Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 206 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

206 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

5 stars
130
4 stars
32
3 stars
8
2 stars
11
1 stars
25
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 198 total reviews
Beats a Dyson!
2/24/2012

Customer review by Pia11

4.0 stars by Pia11

This vacuum sucks up every little particle and every little hair, while spreading a fresh febreeze smell all over. We have carpet and wooden floors and this vacuum was easy to switch between surfaces. Pros: - Good suction -i was surprised by how much it pulled up - Seems to filter air well - no sneezing - Easy to empty and bagless Cons: - Slightly hard to put together - Vacuum is strong and can suck up the cord as you vacuum. - Rather loud Overall I was happy with the product and would totally recommend this to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (97) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Pia11
San Jose, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
The TurboEraser attachment is awesome!
4/18/2012

Customer review by shelly0689

4.0 stars by shelly0689

Pros -The Febreeze smell is nice, it's not too much -The TurboEraser is the greatest invention ever! It is like a mini-vacuum attachment. It grabs all the little pet hairs off my couch effortlessly. -The edge suction is helpful. Cons -The cord isn't retractable -The assembly instructions were very vague, but you eventually figure it out -The edge suction is only on one side Overall, I'm happy with my purchase. The TurboEraser is the only thing that actually picks up all the cat hair on our suede couches. Lint rollers and other tools don’t even come close!

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
shelly0689
Glen Burnie, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Fabulous for Pet Owners! Beats a Kirby.
4/22/2012

Customer review by TundraGirl

5.0 stars by TundraGirl

First of all, let me explain that I have 3 cats and a medium sized dog. Our house is no stranger to pet hair. I've had some really expensive ($1000+# vaccuums in my lifetime #Kirby/Rainbow#, and this vaccuum is BETTER! We vaccuumed the house with the Kirby in the morning... then, in the afternoon, we vaccuumed with this new Bissell. I think we found enough fur to make an extra cat! The hair that this thing picked up was extraordinary. In an 850 sq. ft. house, we had to empty the large dirt canister twice #after the expensive Kirby had already tackled each of the rooms that same day)! It really gets the pet hair! And it is so easy to use - with on board attachments. This vaccuum had everything I was looking for: bagless cyclonic, on board attachments, and does carpet and bare floors with minimal effort to switch over. Not to mention, the price is right. The fragrance is strong at first, but that is to be expected with any new air freshener. The fragrance calms down quickly. After a few weeks of using the new Bissell, it leaves the house smelling wonderfully fresh and clean. By the way, this vacuum has the longest cord I have ever seen. I can do the whole house without unplugging once. It's a keeper! I don't think I will ever buy one of those over-priced fancy vaccuums again. Thank you, Bissell!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TundraGirl
Fox Valley, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I am giving it a middle of the road 3 stars
3/23/2012

Customer review by AmyinSF

3.0 stars by AmyinSF

This vacuum is for a specific person, the person who is a uber Fabreez fan. When I first put it together I was like “OH MY” because the smell was so strong of perfume. It actually grew on me over the next few days as it wore off because it was less intense and made me feel like my carpets were that much cleaner. The cleaning power is no joke with this vac, its super powerful. I am giving it a middle of the road 3 for the following reason. Pros: Smell- Your whole house smells like it was fabreezed with 10 super sized bottles Easy to Clean the Dirt Collector- Super easy, just remove and dump, no bag, no issue, Power- it has a lot! It picks up everything and is a very effective overall cleaning tool 35 Foot Chord- good for getting around the house Pet tool- Works really well at picking up that sticky pet hair Works well on all floor types Cons: Smell- If you don’t like a strong fabreeze smell (perfume) don’t get this unit because it’s really strong. You can use a non smelling filter No headlight- would be helpful Louder than other vacs-not a total buzz kill but a little annoying Non retractable chord- I would of liked it for this price Not easy installation- It took me 45 min, the directions are not clear, the pictures were way too basic

Was this review helpful? (49) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AmyinSF
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Walmart associate
Staff sparks
Has some good features, but not my favorite
2/21/2012

Customer review by EC42

2.0 stars by EC42

This vacuum has a few good features, but let me down in a few areas. The out of box experience is a little tougher than some vacuums I've used. The assembly instructions weren't very clear and it took a bit longer than I would have expected to put the unit together. It would have been nice to have better illustrations in the manual. The vacuum worked well and seemed to be powerful enough for all my household vacuum needs. I liked that you can, with a foot-switch, turn off the brushes - great for hardwood floors. Another feature that was nice was the pet-hair fabric tool. Though it looks a little like a prop from a sci-fi movie, it worked well at brushing hair off of upholstery. The crevice tool [you plug the thin attachment into the side of the "head" of the vacuum] worked but was a little annoying to use. There were a few other things that I wanted in a vacuum in this price range that this model was missing. Though the power cord is pretty long, it is not retractible and you have to manually wind it on the side of the machine. There is no headlight, which would have been nice. Also this unit is LOUD. It is easily the loudest vacuum I have ever used. Finally, the power switch was a little flip switch on the side of the machine and could have been better placed/sized. I first used it without the Fabreeze air cleaner/filter as I was worried about how fragrant it might be. I am glad that I did, because when I did test it, it was a strong fragrance. I'm not a big fan of the perfumed "air-freshener" smell and it was much stronger than I like. I took the filter out. I'd like to see Bissel include an unscented filter for those who prefer that option. Long story short, I think that there are a couple vacuums in this price range that I would recommend before this one. PRO: Strong vacuum, pet tools, brush switch CON: Very loud, poor assembly instructions, lack of rewinding cord, strong Fabreeze fragrance

Was this review helpful? (49) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
EC42
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
4/22/2012

Customer review by starrb

5.0 stars by starrb

unbelieveable what this vacuum picks up! didnt know my old vacuum left so much behind.awesome vacuum 4 any pet owner or non pet owner,i love how it works on bare floors,it really gets dirt,hair,crumbs sucked right up.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
starrb
jump river,wi.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Works Great!!
4/24/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I wanted a good vacuum for pet hair, but did not want to spend hundreds on a Dyson. I read the other reviews & all the pro's were it worked rather well. As far as putting it together, it took me 15 minutes I usually make my husband put things together. Pretty simple & a little common sense is needed. The Febreze filter smells awesome!! Who doesn't want a clean smelling home??? It has great suction power, just what I was looking for. In my opinion it's as loud as any other vacuum. Also, you can't beat the price!! I would definitely recommend this product :)

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Sewell, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
5/14/2012

Customer review by Cindyd111

5.0 stars by Cindyd111

I LOVE this vacuum! There's nothing not to like about it! It's unbelievable how much was in the canister the first time I vacuumed! Love the stair attachment and longer cord as well! I've read previous reviews about the difficult assembling of it?? I put it together with ease so don't let that scare you. If you don't understand the instructions, go online and look at them in a larger format.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Cindyd111
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wow, better than a kirby...
7/18/2012

Customer review by apcp

5.0 stars by apcp

Putting together was a little hard for me, my husband usually puts things together for me! I was excited about the Febreeze filter. Having all indoor-3 dogs and 5 cats really can make for a smelly house. I am not sure why people are saying the smell is very strong, I thought it was perfect, not to strong at all! We were using an older Kirby bagged vacuum that just wasn't performing well enough to me. I never felt like the carpet was "clean" after vacuuming. I used the Kirby yesterday, and used this Bissell today and I couldn't believe how much hair and dirt was sucked up. The canister was over the full line when I was done. (please see picture!) I love how you can turn the brush off for bare floors. It did very well in our kitchen and entry room which is tile and laminate. What I wish this vacuum had is a cord rewind. It would make this the perfect vacuum! It could be a little quieter but the Kirby is as loud if not louder than this one. I vacuumed next to the closed bedroom door, in which my husband was sleeping and it didn't wake him up which is good! I am excited to try out the edge cleaner now, I think it will work exceptionally well just like the rest of it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
apcp
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
EXCELLENT BUY!!!
5/13/2012

Customer review by dakc

5.0 stars by dakc

Purchased this with the fact that we have two dogs and two children. Couldn't have made a better decision. The pick up power this vaccum has is fantastic along with the attachments makes it very easy and simple to pick up after our dogs and kids. A super plus I love with this vaccum is the febreez filter, it gives off such a nice sent while vaccuming!!!! Very simple to put together and well worth your money, highly recommend!!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dakc
Tupper Lake, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Powerful suction vac, excellent for pets
5/9/2012

