Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

111 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

111 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

37%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
21
3 stars
12
2 stars
19
1 stars
43
1-20 of 107 total reviews
37%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews
Read the reviews...DON'T BUY
8/3/2013

Customer review by Daniel

1.0 stars 8/3/2013 by Daniel
by Daniel

I wish I would have read reviews before purchasing this vacuum. The belt slips off every time I try to vacuum which requires taking off the face plate, resetting the belt, then putting back the face plate. Hoover should have address this problem, recall this product, or never let this faulty product go into stores. I'm very disappointed and no longer a loyal customer of Hoover products. My recommendation is to read the reviews and DON'T BUY THIS VACUUM!!!

Comment from Ian - 8/5/2013

Hi Daniel, we’ve seen these reviews regarding the belt slipping off during use. When we took the first reviews to our engineers. Our engineering team has developed a solution for those having this problem. We'll send you an e-mail and resolve this issue. We appreciate you reaching out to us. We want you to be happy with your vacuum. We pride ourselves on building quality cleaning tools that perform above your expectations. Thanks for giving us a chance to deliver on that promise.

Daniel
Colorado Springs, CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Fabulous!!
6/2/2012

Customer review by MrsCutts

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by MrsCutts
by MrsCutts

I have been avoiding vacuuming my carpets for weeks because it took an hour to get through two bedrooms with my old vacuum. Horrible, I know. I've owned this machine all of two hours, just finished vacuuming my two bedrooms in about ten minutes! Awesome! Here's the deal. We have 2cats and 2 dogs so there is a ton of fur. Everywhere. This machine had incredible suction and never lost an ounce of it even when the canister was full to the brim with dirt and fur. My carpets haven't looked this clean since we moved in! Even used the attachment to reach behind a kennel and the suction did not lower. In fact it sucked itself to the wall, a drawer and my pants on the way out from behind the kennel. The retractable cord was a little awkward to get used to but if you pull out a good length of it it's no different than the non-retractable kind. And I like just stepping on a pedal and the cord puts itself away! I realize the whole thing could fall apart tomorrow but right now I love this thing! Super happy I bought it!

Was this review helpful? (28) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsCutts
Plaistow, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Once per week
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Good for carpet.
4/21/2012

Customer review by tech67

4.0 stars 4/21/2012 by tech67
by tech67

The height adjustment may not be high enough for twist carpet. The low setting would work better for tile, pergo etc if the brush could be deactivated. The handle is ackward for stairs. The retractable cord is ok but you have to attach the cord to the handle to keep cord out of the way. The simple design is why I purchased I believe it will be reliable despite the other short comings. It is quieter than most other brands. The hand attachment is clever but doesn't really have enough power to keep rotating, but the most attachments don't rotate anyway. The design would be better with a traditional cord that you have to wind up and if they had a handle closer to the base for using on stairs. If you use the hose it does have a impressive reach but the vacuum doesn't weigh enough so at far reaches it will pull the vacuum. This would be a problem on stairs. Overall it is oustanding for picking up dirt and pet hair!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tech67
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:45 - 54
Belt keeps falling off
5/16/2017

Customer review by fxzoo

3.0 stars 5/16/2017 by fxzoo
by fxzoo

I love the vacumn but as I now have read, the belt problem is a continual issue. I am on the phone now for over 10 minutes waiting to get customer solution. It falls off every time I vacumn

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fxzoo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wow....Amazing power for compact vacuum!
4/21/2012

Customer review by LexyLuther

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by LexyLuther
by LexyLuther

This, so far, is the best vacuum I have ever owned. Amazing power and suction. I have two cats and one dog, and it picks up pet hair that I didn't even know existed. Easy to assemble and attachments are easy to use. I am hoping this vacuum stands up to the test of time, which seems to be a difficult thing for most vacuums. It seems fairly well built, though.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LexyLuther
Rochester, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Light weight
8/29/2012

Customer review by prettyboyjay

5.0 stars 8/29/2012 by prettyboyjay
by prettyboyjay

I picked this vaccum because we have pets who shed and I wanted a light weight vaccum. So many of the uprights these days have so much weight in the handle. I don't know what the vaccum designers are thinking. This one is one of the lightest and the retractable cord is nice too. Very happy so far with this vaccum.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
prettyboyjay
Loveland, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
don't waste your money!
11/13/2012

Customer review by Katibear0811

1.0 stars 11/13/2012 by Katibear0811
by Katibear0811

This vacuum was a replacement for our hoover pet rewind, which we LOVED, but has turned out to be the worst vacuum ever. The belt constantly falls off, I can't vacuum for 5 minutes without the belt coming off, you put it back on and bump the couch and there it goes again. Worst design flaw ever! The only good thing about this vacuum is the attachments, i like how they click and lock in place. I will be replacing this vacuum, and it won't be with another hoover. Just save yourself the hassle, and look at something else!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Katibear0811
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
belt
10/20/2012

Customer review by Consumer412

1.0 stars 10/20/2012 by Consumer412
by Consumer412

First time we used the machine the belt came off, put it back on and it came off, did this several times. Went to the Hoover web site and asked about it they said put a new belt on my new machine (do they send it out with old belts?) and check carpet level settings. wow would have never thought of that. Walmart does not even carry the belts for this machine, thank you.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Consumer412
Lewisville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Give it a chance
10/26/2012

Customer review by scopes2520

4.0 stars 10/26/2012 by scopes2520
by scopes2520

This is a great vacuum, but it took a little time to get there. We also had the problem of the belt slipping off. I called Hoover, and they said that the belt installed at the factory was too loose. They sent me a free replacement and it has been fine ever since. Does a great job of picking up pet hair. I have a dog and two cats, so it is a constant battle in our house. Love the cord rewind but wish that the cord was a little longer. Otherwise it is a great vacuum for the money!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
scopes2520
Raleigh, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Age:55 - 64
Great when the belt stays on, which is never!
3/3/2017

Customer review by CSommer

2.0 stars 3/3/2017 by CSommer
by CSommer

I loved this vacuum, so much I bought 2. One for my mom and one for me. BOTH have belt slipping issues. The suction is phenomenal, the price cannot be beat BUT there is clearly a design issue when it comes to the belt. I just ordered 2 new Hoover belts for this model as a last ditch effort to save this vacuum. If it does not work, sorry to say this will be my last Hoover. I Will happily update this review if changing the belts work.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CSommer
Would recommend to a friend? No
What's up with the BELT?!?!
7/7/2016

Customer review by Ma1229

1.0 stars 7/7/2016 by Ma1229
by Ma1229

The Belt comes off EVERY TIME I use this vacuum.. It cleans great when it stays together.. But that's hardly ever! Very annoying when you turn it on and hear the brush stop spinning!!! I've had it a week , if that long and I want to sling it outside every time I turn it on. Hoover this is a BIG disappointment! So tape a screwdriver to it if you purchase it!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ma1229
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sucks up way more then my old vacuum!
3/3/2013

Customer review by brown1220033

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by brown1220033
by brown1220033

Just purchased this yesterday and used it right away when I got home. You could hear it picking up everything! My old vacuum barely picked up anything, even after we took it completely apart, cleaned it and put it back together. The Hoover Elite Rewind picked up so much in less then 5 minutes, I was amazed! It just zips right along too! It was not tough to push and it maneuvers very easily. It can even vacuum under tables, without moving them! You can move the handle down very low to the floor with out the base even lifting up. I always read the reviews on everything I buy. Except I did not read these until after buying it, and I am very glad I purchased it anyway. I read other bad reviews on here about the belt falling off and I have not had that problem at all, even after vacuuming the living room, the hallway, and two bedrooms. I love it :D

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
brown1220033
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:18 - 24
Randomly shuts off
8/1/2013

Customer review by daherold0726

3.0 stars 8/1/2013 by daherold0726
by daherold0726

I bought this vacuum about four months ago. The vacuum is one of the nicest vacuums I've had, and was really pleased with it up until lately. I use the vacuum two to three times a week and often have had to put the belt back on. Putting the belt back on is not the issue I am having. Lately the vacuum will shut off on its own after about five to seven minutes of vacuuming. I turn the power to the off position then back on and get nothing. This is extremely frustrating to say the least. The vacuum usually works again after it sits for an ample amount of time. I have tried to Google this problem and have gotten nowhere. If anyone is having this problem, please respond to my review. I have been a Hoover vacuum owner ever since I first moved out on my own, which has been some time, and am disappointed that this vacuum is the first one to give me problems. I sure hope there is something that can be done because these vacuums aren't cheap.

Comment from Ian - 8/18/2013

Hi Deherold726, it sounds like you may have a clog somewhere. Go ahead and give this a try: check the primary filter (twist off the dirt cup lid to access it). If it looks dirty, just rinse it with warm tap water and allow 24 hours for it to dry. You can also remove the hose from both ends and run a broom handle straight through it. This will clear out any build up that may be in there. We're reaching out to you via email about your belt issue. Hope this helps. Thanks so much!

daherold0726
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
1/9/2013

Customer review by dustybyrne

1.0 stars 1/9/2013 by dustybyrne
by dustybyrne
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

the vacuum cleaner worked great, but unfortunately, the belt came off after 2 minutes of using the vacuum EVERY time.. I have since returned it for a different model, and hopefully this one will work much better.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dustybyrne
framingham, ma
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:45 - 54
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Belt Keeps Falling Off!
1/3/2013

Customer review by fliporican5

1.0 stars 1/3/2013 by fliporican5
by fliporican5

I've had this vacuum for 2 weeks and used it only 3 times. The first time, it worked great and I was impressed at how well it worked. Especially having 3 dogs (one being a puppy), it picked up quite a lot of dirt and animal hair. The last two times.. not so much. The belt fell off after the 2nd use, which was then tightened and worked as normal. The third time, the belt fell off 5 times in a row after it was tightened each time. Immediately took it back to Walmart. I actually liked this vacuum, but it was not worth the headache and money due to the belt. Looking at all the other poor reviews, it may be a design flaw since I'm not the only one with this problem. I usually own Hoover products, but I exchanged it for a Eureka. Crossing my fingers that it's a keeper... PROS: Excellent suction, extremely long hose, power cord rewind, easy to maneuver CONS: That dang belt... GRR!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fliporican5
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:35 - 44
Belt has Issues
1/8/2013

Customer review by princessv88

1.0 stars 1/8/2013 by princessv88
by princessv88

I received this vacuum as a Christmas gift and I was so excited the first time I used it! The suction was awesome and the turbo pet brush rocks. However, the 2nd time I used the vacuum, the belt came off. The next 5 times of use the belt came off 3 of the times, so we had to return the vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
princessv88
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Belt comes off over and over
11/14/2012

Customer review by lartay

1.0 stars 11/14/2012 by lartay
by lartay

Can not keep the belt on, so very little use so far.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lartay
NW Ark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Usage:Every day
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Age:55 - 64
Belts slips off!
1/7/2013

Customer review by love4animals514

1.0 stars 1/7/2013 by love4animals514
by love4animals514

The first time I used it the belt slipped off within minutes! Tried many times with the same result. Called Hoover and they said they have been having this issue with this vacuum and the whole Elite line, but there is no recall YET on this product! DO NOT BUY!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
love4animals514
Akron, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Mixed Review
2/22/2014

Customer review by Annette

2.0 stars 2/22/2014 by Annette
by Annette

I bought this vac 1 year ago and am disappointed with it lately :( When vacuuming it kicks out dust and I constantly have to re-vacuum. Also, today, when I went to use it there was no debris in the container, but the hose was clogged full of carpet fiber/debris that I had to dig out with my hands (after only vacuuming one carpeted room). I try to use the attachments, but there is little to no suction. I have also never figured out how to use the stair attachment. In addition, dirt/carpet debris come out at the bottom (where a light would normally be on older vacuums). I do love the cord minder, not much gets "caught" in the rollers (ie, loose threads on throw rugs), and the motor rarely needs time to cool. And it is lightweight and easy to store, which I like. Would like to have advice/suggestions on other problems which create more headaches and takes up way too much time.

Annette
Ohi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Amazing!!!
2/12/2013

Customer review by BusyLadyJ

5.0 stars 2/12/2013 by BusyLadyJ
by BusyLadyJ
Walmart associate

I have two chihuahuas that shed like crazy. It is great to have a product with great attachments to help with every need -- I am in love with the tool with the rubber wipers. They work wonders with my couch. We recently had some gunk in our back sliding door as well in the cracks which kept us from sliding the door easily. The extension sucked that gunk right out! I know this item had to be returned due to its deffective belt -- however, the belting issue has been fixed and this item is an amazing household essential.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BusyLadyJ
San Francisco, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every few days
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Age:25 - 34
Walmart associate
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews