Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 137 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

137 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

137 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
31
3 stars
11
2 stars
14
1 stars
36
1-20 of 127 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Never Should Have Wasted My Money
6/15/2015

Customer review by Megan

1.0 stars 6/15/2015 by Megan
by Megan

I'm upset I ever wasted my money on this vacuum. My fiance and I don't have a ton of money to throw around on new big toys like this and it was a big deal to buy such a "nice" vacuum. When we first took it out of the box, it worked wonderfully! We loved it! However, after maybe 2 months, it completely stopped working. It would overheat after 2-3 minutes of use and while I was in the middle of cleaning a room! It started making loud sounds and spitting dog hair (black labs on beige carpet) ALL over the house. While trying to clean the stairs, the hose completely snapped off the machine, it was beyond fixable. The attachments had absolutely no suction and basically just spread the hair all around. It makes more of a mess than it cleans. I want to send it back and just get my money back, I don't even want them to send me a new one.. not worth the headache. Shame on DD for allowing such poor quality to be manufactured! I'm telling you... DO NOT BUY THIS VACUUM. YOU'LL REGRET IT!! I just hope consumers read reviews before they buy.

Megan
Aurora, IL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Worst vacuum ever
4/6/2016

Customer review by Arygypsy

1.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Arygypsy
by Arygypsy

I purchased the Dirt Devil total pet upright thinking it would be great. Here's the problems... 1- when you use the vacuum you have to go over the same spots until it finally sucks things up. 2- 9 out of 10 times nothing goes into the actual canister. .it all builds up in the hose and I have to get out the screw driver and unbent clothes hanger and spend an hour cleaning out the hose. And 3- the times when it does work correctly and the pet hair goes into the canister and you try to empty it the hair doesn't actually come out..it opens from the bottom and the filter prevents the hair and dirt from coming out so you have to (painfully) shove your fingers into the bottom and try to pull the hair out then you have to put the canister back and sweep up the mess you made while trying to empty this. The design is terrible! I've never wanted to throw a vacuum out the window so bad in my life. Don't waste your money on this product!

Arygypsy
Would recommend to a friend? No
so far so good
1/2/2013

Customer review by studentguy

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by studentguy
by studentguy

Purchased this vacuum for a small house in anticipation of getting a husky dog. Seems to be a good vacuum for just over 100 dollars taxes in. Has powerful suction and useful attachments. Question will be if it lasts longer than what would be expected. The only thing that could be better is the hose length. It is already 10 feet long but doing stairs is more challenging than with a central vac. Not sure how long hoses for other makes are? The turbo attachment is terrifyingly powerful. Again I do not have pets yet so I can't speak for how well it vacuums hair but it seems like it would work very well. The good thing about the turbo attachment is that it comes apart so you can clean it out easily. The build quality looked better than other models that were 20 dollars cheaper. It also came fully assembled and is compact and stores easily. Also feels sturdy but is not too heavy. Overall I would reccommend this vacuum unless you can find a more expensive model on sale for a better price. Quality looks to be good hopefully it lasts a while. I will update my review after getting the dog. :)

studentguy
ottawa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not horrible, not great
2/28/2013

Customer review by trailmix

2.0 stars 2/28/2013 by trailmix
by trailmix

I have had this vacuum for a few weeks, we have a small-ish house with half carpet half hardwood and 1 cat. Generally this vacuum picks up ok, not great though, even on a short pile area rug you have to make several passes. - Not that easy to empty bin, it has a big filter in the middle of the bin so be prepared to use your hand to drag the dirt out. - Suction is not really great, 12 amps would be much better - Pet attachment is worthless, it stopped working after I used it for 5 minutes on my cat's condo, however I expected this. It is "turbo" powered, which translated means air powered, that just does not work with pet hair, or anything else really. - The actual design is lacking. If you are vacuuming on hardwood and go to move over a short pile area rug, it doesn't. Normally you just tip the vacuum back a little bit to get it over that little edge. You cannot do that with this vacuum, it is designed, I guess, to vacuum under tables etc, so you have to tip it back almost to the ground to get any lift at the front. To sum up, I wouldn't buy it again and in fact i'm already shopping for a new vacuum.

trailmix
Calgary
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Worst vacuum ever!
3/4/2014

Customer review by missymo

1.0 stars 3/4/2014 by missymo
by missymo

My  husband and I bought this vacuum a few months ago when our last vacuum (different brand) quit working. We thought that it being the "pet friendly" version, it would work well since we have 3 dogs. That is the farthest thing from the truth. I have to clean out the flexible hose every time I need to use the vacuum and even then it just pushes the hair around on the floor (because the hose clogs in places that no one can reach unless you completely disassemble the vacuum - which isn't something I have time for or something I should have to do). This vacuum is a total waste of money and I don't see how Dirt Devil can consider any vacuum with a flexible hose to be pet friendly, it just doesn't work. I would have better luck brushing my carpet with a hair brush than I would trying to suck up hair with this vacuum. 

missymo
Indiana, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Belt issues
12/1/2014

Customer review by Irritated

1.0 stars 12/1/2014 by Irritated
by Irritated

I bought this vacuum about 4 months ago. Two months ago, I noticed the bar wasn't rotating anymore and checked the manual.  After pulling the vacuum apart, I discovered that the belt was broken. Since I live in a small town, I went to Walmart to buy a new belt. Even though Walmart sells the vacuum cleaner, they do not carry the belts for the vacuum. So I had to order online and waited 2 weeks to receive my new belts, during which time I had no way to vacuum my house. Ever since receiving the belts, I have not been able to get them to stay on. I used to be able to vacuum my whole house in 20 minutes; now it takes me an hour. I don't have time for this. I am not able to purchase another vacuum at this time, so I'll have to make do. But I do not recommend this product to anyone. 

Irritated
Troy, AL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Weekly
Great bagless for dog hair at a good price
12/24/2013

Customer review by DogMom

5.0 stars 12/24/2013 by DogMom
by DogMom

I've used it for about a year and came to the site to get a replacement for the pet tool since it cracked when I dropped it. The replacement is a bit expensive and since it's not red like the one I have, I'm not sure it's the same thing. The negative reviews are kind of silly--it's easy to empty the dirt from the top or the bottom. Yes the hose comes off sometimes if it is stretched too far, just turn in back into place. Yes, the pet tool can stop working when fibers get wound inside and slow it down--just unfasten the rubber band at the base, take the top off, do a little cleaning, and reassemble. Yes, it cleans about one room before it needs to be emptied. This is a hardship? With pets what do you expect? What I really like is that after I finish, I empty the "bag" and then hit the filter against a hard surface to clean it out. Then I rinse off everything and start fresh next time. It's a little more messy than a bag, but you don't have to pay for the bags and it's better for the environment--less stuff in the landfill. I like it that it cleans up so well at the end of my cleaning. It's good on pet hairs. It pulls out Shepherd hair from a velor couch. It does what I expect at a very good price.

DogMom
Northwest Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:3 months
Want My Money Back!
4/21/2013

Customer review by SRM2029

1.0 stars 4/21/2013 by SRM2029
by SRM2029

JUST bought this vacuum 2 hours ago and it is the cheapest piece of plastic I have ever wasted money on!  I have a DD Breeze, but it's hard to use on the stairs, even though it's far better at cleaning than this one.  Thought this Total Pet Compact would do the trick!  The "power brush" stopped going around.  The hose came apart from the nozzle and can't re-attach.  I had to empty the canister after doing one room; bagless is the dirtiest thing I've ever encountered.  SO disappointed in this product. Should never have wasted money I don't have.  Pledge Pet Sweepers are far better and only $4.96.  I have always had Dirt Devils, but will NEVER get another one of these!  Now all I have to do is figure how to get my money back, since I can't take it back to the store!

SRM2029
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Save Your Time and Money
11/15/2014

Customer review by MarySue

1.0 stars 11/15/2014 by MarySue
by MarySue

I've had this vacuum a year and I am getting ready to sell it on Craigslist, b/c it's such a hassle. My previous vac. was a Eureka Boss Upright that I had for over 10 years. I wish I had kept it, but thought that, now with 2 pets, I needed something pet-specific. 1st of all, all the attachments are always falling off, when you try to use it. It is messy and a pain in the butt to empty the canister. Yeah, sure you can remove the middle attachment in the canister, but I don't want to have to disassemble/reassemble just to use. Nothing is 1 touch as is suggested by the buttons. I use a chopstick to try to get all the hair from the middle and top of canister. Also, be prepared to shake the canister, which will release dirt particles into the air, and on every surface near the trash can, so you get to start all over again. But the worst part (ok, i'll admit, there are several worst parts) is that the attachments don't fit low enough on the hose extention to actually stay on, so if you apply any pressure, like with the pet attachment, the piece comes off. This happens about 5 times per minute. Avoid, unless you only plan to use upright, every once in a while and don't care about getting more dirt all over the place!

MarySue
Fairfield, IA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Advanced
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Weekly
awful
4/26/2014

Customer review by oscaroscar

1.0 stars 4/26/2014 by oscaroscar
by oscaroscar

I bought this product some months ago, and it never filled my expectations, or even lower than that, i knew that for the price it wouldnt be a great product, but it could at least vacuum a bit... It is great if you want to spread dirt and pet hair all over the floor. Think of it as more of a distribution system than a cleaning method.  After rolling it at least 5 times over some popcorn kernel it refused to come pick it up. so i decided to test the 5 levels of "floor settings" on the same object... none of them picked it up. I then thought it could be lack of maintenance. So i disassembled all the components that can be cleaned, cleaned them all, and tried again. I ended up picking it up with my fingers. 

oscaroscar
vancouver
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 month
4 Years Old and Still Runs Great
4/6/2016

Customer review by Lindy

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by Lindy
by Lindy

I love this vacuum, so I was shocked to see such low reviews. I bought this vacuum cleaner a while ago because I needed a relatively inexpensive, good quality vacuum for my new apartment. At the time, I had one cat and was excited about the attachments specifically made to remove pet hair. Great suction, even after all these years of weekly uses. Really easy to empty, and I like how the handle folds down if needed to store in smaller places. Now I have 2 cats, and I'm still shocked to see how much cat hair it removes!!

Lindy
Chattanooga, TN, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
You get what you pay for...
3/1/2014

Customer review by emiller7356

1.0 stars 3/1/2014 by emiller7356
by emiller7356

I was very disappointed in our purchase of this product. After owning for less than six weeks, the vacuum broke down and would not suck at all. In fact, instead of sucking up dirt, it spit it back out. We bought it on sale but did not take the time to read the reviews. If we had we would have paid a few extra dollars for a vacuum that lasted longer than six weeks. I don't have time to spend the hours of my life it would take to pursue warranty options and find the idea of wasting my time because Dirt Devil chooses to sell an obviously inferior product distasteful. Lesson learned-cheaper is definitely not better. Spend the extra money on a better brand and it will save you money in the long run. 

emiller7356
Ontario, California, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Ok not great.
10/5/2014

Customer review by blondie18

1.0 stars 10/5/2014 by blondie18
by blondie18

I purchased this sweeper after my Kirby of 15 years burnt up. I thought I would try a bag less sweeper. I wish I hadn't wasted my money. This is the messiest sweeper to empty. First you take off the canister and release the dust pan, when you do this the dust goes everywhere so make sure you are outside when you do this. Then you have to take the filter off and bang it against something to get the hair, dust and dirt off. After that you have a total mess to clean up off the parts of the sweeper before you can put it back together. I will do my homework before I ever buy another sweeper and I will defiantly buy a bagged sweeper.

blondie18
Greenville, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Advanced
Length of ownership:1 month
Usage frequency:Daily
Worst Vacuum I've EVER used
4/15/2016

Customer review by Deborah29550

1.0 stars 4/15/2016 by Deborah29550
by Deborah29550

I had a dirt devil before and literally used it until the wheels fell off. So when it was time for a new vacuum, I never considered another manufacturer. But this is the worst vacuum I've ever used at home or professionally. And dumping the chamber is a mess every time.

Deborah29550
Hartsville, SC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Disappointed
12/7/2013

Customer review by Raven

4.0 stars 12/7/2013 by Raven
by Raven

I bought this vacuum especially for picking up pet hair. I loved the fact that it had a turbo brush for the furniture. The third time I tried to use the turbo brush, it didn't seem to be spinning, but if I squeezed the rubber piece around the neck of the brush it seemed to spin better. I could hear the brush spinning the first two times I used it, but can hardly hear it now and that's when I figured out it wasn't spinning as well. I still think it's a great vacuum for pet hair. Just wished the turbo brush would last. It made cleaning so much easier and faster.

Raven
Petersburg, PA, United States
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
belt broken
10/16/2013

Customer review by jame

1.0 stars 10/16/2013 by jame
by jame

I bought this vacuum last May 2013, I like this unit because it is handy, I have a problem that the vacuum can't pick-up dirt specially the pet hair anymore. I observed the roller does not move maybe the belt is broken. I have a warranty and I called the manufacturing, I was told to bring it to their repair shop which is far from the house I live. So, I will just buy the belt for 3 dollars plus maybe that is the problem compare of going to the repair shop burning the gasoline of my car to change the belt.

jame
Lawrenceville, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Length of ownership:1 week
Loved it, until it turned off.
3/1/2015

Customer review by AmandaK

1.0 stars 3/1/2015 by AmandaK
by AmandaK

I bought this about a month ago, used it the night I got it home and was so impressed with it. I turned it on tonight, got half of my sweeping done and it just turned off. I've tried different outlets, I've tried taking it apart to see if it was clogged (it wasn't) and I've let it sit and "cool down" for almost 3 hours and it won't turn back on. I'm not sure what the problem is, but I'm not impressed. I'm probably going to return it for a refund and put my money towards something else.

AmandaK
Ohio, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Level of expertise:Intermediate
Length of ownership:1 week
Usage frequency:Weekly
Worst Vaccum!
3/1/2014

Customer review by mylenexo

1.0 stars 3/1/2014 by mylenexo
by mylenexo

I have always bought Dirt Devil vaccum because they are simply the greatest, but I don't know if I just got a bad one or what. But it does more mess than it cleans! I have carpet in my appartment and usually use some Carpet Powder to clean it, but with this vaccum it basically picks up the powder and receleuses it into my appartment! I vaccum my carpet to pick up the dog hair, but I have to sweep the rest of my appartment because this darn vaccum leaves the power all over the place! I HATE IT! 

mylenexo
Ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
Terrible vaccum
2/11/2016

Customer review by Iz118

1.0 stars 2/11/2016 by Iz118
by Iz118

I bought this for my first move in and having a black lab/border collie mix, the vaccum doesn't suction and when you lift it up it spits everything you just cleaned back out at you. Worst. product. ever.

Iz118
Largo, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Big disappointment
7/1/2014

Customer review by jordan

2.0 stars 7/1/2014 by jordan
by jordan

I am very dissatisfied with this product. It worked well for about two months and now it doesn't pick up anything. I've gone through the manual. I've cleaned the filters; I've checked for clogs. It appears that the roller brush no longer turns. I only use the vacuum about once a week so it's not due to being overused. I'm so disappointed. I will not purchase another dirt devil product. I wish I had read the reviews prior to my purchase as I see how many people are equally dissatisfied.

jordan
Longs, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Length of ownership:1 week
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews