Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 452 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

452 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

452 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
182
4 stars
131
3 stars
37
2 stars
38
1 stars
64
1-20 of 432 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 432 total reviews
1-20 of 432 reviews
Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600 My
4/30/2014

Customer review by frankbz

4.0 stars 4/30/2014 by frankbz
by frankbz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Hoover WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright, UH30600 My Review A little heavier than I thought, wish it was self propelled, outside of that I like the Hoover WindTunnel , Would buy the self propelled if I did it again. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
frankbz
Derry, NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very nice vacuum
1/22/2014

Customer review by zboyz2006

5.0 stars 1/22/2014 by zboyz2006
by zboyz2006
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this after reading Consumer Reports for best vacuums for pet owners. It works very well, it picks up pet hair with no issues. The attachments work very well for furniture, dusting and general use. Bags hold much more than I expected I have used this 4 or 5 times for the whole house (small house) and still have not had to change the bag. I read a lot of reviews and saw an overwhelming amount of people that thought this was physically hard to use, I would agree to that somewhat but I think that the clean that I am getting from this is well worth the effort.This was very easy to put together. The only thing I have found that might be a long term issue is the handle. It is a somewhat flimsy plastic handle for a vacuum that is a little heavy and somewhat hard to manuever. I will just use it carefully and hopefully it will last for quite some time. Over all I like this product, I think it works very well, and like many of the attachments and have found uses for all of them.

Was this review helpful? (36) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
zboyz2006
Northeast, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Biggest Dissappointment
1/15/2016

Customer review by melissadlt

2.0 stars 1/15/2016 by melissadlt
by melissadlt

We have owned many hover products and have always recommended Hoover. Before purchasing any appliance or tool, we also look at the reviews from Consumer Reports. I don't know how this model got the reviews it did. After two months of use, (approx 30 uses) the internal parts started to break. It would not adjust from carpet to wood/smooth surfaces nor would it adjust the suction power on the different carpets. We purchased this vacuum to be able to clean multiple surfaces by using one tool instead of many. To empty the bag is no easy task, but I would forgive that feature if it performed as it did when first purchased. True. the attachments are great and the hose length to clean the staircases is amazing, but not worth the other hassle. I took the vacuum to the recommended dealer in my city who wanted as much to fix it as it was to purchase it.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/16/2016

Hi melissadlt! Your absolutely correct, there should not be any excessive issues with internal parts breaking down or when maintaining product upkeep. The great news is, your WindTunnel MAX has a 2 year limited mfg. warranty that covers against defects in material and workmanship from the date of purchase. You shouldn't be charged by the dealer if there is a legitimate defect with the vacuum. There are plenty of authorized Hoover Repair Centers you can take the cleaner in to have an inspection performed. Be sure to refer to your warranty description in the owner's manual for details. They'd be more than happy to take a look at the unit for you. To locate a service center in your area, please visit this link here: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this clears up your concerns!

melissadlt
Reno, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor design, returned product
3/2/2013

Customer review by ilovevacuuming

1.0 stars 3/2/2013 by ilovevacuuming
by ilovevacuuming

Don't buy it. Read this entire review. I've never written a review before, but I was so dissatisfied I didn't want anyone else to haul it home and have to haul it back. Does NOT run smoothly on bare floor (doesn't matter if the brushes are on or off#. Cord and attachment hose GET TANGLED. Extender wand is not easy to extend, DIFFICULT to lock in place, then DIFFICULT to unattach. DIFFICULT to turn the height adjuster #it's a push and turn, push to hard and it doesn't work, my husband actually had to turn it for me - and I don't let anybody touch my vacuum!# Very disappointed. It's going back. Also, if you do need a long cord, check out the product with the retractable cord. This has a long cord, put it kind of gets in the way. Also, be sure to start vacuuming on the left side of the room, if you begin on the right, the air movement from the filter #on the left of the machine) blows everything all over! Bigger mess than when I started.

Was this review helpful? (43) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ilovevacuuming
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
excellent product.
10/6/2015

Customer review by Diannsue1

5.0 stars 10/6/2015 by Diannsue1
by Diannsue1

I purchased this vacuum following my 8yo Dyson having the motor freeze up. I would have cost 200 to fix the dyson, so I opted to purchase a new vacuum. It was recommended by the repair man to only go with a bagged vacuum as they last longer, and because I have cats, it prevents much of the cat hair from getting into the motor. I choose this vacuum on price and availability of bags. I have used it 3 times each with excellent results. I have mostly tile floors, with a few area rugs. It is wonderful on the area rugs. much better than my dyson . It works well on bare floors, and I like the idea of being able to set the height of the machine and to have the brush either on or off. So far I find this to be a very good purchase.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diannsue1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing machine!!!
5/13/2012

Customer review by Eesi

5.0 stars 5/13/2012 by Eesi
by Eesi

This is such an easy vacuum to use! It is light, has amazing sucking power, and uses bags so I don;t have to take the filter out and bang it on the garbage can after each use, a messy dirty process. The attachments work great and I love the when you bring the handle in the upright position, the brush/agitator stops spinning. There is a quick easy foot switch to switch to the hardwood floors setting without having to bend over and set the depth switch to "short" by hand - LOVE that feature. This is a great vacuum and the bonus is that we didn't have to shell out "an arm & a leg" for it. This vacuum has two separate filters that are easily accessible and a snap to clean when necessary. We have over 3,000 square feet of home and this vacuum easily does the trick... I highly recommend this machine to all home owners!

Was this review helpful? (17) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eesi
Cumming, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Works
2/10/2016

Customer review by Linn

4.0 stars 2/10/2016 by Linn
by Linn

We are both old, and it is harder to push and pull than we thought it would be. Seems to have a lot of suction and the price was excellent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Linn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is good but too noisy.
2/1/2016

Customer review by Merced

3.0 stars 2/1/2016 by Merced
by Merced

I bought it because it was rated as top notch by Consumer Reports. But too noisy. I could have gone for the more expensive vacuum cleaners.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Merced
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overall nice machine
11/8/2015

Customer review by charliechops

4.0 stars 11/8/2015 by charliechops
by charliechops

Fairly new user but so far no show stoppers. Used for regular carpet cleaning with copious amounts of dog hair. It has that awesome Hoover 'sucking power' so the hair is not a problem. Good reach with what appears to be a quality attachment hose unlike my last Hoover. Bag handling is better than expected although a better fit between the door and body would be nice. Button release door is nice as is the clip release for bag disposal. The HEPA bag is great and there is a spare provided. Love the long power cord feature but here lies my only real issue. The cord will tend to twist and kink which can be a bit aggravating. An upgrade here would be awesome! In the end this is a great machine and barring an early catastrophic failure I'd definitely buy it again. By the way it isn't outrageously expensive - they are available NEW for far less than retail price. Reccommended.

charliechops
Washington, D.C., DC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not Entirely Happy
7/29/2013

Customer review by RW80

2.0 stars 7/29/2013 by RW80
by RW80

I bought one a few months ago because I wanted something that could be used on both carpet and bare floors. The first one I had to send back after trying it one time because it made a horrible whining noise and also because the roller brush continued to spin when the handle was in in the locked upright position. The roller brush shut off properly in the replacement machine but after only a few months of use it now continues to spin while handle is in the upright position. The machine has started making a loud whining noise when I shut it off. It does pick up decently but pushing it on the bare floor setting is next to impossible. I always have to set the height to nearly max to make pushing it on bare floors possible. Overall I'm not entirely happy with my purchase but at least it does have good suction. Actually that is the only good thing I can say about this machine.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RW80
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good Vacuum
7/26/2013

Customer review by QueenQue

5.0 stars 7/26/2013 by QueenQue
by QueenQue

So far - so good ! I am remaining hopeful that this one will continue to do well. This vacuum was bought as a replacement for another Hoover that I had to return due to poor performance on wood floors and tile. This one works well on hard flooring and excellent on carpet and rugs ! It has great suction on carpet and rugs and picks up particles and dust bunnies on hard flooring and doesn't just push them around. There is a lever on the base of the vacuum that you can step on to stop the roller brush from spinning which helps in the pick up of particles on hard flooring. I like the maroon color and the "metallic" finish. The area where the roller brush is clear where you can see through it to determine if the roller brush is spinning or not. I haven't used the attachments yet but I think they will prove useful as well. It's also not as noisy as I thought it would be. I am happy about that and my 16- month old daughter is too ! The sound of this vacuum doesn't startle her like the previous one did. This is a good buy for any type of flooring. I would recommend this one !

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QueenQue
NEW ORLEANS, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good vaccuum for the price
10/19/2013

Customer review by ShopperKLS

5.0 stars 10/19/2013 by ShopperKLS
by ShopperKLS
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This was voted a Consumer Guide Recommended Buy, which is why I chose this one. Carpet height adjustment is handy, especially since it has a barefloors setting, so I can use it on my hardwood floors as well as the carpeted areas. It is pretty light overall, especially compared to the old much heavier 10 year old vaccuum I was using. I have a dog and it seemed to pick up all the pet hair on the carpet well. It has a spinning brush at the bottom, which is better than just relying on a vaccuum with only suction. I also like that this uses a bag, easier to empty than one of those bagless models, especially when dealing with pet hair like me.

Was this review helpful? (54) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShopperKLS
Folsom, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Vacuum
1/8/2016

Customer review by Jan5

4.0 stars 1/8/2016 by Jan5
by Jan5

I just received the vacuum a few days ago, it arrived with a crack on the right side top corner. It doesn't affect its performance. Has great suction! It leaves lines on the carpet, but that's okay. Mostly plastic, so we will see how long it last.

Jan5
Woodstock, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Strong
4/23/2012

Customer review by ucinn

5.0 stars 4/23/2012 by ucinn
by ucinn

I owned a previous windtunnel model and this one is way better. It is a lot lighter and easier to push around. The suction on this thing is unbelievable. It makes carpets look brand new. It ruffles up the heavy traffic areas and makes them look like the rest of the carpet. I am very impressed wih this vacuum and it's built with Hoover quality.

Was this review helpful? (82) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ucinn
Cincinnati , Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good vac, strong suction
3/18/2014

Customer review by JAHMcG

4.0 stars 3/18/2014 by JAHMcG
by JAHMcG
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this Hoover UH30600 based on Consumer Reports ratings. It has powerful suction, at times too powerful (it's hard to use on little throw rugs, and there's no suction control). I put it together in a few minutes and took it for a spin. My house has all hardwood floors, except kitchen and baths, which are tile. I have fringed oriental rugs throughout. With no suction control, I have to be careful not to suck up the fringe, but I have a technique for that. I use the carpet height adjuster to somewhat alter the suction (setting it higher decreases the suction a little). I wasn't impressed with the crevice tool, but the one from my old vac fits, so I'll use that. And I can use some other tools from old vacs that this one doesn't have. My biggest gripe is that the cord attaches at the bottom of the vac, it should come out up on the handle, which keeps it from being sucked up and damaged. I'll have to wire it up where the hose hanger is--I had to do that with my last vac, too. Why can't manufacturers see this as a problem? And an easy one to fix!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JAHMcG
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Powerful
5/9/2012

Customer review by Stayinthecarmomof4

4.0 stars 5/9/2012 by Stayinthecarmomof4
by Stayinthecarmomof4

Bought this vacuum one week ago largely based on a consumer report rating. I did go to a big box store to visit the vacuum as walmart stores near me did not have it. First kudos to Walmart.com for having the best price around ($40 -$50 less than else where). Secondly, more kudos to Walmart.com for getting it to my home in about 48 hours. The unit assembled very quickly even with my 2 year old's help. First tour around the carpets was great. Powerful suction, good lift to the pile. A bit heavier than my previous hoover. There is a clear plastic part that allows you to see the roller. This clear part was pretty quickly filled with large dust bunnies and now has a clouded appearance. Not sure what the point of being able to see in there, since I won't be able to unless I pull it apart and clean it. A bit disappointed with it's hard floor perfomance. Tried it out on bathroom lineoleum (did that all the time with my last hoover). The Windtunnel was very hard to push on this floor not sure if the suction was holding it to the floor. Tried with brushes off and on hardwood floor setting. Although the dust bunnies from far wide were running toward the vacuum. Have not tried it on my wood laminate or oak hardwood. I will definitely play around with different settings to see what works best. To me the most impressive was the power hand tool. My parent's air powered tool is very lame. This baby goes! I cleaned the riser part and the underneath of the wrapped carpeted stairs with ease. Can't wait to give it a whirl in my car. Have not tried the bag drop feature yet. Would have been a 5 star except for the hard floor business especially since CR highly rated that function. Hoping this vacuum holds up, because I really do like this unit.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stayinthecarmomof4
2/15/2012

Customer review by amajohn

5.0 stars 2/15/2012 by amajohn
by amajohn

Great value. I have always liked Hoover products. This is another easy to use Hoover vacuum. I was tired of the bagless style, as in my opinion, they are too messy. I chose this one for that reason. I also like the hand tools, extra stretch hose and the red color. It has great suction both as an upright and above floor vacuum.

Was this review helpful? (98) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
amajohn
Longview, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great new vacuum cleaner
2/11/2012

Customer review by Emaril

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by Emaril
by Emaril

Our new Hoover Wind Tunnel Max is versatile, complete with all vacuuming tools and needs, easy to use, and does a great job.

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emaril
Holden Beach, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Good example of what an upright should be.
3/9/2012

Customer review by MesaDweller

4.0 stars 3/9/2012 by MesaDweller
by MesaDweller

The only reason this was not rated a 5 is the bag cannot be checked without removal that would break the seal. There is an indicator but it hasn't flipped yet. Port in front of brush is not made for large dust bunnies (use hose first). This replaces a Dirt Devil bagless that apparently has same problem as all bagless cleaners, it plugged up way too soon. We had to use the shop vac or old bagged canister to clean out screen and filter to restore performance. This model made a noticeable improvement in the carpet. The hose attachments are also easy to put together and hose is long enough. This was a top pick according to Consumer Reports and was at good price and had a $20 factory rebate for a model over $100 before tax. Walmart does not sell this model in the store and since raised its online price $20 and no rebate. Another reason for purchasing a bag model is similar problems expressed by other customers online. Also, many manuafacturers have several refurbished bagless models that are available for sale, while there was only one bagged model. Hoover site had 13 bagless models refurbished and 1 bagged model. This is similar to other manufacturers and recommend looking at sites for types of refurbished as an indicator to problems. Even Dyson has refurbished models. Bagged is the only way to go! Hoover site is easy to use for replacement parts, such as new brush roller or belts that are not sold in Walmart or less cost with their specials. Beware, there is a shipping charge so make sure your saving outweigh the shipping.

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MesaDweller
Mesa, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
LOVE IT!!!!
12/13/2015

Customer review by Susanlovesdogs

5.0 stars 12/13/2015 by Susanlovesdogs
by Susanlovesdogs

I love love my new bagged Hoover! Great performance and was easy to assemble. No more bagless vacuum cleaners for me-this saves time and the performance is superior to the many previous bagless cleaners I've owned.

Susanlovesdogs
Atlanta, GA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 432 total reviews
1-20 of 432 reviews