Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 85 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

85 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

3.0 stars

85 reviews | 3.2 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
8
1 stars
25
1-20 of 76 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
Read the manual for best performance
4/21/2012

Customer review by hawaiicon20

5.0 stars 4/21/2012 by hawaiicon20
by hawaiicon20

Got out a ton of stuff that I didn't want to know about. Was full after use on area rug. Worked on laminate, vinyl tile and carpet throughout home and was easy to transition to any floor. Not loud but powerful enough (lights dimmed a tad when using!) but overall great so far. Others found it didn't work well on hardwood with sandy substance... States in manual that fine particles will seal the filter and cause a reduction in performance. So you must empty cup and clean filters often.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hawaiicon20
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
I can sit on the floor now - no pet hair!
5/3/2012

Customer review by JAnneliese

5.0 stars 5/3/2012 by JAnneliese
by JAnneliese

I have never written a review for a product, but I want to share my appreciation for this vacuum. I bought this Hoover for the sole purpose to clean up pet hair. I have a Shiba Inu that has a thick coat of soft fluffy hair and wiry hair that is very tough to pick up (or so I thought). We had a Bissel (bag) that didn't pick up the dog hair worth a darn and just ground it into the carpet. The Shop Vac we had before that smelled after a while and didn't do a good job either.I would have to go over all the carpet with my hand and pick up the dog hair myself. Not fun! I went on the hunt for another vacuum and bought this on a whim, after seeing it in Walmart. It has exceeded my expectations in every way. The first day I vacuumed the whole house and emptied the canister at least 20x, filling up a garbage bag full of hair that must have been embedded into the carpet - disgusting I know. The retractable cord is a good feature and its ability to pick up lint, dust and hair from the carpet amazes me. I've had it for only a week, but so far it hasn't disappointed. Great value and worth the purchase!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JAnneliese
Works great, so what your problem?
4/1/2012

Customer review by Maddawg2020

4.0 stars 4/1/2012 by Maddawg2020
by Maddawg2020

We bought this Hoover unit to replace a Bissell that didn't work worth a darn. The Hoover does an excellent job on all three carpet styles in our house. I use another sweeper on our tile so I can't rate it there as it is too bulky to run around numerous area rugs. The Brushroll On/Off pedal is a great idea as is the cord rewind function. The only complaint I have would be the upholstery tool as it slows down to a stop while vacuuming the Microfiber couch. I gave it 5 stars because I haven't used it on the tile/hardwood.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maddawg2020
Medford, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Doesn't work on hardwood floors
3/10/2012

Customer review by Raka77

2.0 stars 3/10/2012 by Raka77
by Raka77

It states right on the box that this vacuum will work on all floors. It will not. It works on carpeting OK. Nothing spectacular, just OK. With the attachments, it gets up some dust, again OK, nothing great. But then when I tried using on my hardwood floor which had a fine sandy substance all over it from a rug pad, it just would not suck it hardly at all. I ran it back and forth to no avail. I pulled out my old Electrolux canister vacuum and it sucked it right up in seconds flat. The description on this vacuum is therefore misleading. If my dust/dirt on my hard wood floor had not been a cream color, I may not have noticed how poorly this vacuum performed. Bottom line is if you need to do hard floors, choose something else. This vacuum does NOT work on hardwood/tile floors. Description should say that. It got two stars only because it does work ok on carpet but again, nothing out of ordinary. I was suckered into buying this because it states it gets rid of 99% of dust, pollen allergens, etc. If it won't pick up the dirt and dust then how is that possible!?

Was this review helpful? (19) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Raka77
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Keep looking
8/29/2012

Customer review by Littlegirlblue2

1.0 stars 8/29/2012 by Littlegirlblue2
by Littlegirlblue2

We had this vac for about 18 months and it worked well the first 3. I really liked the extras that it came with but I will not be fooled by flashy again. After the first three months it started making a high pitch noise and the suction just got worse from there. We cleaned everything, bought a filter, did what the troubleshooting suggested. Nothing worked. Then about 6 moths ago it started getting clogs in the piping. I would have to clean the pipes two or three times before finishing vacuuming my house. That's when I'd had enough. I bought a Bissell powerforce ($36) and it cleans so much better than this one did even when it was new. In reading the reviews I've noticed the newer issue model does not seem to have the same quality as the older one. I only wrote this to save others from making the same mistake we did.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Littlegirlblue2
Winter park FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
I love this vacuum!
10/26/2012

