Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
114
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 stars
17
1-20 of 174 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
LOVING THIS MACHINE!!
9/25/2013

Customer review by Browlan

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by Browlan
by Browlan

I've only owned my PowerForce Helix Bagless 12B1 for a few weeks now and have used it three times, but for the price, you just can't beat it! I have hardwood floors, area rugs, and tile in my kitchen and bath. This baby does it all! I use this machine when I do my weekly, entire house vacuuming/cleaning. I have a Bissell PetEdge for small areas of non-carpeted flooring where our dog and cat leave their hair and I use it as needed in between my weekly whole-house vacuuming. I highly recommend both machines....I love, love, love the PetEdge and have owned it for about two years now.....never had any problems with it! I really like using both machines because they're light weight, easy to use and easy to maintain. The only improvement I would make on my PowerForce Helix Bagless machine would be a longer hose for reaching behind and above cleaning needs. But as I said for such a reasonable price you just can't beat these machines....they do everything the much more expensive machines do!

Browlan
California
Gender:Female
Worst vacuum EVER
7/18/2014

Customer review by shpn_girl

1.0 stars 7/18/2014 by shpn_girl
by shpn_girl

I normally do not write reviews but this one had to be done. This vacuum was purchased for my small business and I have had it for approximately two months. The hardest thing this vacuum needed to pick up was a little sand or small gravel pieces from getting tracked in from the parking lot. I have low pile carpet, commercial grade floor mats and tile, and it did not matter what setting it was on it still worked the same, terribly. Starting with the blow out wind where it would sort of pick up and then spit it out all over is just a waste of time. Even though each time the canister would be emptied and the filters checked for anything causing it not to work correctly. There is nothing positive I can say about this vacuum. It's so bad that I would drag my home vacuum down about once a week to clean up. I can't believe anyone would give this vacuum anything more than one star, if I could have gone into the negative stars I would have. So disappointed in the Bissel Powerforce Helix

Comment from Lisa - 7/21/2014

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment. We would like to help you. We have a great FAQ section on our website. Please click at the link for low suction to get your machine working properly. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1498

shpn_girl
Evanston, WY 82930, USA
Gender:Female
Best vaccum for the money!!!
7/18/2013

Customer review by Doe B.

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by Doe B.
by Doe B.

I have been cleaning houses for over 7 years now and I have used many of my customers vacuums, some cheap and some very expensive ones (that tout that they never lose suction! but you can't lose something you never really had in the first place...lol) yet none compare to my Bissell Power Force. It is the only vacuum I ever buy, it will pick up the dirt left behind after using those expensive others and it is a fraction of the cost. I have even sold a lot of the people I work for on them and they have bought themselves one. I will not buy any other vacuum than this EVER! This vacuum lasts a long time under daily use by this housekeeper, and the fact you can wash all the filters keeps it smelling clean for each of my customers as well. When asked about vacuums...I will only ever recommend this Bissell Power Force to anyone for ease of use, cost, suction, ease of use of it hose and attachments, its light weight, ease to clean etc...This is my testimonial from a housekeeper of over 7 years who uses this vacuum daily! It is worth every penny of it's low cost!

Doe B.
Bryant, AR, USA
Gender:Female
not high enough
9/4/2015

Customer review by rob

2.0 stars 9/4/2015 by rob
by rob

it was almost to powerful ,tried it on new carpet and had it on highest setting ,and after 10 min., I checked the pot and had a hugh ball of fuze from the carpet,if I kept usind it for very long ,the carpet would be gone ,,,,taking it back now

Comment from Lisa - 9/18/2015

Hi Rob - It sounds like it may have suctioned up a lot of the loose carpet fiber that can be found in new carpet. Let us know if there is anything we can do to help!

rob
Gender:Male
Color me IMPRESSED!!!!
8/23/2012

Customer review by Susan-B-Happy

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Susan-B-Happy
by Susan-B-Happy

I have owned many vacuums over the years that were very costly. I thought they did a decent job as I am very particular about my floors. I needed to purchase a new one so I compared Oreck, Dyson, Shark and others that would be very good but also very pricey. I have used Bissell carpet cleaning machines for many years and have always found each one to be better than the last, but had never used their vacuum. So I found the PowerForce Helix on sale and decided to try it, I had nothing to lose. I am so impressed with this cleaner. It pulls up so much dirt it seems as though it is getting it from the ground under the house. Others have complained about the cord length, I simply use an extension cord and problem solved. No complaints here, I am one HAPPY camper. Thank you and when this one needs replacing I will definitely buy another BISSELL.

Susan-B-Happy
Fort Payne, AL, USA
Gender:Female
after 4 belts
9/7/2015

Customer review by Aries56i

2.0 stars 9/7/2015 by Aries56i
by Aries56i

Belts keep breaking! Can't afford to keep buying. Like this vac but it sits more than it should. Help!

Aries56i
Indianapolis, in
Gender:Female
Well worth the money
8/17/2015

Customer review by Satisfied Bissell Owner

5.0 stars 8/17/2015 by Satisfied Bissell Owner
by Satisfied Bissell Owner

Ok, granted: It's not a high-end machine, but for no more than I paid, I couldn't be more satisfied. It's lightweight, easy to use and maintain, and it does a really great job on my laminate flooring.

Satisfied Bissell Owner
Jacksonville, FL
Gender:Male
I have loved every Bissell I've owned until this one...this one is like" that other brand" (Terrible!)
7/13/2014

Customer review by RileysMom

1.0 stars 7/13/2014 by RileysMom
by RileysMom

I have owned several vacuums over the years, and most of them have been Bissells. I have loved every one of them until this one. The last two I had were similar models, similar price and worked GREAT. Granted they only lasted a year or two, but at the time I had a German Shepherd so nothing would have lasted longer than that. I no longer have the GSD so have less hair and dirt to pick up. I expected this vac to work great considering....WRONG! The first time I used it it was spitting dirt out the back! It also blows so much air out the front that it sends papers etc. flying off tables and counters! I am not a "returner" so I kept it and thought maybe something was connected wrong or loose or something...I have since been through the whole vac and not found anything wrong with the set-up. I guess I am stuck with it now until I get a new one. I am just so upset that I can't trust the Bissell name anymore. I didn't even think about what brand to get when I was buying it because, like I said, I have always had good luck with Bissell. I won't make that mistake again. Back to reading reviews before I get a new one. Bissell, Please consider taking this model off the market.

Comment from Lisa - 7/15/2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate being a BISSELL customer for so long. We do have some great tip to share to get your machine suctioning again. Please see this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1360

RileysMom
New Hampshire, USA
Gender:Female
Found one flaw...
12/13/2013

Customer review by Debi 2013

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Debi 2013
by Debi 2013

I truly like the Powerforce & how well it cleans, especially with 3 dogs in the house I constantly clean. I utilize the hose alot as well to vacume my couch & loveseat. but one day, sun was shining in the window just as I went to use the hose to do my couch. I turned on the vacume & suddenly seen dust flying out of the hole where the hose attaches to use for floor vacuming. I felt I was wasting my time cleaning with the dust just flying back out all over & had never noticed until the sun was shining in. SO, I cleaned the vacume cleaner really good, took totally apart & washed every part. Went to clean again with the hose & STILL the dust flies out of the tube where the hose attaches for the floor use. Feeling let down, like Im cleaning for nothing because then I have to dust AGAIN after I vacume. :(

Comment from Lisa - 12/20/2013

Thank you for your feedback. When cleaning with the tools, make sure the height adjustment is on the highest setting, this will lift the rotating brush off from your floor. Also, it's best to vacuum first where the machine is placed on the floor before using the tools. The machine has such strong suction, it's just trying to pick up what's in the carpet.

Debi 2013
Lebanon, MO
Gender:Female
I give it an Okay
6/26/2015

Customer review by ChristyisinCR

3.0 stars 6/26/2015 by ChristyisinCR
by ChristyisinCR

I do like the bagless vac, However I have an older Bissell Powerforce that seems a bit more solid than this newer one I got.I got the limited (pink) color and the wheels are really loud when rolling it and it seems less powerful for suction.I don't know if it's just the one I got or not.My old one doesn't do that.But I already used it and threw out the box so I can't return it.I just got it last week.My older powerforce has served me well and I trusted the brand enough to try this newer one, not thrilled but not mad.

Comment from David - 6/29/2015

Thank you for your review. To ensure you have the best suction with your BISSELL please make sure the filters are clean. Dirty filters will restrict airflow. The good news is the foam filters are hand washable with mild soap. They do need to be completely dry before reinstalling.

ChristyisinCR
Wasn't expecting what I got with how much I paid.
9/30/2013

Customer review by LtRipleyLastSurvivorOfTheNostromo

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by LtRipleyLastSurvivorOfTheNostromo
by LtRipleyLastSurvivorOfTheNostromo

So here we are. I honestly never thought I would be writing a review about a vacuum. But this vacuum... this vacuum is too good not to. We needed a new vacuum because our old one finally bit the dust *cough* dirt devil *cough cough*. We are moving into a home with no carpet in 3 months so we didn't really want to spend a lot on a vacuum. We purchased this thinking it would just be "OK" but boy were we wrong. You should have seen how much dust and dirt was in our carpet! And our carpet looked clean beforehand! super gross right? AND this vacuum is so light. Crazy light. It just zooms around the house. But seriously, this vacuum is great. I will never purchase another brand besides Bissell from here on out. Thanks for helping keep my house clean Bissell :') Truly yours xoxo

LtRipleyLastSurvivorOfTheNostromo
Jacksonville, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum and Great Price
11/1/2013

Customer review by DNoemi

4.0 stars 11/1/2013 by DNoemi
by DNoemi

I bought this vacuum because my sister had one and worked well with sucking up pet hair (she has a white German Shepard that sheds a lot). I have 2 cats and this vacuum sure does the job at sucking up everything at a very competitive price. I love this vacuum and it really keeps my house clean. I used it on my rugs and carpet and tile but not on my hard wood floors- I use the hose and brush for the wood floors as the main vacuum area with the wheels scratched my floors when I pushed it around on the hard wood floors. Air is forced out through the front and can cause dust to fly around but overall, it does the job of sucking everything on your floor and getting your floors cleaned up. Great product, highly satisfied. I had the vacuum for 5 months now. Would recommend it!

Comment from Lisa - 11/6/2013

Thank you for your review. Make sure to have the height adjustment dial set properly for your floor level.

DNoemi
Detroit, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Got dogs, great product
12/16/2012

Customer review by Kermit

4.0 stars 12/16/2012 by Kermit
by Kermit

I use to be a diehard hoover fan till I got a great deal on my first Bissell on amazon. The helix replaced my previous bissell that died after 6 grueling years of use cleaning up after my 5 dogs. This bissell cost a quarter of the first but you certainly can't tell. It performs just as well. Between the area rugs, the hard wood, and the tile, this cleans equally well on all surface as long as you have the level setting correct. The only complaints are that the cord is short, I wish it had the power head like my other, and when the dirt cup gets too full of hair it backs up into the upper chamber even if it isn't packed in the lower chamber. Aside of that I love it. Highly recommended for those wanting to control pet hair with out paying hundreds for something else.

Kermit
Erie, PA, USA
Gender:Female
No power
6/19/2015

Customer review by Sonothappy

1.0 stars 6/19/2015 by Sonothappy
by Sonothappy

Very disappointed! I bought a Bissel Powerforce Helix Turbo. This thing has no power and the belt broke after a short time. Can't find the belts anywhere but online. Unfortunately I don't want to have to wait a week or two for one. I need my carpets cleaned now!!! I have a really old Hoover that works better and belts are easy to find for it! What a waste of money .

Comment from Shannon - 6/23/2015

Thanks for reaching out to us. We're very sorry you can't locate the belt for your BISSELL Powerforce. Retailers chose to order off brands instead. We sure wish they would order the correct belts for the BISSELL Vacuums. The machine won't have good power/suction if the brush isn't turning. You can order the belt right at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=20818&partid=4680&icid=ccrr1206

Sonothappy
Kansas City, Missouri
Gender:Female
Bye Bye Bissell :-(((
1/26/2014

Customer review by DensieM

1.0 stars 1/26/2014 by DensieM
by DensieM

Although I had high hopes of performance, the Bissell PowerForce Helix Bagless Upright Vacuum was not a "best buy." Suction is questionable most times. There is a lot of blow back air, which I do not quite understand. I bought two vacuums at once, so I am twice as disappointed. Personally, I will never buy another Bissell. They are not what they once were. I will try a Shark next. I hope I have better luck...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DensieM
Chester, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Not happy!
2/17/2015

Customer review by TwoDogMom

1.0 stars 2/17/2015 by TwoDogMom
by TwoDogMom

I loved my PowerForce vacuum for 6 weeks. That's how long I had it before the brush quit turning. I checked to see if the belt had broken, it had not. Thinking it may have stretched, I replaced it, but the brush still did not turn, then it broke. I have purchased Bissell products for two decades and they served me well until the last few years. The motor in my PetEraser vacuum had to be replaced after one year, the motor in the carpet shampooer died the second time I used it, now I am without a vacuum again. While both motors were covered by warranty, it was a great inconvenience being without a vacuum and getting stuck with a wet carpet. Dirt Devil, here I come!

Comment from Lisa - 2/25/2015

Thank you for your posting. We're sorry for your trouble and do want to help. BISSELL always provides a warranty. Your vacuum has a one year warranty and we can help. Please click at the link for a BISSELL Authorized Service Center location. http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50 The BISSELL technician can help with your deep cleaner also.

TwoDogMom
Swissvale, PA, USA
Gender:Female
filter assembly
5/13/2015

Customer review by reuben

5.0 stars 5/13/2015 by reuben
by reuben

i like this vacuum a lot i also have the turbo model too! i use this vacuum in my home and in big offices. i have a question. i bought the fabreeze replacement filter that goes in the bottom of the helix tray, however dust is getting under the filter and into the motor. i have the filter on securely and the housing isnt broken but what can i do to keep the dust out of the motor? can i put a rubber seal on it? also can you make the cheep bissels 12 AMP again?

Comment from Melisha - 5/14/2015

Thank you for your posting. Dirty filters will restrict airflow and then dust can get on the motor. The foam filters are hand washable with mild soap. Make sure they are dry before reinstalling. It would be best to have extra filters on hand. They can be ordered at this link: http://www.bissell.com/powerforce-helix-bagless/parts/?icid=ccrr&icid=ccrr1206 The Powerforce Helix isn't recommend for commercial use. We recommend a commercial grade vacuum. BISSELL manufactures a line of machines for your offices at this link: http://www.bissellcommercial.com/

reuben
Lexington, KY, USA
Gender:Male
Good Job Low cost
6/3/2015

Customer review by CollegeTeacherRick

5.0 stars 6/3/2015 by CollegeTeacherRick
by CollegeTeacherRick

Great vacuum cleaner. I used it and it picked up a bunch orf dirt and hair that my old Dirtdevel missed. Very low cost makes it a great buy for the budget conscious homeowner.

CollegeTeacherRick
Saint Louis, MO, USA
Gender:Male
In general, it is a good Vacuum
6/17/2012

Customer review by imac

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by imac
by imac

The cleaner is worth the money. I was very sure that I wanted a bagless cleaner. One of my friends have the same one and it does a decent job with cleaning the carpets and hard floor [Disclaimer: Used it just once since I bought]. The main drawback is the cord length. Over years one would imagine that Bissell would have increased the cord length in general but alas that is not the case to be on this one. I cleaned the filter right after cleaning. I do believe that based on the size and how much you use the cleaner, the filter needs to be cleaned for a better out come. Ofcourse, you wouldn't want to be doing often but cleaning the filters is not that hard on this model.

imac
VT
Gender:Male
what a surprise!
6/10/2012

Customer review by mariemariemarie

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by mariemariemarie
by mariemariemarie

I was trying to find a MORE EXPENSIVE Bissell vacuum but it was out of stock at all of the Target stores within driving distance-- I woud have had to order online ( at A HIGHER price to get it. So I went to WalMart and bought a Bissell Powerforce Helix. It replaced a Hoover wind tunnel bagless which literally blew up because it was diverting the pet hair into the hose instead of the cup. I was skeptical, but now I ama believer.... you cannot believe what it picked up... it was better than any of the specialty pet vacuums I have owned and with a much better flitration system, in my humble opinion. I HAD to get a vacuum today and glad I chose this one.

mariemariemarie
cambridge,MA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews