Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 19 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

19 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 stars
3
1-17 of 17 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Great Price and features
6/27/2012

Customer review by Gary17pe

5.0 stars 6/27/2012 by Gary17pe
by Gary17pe

After extensively researching various price points and options I decided on this Soleus 45 pint dehumidifier and have been using it for a few weeks. It is easy to set up; just cut the straps and lift up the box (no opening required) to reveal your dehumidifier. Lift it off the base, open the bucket to remove the casters and pop them into the holes on the bottom which is easy. Important Note: This units fan does cycle on and off which is not mentioned anywhere that I have seen. When the compressor stops the fan remains on for a few minutes and shuts off until compressor comes on again. Bucket is small, but once humidity level is reached you may have to empty it every other day or in a high humidity environment opt to use the hose and bypass the bucket. At first it says to run in continuous mode for 24 hrs, but some reviews that I read mentioned unit freezing up or going into defrost mode -- I recommend gradually reducing the setting 70%-65%-60% so the unit continues to cycle on and off. I find a 60% final setting comfortable for my basement use - otherwise the unit stays on too long and heats up the basement. This unit is much quieter than my Maytag model it is replacing and 3 fan speeds is a plus too. I also purchased the 3 years additional Walmart warranty since I read dehumidifiers don't tend to last that long these days.

Was this review helpful? (34) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gary17pe
Cromwell, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/25/2012

Customer review by milwaukeesenior

5.0 stars 6/25/2012 by milwaukeesenior
by milwaukeesenior

The instructions should have explained humidity levels - after researching this on the internet and asking people, I set mine on 45. Also, a few tips could have been given regarding using a hose to drain the water instead of using the bucket. The unit needs to be on a level spot and may have to be moved around until one is found. The unit itself works great and was quite easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
milwaukeesenior
Milwaukee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good Product.....BUT
6/30/2012

Customer review by SparkyTN

4.0 stars 6/30/2012 by SparkyTN
by SparkyTN

This product performs very well, but has, from my point of view, a very irritating fault. The fault is the capacity of the condensate receptacle. This requires emptying 3 to 4 times a day. My feeling is that the capacity should equal at least one-half the capacity of the dehumidifier, thereby requiring to be emptied only twice a day. The controls are very adequate, and it appears to function at the rated capacity of 45 pints per day.

Was this review helpful? (14) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SparkyTN
Athens, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great dehumidifier.
7/27/2012

Customer review by KitCarson

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by KitCarson
by KitCarson

Ordering, tracking, and pick-up at a local FedEx store was simple. I've wanted to have a dehumidifier in the basement for years and finally got around to ordering the Soleus unit DP2-45-03 through Walmart - because it was easy to do so. Been operating for about 1 month - the unit works like a champ, is quiet, and keeps the basement dry. Set-up takes about 5 minutes; the controls are easy to read and adjust. You don't have to read the instruction manual. I would order this product again.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KitCarson
Kensington, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Small and quiet dehumidifier
1/8/2013

Customer review by jnschef

4.0 stars 1/8/2013 by jnschef
by jnschef

I've had this dehumidifier for about 1 month and so far am satisfied with it. I originally purchased a Frigidaire model which was top rated by a consumer magazine. It was well made and worked well, but even thought it got 4 out of 5 for noise level, it was just to noisy for use to have in our living space. This Soleus unit was rated 5/5 for noise. Although it makes some noise it is much more tolerable. It is also much more compact that the 50 liter Frigidaire. It removes a significant amount of water from the air, I have to empty it every few days.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jnschef
Sunnyvale, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
This thing is working well so far
8/24/2012

Customer review by SparkleMom

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by SparkleMom
by SparkleMom

No complaints - it is working as expected. Easy to use. Don't know about the hose drain because I dont' have a drain available for that. We empty the bucket about twice a day, which is easy to do. This has helped remove the musty smell from our room. We've also been able to raise the AC one degree so hopefully will save on power bill. We live in South FL.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SparkleMom
Bradenton, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/26/2012

Customer review by Bill4715

5.0 stars 8/26/2012 by Bill4715
by Bill4715

Well designed product is exactly what I need to deal with a bad humidity problem in my home

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bill4715
Hilton Head
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/12/2013

Customer review by crawlspacekid

5.0 stars 5/12/2013 by crawlspacekid
by crawlspacekid

I have owned 4 dehumidifiers over the last 20 years. When compared to prior units this is a fine product based upon its out of box experience. This dehumifier will be running many hours a day and based upon my initial experience I expect it to be running for many years to come.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crawlspacekid
charlotte,nc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sucks water well
8/16/2012

Customer review by mommy2319

4.0 stars 8/16/2012 by mommy2319
by mommy2319

not much noise

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommy2319
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Easy operation and efficient
1/5/2013

Customer review by specialist007

5.0 stars 1/5/2013 by specialist007
by specialist007

Being used in a one bedroom apartment and works like a champ! Reduces hunidity so that both heat and airconditioning appliances are operating efficiently. Drain line is perfect and in use to reduce the work load of servicing the water collection bucket daily.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
specialist007
Southern Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/9/2013

Customer review by AppleCyder

2.0 stars 5/9/2013 by AppleCyder
by AppleCyder

Just only one week experience. Overall this unit works OK. Fan is constantly ON even the humidity is reached. Then the unit starts to blow warm air --maybe it switches to defrost mode!? Only good to keep it in a basement unless you can withstand a fan sound at night. Requires 2 O-rings for a garden hose connection; otherwise, a condensed water leaks and fills up the bucket within a day.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AppleCyder
Marietta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
What a piece of junk
6/11/2013

Customer review by 5dash0

1.0 stars 6/11/2013 by 5dash0
by 5dash0

Purchased in Dec 2011. Only used it in warm months, probably 9 months total use. Compressor burnt out and company will not cover it. Only a one year warranty on everything. A lot of other companies warrant compressors for 5 yrs. Buy at your own risk, I'll never buy another one of their products.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
5dash0
West Grove, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
The unit failed to meet our expectations,
8/28/2012

Customer review by JFWil4th

1.0 stars 8/28/2012 by JFWil4th
by JFWil4th

The unit's water reservoir is too small for it's dehumidifying capacity and requires constant attention to meet even a modest fill cycle. Further, when the humidity level is reached, the unit doesn't shut off (on Constant) and then acts as a small furnace, heating the room to very uncomfortable levels.

Was this review helpful? (1) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JFWil4th
Jeannette, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Best thing since sliced bread
7/19/2013

Customer review by breynolds1

5.0 stars 7/19/2013 by breynolds1
by breynolds1

Hubby is a carpenter...long story short, we have one of the yucky basements with the stone walls and we are on a bottom...(creek in the back yard) after 23 years i talked him into getting this. best money spend. basement is now dry ♥♥♥ got 2 sump pumps down there too but they don't actually dry everything... YES, I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
breynolds1
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
7/4/2013

Customer review by IwInDtR

4.0 stars 7/4/2013 by IwInDtR
by IwInDtR

I bought the unit about 10 days ago. It does an excellent job of pulling humidity from our finished basement rec room. I set the humidistat at 55% and it keeps the humidity at that level. We don't have a floor drain in the finished room; so I need to change the pan every two days. I think it is a good value and does the job. This is my 1st dehumidifier so I had a bit of a learning curve. First, this unit is reputed to be quieter than most. However it does have a very noticeable noise level. It doesn't seem to bother my wife or daughter; but we have it near a TV and I will shut the unit off when I have the TV on. Second, the compressor does throw off heat, so expect the area around the unit to be warmer. It is summer time and I don't really want or need more heat in the house. My comments about noise and heat is true of all dehumidifiers; this unit is probably quieter than most and the heat issue should be about the same as other units. I have had the unit for only a short time; so I can't comment how trouble free it will be over the long haul.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IwInDtR
St. Louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I couldn't believe it!
7/19/2013

Customer review by 2929

4.0 stars 7/19/2013 by 2929
by 2929

I got it out of the box and plugged in by 6 pm it was coming up with 85% humidity in my very moist and musty basement. So I set it for 50% and at 10 pm went to check on it and it was full already! I then got a hose and hooked it up because who has time to check a bucket every 4 hrs?!? By the next morning it was down to 70% and within 48hrs of plugging it in was at 60%. My basement is no longer moist and the musty smell is almost gone...worth every penny!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2929
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Did Not Work
7/22/2013

Customer review by michgirl123

1.0 stars 7/22/2013 by michgirl123
by michgirl123

The dehumidifier would not work. The "Bucket Full" light stayed on and would not allow the unit to work at all. I never got it to work no matter what I did to the bucket. Returned it immediately.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
michgirl123
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.