Customer review by ML08

4.0 stars by ML08

The vacuum had very powerful suction, great for the pet hair. The attachments as well are great tools to pick up hair from couch, corners, ect. Overall I am satisfied. Pros: -The febreze filter is pleasant, not overpowering. -The suction on the vacuum is VERY powerful, sucks up pet hair with ease. -The attachments are useful. Cons: -No light. -Direction are very vague, but eventually you will get it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ML08
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/24/2012

Customer review by stealth20012

3.0 stars by stealth20012

Without a doubt, this Vacuum does the job and does it well. But,, and this is a big but!!! What about the so called Febreze Filter that isn't available anywhere? It's not even mentioned on the Febreze site nor is there any mention of where to buy them or how to up grade them in the directions. Someone really dropped the ball on the filter angle and I'm upset!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
stealth20012
Gainesville, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent vacuum for the price
11/21/2012

Customer review by CarynMichele

5.0 stars by CarynMichele

I have never written a review, but I LOVE this vacuum, so I had to. I just got a dog and my mom has allergies. I bought this vacuum to use in the areas he is in most, so his hair wasn't sitting in the bag in our other vacuum, which my mom uses. Let's just say, after using this once, my mom no longer uses her very expensive vacuum. I had just cleaned the day before I bought this, used the Bissell for the fun of it, and was amazed at how much more dust and dirt this picked up, having just used an expensive vacuum the afternoon prior. As for the reviews commenting on the noise level of this product, don't believe it. Is it QUIET, no, but it's vacuum, a machine, I don't expect it to be quiet. But it is definitely not abnormally loud. I have no problems with the noise. The attachments are great. I have cleaned the my couches and recliners. And the quick step button to transition from carpet to bare floors is great. I'm not convinced the "Edge Cleaner" does that much better of a job, but it's not taking away stars from the review. That's what spring cleaning is for, getting on your hands and knees and cleaning all the grooves. Overall, I would recommend this vacuum to cleaner to anyone, regardless if they have a pet or not.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
CarynMichele
South Side Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your time or money...
2/19/2013

Customer review by Beth1978

1.0 stars by Beth1978

I purchased this vacuum after researching and trying to get the most for my money. I brought it home and was satisfied how it worked on the carpet (only one room in my house has carpet) but it did not do well on the hardwoods - on either setting. So, I just used it for my one room of carpet. After a few months I noticed it wasn't picking up like it should and was very loud. I checked all the hoses and filters and they were all clear. The last time I used it, it wouldn't pick anything up, sounded like it was going to explode and the last straw - it started smoking and smelled like it was on fire! Walmart wouldn't take it back because of their 90 day return policy (had this a total of 6 months# so I called bissell. Went through all of their hoops, dismantaled it -took all the photos and sent them in. They finally called me 6 days later after I left two additional messages for them. They said they would not cover it under warranty because there was evidence of "dust" near the filter area. Ummmm, it's a vacuum! Not sure what they expect people to use it for?!? Guess I should have wiped it all down and made it look brand new instead of showing them real pic's of my gently used sweeper. #Again, used in one room and the room isn't even used frequently#. So, unless you want to buy a new sweeper in a few months, probably should keep looking. Very dissapointed as I like all the "possible" features that it had to offer - but the features mean nothing when the unit itself wont work - or worse, could burn down my house! #oh, and I tried to leave a review on the bissell site and they rejected it twice! Needless to say, I wont be purchasing anything manufactured by bissell#. Just my point of view!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Beth1978
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
BETTER THAN THE DYSON DC41!!!!
1/7/2013

Customer review by AKcleanFREAK

5.0 stars by AKcleanFREAK

A little history: I bought a DC41. That's over $600 for a vacuum! It did "OK" for about 1 week. Had issues picking up half a pellet of cat food from my hard wood floors. It wouldn't pick up my long haired cats fur unless I went over it 3-4 times to pick it all up. We have a wood fireplace and random SMALL wood pieces will get on the carpet from hauling wood inside to burn. The Dyson wouldn't pick those up on the carpet unless I went over them slowly 2-3 times. Forget about it if it was on the hardwood floors. I had to SWEEP before vacuuming...kinda makes the hardwood floor cleaning option pointless! When I would go to stand it upright, it wouldn't lock half the time. The design was flimsy and felt cheap. I have 3 cats, and a 3000+ sq.ft. home. I am a VERY clean person and would vacuum every 2 days. I expect a $600+ vacuum to do everything I want it to! YES: I cleaned the vacuum out after each use and took care of it. YES: I even tried another of the same model and had the same issues. I was not impressed, so I returned it and bought this vacuum instead for $140 at my local Wal*Mart in Wasilla, AK. This DOES EVERYTHING I WANTED: Cleans hard wood & tile floors while picking up everything without hesitation. Has a convenient foot pedal button to turn the brush off. Has all the attachments the Dyson had. One swipe and the cat hair is gone. Nice Febreeze filter makes the whole house smell wonderful. Much easier to clean out after use than the Dyson. I am SUPER impressed with this vacuum, especially for the GREAT price! Hardy, solid design. The only thing that would make it nicer is a retractable cord, however; I won't knock it down a star because of laziness to not wrap up my cord, that is ridiculous. ***DON'T***give into the hype and spend your hard earned money on a "designer" vacuum. This does 10x a better job for SO much cheaper! I owned a Dyson years ago. They don't make them the same. NEVER again! Great job Bissell! Keep it up! You got a customer for life!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
AKcleanFREAK
Pt. MacKenzie, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
New Purchase
9/18/2012

Customer review by benandchrisie

5.0 stars by benandchrisie

We just purchased this today and it is amazing. We have 2 dogs and 2 kids at home. We vacuumed our floors this morning with our old vacuum. Upon arriving at home, we put this machine together and let her rip. It sucked up so much dirt and filth and hair we didn't even know we had left in our carpet. We were shocked. And the febreeze air filter leaves the room smelling fresh and renewed. So far we are completely satisfied. I wish we had purchased this sooner!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
benandchrisie
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
5/2/2012

Customer review by redeyedgranny

5.0 stars by redeyedgranny

Talk about suction, this model has it. Our dog sheds twice a year and we have an indoor cat. I was amazed how much dirt and hair this vacuum was able to get out. I dump the cup outside so not to release the dust back into my home. I have no problem wrapping the cord around the 2 hooks. The pet tool is super powered and works wonders. Our home is a single ranch so no stairs. The vacuum would be heavy to move up and down the stairs. I have stone tile floors and it works great with the rotating brush turned off. If you need a pet hair solution this is the one!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
redeyedgranny
Dallas, Tx
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great suction, long cord.
1/8/2013

Customer review by SweepingBabe

5.0 stars by SweepingBabe

No complaints! The suction power is awesome. I've never had a vacuum this powerful before. I also love the extra long power cord and the fact that you can turn the beater bar on and off. I saw some complaints about the hose length but it is rather long - you just need to stretch it. The Febreeze filter is a nice touch too. A little strong the first time but nice to go to my basement the next day and still have it smelling clean. I was worried about the weight of it and carrying it up and down the stairs but the handle on the back makes it easy. I was leery about going with another Bissell since my last one didn't hold up so well but so far I am really impressed with this vacuum that I actually wrote a review!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SweepingBabe
Gettysburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
awesom vacuum
1/15/2013

Customer review by sweetpeaf79

5.0 stars by sweetpeaf79

just got this, easy to assemble if you follow the directions. I just vacuumed my floor yesterday with my old cleaner. I have vacuumed my floor 3 times with this today and its still picking up dirt going to go vacuum again. I used the attachment for the curtains worked great. I also used the button to stop the brush to vacuum the bare floor and it worked well. I would say buy this vacuum. I love the febreeze filter my house smells so good now

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
sweetpeaf79
NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great vacuum but lousy instructions.
11/24/2012

Customer review by cmae915

5.0 stars by cmae915

Unbelievable how much dog hair this picked up... I wasn't expecting so much as I had recently vacuumed. However, as other reviews have mentioned, the instructions were not good. The illustrations were so dark I couldn't even see where the attachment parts went. I had to go online and watch a video to see the back of the machine. I have put together many more complicated items but this one was a challenge. Sure glad it seems to work real well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
cmae915
Washington state
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 198 total reviews