Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 145 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews
Excellent Choice
11/25/2012

Customer review by Ruralmandan

5.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Ruralmandan
by Ruralmandan

I can't say enough as to the value of a great product. Brother has the best price for ink refills and in the long run that is the one key feature that can save you many dollars. Brother also has very good support for Linux systems which makes their printers a natural choice for those running the various flavours of Linux. This printer was easily set up both from my Windows7 machines and from the Ubuntu Linux machines. Wireless connectivity is great as it allows the printer to be placed anywhere you would like, it is not tethered to the computer or router by wires, and to date there has been absolutely no issues with the wireless connection, even after power failures. This printer replaced an older brother MFC-440CN which is still in use at a friends house. The MFC-J425W prints (photos) are better than other Multi-Function printers I have seen, and even in Linux the printer can be set-up per/use much easier than many of the others with better results. I certainly appreciate Brothers support for alternate Operating Systems and hope they don't every drop that support.

Ruralmandan
Lisbon, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Warranty
8/20/2013

Customer review by Copyman

4.0 stars 8/20/2013 by Copyman
by Copyman

Took a month to receive my replacement machine. Brother would not except my Visa/Debit card for the return Authorization. So at that time there only suggestion was for me to take it to there Authorized service center. The service center had lied to me on multiple occasion tying up my repair/return for weeks. After fighting back and forth between Brother and there local service center, Brother finally decided to send me a new machine and didn't bother about the return deposit. I have sold a lot of Brother products to my customers and never had to use the warranty, I believe they make an awesome product and that's why I gave them a 4 star rating. Would have been a five except for there warranty customer relations. It really needs to be improved, Especially if your a company selling there product like I am.

Copyman
Las Vegas, NV. Pahrump, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Replacing my MFC-240C
12/26/2012

Customer review by Iggy

4.0 stars 12/26/2012 by Iggy
by Iggy

I purchased the MFC-F425W about 10 months ago as a replacement for my MFC-240C printer because I wanted to go to a wireless unit, but, I did not set it up until about 2 weeks ago. I really did not want to part with the 240C that I was using, as I have had it for 3-4 years with no problems. The set up instructions for the MFC-J425W were very user friendly. I had it up and running with the wireless operation within 1-2 hours. The J425W unit does not seem to run as smoothly as the 240C unit when printing. I find that the new unit has many more features and it is simpler to use than the 240C unit. I rate the MFC-J425W unit as 3-4 start based on quality and value. If I had done more research, I would have bought an upgrage to this unit.

Iggy
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
OK Printer
11/26/2012

Customer review by JohnN

3.0 stars 11/26/2012 by JohnN
by JohnN

Good Printer and ink is fairly inexpensive. Only thing with the ink is if one color runs out the others are very soon to follow even though they don't show being low on ink. This printer spends allot of time cleaning itself. After every page it prints it goes through a cleaning program..........every page! The only other drawbacks are that it took awhile to setup, I cannot get the faxf machine to work wirelessly, you must have the machine on a usb while setting it up. The biggest drawback I have found is that if you go awhile between printing (which I do), it tells you that the paper is jammed and to open the back of the machine, etc. Keep a cover over it............it does not like dust buildup.

JohnN
prague, ok
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wireless - not in a good way!
8/5/2012

Customer review by CHLLC

3.0 stars 8/5/2012 by CHLLC
by CHLLC

I bought this printer as a replacement for an HP that I was using to scan and print documents. The setup of the printer was not a problem. The printing is of OK quality and the scanning is good. The problem is that the printer will not keep it's connection to the wireless network. It is located about 7' from the router and about every 2-3 days I have to reset the network setting and input the security information for the ATT router. I have a Brother Laser printer that is in the same rom about 12 ' from the router and it NEVER looses it's wireless connection. The bad thing is there is no wired connection option for this printer. TxRider

CHLLC
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
UP ANDFUNCTIONAL RUNNING BROTHER PRINTER MFC-J425W
12/3/2012

Customer review by BrotherExellence

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by BrotherExellence
by BrotherExellence

As I am about to Begin Full Time College Credit Certificate in [Computer] Information Technology Support , I am cofident that your Brother MFC-J425W that I have purchased the Right of Use of this Brother Multi-Purpose Printer MFC-J425W will assist me and Support me through the Approx. (2) Years of College in the Technology Support subject that I would be attending. Thus Far the Brother MFC-J425W is to me an outstanding product for its Value by Price and its Main Function as a Thus Far Printer Both in Gray Scale and Color. Thank You for giving me Use of the Brother Product. Thank You. John.

BrotherExellence
Miami, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Mr
12/6/2012

Customer review by jimmy42

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by jimmy42
by jimmy42

Very good product for the money. The wireless was a little tricky to set up. But once it is set up it is working Great. I have scanned several pictures and uploaded to my computer. The software provided uploaded the scans automatically to my wireless notebook. Came out beautiful. Very good purchase for me. I would not hesitate to buy another that has more features. I have had several Brother Laser printers over the years and use one for all my printed emails and business letters. Hard to beat. This used as a secondary printer form Home network. Good Product....

jimmy42
Houston, Texas USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good printer/difficult with wifi
12/3/2012

Customer review by will898

3.0 stars 12/3/2012 by will898
by will898

when i 1st got the printer it was difficult for it to connect to wifi (verizon fios), i read so forums that helped but i basically had to change some settings on the router and play with the timing of turning on the router and the printer to connect. i would of rather it just connect like all my other devices. at times it loses connection to my wifi and i have to reset my router so it can discover it again. besides that. it does what all printers doc

will898
yonkers, ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
ONE Great Product
11/27/2012

Customer review by HoneyG

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by HoneyG
by HoneyG

Hi Brother Staff, This All-In-One Printer is just Great. I love that I have a CHOICE of High Yield or Regular Ink. I was so impressed with my printer I recommended that my brother purchase one. I have always ordered Brother, not only is this machine reliable, but it's has a great look. What make's my purchases even better is, I got this All-In-One at a STEAL OF A DEAL. So thank you Brother for my second printer, thanks for my brother's too.

HoneyG
Lauderhill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
smartest buy ever
12/4/2012

Customer review by jessie66

5.0 stars 12/4/2012 by jessie66
by jessie66

i had had just a plain simple printer this one is so much nicer and smart and easy to use and setup and I am not a expert computer user. the ability to copy a document was the biggest plus , I use to have to go to my bank, no more the only thing I haven't used is the fax machine maybe one day I can get a landline, it is expensive here in the Ozark mountains. I would recommend this printer to everyone. a great deal

jessie66
bella vista arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's okay
11/25/2012

Customer review by oldbowler

2.0 stars 11/25/2012 by oldbowler
by oldbowler

Had a lot of paper jams before I had to tighten up the guides. When printing a 2nd side of a bunch of sheets, I get 2 or 3 pulling through at the same time. Information says to not use paper with printing on the other side, so how do you print on both sides? I don't use the fax. I have a Brother laser printer, so I thought this would be the best buy because of how well I am satisfied with the laser.

oldbowler
Flat Lick, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice Unit
12/3/2012

Customer review by AaronS

4.0 stars 12/3/2012 by AaronS
by AaronS

I am pretty happy with the Brother MFC-J425W. I did have a lot of trouble setting it up, but once I figured out what to do, it was easy. Also, sometimes it loses connection, in which case I usually have to restart my internet modem and it's fine. Also, the quality of the print is not that good, but I am not doing any heavy graphics. I like the scanning capability and the wireless capability.

AaronS
Monsey, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
still never found a great multifunction machine...
12/31/2012

Customer review by B0Z0

2.0 stars 12/31/2012 by B0Z0
by B0Z0

About my fifth printer/ multifunction machine in 10 years. The others have ended up smashed to bits on the driveway. Finality! This is a +complicated machine but if I spend +time with it, it eventually does what I purchased it to do. Ink cartridges don't last long AT ALL! Cleaning process has to be run fairly often, in fact too often. Would I recomend this? Not really for the above reasons.

B0Z0
western US
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good value for Money
12/4/2012

Customer review by bejoynp

4.0 stars 12/4/2012 by bejoynp
by bejoynp

Its a good value for money product. However, the print quality is not as good in comparison with another brand in economy setting but it only shows if you inspect characters thoroughly. For normal home use, business and student use, this is one of the best options. The printer vibration is little more than what I expected from an inkjet printer. Overall, I would recommend this product.

bejoynp
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
could be better
11/25/2012

Customer review by Louise

3.0 stars 11/25/2012 by Louise
by Louise

First of all, I don't think that the colors come out very bright and pictures appear fuzzy. It's not all that easy to get it installed and with all the iphones out there, it should be easier to use this brother printer with my iphone. I can't get it to work. I used my iphone on my sister-in-laws printer(hp) with no set up and worked perfectly. My iphone can't find any air printers.

Louise
minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Struggle to install
7/31/2012

Customer review by orion28

4.0 stars 7/31/2012 by orion28
by orion28

Found the installation software to be a little abstruse - there were no clear instructions on which program to use to install the WiFi feature, so I struggled unsuccessfully for several hours with my laptop trying to get the WiFi up. When I went to install the drivers on my wife's laptop, I used a different program from the install CD. It installed everything quickly and smoothly.

orion28
Bonita Springs, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent all-in-one!
12/3/2012

Customer review by DoctorG

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by DoctorG
by DoctorG

This is an excellent printer. The wireless printing works perfectly and was a breeze to set up on my MacBook Pro. It even allows me to scan documents and send them wirelessly to my computer! The only thing I would want to see improved is a larger paper capacity for the tray. It's not a big problem at all--I just don't like having to refill it and I print quite a bit.

DoctorG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Purchase
10/10/2012

Customer review by Wade2

4.0 stars 10/10/2012 by Wade2
by Wade2

I like the MFC-J425W its and upgrade from my all in one. I like the wireless and the color printing is great. The only thing I don't like about the MFC-J425W is the document feeder I have a all in one MFC-240C I like that document feeder better it seems to be more sturdier. The way it shuts on top I don't like it. Otherwise its great, the printing ,copying faxing.

Wade2
Douglasville Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
compact and convenient
11/27/2012

Customer review by IdFan

5.0 stars 11/27/2012 by IdFan
by IdFan

This printer is for light to medium use. I have had the best luck with Brother Printers from ease of use and to notification of updates. Award winning function and service! Brother has the best Value in printers. My other printer is a Brother MFC-J6710DW, see other review. I have also had Brother MFC-9420CN that served me well.

IdFan
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good, solid product
11/25/2012

Customer review by dbenzing

4.0 stars 11/25/2012 by dbenzing
by dbenzing

I have owned numerous all-in-one printers and the Brother MFC-J425W was the easiest to set up and get all the functions operating. Great print quality. My only dislike is the paper tray. It has to be completely removed from the unit to add paper; it is a bit fussy to load the paper; and the tray itself seems flimsy & cheap,

dbenzing
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews