Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 152 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

152 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

152 reviews | 4 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
75
4 stars
39
3 stars
11
2 stars
11
1 stars
16
1-20 of 126 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews
An Amazing Safe
7/29/2013

Customer review by BlazingFire

5.0 stars 7/29/2013 by BlazingFire
by BlazingFire

In March I had a house fire in my bedroom that totally destroyed everything in there. The safe was under my bed and the fire started directly next to it. All that was even left of my bed was the box springs, not the material just the springs. I had plastic storage containers under the bed that totally melted into the floor. The fire department had thrown anything they could out the window. A couple of days later when we could go back we looked for the safe, although not totally recognizable we did find it. The plastic outside covering was totally gone and what was left was white packing that is between the inside of the safe and the outside, which was why we figured it was the safe. This past weekend we took hammer and chisel to open it. Key obviously wasn't going to work anymore. To our total amazement all of the content was safe. It smelled from the smoke but none of it was scorched or melted. This kind of test I would not ever want to go through to prove that it will protect the contents but I do plan on getting a new one.

Was this review helpful? (252) (25)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlazingFire
St. Paul, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Arrived Damaged and Defective
8/14/2013

Customer review by SpendtotheEnd

2.0 stars 8/14/2013 by SpendtotheEnd
by SpendtotheEnd
Top 50 contributor

I really wanted to like this chest. Unfortuntely, it fell short of expectations. First of all, it wasn't even packed properly. It arrived in just a brown shipping box, with no manufacturer's box. Therefore, there was no protective packaging to protect it during shipping. When I opened it, it was covered in scratches and white cement-like dust and dirt. As far as the chest itself goes, it wouldn't even seal properly when the lid was closed. As other reviewers have stated, it is a little tricky to open and close the latch, but it can be done with some practice. I am more disappointed in the defective lid mechanism and the fact that it arrived damaged. Be aware that this chest is very heavy. Also, the interior dimensions are fairly small; you cannot place a lot of items inside. Neverethess, I would have kept it had it worked.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpendtotheEnd
USA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Top 50 contributor
Great case
2/6/2012

Customer review by LongBoardSurfer

5.0 stars 2/6/2012 by LongBoardSurfer
by LongBoardSurfer

The safe is strong and secure. The lock is not very easy to use because it does not turn unless you are pushing down on the lid while turning it. However, I have gotten used to this and its not so bad.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LongBoardSurfer
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Meets my needs for a safe storage of documents
2/29/2012

Customer review by Jocko45

4.0 stars 2/29/2012 by Jocko45
by Jocko45

The whole process was good! Went online, specified the product that I was looking for, reviewed a number of different models, did some measuring, chose a model, and ordered it. The brand is well known for these types of items and I felt very comfortable purchasing that item. I would recommend the product and the ordering process to anyone. While I can't verify that the box will protect items inside it for "X" number of minutes of fire/water, I surely feel much more comfortable that my documents are in it. ( I don't want to test the box either!) H0100 Waterproof Fire Chest

Was this review helpful? (40) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jocko45
Auburn, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great price but smaller than hoped.
3/1/2012

Customer review by DRBRLSU

4.0 stars 3/1/2012 by DRBRLSU
by DRBRLSU

I purchased this to hold personal documents and wish it was big enough for a sheet of paper. It was cheap and seals tight so it will work well.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DRBRLSU
Baton Rouge,LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best product for the lowest price
1/10/2013

Customer review by Frugalshopperalmighty

4.0 stars 1/10/2013 by Frugalshopperalmighty
by Frugalshopperalmighty

This case is not ideal for large papers that you do not intend to fold. Cash, Jewelry, coins, etc...it is perfect for. Face it, if you have real expensive valuables, than pay for a high cost safe. If you have some photos, & some extra cash you do not want to burn or become water logged in the event of a tragedy, you can not find a better case for this value, ANYWHERE!

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Frugalshopperalmighty
Lancaster, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Not What I Expected
12/11/2013

Customer review by DealOrNoDealMom

1.0 stars 12/11/2013 by DealOrNoDealMom
by DealOrNoDealMom
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

There was one review on here that had me sold instantly because it was a real life experience. Maybe mine was defective but I returned it and didn't bother getting another one. I was attempting to put mine away by holding the handle (obviously that should be how it works, grab the handle and lift the safe) .. well the entire handle area came off!! Just fell apart. Needless to say I now see why it was so cheap. I really thought this was what I wanted, guess I need to wait to get better quality.

Was this review helpful? (25) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DealOrNoDealMom
Lehigh Acres, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wrong capacity! Actual capacity is 0.17 cubic feet
12/24/2015

Customer review by BeenThereDoneThat

2.0 stars 12/24/2015 by BeenThereDoneThat
by BeenThereDoneThat

If you are looking to replace a .30 cubic foot safe, this will not work. The dimensions they advertise are the actual outside dimensions of this safe which is the safe's overall volume rather than the actual usable amount which is a paultry 0.17 cubic feet. This safe will not hold business or standard size envelopes standing up on the long side. The actual safe's total volume is 0.57 cubic feet (their listed dimensions are "generous)." The most important measurement is capacity which is actually 0.17 cubic feet or 301.3 cubic inches which is half the size I wanted. If you just have a few envelope sized items, you can just lay them flat and the price is not bad for this small safe.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeenThereDoneThat
Would recommend to a friend? No
Name brand, good price, just a poor product.
1/28/2012

Customer review by Layshar

1.0 stars 1/28/2012 by Layshar
by Layshar

Named brand item, sounded like a good buy, waterproof and fireproof for a ½ hour, however, although it would lock, the lid would still not seal. It had about a ¼” + gap. The lock is also cheap, overall not a good product. Returned the product the next day, Wal-Mart refunded my money without any problem.

Was this review helpful? (58) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Layshar
Bakersfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
It is a secure metal box.
9/27/2013

Customer review by Isitreal1

5.0 stars 9/27/2013 by Isitreal1
by Isitreal1
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

You have to press down hard to open to over come the seal, it is water tight and I guess air tight. I am taking the warranty advice that it is fire proof, so I did not burn down my home to find out. I did not take it to the ocean depths to find out if it is a water tight seal I figured the fire department does not dunk houses to put out fires. I believe it is what it says it is, nothing to indicate otherwise and I love the box. My personal papers all fit. I am pleased with the box.

Was this review helpful? (24) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Isitreal1
Wyoming
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It gets stuck/ won't open
11/24/2015

Customer review by Elsa

1.0 stars 11/24/2015 by Elsa
by Elsa

It randomly wants to open. I've only had this safe for less than a year and only use it about once a week, it has not been overused or mistreated. The key will turn BUT the button that I have to press to open it sometimes doesn't work. Today it just won't open at all. I have all my money and passports in there and I can't access them (need them both for trip in a few days). Look for more options before you buy this.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Elsa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Priced Right
9/19/2013

Customer review by ieram

5.0 stars 9/19/2013 by ieram
by ieram
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was happy to get a waterproof and fire resistant chest all in one. It is a size that is easy to carry not to heavy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ieram
Hainesport, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Document Safe
7/13/2013

Customer review by TattedInnocent

5.0 stars 7/13/2013 by TattedInnocent
by TattedInnocent

I purchased one roughly 5 years ago to hold important documents. I have definitely gotten my money worth here. This safe is heavy duty, tough, and reliable. My only complaint was the size of the storage compartment wasnt what I expected but it is still efficient. Great for a first safe gift idea!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TattedInnocent
Joshua Tree, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Probably fire proof & Probably water proof.
8/18/2013

Customer review by TheCrash

2.0 stars 8/18/2013 by TheCrash
by TheCrash
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is the first review I have ever done on a product. Let me say that it is heavier than I thought it would be, which is a good thing in a safe. The plastic handle will hold it, while empty, unless you start swinging it around. It seems that it is probably fire proof and probably water proof, but this is the cheapest and worst lock I have ever seen. I was so excited to get this home I opened it up right away. Everything seemed positive until I saw the keys. The keys had one small notch out of either side of metal at an even height. They probably use the same key setting and lock setting for all of the H0100's (thank you mass production). I sat and looked at the key, used it once or twice and the key felt loose in the lock, but it worked. I went and got a small set of fingernail clippers and pulled out the small file on it. Let me say that I have never before attempted to pick a lock in my life. The file fit perfectly and it just turned sideways. I had picked the lock in literally 5 seconds. I again reiterate the fact that I have never before tried to pick a lock in my 27 years of existence. I immediately put it back in the box and returned it. It is back in a Wal-Mart return area as I type this review. Overall: I give it one star because it might be fireproof and that is what they advertise. I give it one star because it might be waterproof and that is what they advertise. I set the value at fair, because Wal-Mart had the best price on it and the site to store was pretty easy. But it was not a quality product as far as the lock is concerned. They don't advertise this model as secure for good reason. It might keep out a small child, but not a clever one. What good is a safe that keeps out all but the mildly curious?

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheCrash
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Investment For Potential Disaster
5/7/2012

Customer review by Limpet

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by Limpet
by Limpet

Trying to be prepared if disaster occurs and paper documents are destroyed, I'll have them scanned onto media and stored in this media-rated case. It's not too heavy, has a carrying handle, and has plenty of room for SanDisks, CD's or other media.

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Limpet
MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Easy
12/14/2013

Customer review by Jenno55

5.0 stars 12/14/2013 by Jenno55
by Jenno55
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I got this safe because I wanted to keep my important document in a safe place,and something that's easy to carry in case I have to evacuate my home...

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jenno55
Houston tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
.66 cu ft is the outside dimension size
11/26/2015

Customer review by Mike

1.0 stars 11/26/2015 by Mike
by Mike

.66 cu ft is the outside size, inside it's only .17 cu ft for storage.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mike
Would recommend to a friend? No
Would not open. Even when unlocked
5/17/2013

Customer review by Badsafe

1.0 stars 5/17/2013 by Badsafe
by Badsafe
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This safe was extremely difficult to open when unlocked. There is a plastic piece that you need to squeeze to open the safe that was completely unreliable. I spent about 10 minutes each time I unlocked and tried to open it. I had to buy another safe as this was so useless. The only good thing I can say about it is that your valuables would be very safe in this; no one, including you with a key would ever be able to get at them.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Badsafe
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/13/2013

Customer review by alexandriamia

1.0 stars 2/13/2013 by alexandriamia
by alexandriamia
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This item looked secure but the hook itself is very small and there isn't much to enter the lock area. I felt as though it could easily be broken into. Also, it's difficult to open. It says to press and lift but it took be several times to finally get it open. I plan to return this for something with a better lock system and not so hard to open.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alexandriamia
fishers, in
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Cheap / badly designed lock
12/23/2012

Customer review by BERTABEAR

1.0 stars 12/23/2012 by BERTABEAR
by BERTABEAR

Just got this as an early Xmas present. taking it back. You have to press down and squeeze another grey latch while turing the key to TRY and get it to close! A huge pain! The cheaper version opens and closes alot easier!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BERTABEAR
VIRGINIA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1-20 of 126 reviews