Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 111 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

111 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

2.5 stars

111 reviews | 2.5 out of 5

37%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
21
3 stars
11
2 stars
18
1 stars
45
1-20 of 107 total reviews
37%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews
Randomly shuts off
8/1/2013

Customer review by daherold0726

3.0 stars 8/1/2013 by daherold0726
by daherold0726

I bought this vacuum about four months ago. The vacuum is one of the nicest vacuums I've had, and was really pleased with it up until lately. I use the vacuum two to three times a week and often have had to put the belt back on. Putting the belt back on is not the issue I am having. Lately the vacuum will shut off on its own after about five to seven minutes of vacuuming. I turn the power to the off position then back on and get nothing. This is extremely frustrating to say the least. The vacuum usually works again after it sits for an ample amount of time. I have tried to Google this problem and have gotten nowhere. If anyone is having this problem, please respond to my review. I have been a Hoover vacuum owner ever since I first moved out on my own, which has been some time, and am disappointed that this vacuum is the first one to give me problems. I sure hope there is something that can be done because these vacuums aren't cheap.

Comment from Ian - 8/18/2013

Hi Deherold726, it sounds like you may have a clog somewhere. Go ahead and give this a try: check the primary filter (twist off the dirt cup lid to access it). If it looks dirty, just rinse it with warm tap water and allow 24 hours for it to dry. You can also remove the hose from both ends and run a broom handle straight through it. This will clear out any build up that may be in there. We're reaching out to you via email about your belt issue. Hope this helps. Thanks so much!

daherold0726
Spring Hill, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Mixed Review
2/22/2014

Customer review by Annette

2.0 stars 2/22/2014 by Annette
by Annette

I bought this vac 1 year ago and am disappointed with it lately :( When vacuuming it kicks out dust and I constantly have to re-vacuum. Also, today, when I went to use it there was no debris in the container, but the hose was clogged full of carpet fiber/debris that I had to dig out with my hands (after only vacuuming one carpeted room). I try to use the attachments, but there is little to no suction. I have also never figured out how to use the stair attachment. In addition, dirt/carpet debris come out at the bottom (where a light would normally be on older vacuums). I do love the cord minder, not much gets "caught" in the rollers (ie, loose threads on throw rugs), and the motor rarely needs time to cool. And it is lightweight and easy to store, which I like. Would like to have advice/suggestions on other problems which create more headaches and takes up way too much time.

Annette
Ohi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Power switch sticking, now the vacuum doesn't work
1/20/2014

Customer review by daherold0726

3.0 stars 1/20/2014 by daherold0726
by daherold0726

First of all, I absolutely love this vacuum. I find myself using it quite often. I wrote a review several months back about the vacuum stopping on its own and not turning back on and Hoover's customer care promptly responded on ways to go about fixing it...and the advice was spot on, so for that I thank you. The issue I am having now, or was until it stopped working again, was the power switch. Every once in a while the switch would get stuck in the on position and it was difficult to power it off. The last time I used it, approx. 1 week ago, the switch did the same thing. When I got the switch to power off I emptied the canister, wiped it down and put it away like I always do. After a couple days it was time to vacuum again so I pulled it out, plugged it in, and got nothing. The switch functioned just fine; however, the vacuum never powered up. I cannot get the vacuum to work now. I went through the steps that Hoover customer care gave me last time but still no power. I am extremely frustrated that it doesn't work. I have no idea what to do now. Hoover customer care, please help a faithful customer out please.

Comment from Ian - 1/23/2014

Hi Daherold0726, it sounds like your switch will need to be replaced. Please take your Elite to one of our service center locations in your area: http://hoover.com/locator/ and our technicians will be sure to take good care of this for you. Thanks so much.

daherold0726
Spring Hill, FL, United States
Gender:Male
Good vacuum but aggravating
3/16/2016

Customer review by eperkins

2.0 stars 3/16/2016 by eperkins
by eperkins

My husband and I were given this vacuum. The first time we used it we were shocked with how much dirt it pulled out of the carpet and how easy it was to clean. The most aggravating issue we have had with this vacuum is the belt. It isn't a generic belt it is a Hoover belt. It keeps coming off. There have been times where I just turn the vacuum on and the belt pops off. I have had to take the plate over the belt off just to vacuum our house. We have even gone as far as trying to put something on the end of the drive shaft to keep it from coming off, but that doesn't solve the issue either. Vacuuming use to be a chore for our son but has become a aggravating unwanted task for me.

