Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 216 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

216 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

216 reviews | 4 out of 5

33%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
33
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 stars
33
1-20 of 216 total reviews
33%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 216 total reviews
1-20 of 216 reviews
Pulls like a shopvac, but with HEPA!
1/16/2016

Customer review by bobbofly

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by bobbofly
by bobbofly

I used to love my type7 bagged Bissell, but I look at it now & it's like seeing an old flame who's nowhere near as hot as your new girl - "yeah, Babe, we'll hook up for sure some time. Uh, gotta go, bye!" (Shameface). Seriously, though - this thing picks up dog hair & gunk I didn't even know I had - stuff I was even steam cleaning over! Folks mentioning reduced efficiency over time, here's the deal: bissell uprights sometimes clog at the little plastic flextube leading from the beater bar to the main hose, Easy to disassemble & clean with a hangar-wire. Takes all of ten minutes. Remove the belt guard plate on the bottom & lay the upper part of the vacuum down like you're cleaning under the bed, & that flextube can be slid right out for unplugging. Check the main hose while you're at it. Try not to pick up any toothpicks, Q-Tips, large twigs, etc. & you shouldn't have too many probs. & yes, you can clean the curved Hepa filter on the front with water, just don't go scrubbing on it. Or better yet blow it out with compressed air from a compressor, just be GENTLE.

bobbofly
Sun Valley, NV
Gender:Male
Don't bother
2/11/2014

Customer review by Ragean

1.0 stars 2/11/2014 by Ragean
by Ragean

I have had this vacuum about 4 months and have concluded that this is probably the worst engineered vacuum I have ever owned. Unless the foam filter is cleaned each time it is used, it doesn't even pick up the smallest piece of lint. We'll see how long the filter lasts. Then when you pull the filter out to clean it, dust flies out everywhere. There is more dust inside the vacuum than inside the filter so I am constantly cleaning the vacuum. The hose is so short that when you try to reach out, the vacuum falls over and dust goes everywhere. The brush is built in such a way that you cannot get under anything (the sofa!) to clean. It is truly worthless. I read the reviews and for the most part they were good, at least I thought I could live with them, but this vacuum is just the worst. It should be pulled off the market. Sorry, but this is going to the trash ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ragean
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great product, except...!
7/7/2012

Customer review by pmae

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by pmae
by pmae

I originally purchased this Bissell Vacuum cleaner the beginning of June, 2012. I have had other Bissell vacuums in the past and been pleased with them. This time though I wanted a slightly better model as I have been having many more problems with my allergies (plus I own a cat!). It worked really well and brought my shag carpeting back to life! It sucked up the cat hair and worked MUCH better than the one I had before. BUT, I left it running and sitting on my shag carpeting while I moved a chair out of the way. That was a mistake, as it caused my rug to melt and mat, as well as causing it to melt onto the bar and brush on the underside. I did exchange it and got the same one (that shows how much I liked this model!), BUT now I don't leave it sitting still for even 1 second to avoid the same problem. I don't know why that happened, but I did want to put out a word of warning. The vacuum itself moves very nicely even on the deep shag rug I have, and also works well on my bare floors and very low pile rugs. Just don't let it sit while running in one spot!

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Pmae, there are several other vacuums that may be better suited for you. These models all have brush on/off switches: http://www.bissell.com/product_comparison.aspx?ids=2465,2464,20874&icid=ccrr

pmae
Norfolk, VA, USA
Gender:Female
Massive flaw that ruins an otherwise serviceable vacuum
5/21/2013

Customer review by CodyC

1.0 stars 5/21/2013 by CodyC
by CodyC

This isn't a bad vacuum altogether. It vacuums well, it's easy to use, and it's cheap and easy to assemble. What ends up ruining it completely is the hose. The collection hose needs to be connected to a socket on the back of the vacuum to deposit the detritus into the collector. The problem is that the hose simply attaches to the socket through two tiny protrusions on the end that fit into slots on the socket. It doesn't actually lock, and even a minor jostling (such as tilting the vacuum up to lock it upright after you finish) will promptly cause the hose to fall out. Even worse, the hose can be turned 180 degrees and inserted upside-down, which looks completely identical to the proper position but will fall out simply from gravity, or if you look at it funny. Did I mention that if the hose falls out, you'll end up with trash falling at your feet and the vacuum no longer works at all?

Comment from Lisa - 5/23/2013

Thank you for your review. The hose should lock in place by twisting it to the right; if not you do have a warranty with your machine. Please contact us at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

CodyC
Longwood, FL, USA
Gender:Male
Won't Turn on After 10 uses
9/8/2013

Customer review by lolastarr

1.0 stars 9/8/2013 by lolastarr
by lolastarr

Very disappointed that after 10 uses, my PowerForce Helix Turbo will no turn on by depressing the red on/off button. If I had posted this user prior to this unfortunate event, it would have been between a 3 - 4 because of the issues it has picking up direct on bare wood floors and how little gets picked up from pile carpet (despite the settings changes available). If fact, like another user posted, it you use the carpet specific settings for carpet vacuuming, the machine just blows the dirt around. So, you use the bare floor setting on carpeting, and that works fine. But , I was forced to buy another vacuum for the hard floors. As a Bissell fan, I am soo disappointed by my machine not turning on now. After 10 uses and a compulsive cleaner of the washable filters, I would have assumed my upkeep would have warranted me many happy years of vacuum performance.

Comment from Lisa - 9/10/2013

We appreciate your feedback. BISSELL has a bare floor tool available that would work with your model for future reference. Please click at this link to view: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=2437&partid=4646

lolastarr
Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
Superior suction, GREAT Attachments
7/21/2015

Customer review by Older then Dirt

5.0 stars 7/21/2015 by Older then Dirt
by Older then Dirt

My first "bagless" vaccumm. I'm a bit concerned that over time the suction will diminish but right now, I'm betting it could "suck golf balls through a garden hose". I was surprised to see all the dog hair my old vacuum missed over time. The darn canister was almost full on the first use- all dog hair. The BEST attachment is the portable suction head. Great for stairs, furniture and the like. One note about attaching this suction head mounting bracket to your machine handle #during assembly out of the box#: the mounting bracket is supposed to slide down into the smaller hole. Well, I tried my darndest and couldn't get it to lock in place. I put a slight coat of dishwashing soap on the narrow part of the hole and it slid in with a minimum of effort. It would be nice if they included that tip in the set-up instructions

Older then Dirt
By the Shore, New Jersey
Gender:Male
Careless packing of parts
2/5/2014

Customer review by boneszboy

3.0 stars 2/5/2014 by boneszboy
by boneszboy

Bought as a replacement for an old Eureka Boss which is a pretty heavy vacuum. I was frustrated the minute I unpacked it though since the small packet taped to the handle only contained one screw instead of two. The packet was not broken so this was just pure carelessness on the part of someone. Called Bissell and they are sending me some screws to attach the handle. Phoning them was quick and they were polite and professional. I went ahead and tested it carefully with just the one screw attaching the handle thinking I would just return the vacuum if anything else went wrong. The Bissell is much lighter and easier to push around the carpet than the old Eureka and it does seem to pick up well. Overall, things went OK but I do think it needs a higher setting for deep carpet and shag. I can see how people have complained about burning belts since it has a tendency to bog down on something like our shag rug. Also, I wish the brush would disengage like the Eureka when set to the bare floor setting. I will not use this vacuum on our wood floors which are pretty soft. Will see how it goes after a few weeks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
boneszboy
missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
vacuum itself gets dusty when you use it
1/21/2013

Customer review by Mommyreffic

3.0 stars 1/21/2013 by Mommyreffic
by Mommyreffic

I bought this product yesterday due to the good reviews i've read. I was impressed at how easy it was to assemble (wont take longer than 5 mins). It was also very light and very easy to maneuver. It has alot of suction and i was able to see all the dirt i have in my house from the dirt cup. i was completely blown Away! it sucks up all the seen and unseen dirt all over the place. However, when i use the turbo brush or any other attachments, i found out that the hose is quite too short. I also noticed that when i take out the hose from the base, dust sprinkles back to air and the vacuum itself becomes dusty too. I had to wipe down the vacuum after use. Cleaning the dirt bag and the filters are no biggy. In fact i actually enjoyed it since i could see all the dirt i never thought i had. However, it spits out some dust back in to the air when i empty the dirt bag. Cleaning filters can be a little messy too as the dust keep falling from it. Other than that, that's the only concern i have from this product. I noticed my husband kept sneezing after a few mins of Vacuuming. I think the dust from the hose base might be the biggest culprit.

Mommyreffic
Maryland, USA
Gender:Female
Love & Hate Realationship (Happy Ending)
9/30/2013

Customer review by Love the Force

5.0 stars 9/30/2013 by Love the Force
by Love the Force

Okay, I had this vacuum for over a year and was disappointed when it started to pick up less and less (to the point that it took less time to just sweep as opposed to vacuuming). Nothing was really getting into the upper tank or dirt container Ahhhhh. I purchased new filters (and it’s a lot of them) without any luck. I was getting so frustrated that I was ready to set it on the curb and buy something else but I went on line and researched what others have done. Lo and behold after checking the belt and some of the hoses for holes I realized that the culprit was the foot hose and boy was it clogged (I mean really-really clogged). I turned it over, unscrewed the screw and it It took about 20 min to dig everything out but once I did it ran as good as new whoo hoo. At last the dirt actually went into the tanks and I was no longer just pushing dirt around. So before you give up on the wonderful vacume I would suggest checking the foot hose and not just by lifting the hose wand and glancing inside I mean taking the screw out and laying it down so that the hose can stretch out and you’ll be able to see all the dirt that’s trapped inside.

Love the Force
Michigan
Gender:Female
Great
2/27/2016

Customer review by Tiffany

4.0 stars 2/27/2016 by Tiffany
by Tiffany

I used to own a more expensive vacuum and was constantly having problems with it. Finally it broke. I bought this vacuum for the price. I needed a new one and didn't have a lot of money to spend. It works fantastic! The only problem I have is it seems you have to wash out the collection cup and filter every time I vacuum. But it doesn't take that long and it does a great job at doing what it's supposed to do, picking up dirt!

Tiffany
Indiana, USA
Gender:Female
higher expectation than this
3/12/2012

Customer review by pam55

1.0 stars 3/12/2012 by pam55
by pam55

I have purchased Powerforce bagless cleaners for the last 15 years. I wanted a new vacuum to put the older one downstairs. Paid more for this one than the blue Powerforce thinking it would be better. WRONG! the hose that you pull off to use attachments does not have a handle like the old one--very difficult to grab and then put back on so it doesn't come off while vacuuming. The hose is also stiffer to use with attachments, too. I also prefer the on/off button up higher to turn on with hand rather than foot. Also, this one didn't have headlight like older less expensive model. It was lacking the extra extender bar for reaching higher places with wand. Overall, I would not buy this again. I know the less expensive blue Powerforce is much better. It can't be returned because I used it and it looks dirty, so too bad for me.

Comment from Joe - 3/14/2012

Pam55, thanks for your feedback. We continuously make new versions of our units and they can include new features as well as eliminate others. We are sorry that you're not happy with your unit. You can view the units and look at their features either in the stores (on the box) or online we give pictures and descriptions of features. I hope this helps for any future purchases.

pam55
Mid-Michigan
Gender:Female
proffessioals choice
11/5/2013

Customer review by nodustylungs51

5.0 stars 11/5/2013 by nodustylungs51
by nodustylungs51

I am a professional Building manager, and have been in the "business" over 35 years. The single most important improvement I have witnessed is the advent of the bagless vacuum. I will admit at first I was quite unimpressed. Wow have you come a long way. I do recommend your vacs to anyone, both in and out of the workplace. I own this vac at home, as well as at work. I clean the cup after each use, and wash the filters and cup every other week. With this in mind the vac is like new all the time. If you can not smell dust while vacuuming, it is a great day. With my cleaning schedule of the vac, I never inhale what is going into the cup. Naturally I do not abuse the vac, and it doesn't abuse me. What a great advancement in cleaning, and I haven't even mentioned the more than acceptable price. What a great vac. and company.

nodustylungs51
Oskaloosa, IA, USA
Gender:Male
FANTASTIC!
10/14/2013

Customer review by simsdiva9

5.0 stars 10/14/2013 by simsdiva9
by simsdiva9

I have been married for 35 years and in that time I have owned several vacuums. Some better than others, however, I have never owned such a fantastic vacuum. We have a 6 year old yellow lab with medium length hair and a 4 year old granddaughter that visits 3-4 days a week. The first time I vacuumed with this new vacuum I almost cried. The amount of fine dirt it sucked out our carpets in such a small area amazed me, and the almost crying was from knowing our granddaughter had been playing on that same area with her face rather close watching cartoons, etc. The pet brush has just as much power. So far, a week has gone by and I vacuum daily (it is shedding season) and I am still amazed at the power this lightweight, mid-priced vacuum has. Will definitely be telling my friends about this purchase! Go BISSELL!!!

simsdiva9
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Terrible experience
2/27/2016

Customer review by red

1.0 stars 2/27/2016 by red
by red

I have had this bissell for about a year and it has lost suction and it is even stated on the box this will NEVER lose suction "yeah right" I will NEVER buy another bissell EVER again!!!!

Comment from Juan - 3/1/2016

Oh no! Have you had a chance to clean the filters or check for clogs? Here are a few steps that should return suction to your PowerForce: http://www.bissell.com/support/helpful-resources/faqs/faq-detail-page?id=6c54c696-fde7-4f87-b8fb-1c6148573012&cid=ccsocial2107

red
Dayton, OH, USA
Gender:Female
Buyer Beware.
1/27/2016

Customer review by mmantai

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by mmantai
by mmantai

I have bought not one.. Not two.. But THREE of these vacuums for a tiny 900 sqft apartment (all within only 8 months.. WHAT?!?!) and the belt has snapped on ALL of them in less than three months. Cleaned the brush head after every use as well as cleaned out the canister. The power is fantastic and it cleans our carpets very well but wow I can't get over the terrible quality of the parts. Will never buy this vacuum again. So disappointed.

mmantai
a, Edmonton, AB T6W, Canada
Gender:Female
PowerForce Bagless
2/20/2016

Customer review by Jill

1.0 stars 2/20/2016 by Jill
by Jill

Save your money! I can get more suction through a garden hose with my mouth.

Jill
Eudora, Kansas
Gender:Female
Good Vac
1/22/2016

Customer review by Carl

4.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Carl
by Carl

I bought a Bissell pet Carpet cleaner first and decided I needed a good Vac to go along with the cleaner. The carpet cleaner worked so good I stayed with the Bissell and it had good reviews. It is much quicker and easier to use than the old vacuum I had been using and does a much better job. Maybe I should have given it a 5 star rating but I'm still getting used to them.

Carl
Worcester, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Bad filters require daily cleaning
1/31/2016

Customer review by musicdeb

1.0 stars 1/31/2016 by musicdeb
by musicdeb

I've owned Bissell vacuums for the last 5-6 years. I bought this vacuum a year ago. This has to be the worst so far. The 2 filters consistently collects hair. I have to clean the filters after each use. I will not buy this vacuum again. Too much work!

musicdeb
Dallas, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Very Stiff Hose
1/18/2016

Customer review by Gene

2.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Gene
by Gene

I have had this vacuum for a few months and haven't used it as much as I should. The problem is that the hose is so stiff that when I try to reach out a couple of feet the hose pulls the machine over. I would love to have a replacement hose which is more flexible but I doubt that Bissell has one which is not so stiff as the one they put on this machine.

Gene
Manitou Springs, CO, USA
Gender:Male
Buy something else
1/20/2014

Customer review by Lisa

1.0 stars 1/20/2014 by Lisa
by Lisa

It's hard to explain how much I detest this vacuum cleaner. I have bought plenty of Bissell products in the past, so I know they make some good vacuum cleaners; this is not one of them. This vacuum cleaner needs to be cleaned every 5 minutes or it doesn't work effectively. It is messy and difficult to clean, and the filters clog so fast. When you remove the attachment tube to use it, dirt and dust fly up out of the open hole that the tube rests in when not in use. While I vacuum, I see dust flying around in the air- coming from my vacuum cleaner!! It is annoying beyond belief. I spend more time cleaning this stupid vacuum cleaner than I do vacuuming. So do yourself a favor and buy something else. As for me, I can't wait for this thing to break so I can do the same.

Comment from Lisa - 1/27/2014

Thanks for your feedback, and we are sorry for your difficulty. With blowing dust, this could be a clog in your machine. Please check out the link for some easy tips to get your machine working again. http://www.bissell.com/FAQDetail.aspx?id=1498

Lisa
Illinois, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 216 total reviews
1-20 of 216 reviews