Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 157 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

157 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
36
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 145 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews
3/19/2012

Customer review by ohio13

5.0 stars 3/19/2012 by ohio13
by ohio13

This printer works great with my apple. I had brother printers in the past and always liked them. And you cant beat the price.

Was this review helpful? (50) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ohio13
columbus ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product.
5/29/2012

Customer review by capecruiser

5.0 stars 5/29/2012 by capecruiser
by capecruiser

I am pleased with Brother brand. I used to have an HP. I like the Brother better.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
capecruiser
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value
11/26/2012

Customer review by CSgroup

3.0 stars 11/26/2012 by CSgroup
by CSgroup

The Brother Printer MFC-J425W Multifunction Printer/Copier/Fax Machine/Scanner works great. The set-up was simple and the Wi-Fi is a great feature. Both the printer itself and the ink is reasonably priced. It is unlikely that there is a better printer out there for the price.

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CSgroup
Muncy, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/19/2012

Customer review by 62mama

5.0 stars 5/19/2012 by 62mama
by 62mama

Great printer. It is an excellent one that does it all. Love the design of it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
62mama
Parsonsburg,MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Easy setup
8/3/2012

Customer review by 43Daisy

5.0 stars 8/3/2012 by 43Daisy
by 43Daisy

This is my first all in one machine. I have had printers and decided this would be a better option, because many times I have had a need for both a scanner and fax.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
43Daisy
Maryville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/25/2012

Customer review by saintdogowner

4.0 stars 8/25/2012 by saintdogowner
by saintdogowner

This is an excellent product, except the description is incorrect at this time. The item does not have the card reader that it states it has.This option gives you the opportunity to take your card out of your camera an print directly from the printer. That is one of the main reasons I purchased the item. Wal-mart is attempting to fix the description.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
saintdogowner
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Perfect for our home
9/22/2012

Customer review by suesjack

5.0 stars 9/22/2012 by suesjack
by suesjack

This was so easy to set up and has a fax and scanner. Great machine, glad we bought it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suesjack
El Cajon Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Stopped working after three months
8/20/2012

Customer review by esther650

2.0 stars 8/20/2012 by esther650
by esther650

This brother printer stopped working after three months. It will not print! The paper comes through the printer, but there is nothing on the printer. I bought new ink, but still no printing. Only white paper comes out. I will never buy another brother. My other brother printer stopped working after two years. This one only lsted three months. I only use about once a week, like 30 copies per week. I was loyal to Brother, but this is the end!

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
esther650
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
1/2/2013

Customer review by Rayyan

5.0 stars 1/2/2013 by Rayyan
by Rayyan

nothing more can be expected at this price, it meets all the requirements for home office use.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rayyan
houston, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good economy multifunction printer
1/24/2013

Customer review by jojo200517

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by jojo200517
by jojo200517

Set it up and got it going on linux mint. Took a good bit of time but following thru the procedures spelled out on brother website it did work. Imagine windows users would have it much easier. Android OS app is nice also. Best part ever is no completely dumb expiring ink like with HP printers. Ink cartridges are simply a tank for the ink. No expiring, no reading whether its off brand ink, no printer saying its out of ink when it really isn't (that is just your printer guessing and screwing you, there is no way for it to know its really out) Only cons I can find with the printer is Google cloud print doesn't seem to have all the issues worked out but I think thats more of a google problem than printer problem, and it doesn't actually have a wired network port, its wifi network access only. Beware tho walmart does have the description wrong, this printer does NOT have media card slots of any kind. I already knew before I ordered because I researched it before I placed the order.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jojo200517
gaffney, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT PRINTER - HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!
4/18/2013

Customer review by ChaChaCha1

5.0 stars 4/18/2013 by ChaChaCha1
by ChaChaCha1

I purchased a previous Brother All-In-One (printer, scanner, fax, copier) machine 5 years ago, it was great, and I had no major issues, but it recently stopped working, so I called the Brother customer service line and I was told that the printer needed servicing, it was beyond the warranty and I would have to pay around $100 to fix the old printer. I figured it was more cost effective to purchase a new printer, plus it’s an opportunity to upgrade features which my previous 5 year old printer did not have (ie. wireless printing, printing from phone, etc.). So, I researched the printers at various retailers (Best Buy, Staples, Amazon, etc.) and I was in between the HP Officejet series and Cannon Pixma series (the sales associates promoted the HP printer). However, I reviewed the customer ratings for both printers on various websites and found a few issues with both printers, so I was not satisfied with either option. Then I remembered Walmart.com and I visited the website to check the pricing of both printers plus research any additional printer options. I'm so glad that I checked Walmart.com because I found the Brother All-In-One MFC-J425W Multifunction printer which had everything that I was looking for: - GREAT FEATURES: Printer, Copier, Fax, Scanner, Wireless Printing, Printing from phone, etc. - AWSOME PRICE: The Brother printer cost 50% less than the HP Officejet and/or the Cannon Pixma printers. - GREAT CUSTOMER REVIEWS: The Brother printer had higher customer satisfaction ratings than the competing products. - GREAT BRAND: Brother is a good brand - my previous printer was a Brother printer and it worked very well for 5 years. - NICE STYLE: I like the shape of the printer (it's smaller, neater, and more stylish than my previous printer). It fits perfectly into the workspace and leaves extra room for other things. - QUALITY: The quality of the print is excellent. - INK CARTRIDGES: The color ink cartridges were my only issue with my previous Brother printer (I mainly use black ink however each time that one color ink cartridge ran out in my previous printer I had to replace all four of the ink cartridges, which was costly). It seems that Brother fixed the cartridge issue because the description for the new printer says that ink cartridges work independently, so there is no need to replace all cartridges when one runs out of ink (and there were no customer complaints about the ink cartridge replacement issue under the Brother customer reviews – but I did notice ink cartridge complaints for the two competing products that I researched). Also, the ink cartridges for my new Brother printer seem less expensive than the cartridges for my old Brother printer. - WIRELESS: I LOVE the wireless printing option (I previously had to lift my laptop into another room to connect wires every time that I wanted to print). With the new printer, customers have the option of printing wirelessly or with a cable (the minor downside to using the cable is that you have to lift open the top of the printer to stick in the cable versus sticking the cable into an exterior slot). Also the interior printer space is only designed to fit the exact size cable outlet plug – I had a cable with a small adapter on top which fits various shaped plugs and it fit perfectly into my previous printer but there is not enough space designated in the new printer for the adapter (only enough space for a basic cable plug). - SHIPPING: The shipping was super fast (within a few days). The shipping was much quicker, smoother, and cheaper than the same purchase would have been from another online competitor. Overall, I've had the printer for a few weeks and so far it's been GREAT!!! The product exceeded my expectations in every area and I am 100% sure that I made a good choice!!! I would HIGHLY recommend the printer to others. Just note that there is a minor learning curve when setting up the printer for the first time (ie. setting up wireless printing) but I was able to figure it out in a relatively short period of time (about 10 minutes) and without contacting customer service but the set-up is not intuitive and I did have to reference the guidebook once.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChaChaCha1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/27/2013

Customer review by MarineLes

3.0 stars 1/27/2013 by MarineLes
by MarineLes

Had the same problems as my last 2-Brothers MFC-410W Placed the inks Cart/in the machine and it would not work?? Had to call Brothers to find out problems.Had to play with Inks cart/ removing them in and out before it worked Correctly? Per there Instructions it said not to do this? So this Brothers MFC-J425W is working ok now

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarineLes
Long Beach,Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Exceptional wireless all in one printer/cost.
1/5/2013

Customer review by R222

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by R222
by R222

Great tech support.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
R222
Columbus, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Best for the Money
2/15/2013

Customer review by Halfabuck577

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by Halfabuck577
by Halfabuck577

Excellent well built printer that does what you want when you want. I feel good about this printer lasting a long time and doing the work. I could not connect with WI-FI so I picked up a USB cable and it runs perfectly. A great product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Halfabuck577
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
8/21/2012

Customer review by Alaleeo

5.0 stars 8/21/2012 by Alaleeo
by Alaleeo

I bought this printer to replace my HP, at first I wondered if I did the right thing, but after having the printer for a few days, and getting it all set up for WiFi. I like it very much it has more features then I had realized... Thank's Brother for making such a great printer for the low price that I paid..

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alaleeo
Oakland Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Printer at an even better price.
3/7/2013

Customer review by heartnkeys

5.0 stars 3/7/2013 by heartnkeys
by heartnkeys

I couldn't be more pleased! This little printer does everything I need and then some, it was also a terrific price plus arrived sooner than I expected. This Brother MFC-J425W easy set-up guide 'was' easy and a breeze to get up and running. It took me about 20 minutes, following the guide, to have everything ready and sending my first fax. I love the fact the I can replace one ink cartrige at a time and the replacement cartriges don't break the bank! It runs quietly and efficiently and is nicely compact! I highly recommend this model to anyone who needs a little workhorse in their home office.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heartnkeys
WPB Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great printer for daily use.
3/6/2013

Customer review by crutch51

4.0 stars 3/6/2013 by crutch51
by crutch51

great printer for the money. shipping was fast. got a great deal because it is now 99.95 only paid 59.00. would recommend.thank you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crutch51
ks.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great machine
3/13/2013

Customer review by missgmk

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by missgmk
by missgmk

My other Brother Machine, after many, many years of loyal service, quit on me. I was looking at other brands to purchase but decided, the Brother brand had done so well, I would stick with it. This machine was very easy to set up & produces quality printing, etc. I needed a fax machine too & it's great. Highly recommend this product for small home business.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
missgmk
Louisville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent value for the money.
1/28/2013

Customer review by jcarson195

5.0 stars 1/28/2013 by jcarson195
by jcarson195

Inexpensive. Easy wireless setup. Had fo a month now with no problems. Ink is inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jcarson195
Fort Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/5/2013

Customer review by ShorterBerger

5.0 stars 3/5/2013 by ShorterBerger
by ShorterBerger

Product was easy to install and has great printing quality.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShorterBerger
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 145 total reviews
1-20 of 145 reviews