Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 510 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

510 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

510 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

74%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
208
4 stars
147
3 stars
43
2 stars
41
1 stars
71
1-20 of 490 total reviews
74%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 490 total reviews
1-20 of 490 reviews
Design Flaw
12/1/2016

Customer review by David G

2.0 stars 12/1/2016 by David G
by David G

I bought a Windtunnel Max in November 2016 as a replacement for an earlier version of the same product. We use it mainly on tiled floors for picking up cat litter! The old MAX worked really well, but the new one lacked the suction to pick up the litter. We took it to a repair shop and they replaced the main housing under warranty. It didn’t cure the problem. I put the old and new MAX machines side by side and realized that the new one sat higher than the old one, reducing the suction effect on hard floors. Upon further examination, I discovered that the new MAX has bigger front wheels making the front of the machine sit about ¼” higher than the old MAX. I was able to exchange the wheels between the machines so that the new MAX would sit lower. That cured the problem and the new MAX with the old front wheels now does a great job picking up cat litter on tile floors! That means there is a design flaw in the newer version of the Windtunnnel MAX Model # UH30600.

Comment from Kenya - 12/7/2016

Hi David G! Thanks for sharing your observations with us. We appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments along!

David G
Orlando, FL, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect replacement
1/20/2017

Customer review by Jerry 07

5.0 stars 1/20/2017 by Jerry 07
by Jerry 07

This was a replacement for a twelve year old vacuum that quit working. We wanted a replacement that was exactly the same and this vacuum was perfect. It has more power than our old vacuum and is as easy to use and push over our carpets.

Jerry 07
Erie, PA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing suction
12/5/2016

Customer review by Bob S

4.0 stars 12/5/2016 by Bob S
by Bob S
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My old Kirby finally died so I was skeptical that I could find something adequate to replace it. The Hoover WindTunnel Max has much better suction that I expected. I found that I had to raise the beaters above the carpet a bit since the suction was so intense at the lower settings that I could hardly push it. Also, when using the hose to vacuum stairs the suction is so intense the hose shrinks up. Wow. I do wish they had made the fittings out of heavier plastic. They feel a bit flimsy. You can't bear down on the tube when it is extended--the joint can't take it. I was a bit concerned that I had to dismantle the beater attachment the first time I used it to clean out a wood chip that jammed the gears. All-in-all an excellent buy for the money and SO much lighter than that old Kirby!

Bob S
Seattle, WA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I LOVE IT.
12/2/2016

Customer review by HAPPYDOG6

5.0 stars 12/2/2016 by HAPPYDOG6
by HAPPYDOG6
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I HAVE ALWAYS USED HOOVER FOR MY VACCUMS AND I'VE BEEN NOT UNHAPPY WITH ANY OF THEM. YOU SELL TOP OF THE LINE FOR ME AND I LOVE IT.

HAPPYDOG6
CHINA, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Allergen stopper
11/25/2016

Customer review by Ms Debra

5.0 stars 11/25/2016 by Ms Debra
by Ms Debra

Bagged is the only way I would go, allergy has stopped, house dust has gone down, and I would recommend this one to anyone looking for a good vaccumm

Ms Debra
Nebraska
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Sorry Hoover... it is your worst model ever.
9/20/2016

Customer review by SHTOM

1.0 stars 9/20/2016 by SHTOM
by SHTOM

I have had this for over 1 year, a single person with a short haired dog. Beater bar is incredibly NOISY... Got rid of the Anniversary model for this and greatly regret it. The cornrow design of the brush also leaves markings in the carpet. IT is poorly designed in most ways that I use a vacuum, the tools placement and design at best poor. The suction is excellent, but depending on the carpet, will nosedive and eliminate motion. VERY DISAPPOINTING. I seriously can't believe you still offer this model (the Noise alone makes is a terrible choice) and that Consumer Reports still shows it with a favorable review (CR subscribers who have purchased it sure don't). After 40 years of Hoover's this will be my last.

Comment from Kenya - 10/3/2016

Hi SHTOM! We have a good idea what’s causing the noise from the brushroll. It sounds like the bearings are worn. This can happen if hair/debris gets trapped in them wearing them down over time. The brushes will need to be replaced. Replacements are always available here: http://bit.ly/1ST0UMX. Your WindTunnel MAX is equipped with a height adjustment for use on different types of carpet. If the vacuum becomes hard to push, we recommend raising the height adjustment. We hope this helps!

SHTOM
Signal Hill, CA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great vacuum with wonderful features and a very good price.
10/8/2016

Customer review by Loree

5.0 stars 10/8/2016 by Loree
by Loree

I am very happy with my new Hoover vacuum! I decided to go back to a vacuum with a bag because I hated the mess of emptying a bag less vacuum. The features on this model are very nice: the electrical cord is longer than on my Dyson. Also the attached hose for using the dusting brush is flexible and stretches to reach high areas. This is another feature that is much better than on my Dyson. The on/off switch is in a very good location on the handle. The suction power is great. The height adjustment works well too. I have everything from bare floors to a medium plush carpet in my home and the vacuum worked great on everything. Noise is about the same as most other vacuums I have had. My only negative comments are: the light is useless, because it is located too high to even light up the floor. Also I don't like the dusting/upholstery brush. I use mine to dust the walls in my log home and the bristles are too short. I solved this problem by buying two additional brush attachments with longer, softer bristles at an online site. I almost forgot to mention the power attachment is awesome, it works great on my stairs and upholstered furniture! Over my almost 40 years of marriage I have had several vacuums- everything from a canister to a Rainbow (that collected the dirt in a container of water), to bagged and bag less machines. I do believe this is the best vacuum I have ever owned and I still can't believe the great price!

Loree
Western New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
VERY disappointed
8/15/2012

Customer review by JakeLR

1.0 stars 8/15/2012 by JakeLR
by JakeLR

I did a fair amount of research before purchasing this vacuum. Supposedly it had high ratings! However, as others have stated, it clogs with dust between the plastic and the roller. I called customer service and explained the issue. They said it was not a product defect, and not covered under warranty. I could still use the vacuum since there was no hazard of shock or fire. They would send me a handy "clean out tool" so I could take the vacuum apart after each use and clean out the dust clog! I am sorry -- but I have a different definition of a product defect than they do. If a vacuum that is supposed to have excellent suction has two of the three suction channels clog and you have to take it apart to clean it out after each use, THAT IS A PRODUCT DEFECT! I asked the customer service person I spoke with if she purchased a vacuum that had this issue, would she consider it a good product, or one with a defect? She skirted the issue despite a few attempts to get an answer. Hoover says they stand behind their products. Well, it sure does not seem that way. I won't buy another Hoover.

Comment from Hoover Customer Care - 8/15/2012

We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with your purchase. When used and maintained in normal household, it is warranted against original defects in material and workmanship for 2 years. Please visit http://hoover.com/locator/ for a local listing of service dealers for assistance, or call in to customer service with your cleaner for troubleshooting assistance, 1-800-944-9200, 8am - 7pm, M-F EST. Thank you!

JakeLR
WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Overall nice machine
11/8/2015

Customer review by charliechops

4.0 stars 11/8/2015 by charliechops
by charliechops

Fairly new user but so far no show stoppers. Used for regular carpet cleaning with copious amounts of dog hair. It has that awesome Hoover 'sucking power' so the hair is not a problem. Good reach with what appears to be a quality attachment hose unlike my last Hoover. Bag handling is better than expected although a better fit between the door and body would be nice. Button release door is nice as is the clip release for bag disposal. The HEPA bag is great and there is a spare provided. Love the long power cord feature but here lies my only real issue. The cord will tend to twist and kink which can be a bit aggravating. An upgrade here would be awesome! In the end this is a great machine and barring an early catastrophic failure I'd definitely buy it again. By the way it isn't outrageously expensive - they are available NEW for far less than retail price. Reccommended.

charliechops
Washington, D.C., DC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Biggest Dissappointment
1/15/2016

Customer review by melissadlt

2.0 stars 1/15/2016 by melissadlt
by melissadlt

We have owned many hover products and have always recommended Hoover. Before purchasing any appliance or tool, we also look at the reviews from Consumer Reports. I don't know how this model got the reviews it did. After two months of use, (approx 30 uses) the internal parts started to break. It would not adjust from carpet to wood/smooth surfaces nor would it adjust the suction power on the different carpets. We purchased this vacuum to be able to clean multiple surfaces by using one tool instead of many. To empty the bag is no easy task, but I would forgive that feature if it performed as it did when first purchased. True. the attachments are great and the hose length to clean the staircases is amazing, but not worth the other hassle. I took the vacuum to the recommended dealer in my city who wanted as much to fix it as it was to purchase it.

Comment from Joscelyn - 1/16/2016

Hi melissadlt! Your absolutely correct, there should not be any excessive issues with internal parts breaking down or when maintaining product upkeep. The great news is, your WindTunnel MAX has a 2 year limited mfg. warranty that covers against defects in material and workmanship from the date of purchase. You shouldn't be charged by the dealer if there is a legitimate defect with the vacuum. There are plenty of authorized Hoover Repair Centers you can take the cleaner in to have an inspection performed. Be sure to refer to your warranty description in the owner's manual for details. They'd be more than happy to take a look at the unit for you. To locate a service center in your area, please visit this link here: http://hoover.com/locator/. Hope this clears up your concerns!

melissadlt
Reno, NV, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Really sucks!!
9/24/2016

Customer review by Miss Reggie

5.0 stars 9/24/2016 by Miss Reggie
by Miss Reggie

Light and powerful. Easily goes from carpet to wood floor. Easy to maneuver. The best Hoover I ever bought and have been using Hoovers for at least fifteen years.

Miss Reggie
Jackson, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Piece of trash!
9/7/2016

Customer review by 7eeyore7

1.0 stars 9/7/2016 by 7eeyore7
by 7eeyore7

Very very loud from day one. The belt broke before I even changed the bag for the first time. I replaced the belt, used it a few times, and the belt broke again. I replaced the belt again (having just put in the 2nd bag), and it refused to work: the beater bar didn't move at all!! It is going to the landfill. I am sorry I ever purchased this vacuum--what a waste of money!

Comment from Kenya - 9/14/2016

Hi 7eeyore7! That sure sounds strange and we want to help. We think we may know why the brushes won’t spin. Be sure the brushes are engaged. To activate the brushes, press the on/off pedal here: http://bit.ly/1ODtD4f. If you’re still having issues most likely the problem is with the belt. We recommend replacing with the Hoover belt designed for this model. They are available here: http://bit.ly/1nwpoGF. Hope this helps!

7eeyore7
Asheville, NC, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good, but not great
11/17/2014

Customer review by stanphoto

2.0 stars 11/17/2014 by stanphoto
by stanphoto

We have had our Model #30600 now for over a year. When we first set it up it was apparent that even on the lowest nap rugs you needed to use a high level setting or you could not push the vacuum back and forth without straining. The cord tie (the loop that holds the cord at the top of the handle) broke off within 6 month so we wrapped it back on with some velcro. The hose is stiff to unfold and nearly impossible to reach the length that is stated for reach. This week the foot pedal that disengages the roller quit working (it only works when you hold it down maually!) so now there is no way to stop the roller from spinning while on a bare floor unless the vacuum is is the full (locked) upright position and of course it is impossible to push in that angle. While suction has always been very good we are very disappointed with this Hoover.

Comment from Giselle - 11/19/2014

Hi Stan, your cleaner should not be having all these problems. That does not sound like Hoover quality. We want to help. You will receive a private email shortly for better assistance.

stanphoto
Cape Cod, MA, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Male
Good and bad
8/25/2013

Customer review by Bugs

3.0 stars 8/25/2013 by Bugs
by Bugs

We have had our windtunnel for over a year now.  Like others, we have had problems with dust collecting inside the beater bar surround which requires a frequent disassembly to clean.   It is quite noisy and I suspect a person should use hearing protection to guard against long term damage.  It has great suction though and cleans well but sucks to our rubs like a magnet and you get a workout just using it. It s not holding up very well and I am very concerned that the screws under the beater bar will stop holding from all the frequent disassembly to clean.  We have goe through 3 belts so far and the beater bar is quite noisy.   Compared to our older kenmore in the same price,  build quality, ease of use and low noise go to the kenmore. Suction goes to the Hoover and so does the long hose and cord.  In short, the Hoover only sucks.

Bugs
California
Gender:Male
Worst vacuum Hoover has ever made
6/4/2014

Customer review by Lars

1.0 stars 6/4/2014 by Lars
by Lars

I need a bagged vacuum and Hoover only makes two to choose from. I ended up buying the cheapie. The Windtunnel was impossible to move on a 9 x 12 area rug, no matter the height adjustment or roller bar being turned off. There are only two handle adjustments compared with the three I've had before. In order to tip up the vacuum to pick up plant leaves on the carpeting, I had to practically get on my knees! The vacuum will not adjust flat to the floor to go under a bed as my older Hoovers have been able to do. Plus, the cord comes out at the bottom and needs to be pinched into a holder up by the handle--which promptly broke! So I looped the cord through the handle instead. Makes no sense to have a cord come out at floor level where someone can trip over it--just ridiculous. If you are a senior citizen this is not the vacuum for you!

Comment from Ian - 6/10/2014

Hi Lars. That cord clip definitely shouldn't have broken. We have a standard of quality here that we never want to compromise on any product. We're sending you a private email so we can help make this right. We'll also address the other issues you mentioned. Thanks!

Lars
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Hoover vacuum
9/2/2016

Customer review by Noise

4.0 stars 9/2/2016 by Noise
by Noise

I bought this in June, 2016. It runs well and cleans well. The only thing that is a problem is that it makes a loud singing noise while vacuuming and gets louder when on a bare floor. I would like to know why it's makes this loud noise.

Noise
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Suction, Good Features, Poor Belt Design
8/5/2014

Customer review by vac1111vac

3.0 stars 8/5/2014 by vac1111vac
by vac1111vac

We had this vacuum for 1.5 years. All the features work well and vacuums well. The vacuum is used weekly ~1 hour. The only problem is either a poor belt or mechanical belt disengagement design. You will know this when the vacuum begins making a rough noise when the beater bar is engaged and not smooth sounding as when a new belt is installed. We have changed the belt 6 times. The belt is very thin in comparison to belts I've used in the past. What I think could be the issue is when the roller is disengaged the motor shaft is still spinning and creating heat on that area of the belt therefore overtime prematurely wearing out belts. You can see the chatter marks on the inside of the belt where this is occurring. Coupled with this and thin belt design in my opinion is causing the premature belt failure. I think Hoover Customer Care should forward this issue to engineering to see if it could be resolved with a thicker belt. It may not can be resolved due to tolerances not allowing for a thicker belt. I guess for now I'll have to keep buying belts 2ea. @ $6.00. $18.00 currently spent and over time could pay for new vacuum cleaner. This my only rub with this vacuum cleaner.

Comment from John - 8/6/2014

Hi vac1111vac, We think we can help. Your Max vacuum has seven different height settings. Try starting at the highest and working your way down until the brushroll barely touches the carpet. When it's too low, the brushroll has too much stress on it and the belt snaps. We are also sending you a private email to provide further assistance. Thanks!

vac1111vac
Texas, United States
Gender:Male
This vacuum is simply amazing!
1/27/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/27/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I vacuum almost every day because we have two inside dogs. We have a lot of fur - on the couches, on the carpets, and on the tile. I chose Hoover because I have a bagless T-Series, but it is starting to pick up the dog smell. I started looking for a bagged vacuum because I've never had a bagged machine pick up a permanent smell. This vacuum far exceeded my expectations the moment I turned it on. The suction is incredible. The hose is super long (I think it would be great for stairs). The vacuum is not self-propelled, but it seems like it. The brushroll turns off and on so it can be used effectively on hard floors. I highly recommend this vacuum. The only thing I would change is the place the cord comes out of the machine. It comes out of the bottom, but I prefer for my cord to come out of the top.

An anonymous customer
Paris, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Trying it out....
7/14/2016

Customer review by Dmeangel25

3.0 stars 7/14/2016 by Dmeangel25
by Dmeangel25

Haven't had this vacuum very long but I had to trade it in because my other vacuum died. I already have the Hoover Carpet floor cleaner and I thought I should go with Hoover for the regular vacuum as well. Went with the bag because I'm tired of cleaning filters...we shall see. So far I am happy with the product. I love how the hose nozzle is long..... the cord is long and so far so good.

Comment from Karissa - 7/19/2016

Hi Dmeangel25! We’re pleased to hear you’re happy with your new WindTunnel Max Bagged Upright. We strive to provide the best quality products to our consumers. Your model uses a type Y bag and can be found here: http://bit.ly/29JEPQw. Hope this helps!

Dmeangel25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love this vacuum!
7/19/2016

Customer review by Hacker

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by Hacker
by Hacker
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love this sweeper. It has great features and attachments. We also love that it is a bagged vacuum not the messy bag less models. We have had one in our home for about 7 months. I just purchased another for use in our church.

Hacker
Rockbridge, OH, United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 490 total reviews
1-20 of 490 reviews