Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.5out of 5 stars
2.5 out of 5 | 112 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
21
3 stars
12
2 stars
19
1 stars
44
Sort by: 
1-20 of 108 reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
Read the reviews...DON'T BUY
8/3/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wish I would have read reviews before purchasing this vacuum. The belt slips off every time I try to vacuum which requires taking off the face plate, resetting the belt, then putting back the face plate. Hoover should have address this problem, recall this product, or never let this faulty product go into stores. I'm very disappointed and no longer a loyal customer of Hoover products. My recommendation is to read the reviews and DON'T BUY THIS VACUUM!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fabulous!!
6/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have been avoiding vacuuming my carpets for weeks because it took an hour to get through two bedrooms with my old vacuum. Horrible, I know. I've owned this machine all of two hours, just finished vacuuming my two bedrooms in about ten minutes! Awesome! Here's the deal. We have 2cats and 2 dogs so there is a ton of fur. Everywhere. This machine had incredible suction and never lost an ounce of it even when the canister was full to the brim with dirt and fur. My carpets haven't looked this clean since we moved in! Even used the attachment to reach behind a kennel and the suction did not lower. In fact it sucked itself to the wall, a drawer and my pants on the way out from behind the kennel. The retractable cord was a little awkward to get used to but if you pull out a good length of it it's no different than the non-retractable kind. And I like just stepping on a pedal and the cord puts itself away! I realize the whole thing could fall apart tomorrow but right now I love this thing! Super happy I bought it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (28)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for carpet.
4/21/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The height adjustment may not be high enough for twist carpet. The low setting would work better for tile, pergo etc if the brush could be deactivated. The handle is ackward for stairs. The retractable cord is ok but you have to attach the cord to the handle to keep cord out of the way. The simple design is why I purchased I believe it will be reliable despite the other short comings. It is quieter than most other brands. The hand attachment is clever but doesn't really have enough power to keep rotating, but the most attachments don't rotate anyway. The design would be better with a traditional cord that you have to wind up and if they had a handle closer to the base for using on stairs. If you use the hose it does have a impressive reach but the vacuum doesn't weigh enough so at far reaches it will pull the vacuum. This would be a problem on stairs. Overall it is oustanding for picking up dirt and pet hair!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (22)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Brush belt
8/18/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The belt want stay on
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wow....Amazing power for compact vacuum!
4/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This, so far, is the best vacuum I have ever owned. Amazing power and suction. I have two cats and one dog, and it picks up pet hair that I didn't even know existed. Easy to assemble and attachments are easy to use. I am hoping this vacuum stands up to the test of time, which seems to be a difficult thing for most vacuums. It seems fairly well built, though.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Light weight
8/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I picked this vaccum because we have pets who shed and I wanted a light weight vaccum. So many of the uprights these days have so much weight in the handle. I don't know what the vaccum designers are thinking. This one is one of the lightest and the retractable cord is nice too. Very happy so far with this vaccum.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
don't waste your money!
11/13/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This vacuum was a replacement for our hoover pet rewind, which we LOVED, but has turned out to be the worst vacuum ever. The belt constantly falls off, I can't vacuum for 5 minutes without the belt coming off, you put it back on and bump the couch and there it goes again. Worst design flaw ever! The only good thing about this vacuum is the attachments, i like how they click and lock in place. I will be replacing this vacuum, and it won't be with another hoover. Just save yourself the hassle, and look at something else!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
belt
10/20/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First time we used the machine the belt came off, put it back on and it came off, did this several times. Went to the Hoover web site and asked about it they said put a new belt on my new machine (do they send it out with old belts?) and check carpet level settings. wow would have never thought of that. Walmart does not even carry the belts for this machine, thank you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Randomly shuts off
8/1/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this vacuum about four months ago. The vacuum is one of the nicest vacuums I've had, and was really pleased with it up until lately. I use the vacuum two to three times a week and often have had to put the belt back on. Putting the belt back on is not the issue I am having. Lately the vacuum will shut off on its own after about five to seven minutes of vacuuming. I turn the power to the off position then back on and get nothing. This is extremely frustrating to say the least. The vacuum usually works again after it sits for an ample amount of time. I have tried to Google this problem and have gotten nowhere. If anyone is having this problem, please respond to my review. I have been a Hoover vacuum owner ever since I first moved out on my own, which has been some time, and am disappointed that this vacuum is the first one to give me problems. I sure hope there is something that can be done because these vacuums aren't cheap.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sucks up way more then my old vacuum!
