Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 291 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

291 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

291 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
188
4 stars
60
3 stars
14
2 stars
12
1 stars
17
1-20 of 273 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 273 total reviews
1-20 of 273 reviews
The Brush Assembly
2/25/2014

Customer review by Safi

3.0 stars 2/25/2014 by Safi
by Safi

The Brush Assembly I bought my Bissell Power Groom Compact 13H8W a year ago. Soon I recognized that I better buy some spare parts. Among the filters and belts, I also bought the brush assembly although I doubted that I was going to need it. However, few months ago I noticed that the vacuum is not cleaning because the brush is not turning. So I went to the catalogue and disassemble the brush and found out that the one of the two ends of the brush is loose (broken). So I replaced it with the new brush I ordered earlier, and the vacuum started to work again proving that it was the brush assembly. Just today I noticed the same thing! The vacuum is not cleaning because the brush is not turning. My question to the test engineer who assembled the parts and tested the vacuum for reliability, are we suppose to go through two brushes in a year and even before any belt or filter? Thanks for your response. Best Regards,

Comment from Lisa - 3/8/2014

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry for your trouble with the brush assembly. Make sure to keep the brush free of any hair/debris to prevent damage. We're be happy to send one to you at no charge. Just click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Safi
Toledo, OH, USA
Gender:Male
Great, product specs and info are right on target!
6/7/2012

Customer review by imEaNcLeAn101

5.0 stars 6/7/2012 by imEaNcLeAn101
by imEaNcLeAn101

This machine does exactly what is says it's going to do. It's small, lightweight, but it vaccums well. It is 7amps, opposed the the traditional 12amps for full size, but suction power is still great. The only thing I would change about this machine is the attachment hose is not long enough; everytime I go the use the hose, the vaccume ends up in the floor if I don't carry it every step I go. The plug-in cord for this unit is a good size, it's actually longer than older full-size bissel. Overall, great machine, will buy again if needed.

imEaNcLeAn101
Richmond,VA
Gender:Female
Great Little Machine!
10/30/2012

Customer review by MaryW

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by MaryW
by MaryW

I bought this vacuum when my larger, much more expensive one stopped working. My intent was to use this only until the other one was repaired. I have been amazed at the pickup power in this little machine and I really like the size since I can use it in spaces where the larger one would not fit and required using attachments. After getting a very costly estimate on repairing my other vacuum, I decided not to have it fixed and use this one instead. My only criticism is it is very loud and I don't hear the phone ring if I'm using it.

MaryW
Trent Woods, NC
Gender:Female
The Absolute Best Pet Hair Vacuum Ever
2/27/2013

Customer review by Luvgreatdeals

5.0 stars 2/27/2013 by Luvgreatdeals
by Luvgreatdeals

I bought the Power Groom Pet Compact in the United States in 2010 before they were available here in Canada. I decided to buy this vacuum after I read 76 reviews on Walmart.com that gave it a 5 star rating. Many reviewers commented that it out performed their $600-700 Dyson and Miele vacuums. In one of the first reviews I read, the customer commented that they vacuumed their carpet with their regular vacuum and then went over the same area with the Power Groom Pet Compact and couldn't believe how much more dirt and hair it picked up. Many other reviewers did the same and had the same results. Of course I had to do the same and I was amazed at what this vacuum picked up!!! I have 2 dogs and after I use this vacuum you wouldn't even know I have dogs. There is a velcro strip on the underside of the vacuum which picks up the hair when you push forward and releases it into the vacuum when you pull backwards. It has 2 filters-a foam rubber filter that can be washed out and reused, and a Hepa filter that has to be replaced periodically. I change my Hepa filter every 3-4 months and wash the foam filter after every use. I buy both filters directly from Bissell. I vacuum every 2-3 days and now use this vacuum to do my whole house. I have hardwood floors as well as tile and carpet and it works great on all surfaces. It has a very powerful 12 amp motor that has great suction. If you have dogs or cats you really this vacuum!

Luvgreatdeals
Alberta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
product features
10/15/2012

Customer review by Laker 57

4.0 stars 10/15/2012 by Laker 57
by Laker 57

I am very glad tht I purchased the Power groom compact vacuum. It picked up even the finest lint, etc and I also like the fact it is lightweight. The only real complaint I have is that when I am vacuuming the hose comes out of the base two or three times even though I have put it in the base as tight as I can and according to book instructions. I usually can turn it off before dust goes into the room so in that respect it is not a large problem, just a little annoying. A very good product.

Laker 57
Bear Lake MI
Gender:Female
jrsuire
1/1/2013

Customer review by jrsuire

4.0 stars 1/1/2013 by jrsuire
by jrsuire

I am glad I purchased the Power groom compact vacuum. It picked up even the finest lint, etc and I also like the fact it is lightweight. The only real complaint I have is that when I am vacuuming the hose comes out of the base two or three times even though I have put it in the base as tight as I can and according to book instructions. I bought a second one for my mom for her birthday. Can't wait to see if the hose comes out like mine does.

Comment from Lisa - 1/4/2013

Thank you for your review. Please try connecting the hose in the foot first then stretch the hose over the clip to connect. We hope this helps!

jrsuire
Erath, LA, USA
Gender:Female
pretty good!
11/18/2012

Customer review by dee

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by dee
by dee

I was quite surprised to find it so light.Easy to carry @ the house.The suction is awesome.Wish the hose was a little longer but understand it is a smaller version of the more costly ones.Very pleased so far ,i have only used it once.so far so good!!i have a dog so i have a feeling it will work great for dog hair!!Better than my bigger more expensive 1 that lasted 4 yr.'s.

dee
maine
Gender:Female
Do not buy
8/18/2013

Customer review by Clea08

1.0 stars 8/18/2013 by Clea08
by Clea08

Owned less than a year, about 7 months before it broke. The roller brush inside is messed up and will not move. Not the belt tried that, but the roller brush itself somehow melted or something on the axle, is very damaged and does not work. Can not return bc past the 90 day return policy, must try taking it to a bissel repair which is over and hour and a half away.

Comment from Lisa - 8/20/2013

Thank you for your review. We're sorry for your trouble. Your machine has a two year warranty. If the service center is too far away, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/email-us/

Clea08
Bakersfield, CA
Gender:Female
13H8 series
2/11/2013

Customer review by Patrick

1.0 stars 2/11/2013 by Patrick
by Patrick

How can you sell this model without an extension wand to reach behind tables or furniture? Why do I have to get on my knees to perform this task. Also, how do I reach up to clean ceilings or ceiling vents without an extension wand. There is no mention of the lack of the wand in your advertising or on the cover of the box which it came in. I am very disappointed.

Comment from Lisa - 2/13/2013

We are sorry for your disappointment with your vacuum. For bigger cleaning jobs, please click at this link for a full size vacuum with an extension wand and other cleaning tools. http://www.bissell.com/upright-vacuums/?icid=ccrr.

Patrick
Las Vegas, Nv
Gender:Male
This PowerGroom has great pickup
9/15/2012

Customer review by cojos412

5.0 stars 9/15/2012 by cojos412
by cojos412

The first time I used powergroom was after our cat passed and it picked up all the left over cat hair downstairs around in the bathroom where the cat hung out it's last days. It was sad but it really picked up ALL the hair other sweepers had left behind. I just wish it had a wand for longer extention. Other than that it is a lighweight miracle in my house.

cojos412
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Absolutely love it!!!
11/17/2012

Customer review by Leo's Rib

5.0 stars 11/17/2012 by Leo's Rib
by Leo's Rib

This is the best my carpets have looked since I moved in! I am SO glad that I found this cleaner, as it does everything that the description/reviews said it would and it's just the right size for cleaning and carrying up/down stairs. I couldn't believe how much it picked up, after having just used the old vacuum and thinking the carpets were clean...wow!

Leo's Rib
Texas, USA
Gender:Female
Loud
7/15/2014

Customer review by JackieSue

3.0 stars 7/15/2014 by JackieSue
by JackieSue

Ive had this vacuum for over a year now and I've noticed it is annoyingly loud all of a sudden. im not sure if it is because it is about to break down or if a part is going bad or something. It works fine, it is just noisy as all heck. if anyone has information on whats brewing in my sweeper it would be much appreciated

JackieSue
OH
Roller stopped working
12/26/2013

Customer review by jw

2.0 stars 12/26/2013 by jw
by jw

I have had this vaccum for less then a year and the roller stopped working. It actually melted. There was nothing on the roller to cause thisi just read another review and saw it happened to someone else. I did love this product its geat for dog hair but they never last longer than a year. This is my second one.

Comment from Lisa - 1/13/2014

Thank you for your feeback. We're sorry for the trouble with the brush roller. To prevent damage, make sure to clean off any hair or debris. For a new brush, please click at this link: http://www.bissell.com/parts/?sc=part&productid=8899&partid=9766&icid=ccrr

jw
pa
Gender:Female
Amazing Product
4/1/2013

Customer review by heils5

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by heils5
by heils5

We are completely satisfied and over the moon with this product. We have two dogs; one cat; kids and lots of dirt and hair and this product cleans everything wonderfully, especially the furniture - not sure why I waited so long to purchase the power groom compact.

heils5
Greenfield, WI, USA
Gender:Female
Picks up great.
6/19/2012

Customer review by Eliza

4.0 stars 6/19/2012 by Eliza
by Eliza

I like that this item picks up great. I used it the first day and had to empty it 9 times for how much dirt it picked up. The next time I vacuumed, I was down to 4 times of emptying. It is easy to clean.

Eliza
Dayton, OH
Gender:Female
very happy with operation but noisey
10/21/2012

Customer review by working man

4.0 stars 10/21/2012 by working man
by working man

This is the first day we bought and used the Bissel power-groom and happy with the performance, very good suction and carpet clelaning, only complaint is the squeal it has while operating.working man

Comment from Lisa - 10/23/2012

You may want to take a look at the belt; this could cause a squeal.

working man
Michigan
Gender:Male
Love it!!
2/28/2013

Customer review by Renae13

5.0 stars 2/28/2013 by Renae13
by Renae13

I love this vacuum. It is the best one I have ever owned. It picks up everything and the small size is wonderful for storage. I wish I had bought it much sooner.

Renae13
Nashville, TN, USA
Gender:Female
PowerGroom Compact
5/25/2012

Customer review by Jo

5.0 stars 5/25/2012 by Jo
by Jo

I used this product for the first time last night. I works great, I am very happy that I went with this one over some of the other ones on the market.

Jo
Pearl, MS
Gender:Female
WOW!!!!
10/30/2012

Customer review by Cleanfreek

4.0 stars 10/30/2012 by Cleanfreek
by Cleanfreek

2 dogs and and a partner that sometimes is worse and this machine has proven its worth. Easy to clean and quite and works great. Thanks

Cleanfreek
Brantford On
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best thing I've bought since we got our dog
2/26/2012

Customer review by ExistentialBelle

5.0 stars 2/26/2012 by ExistentialBelle
by ExistentialBelle

I was skeptical when I purchased this vacuum, in spite of the reviews, I didn't really expect something this small and priced this well to actually solve our hair problem. We got a German shepherd / bull mastiff mix about a year ago. She didn't shed when she was a puppy, but once she reached adult age- I honestly don't know how an animal can shed so much hair in a day and not be bald. The hair was driving me INSANE. Accidentally drop your jacket on the floor? You're re-washing it. I had to use a lint brush everywhere I went. Getting it out of the car upholstery was impossible. The hair wouldn't even come off in the laundry. I vacuumed several times a day. I steam cleaned. We still had hair. I vacuumed twice the day this vacuum was delivered. I also steam cleaned the living room, because my husband had tracked mud in that morning. So keep in mind that the carpet LOOKED clean when I took this out of the box and used it for the first time. The photo I'm posting speaks for itself. This was the hair that I got up on what I THOUGHT was a clean floor. I love love love this thing and would recommend it to anyone with indoor pets. The attachments are great too, takes hair off of furniture like nothing I've ever seen. And I've tried it all; wet cloths, Scotch Fur Fighter, lint brushes, sticky lint brushes, etc. etc. It's also very easy to take apart and clean.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ExistentialBelle
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 273 total reviews
1-20 of 273 reviews