Comment from Karissa - 3/18/2016

Hi eperkins! Oh no, the belt shouldn't slip with normal use. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance. We look forward to hearing from you!

eperkins
Hahira, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
BELT PROBLEMS
4/13/2014

Customer review by BruceP

2.0 stars 4/13/2014 by BruceP
by BruceP

This is a very nice, lightweight, easy to use vacuum that does the job, even with pet hair, with no bags, easy to empty the tank, but the belt keeps coming off. You have to take a large section of the bottom off of the vacuum to replace the belt and it's a tight squeeze to get the belt back on. But then you screw everything back together, turn the vacuum on and start vacuuming, and again the belt comes off. And the vacuum does not pick up the dirt without the brush running and the brush is run by the belt. Can be very frustrating. When you want to vacuum, you want to vacuum, not put the vacuum back together. I think this was a bad design flaw. In every other respect, the vacuum is GREAT for lightweight vacuuming and it picks up very well. Just the belt flaw.

Comment from Ian - 4/14/2014

Hi BruceP, your belt shouldn't be slipping off at all-especially this early into ownership! Generally this can occur if the brushroll is jammed by picking up something that may have been laying on the floor like a shoelace or dog leash. Make sure that your Whole House has the correct Hoover non-stretch belt: http://bit.ly/1nwpoGF. To make sure that your experience with your Whole House is the best, I've sent you a private email just now so that we can sort this out together. We want you to love your Hoover!

BruceP
Sumter, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Nothing but frustration.....
12/26/2014

Customer review by Suetee

1.0 stars 12/26/2014 by Suetee
by Suetee

I have a tale of woe. Originally purchased in 2012...that one lasted about one year and the on-off switch went bad. I was under warrantee so they replaced vacuum. After about six months I started to have problems with the belt falling off. Called and they gave me all sorts of reasons why this was happening...all of which were my fault. Then I started reading the reviews on this site and saw it was happening to most others who bought this item...and customer service said there was a fix for this problem.....a small piece to put on the spindle to keep the belt in place. They sent me one....we installed it....it did not work. In fact it broke. I am still in the same boat. I will never recommend a Hoover vacuum to anyone.

Comment from John - 12/27/2014

Hi Suetee, We are sorry to hear about your trouble with your Elite Rewind. We want to help and are sending an email. Thanks!

Suetee
New York, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Light Weight and does the job!
2/10/2014

Customer review by 2hairybeastsmom

4.0 stars 2/10/2014 by 2hairybeastsmom
by 2hairybeastsmom

I have had this vacuum a little under 2 yrs. I have had no real major issues with it. Considering I have 2 large dogs and one who could be considered the hairiest beast alive! I like that it is lightweight  (most pet vacs are easily 15-20 LBS), simple to put together and take apart, the canister is a little small but just empty it more frequently, this is a good model for a small house or apartment. I love the retractable cord.   I just had to buy some replacement parts and got 50%. With the parts I purchased it should be like a brand new machine. Hoover customer service was awesome got me what I needed instead of have to go buy a new machine. 

2hairybeastsmom
Rocklin, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Belt slips off even on bare floors.
2/21/2016

Customer review by adam5225

1.0 stars 2/21/2016 by adam5225
by adam5225

Horrible vaccum. Belt keeps coming off so it becomes an all day chore to vacuum my carpet. I broke down and finally asked the neighbors if I could borrow their vacuum because I was spending too much time on the floor removing screws, taking off the plate, putting the belt back on, and then putting everything back in to make one pass with the vacuum only to do it all over again. New belts don't work they come off just as easily as an old one.

Comment from Karissa - 2/26/2016

Hi adam5225! Oh no, the belt on your Elite Rewind Pet shouldn’t come off during use. To help prevent this from happening, please ensure you’re using a genuine Hoover belt. Generic belts will not fit properly and will fall off. The belt that fits your model is #AH20080 and is always available here: bit.ly/1dqyOOc. If further assistance is needed, feel free to give us a call at 1-800-944-9200 (M-F 8a-6p EST). We’re here for you!

adam5225
Nebraska, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Horrible belt design!
2/9/2014

Customer review by busymom2014

1.0 stars 2/9/2014 by busymom2014
by busymom2014

I really liked this vacuum while it worked. It worked well for a few months and then the belt came off. I put the belt back on and as soon as I turned it on it came off again.....So I replaced the belt thinking it must be stretched out or something. The new belt stayed on for a couple uses only if it was on the tallest setting even on very short carpets but it wasn't long...... and then the same old story belt wont stay on for 10 seconds. I see this has been a problem for many customers and Hoover has offered to fix it. I would like them to contact me as well to fix this problem.

busymom2014
Nashville, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Pice of junk
3/3/2016

Customer review by Leod23

1.0 stars 3/3/2016 by Leod23
by Leod23

I only gave it one star because I can't give zero. DONT BUY THIS MODEL!! I have had this for several years now and from day one with in a minute on an almost no pile carpet the belt keeps coming off. I can't afford a new vacume so I'm stuck with this. Seriously find something else. Very disappointed in Hoover!

Comment from Kenya - 3/6/2016

Hi Leod23! We totally understand your frustration. A belt should last at least a year under normal use. We want to help. It sounds like you’re in need of a new trunnion cover. They are available here: http://bit.ly/1QXLWy9. We’d like to get you out a courtesy one so we’re sending you an email to get you squared away. Thanks!

Leod23
Would recommend to a friend? No
Belt Keeps Coming Off!!!
3/17/2013

Customer review by Cgreer308

1.0 stars 3/17/2013 by Cgreer308
by Cgreer308

I'm having the same issue.... I bought this 5 months ago and cannot use it without the belt coming off within under a minute of using. Very disappointed and feel like it was a waste of $120. By the time I remove the 6 screws to get to the belt and fight with it to get it back on, I have spent more time than I even got out of using it due to having to stop and put the belt back on after less than a minute of vacuuming. I've been having the same issue for 5 months and every time I have to put the bet on 3-5 times when vacuuming my apartment each and every time!!!

Cgreer308
Chico, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Want to like but not happy
6/19/2015

Customer review by Princezzsugare

1.0 stars 6/19/2015 by Princezzsugare
by Princezzsugare

The vacuum with alone is nice the hand held tools are wonderful, nice long reach on the tubing, forget trying to vacuum the carpet...the belt last a whole minute or if I am lucky the length of a 8x10 carpet. Then 6 screws and readjusted belt later probably a ten minute ordeal. I can push the vacuum once again 10feet. Being my first vacuum since moving out of my parents that had a "cheap" vacuum..I almost feel like I should have spent less to get a vacuum that doesn't take more time to fix then it does to clean an area rug.

Comment from John - 6/20/2015

Hi Princezzsugare, We want to help. To keep your belt from snapping, please set your height adjust to a higher level. When it's set too low, it puts too much strain on the brushroll and that wears down the belt. We are sending an email to make sure this helps. Thanks!

Princezzsugare
Naples, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Lover retractable cord, and the suction power
3/8/2016

Customer review by Jackie80

3.0 stars 3/8/2016 by Jackie80
by Jackie80

I've had this vacuum for a couple years or so and except for the belt issue, it does a fine job. But I can't keep the belt on. It has to be taken apart and put the belt back on with every vacuuming, and I way tired of it! How do I fix this issue?

Comment from Karissa - 3/10/2016

Hi Jackie80! That doesn't sound too good. The belt on your Elite Rewind™ Pet Bagless Upright should stay in place while using. We will be reaching out to you privately for further assistance. We look forward to hearing from you!

Jackie80
Wattsburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely disappointed!
3/3/2013

Customer review by Britt

1.0 stars 3/3/2013 by Britt
by Britt

I bought this 2 weeks ago and cannot use it without the belt coming off within under a minute of using. Very disappointed and feel like it was a waste of $120. By the time I remove the 6 screws to get to the belt and fight with it to get it back on, I have spent more time than I even got out of using it due to having to stop and put the belt back on after less than a minute of vacuuming. I am a mother of 2 and work full time, so time is very important to me and having a product that is reliable and easy to use is a top priority.

Britt
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
3/4/2014

Customer review by mooloo75

2.0 stars 3/4/2014 by mooloo75
by mooloo75

I have had nothing but problems with this vacuum since about a month after I bought it. The belt keeps slipping and burning up! The canister is built so that the hair gets trapped up at the top of the cone and its hard to remove without taking both ends off. I am not happy at all with this cleaner. When it does work it does a great job at picking up hair though! Also cant find the belts for this thing anywhere in town. Every store I go to even the one I bought it from never has the belt. Frustrating all the way around.

mooloo75
Mishawaka, IN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Nice Vacuum.... Except...
2/26/2016

Customer review by Sparkler

4.0 stars 2/26/2016 by Sparkler
by Sparkler

I've had this vacuum for a couple years or so and except for the belt issue, it does a fine job. But I can't keep the belt on. It has to be taken apart and put the belt back on with every vacuuming, and I way tired of it!

Sparkler
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Belt Problems...Why cant you remedy this issue!!!
11/23/2015

Customer review by sediffley

1.0 stars 11/23/2015 by sediffley
by sediffley

While I love the cleaning power of this vacuum, I am completely dissatisfied with the CONSTANT BELT ISSUES!! We cant vacuum for more that 10 minutes before the belt slips off the roller. Then we disassemble it, put it back on the roller, and try to go another 10 mins.... WE have taken it in for "Warranty" right away, but it continues to happen... Not sure I can buy another Hoover again....too bad

Comment from Kenya - 11/23/2015

Hi sediffley! We never want you to be dissatisfied with your Elite Rewind. You shouldn’t have to assemble the belt every 10 minutes. It sounds like you’re in need of a new trunnion cover. You will be receiving an email from us shortly to better assist you. Thanks!

sediffley
New Berlin, WI, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Brush Belt keeps slipping off
1/17/2016

Customer review by reinkedean

1.0 stars 1/17/2016 by reinkedean
by reinkedean

Purchased this little over 2 years ago. It seems there is a design flaw in the belt driven mechanical system. We are constantly having to reattach the belt from slipping off each and every time we use it. We have purchased new belts every 6 months, even the new ones will slip off.

Comment from Kenya - 1/18/2016

Hi reinkedean! This seems strange. You definitely shouldn’t have to replace the belt every time you use your Elite Rewind. We need a bit more information. We’re sending you a private email to better assist. Take a look at it when you get a chance!

reinkedean
Kansas, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Belt will NOT stay on!!
8/19/2015

Customer review by Cosmo4me

2.0 stars 8/19/2015 by Cosmo4me
by Cosmo4me

I bought this vacuum over a year ago...had great luck with it until recently...the belt will not stay on....bought new belts...same problem..can someone tell me if this problem is fixable otherwise I need to buy a different one. If I was asked at the beginning of the week if I would recommend this vacuum the answer would of been yes but now that I have fought with this darn belt issue the answer is for now a no.

Comment from Giselle - 8/19/2015

Hi Cosmo4me! You shouldn't have to change the belts to your cleaner constantly. You should receive a email shortly. We have a few questions.

Cosmo4me
KS, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wish I could return this !!
2/24/2013

Customer review by dmcfalls

1.0 stars 2/24/2013 by dmcfalls
by dmcfalls

This vacuum work well when it works ...that's the problem, from the night I took it out of the box, the belt will NOT stay on. Even when I set it on the highest carpet level setting, the belt comes off. I don't even try to use it anymore , I know I will have to stop several times and put the belt back on. The only reason I don't return it, I lost my receipt the night I bought it, otherwise...it would not still be in my closet and my money wouldn't have been wasted!!!

Comment from Andy Netzel - 3/5/2013

DMCFalls, we have seen a few reviews complaining of this issue, and we took it to our engineers. Our engineering team has developed a solution for those having this problem. We'll send you an e-mail and resolve this issue. We want you to be happy with your vacuum. We pride ourselves on building quality cleaning tools that perform above your expectations. Thanks for giving us a chance to deliver on that promise.

dmcfalls
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 107 total reviews
1-20 of 107 reviews