Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.4out of 5 stars
3.4 out of 5 | 268 reviews
5 stars
95
4 stars
72
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 stars
64
Sort by: 
1-20 of 248 reviews
1-20 of 248 reviews
Better than expected
3/17/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I,m a old guy and never sewed anything in all my years besides a button on a shirt a few times...but, this little machine really outpreformed my expectations. First look it seems like a toy,but it's no toy. I bought it for putting a hem on some jeans and it worked flawlessly after I read the instructions and watched a couple of YouTube videos. Next, I thought I'd attempt making some cafe curtains out of a flat sheet I got at Walmart.( See pics). I'm pretty proud of what I turned out and think almost anyone can do the same or similar with this fine little machine.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (50)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A Small Great Sewing Machine
9/27/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've never sewn in my life and needed one for a Halloween costume. I looked on Google and found this one and for $20, I figured why not. If it works, great and if not ... ehhh it was only $20 and I literally could not be more pleased!! It's doing everything that I needed it to do. Stitching and I sewed on patches and Velcro. This little thing is freaking awesome! If you just need a great, small, simple sewing machine, here you go.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (223)No (19)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very usefull
7/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I bought this for basic stitching. This is the first time I'm using a sewing machine. It's very simple and easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (153)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome little thing!
6/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I know (knew) NOTHING about sewing. I bought this small sewing machine to learn and to try out basic sewing. I use it to sew holes in clothes and do little projects (like a little felt monster (picture attached), birthday banner, etc) using felt and other fabics. It works perfectly. It is small, so its a little hard fitting a big shirt, blanket, etc., but I make it work. I recommend this to all beginners. I'll upgrade once I get better, but for now, this is great and very easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (207)No (32)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It does the job!
8/12/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was skeptical about this product when I first picked it up because it was so light-weight, but I found that weight and size is not a factor for being able to sew simple things adequately. I love that I can bring it upstairs and downstairs easily and that it doesn't take up space. The spool lever on top extends to fit regular sized spools of thread. The bobbin winding took a while to figure out because I wasn't turning the bobbin pin as I was pushing in on it to try to get it extended. I had to rest the thread on top of the tension until I was finished threading though everything and with every time I needed to pull more top thread out. Then I need to remember to pull apart the tension pieces to get the thread in the correct position, otherwise, the thread would fall off the tension wheel. I tried loosening the tension wheel, but it didn't seem to make a difference. Pros: it works!, it's cost-effective, light-weight, space-saving Cons: no light; the tension is bothersome; couldn't figure out how to back-stitch, so I just turned the cloth around.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (99)No (34)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This sounds wrong
7/12/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I cannot attest to the quality of the stitches this unit produces because I was never able to get that far. After reading and rereading the included instruction manual which, although poorly designed, seemed easy enough to understand, I set up the machine with scrap fabric on which to practice. (It is worth noting that for the most part the sewing machine was totally ready to use as soon as I opened the box; already threaded and everything.) It was when I turned on the machine that I was assaulted with one of the most horrific noises I've ever heard. It was like a 2,000 foot snail screaming as it was being fed through an oversized tree grinder. I tried a few more stitches in the naive hope it would dissipate or perhaps I could tune it out. But neither. As I have neither the need for nor the desire to hear sounds akin to painful death wails I packaged up the tiny devil machine for a return. On the upside it was very light and easy to carry.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (31)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Quality, but Misleading Description
10/15/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
First off, the description is misleading. I think they copied/pasted it from a different model, but this one is very basic. The machine does NOT have - 8 built in stitches - forward/reverse stitching - have a built in sewing light It DOES have - two speeds, high and low - foot pedal - power adapter - sample sewing piece I'm an absolute novice when it comes to sewing, but as far as I can tell, this machine is great quality. I've had it for about a week. I love that it comes pre-threaded with a sample sewing piece. It was nice to see how it's threaded should I need to change the thread myself. I was able to sew through four layers of flannel/fleece (three layers flannel, one layer fleece). I was making nursing pads. The stitches held up fairly well. Though probably not recommended, I was also able to sew through elastic. It was a little tricky, but it did it. Not sure how well the stitches will hold over time though. Great for beginners learning how to sew. Because it only comes with a basic stitch, it's a great way to get familiar with all the sewing machine parts without being overwhelmed with a hundred things going on. I learned quite a bit from this simple sewing machine. For $22 it's an amazing bargain. Great for simple sewing projects.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (355)No (41)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for young sewers
3/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my 12yr old daughter and she loves it. It works with the electrical cord it comes with or for a period of time, without it, as the product summary describes. It came with a pre threaded bobbin and a spool of thread, so it is ready to use right out of the box. I dont think it is meant for heavy everyday use, or for thick materials, but it works very well with all sorts of thin to medium fabrics. It would be great for repairs and is quite handy- being portable and all, if you need to take it with you because of its ability to run cordless and its compact size and very lightweight.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (440)No (65)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Sewing machine
10/12/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This sewing machine is great for me because i use it on my desk. I am planning on purchasing a second one for my daughter at college.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I Love This Machine
2/23/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For a quick project it's awesome. So easy to use. Works best with lighter weight fabrics. I used it to put new backing on washable puppy pads. The machine is VERY lightweight and it will easily slide around on a surface. To help with this I used a rubber non-skid liner under it. It operates on batteries or the A/C adapter that comes with it. It also comes with 6 bobbins total, a spare needle and a needle threader. Two of the bobbins are already threaded and in place on the machine for immediate use. For the price, you can't beat it for a quick job that you don't want to lug out the heavy, bulky bigger sewing machine. I can see where this would be great for kid's to learn to sew on as well. This is far better and faster than needle and thread sewing for a quick repair. I love it!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Very poor quality
7/18/2016
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Item was to be a birthday present for my 8 year old granddaughter, who loves hand sewing and was ready to progress to her first sewing machine. She unwrapped it and we found a piece of fabric under the pressure foot with both the upper thread and bobbin thread completely jammed and knotted into the fabric--someone had already tried to start sewing with this machine! Unjammed and started over. Tried to follow directions for threading the machine, and, at the same time demonstrate to an 8 year old......directions impossible to follow, yet alone explain. More complicated than my full size, professional sewing machine!! Re-packaged the product for return to the store and continued her first sewing lesson on my sewing machine, which was a complete success for her. Will continue shopping for a high quality machine suitable for a beginner to use and understand.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great little machine for small jobs or beginners
1/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I actually purchased three of these little machines for an 8 yr old, a 10 yr old and a 13 yr old so I could teach them some sewing basics. Although I did have to loosen the tension on all the machines (the thread was too tight for them to easily slide the material out of the machine when they needed to), they ran smoothly. All in all, I couldn't be happier for the value and the price. I also bought each child the book The Best of Sewing Machine Fun for Kids, if any of you are buying this for a child, and I would highly recommend supervising all usage until you are comfortable with his or her ability. Best of luck!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Would recommend to beginner sewers.
12/12/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my 8 year old daughter and she loved it . It was easy to work with and it was ready to go when we took it out of the box. It is great for anyone that is a beginner sewer .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (42)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value for the price
5/2/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this for my 7 year old - I looked at the reviews - they were correct. She asked for a sewing machine since she saw one at our local craft store. The reviews for that machine - Singer were not good. I saw the Alex sewing machine same one different color for 3x the price - I know it came with an ice box but I did not thing $60 was reasonable - so I waited for this one to be available. Once she masters this I would purchase a biginner sewing machine, if she still has an interest. I supervise her at all times - we have been using it for two weeks now. She loves it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (41)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect for my needs!
5/31/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I recently lost over 40 pounds and didn't want to buy all new clothes, so I took a chance on this little sewing machine, and boy, did it deliver! Perfect for taking in skirts and dresses. I hadn't touched a sewing machine in over 30 years, and this was so easy to use. Highly recommend it for small jobs.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
I was nervous when I read the previous reviews.
10/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I'm a beginner. I was just looking for something cheap to get the hang of things. The old reviews had me nervous but for under $20 there wasn't much to lose! I took my time to learn every piece and it's purpose before even plugging it in. I watched youtube videos before hand as well! Now I'm addicted. It's so easy to work! I was planning on buying a fancier one after I practiced on this one, but I honestly don't need one! This does everything I need for my beginner projects!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (40)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/1/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Love this little bad boy. I've never sewn a day in my life and was able to figure this one out. I hemmed a dress and it did a good job for me. It's super tiny and compact.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (173)No (26)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good sewing machine for beginner.
4/27/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this device to hem my own khaki pants. This device includes 4 bob-bin reels (two already strung, and two empty ones). A great thing about this machine is that it enables you to transfer yarn onto the empty bob-bin reels. So convenient. After hemming my khakis with this device, I was instantly satisfied with the results. The stitching turned out better than expected. The machine works well on flat and thin cloths. Highly recommended for anyone who's looking for a single stitching device for small projects.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
good purchase
2/18/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
After purchasing singer handheld machine I was skeptical about this one too...but it's a real good purchase. Works wonderful.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (127)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
more than a toy, less than sufficient
8/16/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I decided to take a chance on this little machine even as just a repair standby. In some ways I was impressed that the stitching mechanics worked like a real machine BUT...this is very lightweight, the pedal is unpredictable and raced out of control, and the machine does not appear to have a backstitch for ends of rows. Only one same size stitch, and tension is a real problem: you have to cut the thread at the end of the row, because there is no where to snap it off. Don't buy it for a child: too dangerous because it is more like a real machine than a toy, but without safeguards. For some it will do but for me, the stitching was fine, but hard to guide the material because of the size, and the thread kept coming unthreaded. With a little more design function, this could be nifty, but it is hard to control.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640670, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-