Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 88 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

88 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

88 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 stars
26
1-20 of 79 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
I can sit on the floor now - no pet hair!
5/3/2012

Customer review by JAnneliese

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by JAnneliese
by JAnneliese

I have never written a review for a product, but I want to share my appreciation for this vacuum. I bought this Hoover for the sole purpose to clean up pet hair. I have a Shiba Inu that has a thick coat of soft fluffy hair and wiry hair that is very tough to pick up (or so I thought). We had a Bissel (bag) that didn't pick up the dog hair worth a darn and just ground it into the carpet. The Shop Vac we had before that smelled after a while and didn't do a good job either.I would have to go over all the carpet with my hand and pick up the dog hair myself. Not fun! I went on the hunt for another vacuum and bought this on a whim, after seeing it in Walmart. It has exceeded my expectations in every way. The first day I vacuumed the whole house and emptied the canister at least 20x, filling up a garbage bag full of hair that must have been embedded into the carpet - disgusting I know. The retractable cord is a good feature and its ability to pick up lint, dust and hair from the carpet amazes me. I've had it for only a week, but so far it hasn't disappointed. Great value and worth the purchase!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JAnneliese
Doesn't work on hardwood floors
3/10/2012

Customer review by Raka77

2.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Raka77
by Raka77

It states right on the box that this vacuum will work on all floors. It will not. It works on carpeting OK. Nothing spectacular, just OK. With the attachments, it gets up some dust, again OK, nothing great. But then when I tried using on my hardwood floor which had a fine sandy substance all over it from a rug pad, it just would not suck it hardly at all. I ran it back and forth to no avail. I pulled out my old Electrolux canister vacuum and it sucked it right up in seconds flat. The description on this vacuum is therefore misleading. If my dust/dirt on my hard wood floor had not been a cream color, I may not have noticed how poorly this vacuum performed. Bottom line is if you need to do hard floors, choose something else. This vacuum does NOT work on hardwood/tile floors. Description should say that. It got two stars only because it does work ok on carpet but again, nothing out of ordinary. I was suckered into buying this because it states it gets rid of 99% of dust, pollen allergens, etc. If it won't pick up the dirt and dust then how is that possible!?

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Raka77
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Read the manual for best performance
4/21/2012

Customer review by hawaiicon20

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by hawaiicon20
by hawaiicon20

Got out a ton of stuff that I didn't want to know about. Was full after use on area rug. Worked on laminate, vinyl tile and carpet throughout home and was easy to transition to any floor. Not loud but powerful enough (lights dimmed a tad when using!) but overall great so far. Others found it didn't work well on hardwood with sandy substance... States in manual that fine particles will seal the filter and cause a reduction in performance. So you must empty cup and clean filters often.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hawaiicon20
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
DO NOT PURCHASE!
6/10/2014

Customer review by amorfati719

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by amorfati719
by amorfati719

This vacuum is one of the worst purchases I have ever made. The only reason I purchased it is because I had a previous Hoover that I loved.  First of all, my old Hoover had the on/off button right on the handle you so could vacuum and power on/off all with on hand. This vacuum has the power button on the side which isn't convenient. Second, the reason I was drawn to this vacuum is because it claims to clean the "whole house".... this is bull. When vacuuming on carpet it does not pull up all the debris and the carpet has be done over and over. When moving to hard wood, the vacuum either doesn't suck up any debris when the brushes are not moving and if you switch modes to try to see if that does the trick, the debris just gets kicked around the house. I have checked for clogs like the hoover youtube videos say and made sure the brushes are moving when they are supposed to be. Nothing seems to get this vacuum to have suction! Horrible product. DO NOT PURCHASE!

Comment from John - 6/11/2014

Hi Amorfati719, we're sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the Whole House Max Capacity. We also truly apreciate that you have watched our youtube videos to troubleshoot the issues you have with it. If you believe there are no clogs and that the rinsable filter is dry during use, yet still have a loss of suction, we recommend you take your unit to your nearest Hoover Service Center. http://hoover.com/locator/. If you have any questions or concerns, email ian.mccormick@ttifloorcare.com and we'll be happy to help.

amorfati719
Colorado, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great, so what your problem?
4/1/2012

Customer review by Maddawg2020

4.0 stars 4/1/2012 by Maddawg2020
by Maddawg2020

We bought this Hoover unit to replace a Bissell that didn't work worth a darn. The Hoover does an excellent job on all three carpet styles in our house. I use another sweeper on our tile so I can't rate it there as it is too bulky to run around numerous area rugs. The Brushroll On/Off pedal is a great idea as is the cord rewind function. The only complaint I have would be the upholstery tool as it slows down to a stop while vacuuming the Microfiber couch. I gave it 5 stars because I haven't used it on the tile/hardwood.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maddawg2020
Medford, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Keep looking
8/29/2012

Customer review by Littlegirlblue2

1.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Littlegirlblue2
by Littlegirlblue2

We had this vac for about 18 months and it worked well the first 3. I really liked the extras that it came with but I will not be fooled by flashy again. After the first three months it started making a high pitch noise and the suction just got worse from there. We cleaned everything, bought a filter, did what the troubleshooting suggested. Nothing worked. Then about 6 moths ago it started getting clogs in the piping. I would have to clean the pipes two or three times before finishing vacuuming my house. That's when I'd had enough. I bought a Bissell powerforce ($36) and it cleans so much better than this one did even when it was new. In reading the reviews I've noticed the newer issue model does not seem to have the same quality as the older one. I only wrote this to save others from making the same mistake we did.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Littlegirlblue2
Winter park FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
It died
12/7/2015

Customer review by Bpound

3.0 stars 12/7/2015 by Bpound
by Bpound

I've had my hoover a little under 2 years.. for the time I had it, it worked wonderful until today I was vacuuming and poof it died.. just stopped working, it's not clogged filters clean belt is good and tank is empty.. the motor just quit so I'm kind of sad.. I loved my vacuum

Comment from Kenya - 12/9/2015

Hi Bpound! We know it can be surprising when your Whole House Upright suddenly shuts off. The good news is that this is actually to protect the motor. Your cleaner has overheated. Overheating is typically caused by a clog in the hoses and/or filters. Take a look at this brief video http://bit.ly/1P6SBaw. Complete these steps to get your vacuum back up and running. Let us know if you still need us!

Bpound
Killeen, TX, United States
I love this vacuum!
10/26/2012

Customer review by AlineNtheburgs

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by AlineNtheburgs
by AlineNtheburgs

I had a vacuum for about 5 years and I loved it. I was frustrated when it broke, and I had to buy another one. I went with this one, the Hoover whole house, and I love it. I have two cats and two dogs. I also have a seven year old and this thing keeps up with me. It is so light and the suction power is great! I love the way it lifts the carpet, and it makes the carpet look new when I use it! When I bought it I went home and read reviews and I was a lil nervous because it has some not so good reviews, so it really surprised me when it worked so well. I thought maybe after time it would lose suction, but it has not. (I have had it for five months and use it every other day.) Another great thing about this vacuum is that it keeps the smells inside. My cats spilled litter and I sucked it up thinking, great this is going to stink up the house, but it didn't. I was trying to smell it and could not! If you are looking for a great vacuum at a great price then choose this one! :) The only bad thin I can say is that sometimes the dirt gets stuck inside the canister, and I have to pull it out. If I emptied it out inbetween rooms more that probably would not happen!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlineNtheburgs
Blacksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good suction however watch out for overfilling
10/20/2015

