1
1-14 of 14 total reviews
69%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

For $36 Should Handle Any Home Networking Need
8/27/2012

Customer review by rkmiller

5.0 stars 8/27/2012 by rkmiller
by rkmiller

Replaced a Cisco E2400 Dual-Band with this because I was getting some frequent networking errors and drops in service. Figured the old KISS principle would work -- I also have a TrendNet gaming adapter hooked to a Toshiba Blu-Ray player and was impressed with its performance. Basically the same as the Cisco, except it only broadcasts in the 2.4 Ghz range, but that is sufficient unless you are running a lot of older microwave ovens nearby (they emit radio waves in the same spectrum). Easy to set up and has more capacity for devices (101-199) on DHCP than the Cisco (100-149). Also liked the fact that as devices join, they are given the next unused address, e.g. 101, then 102... whereas the Cisco would skip a few intervening addresses or even go to the end. Has an off-on switch which is convenient for resetting. The web page manager (192.168.10.1, i.e. the router) is somewhat daunting for users not versed in internet/networking protocol, but the help topics attached to each page explain well what each feature/setting does. I do recommend using the DHCP reservation table once a device is given an address so a new device or a guest in the house doesn't glom onto that address if that device is turned off. Finally, wireless throughput is good -- have noticed an improvement in Netflix loading. As to not having wired Gigabit ethernet ports (they are 10/100), that should not be problem for the typical user. Security tip: after getting it set up and all your devices on board, go to the router manager app and disable the SSID broadcast. This keeps other people from "seeing" your network, though you can still access it (like a guest using a smart phone) by entering the SSID name and passphrase.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rkmiller
Lubbock, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/18/2013

Customer review by avjoe

3.0 stars 1/18/2013 by avjoe
by avjoe

I have Trendnet 639GR, Trendnet Gigabit Switch and recently added Tew 731BR to the home net work. The setting up of TEW 731 GR wasn't easy and had to call technical support located in India for help. I was put on hold for 31 minutes after giving my telephone number to hear that I will be contacted by someone after an hour, 2 hours passed and nobody contacted me and had to call the Technical Support again; this time I was on hold for over an hour and was told somebody will contact me after an hour. Nobody contacted me even after 3 hours, a perfect Friday night spend with fury & frustration. Next day (Saturday) morning I called the Technical Support and and a lady at the other end was nice enough to hear my ordeal with them and helped me to set up the router which took less than 15 minutes. We are contacting the Technical Support to resolve a problem that we cannot solve by over self. If I cannot get help to resolve the problem in a reasonable manner, why should I use their product. I cancelled another TEW-639GR for my son and will not encourage anybody I know to go through this again. There are many other router in the market with better service. Think again before you order products from TRENDNET.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avjoe
Philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works super
8/22/2014

Customer review by gabedean

5.0 stars 8/22/2014 by gabedean
by gabedean

easy to instal ,about 10 min.,good signal,really cheap price for the quality.......

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gabedean
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reasonable price, good-to-average speed
11/24/2014

Customer review by freevilly

4.0 stars 11/24/2014 by freevilly
by freevilly

Reasonable price. May not get entire 300Mbps speed though. My comcast modem shows blue light when I connect my laptop directly to comcast modem, indicating full speed vs. orange light when trendnet wireless router is connected to comcast modem indicating not full network speed. In general streaming is slower when connected to trendnet router compared to connecting directly to comcast device (Guess I should have gone for 1Gbps one) For other activities the speed is ok, so not bad at all.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
freevilly
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
WPS Button Doesn't work
4/24/2014

Customer review by SlyCoder

3.0 stars 4/24/2014 by SlyCoder
by SlyCoder

The WPS button does not seem to work. I have to initiate WPS via the web UI, if I want it to connect that way. Pressing the WPS button on the router does absolutely nothing. It's a decent looking router, and it handles the basic routing functions well enough. IPv6 is not yet turned on in my area, so I do not yet know how it will perform with the new protocol, although the web UI does display that it has support. It does not support bridging, unfortunately. I would say this is a decent, but not ideal router. But, for the typical family's use, I think it would do just fine.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SlyCoder
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Lasted 7 months
9/9/2014

Customer review by Kimmm123

2.0 stars 9/9/2014 by Kimmm123
by Kimmm123

It was inexpensive and lasted for 7 months. It was good while it lasted, I guess.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kimmm123
Would recommend to a friend? No
WIFI/wireless connections slow .
10/9/2014

Customer review by IAMBOZ

2.0 stars 10/9/2014 by IAMBOZ
by IAMBOZ

Wired connections are fine . WIFI wireless connections are much slower than the TRENDNET N150 router this was meant to replace . Ended up reconnecting the older TERNDNET N-150 router to get consistent wireless response .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IAMBOZ
PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The router is great. I had trouble connecting my
8/16/2014

Customer review by B5300

3.0 stars 8/16/2014 by B5300
by B5300

tablet so I e-mailed TrendNet. Received an e-mail telling me someone would reply in 1-2 days. Never heard from TrendNet. Had a friend help me connect tablet. I can tell the company does not stand behind their product.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
B5300
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
i HAVE NO IDEA HOW IT WORKS
6/6/2015

Customer review by Greg

1.0 stars 6/6/2015 by Greg
by Greg

I hooked it up as per instuctions and it wont identify my connections,IP addresses or any of the stuff that a plug and play unit is supposed to do. I went to Trendnet customer service and all I got was four pages of things to try. I'm pretty tech savvy but this stuff they sent me was programmer talk. Never got through the first page. I don't think they should be able to say it's plug and play when that never happened. The unit is probably good but I won't know. I guess it's the company I won't recommend not the product

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Greg
Would recommend to a friend? No
Secure out of the box
2/25/2015

Customer review by oldood

5.0 stars 2/25/2015 by oldood
by oldood

I opened the box, read the setup, plugged it in. Each unit comes with a unique password and WPA2 security enabled. No learning how to enable encryption, no making up my own key, it just worked. This is my third router and the only one I did not have to program. I have one desktop, one laptop, and three android phones. All connect as expected. I would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldood
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
EXCELLENT
6/20/2015

Customer review by comjoe2

5.0 stars 6/20/2015 by comjoe2
by comjoe2

EXCELLENT THIRD THAT I OWNED

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
comjoe2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth every dime!
7/13/2015

Customer review by CHISSONG

5.0 stars 7/13/2015 by CHISSONG
by CHISSONG

I absolutely love this little router and was very impressed by it's performance. Provides excellent signal strength to all connected devices. Installation was a breeze even for someone like me that has never been very tech savvy. However I wouldn't recommend this router for someone needing coverage to large areas but for my 1bedroom apartment it works like a charm. Definitely saving me from paying the high cost of cable provided WiFi. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CHISSONG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
all positive
7/3/2015

Customer review by vick

4.0 stars 7/3/2015 by vick
by vick

easy installation and startup, with a new modem. price was very reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
vick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More work than I expected.
4/30/2015

Customer review by MJE1

2.0 stars 4/30/2015 by MJE1
by MJE1

Every time I want to use the internet for my laptop. I have to unplug and replug the Trendnet Router. Otherwise I can not get the internet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MJE1
Would recommend to a friend? No