Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 101 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

101 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

2.5 stars

101 reviews | 2.4 out of 5

34%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
12
1 stars
53
1-20 of 101 total reviews
34%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews
poor quality
9/26/2011

Customer review by Murray

1.0 stars 9/26/2011 by Murray
by Murray

I use this product about once a week. I have two large dogs and it picks up hair and dirt well. I like the flexability of this product and the washable filters, but the design and materials of it's hoses and power nozzel are poor quality. The joints where the hose and the power nozzel attach to the telescoping extension wand became very loose after just a few times detaching them. After about 6 months use the power brush froze up and melted parts of the plastic that hold the brush. The power nozzel is now damaged on the end and needs to be replaced. I was told at customer service to take it to a repair place, but to make sure it is defective or I would pay for service. I think hair worked it's way into ends and caused it to stop spinning. This would make it my fault, but I clean the brush everytime I use it. The only way to clean areas that caused the problem would require complete disassembly. I researched many vacuums before selecting this one. I am disappointed I will not be using this vacuum for the many years I had planned.

Murray
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Awkward, heavy, poor design and quality
11/19/2013

Customer review by JillianK

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by JillianK
by JillianK

The plastic started breaking in places the first use, due to regular force, so parts rattle and fall off while in use. The hose is the diameter of a quarter so you HAVE to use an attachment (all of which are made for fabric/carpet) unless you want to vacuum up one Cheerio per minute with the bare metal raking wood floors. There's no obvious way for it to stand/roll, so you must carry the heavy canister around, awkwardly drag across the floor, and jam into a closet. (Where it falls out repeatedly because it's apparently made to lay horizontally in a 4x4' room with its hose flailing everywhere.) And while the joint that connects hose to body is thin plastic, for some reason they made the hose metal, so even that's heavy. And the switch on the handle only works with one specific attachment (why??).  I'm not even bothering wrestling this thing back to the store, it's going in the dumpster. I had a better experience using a little electric stick sweeper that lasted years.  I'd rather drag my rugs outside and beat them clean with a tennis racket.

JillianK
Chicago, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Poor quality
6/17/2013

Customer review by Amanda123

1.0 stars 6/17/2013 by Amanda123
by Amanda123

I bought this vacuum a year and a half ago.  I have already replaced a belt in the rotor brush assembly, which Hoover was going to make me replace the whole brush head which was 1/2 the cost of a new unit.  Thankfully, Target let me take the $2 belt off a floor model.  It constantly gets clogged and needs to be disassembled.  The unit is heavy and bangs into walls with such force it chips paint.  The hose kinks easily and the filter block up often.  When they do, the unit overheats.  Then you have to wash the filters and wait 24 hours until they dry, so if this happens mid-clean you are down a vacuum. The canister detaches from the base to empty and the seal on mine constantly fails so the unit no longer picks up.  I now have to put a folded piece of paper in between the base and holding canister just to get suction.  Tomorrow I am buying a new vacuum, different brand.  Way way to many issues for a year old vacuum. 

Comment from Ian - 6/21/2013

Hi Amanda123, we stand behind our vacuums and will do what it takes to get your vacuum working as it should. We are sending you a private e-mail so that we can better assist you. Thanks so much!

Amanda123
MD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Frustrated....
6/25/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/25/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I thought I just had a lemon the first time I used this Hoover. The brush power bar would not work within the 1st 30 days that I had it, so I returned it to the store and they were kind enough to exchange it out for a new one. The bar DEFINITELY gets clogged up and hair needs to be removed from it at least every other time it is used. I have had this unit for 15 months and the brush power bar is not functioning. After being on hold forever the CSR believed it was a belt and could be replaced. I called back with the model # and was on hold 10+ minutes. There is nothing wrong with the belt and I really need a new brush power bar (looks like that is $100???) It gave me plenty of time to read the reviews and I have now decided that this machine does not seem worth the bother. I have hopped online to order a different vacuum in hopes I can vacuum before the weekend??? I love the vacuum, but don't want to fight it.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 6/25/2012

Hi Melissa! We are sorry to hear about the problems you have been experiencing with your unit and we understand your frustration. If you would like to order a replacement part, please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a listing of dealers for assistance. Thank you!

An anonymous customer
Georgetown, DE
Would recommend to a friend? No
I used it once so far review.
8/18/2013

Customer review by JosieM

4.0 stars 8/18/2013 by JosieM
by JosieM

I just bought this vacuum. I have a flat rug so this vacuum is great for that. I bought this cuz I know I am able to finally vacuum under my bed cuz my other vacuum is a stand up one and doesn't fit under bed at all and my bed frame has no wheels on it. When I pulled everything out of the box, I smelled chemicals so I cleaned it down to reduce it thinking it's from the factory. But when I first vacuumed my rug my whole living room was filled with bad chemical smell. I had to put air conditioner on with windows opened. The smell went away. I am going to use it couple of more times to see if it eventually goes away. I can't use it before my sister visits me cuz she has multi-chemical sensitivies with asthma, and that would get her sick. I will save my old vacuum to use before she comes over. I am hoping the smell goes away cuz I really like the vacuum. I wish they made the plug longer.

JosieM
Goshen, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Reliable for the USAF
10/10/2014

Customer review by Hector085

4.0 stars 10/10/2014 by Hector085
by Hector085

Hi, my wife and I purchased this vacuum cleaner over 3 years ago. It has been reliable with no issues except for one. When using that carry handle to lift the vacuum cleaner the canister then will separate slightly an it feels like it's going to come off and the vacuum cleaner will then fall. To overcome this I now carry and transport the vacuum cleaner around the house via the hhose connection to the vac. Other than that the Vac has held up quite well even during the time that I was it has held up quite well even during the time that I was deployed. I am not sure why others, who have written  1 star reviews,  have had problems with their vacuum cleaner but I can say that mine is just fine. We have a two storey townhouse and again it is held up just fine wile vacuuming once per week.I hope you have found this review helpful. Take Care!

Hector085
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1 is the lowest I can go :(
5/24/2013

Customer review by Usman

1.0 stars 5/24/2013 by Usman
by Usman

This is a terrible vacuum. Unless you are bald all over this is not the right vac for you. Even then, if you plan to carry the vacuum, since you'd think this is a canister and you can lift it while you vacuum the stairs, the suction gets halved cause the air leaks under the handle! And like the others say, if there's any hair traffic in your house, this vacuum will show you places hair can go in a vacuum that you wouldn't dream of! Anyway, let me bring it down a notch, the roller brush busted within a few uses and we cleaned out the hair from the roll and the head. It lost suction around that time, now every time we use it that no loss of suction on the vac taunts us! I made a huge mistake of buying without thorough investigation and should have returned it when i felt air the first time I lifted it. I thought this was a good company.

Comment from Ian - 5/30/2013

Hi Usman, we agree that this is not acceptable. We're reaching out to you via e-mail to get your vacuum working again. Thanks so much!

Usman
Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
soooo dissatisfied
5/9/2014

Customer review by silverbellsring

1.0 stars 5/9/2014 by silverbellsring
by silverbellsring

I purchased this vac and loved it for about 3 months. Hose came apart at the handle. Taped it up and kept using it. Hose electric connect stopped working. Both were from poorly constructed design and cheap plastic materials. Ok, broke down and bought another one on Amazon for the hose. Good thing...the vac hardly has any suction. Ok...put the new hose on, didn't work. Took the vac apart to fix the connectors because they were no longer in socket. Fixed that...the floor attachment worked, but now I have no suction. Just like the 2nd vac I bought. My husband and I consider this a cheaply made piece of junk. With the right design and quality parts...it could have been the best vac I owned. Have owned 4 hoover vacs in the past 25 yrs. So disappointed in this vac. You know the saying - you get what you pay for ? It fits right here. JUNK

silverbellsring
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Best vacuum I've ever owned.
5/16/2013

Customer review by Crankit211

5.0 stars 5/16/2013 by Crankit211
by Crankit211

I wanted something lightweight and easy to maneuver. This unit is not only that, but it has highly efficient suction power. I have an Australian Shepherd and this unit picks up the dog's hair with no problem (carpet, hardwood, or linoleum). I do pop open and clean the brush assembly every month, which is no biggie. I bought this three years ago, and it still performs like new. The lightness of this model makes tasks like clearing cobwebs and vacuuming the cars much less of a hassle. It also does an excellent job going from different floor surfaces without the need to re-adjust any settings. The push-button power cord storage is nice, also. I have owned more than several vacs in my 50+ years. I thought a vacuum was just a vacuum, until I started using this little gem.

Crankit211
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Love it when it works...
5/13/2013

Customer review by queensuzique

2.0 stars 5/13/2013 by queensuzique
by queensuzique

When I first purchased this vacuum I thought is was great!  However, the brush stopped working soon after, took it to be repaired and, repaired again.  The brush stopped working again and the company sent me a new one which is still working ok but now, it got really loud and stopped sucking.  I cleaned it out really well thinking that maybe the problem but, NOPE!  I've always emptied the bin and cleaned the dog hair off the brushes every time I use it.  I don't expect a miracle, it's small but when it works, does a decent job.   Thought a Hoover was a good name which is why I bought this one.  I vacuum at least once a week and I just hope it will work when I plug it in.  Today I'm off to buy another vacuum so I can finish the job I started this morning.

Comment from Ian - 5/14/2013

HI queensuzique, that's not acceptable! We're sending you an e-mail now so that we can better assist. We want to make this right. Thanks so much!

queensuzique
Madison, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Will Never Buy a Hoover Again!
7/2/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/2/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Purchased this unit in February 2012. This was used every couple of days with kids and pets. Apparently a BIG mistake. The end of May, the brush seized up and stopped running. The belt was fine. Took it in for repair finally last week. As all others have mentioned, hair melted the cheap plastic piece. Hoover will NOT replace stating "neglect"! Neglect on our part is not the issue! While it may not be the case of others, we diligently cleaned the obvious hair from around the roller head. Given the clear top, this was easily seen that it needed to be done! Hoover needs to stop blaming its customers for using a product that should be built to hold up to everyday situations! Stop placing the blame on your consumers and start making a quality product again!

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 7/2/2012

Hi Vicki, we are extremely sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing and we would like to get this problem solved for you right away! Please call in to customer service 1.800.944.9200 Monday-Friday 8am-7pm EST. Thank you!

An anonymous customer
Altamont, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love my machine, But.....
9/22/2013

Customer review by MelliMomma

4.0 stars 9/22/2013 by MelliMomma
by MelliMomma

I really like this Vacuum we have had it for almost 2 years and never had a problem with it. I clean it often and the suction is the best from a vacuum I have ever had. We have mostly hard floors and short pile carpet, and with 3 kids we use it almost EVERY DAY. My only thumbs down is that the hose broke on me a couple months ago IT got stepped on and crunch!!! Since the rest of the vacuum was fine I decided to by a new hose. THE HOSE COST ALMOST AS MUCH AS THE BUYING A NEW VACUUM!!!! I also would love to have it come with a non power head attachment so I can sweep the hard floors a little better. Bigger pieces of things like Cat food size (don't like to suck up they just push around.) Over all we are happy. For the price point I think it does well.

MelliMomma
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Dissapointed
1/19/2013

Customer review by Dissapointed

2.0 stars 1/19/2013 by Dissapointed
by Dissapointed

I purchased this product on Oct 28/12, it lasted 2 months and the roller has seized. After reading the other comments perhaps dust got in the bearings, the motor still works but I cannot move the roller. I was brought up with hoover products in the UK, I bought this because I was relying on the brand. It now does not work and can only use the floor setting to vaccum my carpets. I read in another comment a new powerhead is $98..... The instructions say nothing about cleaning the roller bearings, or removing the dust. I remove all the hair that gets caught around the roller ( I have girls with long hair). I am very dissapointed, I am a single mum that had to save for this vacuum that now does not work.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 1/19/2013

Long hair can jam the brush roller end caps and will require frequent cleaning of the debris to maintain brush action and suction flow. We can walk you through some troubleshooting tips. Give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 Monday-Friday 8am-7pm EST.

Dissapointed
Calgary, Alberta
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good for the price
1/17/2014

Customer review by Bettina

4.0 stars 1/17/2014 by Bettina
by Bettina

I've had this vacuum for about 1 year and am still pretty happy with it. I use it often because I have several pets (dogs and cats) and 2 daughters with very long hair. I mostly have wood floors with a few area rugs and it works great for picking up the hair and dust. It does need routine maintenance like washing the filters and cutting the hair from the roller but it's no problem if you keep up with it. I did burn out the roller once but I was able to order a replacement part at low cost and change it out myself. I like that the vacuum is light and easy to maneuver. The 2 things I don't like are the short cord and that the power nozzle is just a little too high to fit under couches and cabinets.

Bettina
Farmingdale, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
power to brush shorts
5/23/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 5/23/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

the power cords that run the length of the hose to carry power to the brush shorted out, initially causing the brush to loose power intermittently then just stopped working. I took the hose end (where brush attaches) apart and found the wiring inside to be exposed. I'd also mention that the dirt/dust canister has the bottom part swing open to empty. Normal, except the bottom part is basically a large cup, PERFECT for collecting the fine dust and dirt. So when you open/empty the thing, all the dirt in the cup has to be emptied by hand, awkwardly inverting it and banging it against the trash can to knock it loose. The bottom SHOULD be flat allowing the fine dirt/dust to fall on its own.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 5/23/2012

We are sorry to hear about the problems you are experiencing but we appreciate the feedback! Please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a listing of local service dealers so that may take a closer look at your unit and determine what the source of the problem is. Thank you!

An anonymous customer
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible!
5/22/2013

Customer review by Kraeuterhexe

1.0 stars 5/22/2013 by Kraeuterhexe
by Kraeuterhexe

I purchased this vacuum for $150 at Target, 8 months ago. It does it's job as far as the vacuuming is concerned, but it is falling apart. The control handle got loose within a few weeks, and is now completely separated from the hose. I've taped it with electrical tape, but this is only a temporary (and unsafe) fix, until I can purchase another vacuum. I've tried to order a replacement part, and found out that I'd have to get the entire hose assembly - for another whooping $138. Thanks, but no thanks. I don't recommend this to anyone, and wish I had checked this product out better, before I purchased it. Obviously, Target marked it a "Clearance Item" for a reason......

Comment from Ian - 5/23/2013

Hi Kraeuterhexe, that sounds frustrating. We're reaching out to you via e-mail to see if we can't make this right for you. Thanks so much!

Kraeuterhexe
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
falling apart!
8/18/2015

Customer review by tamra

2.0 stars 8/18/2015 by tamra
by tamra

I bought this vacuum about 7 months ago as a replacement for my old wind tunnel which was 8 years old. What a disappointment! The hose doesn't stay on. The attachment was always loose, but now doesn't work at all. I had to tape the hose to the attachment and then tape the attachment to the vacuum cleaner to get suction. When i pick up the vacuum the canister pops off but that's not too big a deal. It also does not work on thick carpet, just the very thin ones. I could say suction was fair but without tape it wouldn't work at all. What a difference from our old vacuum which was amazing. Very cheaply made which i did not expect from Hoover.

Comment from Giselle - 8/20/2015

Hi Tamra! This is very disappointing to us as well. Your Multi-Cyclonic shouldn't have given you an issues. We want to help. You will receive a private email shortly. We have a few questions.

tamra
Would recommend to a friend? No
THE REVIEWS ARE ACCURATE
7/25/2012

Customer review by Not recommend to my enemy

1.0 stars 7/25/2012 by Not recommend to my enemy
by Not recommend to my enemy

Ive had this vacuum maybe 5 mos. Thought i was getting a good vacuum for the $. How very wrong. Now i Know what to look for in a better vacuum. Doubt Hoover will replace the flaw for the rest of the life of this vacuum. The flaw is the bearing assembly that holds the roller in place. It is plastic and not sealed from the dust and dirt. The bearings get a teeny bit of dust, they seize, and the roller head wears out the belt, roller, and bearing ends. B/c FRICTION MELTS PLASTIC! Genius' over there at hoover. Even with proper cleaning regularly, this problem will keep happening. Won't let me post review w/o giving it 1 star - in reality - I give it zero stars.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 7/25/2012

Hi there! We are extremely sorry to hear about the issues you are experiencing and we would like to get this problem solved for you right away! Please call in to customer service 1.800.944.9200 Monday-Friday 8am-7pm EST. Thank you!

Not recommend to my enemy
Saskatchewan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great for the price, but missing some.
2/16/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/16/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

So far I have had this vacuum for about 10 weeks, and it has been great. I vacuum about every 2 weeks, using this downstairs. Before this I used an upright that needed to be carried down the stairs before, but this made vacuuming alot simpler. I really have no complaints about the machine besides it having a short power cord, no pet turbine attachment (though the hard floor piece is a nice adition), and on stairs the long handle and wand can be awkward to manuver. One last thing is that at times it would've been nice for Hoover to include a variable suction nossle, but other wise, for less than two benjamins, this is about as good as it gets!

An anonymous customer
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best vacuum I've ever owned.
5/16/2013

Customer review by Crankit211

5.0 stars 5/16/2013 by Crankit211
by Crankit211

I wanted something lightweight and easy to maneuver. This unit is not only that, but it has highly efficient suction power. I have an Australian Shepherd and this unit picks up the dog's hair with no problem (carpet, hardwood, or linoleum). I do pop open and clean the brush assembly every month, which is no biggie. I bought this three years ago, and it still performs like new. The fact that it converts to an even lighter hand-held vac makes tasks like clearing cobwebs and vacuuming the cars much less of a hassle. I have owned more than several vacs in my 50+ years. I thought a vacuum was just a vacuum, until I started using this little gem.

Crankit211
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
1-20 of 101 total reviews
1-20 of 101 reviews