Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

174 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
114
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
9
1 stars
17
1-20 of 174 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews
LOVING THIS MACHINE!!
9/25/2013

Customer review by Browlan

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by Browlan
by Browlan

I've only owned my PowerForce Helix Bagless 12B1 for a few weeks now and have used it three times, but for the price, you just can't beat it! I have hardwood floors, area rugs, and tile in my kitchen and bath. This baby does it all! I use this machine when I do my weekly, entire house vacuuming/cleaning. I have a Bissell PetEdge for small areas of non-carpeted flooring where our dog and cat leave their hair and I use it as needed in between my weekly whole-house vacuuming. I highly recommend both machines....I love, love, love the PetEdge and have owned it for about two years now.....never had any problems with it! I really like using both machines because they're light weight, easy to use and easy to maintain. The only improvement I would make on my PowerForce Helix Bagless machine would be a longer hose for reaching behind and above cleaning needs. But as I said for such a reasonable price you just can't beat these machines....they do everything the much more expensive machines do!

Browlan
California
Gender:Female
Worst vacuum EVER
7/18/2014

Customer review by shpn_girl

1.0 stars 7/18/2014 by shpn_girl
by shpn_girl

I normally do not write reviews but this one had to be done. This vacuum was purchased for my small business and I have had it for approximately two months. The hardest thing this vacuum needed to pick up was a little sand or small gravel pieces from getting tracked in from the parking lot. I have low pile carpet, commercial grade floor mats and tile, and it did not matter what setting it was on it still worked the same, terribly. Starting with the blow out wind where it would sort of pick up and then spit it out all over is just a waste of time. Even though each time the canister would be emptied and the filters checked for anything causing it not to work correctly. There is nothing positive I can say about this vacuum. It's so bad that I would drag my home vacuum down about once a week to clean up. I can't believe anyone would give this vacuum anything more than one star, if I could have gone into the negative stars I would have. So disappointed in the Bissel Powerforce Helix

Comment from Lisa - 7/21/2014

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your disappointment. We would like to help you. We have a great FAQ section on our website. Please click at the link for low suction to get your machine working properly. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1498

shpn_girl
Evanston, WY 82930, USA
Gender:Female
Best vaccum for the money!!!
7/18/2013

Customer review by Doe B.

5.0 stars 7/18/2013 by Doe B.
by Doe B.

I have been cleaning houses for over 7 years now and I have used many of my customers vacuums, some cheap and some very expensive ones (that tout that they never lose suction! but you can't lose something you never really had in the first place...lol) yet none compare to my Bissell Power Force. It is the only vacuum I ever buy, it will pick up the dirt left behind after using those expensive others and it is a fraction of the cost. I have even sold a lot of the people I work for on them and they have bought themselves one. I will not buy any other vacuum than this EVER! This vacuum lasts a long time under daily use by this housekeeper, and the fact you can wash all the filters keeps it smelling clean for each of my customers as well. When asked about vacuums...I will only ever recommend this Bissell Power Force to anyone for ease of use, cost, suction, ease of use of it hose and attachments, its light weight, ease to clean etc...This is my testimonial from a housekeeper of over 7 years who uses this vacuum daily! It is worth every penny of it's low cost!

Doe B.
Bryant, AR, USA
Gender:Female
Color me IMPRESSED!!!!
8/23/2012

Customer review by Susan-B-Happy

5.0 stars 8/23/2012 by Susan-B-Happy
by Susan-B-Happy

I have owned many vacuums over the years that were very costly. I thought they did a decent job as I am very particular about my floors. I needed to purchase a new one so I compared Oreck, Dyson, Shark and others that would be very good but also very pricey. I have used Bissell carpet cleaning machines for many years and have always found each one to be better than the last, but had never used their vacuum. So I found the PowerForce Helix on sale and decided to try it, I had nothing to lose. I am so impressed with this cleaner. It pulls up so much dirt it seems as though it is getting it from the ground under the house. Others have complained about the cord length, I simply use an extension cord and problem solved. No complaints here, I am one HAPPY camper. Thank you and when this one needs replacing I will definitely buy another BISSELL.

Susan-B-Happy
Fort Payne, AL, USA
Gender:Female
I have loved every Bissell I've owned until this one...this one is like" that other brand" (Terrible!)
7/13/2014

Customer review by RileysMom

1.0 stars 7/13/2014 by RileysMom
by RileysMom

I have owned several vacuums over the years, and most of them have been Bissells. I have loved every one of them until this one. The last two I had were similar models, similar price and worked GREAT. Granted they only lasted a year or two, but at the time I had a German Shepherd so nothing would have lasted longer than that. I no longer have the GSD so have less hair and dirt to pick up. I expected this vac to work great considering....WRONG! The first time I used it it was spitting dirt out the back! It also blows so much air out the front that it sends papers etc. flying off tables and counters! I am not a "returner" so I kept it and thought maybe something was connected wrong or loose or something...I have since been through the whole vac and not found anything wrong with the set-up. I guess I am stuck with it now until I get a new one. I am just so upset that I can't trust the Bissell name anymore. I didn't even think about what brand to get when I was buying it because, like I said, I have always had good luck with Bissell. I won't make that mistake again. Back to reading reviews before I get a new one. Bissell, Please consider taking this model off the market.

Comment from Lisa - 7/15/2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate being a BISSELL customer for so long. We do have some great tip to share to get your machine suctioning again. Please see this link: http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1360

RileysMom
New Hampshire, USA
Gender:Female
Found one flaw...
12/13/2013

Customer review by Debi 2013

4.0 stars 12/13/2013 by Debi 2013
by Debi 2013

I truly like the Powerforce & how well it cleans, especially with 3 dogs in the house I constantly clean. I utilize the hose alot as well to vacume my couch & loveseat. but one day, sun was shining in the window just as I went to use the hose to do my couch. I turned on the vacume & suddenly seen dust flying out of the hole where the hose attaches to use for floor vacuming. I felt I was wasting my time cleaning with the dust just flying back out all over & had never noticed until the sun was shining in. SO, I cleaned the vacume cleaner really good, took totally apart & washed every part. Went to clean again with the hose & STILL the dust flies out of the tube where the hose attaches for the floor use. Feeling let down, like Im cleaning for nothing because then I have to dust AGAIN after I vacume. :(

Comment from Lisa - 12/20/2013

Thank you for your feedback. When cleaning with the tools, make sure the height adjustment is on the highest setting, this will lift the rotating brush off from your floor. Also, it's best to vacuum first where the machine is placed on the floor before using the tools. The machine has such strong suction, it's just trying to pick up what's in the carpet.

Debi 2013
Lebanon, MO
Gender:Female
Wasn't expecting what I got with how much I paid.
9/30/2013

Customer review by LtRipleyLastSurvivorOfTheNostromo

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by LtRipleyLastSurvivorOfTheNostromo
by LtRipleyLastSurvivorOfTheNostromo

So here we are. I honestly never thought I would be writing a review about a vacuum. But this vacuum... this vacuum is too good not to. We needed a new vacuum because our old one finally bit the dust *cough* dirt devil *cough cough*. We are moving into a home with no carpet in 3 months so we didn't really want to spend a lot on a vacuum. We purchased this thinking it would just be "OK" but boy were we wrong. You should have seen how much dust and dirt was in our carpet! And our carpet looked clean beforehand! super gross right? AND this vacuum is so light. Crazy light. It just zooms around the house. But seriously, this vacuum is great. I will never purchase another brand besides Bissell from here on out. Thanks for helping keep my house clean Bissell :') Truly yours xoxo

LtRipleyLastSurvivorOfTheNostromo
Jacksonville, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Great Vacuum and Great Price
11/1/2013

Customer review by DNoemi

4.0 stars 11/1/2013 by DNoemi
by DNoemi

I bought this vacuum because my sister had one and worked well with sucking up pet hair (she has a white German Shepard that sheds a lot). I have 2 cats and this vacuum sure does the job at sucking up everything at a very competitive price. I love this vacuum and it really keeps my house clean. I used it on my rugs and carpet and tile but not on my hard wood floors- I use the hose and brush for the wood floors as the main vacuum area with the wheels scratched my floors when I pushed it around on the hard wood floors. Air is forced out through the front and can cause dust to fly around but overall, it does the job of sucking everything on your floor and getting your floors cleaned up. Great product, highly satisfied. I had the vacuum for 5 months now. Would recommend it!

Comment from Lisa - 11/6/2013

Thank you for your review. Make sure to have the height adjustment dial set properly for your floor level.

DNoemi
Detroit, MI, USA
Gender:Female
Got dogs, great product
12/16/2012

Customer review by Kermit

4.0 stars 12/16/2012 by Kermit
by Kermit

I use to be a diehard hoover fan till I got a great deal on my first Bissell on amazon. The helix replaced my previous bissell that died after 6 grueling years of use cleaning up after my 5 dogs. This bissell cost a quarter of the first but you certainly can't tell. It performs just as well. Between the area rugs, the hard wood, and the tile, this cleans equally well on all surface as long as you have the level setting correct. The only complaints are that the cord is short, I wish it had the power head like my other, and when the dirt cup gets too full of hair it backs up into the upper chamber even if it isn't packed in the lower chamber. Aside of that I love it. Highly recommended for those wanting to control pet hair with out paying hundreds for something else.

Kermit
Erie, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Not happy!
2/17/2015

Customer review by TwoDogMom

1.0 stars 2/17/2015 by TwoDogMom
by TwoDogMom

I loved my PowerForce vacuum for 6 weeks. That's how long I had it before the brush quit turning. I checked to see if the belt had broken, it had not. Thinking it may have stretched, I replaced it, but the brush still did not turn, then it broke. I have purchased Bissell products for two decades and they served me well until the last few years. The motor in my PetEraser vacuum had to be replaced after one year, the motor in the carpet shampooer died the second time I used it, now I am without a vacuum again. While both motors were covered by warranty, it was a great inconvenience being without a vacuum and getting stuck with a wet carpet. Dirt Devil, here I come!

Comment from Lisa - 2/25/2015

Thank you for your posting. We're sorry for your trouble and do want to help. BISSELL always provides a warranty. Your vacuum has a one year warranty and we can help. Please click at the link for a BISSELL Authorized Service Center location. http://www.bissell.com/service-centers/?zip=Enter%20your%20zip%20code&distance=50 The BISSELL technician can help with your deep cleaner also.

TwoDogMom
Swissvale, PA, USA
Gender:Female
In general, it is a good Vacuum
6/17/2012

Customer review by imac

4.0 stars 6/17/2012 by imac
by imac

The cleaner is worth the money. I was very sure that I wanted a bagless cleaner. One of my friends have the same one and it does a decent job with cleaning the carpets and hard floor [Disclaimer: Used it just once since I bought]. The main drawback is the cord length. Over years one would imagine that Bissell would have increased the cord length in general but alas that is not the case to be on this one. I cleaned the filter right after cleaning. I do believe that based on the size and how much you use the cleaner, the filter needs to be cleaned for a better out come. Ofcourse, you wouldn't want to be doing often but cleaning the filters is not that hard on this model.

imac
VT
Gender:Male
what a surprise!
6/10/2012

Customer review by mariemariemarie

5.0 stars 6/10/2012 by mariemariemarie
by mariemariemarie

I was trying to find a MORE EXPENSIVE Bissell vacuum but it was out of stock at all of the Target stores within driving distance-- I woud have had to order online ( at A HIGHER price to get it. So I went to WalMart and bought a Bissell Powerforce Helix. It replaced a Hoover wind tunnel bagless which literally blew up because it was diverting the pet hair into the hose instead of the cup. I was skeptical, but now I ama believer.... you cannot believe what it picked up... it was better than any of the specialty pet vacuums I have owned and with a much better flitration system, in my humble opinion. I HAD to get a vacuum today and glad I chose this one.

mariemariemarie
cambridge,MA
Gender:Female
BISSELL TOPS Eureka, Resolve, Dyson, Hoover
1/21/2013

Customer review by Lisa Favre

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Lisa Favre
by Lisa Favre

Between me & my Mother, this is the 5th Bissell product we've owned! We both bought the bagless vacuum years ago and they both died after lots of hard use. We decided to go to Wal-Mart at 10:30pm & get another. This one picks up everything. My sister has a Eureka bagless that claims to be better than Dyson with a fraction of the price, but I personally think it's best left at the store (it didn't work worth a darn.) I had a Eureka bagless & it only lasted a month. I even have a Bissell carpet cleaner. Their blue bottle carpet stain pre treater works better than Resolve or other brands! THAT'S WHY BISSELL IS THE BEST WHEN IT COMES TO CARPET CARE!

Lisa Favre
North Charleston, SC
Gender:Female
Not the quality Bissell product I expected.
11/25/2013

Customer review by Jane521

1.0 stars 11/25/2013 by Jane521
by Jane521

The belt breaks easily...I have had this vac only since August 2 ,2013..Today is Nov.25, 2013. I check the roller before vacuuming each and every time. I adjust the height when changing carpet level. I don't know if the belts are faulty or the vacuum. The belt snaps and breaks at the point one end is connected to the other each and every time....the belts don't have time to get worn enough to break or stretch...This will be the fourth belt I have replaced and just getting to the 4 month anniversary of purchase...I have never had trouble with a Bissell vacuum, or any other Bissell product. The trouble with this one is getting old fast!

Comment from Lisa - 11/27/2013

Thank you for your review; we're sorry for all the belts you have gone through. Make sure the height adjustment is set to the proper setting for your floor level. Also, the retailers only stock generic belts, we sure wish they would carry our belts. To ensure you have the correct belt, please check out the link to order direct. http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=20818&partid=4680&icid=ccrr

Jane521
Kansas, USA
Gender:Female
Excellent Deal for the Money!!
1/24/2013

Customer review by BuffaloBased

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by BuffaloBased
by BuffaloBased

This vacuum brought up dirt we didn't even know was still there! Our old vacuum died so we had to make a quick decision. We chose price because we needed it fast. This vacuum cleaner is the BEST decision we made!! It was $48 and change with tax, and we are still marveling over what it picked up! It's 10 amps, 2 less than our previous one, and it's MUCH more efficient! There's no going back to any other type of vacuum for us! Light weight, pretty much propels itself, and a double-tap on the pedal lowers the handle to get under furniture. Comfortable to use for my 6' tall hubby, and for me at 5'. Love it!

BuffaloBased
Buffalo, NY, USA
Gender:Female
Wow!!!
8/9/2014

Customer review by Home Maker 7273

5.0 stars 8/9/2014 by Home Maker 7273
by Home Maker 7273

I bought this vacuum so I didn't have to carry my heavy Dyson down stairs to vacuum my area rugs. It was just a supplement.....but I took it up upstairs to test it out on my white carpet (like a kid with a new toy). I am amazed at what it pulled up that my Dyson left behind! First time use and I had to pull it apart to clean the filter. So people, I own 5 vacuums from Rainbow, Dyson, Miele....which I spent thousands combined and they don't compare to this and I service my vacuums yearly. So with the cost of this vacuum I could say....go ahead- you'll be impressed!

Home Maker 7273
Clarkston, MI 48346, USA
Gender:Female
strong air coming out of front vent
5/18/2013

Customer review by cristina t

4.0 stars 5/18/2013 by cristina t
by cristina t

i really love this product. but, every time i vacuum there is a strong air (as if you put your head out the car window and the air is blowing your hair strong) this is coming out of the front vent. im not sure if im explaining the location right. its in the front. almost like the grill. where it has lots of wholes in it. shouldnt air go inside? on mine the air comes out. so im thinking that its throwing dust back out in my house. is this normal? or not? i really dont like it. i have two small kids and i feel as if its just throwing dust back in my house.

Comment from Lisa - 5/20/2013

This is exahust air that has to come out to keep the motor cool. As long as you keep the filters clean; the dust won't blow out.

cristina t
springfield, mo
Gender:Female
Pretty Good For The Price
6/11/2012

Customer review by Mikey

4.0 stars 6/11/2012 by Mikey
by Mikey

I bought my Bissell a couple of months back, and have used it several times. I am pleased with it's cleaning power and ease of handling. It is also pretty easy to clean, and I don't mind doing it because I don't have to worry about running out of bags. The only complaint I would have is that the hoses are a very tight fit, and it is not easy to put it together. It really took me a lot of muscle strength to get it ready to go. Also, I don't think the height adjustment works. Otherwise, it is a good deal for the price, and I am generally happy I bought it.

Mikey
Arizona, USA
Gender:Male
I give it an Okay
6/26/2015

Customer review by ChristyisinCR

3.0 stars 6/26/2015 by ChristyisinCR
by ChristyisinCR

I do like the bagless vac, However I have an older Bissell Powerforce that seems a bit more solid than this newer one I got.I got the limited (pink) color and the wheels are really loud when rolling it and it seems less powerful for suction.I don't know if it's just the one I got or not.My old one doesn't do that.But I already used it and threw out the box so I can't return it.I just got it last week.My older powerforce has served me well and I trusted the brand enough to try this newer one, not thrilled but not mad.

Comment from David - 6/29/2015

Thank you for your review. To ensure you have the best suction with your BISSELL please make sure the filters are clean. Dirty filters will restrict airflow. The good news is the foam filters are hand washable with mild soap. They do need to be completely dry before reinstalling.

ChristyisinCR
works great
4/2/2012

Customer review by old Pete

4.0 stars 4/2/2012 by old Pete
by old Pete

I have an older canister type of sweeper which works well but this sweeper picked up dirt the other one missed, not just some dirt but a lot of dirt it filled the hopper. my friend said that the carpet looked brighter. Doing the whole house I actually had to empty the hopper 3 times if you don't want to be bothered emptying the hopper get another cleaner because this one cleans and cleans well. only thing I can say bad is the length of the power cord it needs to be longer another 5 to 10 feet would make this sweeper a 5 star sweeper.

Comment from Joe - 4/4/2012

Thanks for the great review Old Pete. The next model up called the Cleanview Helix offers a longer cord and a few other additional features at a great price. Check it out: http://www.bissell.com/cleanview-helix-vacuum/?icid=ccrr

old Pete
Columbus, ohio
Gender:Male
1-20 of 174 total reviews
1-20 of 174 reviews