3/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Just purchased this yesterday and used it right away when I got home. You could hear it picking up everything! My old vacuum barely picked up anything, even after we took it completely apart, cleaned it and put it back together. The Hoover Elite Rewind picked up so much in less then 5 minutes, I was amazed! It just zips right along too! It was not tough to push and it maneuvers very easily. It can even vacuum under tables, without moving them! You can move the handle down very low to the floor with out the base even lifting up. I always read the reviews on everything I buy. Except I did not read these until after buying it, and I am very glad I purchased it anyway. I read other bad reviews on here about the belt falling off and I have not had that problem at all, even after vacuuming the living room, the hallway, and two bedrooms. I love it :D
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
What's up with the BELT?!?!
7/7/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The Belt comes off EVERY TIME I use this vacuum.. It cleans great when it stays together.. But that's hardly ever! Very annoying when you turn it on and hear the brush stop spinning!!! I've had it a week , if that long and I want to sling it outside every time I turn it on. Hoover this is a BIG disappointment! So tape a screwdriver to it if you purchase it!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Give it a chance
10/26/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a great vacuum, but it took a little time to get there. We also had the problem of the belt slipping off. I called Hoover, and they said that the belt installed at the factory was too loose. They sent me a free replacement and it has been fine ever since. Does a great job of picking up pet hair. I have a dog and two cats, so it is a constant battle in our house. Love the cord rewind but wish that the cord was a little longer. Otherwise it is a great vacuum for the money!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great when the belt stays on, which is never!
3/3/2017
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I loved this vacuum, so much I bought 2. One for my mom and one for me. BOTH have belt slipping issues. The suction is phenomenal, the price cannot be beat BUT there is clearly a design issue when it comes to the belt. I just ordered 2 new Hoover belts for this model as a last ditch effort to save this vacuum. If it does not work, sorry to say this will be my last Hoover. I Will happily update this review if changing the belts work.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
1/9/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
the vacuum cleaner worked great, but unfortunately, the belt came off after 2 minutes of using the vacuum EVERY time.. I have since returned it for a different model, and hopefully this one will work much better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Belt Keeps Falling Off!
1/3/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this vacuum for 2 weeks and used it only 3 times. The first time, it worked great and I was impressed at how well it worked. Especially having 3 dogs (one being a puppy), it picked up quite a lot of dirt and animal hair. The last two times.. not so much. The belt fell off after the 2nd use, which was then tightened and worked as normal. The third time, the belt fell off 5 times in a row after it was tightened each time. Immediately took it back to Walmart. I actually liked this vacuum, but it was not worth the headache and money due to the belt. Looking at all the other poor reviews, it may be a design flaw since I'm not the only one with this problem. I usually own Hoover products, but I exchanged it for a Eureka. Crossing my fingers that it's a keeper... PROS: Excellent suction, extremely long hose, power cord rewind, easy to maneuver CONS: That dang belt... GRR!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Belt keeps falling off
5/16/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love the vacumn but as I now have read, the belt problem is a continual issue. I am on the phone now for over 10 minutes waiting to get customer solution. It falls off every time I vacumn
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Mixed Review
2/22/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this vac 1 year ago and am disappointed with it lately :( When vacuuming it kicks out dust and I constantly have to re-vacuum. Also, today, when I went to use it there was no debris in the container, but the hose was clogged full of carpet fiber/debris that I had to dig out with my hands (after only vacuuming one carpeted room). I try to use the attachments, but there is little to no suction. I have also never figured out how to use the stair attachment. In addition, dirt/carpet debris come out at the bottom (where a light would normally be on older vacuums). I do love the cord minder, not much gets "caught" in the rollers (ie, loose threads on throw rugs), and the motor rarely needs time to cool. And it is lightweight and easy to store, which I like. Would like to have advice/suggestions on other problems which create more headaches and takes up way too much time.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Belt has Issues
1/8/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I received this vacuum as a Christmas gift and I was so excited the first time I used it! The suction was awesome and the turbo pet brush rocks. However, the 2nd time I used the vacuum, the belt came off. The next 5 times of use the belt came off 3 of the times, so we had to return the vacuum.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Power switch sticking, now the vacuum doesn't work
1/20/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First of all, I absolutely love this vacuum. I find myself using it quite often. I wrote a review several months back about the vacuum stopping on its own and not turning back on and Hoover's customer care promptly responded on ways to go about fixing it...and the advice was spot on, so for that I thank you. The issue I am having now, or was until it stopped working again, was the power switch. Every once in a while the switch would get stuck in the on position and it was difficult to power it off. The last time I used it, approx. 1 week ago, the switch did the same thing. When I got the switch to power off I emptied the canister, wiped it down and put it away like I always do. After a couple days it was time to vacuum again so I pulled it out, plugged it in, and got nothing. The switch functioned just fine; however, the vacuum never powered up. I cannot get the vacuum to work now. I went through the steps that Hoover customer care gave me last time but still no power. I am extremely frustrated that it doesn't work. I have no idea what to do now. Hoover customer care, please help a faithful customer out please.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Belt comes off over and over
11/14/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Can not keep the belt on, so very little use so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643940, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-