Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 217 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

217 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

217 reviews | 4 out of 5

25%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
33
3 stars
17
2 stars
8
1 stars
33
1-20 of 217 total reviews
25%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 217 total reviews
1-20 of 217 reviews
Pulls like a shopvac, but with HEPA!
1/16/2016

Customer review by bobbofly

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by bobbofly
by bobbofly

I used to love my type7 bagged Bissell, but I look at it now & it's like seeing an old flame who's nowhere near as hot as your new girl - "yeah, Babe, we'll hook up for sure some time. Uh, gotta go, bye!" (Shameface). Seriously, though - this thing picks up dog hair & gunk I didn't even know I had - stuff I was even steam cleaning over! Folks mentioning reduced efficiency over time, here's the deal: bissell uprights sometimes clog at the little plastic flextube leading from the beater bar to the main hose, Easy to disassemble & clean with a hangar-wire. Takes all of ten minutes. Remove the belt guard plate on the bottom & lay the upper part of the vacuum down like you're cleaning under the bed, & that flextube can be slid right out for unplugging. Check the main hose while you're at it. Try not to pick up any toothpicks, Q-Tips, large twigs, etc. & you shouldn't have too many probs. & yes, you can clean the curved Hepa filter on the front with water, just don't go scrubbing on it. Or better yet blow it out with compressed air from a compressor, just be GENTLE.

bobbofly
Sun Valley, NV
Gender:Male
Great product, except...!
7/7/2012

Customer review by pmae

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by pmae
by pmae

I originally purchased this Bissell Vacuum cleaner the beginning of June, 2012. I have had other Bissell vacuums in the past and been pleased with them. This time though I wanted a slightly better model as I have been having many more problems with my allergies (plus I own a cat!). It worked really well and brought my shag carpeting back to life! It sucked up the cat hair and worked MUCH better than the one I had before. BUT, I left it running and sitting on my shag carpeting while I moved a chair out of the way. That was a mistake, as it caused my rug to melt and mat, as well as causing it to melt onto the bar and brush on the underside. I did exchange it and got the same one (that shows how much I liked this model!), BUT now I don't leave it sitting still for even 1 second to avoid the same problem. I don't know why that happened, but I did want to put out a word of warning. The vacuum itself moves very nicely even on the deep shag rug I have, and also works well on my bare floors and very low pile rugs. Just don't let it sit while running in one spot!

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Pmae, there are several other vacuums that may be better suited for you. These models all have brush on/off switches: http://www.bissell.com/product_comparison.aspx?ids=2465,2464,20874&icid=ccrr

pmae
Norfolk, VA, USA
Gender:Female
Massive flaw that ruins an otherwise serviceable vacuum
5/21/2013

Customer review by CodyC

1.0 stars 5/21/2013 by CodyC
by CodyC

This isn't a bad vacuum altogether. It vacuums well, it's easy to use, and it's cheap and easy to assemble. What ends up ruining it completely is the hose. The collection hose needs to be connected to a socket on the back of the vacuum to deposit the detritus into the collector. The problem is that the hose simply attaches to the socket through two tiny protrusions on the end that fit into slots on the socket. It doesn't actually lock, and even a minor jostling (such as tilting the vacuum up to lock it upright after you finish) will promptly cause the hose to fall out. Even worse, the hose can be turned 180 degrees and inserted upside-down, which looks completely identical to the proper position but will fall out simply from gravity, or if you look at it funny. Did I mention that if the hose falls out, you'll end up with trash falling at your feet and the vacuum no longer works at all?

Comment from Lisa - 5/23/2013

Thank you for your review. The hose should lock in place by twisting it to the right; if not you do have a warranty with your machine. Please contact us at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

CodyC
Longwood, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Won't Turn on After 10 uses
9/8/2013

Customer review by lolastarr

1.0 stars 9/8/2013 by lolastarr
by lolastarr

Very disappointed that after 10 uses, my PowerForce Helix Turbo will no turn on by depressing the red on/off button. If I had posted this user prior to this unfortunate event, it would have been between a 3 - 4 because of the issues it has picking up direct on bare wood floors and how little gets picked up from pile carpet (despite the settings changes available). If fact, like another user posted, it you use the carpet specific settings for carpet vacuuming, the machine just blows the dirt around. So, you use the bare floor setting on carpeting, and that works fine. But , I was forced to buy another vacuum for the hard floors. As a Bissell fan, I am soo disappointed by my machine not turning on now. After 10 uses and a compulsive cleaner of the washable filters, I would have assumed my upkeep would have warranted me many happy years of vacuum performance.

Comment from Lisa - 9/10/2013

We appreciate your feedback. BISSELL has a bare floor tool available that would work with your model for future reference. Please click at this link to view: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=2437&partid=4646

lolastarr
Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
vacuum itself gets dusty when you use it
1/21/2013

Customer review by Mommyreffic

3.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Mommyreffic
by Mommyreffic

I bought this product yesterday due to the good reviews i've read. I was impressed at how easy it was to assemble (wont take longer than 5 mins). It was also very light and very easy to maneuver. It has alot of suction and i was able to see all the dirt i have in my house from the dirt cup. i was completely blown Away! it sucks up all the seen and unseen dirt all over the place. However, when i use the turbo brush or any other attachments, i found out that the hose is quite too short. I also noticed that when i take out the hose from the base, dust sprinkles back to air and the vacuum itself becomes dusty too. I had to wipe down the vacuum after use. Cleaning the dirt bag and the filters are no biggy. In fact i actually enjoyed it since i could see all the dirt i never thought i had. However, it spits out some dust back in to the air when i empty the dirt bag. Cleaning filters can be a little messy too as the dust keep falling from it. Other than that, that's the only concern i have from this product. I noticed my husband kept sneezing after a few mins of Vacuuming. I think the dust from the hose base might be the biggest culprit.

Mommyreffic
Maryland, USA
Gender:Female
Love & Hate Realationship (Happy Ending)
9/30/2013

Customer review by Love the Force

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Love the Force
by Love the Force

Okay, I had this vacuum for over a year and was disappointed when it started to pick up less and less (to the point that it took less time to just sweep as opposed to vacuuming). Nothing was really getting into the upper tank or dirt container Ahhhhh. I purchased new filters (and it’s a lot of them) without any luck. I was getting so frustrated that I was ready to set it on the curb and buy something else but I went on line and researched what others have done. Lo and behold after checking the belt and some of the hoses for holes I realized that the culprit was the foot hose and boy was it clogged (I mean really-really clogged). I turned it over, unscrewed the screw and it It took about 20 min to dig everything out but once I did it ran as good as new whoo hoo. At last the dirt actually went into the tanks and I was no longer just pushing dirt around. So before you give up on the wonderful vacume I would suggest checking the foot hose and not just by lifting the hose wand and glancing inside I mean taking the screw out and laying it down so that the hose can stretch out and you’ll be able to see all the dirt that’s trapped inside.

Love the Force
Michigan
Gender:Female
Superior suction, GREAT Attachments
7/21/2015

Customer review by Older then Dirt

5.0 stars 7/21/2015 by Older then Dirt
by Older then Dirt

My first "bagless" vaccumm. I'm a bit concerned that over time the suction will diminish but right now, I'm betting it could "suck golf balls through a garden hose". I was surprised to see all the dog hair my old vacuum missed over time. The darn canister was almost full on the first use- all dog hair. The BEST attachment is the portable suction head. Great for stairs, furniture and the like. One note about attaching this suction head mounting bracket to your machine handle #during assembly out of the box#: the mounting bracket is supposed to slide down into the smaller hole. Well, I tried my darndest and couldn't get it to lock in place. I put a slight coat of dishwashing soap on the narrow part of the hole and it slid in with a minimum of effort. It would be nice if they included that tip in the set-up instructions

Older then Dirt
By the Shore, New Jersey
Gender:Male
higher expectation than this
3/12/2012

Customer review by pam55

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by pam55
by pam55

I have purchased Powerforce bagless cleaners for the last 15 years. I wanted a new vacuum to put the older one downstairs. Paid more for this one than the blue Powerforce thinking it would be better. WRONG! the hose that you pull off to use attachments does not have a handle like the old one--very difficult to grab and then put back on so it doesn't come off while vacuuming. The hose is also stiffer to use with attachments, too. I also prefer the on/off button up higher to turn on with hand rather than foot. Also, this one didn't have headlight like older less expensive model. It was lacking the extra extender bar for reaching higher places with wand. Overall, I would not buy this again. I know the less expensive blue Powerforce is much better. It can't be returned because I used it and it looks dirty, so too bad for me.

Comment from Joe - 3/14/2012

Pam55, thanks for your feedback. We continuously make new versions of our units and they can include new features as well as eliminate others. We are sorry that you're not happy with your unit. You can view the units and look at their features either in the stores (on the box) or online we give pictures and descriptions of features. I hope this helps for any future purchases.

pam55
Mid-Michigan
Gender:Female
proffessioals choice
11/5/2013

Customer review by nodustylungs51

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by nodustylungs51
by nodustylungs51

I am a professional Building manager, and have been in the "business" over 35 years. The single most important improvement I have witnessed is the advent of the bagless vacuum. I will admit at first I was quite unimpressed. Wow have you come a long way. I do recommend your vacs to anyone, both in and out of the workplace. I own this vac at home, as well as at work. I clean the cup after each use, and wash the filters and cup every other week. With this in mind the vac is like new all the time. If you can not smell dust while vacuuming, it is a great day. With my cleaning schedule of the vac, I never inhale what is going into the cup. Naturally I do not abuse the vac, and it doesn't abuse me. What a great advancement in cleaning, and I haven't even mentioned the more than acceptable price. What a great vac. and company.

nodustylungs51
Oskaloosa, IA, USA
Gender:Male
FANTASTIC!
10/14/2013

Customer review by simsdiva9

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by simsdiva9
by simsdiva9

I have been married for 35 years and in that time I have owned several vacuums. Some better than others, however, I have never owned such a fantastic vacuum. We have a 6 year old yellow lab with medium length hair and a 4 year old granddaughter that visits 3-4 days a week. The first time I vacuumed with this new vacuum I almost cried. The amount of fine dirt it sucked out our carpets in such a small area amazed me, and the almost crying was from knowing our granddaughter had been playing on that same area with her face rather close watching cartoons, etc. The pet brush has just as much power. So far, a week has gone by and I vacuum daily (it is shedding season) and I am still amazed at the power this lightweight, mid-priced vacuum has. Will definitely be telling my friends about this purchase! Go BISSELL!!!

simsdiva9
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Buy something else
1/20/2014

Customer review by Lisa

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Lisa
by Lisa

It's hard to explain how much I detest this vacuum cleaner. I have bought plenty of Bissell products in the past, so I know they make some good vacuum cleaners; this is not one of them. This vacuum cleaner needs to be cleaned every 5 minutes or it doesn't work effectively. It is messy and difficult to clean, and the filters clog so fast. When you remove the attachment tube to use it, dirt and dust fly up out of the open hole that the tube rests in when not in use. While I vacuum, I see dust flying around in the air- coming from my vacuum cleaner!! It is annoying beyond belief. I spend more time cleaning this stupid vacuum cleaner than I do vacuuming. So do yourself a favor and buy something else. As for me, I can't wait for this thing to break so I can do the same.

Comment from Lisa - 1/27/2014

Thanks for your feedback, and we are sorry for your difficulty. With blowing dust, this could be a clog in your machine. Please check out the link for some easy tips to get your machine working again. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1498

Lisa
Illinois, USA
Gender:Female
Love my new vacuum!
3/21/2013

Customer review by Missy

5.0 stars 3/21/2013 by Missy
by Missy

Recently purchased the Powerforce Helix Turbo for our home, we have two cats and 2 sets of carpeted stairs, so lots of upkeep and work, the Helix does the job! I had previously had a Dirt Devil, which turned out to be a real LEMON! The belt fell off with every use and after two uses the canister and the filter had to be cleaned out completely to have any suction at all. My new vacuum has given me ZERO problems, it's as powerful as the first day I used it and I can not believe how much it picks up, it's shocking! I actually took a photo of the canister contents one day, beacuse I was so shocked! I love the light weight construction, and it doesn't feel like a cheap piece of plastic, the turbo brush works great on the cat hair and the stairs, I couldn't be happier!

Missy
Reynoldsburg, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Good vacuum for the money
10/8/2012

Customer review by catnk9

4.0 stars 10/8/2012 by catnk9
by catnk9

I purchased this a few weeks ago from Walmart. I had read the filters are washable, and my daughter liked the purple color. It's light weight, vacuums very, very well. It pulls up powder-sized dirt from the carpet. The hoses stay attached, and the hand held attachment with the roller brush is excellent on cat hair for my comforter and couch. I had read in a review, and I agree, that the only downfall is when emptying the cup--powdered dirt falls from above the cup onto the bottom of the vacuum. I suggest you empty it often to cut down on this. (I usually use the hose to suck it up off the vacuum). Also, I was the plastic circular piece that is above the dirt container when I was the filters. I'd definitely buy it again.

catnk9
Little Rock, AR, USA
Gender:Female
not sure what to think..
6/24/2014

Customer review by Rochelle2093

3.0 stars 6/24/2014 by Rochelle2093
by Rochelle2093

I have mixed reviews. I've had this vacuum for almost 3 years and it has been great, hasn't had a broken belt or anything. however, it used to clean up my 2 dog's hair perfectly, however only the last year it has picked and chosen (so to speak) which spots it'd like to vacuum up. When I vacuum it leaves lines and have to vacuum over the spot a million times at different angles. I have cleaned out the filters, and all the little compartments #which is very tedious work, and I end up getting more dirt on myself and floor than in the vacuum). I'm wanting a better vacuum for pet hair but not spend a fortune. Anyone recommend maybe a dual carpet cleaner/vacuum combo from Bissell? any response would be greatly appreciated.

Rochelle2093
Republic, MO, USA
Gender:Female
why change something that works with something that doesn't
5/14/2012

Customer review by cindy

1.0 stars 5/14/2012 by cindy
by cindy

TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE!!!! This was my favorite vacuum until I bought a new one, bissell has changed it and it is for the worse, the hose is cheapy, it broke off it within a week, there is now no handle on the wand so you have to pull on the hose, so that will probably pull out of the end soon! the dirt container now comes out in 2 pieces, it used to come out as one and u twisted off the bottom for the filter, so now u have to fuddle to put it back in, the wand is shorter, the cord is shorter. the upholstery attachment fell off and is now in 5 pieces, I have used this type of Bissell for over 10 years and the new improved.. BAD<> BAD!! whoever redesigned it apparently doesn't vacuum at ALL!!

Comment from Joe - 5/23/2012

Thanks for the review Cindy. The Powerforce Helix Turbo is actually a new platform. The features you are looking for are on our CleanView Helix Deluxe model shown at this link: http://www.bissell.com/clean-view-helix-deluxe-vacuum/?icid=ccrr I hope this clears up any confusion.

cindy
Florida, USA
Gender:Female
simply the best.....
10/7/2013

Customer review by wattamutt

5.0 stars 10/7/2013 by wattamutt
by wattamutt

this is the best vacuum. its more convenient than the very expensive vacuum from a dealer that i have. when i come home from work the last thing i want to do is fight with a 35 pound vacuum to clean the steps . this is light enough to hold with one hand and you just pop out the hose and use it on the steps. the suction is better than the very expensive model also. this will suck the curtains right off if your not careful. also gets all the pet hair from everything too. and the little turbo brush is great for the furniture. hey... i didnt get a turbo brush with with my big heavy vacuum! well anyway, no more hassles for me at least. just clean carpets and furniture. WAY TO GO BISSELL!!

wattamutt
Coatesville, PA 19320, USA
Gender:Female
Amazing
4/8/2012

Customer review by J

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by J
by J

I recently purchased the Bissell Heliix force to replace my old Bissel that died after 8 years of daily use. It does an amazing job of picking up dog hair (we have 4 small inside dogs that shed excessively) and it is doing a great job, just what I expect from a Bissell. I have had more expensive vacuums and other brands but the Bissell vacuums put them all to shame. I would like to recommend to the company to make the foam filter that covers the paper filter available for purchasing I like to wash mine often and it would be helpful to just have a spare one to put on and then wash the other one. A lot longer cord would be nice. Thanks Bissell for making another outstanding vacuum.

J
Oklahoma
Gender:Female
Super suction!
12/31/2013

Customer review by MelissaG

5.0 stars 12/31/2013 by MelissaG
by MelissaG

We just moved to a new house in April. We had the floors professionally cleaned then. Also, I'm a clean freak so I vacuum regularly. I just vacuumed with my over ten year old bag Bissell last week before heading home for the holidays. We've been home a couple of days and I decided to give my new gift a try. I am still amazed after going over the carpets twice the amount of dirt, dust, and debris that the Bissell powerforce helix turbo picked up. I've been living in dirt all these months! Needless to say I won't sleep well because I want to keep cleaning but you can bet tomorrow we'll be moving furniture to do a deep clean of the whole floor. I'm in love with this vacuum!

MelissaG
Illinois
Gender:Female
Wonderful for a household that have children with allergies!
5/12/2012

Customer review by HappyMommy

5.0 stars 5/12/2012 by HappyMommy
by HappyMommy

My husband just bought me this unit as an early Mothers' Day gift. My whole family has allergies but my husband and son are highly sensitive to dust. I use this every single day #because I'm very particular about dirty floors# and my family has already noticed a HUGE difference in the sniffles and watery eyes. There is no escaping dust from the air exchange on the vaccum, works well on both carpet and hardwood floors and the attatchments are perfect. Washable filters are very important to me and this vaccum has them, saving money is always a plus. It is not very heavy, it has great suction so far, and it's purple :) My hubby did a great job on the gift this year!

HappyMommy
Maryland
Gender:Female
Amazing vacuum at an amazing price
3/13/2013

Customer review by Caleb321

5.0 stars 3/13/2013 by Caleb321
by Caleb321

I am disgusted. Not because it doesn't work but because it DOES work. This thing picked up dog hair, human hair, grit, sand, bits of gravel, and fine powdered dirt. It fluffs up the carpet and makes it look newer. I looked at different brands but Bissell has always been great. I have a Kirby but it wasn't even doing anything plus the bags are outrageous. Anyways, you have to clean it out ever so often for it to work. For the amount it picks up and the price you can't go wrong. Excellent for homes with pets. Just be sure to keep replacement filters at hand when you clean them out. It takes a day for the filters to dry. Other than that it's a pretty amazing tool.

Caleb321
Sikeston, MO 63801, USA
Gender:Male
1-20 of 217 total reviews
1-20 of 217 reviews