Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 17 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

17 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

2.0 stars

17 reviews | 2.2 out of 5

29%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
10
1-17 of 17 total reviews
29%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Buy this if you like cold coffee
11/23/2011

Customer review by Annie5815

1.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Annie5815
by Annie5815

Walmart should take this product off their shelves. It is not fit to make coffee. The coffee is luke warm to cold. The product is simple. No extra do dads to go wrong. All it does is run the water throught the machine and makes colored water. I went to another stored and bought a coffee maker for 2 dollars more and now I have HOT coffee. If your looking for a cheap coffee maker buy a proctor silex brand.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Annie5815
Mpls, MN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/19/2011

Customer review by RedNailPolish86

4.0 stars 12/19/2011 by RedNailPolish86
by RedNailPolish86

I just bought this coffee maker because I broke my old one and I just needed one for the week long period until I ordered a good one off amazon. I don't think I need to buy a new one! This one works just fine. It does get the coffee hot, and all you do is flip the switch; making ice is more complicated. It looks nice, and is easy to clean and the pot is just great. A coffee maker is a coffee maker! It works just fine!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedNailPolish86
Rancho Santa Margarita
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great inexpensive product
3/16/2012

Customer review by cannotacceptnickname

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by cannotacceptnickname
by cannotacceptnickname

The coffee pot is all I expected. It is efficient, has been reliable, makes hot coffee and keeps it hot, doesn't spill all over water, grounds or coffee. I couldn't beat it for $9.50 including tax. The only criticism is that it was difficult to put the lid back on once taken all the way off. This unit was less than replacement carafe for one that I broke for B&D unit.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cannotacceptnickname
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
It is what it is.
3/16/2012

Customer review by Alfiegator

4.0 stars 3/16/2012 by Alfiegator
by Alfiegator

I paid $8.98 for a coffee maker. It makes coffee. No unnecessary moving parts. No "features". Just an on and off switch. My carafe does not dribble. It pours as it should. The basket is well designed. The filter paper stays spread out and does not collapse, spilling grounds in the coffee. All in all, I thought they did well to make a functional coffee maker for under $10. I don't have a problem with it. Better than I expected for the price. Believe it or not, it comes with a 1 year warranty, so how can you go wrong? Like anything else in life, you can spend as much money as you want on an item. Is the glass half empty or is it half full? Function, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Alfiegator
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
UNDER TEN BUCKS OKAY WITH ME!
3/22/2012

Customer review by Sylvester2

4.0 stars 3/22/2012 by Sylvester2
by Sylvester2

On switch/off switch, one color choice. Simple. Our coffee doesn't taste burned sitting on a too-hot heating plate like our old maker. Of course, if you wait too long it will cool down but it's still drinking temp for us. How boiling hot do you need to burn your mouth? Forgot once that the maker was on for four hours and poured the coffee out into a cup. It tasted fine. Other no-automatic-shut-off coffee makers would've burned the house down. Our old machine had a 2-hour shut-off feature but the coffee was so burned up it tasted horrible. A full carafe, just like our full tea kettle, will dribble when pouring so we only make 8 or 10 oz and have no problem pouring. We never get grounds overflowing out of the paper filter into the coffee carafe like our older expensive maker. We have no problem taking the filter basket in or out. To open out, slight pressure downward on the basket it comes out. Slide back in with the same slight downward pressure - no problem! We use BrewRite from Walmart for cleaning the unit once a month to cut down on mineral buildup and to clean out stains. Doesn't leak while brewing. Had a brew station type before this that leaked condensation all over the counter, the back of the electrical cord, and leaked profusely when the basket lid opened for cleaning. This Rival is a joy to use after that station mess. Did I mention? - under ten bucks! At this price we bought two in case we ever clumsily break the carafe, we'll have a backup.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sylvester2
Los Angeles County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
you get what you pay for
1/12/2012

Customer review by breaker123

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by breaker123
by breaker123

for ten bucks its great. If you want a better coffee maker you gota pay more but for ten bucks you cant go wrong.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
breaker123
mn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't expect but so much from a $9 coffee maker.
2/12/2012

Customer review by BryanE

3.0 stars 2/12/2012 by BryanE
by BryanE

I bought this for my office. The price was around $9, which is less than most replacement carafes for other coffee makers. I always make a huge mess with this coffee maker. It does not pour well and The filter basket snaps into place and it is by no means smooth. It is also difficult to clean the filter basket because of annoying ridges it has in it. I wish I had sprung for a nicer one, but I was being cheap, and I can say I got what I paid for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BryanE
Washington, NC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not Hot!
11/27/2011

Customer review by wmhegbli

1.0 stars 11/27/2011 by wmhegbli
by wmhegbli

Bought this because my GE started leaking. This Rival is very nice, only thing is you can only get luke warm coffee. I have to nuke every cup. The best feature is the Pot does no dribble like all the others on the market by the more expensive brand names. $8 is a great price, but I will easily use up my saving in re-heating electric charges. Do not recommens this!