Customer review by DaleT

3.0 stars 10/20/2015 by DaleT
by DaleT

We used it first time and it seemed to be more powerful than a bagged unit. Our problem was due to overfilling the canister. My wife didn't know not to and it is not clearly marked nor does it say so in the Manual, but beware if you do. The cyclonic filter assembly is not easy to clean and there are no instructions on how to clean it (should be in the manual as well as next to the part in the parts section which costs 20 bucks to buy a new one plus shipping). However there are 4 screws on the top of the cyclonic filter assembly that can be removed and by using running water and shaking the unit, what ever debris washes out pretty easily. You don't have to take the top off with the screws, howeverr it has a rubber washer on that piece that in my opinion should be apart so it will dry well before reassembly. Everything should be perfectly dry, I put mine in front of a house fan for a couple of hours, worked fine. They get only 3 stars for not being concensious about cleaning this unit well and for not having a simple sticker on the vacum to warn of over filling the canister and how to fix it if you do. One more thing, my wife complained about the beater bar not working well, I saw another customer say the same. I haven't had that problem yet or seen what it was. I do notice that the beater bar can be turned off quickly by one button on top of the machine, nice feature and location but not like other regular vacs so there is a learning curve. Cheers.

Comment from Joscelyn - 10/21/2015

Hi Dale T! We can spare some tips so that you can have your Whole House working like new! After each use, we strongly recommend that the dirt canister be emptied regularly or that you pause during use to empty the dirt cup if it becomes full. This will ensure good air flow distribution. The cyclonic filter assembly is actually quite easy to clean. Try doing this: remove the dirt canister off the unit. Then, twist the dirt cup handle counter-clock wise to remove the cyclonic assembly out of the canister. You shouldn't have to remove any screws or immerse the filter assembly in any water as this can cause hard build up internally. It's best to wipe down the cyclonic filter assembly with a dusting brush or dry cloth. If you noticed the brushroll has stopped working, simply step down on the brush on/off pedal here: http://bit.ly/1OSQpmV, to re activate the brushes. After doing this, you should be back in business. Hope this helps!

DaleT
Redding, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome vacuum!
11/29/2012

Customer review by muziknerd

5.0 stars 11/29/2012 by muziknerd
by muziknerd

I bought this vacuum after taking back another like-price vacuum that was supposed to replace my old faithful Bissell PowerForce that died, and wow am I impressed! This thing has amazing suction and does not leave tracks in the carpet like the Eureka did. It has a feature where you can turn the brushroll on and off which is awesome because it doesn't scatter cat litter all over the floor. With having a longhaired cat that sheds alot, I was looking for a vacuum that could pick it up like it was nothing. I had to empty this thing twice while vacuuming because it was picking up so much! The wand is a neat feature because you can extend it plus you've got the hose that stretches out for even better reach! My only, and ONLY, gripe about this vacuum is the fact that I have to empty it so often but that just shows how well this vacuum works. Definitely recommend this vacuum, instead of spending $200+ on a lower quality vacuum!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
muziknerd
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Garbage
10/3/2015

Customer review by Rob Schatz

1.0 stars 10/3/2015 by Rob Schatz
by Rob Schatz

I have had nothing but trouble with this garbage. I am so disappointed that Hoover would steal my money. Do not buy this. It is wrong that something this defective could still be on the market!

Comment from Joscelyn - 10/3/2015

Hi Rob Schatz! We don't want you to be disappointed with your Whole House and would like to get to the bottom of this matter for you. We're sending you a private email to better assist you.

Rob Schatz
Yorba Linda, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Best vacuum I've ever owned
4/1/2013

Customer review by BFR810

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by BFR810
by BFR810
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I own 8 different vacuum cleaners. After Vacuuming my carpets with my old Hoover, I used the Whole House Bagless over the same carpets. I could hardly believe my eyes as the transparent tube filled with debris! I now look forward to helping my wife with the cleaning. :). As a guy I appreciate a great working tool.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BFR810
Fredonia, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/19/2013

Customer review by Szarafinski

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Szarafinski
by Szarafinski
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Light & Easy to move and picks up excellent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Szarafinski
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Love This Vacum
10/4/2014

Customer review by Citka

5.0 stars 10/4/2014 by Citka
by Citka

i have had many vacuums in my time, 2 Rainbows, Dyson, Eureka, 2 Sears, For the money, this is the best I have had by far, bought a Hoover Wind-tunnel in about 1995 and it lasted until 2014, I didn't like that I had to purchase the filters that were very pricey, but it did a Great job! I then went and purchased this bag-less Wind tunnel, The price was right and it works GREAT! I have 1 dog and three cats, I vacuum every-other day. I refuse to pay and exorbitant amount for a vacuum like a Kirby, when I can buy a machine like this. I clean my vacuums every so often, to keep them in tip top shape, as with anything you have to take care of it to keep it running. If it would die on me, I can afford to buy another at this price. My Dyson is in my basement... works for the cat litter! LOL

Citka
Stevens Point WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great vacuum but..
1/5/2013

Customer review by NatalyH

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by NatalyH
by NatalyH
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this vacuum it truly does work around the whole house. But the shipping was terrible. They didn't take good care of it. The box was terrorized when it arrived. It was busted at every seam. Then when I pulled the vacuum out a couple pieces had broken off. It won't effect the way it works but it also took over two weeks to arrive so I don't even want to deal with the whole returning it back for one that is complete and unbroken, only to have to wait another 2 weeks and sacrificing the cleanliness of my home. I hope this vacuum is built to last other than the fact that it already came broken.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NatalyH
Chico, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I love my vacuum
1/4/2015

Customer review by NatashaVacuums

4.0 stars 1/4/2015 by NatashaVacuums
by NatashaVacuums

I've owned this vacuum for about 2 years. I really love it. It's very loud as of late, since I can't find any replacement belts at a local store, I've ordered some and they should be here soon. I'm hoping that will somehow fix the problem. I've cleaned the brush and ensured there is nothing in the bottom of vacuum that shouldn't be but it is atrociously loud and sounds like there is something hitting inside when the brush moves. Anyway, it sucks well on carpet and tile.. The cord is plently long, I can vacuum  almost my entire apt without switching outlets. I LOVE the cord rewind feature. Other than the noisiness, no complaints about my machine! I use it at least 5 times a week,  a little OCD about crumbs & dirt on the floor..

NatashaVacuums
Oklahoma City, OK, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Hoover Whole House Bagless
3/9/2013

Customer review by OldLadyFromTexas

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by OldLadyFromTexas
by OldLadyFromTexas

GREAT vacuum! Has clip on handle to clip cord so it won't get in the way, some people complain that cord gets in way. Good suction, don't turn off rollers even on tile as they sweep debris into vacuum, windtunnel action. Doesn't scratch my hardwood, don't know how yours hard wood is manufactured if it scratches, as some people say. Empties easily, not like older Hoovers did. Light, easy to maneuver. I'm 68 and handicapped. Great price, $39 cheaper on-line than in store, arrived quickly, so it's worth ordering on-line. Nothing negative to say.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldLadyFromTexas
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great ptlroduct
2/6/2013

Customer review by KenandBarbie

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by KenandBarbie
by KenandBarbie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great vacuum! Didn't loose suction! Count believe how dirty my carpet was! We had tried the Hoover elite first, that did pretty good. We had to empty the bucket 3 times for each room...how embarrassing. The elite didn't have good suction on the hand tool , so we got the whole house to compare it. Oh there was no comparison. The whole house was more powerful and we got 3 more bucket full from just one room....that was after the elite...so guess what went back. The whole house is so powerful it pulls itself across the floor when turned on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KenandBarbie
Odenville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good entry level vacuum
1/18/2013

Customer review by OhScar

4.0 stars 1/18/2013 by OhScar
by OhScar
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This vacuum has great suction. The canister is smallish and you need to empty it after each use. Cord retraction works good. Works well for me on both carpeted and hardwood floors. The beater bar control is a nice feature. I would have liked a longer hose, but for the price it's about what you would expect. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a vacuum on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OhScar
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
poor performance
4/12/2015

Customer review by Frustrated Ginny

1.0 stars 4/12/2015 by Frustrated Ginny
by Frustrated Ginny

I wish I had checked the reviews on this before I bought this product. Every single time I've used it I've had some kind of problem with it. It's difficult to get the canister back on after emptying it. The suction is poor. Now I'm looking for a manual to see what the normal settings are to try to figure out why it's not sucking and why the rollers are not spinning. A vacuum cleaner should not be this complicated.

Frustrated Ginny
NW Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews