Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 543 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

543 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

543 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
335
4 stars
113
3 stars
24
2 stars
29
1 stars
42
1-20 of 527 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 527 total reviews
1-20 of 527 reviews
Excellent picture, but only if it works
10/11/2012

Customer review by clara2002

2.0 stars 10/11/2012 by clara2002
by clara2002

I bought this blu-ray based on the majority of reviews. When I initiated the setup it kept asking me for an ID or password. After trying unsuccessfully for about 30 minutes, I decided to call Samsung. I reached someone immediately, however, I was told the system was down and I would not be able to do anything until morning. I almost put it back in the box to return in the morning, but decided to wait. I turned it on in the morning and managed to complete the setup. The picture is exceptional, except that it would stop playing the movie and start buffering. Also, the speech of the people in the movies did not match up with their lips. There was speech, but the mouths were not moving or did not match the words. And it is very, very slow. I did not realize how slow it was unitl I bought the Roku. I took return this Samsung and replaced it with a Roku XD. The Roku works flawlessly and it took me less than 3 minutes to setup. The Samsung did have a better picture quality, but what good is that, if it does not work.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clara2002
Freehold, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
GREAT PRODUCT
2/9/2012

Customer review by JESUSismyLORDandSAVIOR

5.0 stars 2/9/2012 by JESUSismyLORDandSAVIOR
by JESUSismyLORDandSAVIOR

I purchased a blue-ray Wifi earlier by a different manufacturer, brought it home, attempted to use it, could not get on line with netflix, called the manufacturer concerning the problem, and after the second attempt, found out that the Wifi would not go thru walls--also found out that every time it would be turned off it would need to be rebooted. I was greatly distressed and disappointed because I wanted my Grandchildren to be able to watch Netflix in the living room. When I purchased this product.....I was very leary, But was willing to try again. I was overwhelmed when not only does net flix work, but it is so easy....even a grandma can use and enjoy this product. It is everything and more.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JESUSismyLORDandSAVIOR
Grovespring, Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
12/16/2011

Customer review by mardav49

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by mardav49
by mardav49

This beauty gives me the ability to view the best of the web with Samsung Apps. The Wi-Fi lets me connect online without the hassle of wires. All the features, 3D, and all for less than regular price just because it was refurbished. I feel like a winner!

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mardav49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good features, slow, repeatedly has problems reading discs and connecting to home network
12/13/2011

Customer review by wheretheheckisjason

2.0 stars 12/13/2011 by wheretheheckisjason
by wheretheheckisjason

I've had this player a few months, and my family has begun to notice that it regularly has difficulty reading (even brand new) discs of both the blu-ray and DVD types. Often ejecting the disc and putting it back in will solve the problem. They are clean and not scratched. The player is also VERY slow in conducting any function. A multi-second delay after hitting 'stop', 'pause', etc makes it cumbersome when trying to pause a scary movie when the kids come into the room at night, or difficult to FWD or REW to the right spot in the show you're watching. It is also slow when moving from (any) disc's menu (choosing a subtitle option or selecting scenes, for instance). The wifi/internet connection is VERY good, albeit slow (can take up to a minute or more to load netflix, despite close location to the router and 25mp/s connection here near D.C.). My PS3 plays MUCH faster. The cost was satisfactory. Despite it's problems, it has more features than a comparitably priced model from another brand that we returned.

wheretheheckisjason
Washington, D.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
Good Value, shipping could be better
2/14/2012

Customer review by Guff15

5.0 stars 2/14/2012 by Guff15
by Guff15

This Blu-ray DVD player is excellent and provides a great picture with alot of features. The 1st one I ordered arrived broken. I do not know if it was Walmart or Samsung's fault but Walmart was great at returning it. They suggested in-store credit and ordering a new one from one of their keyosks in order to avoid being double charged while awaiting a refund to my credit card on the initial purchase. With that said, I chose the in-store pickup which is the only issue I had. It took 8 days to receive the 1st order, and 7 days for the 2nd. While I understand waiting to save shipping expenses, the tracking could be much better to keep the consumer informed on where the package is. Be mindful of this when ordering site-to-store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Guff15
Woodhaven, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
12/16/2011

Customer review by deswa25

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by deswa25
by deswa25

Woohoo, what a buy! Yes it is refurbished, but so what? I can watch 3D movies as well as others. The picure playback is great.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
deswa25
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/16/2011

Customer review by rebalo24

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by rebalo24
by rebalo24

Quite an impressive performance from a refurbished bluray! I should have known- It's a Samsung!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rebalo24
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/16/2011

Customer review by ankre0105

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by ankre0105
by ankre0105

This beauty has Wi-Fi and lets me connect online without the hassle of wires, and I can place it exactly wherever I want it in the living room. I also saved money because it was reconditioned-Even better!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ankre0105
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5 Stars On Categories But 4 Overall Due To User Manual
8/7/2011

Customer review by PismoPat

4.0 stars 8/7/2011 by PismoPat
by PismoPat

I had to take away an overall star because of the very poor manual that must have been written by someone who never took the unit home and used it. Setup was pretty easy with the setup wizard, but I've set up lots of wireless devices. When I put in my first DVD, Rio BlueRay, I got a message that I needed at least 1 MB of "external memory". So I looked in the manual for some kind of memory card slot. Nothing. Then I looked for memory in the index. Couldn't find the index. Later found it 5 pages from the end. Neither External or Memory was in the index. Then figured it might be a USB thumb drive. Looked in the manual for a USB slot. nothing. Finally called support (which is easy to reach and helpful). She had to put me on hold to ask where the slot is. Found USB on page 53 (in the index) of the manual, but it doesn't tell you where the slot is. it just tells you how to use it. BTW, the slot is on the front, right side behind a hidden door. Support told me where it was. After that, an hour later. I was able to access all of the features of the RIO DVD.

PismoPat
Pismo Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
Excellent low cost Blu-Ray Netflix player
1/14/2012

Customer review by igmuska

5.0 stars 1/14/2012 by igmuska
by igmuska

This is my first Blu-ray so I really have no experience to compare my player with. My main qualm is the instructions included with the player are very wordy, making for a very interesting few days of experimenting with my remote, especially when browsing Netfilx, i.e., I learned to press "Return" to browse for movies after incorrectly pressing "Exit," which takes one to the main menu, leading to a certain frustration of waiting. Next, I still have yet to discover if I can set the player to not autoplay a disc if I leave it in and power off, then power on, which leads to wait time to turn off the disc to play Netfilx (a couple of minutes of sheer squirming mode). Other than that, I really like my player. I have my wireless-N router a foot away and have been thinking whether to move to a network cable to speed up Netflix. But in comparison to my Netflix-enabled game console, my player leaves it in the dust.

igmuska
Oakland, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
12/16/2011

Customer review by ryno49

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by ryno49
by ryno49

Impressive Smart Blu-ray goes above and beyond and it's refurbished!! It has the ability to let me view the best of the web with its Apps. And I paid less than regular price for it.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ryno49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Blue Ray Player
12/8/2011

Customer review by dlhace

4.0 stars 12/8/2011 by dlhace
by dlhace

I have been a steady buyer of Samsung products, but I was considering trying Sony. I was tired of getting "Unsupported Format" every time I tried a video on DLNA. The same file would work on a flash drive, but would not work over the network. I am glad I didn't. I like the ability of the Samsung BD Player to add or remove apps. I also like all of the formats that the player supports. The player works much better over the network than previous versions. The new smart hub is interesting and cool. I do wish there were a few more apps. I am considering trying to write some of my own, but the ones that are there are great. I like great standard ones like Netflix, Pandora, etc. I also like the fact that there is no tray and the loading time of the Blue ray is pretty good. Cons The app loading seems a little slow to me, maybe I am just getting used to fast personal devices. More apps are needed

dlhace
Unbelievable oversight
2/7/2012

Customer review by Kosmos

2.0 stars 2/7/2012 by Kosmos
by Kosmos

Purchased this product along with a 37" Samsung LCD for our master bedroom. One main feature we were excited about was streaming Netflix in our bedroom. Unfortunately Samsung and Netflix are having a "known issue" and you cannot stream Netflix on some models - including this one. If this had been a "since yesterday" problem, then I would not write this review - however, I was shocked to find reviews around the web from months ago all complaining of the same issue. How can this be a problem for so long? Heck, Samsung's remote for this device has a special Netflix button - Red and all. You would think they would work night and day to ensure that their product works as sold. I will be returning the product today for a different manufactures device - the same manufacturer who makes our receiver in the living room - who has no problem performing the simple task of streaming Netflix.

Kosmos
Expertise:Intermediate
Great but not perfect
11/9/2011

Customer review by AJ333

4.0 stars 11/9/2011 by AJ333
by AJ333

I've had this Blue Ray player for a little over a week and really like it. The setup was really easy, even the wireless setup. All of the streaming apps work fine. I read a couple reviews that said Pandora and Netflix would not stream and others said they cannot connect to the internet. I chalk this up to either operator error or perhaps an outdated router. The picture quality is as advertised; I have not looked at a 3D movie yet but I do not anticipate any issues. Inputing information in some of the apps is very difficult; some do not have a qwerty keyboard and Facebook d/n have a full keyboard at all (do you remeber texting before smartphones). The only other con is there is no supper slow motion. On my old Sony DVD player I could pause and ff or rr fram by frame. This player d/n have that feature. The good news is I have not found any other Blue Ray player that does.

AJ333
Louisiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
NICE FOR A WHILE
3/27/2012

Customer review by Hurlamania

2.0 stars 3/27/2012 by Hurlamania
by Hurlamania

I've had this for about a month now and it workes great but if you have a firmware above 1017 it will not play region free BBC america blu-ray discs properly anymore. namely doctor who. If you have this and it plays your BBC disc's then don't upgrade your firmware. 1017 has a few blips when playing divx but not worth losing BBC Disc's I only got this to play Doctor who Blu-ray from BBC america It is also a drawback that it wont remember your place in a movie if you stop it you must start over. the smarthub adds apps that you may not want but cant remove and it takes up your memory space and the apps don't even work namely the YP app i dont want it and it says my zip code is invalid and so cant be used if i even wanted to. support is looking into the playback issue that has been there since above 1017. hopefully they can fix it and i will adjust this rating.

Hurlamania
Cleveland
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Expert
Love it!
6/28/2012

Customer review by MereV

5.0 stars 6/28/2012 by MereV
by MereV

I love this blue-ray! I actually have bought 2 recently the same brand... once for my living room and the other one for the bedroom.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MereV
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Bad right ouf the box..No more refurbished for me
9/15/2012

Customer review by puwit

2.0 stars 9/15/2012 by puwit
by puwit

This is the second (and last) refurbished item I will buy from Walmart that was bad out of the box. The dvd is fully functional, but the screen keeps on flashing and scrambling. I guess that was the reason why the last owner returned it. I appears that Walmart sources these refurbished items from companies that simply clean up customer returns and rebox them without testing them. I also had a refurbished PC from Walmart that I had to return because it kept on freezing up. Not a disappointment with the design and functionality of this particular dvd player. I just have to cough up extra cash to buy a factory fresh new one. No more buy refurbished... not worth the hassle.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
puwit
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Very Disappointed in this Highly-Praised device
1/31/2012

Customer review by CozmoD

1.0 stars 1/31/2012 by CozmoD
by CozmoD

I Only bought the Refurbished version of this Blu-Ray player due to the Solid Customer Ratings it received - however sadly I cannot agree or contribute to the satisfaction that this item delivered. It is very "glitchy", with constant Updates needed/attempted for the Smart Hub (none of which appear to ever have been Properly downloaded) The deveice is Extremely SLOW in both loading and streaming (I have a Fast N-Router that All of my other wireless devices work Fine on) Even something as simply as playing a DVD is Extremely Slow is loading the initial Start screen. Will be Returning this item for a New one.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CozmoD
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Looking BUT but Smart Hub isn't so smart
5/28/2012

Customer review by smittynh

2.0 stars 5/28/2012 by smittynh
by smittynh

Initially I used this only for playing Blu Ray disks only. Then i tried some standard dvd's and ran into trouble. It wouldn't play dvd's labelled dvd9. These dvd's were made in Europe and made to play worldwide and did on my old dvd player.. It will only play dvd's labelled for Region 1. In other words it may not play your older disks which were legally made. The big issue is the Smart Hub feature. Downstreaming video would freeze or disconnect frequently . Tried higher speed modem, higher speed router and direct wire hookup. No difference. Several updates didn't help, they only added more apps. Remote control is also awkward to use and poorly laid out for using Smart Hub. Very easy to delete something. I have a number of Samsung products and have never been disappointed with them but I would strongly recommend not buying this item

smittynh
Space Coast, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Expertise:Intermediate
12/16/2011

Customer review by chrisboo62

5.0 stars 12/16/2011 by chrisboo62
by chrisboo62

I had a poor opinion of refurbished anything- Till I bought this. your perception of what this refurb'd Blu-ray Disc Player can do will change too once you see it in action. Great unit.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chrisboo62
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 527 total reviews
1-20 of 527 reviews