Was this review helpful? (3) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wmhegbli
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worst coffee maker ever.
12/28/2011

Customer review by LimaOhio001

1.0 stars 12/28/2011 by LimaOhio001
by LimaOhio001

The water coming from my faucet is twice as hot as the 'coffee' this thing makes. Will be returned ASAP.

Was this review helpful? (2) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LimaOhio001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It's true, you get what you pay for!
1/17/2012

Customer review by Geek201

2.0 stars 1/17/2012 by Geek201
by Geek201

I paid $8.00 for this coffee maker. It's attractive and compact. Compared to other 12 cup brewers it takes up less counter space. There are no bells and whistles, this has an on off switch and an electric cord. The filter basket snaps into place. so far it has held up, but I question it's durability, you almost have to force it into place and that usually means something is going to break. Like everyone else says, the only problem with the unit is it does not make hot coffee, just a tad above warm. I end up microwaving before I drink it. You get what you pay for and for only $8.00 I am not going to wait in line at Walmart to return it, but next time I will spend an extra ten or fifteen to get hot coffee.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geek201
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
not even worth one star
2/18/2012

Customer review by bewarewalmartshoppers

1.0 stars 2/18/2012 by bewarewalmartshoppers
by bewarewalmartshoppers

i bought this coffee maker last night. this morning my fist cup right after it was made was hot but second cup i couldnt even add milk because it wasnt hot enough. the milk made it to where it was like a cup of coffee that sat on the counter all day. REALLY BAD. i should have seen these reviews before i bought it. now i have to make a trip back to walmart. IM NOT A WALMART SHOPPER. I HAVENT HAD A GOOD PRODUCT FROM THERE YET. WILL NEVER SHOP WALMART AGAIN.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bewarewalmartshoppers
long beach ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Pay a little more and buy a product that works...
1/20/2012

Customer review by mrhorn2012

1.0 stars 1/20/2012 by mrhorn2012
by mrhorn2012

I decided to try another Rival kitchen appliance after repeatedly being disappointed by the lack of durability and functionality of Rival products. This coffee was true to form for Rival. The coffee is warm at best upon brewing. After sitting for about 10-15 minutes it is lukewarm. It does not keep the coffee hot at all. I will never buy another Rival product again. I have never had a product from this company that worked as intended and all of my appliances get light use. These products are a disappointment and a hassle because I always have to return them and pay a few dollars more for something that works. Do not buy Rival products.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mrhorn2012
Durant, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
2/11/2012

Customer review by chilly51

1.0 stars 2/11/2012 by chilly51
by chilly51

Well, the old saying that you get what you pay for is true with this one. I picked this up on the spur of the moment just because mine quit and I didn't take the time to research. Boy am I sorry now. The pause feature is that you turn the switch off. When pouring the coffee runs down the side of the carafe and off the bottom edge, and the same while pouring in the water. It takes all your dexterity to get the filter holder in and out, you just about have to hammer it back in. I will certainly look further the next time I go. I will probly never buy another Rival product because of this machine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chilly51
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
11/27/2011

Customer review by rayandoelsol

1.0 stars 11/27/2011 by rayandoelsol
by rayandoelsol

We have had this coffeemaker a few months and I have hated it every time I use it. I only kept it because my husband didn't want me to spend money on another one. The filter basket slips out of place way too often and spills coffee and grounds onto the counter. Today it did this again and I burned my thumb trying to keep the grounds from spilling. I'll be looking for a new coffeemaker today--this one is getting a new home--in the dumpster. Worst coffeemaker I have owned--ever.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rayandoelsol
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent coffee maker for room temp coffee!
1/10/2012

Customer review by ashersmommy23

1.0 stars 1/10/2012 by ashersmommy23
by ashersmommy23

This coffee maker will not make hot coffee. You can get warm coffee. Sometimes you can get really warm coffee. Over all, the coffee maker is really bad. Yes it was priced low and I guess this is one of those instances where you get what you paid for. I recommend spending extra money for a better coffee maker.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ashersmommy23
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
made one pot, now broken
12/23/2011

Customer review by Pureevil13

1.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Pureevil13
by Pureevil13

worked fine the first time. On the second pot, the light came on and nothing happened. Plate didn't warm up, water didn't go through, nothing. Trash. Complete junk. DO NOT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pureevil13
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Spend the extra money, get something better
12/1/2011

Customer review by JeroSmith

1.0 stars 12/1/2011 by JeroSmith
by JeroSmith

I bought this because it was 9 bucks and wish I would have spent twice as much to get a coffee pot that actually gets coffee hot. This gets coffee about as hot as water from a sink. The basket design is horrible, I'm afraid I'm going to break it every time I take it off. I've had this for a week and am already in the market for a better one.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeroSmith
Norwalk, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day