Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
53
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 68 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews
A Blast To Catch Fish On - Especially Reds
4/29/2013

Customer review by bg2424

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by bg2424
by bg2424

For $10, you can't beat this thing. I got it just to test it out since it was only $10. I took it with me the other day on my kayak, and caught a 22" redfish and an 18" trout on this little thing. It's one of my favorite rods now. You can't help smiling and laughing as you reel in a good sized fish on this thing.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bg2424
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Fun and LIVE Action!
7/13/2013

Customer review by MrGJohn

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by MrGJohn
by MrGJohn

I got this combo because I wanted a rod that I could take anywhere even on my bike (see pics). I was please to find that it works great. I have caught a lot of nice bass with this combo and the action on this ultra-lite is awesome. It may take a little getting used to such a small rod when casting but it was not to difficult. The quality of the combo depends on how you treat it. The rod is pretty strong. The reel is mostly plastic and a few metal parts so don't thrash it around too much. I haven't restrung the reel and have only had minimal tangles. Price and fun make this a great value.

Was this review helpful? (47) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrGJohn
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
This thing is a beast!
4/30/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For under $10.00 this cannot be beat. The rod is a solid piece of fiberglass, you can touch the tip to the handle. I took the reel that came on this, and tossed it on the shelf, replaced it with a Daiwa D-Turbo DT-B trigger spin reel. Caught 6 decent size trout on this setup this past weekend, was very responsive, had a great time fishing this rig.

Was this review helpful? (73) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Clarkesville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Action Rod
7/6/2014

Customer review by GoFishingEveryday

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by GoFishingEveryday
by GoFishingEveryday

Keeping this simple; -Cheap. -Effective. -Strong. The line is a 6#, but it has alot of memory, it is useable, however. BUY THIS, if not for the rod itself.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GoFishingEveryday
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for back packing
4/13/2012

Customer review by AzDadOnFire

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by AzDadOnFire
by AzDadOnFire

I plan on using this when I go fishing with my 3 y/o daughter. It states that the rod is solid glass and it seems very durable. No hollow core here. I have the the spin cast model and look forward to using it on my up coming back packing trip. I plan on strapping it to my external frame pack, to protect the 3 eyelets I think I'll make a simple rod holder out of PVC or other cheap tubing. The reel it self is partially made of translucent red plastic and states it has a 'bearing system' which gives it a smooth retrieval. It comes preloaded with 6lbs test line and I think I'll switch it to 4lbs Stran or Berkley. Zebco is known for their entry level rods, poles and combo packs but I have had nothing but fun with them. They're not going to last as long as the rods that are 10x their price but they will serve their purpose. At a little over $10 when the tax is figured out you can't go wrong with this rod and reel combo. Perfect for kids, ice fishing, tight areas and just as a back up rod to have in your trunk. You never know when you need to catch a fish.

Was this review helpful? (43) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AzDadOnFire
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome Little Pole & Reel Combo
12/2/2015

Customer review by Gobroncos65

5.0 stars 12/2/2015 by Gobroncos65
by Gobroncos65

I bought this rod and reel combo for backpacking and fresh/salt water kayak fishing and can only say "WOW!" I gave this rod and reel combo a three year test in rivers, creeks, lakes and the Pacific Ocean. I have caught trout, salmon, kokonee, largemouth bass, small mouth bass, striped bass, white bass, spotted bass, crappie, perch, rock fish and various cod with the largest fish being 31" long and weighing 17.75 pounds. I have several rods and reels, some I've spent quite a bit of money for, but dollar for dollar this is one of my top five combos. This is a great combo, so good I've bought one for every relative and friend of mine who loves to fish. Buy it, you'll love it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gobroncos65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little rod and reel package for under $10
12/9/2015

Customer review by trc85

5.0 stars 12/9/2015 by trc85
by trc85

We don't fish, but we were looking for something to play with that cat indoors to help give him some exercise and work out his hyper energy. I thought a compact rod and reel would work well and be much more study than typical pet toys (which he generally destroys), and I couldn't believe the deal on the Zebco Dock Demon for a complete package for under $10. We got a $2 toy mouse from the pet department to use as our "lure", so for around $12 we have a fun way to help keep our cat from getting bored and to help him hone his hunting skills (we call it "the Acme School of Mouse Catching" from the classic Warner Bros. cartoon). Not only does the cat have a blast, it's also fun to cast and drag the lure across the room and watch him stalk it and pounce, or to dangle it just out of his reach and make him jump. It usually wears him out before we get tired of practicing our target casting and trolling with the mouse lure. It's a great little compact rod and reel and seems very sturdy for it's size, which comes in handy when our big tom cat latches onto the mouse lure and fights us for it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trc85
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/21/2012

Customer review by reapers77

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by reapers77
by reapers77

caught a 14inch 4 lb catfish with this, this morning. one of the best poles I have used. no kidding either. great portable great price.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
reapers77
buffalo,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perfect for Father Son/Daughter fishing trips.
4/17/2012

Customer review by NC502

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by NC502
by NC502

This little combo is a great piece of equipment for everyone. Young, old, advanced or novice. Durable and reliable as all Zebcos are. I picked this up thinking it would be nice to keep in the trunk of the car with my son's Spiderman combo. I keep it rigged up with a Rooster Tail and when we go to the local park we both wet a line. It is super dependable. Worth double what Wal-Mart is selling them for (Shhh....).

Was this review helpful? (49) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NC502
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great pack along combo
8/5/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've been looking for a good pack pole and this is the one and with a $10.00 price tag i couldn't go wrong. The pole is HIGHLY flexible and tough as nails with a nicely padded handle. The reel, mine is a spinner, casts and retrieves smoothly. It's a plastic reel and looks weak, it's anything but, the weekend i bought it i caught an 18 inch catfish and the whole combo preformed beautifully. I had it bent tip to tip and the little rod that could just kept asking for more.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Knox county Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Awesome for a first or anyone fishing pole.
7/31/2014

Customer review by mamavg

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by mamavg
by mamavg
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought these for my kids who had never been fishing. They were able to cast really well with them and they don't take up much space when packing. Very happy with the product especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamavg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The Handy Combo
4/7/2014

Customer review by Jp3324

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Jp3324
by Jp3324

I got this little combo thinking it would be great for fishing from A raft My fishing buddy thought it was nonstop funny that was in tell I was able to use the small size to cast into tight little coves and was catching endless good size crappie perch and bass. This is A great Combo for shoreline or boat fishing to get in the tight areas the fish like to hide in I bring it with me on every fishing trip do to it being so handy and never had any issues with it.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jp3324
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent for kids
11/17/2015

Customer review by mdhuss

5.0 stars 11/17/2015 by mdhuss
by mdhuss

I purchased couple of these for my kids but I found them to be very durable. So I began to use them. they are not particularly useful for fishing from the piers because of the short poles it is easy to snag the hook in the rocks or the pier structure. The reel gear ratio is not great so I find myself reeling in quite a bit to withdraw my lure. But the reel looks durable too. The rod bends all the way to the handle and looks strong enough. Good to use from the boats and for catching smaller fishes.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mdhuss
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
TOO GOOD TO THROW AWAY!
7/21/2015

Customer review by Zebb

4.0 stars 7/21/2015 by Zebb
by Zebb

After a couple of years, the rod tip line guide fell off and was lost. A new one cost as almost as much as the whole combo did. I looked for an old cheap rod at garage sales and took the tip off and glued it on the Dock Demon rod. It's as good as new and we're good to go! These are cheap, but too good to throw away!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Zebb
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great first fishing pole for child
6/25/2013

Customer review by kwbdb

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by kwbdb
by kwbdb
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

great starter pole and reel combination for dock or boat fishing. If used for casting with bobber pole is to short to set hook when fish bites. my grandson caught his first fish with it and seems to enjoy it. good bonding experience.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kwbdb
crawfordsville, indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Pole for my Toddlers
5/20/2013

Customer review by yursisterkml

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by yursisterkml
by yursisterkml
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great pole for toddlers learning how to fish. My 2 and 4 year olds love using this pole. My only issue was casting it out, I have long arms so the size made it hard to cast.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
yursisterkml
warrensburg,mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Beginner rod/reel
7/7/2014

Customer review by Randy5001

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by Randy5001
by Randy5001
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great starting rod/reel combo for little fisherman.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Randy5001
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reel does not work
6/8/2015

Customer review by OCJayCee

1.0 stars 6/8/2015 by OCJayCee
by OCJayCee

I bought this for my young nephew. Went to a lake, paid the admission fees, bought the licenses, and some bait. We were set! OH, I was teaching him to cast and the reel would not release the line. I tried a few cast myself and routinely, the button on the spincast reel would not let the line feed out. Translation - it would not cast. Spent the better part of an hour trying to get the thing to work. Pulled the line out manually and slowly reeled it back it think the line may have been tangled on the spool. Still no good. Stopped by a Walmart store and the three outfits I tried all had the same problem. I have now printed return paper work - it's going back.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OCJayCee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect for kids or tight areas.
7/20/2012

Customer review by wralyn

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by wralyn
by wralyn

I've got two spincast and one spinning Dock Demon. I bought the spincast for each of my sons (3 & 4) to teach them how to cast and to take with us camping so they have something to fish with. I reasoned that $10 was as much as I was willing to pay for something that would likely end up at the bottom of the lake. At this point, they have only been used for casting practice in the swimming pool. I am impressed with the spincast reels. For what they are, they seem to be decent beginner reels. Casting is smooth and the reeling has the expected roughness of an inexpensive spincast. It's all plastic, so I don't expect it to last a long time. The real value to me, as an adult, is the short casting rod. Because of its length, it's not the most accurate casting rod, but I have been practicing with an underhanded pitch cast (not actually flipping) that would be very handy in tight areas with low branches. I have a feeling that when the reel is gone, I will be putting a nicer replacement on it and using it myself. The spinning reel combo, I'm not as impressed with. I bought it to have a backup combo in a pinch or for my wife to use. After a few practice casts, I put the reel on one of my UL rods and it works fine. It's almost all plastic, but will serve its purpose I think. The rod is just too short for my taste as a spinning combo. If it were a foot longer, I might have a different opinion. I'll keep the rod as a spare...just in case. Overall, I'm completely satisfied with them. As long as you keep your expectations reasonable for a sub-$10 rod and reel combo, you should be satisfied also.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
wralyn
Winona, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Insane price for a great rod
7/10/2012

Customer review by JohnnyDT

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by JohnnyDT
by JohnnyDT

This rod is amazing! It is small and flexible enough for me to fit into my backpack, making it an excellent traveling rod that requires no setup. I took it pan fishing and I've gotta say, it worked wonders. The spinning reel worked flawlessly and I was catching dozens of panfish. I quickly bought a second one for my sis and even though she was new to fishing, she picked up fishing using the rod fairly easily. My bro saw how successful I was with the rod and how cheap it was that he went and bought himself one as well. Overall, an insane value for a quality rod. Its compact size, quality, durability, flexibility, and performance is more than worth the 10 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JohnnyDT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1-20 of 68 reviews