Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 213 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

213 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

213 reviews | 4 out of 5

33%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
126
4 stars
32
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 stars
31
1-20 of 213 total reviews
33%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews
Pulls like a shopvac, but with HEPA!
1/16/2016

Customer review by bobbofly

5.0 stars 1/16/2016 by bobbofly
by bobbofly

I used to love my type7 bagged Bissell, but I look at it now & it's like seeing an old flame who's nowhere near as hot as your new girl - "yeah, Babe, we'll hook up for sure some time. Uh, gotta go, bye!" (Shameface). Seriously, though - this thing picks up dog hair & gunk I didn't even know I had - stuff I was even steam cleaning over! Folks mentioning reduced efficiency over time, here's the deal: bissell uprights sometimes clog at the little plastic flextube leading from the beater bar to the main hose, Easy to disassemble & clean with a hangar-wire. Takes all of ten minutes. Remove the belt guard plate on the bottom & lay the upper part of the vacuum down like you're cleaning under the bed, & that flextube can be slid right out for unplugging. Check the main hose while you're at it. Try not to pick up any toothpicks, Q-Tips, large twigs, etc. & you shouldn't have too many probs. & yes, you can clean the curved Hepa filter on the front with water, just don't go scrubbing on it. Or better yet blow it out with compressed air from a compressor, just be GENTLE.

bobbofly
Sun Valley, NV
Gender:Male
Buyer Beware.
1/27/2016

Customer review by mmantai

1.0 stars 1/27/2016 by mmantai
by mmantai

I have bought not one.. Not two.. But THREE of these vacuums for a tiny 900 sqft apartment (all within only 8 months.. WHAT?!?!) and the belt has snapped on ALL of them in less than three months. Cleaned the brush head after every use as well as cleaned out the canister. The power is fantastic and it cleans our carpets very well but wow I can't get over the terrible quality of the parts. Will never buy this vacuum again. So disappointed.

mmantai
a, Edmonton, AB T6W, Canada
Gender:Female
Bad filters require daily cleaning
1/31/2016

Customer review by musicdeb

1.0 stars 1/31/2016 by musicdeb
by musicdeb

I've owned Bissell vacuums for the last 5-6 years. I bought this vacuum a year ago. This has to be the worst so far. The 2 filters consistently collects hair. I have to clean the filters after each use. I will not buy this vacuum again. Too much work!

musicdeb
Dallas, TX, USA
Gender:Female
Good Vac
1/22/2016

Customer review by Carl

4.0 stars 1/22/2016 by Carl
by Carl

I bought a Bissell pet Carpet cleaner first and decided I needed a good Vac to go along with the cleaner. The carpet cleaner worked so good I stayed with the Bissell and it had good reviews. It is much quicker and easier to use than the old vacuum I had been using and does a much better job. Maybe I should have given it a 5 star rating but I'm still getting used to them.

Carl
Worcester, MA, USA
Gender:Male
Very Stiff Hose
1/18/2016

Customer review by Gene

2.0 stars 1/18/2016 by Gene
by Gene

I have had this vacuum for a few months and haven't used it as much as I should. The problem is that the hose is so stiff that when I try to reach out a couple of feet the hose pulls the machine over. I would love to have a replacement hose which is more flexible but I doubt that Bissell has one which is not so stiff as the one they put on this machine.

Gene
Manitou Springs, CO, USA
Gender:Male
It use to work great
12/18/2015

Customer review by shelly66

3.0 stars 12/18/2015 by shelly66
by shelly66

I bought this vacuum a little over a year ago and now it has no suction. I cleaned out everything. When I unhook the hose that suction works but I can't vacuum my whole house with like that. I will have to say we did use the vacuum a lot, we have 3 dogs so that might have contributed to the problem. I am going out tomorrow to buy a new vacuum I think I am going to buy a hoover this time. See if that lasts longer than one year..

Comment from Nikki - 12/22/2015

Hi Shelly - If were getting suction to the hose but not the floor then either there's a clog in the lower hose or the brush/belt may be broken. Both of these are easy fixes so please give us a call, we can help! 1-800-237-7691

shelly66
Detroit, MI, USA
Gender:Female
I love it!!!
12/14/2015

Customer review by tabby2312

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by tabby2312
by tabby2312

This vacuum cleaner is amazing. I have had no trouble at all with it. I like that the filters are washable as well, and the Fabreeze filters work great. I would vacuum every day if I didn't work six days a week.

tabby2312
Little Rock, AR
Gender:Female
Great product, except...!
7/7/2012

Customer review by pmae

4.0 stars 7/7/2012 by pmae
by pmae

I originally purchased this Bissell Vacuum cleaner the beginning of June, 2012. I have had other Bissell vacuums in the past and been pleased with them. This time though I wanted a slightly better model as I have been having many more problems with my allergies (plus I own a cat!). It worked really well and brought my shag carpeting back to life! It sucked up the cat hair and worked MUCH better than the one I had before. BUT, I left it running and sitting on my shag carpeting while I moved a chair out of the way. That was a mistake, as it caused my rug to melt and mat, as well as causing it to melt onto the bar and brush on the underside. I did exchange it and got the same one (that shows how much I liked this model!), BUT now I don't leave it sitting still for even 1 second to avoid the same problem. I don't know why that happened, but I did want to put out a word of warning. The vacuum itself moves very nicely even on the deep shag rug I have, and also works well on my bare floors and very low pile rugs. Just don't let it sit while running in one spot!

Comment from Joe - 7/18/2012

Pmae, there are several other vacuums that may be better suited for you. These models all have brush on/off switches: http://www.bissell.com/product_comparison.aspx?ids=2465,2464,20874&icid=ccrr

pmae
Norfolk, VA, USA
Gender:Female
Superior suction, GREAT Attachments
7/21/2015

Customer review by Older then Dirt

5.0 stars 7/21/2015 by Older then Dirt
by Older then Dirt

My first "bagless" vaccumm. I'm a bit concerned that over time the suction will diminish but right now, I'm betting it could "suck golf balls through a garden hose". I was surprised to see all the dog hair my old vacuum missed over time. The darn canister was almost full on the first use- all dog hair. The BEST attachment is the portable suction head. Great for stairs, furniture and the like. One note about attaching this suction head mounting bracket to your machine handle #during assembly out of the box#: the mounting bracket is supposed to slide down into the smaller hole. Well, I tried my darndest and couldn't get it to lock in place. I put a slight coat of dishwashing soap on the narrow part of the hole and it slid in with a minimum of effort. It would be nice if they included that tip in the set-up instructions

Older then Dirt
By the Shore, New Jersey
Gender:Male
WORST VACCUM EVER
10/15/2015

Customer review by Jon62

1.0 stars 10/15/2015 by Jon62
by Jon62

Bought brand new, had to clean up broken glass on tile and removed the large and medium sized pieces. Didn't pick up ANY small or extra small pieces, went to put it back in box to return and hit the tilt button to get the bottom back in when all the glass came out the bottom. There was NO glass in container. Did not pickup small hay pieces and very little dirt. Returning it tonight!

Comment from Nikki - 10/22/2015

Sorry to hear this happened john! It sounds like there was a clog in the lower hose which prevent the glass to be suctioned up. If you still have the unit this video will help! http://www.bissell.com/how-to-clear-a-clog-powerforce-vacuum/?productid=20629&cid=ccscocial2107

Jon62
Queen Creek AZ
Gender:Male
not what i expected
10/13/2015

Customer review by mentalphysicsw

1.0 stars 10/13/2015 by mentalphysicsw
by mentalphysicsw

i have had this vacuum for only a little over a month and the motor is making a very loud noise. I am not happy with your product. i bought 2 of these and had to exchange the first one within the first month. I work at a retreat center and am having a hard time finding decent vacuums

Comment from Lisa - 10/15/2015

Sorry to hear this! A loud motor can be a symptom of dirty filters letting debris into the motor. Since this is being used commercially make sure to keep an extra eye on these filters. We also make a line of commercial vacuums that could better fit your needs! If you have any issues with the replacement vacuum check out our commercial line here: http://www.bissellcommercial.com/

mentalphysicsw
yucca valley
Gender:Female
My new vacuum
10/15/2015

Customer review by Betty8

5.0 stars 10/15/2015 by Betty8
by Betty8

I really like the vacuum. It picks up fine dust and I have allergies. Our other bissell was smaller. I like all the attachments. I am hoping it will last a long time. I like the easy clean bag less dirt catcher. Very easy and efficient

Betty8
Pensacola fl
Gender:Female
Good suction
10/18/2015

Customer review by Joey03

5.0 stars 10/18/2015 by Joey03
by Joey03

Best economical vacuum I have purchased with powerful suction my old vacuum did not pull out as much dirt as my new power force helix. I would recommend.

Joey03
Signal Hill, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Excellent!!!
10/9/2015

Customer review by Jesi27

5.0 stars 10/9/2015 by Jesi27
by Jesi27

I have used all Bissell products for my home and business and find that the company sells an amazing product, from an owner of pets and running an entire operations of Hotel Cleaning I have utilized the cleaning products and vacuums from even the BIG GREEN shampooer for our everyday use in the Hotel. Thank You Bissell for such great products!!!

Jesi27
Bethlehem, PA, USA
Gender:Female
My new Bissell
10/18/2015

Customer review by LittleMomma2009

5.0 stars 10/18/2015 by LittleMomma2009
by LittleMomma2009

This is a great vacuum and inexpensive. My favorite vacuum so far!

LittleMomma2009
Lincoln City, OR, USA
Gender:Female
Massive flaw that ruins an otherwise serviceable vacuum
5/21/2013

Customer review by CodyC

1.0 stars 5/21/2013 by CodyC
by CodyC

This isn't a bad vacuum altogether. It vacuums well, it's easy to use, and it's cheap and easy to assemble. What ends up ruining it completely is the hose. The collection hose needs to be connected to a socket on the back of the vacuum to deposit the detritus into the collector. The problem is that the hose simply attaches to the socket through two tiny protrusions on the end that fit into slots on the socket. It doesn't actually lock, and even a minor jostling (such as tilting the vacuum up to lock it upright after you finish) will promptly cause the hose to fall out. Even worse, the hose can be turned 180 degrees and inserted upside-down, which looks completely identical to the proper position but will fall out simply from gravity, or if you look at it funny. Did I mention that if the hose falls out, you'll end up with trash falling at your feet and the vacuum no longer works at all?

Comment from Lisa - 5/23/2013

Thank you for your review. The hose should lock in place by twisting it to the right; if not you do have a warranty with your machine. Please contact us at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

CodyC
Longwood, FL, USA
Gender:Male
GOOD VACUUM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
10/8/2015

Customer review by dobald

5.0 stars 10/8/2015 by dobald
by dobald

I LOVE THIS VACUUM I HAD IT like 2 years and it works just fin but i need a couple new parts not becouse IT STOPED WORKINg becouse i want it to last me so i need a rollor power brush and a the bottom plate that goes under the vacuum

dobald
Lahoma, OK 73754, USA
Gender:Male
Don't bother
2/11/2014

Customer review by Ragean

1.0 stars 2/11/2014 by Ragean
by Ragean

I have had this vacuum about 4 months and have concluded that this is probably the worst engineered vacuum I have ever owned. Unless the foam filter is cleaned each time it is used, it doesn't even pick up the smallest piece of lint. We'll see how long the filter lasts. Then when you pull the filter out to clean it, dust flies out everywhere. There is more dust inside the vacuum than inside the filter so I am constantly cleaning the vacuum. The hose is so short that when you try to reach out, the vacuum falls over and dust goes everywhere. The brush is built in such a way that you cannot get under anything (the sofa!) to clean. It is truly worthless. I read the reviews and for the most part they were good, at least I thought I could live with them, but this vacuum is just the worst. It should be pulled off the market. Sorry, but this is going to the trash ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ragean
San Juan Capistrano, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
SOLID QUALITY VACUUM, XLNT VALUE
9/10/2015

Customer review by MsDebbie

5.0 stars 9/10/2015 by MsDebbie
by MsDebbie

Used to be a Hoover family. No more! We own a Bissell carpet cleaner and love it so when my old vac went out, I went straight to Bissell to search for my new Vacuum. And here I have found it. This solid machine is everything I expected and more. Quality made, excellent performance. It has all the features I wanted: Bagless with large dirtcup, long cord, on board tools, and a wide cleaning path which can handle carpets as well as hard surface flooring. Also a great value. WHY PAY MORE? THIS IS A WINNER!

MsDebbie
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Won't Turn on After 10 uses
9/8/2013

Customer review by lolastarr

1.0 stars 9/8/2013 by lolastarr
by lolastarr

Very disappointed that after 10 uses, my PowerForce Helix Turbo will no turn on by depressing the red on/off button. If I had posted this user prior to this unfortunate event, it would have been between a 3 - 4 because of the issues it has picking up direct on bare wood floors and how little gets picked up from pile carpet (despite the settings changes available). If fact, like another user posted, it you use the carpet specific settings for carpet vacuuming, the machine just blows the dirt around. So, you use the bare floor setting on carpeting, and that works fine. But , I was forced to buy another vacuum for the hard floors. As a Bissell fan, I am soo disappointed by my machine not turning on now. After 10 uses and a compulsive cleaner of the washable filters, I would have assumed my upkeep would have warranted me many happy years of vacuum performance.

Comment from Lisa - 9/10/2013

We appreciate your feedback. BISSELL has a bare floor tool available that would work with your model for future reference. Please click at this link to view: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=2437&partid=4646

lolastarr
Atlanta, GA, USA
Gender:Female
1-20 of 213 total reviews
1-20 of 213 reviews