Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 250 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

250 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

250 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
85
4 stars
68
3 stars
18
2 stars
19
1 stars
60
1-20 of 231 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews
A Small Great Sewing Machine
9/27/2014

Customer review by Phearis

5.0 stars 9/27/2014 by Phearis
by Phearis

I've never sewn in my life and needed one for a Halloween costume. I looked on Google and found this one and for $20, I figured why not. If it works, great and if not ... ehhh it was only $20 and I literally could not be more pleased!! It's doing everything that I needed it to do. Stitching and I sewed on patches and Velcro. This little thing is freaking awesome! If you just need a great, small, simple sewing machine, here you go.

Was this review helpful? (124) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phearis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very usefull
7/23/2014

Customer review by Sha11

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by Sha11
by Sha11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for basic stitching. This is the first time I'm using a sewing machine. It's very simple and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (108) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sha11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome little thing!
6/1/2014

Customer review by MellieMelMel

4.0 stars 6/1/2014 by MellieMelMel
by MellieMelMel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I know (knew) NOTHING about sewing. I bought this small sewing machine to learn and to try out basic sewing. I use it to sew holes in clothes and do little projects (like a little felt monster (picture attached), birthday banner, etc) using felt and other fabics. It works perfectly. It is small, so its a little hard fitting a big shirt, blanket, etc., but I make it work. I recommend this to all beginners. I'll upgrade once I get better, but for now, this is great and very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (159) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MellieMelMel
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very poor quality
7/18/2016

Customer review by nana

1.0 stars 7/18/2016 by nana
by nana

Item was to be a birthday present for my 8 year old granddaughter, who loves hand sewing and was ready to progress to her first sewing machine. She unwrapped it and we found a piece of fabric under the pressure foot with both the upper thread and bobbin thread completely jammed and knotted into the fabric--someone had already tried to start sewing with this machine! Unjammed and started over. Tried to follow directions for threading the machine, and, at the same time demonstrate to an 8 year old......directions impossible to follow, yet alone explain. More complicated than my full size, professional sewing machine!! Re-packaged the product for return to the store and continued her first sewing lesson on my sewing machine, which was a complete success for her. Will continue shopping for a high quality machine suitable for a beginner to use and understand.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nana
Would recommend to a friend? No
This sounds wrong
7/12/2016

Customer review by Eli1701

1.0 stars 7/12/2016 by Eli1701
by Eli1701

I cannot attest to the quality of the stitches this unit produces because I was never able to get that far. After reading and rereading the included instruction manual which, although poorly designed, seemed easy enough to understand, I set up the machine with scrap fabric on which to practice. (It is worth noting that for the most part the sewing machine was totally ready to use as soon as I opened the box; already threaded and everything.) It was when I turned on the machine that I was assaulted with one of the most horrific noises I've ever heard. It was like a 2,000 foot snail screaming as it was being fed through an oversized tree grinder. I tried a few more stitches in the naive hope it would dissipate or perhaps I could tune it out. But neither. As I have neither the need for nor the desire to hear sounds akin to painful death wails I packaged up the tiny devil machine for a return. On the upside it was very light and easy to carry.

Was this review helpful? (9) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Eli1701
Would recommend to a friend? No
My kids love it
6/10/2016

Customer review by supermiriam

4.0 stars 6/10/2016 by supermiriam
by supermiriam
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

It's pretty small and lightweight. It is not for heavy sewing so do not try demin on it. But otherwise it works just as promises.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
supermiriam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It does the job!
8/12/2013

Customer review by MrsSperlz

4.0 stars 8/12/2013 by MrsSperlz
by MrsSperlz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was skeptical about this product when I first picked it up because it was so light-weight, but I found that weight and size is not a factor for being able to sew simple things adequately. I love that I can bring it upstairs and downstairs easily and that it doesn't take up space. The spool lever on top extends to fit regular sized spools of thread. The bobbin winding took a while to figure out because I wasn't turning the bobbin pin as I was pushing in on it to try to get it extended. I had to rest the thread on top of the tension until I was finished threading though everything and with every time I needed to pull more top thread out. Then I need to remember to pull apart the tension pieces to get the thread in the correct position, otherwise, the thread would fall off the tension wheel. I tried loosening the tension wheel, but it didn't seem to make a difference. Pros: it works!, it's cost-effective, light-weight, space-saving Cons: no light; the tension is bothersome; couldn't figure out how to back-stitch, so I just turned the cloth around.

Was this review helpful? (75) (26)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsSperlz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I Love This Machine
2/23/2016

Customer review by opalgreen

5.0 stars 2/23/2016 by opalgreen
by opalgreen

For a quick project it's awesome. So easy to use. Works best with lighter weight fabrics. I used it to put new backing on washable puppy pads. The machine is VERY lightweight and it will easily slide around on a surface. To help with this I used a rubber non-skid liner under it. It operates on batteries or the A/C adapter that comes with it. It also comes with 6 bobbins total, a spare needle and a needle threader. Two of the bobbins are already threaded and in place on the machine for immediate use. For the price, you can't beat it for a quick job that you don't want to lug out the heavy, bulky bigger sewing machine. I can see where this would be great for kid's to learn to sew on as well. This is far better and faster than needle and thread sewing for a quick repair. I love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (34) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
opalgreen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Quality, but Misleading Description
10/15/2012

Customer review by California987

4.0 stars 10/15/2012 by California987
by California987

First off, the description is misleading. I think they copied/pasted it from a different model, but this one is very basic. The machine does NOT have - 8 built in stitches - forward/reverse stitching - have a built in sewing light It DOES have - two speeds, high and low - foot pedal - power adapter - sample sewing piece I'm an absolute novice when it comes to sewing, but as far as I can tell, this machine is great quality. I've had it for about a week. I love that it comes pre-threaded with a sample sewing piece. It was nice to see how it's threaded should I need to change the thread myself. I was able to sew through four layers of flannel/fleece (three layers flannel, one layer fleece). I was making nursing pads. The stitches held up fairly well. Though probably not recommended, I was also able to sew through elastic. It was a little tricky, but it did it. Not sure how well the stitches will hold over time though. Great for beginners learning how to sew. Because it only comes with a basic stitch, it's a great way to get familiar with all the sewing machine parts without being overwhelmed with a hundred things going on. I learned quite a bit from this simple sewing machine. For $22 it's an amazing bargain. Great for simple sewing projects.

Was this review helpful? (312) (37)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
California987
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Would recommend to beginner sewers.
12/12/2015

Customer review by Chu1

5.0 stars 12/12/2015 by Chu1
by Chu1

I bought this for my 8 year old daughter and she loved it . It was easy to work with and it was ready to go when we took it out of the box. It is great for anyone that is a beginner sewer .

Was this review helpful? (36) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chu1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome little machine
8/15/2016

Customer review by misskelly

5.0 stars 8/15/2016 by misskelly
by misskelly

Our 10 yr daughter got this in 5th grade and immediately started sewing many things. It is so easy to use that I never had to help her. We upgraded to a full size Brother machine and it was too complicated. She loves her little machine that sew everything a basic full size can sew! Highly recommend this machine & the additional kit sold separately

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
misskelly
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little machine for small jobs or beginners
1/3/2014

Customer review by BeckyNY

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by BeckyNY
by BeckyNY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I actually purchased three of these little machines for an 8 yr old, a 10 yr old and a 13 yr old so I could teach them some sewing basics. Although I did have to loosen the tension on all the machines (the thread was too tight for them to easily slide the material out of the machine when they needed to), they ran smoothly. All in all, I couldn't be happier for the value and the price. I also bought each child the book The Best of Sewing Machine Fun for Kids, if any of you are buying this for a child, and I would highly recommend supervising all usage until you are comfortable with his or her ability. Best of luck!

Was this review helpful? (45) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeckyNY
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for young sewers
3/11/2012

Customer review by Joz116

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Joz116
by Joz116

I bought this for my 12yr old daughter and she loves it. It works with the electrical cord it comes with or for a period of time, without it, as the product summary describes. It came with a pre threaded bobbin and a spool of thread, so it is ready to use right out of the box. I dont think it is meant for heavy everyday use, or for thick materials, but it works very well with all sorts of thin to medium fabrics. It would be great for repairs and is quite handy- being portable and all, if you need to take it with you because of its ability to run cordless and its compact size and very lightweight.

Was this review helpful? (422) (64)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joz116
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Nice little machine
7/19/2016

Customer review by momofgirls

4.0 stars 7/19/2016 by momofgirls
by momofgirls
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this for my 11 year old daughter who wanted to sew, she loves it!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
momofgirls
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for the price
5/2/2014

Customer review by Mom2girls123

4.0 stars 5/2/2014 by Mom2girls123
by Mom2girls123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for my 7 year old - I looked at the reviews - they were correct. She asked for a sewing machine since she saw one at our local craft store. The reviews for that machine - Singer were not good. I saw the Alex sewing machine same one different color for 3x the price - I know it came with an ice box but I did not thing $60 was reasonable - so I waited for this one to be available. Once she masters this I would purchase a biginner sewing machine, if she still has an interest. I supervise her at all times - we have been using it for two weeks now. She loves it!

Was this review helpful? (38) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2girls123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for my needs!
5/31/2014

Customer review by SoxFanatic

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by SoxFanatic
by SoxFanatic

I recently lost over 40 pounds and didn't want to buy all new clothes, so I took a chance on this little sewing machine, and boy, did it deliver! Perfect for taking in skirts and dresses. I hadn't touched a sewing machine in over 30 years, and this was so easy to use. Highly recommend it for small jobs.

Was this review helpful? (31) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoxFanatic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/1/2012

Customer review by aah7880

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by aah7880
by aah7880

Love this little bad boy. I've never sewn a day in my life and was able to figure this one out. I hemmed a dress and it did a good job for me. It's super tiny and compact.

Was this review helpful? (170) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aah7880
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Great basic sewing machine
1/5/2014

Customer review by lvchica88

3.0 stars 1/5/2014 by lvchica88
by lvchica88
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This sewing machine is pretty great for the value. It lacks many of the features that larger machines have (being able to sew in reverse, making a button hole stitch and such) but it is really great for simple, small and quick sewing jobs. It only has 2 sewing speeds and the stitch width is the same for both but it is really easy to carry around. Highly recommended if you are looking for a light sewing machine to do simple jobs.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lvchica88
Claremont, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good purchase
2/18/2012

Customer review by fraisercrane

4.0 stars 2/18/2012 by fraisercrane
by fraisercrane

After purchasing singer handheld machine I was skeptical about this one too...but it's a real good purchase. Works wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (125) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fraisercrane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Lil' Machine
7/18/2012

Customer review by SWFLbuyer

4.0 stars 7/18/2012 by SWFLbuyer
by SWFLbuyer

This machine works amazingly well for such a small, inexpensive automatic sewer. I wouldn't use it for anything major or of particularly high quality. But, for smaller, quick and dirty (and not so dirty) projects, it works great! I used it to repair a nylon flag that flies at my dock and the repairs are holding despite the heavy winds and rain we've been having. Also modified some king-size pillow cases and made them standard. They look good. Give it a try...

Was this review helpful? (68) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWFLbuyer
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 231 total reviews
1-20 of 231 reviews