Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 68 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

68 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

68 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

87%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
48
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 62 total reviews
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
This thing is a beast!
4/30/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/30/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

For under $10.00 this cannot be beat. The rod is a solid piece of fiberglass, you can touch the tip to the handle. I took the reel that came on this, and tossed it on the shelf, replaced it with a Daiwa D-Turbo DT-B trigger spin reel. Caught 6 decent size trout on this setup this past weekend, was very responsive, had a great time fishing this rig.

Was this review helpful? (69) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Clarkesville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Fun and LIVE Action!
7/13/2013

Customer review by MrGJohn

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by MrGJohn
by MrGJohn

I got this combo because I wanted a rod that I could take anywhere even on my bike (see pics). I was please to find that it works great. I have caught a lot of nice bass with this combo and the action on this ultra-lite is awesome. It may take a little getting used to such a small rod when casting but it was not to difficult. The quality of the combo depends on how you treat it. The rod is pretty strong. The reel is mostly plastic and a few metal parts so don't thrash it around too much. I haven't restrung the reel and have only had minimal tangles. Price and fun make this a great value.

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrGJohn
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
A Blast To Catch Fish On - Especially Reds
4/29/2013

Customer review by bg2424

5.0 stars 4/29/2013 by bg2424
by bg2424

For $10, you can't beat this thing. I got it just to test it out since it was only $10. I took it with me the other day on my kayak, and caught a 22" redfish and an 18" trout on this little thing. It's one of my favorite rods now. You can't help smiling and laughing as you reel in a good sized fish on this thing.

Was this review helpful? (28) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bg2424
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect for Father Son/Daughter fishing trips.
4/17/2012

Customer review by NC502

5.0 stars 4/17/2012 by NC502
by NC502

This little combo is a great piece of equipment for everyone. Young, old, advanced or novice. Durable and reliable as all Zebcos are. I picked this up thinking it would be nice to keep in the trunk of the car with my son's Spiderman combo. I keep it rigged up with a Rooster Tail and when we go to the local park we both wet a line. It is super dependable. Worth double what Wal-Mart is selling them for (Shhh....).

Was this review helpful? (44) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NC502
Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Perfect for back packing
4/13/2012

Customer review by AzDadOnFire

5.0 stars 4/13/2012 by AzDadOnFire
by AzDadOnFire

I plan on using this when I go fishing with my 3 y/o daughter. It states that the rod is solid glass and it seems very durable. No hollow core here. I have the the spin cast model and look forward to using it on my up coming back packing trip. I plan on strapping it to my external frame pack, to protect the 3 eyelets I think I'll make a simple rod holder out of PVC or other cheap tubing. The reel it self is partially made of translucent red plastic and states it has a 'bearing system' which gives it a smooth retrieval. It comes preloaded with 6lbs test line and I think I'll switch it to 4lbs Stran or Berkley. Zebco is known for their entry level rods, poles and combo packs but I have had nothing but fun with them. They're not going to last as long as the rods that are 10x their price but they will serve their purpose. At a little over $10 when the tax is figured out you can't go wrong with this rod and reel combo. Perfect for kids, ice fishing, tight areas and just as a back up rod to have in your trunk. You never know when you need to catch a fish.

Was this review helpful? (40) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AzDadOnFire
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
5/21/2012

Customer review by reapers77

5.0 stars 5/21/2012 by reapers77
by reapers77

caught a 14inch 4 lb catfish with this, this morning. one of the best poles I have used. no kidding either. great portable great price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reapers77
buffalo,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome for a first or anyone fishing pole.
7/31/2014

Customer review by mamavg

5.0 stars 7/31/2014 by mamavg
by mamavg

Bought these for my kids who had never been fishing. They were able to cast really well with them and they don't take up much space when packing. Very happy with the product especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mamavg
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great pack along combo
8/5/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/5/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've been looking for a good pack pole and this is the one and with a $10.00 price tag i couldn't go wrong. The pole is HIGHLY flexible and tough as nails with a nicely padded handle. The reel, mine is a spinner, casts and retrieves smoothly. It's a plastic reel and looks weak, it's anything but, the weekend i bought it i caught an 18 inch catfish and the whole combo preformed beautifully. I had it bent tip to tip and the little rod that could just kept asking for more.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Knox county Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great Action Rod
7/6/2014

Customer review by GoFishingEveryday

5.0 stars 7/6/2014 by GoFishingEveryday
by GoFishingEveryday

Keeping this simple; -Cheap. -Effective. -Strong. The line is a 6#, but it has alot of memory, it is useable, however. BUY THIS, if not for the rod itself.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GoFishingEveryday
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Handy Combo
4/7/2014

Customer review by Jp3324

5.0 stars 4/7/2014 by Jp3324
by Jp3324

I got this little combo thinking it would be great for fishing from A raft My fishing buddy thought it was nonstop funny that was in tell I was able to use the small size to cast into tight little coves and was catching endless good size crappie perch and bass. This is A great Combo for shoreline or boat fishing to get in the tight areas the fish like to hide in I bring it with me on every fishing trip do to it being so handy and never had any issues with it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jp3324
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Beginner rod/reel
7/7/2014

Customer review by Randy5001

5.0 stars 7/7/2014 by Randy5001
by Randy5001

Great starting rod/reel combo for little fisherman.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Randy5001
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Pole for my Toddlers
5/20/2013

Customer review by yursisterkml

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by yursisterkml
by yursisterkml

This is a great pole for toddlers learning how to fish. My 2 and 4 year olds love using this pole. My only issue was casting it out, I have long arms so the size made it hard to cast.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
yursisterkml
warrensburg,mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great first fishing pole for child
6/25/2013

Customer review by kwbdb

4.0 stars 6/25/2013 by kwbdb
by kwbdb

great starter pole and reel combination for dock or boat fishing. If used for casting with bobber pole is to short to set hook when fish bites. my grandson caught his first fish with it and seems to enjoy it. good bonding experience.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kwbdb
crawfordsville, indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Bought it to play with the cats, but...
3/21/2013

Customer review by RuBRNded

4.0 stars 3/21/2013 by RuBRNded
by RuBRNded

I bought this inexpensive combo to mess with the cats by tying a catnip fish to the line. But, I discovered it is a nice little unit to keep in the Jeep or to take backpacking. It's only flaw in my opinion is the cheap mono line (good line cost as much as the whole combo). The line is stiff, filled with memory and easily causes birdsnests. I will be replacing the line with quality poly line and getting it wet soon.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RuBRNded
Onalaska, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great for kids and beginners.
6/12/2014

Customer review by Wrldg8stnana

4.0 stars 6/12/2014 by Wrldg8stnana
by Wrldg8stnana

Great for kids. Easy to cast and reel.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wrldg8stnana
Evansville, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great rod to begin with
12/16/2013

Customer review by Djito

5.0 stars 12/16/2013 by Djito
by Djito

I actually said that the shakespear durango is my first fishing rod but I've got this 1 and the shakespear at the same time. This rod is a beast. You cannot beat the price and I've caught some really nice fish with it. I would definitively buy one more if this stays good and break or damage after a while. I would recommend for everyone especially for beginners.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Djito
Curacao, Willemstad
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for kids or tight areas.
7/20/2012

Customer review by wralyn

5.0 stars 7/20/2012 by wralyn
by wralyn

I've got two spincast and one spinning Dock Demon. I bought the spincast for each of my sons (3 & 4) to teach them how to cast and to take with us camping so they have something to fish with. I reasoned that $10 was as much as I was willing to pay for something that would likely end up at the bottom of the lake. At this point, they have only been used for casting practice in the swimming pool. I am impressed with the spincast reels. For what they are, they seem to be decent beginner reels. Casting is smooth and the reeling has the expected roughness of an inexpensive spincast. It's all plastic, so I don't expect it to last a long time. The real value to me, as an adult, is the short casting rod. Because of its length, it's not the most accurate casting rod, but I have been practicing with an underhanded pitch cast (not actually flipping) that would be very handy in tight areas with low branches. I have a feeling that when the reel is gone, I will be putting a nicer replacement on it and using it myself. The spinning reel combo, I'm not as impressed with. I bought it to have a backup combo in a pinch or for my wife to use. After a few practice casts, I put the reel on one of my UL rods and it works fine. It's almost all plastic, but will serve its purpose I think. The rod is just too short for my taste as a spinning combo. If it were a foot longer, I might have a different opinion. I'll keep the rod as a spare...just in case. Overall, I'm completely satisfied with them. As long as you keep your expectations reasonable for a sub-$10 rod and reel combo, you should be satisfied also.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wralyn
Winona, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great little pole for ice fishing, and grand kids.
2/10/2013

Customer review by Briuser

5.0 stars 2/10/2013 by Briuser
by Briuser

bought 2 for ice fishing, $8.00, better than anthing I found on line, and no shipping,

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Briuser
reno nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Insane price for a great rod
7/10/2012

Customer review by JohnnyDT

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by JohnnyDT
by JohnnyDT

This rod is amazing! It is small and flexible enough for me to fit into my backpack, making it an excellent traveling rod that requires no setup. I took it pan fishing and I've gotta say, it worked wonders. The spinning reel worked flawlessly and I was catching dozens of panfish. I quickly bought a second one for my sis and even though she was new to fishing, she picked up fishing using the rod fairly easily. My bro saw how successful I was with the rod and how cheap it was that he went and bought himself one as well. Overall, an insane value for a quality rod. Its compact size, quality, durability, flexibility, and performance is more than worth the 10 bucks.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnnyDT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great combo for the price
2/15/2013

Customer review by arkansas44mom

5.0 stars 2/15/2013 by arkansas44mom
by arkansas44mom

My daughter had a Barbie pole -- the rod and reel are molded together, so we couldn't replace the reel. She spots the dock demon in normal adult colors at Walmart,and the reel can be replaced, restrung, etc. She loves it! She's used it for dock and bank fishing, and she's pulled in a few nice sunfish and small bass by herself. Bonus - I don't get hit in the face because she's swinging a longer rod! The price and size are perfect for fishing from docks, kids, backpacking, and I bet it would be great for fishing from a kayak.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arkansas44mom
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews