Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
40
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
11
1 stars
14
1-20 of 76 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews
Fantastic Find!
5/14/2013

Customer review by zose

5.0 stars 5/14/2013 by zose
by zose

I don't usually use Facebook to talk about products I like, but I just had to share my newest discovery. This morning, I had sunscreen on my shopping list, and for me, it's a no-brainer -- I always choose Neutrogena with Helioplex SPF 100+ for the kids and me. While I was in that area, I decided to see if Neutrogena made a tinted sunscreen for the face. The BB cream product that I currently use has only an SPF of 20, and even with that and a hat on, I got more sun on my face while at Cody's tennis practice yesterday than I would have liked. Here's my new discovery: Neutrogena makes a "Healthy Skin" compact makeup with SPF 55! I've never used their make up and was a little skeptical, but at $12, I thought it was worth a try. Well, I absolutely LOVE it! It feels like I'm wearing no make up at all, but the coverage equals that of my BB cream, plus the tone is a bit closer to my true skin tone. Best of all is the sun protection. I hope they keep making this, because it's really a great product!

zose
Fort Collins, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Rash on the second day
3/24/2016

Customer review by Usahuang

1.0 stars 3/24/2016 by Usahuang
by Usahuang

After only using this product for 2 days , I got a terrible red,itchy rash. My skin hurt and was dry. I was so shocked because I've always trusted your company. I won't be using it anymore. I returned it.

Comment from NEUTROGENA - 3/25/2016

Thanks for reaching out to us, Usahuang. We're sorry to hear about your experience. Everybody's skin is a little different, and we can assure you this is not typical. We'd like to learn more details about this matter by having call us at 1-800-582-4048 between 9AM to 7PM EST Monday-Friday. Thank you!

Usahuang
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Not for Oily or dry skin
12/30/2012

Customer review by not4me

2.0 stars 12/30/2012 by not4me
by not4me

I have combination skin and have grown very pale lately. So i have been looking for a new make up that would better match my skin tone and wont cause breakouts. I liked the coverage and it matched my tone perfectly. But with in hour the oily parts of my face looked like i spraied oil on my face. and the dry parts looked like a desert floor. I also dont have small pores and it just made them look bigger. I thought if i used the shine control primer it would help. It did a little bit of the oil but it seemed to settle in the pores and lines ever worse. It also rubbed off ealiy. When I would take my sunglasses off there would be 2 spots on my nose where they were sitting. I would recommen this for someone that has VERY NORMAL SKIN, not oily, dry, med to large pores, or fine lines. It did cover up my scars and did not cause breakouts.

not4me
Brandon, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Great Coverage and SPF 55!
8/31/2013

Customer review by MmeD4

5.0 stars 8/31/2013 by MmeD4
by MmeD4

I'm 51 years old with fairly decent skin. I have some lines and wrinkles, which is normal for someone my age who doesn't use Botox or fillers. I had been looking for a compact foundation that won't settle into pores or lines, has good coverage and matches by tricky skin tone (I'm a warm/neutral skin toned redhead with freckles). I almost purchased a "prestige" foundation when I came upon this one by Neutrogena. I think I've found the holy grail of foundations! I'm thrilled with the color match (Nude 04). It's perfect. It evens out my skin tone, and I can add more in spots that need extra coverage without having to use a concealer. Although I also apply a sunscreen prior to application, it's nice to know that if I skip that step, the foundation will keep me protected. It's light, non-greasy, and no breakouts! Thank you Neutrogena!

MmeD4
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Improves overall health of skin
12/31/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

PROS: I have pale, dry skin and prefer barely-there foundation. This foundation is smooth and easy to blend when I apply some primer beforehand, and the coverage is light but effective. Your skin just looks soft, a little dewy, and even. CONS: I wouldn't use the foundation without the primer. The consistency is just too thick and rubbing the applicator on my face would just make my flaky, dry skin look worse. I've found that since my dry skin breaks out with foundation/moisturizer that is too oily, but looks flaky with foundation that is too thick/dry, that primer + this foundation has struck a good balance. That said, since I began using this product the look of my barefaced skin has improved. It looks more hydrated and even (maybe thanks to the spf?). Will definitely continue using this foundation.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
matches my hard-to-match skin tone
4/7/2012

Customer review by emmy

4.0 stars 4/7/2012 by emmy
by emmy

I've had the worst luck getting a matching foundation from so many other brands! I bought Fresh Beige and it has a nice yellow tone! I have very problematic skin right now: a rash of acne, dry and cracked patches of skin from acne medication, uneven skin tone, hyperpigmentation. I was in need of a good spf since my skin is really sensitive and raw at the moment, and I wanted to try a cream foundation for a little more coverage & to help decrease the dry skin appearance issues, even though I still have oily skin. ...acne meds are very harsh to the skin =( ... I needed a lot of moisturizer on my face because of my tight/dry skin, and so I was able to apply this foundation with a light hand then concentrate where I needed a bit more coverage. I really couldnt feel the foundation sitting on my face. It doesnt cover all my issues but it definitely tones them down. I choose not to wear a concealer but I'm still pleased with this product. I used a mineral pwder to set it and used a very light hand, pressing a little more of the powder just into the spots where I get the most oily. Overall I like this and it works for me =) . I only wish there were bit more product in the package.

emmy
redding, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
breaks me out, beeswax, really?
9/8/2014

Customer review by J-Girl121

2.0 stars 9/8/2014 by J-Girl121
by J-Girl121

I mostly trust neutrogena, I like the idea of layering sunscreen and neutrogena is usually a star with sunscreen. This should be the perfect product for me, so I didn't really do more than peruse the ingredients. I started wearing the powder all the time, all day. I found it really didn't absorb much oil and that I was just using it as a finishing powder. I began wearing this all by itself. It clogged my pores and I asked Why?!! And I read the ingredients and I noticed that Beeswax is really high up there. All in all, this really isn't for most people using a powder. Maybe if you have dry skin or non-breakout prone skin you'll like this, but I guess I have to shell out some more bucks for something better

Comment from Neutrogena® - 9/9/2014

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review for one of our Neutrogena® products. It is not typical of this product to clog pores and we would like to learn more about your experience. Please call our Consumer Care Center at 1-800-582-4048 between the hours of 8am-8pm EDT Monday through Friday. We look forward to speaking with you.

J-Girl121
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Greasy Feel that Lasts all Morning
7/20/2012

Customer review by NMbuyer

1.0 stars 7/20/2012 by NMbuyer
by NMbuyer

I bought this product a couple weeks ago in hopes of finding my new favorite foundation. I was disappointed, however, by the foundation's lack of coverage and greasy feel. I apply the product before applying facial powder and then proceed to leave greasy marks on anything that nears my face the rest of the morning. I also look oilier by mid-day than if I had been wearing no makeup at all. As far as coverage is concerned, I feel that the foundation rubs off as I try to apply more. We have tried applying it to half of a face, and there were no visible differences between the side covered in foundation and the one left bare. I was sad to find such a disappointing product in the Neutrogena collection.

NMbuyer
Albuquerque, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
This product has it all!!
6/26/2013

Customer review by ZCTM2

5.0 stars 6/26/2013 by ZCTM2
by ZCTM2

This is my first ever beauty product review, but I felt so strongly about this product that I was compelled to write about it! I am 37 years old and have all the skin issues a person can have...I am acne prone, have a few sun spots and am fighting the fine lines and wrinkles that I see starting to form. I was looking for a product with a high spf to prevent premature aging that had good coverage and did not make me break out. Well, this does all that and more. The shade I picked is perfect for my skin tone, it has excellent coverage without being too heavy, and it gives great protection from the sun. I just love it and will continue to be faithful purchaser of this compact makeup!

ZCTM2
Ventura, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Like the product
9/23/2013

Customer review by Bruce

3.0 stars 9/23/2013 by Bruce
by Bruce

I use a lot of different Neutrogena products and have always been satisfied. I like this makeup, it goes on smooth and covers evenly. I have received a lot of compliments about my skin since I started using it. I don't however, like the packaging. I find it large and cumbersome to use, sometimes I can't even get the lid open. Plus, you have to maneuver the mirror to get to the applicator. I would like it better if the packaging was slimmer and the applicator came in the same section as the makeup with the mirror in the lid. I probably will not buy this product again or if I do, I will transfer the makeup to a different container.

Bruce
Brandon, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
I'm ready for the beach!
5/7/2012

Customer review by Anonymous

5.0 stars 5/7/2012 by Anonymous
by Anonymous

My skin is very fair and I also deal with eczema, which causes unsightly dry patches along my eyebrows and forehead. I'm going to Florida this summer and I was in search of a foundation that would help even my skin tone as well as protect me from the sun but all I could find was tinted moistuizers with spf15. I found this and decided to give it a try. It's light and really makes my skin look even. It even helps moistuize my skin, it doesnt make my eczema look even more noticeable like other foundations can. I wish it covered dark spots a little better and mask my pores but for 12 bucks, I can't complain.

Anonymous
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great coverage and sun protection
4/10/2012

Customer review by NolaGirl

5.0 stars 4/10/2012 by NolaGirl
by NolaGirl

I bought this product for the SPF and at first I would get breakouts from it. Now I use it over a light moisturizer and it seems like the more I use it my skin improves. My skin looks rosy, glowing and flawless. And unlike other reviews I find that this product has lasted me several months..but I don't over apply to prevent breakouts. I do agree the color is a little pale but I went a shade darker to adjust to my coloring. I would definitely recommend to anyone who freckles and burns. I keep it my purse and reapply whenever I get in the sun. PS: I am 48 and my skin a little dry and very sensitive.

NolaGirl
New Orleans, LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
More like a tinted suncreen.
3/20/2012

Customer review by Bethee

4.0 stars 3/20/2012 by Bethee
by Bethee
Top 500 contributor

This should be called a tinted sunscreen rather than makeup because the coverage is fairly light. You can apply it with the enclosed sponge, much like a cream foundation but it's easy to over-do it and you can end up with too much on. I would say go light on swiping, maybe twice, then apply. I like using EcoTools very dense bronzing brush instead. It drys down to a semi-matte finish that is not greasy and not drying...you still need a moisturizer to start with. It doesn't seem to settle into lines. I like this stuff for when I'm in a hurry and can get sunscreened and made-up in one step. Compared to other highly sunscreened makeup out there this one is an extremely good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bethee
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Top 500 contributor
GOOD
1/28/2011

Customer review by simplyme

5.0 stars 1/28/2011 by simplyme
by simplyme

This works just like the healthy skin liquid foundation. Its great and i love it in the compact, its so easy to put it on in the morning and go. Im a teen in highschool and need my makeup to work for me all day. This gets the job done the only problem i have is that i tend to have oily skin on my nose and chin, so sometimes i have to retouch those areas or just use a neutrogena blotting sheet. I love neutrogena my skin tone has gotten more even and pretty. Today when i took off my makeup my friend told me my skin looks great and its all thanks to neutrogena.

simplyme
Sn Antonio TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than Benefit Foundation!
7/17/2015

Customer review by rosebud

5.0 stars 7/17/2015 by rosebud
by rosebud

I have been searching for a foundation that is affordable and provides the coverage that the more expensive brands do. This foundation is my new favorite! It is comparable in texture to benefit's mainstay foundation, and costs less than half the price. It has a natural look and touches up are so simple. Highly recommended!

rosebud
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
MEH
3/23/2011

Customer review by aLoveTart

2.0 stars 3/23/2011 by aLoveTart
by aLoveTart

I picked this up and tested it thoroughly to figure out the best way to use it. It is super sheer. I wanted to layer it under a foundation to act as an spf and first layer of coverage, and that left me oily. If I applied it on it's own, it was very, very dewy. If I set it with a powder, dry spots showed up on my skin. The way it did work for me is on it's own (with some concealer), with little moisturizer on my skin- as a really sheer layer.

aLoveTart
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Emphasizes flaws
11/14/2013

Customer review by marissa35

1.0 stars 11/14/2013 by marissa35
by marissa35

Just used it for first time and absolutely hate it. The makeup is very greasy and just sits on my face and emphasizes my pores and uneven skin tone. I can't touch my face as it will get all over my hands. I was looking for something easy to use and portable without the fuss of a liquid foundation, but it looks like I'm going to have to go back to that. Will try the liquid form of this as I typically like neutrogena face products.

marissa35
mi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Clumpy and Cakey
2/28/2012

Customer review by WishedforBetter

2.0 stars 2/28/2012 by WishedforBetter
by WishedforBetter

I finally got the courage to spend some money on myself and get the better brand of makeup - get some bang for my buck - treat myself. I was so disappointed. This foundation left cakey pieces all over my face and I was so self conscious all day! I even tried putting a thinner layer on, but it still didn't look right...almost like a layer of fur on my face! I have not used it since, hence wasting my entire month's budget for makeup.

WishedforBetter
Coldwater, MI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nearly perfect product
10/10/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/10/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The only problem I have with this product is that it takes a little too long to blend in with the skin tone. It starts out too lite, almost white so I can't go out too soon after applying it. I am guessing it is because of the high spf? It leaves the skin smooth, so easy to remove and does not irritate my sensitive skin at all. Despite the small down side of it, I would keep on buying this product because it is so good.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
NO PIGMENTAION
8/18/2012

Customer review by skincareexpert

1.0 stars 8/18/2012 by skincareexpert
by skincareexpert

I realize this is supposed to be a light weight foundation but this is not even enough pigmentation to be called a tinted moisturizer! One word to describe this HORRIBLE. I even tried to build this up to see if i could get any color out of it and i had no luck at all. And when i did build it up it looked powdery and cakey on my skin..but no coverage it was the weirdest experience ever. This was returned.

skincareexpert
ny
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 76 total reviews
1-20 of 76 reviews