Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 99 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

99 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

99 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

34%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
12
1 stars
52
1-20 of 99 total reviews
34%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews
LOVE THIS VACUUM!
6/14/2012

Customer review by Monroe11

5.0 stars 6/14/2012 by Monroe11
by Monroe11

I've owned and tried many vacuums and my last purchase was a Kenmore. I bought the Kenmore based on reviews but, it was bulky, heavy and it was too large to go around furniture or under beds. I decided to go for the canister from Hoover - again based on reviews. I researched this vacuum at other stores and I love buying from Walmart so I decided to go for this one. AMAZING vacuum - I actually enjoy vacuuming now. It zooms around furniture and fits under beds. The swivel power nozzle is small enough to get into smaller spaces and around my expensive furniture. Features are at your finger tips and the wand is amazing as it extends and makes vacuuming a breeze. Only drawback which really doesn't bother me is the length of the cord so I went ahead and added an extension cord. The suction is truly fantastic. It beat Kenmore hands down! I vacuumed my living room with the Kenmore then went over it again with my Hoover canister and the suction was amazing as it cleaned up after the Kenmore. I love this vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Monroe11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
THIS VACUUM ROCKS!
5/5/2012

Customer review by plmz

5.0 stars 5/5/2012 by plmz
by plmz

This Vacuum Rocks. I needed a vacuum to do the stairs in my house.My dog sheds like crazy and I can seem to get all the hair off the steps. I have a dyson upright now and its way too heavy to carry to do the steps.The dyson also has no handle to hold it to do steps either. This vacuum has the suction of a dyson, maybe even better. Its also super quiet as far as vacuums go. Its easy to handle in any situation. The beater head is small enough that I can hold it up to do the curtains as well. I also can turn it and sufficiently vacuum the risers of the steps. It goes under furniture easily. The edge sweeper part does a great job of getting even the tiniest bit of dust out from right up against the floor moulding. This clearly is the best vacuum I have ever had. I have owned several of consumers reports top rated vacuums and this one has been the best one and the most versatile and its not expensive. Its well worth every penny and more. Dont even bother with the dysons anymore. Everyone has cyclonic suction now and they dont charge an arm n a leg.

Was this review helpful? (43) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
plmz
LINCOLN PARK, MICHIGAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Suction
5/16/2012

Customer review by JlynnNC

4.0 stars 5/16/2012 by JlynnNC
by JlynnNC

Though the vacuum is heavier than I wanted it performs wonderfully. Love all the features. Emptying takes a little effort because the gunk gets stuck, I use an old toothbrush to dig all the dirt out after using. I would also prefer for the head to be flatter to fit under lower furniture. Still I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JlynnNC
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Does a great job!!
6/16/2012

Customer review by redsoxer2

4.0 stars 6/16/2012 by redsoxer2
by redsoxer2

I do have a larger Hoover vac but it can be cumbersome when doing the carpeted stairs. This does a super job and I do use the power head on the stairs. Easy to use and carry. Also great for getting under beds and other furniture where my upright won't go. This little vac does have tremendous suction. The only reason I rated it a 4 was that like another writer, the cord could be a bit longer. Otherwise, this is a super product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
redsoxer2
Upton, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
poor quality
9/26/2011

Customer review by Murray

1.0 stars 9/26/2011 by Murray
by Murray

I use this product about once a week. I have two large dogs and it picks up hair and dirt well. I like the flexability of this product and the washable filters, but the design and materials of it's hoses and power nozzel are poor quality. The joints where the hose and the power nozzel attach to the telescoping extension wand became very loose after just a few times detaching them. After about 6 months use the power brush froze up and melted parts of the plastic that hold the brush. The power nozzel is now damaged on the end and needs to be replaced. I was told at customer service to take it to a repair place, but to make sure it is defective or I would pay for service. I think hair worked it's way into ends and caused it to stop spinning. This would make it my fault, but I clean the brush everytime I use it. The only way to clean areas that caused the problem would require complete disassembly. I researched many vacuums before selecting this one. I am disappointed I will not be using this vacuum for the many years I had planned.

Murray
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awkward, heavy, poor design and quality
11/19/2013

Customer review by JillianK

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by JillianK
by JillianK

The plastic started breaking in places the first use, due to regular force, so parts rattle and fall off while in use. The hose is the diameter of a quarter so you HAVE to use an attachment (all of which are made for fabric/carpet) unless you want to vacuum up one Cheerio per minute with the bare metal raking wood floors. There's no obvious way for it to stand/roll, so you must carry the heavy canister around, awkwardly drag across the floor, and jam into a closet. (Where it falls out repeatedly because it's apparently made to lay horizontally in a 4x4' room with its hose flailing everywhere.) And while the joint that connects hose to body is thin plastic, for some reason they made the hose metal, so even that's heavy. And the switch on the handle only works with one specific attachment (why??).  I'm not even bothering wrestling this thing back to the store, it's going in the dumpster. I had a better experience using a little electric stick sweeper that lasted years.  I'd rather drag my rugs outside and beat them clean with a tennis racket.

JillianK
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Poor quality
6/17/2013

Customer review by Amanda123

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Amanda123
by Amanda123

I bought this vacuum a year and a half ago.  I have already replaced a belt in the rotor brush assembly, which Hoover was going to make me replace the whole brush head which was 1/2 the cost of a new unit.  Thankfully, Target let me take the $2 belt off a floor model.  It constantly gets clogged and needs to be disassembled.  The unit is heavy and bangs into walls with such force it chips paint.  The hose kinks easily and the filter block up often.  When they do, the unit overheats.  Then you have to wash the filters and wait 24 hours until they dry, so if this happens mid-clean you are down a vacuum. The canister detaches from the base to empty and the seal on mine constantly fails so the unit no longer picks up.  I now have to put a folded piece of paper in between the base and holding canister just to get suction.  Tomorrow I am buying a new vacuum, different brand.  Way way to many issues for a year old vacuum. 

Comment from Ian - 6/21/2013

Hi Amanda123, we stand behind our vacuums and will do what it takes to get your vacuum working as it should. We are sending you a private e-mail so that we can better assist you. Thanks so much!

Amanda123
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Frustrated....
6/25/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/25/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I thought I just had a lemon the first time I used this Hoover. The brush power bar would not work within the 1st 30 days that I had it, so I returned it to the store and they were kind enough to exchange it out for a new one. The bar DEFINITELY gets clogged up and hair needs to be removed from it at least every other time it is used. I have had this unit for 15 months and the brush power bar is not functioning. After being on hold forever the CSR believed it was a belt and could be replaced. I called back with the model # and was on hold 10+ minutes. There is nothing wrong with the belt and I really need a new brush power bar (looks like that is $100???) It gave me plenty of time to read the reviews and I have now decided that this machine does not seem worth the bother. I have hopped online to order a different vacuum in hopes I can vacuum before the weekend??? I love the vacuum, but don't want to fight it.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 6/25/2012

Hi Melissa! We are sorry to hear about the problems you have been experiencing with your unit and we understand your frustration. If you would like to order a replacement part, please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a listing of dealers for assistance. Thank you!

An anonymous customer
Georgetown, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for home and the office
10/26/2012

Customer review by Cleaners4ever

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by Cleaners4ever
by Cleaners4ever
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a very lightweight and easy to use canister vacuum. The suction is great and the telescopic wand is nice to. Attachments are also easy to use. Having the right vacuum makes the chore easier. I also purchased one for my small cleaning service to use at the offices.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cleaners4ever
Alpena, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
No suction with tools and electronics fail
6/12/2012

Customer review by mtnbunny

2.0 stars 6/12/2012 by mtnbunny
by mtnbunny

This being my second of these (first returned due to failure of electronic button for floor attachment failure), this is badly designed. The suction dies after attaching anything. I cleaned every bit of this vacuum, brushed out the hose, reversed the hose and cleaned every filter - 3 times, again...as soon as anything is added, the suction dies. The hole for this should have been at the top end of the canister?

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mtnbunny
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I used it once so far review.
8/18/2013

Customer review by JosieM

4.0 stars 8/18/2013 by JosieM
by JosieM

I just bought this vacuum. I have a flat rug so this vacuum is great for that. I bought this cuz I know I am able to finally vacuum under my bed cuz my other vacuum is a stand up one and doesn't fit under bed at all and my bed frame has no wheels on it. When I pulled everything out of the box, I smelled chemicals so I cleaned it down to reduce it thinking it's from the factory. But when I first vacuumed my rug my whole living room was filled with bad chemical smell. I had to put air conditioner on with windows opened. The smell went away. I am going to use it couple of more times to see if it eventually goes away. I can't use it before my sister visits me cuz she has multi-chemical sensitivies with asthma, and that would get her sick. I will save my old vacuum to use before she comes over. I am hoping the smell goes away cuz I really like the vacuum. I wish they made the plug longer.

JosieM
Goshen, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great suction and light-weight
9/11/2012

Customer review by oldthandirt

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by oldthandirt
by oldthandirt

Power head small enough to use on furniture or floor.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldthandirt
centerville, iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Works Great For Us
3/13/2016

Customer review by Sophie2

5.0 stars 3/13/2016 by Sophie2
by Sophie2

I bought this in 2011. The suction is great (and I have 3 pets), it's lightweight, and has all the tools I want with onboard storage. I love the design, It gets lots of use, and hasn't ever failed to deliver.

Sophie2
Lynn, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/3/2012

Customer review by Cooes

5.0 stars 12/3/2012 by Cooes
by Cooes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a great little vacuum! It is small, lightweight yet very powerful! I love the fact that the handle switches the beater brush from off to on if you move from a hardwood to a rug surface like I do! The bagless cup is very easy to empty. Also it fits on my steps so I can move it up my stair case which I couldn't do before when vacuuming steps. If you get it, the brush device was in the box while the crevice tool is on the handle - it took me a while to find them.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cooes
Berkeley Heights, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Reliable for the USAF
10/10/2014

Customer review by Hector085

4.0 stars 10/10/2014 by Hector085
by Hector085

Hi, my wife and I purchased this vacuum cleaner over 3 years ago. It has been reliable with no issues except for one. When using that carry handle to lift the vacuum cleaner the canister then will separate slightly an it feels like it's going to come off and the vacuum cleaner will then fall. To overcome this I now carry and transport the vacuum cleaner around the house via the hhose connection to the vac. Other than that the Vac has held up quite well even during the time that I was it has held up quite well even during the time that I was deployed. I am not sure why others, who have written  1 star reviews,  have had problems with their vacuum cleaner but I can say that mine is just fine. We have a two storey townhouse and again it is held up just fine wile vacuuming once per week.I hope you have found this review helpful. Take Care!

Hector085
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1 is the lowest I can go :(
5/24/2013

Customer review by Usman

1.0 stars 5/24/2013 by Usman
by Usman

This is a terrible vacuum. Unless you are bald all over this is not the right vac for you. Even then, if you plan to carry the vacuum, since you'd think this is a canister and you can lift it while you vacuum the stairs, the suction gets halved cause the air leaks under the handle! And like the others say, if there's any hair traffic in your house, this vacuum will show you places hair can go in a vacuum that you wouldn't dream of! Anyway, let me bring it down a notch, the roller brush busted within a few uses and we cleaned out the hair from the roll and the head. It lost suction around that time, now every time we use it that no loss of suction on the vac taunts us! I made a huge mistake of buying without thorough investigation and should have returned it when i felt air the first time I lifted it. I thought this was a good company.

Comment from Ian - 5/30/2013

Hi Usman, we agree that this is not acceptable. We're reaching out to you via e-mail to get your vacuum working again. Thanks so much!

Usman
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
soooo dissatisfied
5/9/2014

Customer review by silverbellsring

1.0 stars 5/9/2014 by silverbellsring
by silverbellsring

I purchased this vac and loved it for about 3 months. Hose came apart at the handle. Taped it up and kept using it. Hose electric connect stopped working. Both were from poorly constructed design and cheap plastic materials. Ok, broke down and bought another one on Amazon for the hose. Good thing...the vac hardly has any suction. Ok...put the new hose on, didn't work. Took the vac apart to fix the connectors because they were no longer in socket. Fixed that...the floor attachment worked, but now I have no suction. Just like the 2nd vac I bought. My husband and I consider this a cheaply made piece of junk. With the right design and quality parts...it could have been the best vac I owned. Have owned 4 hoover vacs in the past 25 yrs. So disappointed in this vac. You know the saying - you get what you pay for ? It fits right here. JUNK

silverbellsring
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Great little vacuum!
11/1/2012

Customer review by allforabba

5.0 stars 11/1/2012 by allforabba
by allforabba
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love my new vacuum...I can't believe the cat hairs it picks up!! Wish the cord was longer but, I have many plugs!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allforabba
Foley, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good item
9/23/2012

Customer review by walmartshoperks

5.0 stars 9/23/2012 by walmartshoperks
by walmartshoperks

So far its working excellent. Great vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walmartshoperks
D
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs redesigned
6/17/2013

Customer review by Blawson

4.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Blawson
by Blawson
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Just bought this vacuum about 2 weeks ago, the power and suction are great also surprisingly quiet. the 3 big issues that I have noticed with this vacuum are that the hose kinks often while vacuuming, its very hard to pull behind you and the cord is way to short. I tried it out when I first assembled it and noticed right away those 3 major flaws, but being a man I just resulted to adding an extension cord and carrying the canister around. It works for me and I don't mind, but my wife hates the vacuum and hates me more for buying it for her. Our first canister vacuum though maybe they are all supposed to be bulky and awkward, I don't know.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blawson
Key West, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1-20 of 99 reviews