Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 100 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

100 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

5 stars
16
4 stars
20
3 stars
10
2 stars
15
1 stars
39
39%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 96 total reviews
Wow....Amazing power for compact vacuum!
4/21/2012

Customer review by LexyLuther

5.0 stars by LexyLuther

This, so far, is the best vacuum I have ever owned. Amazing power and suction. I have two cats and one dog, and it picks up pet hair that I didn't even know existed. Easy to assemble and attachments are easy to use. I am hoping this vacuum stands up to the test of time, which seems to be a difficult thing for most vacuums. It seems fairly well built, though.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
LexyLuther
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fabulous!!
6/2/2012

Customer review by MrsCutts

5.0 stars by MrsCutts

I have been avoiding vacuuming my carpets for weeks because it took an hour to get through two bedrooms with my old vacuum. Horrible, I know. I've owned this machine all of two hours, just finished vacuuming my two bedrooms in about ten minutes! Awesome! Here's the deal. We have 2cats and 2 dogs so there is a ton of fur. Everywhere. This machine had incredible suction and never lost an ounce of it even when the canister was full to the brim with dirt and fur. My carpets haven't looked this clean since we moved in! Even used the attachment to reach behind a kennel and the suction did not lower. In fact it sucked itself to the wall, a drawer and my pants on the way out from behind the kennel. The retractable cord was a little awkward to get used to but if you pull out a good length of it it's no different than the non-retractable kind. And I like just stepping on a pedal and the cord puts itself away! I realize the whole thing could fall apart tomorrow but right now I love this thing! Super happy I bought it!

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrsCutts
Plaistow, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good for carpet.
4/21/2012

Customer review by tech67

4.0 stars by tech67

The height adjustment may not be high enough for twist carpet. The low setting would work better for tile, pergo etc if the brush could be deactivated. The handle is ackward for stairs. The retractable cord is ok but you have to attach the cord to the handle to keep cord out of the way. The simple design is why I purchased I believe it will be reliable despite the other short comings. It is quieter than most other brands. The hand attachment is clever but doesn't really have enough power to keep rotating, but the most attachments don't rotate anyway. The design would be better with a traditional cord that you have to wind up and if they had a handle closer to the base for using on stairs. If you use the hose it does have a impressive reach but the vacuum doesn't weigh enough so at far reaches it will pull the vacuum. This would be a problem on stairs. Overall it is oustanding for picking up dirt and pet hair!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tech67
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Light weight
8/29/2012

Customer review by prettyboyjay

5.0 stars by prettyboyjay

I picked this vaccum because we have pets who shed and I wanted a light weight vaccum. So many of the uprights these days have so much weight in the handle. I don't know what the vaccum designers are thinking. This one is one of the lightest and the retractable cord is nice too. Very happy so far with this vaccum.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
prettyboyjay
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
don't waste your money!
11/13/2012

Customer review by Katibear0811

1.0 stars by Katibear0811

This vacuum was a replacement for our hoover pet rewind, which we LOVED, but has turned out to be the worst vacuum ever. The belt constantly falls off, I can't vacuum for 5 minutes without the belt coming off, you put it back on and bump the couch and there it goes again. Worst design flaw ever! The only good thing about this vacuum is the attachments, i like how they click and lock in place. I will be replacing this vacuum, and it won't be with another hoover. Just save yourself the hassle, and look at something else!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Katibear0811
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
belt
10/20/2012

Customer review by Consumer412

1.0 stars by Consumer412

First time we used the machine the belt came off, put it back on and it came off, did this several times. Went to the Hoover web site and asked about it they said put a new belt on my new machine (do they send it out with old belts?) and check carpet level settings. wow would have never thought of that. Walmart does not even carry the belts for this machine, thank you.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Consumer412
Lewisville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Give it a chance
10/26/2012

Customer review by scopes2520

4.0 stars by scopes2520

This is a great vacuum, but it took a little time to get there. We also had the problem of the belt slipping off. I called Hoover, and they said that the belt installed at the factory was too loose. They sent me a free replacement and it has been fine ever since. Does a great job of picking up pet hair. I have a dog and two cats, so it is a constant battle in our house. Love the cord rewind but wish that the cord was a little longer. Otherwise it is a great vacuum for the money!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
scopes2520
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/9/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars by An anonymous customer

the vacuum cleaner worked great, but unfortunately, the belt came off after 2 minutes of using the vacuum EVERY time.. I have since returned it for a different model, and hopefully this one will work much better.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
framingham, ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Belt comes off over and over
11/14/2012

Customer review by lartay

1.0 stars by lartay

Can not keep the belt on, so very little use so far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
lartay
NW Ark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Belts slips off!
1/7/2013

Customer review by love4animals514

1.0 stars by love4animals514

The first time I used it the belt slipped off within minutes! Tried many times with the same result. Called Hoover and they said they have been having this issue with this vacuum and the whole Elite line, but there is no recall YET on this product! DO NOT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
love4animals514
Akron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Belt has Issues
1/8/2013

Customer review by princessv88

1.0 stars by princessv88

I received this vacuum as a Christmas gift and I was so excited the first time I used it! The suction was awesome and the turbo pet brush rocks. However, the 2nd time I used the vacuum, the belt came off. The next 5 times of use the belt came off 3 of the times, so we had to return the vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
princessv88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing!!!
2/12/2013

Customer review by BusyLadyJ

5.0 stars by BusyLadyJ

I have two chihuahuas that shed like crazy. It is great to have a product with great attachments to help with every need -- I am in love with the tool with the rubber wipers. They work wonders with my couch. We recently had some gunk in our back sliding door as well in the cracks which kept us from sliding the door easily. The extension sucked that gunk right out! I know this item had to be returned due to its deffective belt -- however, the belting issue has been fixed and this item is an amazing household essential.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
BusyLadyJ
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Sucks up way more then my old vacuum!
3/3/2013

Customer review by brown1220033

5.0 stars by brown1220033

Just purchased this yesterday and used it right away when I got home. You could hear it picking up everything! My old vacuum barely picked up anything, even after we took it completely apart, cleaned it and put it back together. The Hoover Elite Rewind picked up so much in less then 5 minutes, I was amazed! It just zips right along too! It was not tough to push and it maneuvers very easily. It can even vacuum under tables, without moving them! You can move the handle down very low to the floor with out the base even lifting up. I always read the reviews on everything I buy. Except I did not read these until after buying it, and I am very glad I purchased it anyway. I read other bad reviews on here about the belt falling off and I have not had that problem at all, even after vacuuming the living room, the hallway, and two bedrooms. I love it :D

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
brown1220033
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
9/29/2012

Customer review by ladystephens

2.0 stars by ladystephens

got this vac b/c we have 2 dogs. love the attachments & the way it picks up things i didn't know existed. the only issue we had is that within 30min of using it the belt came off! it didn't suck up anything hard so we don't know why it popped off. we were very disappointed that after just buying it we have to do a repair. we're thankful we bought the 2 yr warranty for $15 extra. we're gone give it a few more runs before deciding if we're gonna trade in for a better model.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ladystephens
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Disappointed
10/30/2013

Customer review by ProudtobeanOkie

1.0 stars by ProudtobeanOkie

I'm disappointed in this product. While it does a good job at picking up dirt and cat hair, it does not pick up anything larger. Small leaves, grass, cat litter, all have to be picked up before using the vacuum. Not what I expect from a Hoover! And the base is so cheaply made, that it's too light to stand up when using the hose. I've been buying Hoovers for over 25 years, but seriously considering trying a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ProudtobeanOkie
NE OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Only lasted a little over a year
2/27/2015

Customer review by RCGMSC

1.0 stars by RCGMSC

It worked so well when I first used this vacuum then as time went on, the hose broke. I ordered a new replacement hose and while waiting for that to come in, I deep cleaned the vacuum. Once the new hose came in and I attached it, only a few months later, the motor died. I still have my old Hoover model of this and that one is still going fairly strong. This one is just such a disappointment. I'm not sure if maybe I just bought a dud.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Comment from HooverUSA - 2/27/2015

Hi RCGMSC,<br />We're sorry to hear your motor failed after you just got a new hose. Have you checked the filter to make sure it's clean and air can get through. If it can't the motor will overheat and shut off for 45 minutes. Also, you can remove the hose and run a broom through it to get out clogs. If this doesn't work, can you please email John.Hitch@ttifloorcare.com for further assistance. Thanks! -- John, Hoover Customer Care

RCGMSC
Would recommend to a friend? No
This vaccuum is simply AWFUL
1/5/2013

Customer review by TraceyG559

1.0 stars by TraceyG559

The first time I used this vaccuum, I thought, 'Wow, this is terrible,' but thought that maybe I just wasn't used to it and all its settings yet. By the time I had used it enough to have to empty the canister, I still thought it was bad. First of all, I spent 20 minutes trying to get the canister back on to the vaccuum. Without success, I had my husband, my mother-in-law and father-in-law all try to get it back on. After about an hour, my husband finally figured it out. My husband is not a stupid guy; if it takes *him* an hour to figure out how to put a vaccuum canister on, there is a serious design flaw. Second, the vaccuum has terrible suction. NOTHING gets sucked up when gliding it along the floor, both on carpet and linoleum. I end up having to hose-vaccuum my entire house to get it clean. That's not even a joke; I really have to use the hose for the whole house. It won't pick up fuzzies, small stones, clothing fibers, etc. Even that turbo thing for the stairs and upholstery is a joke. The only positive thing I can say about this pile is that the automatic cord rewind is a cool feature. And even that only gets 2 stars because the cord is so doggone short, I can *barely* creep out of any given room to start the next one. Spend the extra money to get a better machine, folks. This one is an enormous waste of money.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TraceyG559
12302
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
good value
10/27/2012

Customer review by Kahleesi

5.0 stars by Kahleesi

I was pleasantly surprised to find this model for about 30% less than a friend recently paid for his, turns out to be a great machine, love the rewind feature and it's maneuverable the way a smaller lighter model is. I have enormous dog hair & this unit cleans it up the best.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kahleesi
Oakridge, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
love it
8/7/2013

Customer review by KMS2

5.0 stars by KMS2

This vacuum is great! It works very well. It was easy to put together too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
KMS2
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love the suction on this Hoover
2/6/2013

Customer review by wallygator15122

5.0 stars by wallygator15122

It is so easy to clean with the parts of the vacuum and the suction is great for pet hair. I am so glad I purchase this. I know I will not see dog hair laying around in my house anymore. I was ready to get rid of my dog. I think it is best that people purchase a pet vacuum to get rid of the hair in their homes.............Best decision I made.............

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
wallygator15122
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 96 total reviews