Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 127 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

127 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
43
4 stars
30
3 stars
9
2 stars
13
1 stars
32
1-20 of 117 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews
Holy suction
3/28/2012

Customer review by gabby7901

5.0 stars 3/28/2012 by gabby7901
by gabby7901

So my cheapy day-after-thxgiving vacuum broke (like they do every year) and I now have a baby and two dogs (short haired black terrier and long haired wire white terrier). I also used to have a cat and I shed like one too! I didn't want to worry about my lil boy crawling around a hair-infested floor. WOW! This vacuum is amazing. I went through the dining and living room, and did the stairs; I had to empty the vacuum 5 times. Not only did it pick up tons of hair, but it also made my carpet feel fluffy again...the feeling of having new carpet squish between your toes...and my carpet is over 10 years old. The only downfall is the to empty it is small so you have to stick your fingers up to loosen it. Also don't get to close to something movable, because of the enormous suction on this it will pull it right in (like it did my hoodie).

Was this review helpful? (122) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gabby7901
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
I LOVE this vacuum!
6/2/2012

Customer review by emc1984

5.0 stars 6/2/2012 by emc1984
by emc1984

I purchased an older model of this vacuum two years ago. The first time I used it I was in HEAVEN! I had no idea how much my old vacuum did NOT pick up until using this vacuum just once. The carpet looks brand new after using this! We have two cats and a beagle that sheds like crazy and this vacuum has been a lifesaver. We use this vacuum 2-3 times a week on our hardwood floors, furniture and carpet. It is very sturdy and as I said, has lasted two years. The only downside is the cord started to fray in several areas to the point that we now have to get the cord replaced. I've been without this vacuum for just a few days and I miss it so much that I'm not sure I can wait for it to be repaired...I may just buy a new one! You won't find another vacuum this great for this price! I would highly recommend this, especially for people with pets.

Was this review helpful? (48) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
emc1984
Kansas City, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good but not great suction.
4/16/2012

Customer review by LindsayMarie

4.0 stars 4/16/2012 by LindsayMarie
by LindsayMarie

I bought this vacuum about a week ago and I love it. It does have good suction and will get the job done. If you are wanting the suction to nearly pull your carpet up this isn't the vacuum for you. Keep in mind it is only $70. I think for the price it is a great value. I like the pet hair attachment since I have two cats. I vacuum at least twice a day having a 1 year old on the floor and it does a good job.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LindsayMarie
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
At time of purchase, not enough info on website
4/13/2012

Customer review by mikeydz

1.0 stars 4/13/2012 by mikeydz
by mikeydz

My wife & I have owned Dirt Devil Vacs for the last 15-20 years total of 3. We have gotten fantastic service from them. We will shop gfor no others. BUT this particular vac was TERRIBLE!! This vac is ONLY a 10 amp, not good suction, my Breeze bagless is a MUCH better vac & it is 7-9 years old!!!! I did take this model back & exchanged for the U70010 Dirt Devil. Now this is a vac!!! 12 amp motor, it literally pulls itself along, and a great replacement for my Breeze--this is what I expect from Dirt Devil

Was this review helpful? (37) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikeydz
Ridgeland, SC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Especially Great for Pets!
7/24/2012

Customer review by MikeInNV

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by MikeInNV
by MikeInNV

This vacuum has a few exceptional features for pet owners. As I share my place with a dog and three birds, the dog hair and bird dander could become an issue if I didn't have good tools to do the cleaning. Despite its rather plastic feel, this vacuum has a few feature I found exceptionally useful: 1. The suction is outstanding! It doesn't brag that it will never lose suction, but for $70, if I get a few year's great service from it, I still consider that a good deal. 2. This is my favorite part, the furniture brush has a beater bar in it! So you don't have to scrub your furniture, just drag the attachment across the fabric and it is not only clean, but there are attractive little tracks left behind which, I think, look really nice! 3. The head of the vacuum is on the narrower side. This lets me get into tighter places and between things far more easily than my old cleaner which means a clean place faster! 4. The handle folding down helps me a lot as, in my one bedroom apartment, I usually park it in my walk-in closet and now its well tucked out of the way. What Dirt Devil doesn't make much of a point of is that once you lower the handle, there's a handle in its place to lift the entire unit and move it anywhere. Its amazingly light for something that does such a great job! 5. SUCTION, SUCTION, SUCTION! This is one strong vacuum! And what's more important in a cleaner than suction? This has it in spades! Overall, I'm exceptionally pleased with this purchase and I know it will give me years of great service! Last night I used it for the first time and walking on the carpet felt like I had just shampooed it! Now THAT is clean!

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MikeInNV
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
dirt devil is an angel
11/4/2013

Customer review by exstaticowner

5.0 stars 11/4/2013 by exstaticowner
by exstaticowner

I had a Kirby I paid 1600.00 for when we got our 3 Pomeranian babies,7 years ago. I would clean the carpets, only to see my husband down on his hands and knees rolling up dog hair with a wet rag off the rugs and carpet . i called in a cleaning service and in they came with the dirt devil vacuum total pet machine.I thought what will this machine do that mine want do? you would not believe how much dog hair they got off our main rooms the dogs stay in .which was our bedroom and living room , i was so embarrassed. We have had ours now for 2 1/2 years still running strong but my husband leaned in to hard and broke the handle ,so now we are getting another one.The old on want get thrown away no , we are going to rig a handle on it and use it in the garage. something that still works like it does should not be discarded. I thought about getting a 500.00 Dyson, but for 70.00 dollars i have a great dog hair remover, why spend all that money right now.To all of you wondering what to get . I promise you will be so astounded at what it picks up. It has truly made our home breathable again.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
exstaticowner
pensacola,fl.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
For Pets! Wow!
8/20/2012

Customer review by BamaToAK

5.0 stars 8/20/2012 by BamaToAK
by BamaToAK

For the $70+ something I paid for it in Alaska, this has beaten all vacuums I have bought, including higher priced vacuums I have paid for ($100+). Now granted I empty the canister/filter after every use (which is super easy) it prolongs the life and keeps it running at top notch condition for every use. I have a Beagle which sheds, but you never really see it because its such fine short hair - I vacuum once a week and it pulls stuff up I thought wasnt even there! I also often track mud in with my boots regularly and it picks it up like a charm. The hand tool, although I was very skeptical of it, works like a charm on our furniture. While you have to move considerably slow over furniture with the hand tool, it does the job it describes and works wonders. It turned our furniture basically back into new condition. I cant say enough about this vacuum and how well it works, although I have had it only for a few uses I believe it will last quite a while because it seems to be made quite sturdily and with routine maintenance and routine filter cleaning I see no reason to buy another vacuum in the next 5-10 years. If you have pets, I highly suggest this vacuum at a budget. It is definitely worth every penny and is the few products that have seemed to be worth it and then some.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BamaToAK
Anchorage, AK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Dirt Devil great -for a few weeks :(
12/16/2013

Customer review by searsc

2.0 stars 12/16/2013 by searsc
by searsc

We were so excited to purchase this new Dirt Devil total pet upright vacuum -but so disappointed after a little while. Maybe we got one that was flawed, because it looks like others really like this product, but we have not been happy with it. We bought it and were thrilled with how well it sucked everything up in our carpet at first... but after a few weeks, it didn't suck as well (I know this happens a lot with vacuums that are brand new). After 6 months we quit trying to make it work -it would go back and forth over the same area and suck nothing up -even when we could clearly see the dirt and crumbs. We even tried the attachments to the hose -but that seemed to suck things up even less than the floor rollers. Recently our brother in law took apart the vacuum and found so much dirt and lint clogging it up. He pulled everything out and cleaned it up, and it did actually vacuum for a few minutes- until it clogged right back up again. Either we bought a faulty vacuum or it was not made to truly do its job.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
searsc
SLC, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
It's ok
12/10/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/10/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Got this vacuum about 8 months ago. Has good suction and i love how it flips down for easier storage but dog hair gets trapped and you have to stick your hand in there to get it out which makes for a mess ( i have 2 dogs with long hair). Also the canister where it holds the dirt, one of the 2 "ears" broke off so every time i go to let out the dirt it falls with it. Last but not least the cord isn't that long i find myself looking for another outlet. Be in mind, other than whats stated above it is a good vacuum just needs a few fixes!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Vacuum!!
2/22/2014

Customer review by OneHappyMomma123

5.0 stars 2/22/2014 by OneHappyMomma123
by OneHappyMomma123

We bought this vacuum about 4 months ago and it is still running strong. We have yet to run into any problems. All the filters are easy to get to a clean, The canister goes in and out easy, and pops open at the bottom easy too. The only sort of con I have to say about it is that the top half that folds up to locked position is a little wobbly. It works great but can be moved side to side a little bit. Its not a heavy plastic so it gives a little. I would definitely recommend this vacuum to anyone with pets. We have a long hair cat and a big black cat and we never see any hair left over on the carpet. We also have a 3 year old and the messes and crumbs he leaves behind him are no match for this vacuum. :) Overall a great vacuum!!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneHappyMomma123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Its an ok Vacuum
1/2/2014

Customer review by Lola24242

2.0 stars 1/2/2014 by Lola24242
by Lola24242

I have had the Dirt Devil Total Pet Upright for about a year. I purchased this vacuum because out old one died. And because the replacement filters didn't cost and arm and a leg. At the time i only had one dog later we added another to our home. I have one room with carpet and the rest of the house is hard flooring. It worked well for the first few months but then the hose started getting plugged with pet hair. So in order to get suction i have to remove the cover on the bottom of the vacuum to remove the hair. The pet attachment works well but also clogs. I think this vacuum would work well if you have a short hair breed but it doesn't have the ability suction the long hair.On a good note it is simple to take apart and clean. All in all it has done well for the price. But if you have a lot of pet hair in your home it probably wont stand up to it for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lola24242
Mitchell,SD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Worth the money.
6/26/2012

Customer review by RedRidersFGirl

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by RedRidersFGirl
by RedRidersFGirl

I love the Dirt Devil, especially that it came assembled. It is easy to take apart to clean, lightweight and has good suction. However, I don't like that there is no setting for the tool attachments or that the suction is still on even when the tools are not in use. The manual doesn't address operations of the tools so it was a 'hit and miss' trial. MOST uprights have a setting on the hgt. adjustment that is just for tool use.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RedRidersFGirl
Oklahoma City, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Got Clogged Alot
3/27/2013

Customer review by berlyns1mom

3.0 stars 3/27/2013 by berlyns1mom
by berlyns1mom

I bought this vacuum for a great price. I loved everything about this vacuum, it though-rally cleaned all the carpet in my house, both the high and low carpet. I used this vacuum every day to clean my carpet and hard wood floors. Then one day it got clogged from the hose that connects the base to the actual hose, this was extremely hard to unclog, as I had to take the entire base of the vacuum apart to get to the clog and where it was clogged there is a almost 90 degree angle that was near impossible to clean out. Finally with it being unclogged I am able to use the vacuum again. Keep in mind that this took a over a half hour to take apart clean out and put back together. Vacuuming again after it got clogged the 1st time was horrible. Every time I used this vacuum after it got clogged I had to keep taking it apart to keep getting out clogs. I also cleaned all the filters out after each use to see if this would eliminate the clogging issue, and this did not help. Basically evrytime I used it it got clogged and finally after 2 weeks of spending over a half hour a day on the clogs it kept getting I had to take it back. This vacuum worked excellent in the beginning, but by the time I took it back it was not worth all the up-keep.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
berlyns1mom
Columbia, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good product!
12/15/2012

Customer review by margsmith

5.0 stars 12/15/2012 by margsmith
by margsmith

I purchased this item for my mom for the holidays! She says that it works good. She has a pet and the vacuum works great for picking up the hair. She loves that the vacuum has the option that the handle moves for easy storage.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
margsmith
las vegas, nv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for a disabled customer with a service dog!!
6/8/2013

Customer review by TWXTER

5.0 stars 6/8/2013 by TWXTER
by TWXTER

Being disabled with a very large Bloodhound service dog, I needed a vacuum that was easy to maneuver as well as handle the volume of 'coat-blowing'. Was totally blown away--pun intended--by the suction for both the carpet and upholstery. Even though the vacuum is lightweight, it is stable for each floor type and with the tools aboard, I do not have to struggle making my apartment our home! I was expecting 'cheap' with the low price but surprised at the quality: motor, overall construction, etc. I hope to enjoy this vacuum for a long time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TWXTER
LAYTON UT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/13/2012

Customer review by Tray19

4.0 stars 10/13/2012 by Tray19
by Tray19

This vaccume glides effortlessly across my capet, and is so easy to switch to bare foor. Has powerfull suction. I like the tools with the ribbs, picked up the pet hair on the couch and stairway with ease. I like the canister, no bags to buy and very easy to keep it clean. I'm very happy with this model.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tray19
Dover
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Very cheap noisey and nt much power
2/19/2014

Customer review by lorsman

1.0 stars 2/19/2014 by lorsman
by lorsman

will be going back

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lorsman
cheshire,ct
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Dog Hair Gone!!!
2/19/2013

Customer review by lovethemyorkies

5.0 stars 2/19/2013 by lovethemyorkies
by lovethemyorkies

I love this vacuum. It is so light and easy to move around. Gets the dog hair off my sofa and chairs with ease. Love it!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovethemyorkies
Corpus Christi, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I love it!
6/9/2013

Customer review by madre889003

4.0 stars 6/9/2013 by madre889003
by madre889003

compact and powerful suction, much better than my old Bissell. I've had Dirt Devils in the past and they were great vacuums. I love the ON/OFF button near the handle. Why I gave only 4 stars.... My only con so far is with the canister, which is designed to be practically hands-free or one touch, but the opening on the bottom is narrow and even less room with the filter in the center of it, hanging down the middle all the way to the bottom opening, so the pet hair and dirt gets stuck and I have to use my hand to dig it out clump by clump. It tends to be a bit messy.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
madre889003
Columbia, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love
6/10/2013

Customer review by MrsRSC

4.0 stars 6/10/2013 by MrsRSC
by MrsRSC

My vacuum broke, so I went to Walmart to get a new one. I cant go without bc I have 2 huskies that shed A LOT. This vacuum is small, yet was able to get all the dog fur off of the couches and carpets. It is very light weight and works very well. I do not regret out choice in vacuum and I would recommend to a friend or family member

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsRSC
Richmond Hill, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews