Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 188 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

188 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

188 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

66%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
63
4 stars
53
3 stars
13
2 stars
16
1 stars
43
1-20 of 169 total reviews
66%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews
Great for young sewers
3/11/2012

Customer review by Joz116

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Joz116
by Joz116

I bought this for my 12yr old daughter and she loves it. It works with the electrical cord it comes with or for a period of time, without it, as the product summary describes. It came with a pre threaded bobbin and a spool of thread, so it is ready to use right out of the box. I dont think it is meant for heavy everyday use, or for thick materials, but it works very well with all sorts of thin to medium fabrics. It would be great for repairs and is quite handy- being portable and all, if you need to take it with you because of its ability to run cordless and its compact size and very lightweight.

Was this review helpful? (308) (40)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joz116
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Quality, but Misleading Description
10/15/2012

Customer review by California987

4.0 stars 10/15/2012 by California987
by California987

First off, the description is misleading. I think they copied/pasted it from a different model, but this one is very basic. The machine does NOT have - 8 built in stitches - forward/reverse stitching - have a built in sewing light It DOES have - two speeds, high and low - foot pedal - power adapter - sample sewing piece I'm an absolute novice when it comes to sewing, but as far as I can tell, this machine is great quality. I've had it for about a week. I love that it comes pre-threaded with a sample sewing piece. It was nice to see how it's threaded should I need to change the thread myself. I was able to sew through four layers of flannel/fleece (three layers flannel, one layer fleece). I was making nursing pads. The stitches held up fairly well. Though probably not recommended, I was also able to sew through elastic. It was a little tricky, but it did it. Not sure how well the stitches will hold over time though. Great for beginners learning how to sew. Because it only comes with a basic stitch, it's a great way to get familiar with all the sewing machine parts without being overwhelmed with a hundred things going on. I learned quite a bit from this simple sewing machine. For $22 it's an amazing bargain. Great for simple sewing projects.

Was this review helpful? (174) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
California987
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
6/1/2012

Customer review by aah7880

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by aah7880
by aah7880

Love this little bad boy. I've never sewn a day in my life and was able to figure this one out. I hemmed a dress and it did a good job for me. It's super tiny and compact.

Was this review helpful? (117) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aah7880
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
good purchase
2/18/2012

Customer review by fraisercrane

4.0 stars 2/18/2012 by fraisercrane
by fraisercrane

After purchasing singer handheld machine I was skeptical about this one too...but it's a real good purchase. Works wonderful.

Was this review helpful? (102) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fraisercrane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very useful for the price
1/16/2012

Customer review by JohnATtheFALLS

5.0 stars 1/16/2012 by JohnATtheFALLS
by JohnATtheFALLS

I purchased this on a whim. I use an old Singer to repair sails and covers on my sailboat. I found this to be useful for basting and small projects that will not bear any loads. You can hold it in one hand and work on upholstery and such things. I have not tried it on any canvas or heavy duty materials. I'm probably using it beyond what the manufacturer intended. I would buy this for a child to get them interested in sewing and doing small projects.

Was this review helpful? (211) (53)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JohnATtheFALLS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
Top 25 contributor
Great little machine
7/13/2012

Customer review by JIWalmartShopper

5.0 stars 7/13/2012 by JIWalmartShopper
by JIWalmartShopper

I read the reviews before I bought this and for a machine this small, it's worked at hemming jeans (it can bend the needle some if you're not careful) and I've sewn baby clothes with it. I was dreading threading the machine correctly (because of errors other reviewers had reported, even in the instructions), but it came already threaded, with a little piece of cloth already there to try it out. Awesome for what it was made for (a tiny machine that works fine for small projects).

Was this review helpful? (91) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JIWalmartShopper
Orange County, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Lil' Machine
7/18/2012

Customer review by SWFLbuyer

4.0 stars 7/18/2012 by SWFLbuyer
by SWFLbuyer

This machine works amazingly well for such a small, inexpensive automatic sewer. I wouldn't use it for anything major or of particularly high quality. But, for smaller, quick and dirty (and not so dirty) projects, it works great! I used it to repair a nylon flag that flies at my dock and the repairs are holding despite the heavy winds and rain we've been having. Also modified some king-size pillow cases and made them standard. They look good. Give it a try...

Was this review helpful? (49) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SWFLbuyer
Cape Coral, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
3/1/2012

Customer review by Ronnie65

5.0 stars 3/1/2012 by Ronnie65
by Ronnie65

This product is good for a child to learn to sew it is light weight so a child can carry it to were they want to use it at. My daughter just loves it she is ticked over it. I would recommend this to any mom with a daughter who wants to learn how to sew.

Was this review helpful? (153) (49)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ronnie65
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little machine
9/8/2012

Customer review by tiktin

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by tiktin
by tiktin

In an age when merchants try to make us pay more and more for features we don't want or need, this thing is a real delight. This is just your basic sewing machine. It doesn't have a built in light, it doesn't sew backwards, it doesn't have a lot of fancy stitches, but by golly it works!

Was this review helpful? (35) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tiktin
Boise. ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
It does the job!
8/12/2013

Customer review by MrsSperlz

4.0 stars 8/12/2013 by MrsSperlz
by MrsSperlz

I was skeptical about this product when I first picked it up because it was so light-weight, but I found that weight and size is not a factor for being able to sew simple things adequately. I love that I can bring it upstairs and downstairs easily and that it doesn't take up space. The spool lever on top extends to fit regular sized spools of thread. The bobbin winding took a while to figure out because I wasn't turning the bobbin pin as I was pushing in on it to try to get it extended. I had to rest the thread on top of the tension until I was finished threading though everything and with every time I needed to pull more top thread out. Then I need to remember to pull apart the tension pieces to get the thread in the correct position, otherwise, the thread would fall off the tension wheel. I tried loosening the tension wheel, but it didn't seem to make a difference. Pros: it works!, it's cost-effective, light-weight, space-saving Cons: no light; the tension is bothersome; couldn't figure out how to back-stitch, so I just turned the cloth around.

Was this review helpful? (44) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrsSperlz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Awesome little thing!
6/1/2014

Customer review by MellieMelMel

4.0 stars 6/1/2014 by MellieMelMel
by MellieMelMel

I know (knew) NOTHING about sewing. I bought this small sewing machine to learn and to try out basic sewing. I use it to sew holes in clothes and do little projects (like a little felt monster (picture attached), birthday banner, etc) using felt and other fabics. It works perfectly. It is small, so its a little hard fitting a big shirt, blanket, etc., but I make it work. I recommend this to all beginners. I'll upgrade once I get better, but for now, this is great and very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (43) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MellieMelMel
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Nice
10/30/2013

Customer review by dc1412

5.0 stars 10/30/2013 by dc1412
by dc1412

Very useful when I need to do simple sewing to clothes such as on pants, etc. Now this is a small sewing machine not some industrial machine, it's not meant for hard core sewing. Unless you know how to sew like a professional, this is a good product for beginners. It is lightweight so keep that in mind. Give it a try if you are new to sewing. Takes a little practice to get used to it. If i can figure out how to work this thing than anyone can. You can't beat the price. If you don't like it go buy an expensive one if this one doesn't suit you.

Was this review helpful? (44) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dc1412
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great little machine for small jobs or beginners
1/3/2014

Customer review by BeckyNY

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by BeckyNY
by BeckyNY

I actually purchased three of these little machines for an 8 yr old, a 10 yr old and a 13 yr old so I could teach them some sewing basics. Although I did have to loosen the tension on all the machines (the thread was too tight for them to easily slide the material out of the machine when they needed to), they ran smoothly. All in all, I couldn't be happier for the value and the price. I also bought each child the book The Best of Sewing Machine Fun for Kids, if any of you are buying this for a child, and I would highly recommend supervising all usage until you are comfortable with his or her ability. Best of luck!

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BeckyNY
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for the price
5/2/2014

Customer review by Mom2girls123

4.0 stars 5/2/2014 by Mom2girls123
by Mom2girls123

I purchased this for my 7 year old - I looked at the reviews - they were correct. She asked for a sewing machine since she saw one at our local craft store. The reviews for that machine - Singer were not good. I saw the Alex sewing machine same one different color for 3x the price - I know it came with an ice box but I did not thing $60 was reasonable - so I waited for this one to be available. Once she masters this I would purchase a biginner sewing machine, if she still has an interest. I supervise her at all times - we have been using it for two weeks now. She loves it!

Was this review helpful? (29) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mom2girls123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect for my needs!
5/31/2014

Customer review by SoxFanatic

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by SoxFanatic
by SoxFanatic

I recently lost over 40 pounds and didn't want to buy all new clothes, so I took a chance on this little sewing machine, and boy, did it deliver! Perfect for taking in skirts and dresses. I hadn't touched a sewing machine in over 30 years, and this was so easy to use. Highly recommend it for small jobs.

Was this review helpful? (22) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoxFanatic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good sewing machine for beginner.
4/27/2014

Customer review by thulaotzu

4.0 stars 4/27/2014 by thulaotzu
by thulaotzu

I purchased this device to hem my own khaki pants. This device includes 4 bob-bin reels (two already strung, and two empty ones). A great thing about this machine is that it enables you to transfer yarn onto the empty bob-bin reels. So convenient. After hemming my khakis with this device, I was instantly satisfied with the results. The stitching turned out better than expected. The machine works well on flat and thin cloths. Highly recommended for anyone who's looking for a single stitching device for small projects.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thulaotzu
Glen Allen, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Very usefull
7/23/2014

Customer review by Sha11

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by Sha11
by Sha11

I bought this for basic stitching. This is the first time I'm using a sewing machine. It's very simple and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sha11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
4/18/2012

Customer review by EZSpender

5.0 stars 4/18/2012 by EZSpender
by EZSpender

Great product! It is small in size and works great. Has an ac adapter so you don't have to worry about batteries. The foot pedal is a great added bonus as well because it allows you to use both your hands when working with material.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EZSpender
Louisville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Cute Lil' Sewing Machine
12/11/2013

Customer review by LoveSamAndDean

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by LoveSamAndDean
by LoveSamAndDean

I gave this 4 stars because I did have a hard time with the thread staying in the needle and actually getting the thread to stitch. I also had a hard time adjusting the fabric I was sewing but that could be because the machine is smaller then a regular sized sewing machine. If you're a beginner, it's frustrating at first but I think once you keep practicing on it, you'll get it. I was able to sew an 11"x11" pillow within 15 minutes. Also, parts of the instructions seemed vague to me so I went online and looked at a video instead on how to use this. Overall, I really do like this Lil' Sew & Sew now that I've got a handle on it.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveSamAndDean
LaGrangeville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
description is not true
11/21/2012

Customer review by brrsindle

1.0 stars 11/21/2012 by brrsindle
by brrsindle

the description is not true and it needs to be changed. it says that it reverse stitches and it does not. I returned it for that reason.

Was this review helpful? (19) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brrsindle
Dallas, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 169 total reviews
1-20 of 169 reviews