Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 216 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

216 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

216 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

67%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
61
3 stars
15
2 stars
17
1 stars
50
1-20 of 197 total reviews
67%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews
Awesome little thing!
6/1/2014

Customer review by MellieMelMel

4.0 stars 6/1/2014 by MellieMelMel
by MellieMelMel
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I know (knew) NOTHING about sewing. I bought this small sewing machine to learn and to try out basic sewing. I use it to sew holes in clothes and do little projects (like a little felt monster (picture attached), birthday banner, etc) using felt and other fabics. It works perfectly. It is small, so its a little hard fitting a big shirt, blanket, etc., but I make it work. I recommend this to all beginners. I'll upgrade once I get better, but for now, this is great and very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (86) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MellieMelMel
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Small Great Sewing Machine
9/27/2014

Customer review by Phearis

5.0 stars 9/27/2014 by Phearis
by Phearis

I've never sewn in my life and needed one for a Halloween costume. I looked on Google and found this one and for $20, I figured why not. If it works, great and if not ... ehhh it was only $20 and I literally could not be more pleased!! It's doing everything that I needed it to do. Stitching and I sewed on patches and Velcro. This little thing is freaking awesome! If you just need a great, small, simple sewing machine, here you go.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phearis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very usefull
7/23/2014

Customer review by Sha11

5.0 stars 7/23/2014 by Sha11
by Sha11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for basic stitching. This is the first time I'm using a sewing machine. It's very simple and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (35) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sha11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Would recommend to beginner sewers.
12/12/2015

Customer review by Chu1

5.0 stars 12/12/2015 by Chu1
by Chu1

I bought this for my 8 year old daughter and she loved it . It was easy to work with and it was ready to go when we took it out of the box. It is great for anyone that is a beginner sewer .

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chu1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It does the job!
8/12/2013

Customer review by MrsSperlz

4.0 stars 8/12/2013 by MrsSperlz
by MrsSperlz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was skeptical about this product when I first picked it up because it was so light-weight, but I found that weight and size is not a factor for being able to sew simple things adequately. I love that I can bring it upstairs and downstairs easily and that it doesn't take up space. The spool lever on top extends to fit regular sized spools of thread. The bobbin winding took a while to figure out because I wasn't turning the bobbin pin as I was pushing in on it to try to get it extended. I had to rest the thread on top of the tension until I was finished threading though everything and with every time I needed to pull more top thread out. Then I need to remember to pull apart the tension pieces to get the thread in the correct position, otherwise, the thread would fall off the tension wheel. I tried loosening the tension wheel, but it didn't seem to make a difference. Pros: it works!, it's cost-effective, light-weight, space-saving Cons: no light; the tension is bothersome; couldn't figure out how to back-stitch, so I just turned the cloth around.

Was this review helpful? (53) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsSperlz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Quality, but Misleading Description
10/15/2012

Customer review by California987

4.0 stars 10/15/2012 by California987
by California987

First off, the description is misleading. I think they copied/pasted it from a different model, but this one is very basic. The machine does NOT have - 8 built in stitches - forward/reverse stitching - have a built in sewing light It DOES have - two speeds, high and low - foot pedal - power adapter - sample sewing piece I'm an absolute novice when it comes to sewing, but as far as I can tell, this machine is great quality. I've had it for about a week. I love that it comes pre-threaded with a sample sewing piece. It was nice to see how it's threaded should I need to change the thread myself. I was able to sew through four layers of flannel/fleece (three layers flannel, one layer fleece). I was making nursing pads. The stitches held up fairly well. Though probably not recommended, I was also able to sew through elastic. It was a little tricky, but it did it. Not sure how well the stitches will hold over time though. Great for beginners learning how to sew. Because it only comes with a basic stitch, it's a great way to get familiar with all the sewing machine parts without being overwhelmed with a hundred things going on. I learned quite a bit from this simple sewing machine. For $22 it's an amazing bargain. Great for simple sewing projects.

Was this review helpful? (275) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
California987
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
AFTER 2 USES
2/12/2016

Customer review by WANTAREFUND

1.0 stars 2/12/2016 by WANTAREFUND
by WANTAREFUND

AS IT SAYS IN THE TITLE AFTER 2 USES IT BROKE DONT KNOW HOW AND DOWN RIGHT ANNOYED. WISH TO GET MY MONEY BACK!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WANTAREFUND
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ok
2/12/2016

Customer review by Lexie49

3.0 stars 2/12/2016 by Lexie49
by Lexie49

I'm a begginer and didn't want to spend to much money so I'm learning and it's just right even though it's only one stitch

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lexie49
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Machine For Simple Sewing
2/7/2016

Customer review by MisterTopDog

4.0 stars 2/7/2016 by MisterTopDog
by MisterTopDog

The machine works great for simple sewing for hems or making crafts. If you need to do zigzag stitches or other kinds, then this will not work. It is good for beginners. You will need to do a youtube.com search for better instructions.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MisterTopDog
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for young sewers
3/11/2012

Customer review by Joz116

5.0 stars 3/11/2012 by Joz116
by Joz116

I bought this for my 12yr old daughter and she loves it. It works with the electrical cord it comes with or for a period of time, without it, as the product summary describes. It came with a pre threaded bobbin and a spool of thread, so it is ready to use right out of the box. I dont think it is meant for heavy everyday use, or for thick materials, but it works very well with all sorts of thin to medium fabrics. It would be great for repairs and is quite handy- being portable and all, if you need to take it with you because of its ability to run cordless and its compact size and very lightweight.

Was this review helpful? (406) (58)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Joz116
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Do not buy
1/29/2016

Customer review by Chuck

1.0 stars 1/29/2016 by Chuck
by Chuck

Don't waste your money. This machine will not work at all. I didn't expect much out of a 15$ sewing machine, but this thing won't even make a simple stitch.

Was this review helpful? (1) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Chuck
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great little machine for small jobs or beginners
1/3/2014

Customer review by BeckyNY

5.0 stars 1/3/2014 by BeckyNY
by BeckyNY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I actually purchased three of these little machines for an 8 yr old, a 10 yr old and a 13 yr old so I could teach them some sewing basics. Although I did have to loosen the tension on all the machines (the thread was too tight for them to easily slide the material out of the machine when they needed to), they ran smoothly. All in all, I couldn't be happier for the value and the price. I also bought each child the book The Best of Sewing Machine Fun for Kids, if any of you are buying this for a child, and I would highly recommend supervising all usage until you are comfortable with his or her ability. Best of luck!

Was this review helpful? (37) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeckyNY
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
:(
1/28/2016

Customer review by Alice

1.0 stars 1/28/2016 by Alice
by Alice

Gets tangled and jammed every time you use it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Alice
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect for my needs!
5/31/2014

Customer review by SoxFanatic

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by SoxFanatic
by SoxFanatic

I recently lost over 40 pounds and didn't want to buy all new clothes, so I took a chance on this little sewing machine, and boy, did it deliver! Perfect for taking in skirts and dresses. I hadn't touched a sewing machine in over 30 years, and this was so easy to use. Highly recommend it for small jobs.

Was this review helpful? (27) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoxFanatic
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good sewing machine for beginner.
4/27/2014

Customer review by thulaotzu

4.0 stars 4/27/2014 by thulaotzu
by thulaotzu
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this device to hem my own khaki pants. This device includes 4 bob-bin reels (two already strung, and two empty ones). A great thing about this machine is that it enables you to transfer yarn onto the empty bob-bin reels. So convenient. After hemming my khakis with this device, I was instantly satisfied with the results. The stitching turned out better than expected. The machine works well on flat and thin cloths. Highly recommended for anyone who's looking for a single stitching device for small projects.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thulaotzu
Glen Allen, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good value for the price
5/2/2014

Customer review by Mom2girls123

4.0 stars 5/2/2014 by Mom2girls123
by Mom2girls123
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for my 7 year old - I looked at the reviews - they were correct. She asked for a sewing machine since she saw one at our local craft store. The reviews for that machine - Singer were not good. I saw the Alex sewing machine same one different color for 3x the price - I know it came with an ice box but I did not thing $60 was reasonable - so I waited for this one to be available. Once she masters this I would purchase a biginner sewing machine, if she still has an interest. I supervise her at all times - we have been using it for two weeks now. She loves it!

Was this review helpful? (35) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2girls123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/1/2012

Customer review by aah7880

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by aah7880
by aah7880

Love this little bad boy. I've never sewn a day in my life and was able to figure this one out. I hemmed a dress and it did a good job for me. It's super tiny and compact.

Was this review helpful? (166) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
aah7880
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
Cute Lil' Sewing Machine
12/11/2013

Customer review by LoveSamAndDean

4.0 stars 12/11/2013 by LoveSamAndDean
by LoveSamAndDean
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I gave this 4 stars because I did have a hard time with the thread staying in the needle and actually getting the thread to stitch. I also had a hard time adjusting the fabric I was sewing but that could be because the machine is smaller then a regular sized sewing machine. If you're a beginner, it's frustrating at first but I think once you keep practicing on it, you'll get it. I was able to sew an 11"x11" pillow within 15 minutes. Also, parts of the instructions seemed vague to me so I went online and looked at a video instead on how to use this. Overall, I really do like this Lil' Sew & Sew now that I've got a handle on it.

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveSamAndDean
LaGrangeville, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good one for Novice...
6/10/2012

Customer review by helloworld1985

4.0 stars 6/10/2012 by helloworld1985
by helloworld1985

Pros: Lite weight, easy to operate, no hassle to thread it, nice and strong stitches, portable and very handy. cons: cumbersome to use for big projects..

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
helloworld1985
cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great little machine
9/8/2012

Customer review by tiktin

5.0 stars 9/8/2012 by tiktin
by tiktin

In an age when merchants try to make us pay more and more for features we don't want or need, this thing is a real delight. This is just your basic sewing machine. It doesn't have a built in light, it doesn't sew backwards, it doesn't have a lot of fancy stitches, but by golly it works!

Was this review helpful? (47) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tiktin
Boise. ID
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 197 total reviews
1-20 of 197 reviews