Customer review by AlineNtheburgs

5.0 stars 10/26/2012 by AlineNtheburgs
by AlineNtheburgs

I had a vacuum for about 5 years and I loved it. I was frustrated when it broke, and I had to buy another one. I went with this one, the Hoover whole house, and I love it. I have two cats and two dogs. I also have a seven year old and this thing keeps up with me. It is so light and the suction power is great! I love the way it lifts the carpet, and it makes the carpet look new when I use it! When I bought it I went home and read reviews and I was a lil nervous because it has some not so good reviews, so it really surprised me when it worked so well. I thought maybe after time it would lose suction, but it has not. (I have had it for five months and use it every other day.) Another great thing about this vacuum is that it keeps the smells inside. My cats spilled litter and I sucked it up thinking, great this is going to stink up the house, but it didn't. I was trying to smell it and could not! If you are looking for a great vacuum at a great price then choose this one! :) The only bad thin I can say is that sometimes the dirt gets stuck inside the canister, and I have to pull it out. If I emptied it out inbetween rooms more that probably would not happen!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AlineNtheburgs
Blacksburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best vacuum I've ever owned
4/1/2013

Customer review by BFR810

5.0 stars 4/1/2013 by BFR810
by BFR810

I own 8 different vacuum cleaners. After Vacuuming my carpets with my old Hoover, I used the Whole House Bagless over the same carpets. I could hardly believe my eyes as the transparent tube filled with debris! I now look forward to helping my wife with the cleaning. :). As a guy I appreciate a great working tool.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BFR810
Fredonia, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/19/2013

Customer review by Szarafinski

5.0 stars 3/19/2013 by Szarafinski
by Szarafinski

Light & Easy to move and picks up excellent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Szarafinski
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/24/2013

Customer review by BayFour

4.0 stars 2/24/2013 by BayFour
by BayFour

It's the only vacuum cleaner that would clean my new carpeting (Smartstrand by Mohawk.) I had two older vacuums but I couldn't even push them over the carpet. At least, now, I can clean!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BayFour
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Heavy
11/6/2012

Customer review by avaland

2.0 stars 11/6/2012 by avaland
by avaland

The vacuum does a good job with suction but is heavy and cumbersome. It's a workout to keep the vacuum and hose separate. The hose is connected near the base and therefore lessens the amount of reach. Also the tool for getting the edge of the floor is so tiny and the item is quite loud.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
avaland
Winslow, ME
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Does NOT work on hard floors (wood, tile, etc).
1/30/2013

Customer review by unb14s3dr3v13ws

1.0 stars 1/30/2013 by unb14s3dr3v13ws
by unb14s3dr3v13ws

This vacuum is marketed as a WHOLE house vacuum for both hard floors and rugs, unfortunately this is a lie. I have tile and area rugs and this is what I have found so far: Rugs: If you don't turn on the brushes, it will not pick up ANYTHING from the rug. I don't understand what "power of suction" the other reviewers are talking about, perhaps they are referring to the attachments (I will clarify later). If you do turn on the brushes, it will do a nice job vacuuming your carpet. Hard floors: You can't (well, shouldn't) use the brushes on hard floors so this leaves only the "pure" suction option available for this type of floors. The suction power of this vacuum is almost non-existent when used in this way. It will only pick up hair and a little bit of dust from the floor but it leaves mostly everything in its place. It does not pick up larger pieces, just hair and dust. I had to step on a single chip that was on the floor and break it to smaller pieces for this vacuum to pick them up, that's how bad it is. If you put your hand directly where the suction takes place, you will see that it barely pulls any air at all. For me this is an utter failure. Attachments: When you use the attachments the suction finally appears. Unfortunately, you can't vacuum your whole house with the attachments. I gave this product one star because it was bought under the pretense that it was a whole house all-floors vacuum and it is not. If this was marketed as a RUG ONLY vacuum I would be giving it three stars as it does an ok job while being used with the brushes. If you turn the brushes off then it will not pick up anything again.

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
unb14s3dr3v13ws
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Hoover Whole House Bagless
3/9/2013

Customer review by OldLadyFromTexas

5.0 stars 3/9/2013 by OldLadyFromTexas
by OldLadyFromTexas

GREAT vacuum! Has clip on handle to clip cord so it won't get in the way, some people complain that cord gets in way. Good suction, don't turn off rollers even on tile as they sweep debris into vacuum, windtunnel action. Doesn't scratch my hardwood, don't know how yours hard wood is manufactured if it scratches, as some people say. Empties easily, not like older Hoovers did. Light, easy to maneuver. I'm 68 and handicapped. Great price, $39 cheaper on-line than in store, arrived quickly, so it's worth ordering on-line. Nothing negative to say.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldLadyFromTexas
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great ptlroduct
2/6/2013

Customer review by KenandBarbie

5.0 stars 2/6/2013 by KenandBarbie
by KenandBarbie

Great vacuum! Didn't loose suction! Count believe how dirty my carpet was! We had tried the Hoover elite first, that did pretty good. We had to empty the bucket 3 times for each room...how embarrassing. The elite didn't have good suction on the hand tool , so we got the whole house to compare it. Oh there was no comparison. The whole house was more powerful and we got 3 more bucket full from just one room....that was after the elite...so guess what went back. The whole house is so powerful it pulls itself across the floor when turned on.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KenandBarbie
Odenville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Upright
4/26/2013

Customer review by Betsyface

5.0 stars 4/26/2013 by Betsyface
by Betsyface

Well worth the money, it picked up dirt that was probably embedded in the carpet for awhile. Once I ran the upright for a second time there was hardly any dirt. Which tells me that the suction goes deep in to carpet bedding....

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Betsyface
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great easy operational vacuum
3/3/2013

Customer review by artspin54

5.0 stars 3/3/2013 by artspin54
by artspin54

The vacuum was delivered to my door well before the anticipated delivery date. Three screws for one of the simplest assemblies possible and away we go! Adjustable heights for any kind of carpet (or for hardwood floors). Simple to clean after use - a home run!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
artspin54
Edison, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great vacuum but..
1/5/2013

Customer review by NatalyH

4.0 stars 1/5/2013 by NatalyH
by NatalyH

I love this vacuum it truly does work around the whole house. But the shipping was terrible. They didn't take good care of it. The box was terrorized when it arrived. It was busted at every seam. Then when I pulled the vacuum out a couple pieces had broken off. It won't effect the way it works but it also took over two weeks to arrive so I don't even want to deal with the whole returning it back for one that is complete and unbroken, only to have to wait another 2 weeks and sacrificing the cleanliness of my home. I hope this vacuum is built to last other than the fact that it already came broken.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NatalyH
Chico, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good entry level vacuum
1/18/2013

Customer review by OhScar

4.0 stars 1/18/2013 by OhScar
by OhScar

This vacuum has great suction. The canister is smallish and you need to empty it after each use. Cord retraction works good. Works well for me on both carpeted and hardwood floors. The beater bar control is a nice feature. I would have liked a longer hose, but for the price it's about what you would expect. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a vacuum on a budget.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OhScar
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
You get what you pay for
4/4/2013

Customer review by Oats07

3.0 stars 4/4/2013 by Oats07
by Oats07

It works fine. I paid $30 less on Walmart.com so it was even cheaper. I have all hard wood floors so I can't say how it works on carpet but for everything I need, which is long hose and some attachments that store on the vacuum itself, oh and that it sucks up dirt, it has it so I'm happy with it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oats07
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Only used it twice and the brush stopped rolling
3/4/2013

Customer review by Mrsclean777

1.0 stars 3/4/2013 by Mrsclean777
by Mrsclean777

First time I used it worked great, now I got to take it in for a return ,To much of a hassle for something you buy to make your life easier.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mrsclean777
Toledo, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Absolutely useless
9/1/2012

Customer review by UsuallyHappyCustomer123

1.0 stars 9/1/2012 by UsuallyHappyCustomer123
by UsuallyHappyCustomer123

I got new carpeting throughout my home and decided to get a nice new vacuum to take the best care of it. This thing looked great in the store but it is a major piece of junk. It does not pick up ANYTHING. It's not the suction, as it picks stuff up if I use an attachment on the hose, but something to do with brush function. It also doesn't give my carpet that look of being freshly vacuumed. It's postively a useless piece of junk. I cannot afford to buy another brand new vacuum right now, so I have to go around with my little Dirt Devil handheld and clean up. Hoover has lost a customer for life.

Was this review helpful? (1) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
UsuallyHappyCustomer123
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews