Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 38 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

38 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 stars
7
1-20 of 33 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
3/31/2012

Customer review by WarrenG2

5.0 stars 3/31/2012 by WarrenG2
by WarrenG2

Is my first sewing machine...it's easy to use and understand...will sew thick material such as jean's...I am impressed with the performance...haven't had n-e problem's at all doing what I wanted to do...would highly recommend this machine...will perchase another one for a gift for Christmas...

Was this review helpful? (183) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WarrenG2
Ft. Worth Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good for child
7/27/2012

Customer review by 6145Crystal

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by 6145Crystal
by 6145Crystal

Bought for my 6 year old granddaughter's birthday. Don't even look at the kid chain stitch machines they are a joke. Reverse stitching and a bobbin are necessary if you want the stitches to hold. I used it for over an hour and the thread never broke, the needle never broke, it fed a medium weight cotton quilted material consistently and everything worked perfect. For $3 you can add a one year replacement warranty from Walmart. I bought it because of the Low Speed/High Speed button, but it is not for the foot pedal. When you select one of these it sews automatically without pressing anything which was nice because I was making some cotton quilted couch covers and was doing long lines of straight sewing. This function is probably not good for anything else since when you come to the end you have to use your hand to switch it off and just releasing the foot pedal is much easier. I am still happy with the purchase as my granddaughter has no problem operating the foot pedal at a steady speed. Small and lightweight. I also purchased the sewing kit with lots of thread and threaded bobbins for $10, but it didn't come with machine needles. Hopefully, needles won't be a problem to find. I would recommend trying this for a child - with Walmart's great return policy and free shipping to store what have you got to lose.

Was this review helpful? (119) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
6145Crystal
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Best 'lil machine, ever!
7/24/2012

Customer review by 4upnorth

5.0 stars 7/24/2012 by 4upnorth
by 4upnorth

This is high quality for such a low price. It's light as a feather, stores in a small space. I am an experienced seamstress but no longer had a need for a big machine. This meets all my needs for mending and making alterations. You could easily make curtains or something larger. Not sure if I'd want to sew a whole outfit but I'm sure it could be done!

Was this review helpful? (90) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
4upnorth
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
SEW & SEW METAL FRAME SEWING MACHINE
5/2/2012

Customer review by SEWINGWIZ

3.0 stars 5/2/2012 by SEWINGWIZ
by SEWINGWIZ

The machine comes in a box that can be used as a carrying case. ;) The set up is a little tricky. The manual is not very user friendly.:( It has the feature to not need to use the foot pedal, which looks like a kids toy.:) However you need to be very careful to stop it in time. I do not think it will work well on denim or quilting layers. It jammed on a hem which had four layers.:( It is very noisy, so I used it with some placemats to quiet the sound a bit. Not a heavy duty machine, but for now I am happy with it for simple projects. Very lightweight. I like that!!

Was this review helpful? (71) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SEWINGWIZ
Excellent Learning Machine!
10/29/2012

Customer review by Pfauxmeh

4.0 stars 10/29/2012 by Pfauxmeh
by Pfauxmeh

This is my very first sewing machine, and I love it! I did extensive research on bargain-end machines that could still get the job done. I was wary for this machine at first due to the many negative reviews on another similar Michley sewing machine, but something told me to try. After lots of troubleshooting and learning the finer points of threading, I am happy that I made the decision to get this machine. My only complaint is that the thread doesn't want to stay in the needle at times and slips out...but that could just be a user issue and I wouldn't even know. So far, I have sewn together my first quilt top, transformed a pair of flares to skinny-style jeans and hemmed some curtains with no problems. I recommend this machine simply for the learning experience. I am considering upgrading to a Brother, but for now I am satisfied. :)

Was this review helpful? (39) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pfauxmeh
Hiram, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
6/9/2012

Customer review by mandieohio

5.0 stars 6/9/2012 by mandieohio
by mandieohio

i just got this sewing machine for and early birthday gift and it is just fabulous i just love it havent wanted to stop sewing it is just a wonderful product and i would recommend it to anyone. thank you honey i love you great birthday gift

Was this review helpful? (31) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mandieohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Better than expected
11/22/2013

Customer review by bloomintea

5.0 stars 11/22/2013 by bloomintea
by bloomintea

I read the reviews on this little sewing machine and figured I would give it a shot. It seemed it was a love it or hate it with the reviews. My plan was to use the sewing machine on batteries when at our off-grid cabin. The main use will be sewing quilt blocks. I was really surprised what nice stitches it makes. It is not real powerful when running on batteries but it is more than powerful enough for simple quilt blocks and other simple stitching. It is so small and light weight that it is hard to take it serious as a sewing machine when you see it but it is a real sewing machine and oh-sew portable.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bloomintea
Kempner, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7/20/2012

Customer review by momofmst

1.0 stars 7/20/2012 by momofmst
by momofmst

I bought this for my daughter for her 12th birthday. I thought it would be a good first sewing machine. She has only had it for a month and a half and it is broken already. The jack to plug in the foot petal fell out in the first week. The swich sewing goes to fast,and today the hand wheel came off. I thought it would be a good value, but it isnt. Maybe I should have bought her a more expensive one.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
momofmst
Logansport, IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good size, nice design, but cheaply made
11/16/2012

Customer review by Trulisse

2.0 stars 11/16/2012 by Trulisse
by Trulisse

Great size & easy storage. Really liked the power function of not having to use a pedal & it goes! Also like the magnetic bobbin feature. Not happy with the feed. I am just a beginner & using a basic cotton broadcloth & it does not move well, have to really guide it through to keep it moving (not much power). Gets un-threaded easily & having to slip it through a little hole near the needle at a weird angle. It is a pain. Don't like that you cannot use a basic spool of thread & have to wind it on the small spool that it comes with (like a bobbin). Overall fabric gets caught easily & because of the lack of power with the feed, I find the fabric getting stuck quite often. I am returning this & would not recommend.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trulisse
SLC, UT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Hated it at first, now pleasantly surprised.
10/8/2013

Customer review by AquaOpal

4.0 stars 10/8/2013 by AquaOpal
by AquaOpal

I have never sewn before but after messing with this machine for awhile I finally got the hang of it. I had to watch some YT tutorials on how to properly thread and install the bobbin and little nit picking things like that. Some of the mistakes that were made by this machine was due to my own errors (i.e. not threading the needle in the right direction). But once I got that down I have completed several sewing projects. Some material it simply will not sew (too thick) but on most things this machine has performed well. I still have yet to attempt to sew patches on my cub scout's uniform.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AquaOpal
Gainesville,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
5/15/2012

Customer review by noganano

4.0 stars 5/15/2012 by noganano
by noganano

great sewing mach for easy and light sewing not a heavy duty

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
noganano
cortland manor
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
11/11/2012

Customer review by GrandmaGlendale

1.0 stars 11/11/2012 by GrandmaGlendale
by GrandmaGlendale

Did not perform to my expectations although I have been sewing for over 60 yrs & bought it to teach my granddaughter to learn to sew. The web site to watch a "How to" video was not operational & the directions that came with it were not accurate: Example: Inserting the needle, the directions said to have the flat side facing forward-wrong. The upper thread had to be threaded through the hole of the thread guide that is located directly above the needle. After setting it up, I decided it would be too frustrating for a beginner if I, as an experienced sewer, was indeed, frustrated. I returned it to the store & received a prompt refund, which I used to buy a full size machine with an outlay of only $20 more dollars.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandmaGlendale
Glendale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
saddened sew-stress
12/5/2012

Customer review by ShellsLand

2.0 stars 12/5/2012 by ShellsLand
by ShellsLand

I used to sew years ago and I've always wanted my own sewing machine. I was low on cash and I wanted to make my Christmas gifts. The thread always got caught in the bobbin, the machine always jammed, just now the needle broke. Needless to say I'm not happy. I guess this an ok machine if you only plan on fixing an occasional hem. Overall, you get what you pay for..... :-(

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ShellsLand
Frederick,
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/26/2012

Customer review by Ome12

5.0 stars 11/26/2012 by Ome12
by Ome12

Bought two of these for my granddaughters first sewing machines. Was very pleased with the quality for the money. Recommended it to my sister for her granddaughter. They are a little noisy but not too bad considering the price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ome12
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/23/2012

Customer review by Mslateaf

3.0 stars 5/23/2012 by Mslateaf
by Mslateaf

Nice sewing machine. I would recommend it to any one.

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mslateaf
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
WONDERFUL VERY PLEASED!
12/9/2012

Customer review by GRANNY211

5.0 stars 12/9/2012 by GRANNY211
by GRANNY211

Bought this for my Greatgrand daughter. She loves crafts. I sewed on this for about an hour. sewed wonderful. easy to operate and to thread. I AM VERY HAPPY.and she will be too!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GRANNY211
Somerset, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Never worked
5/27/2013

Customer review by 32780Mom0f5

1.0 stars 5/27/2013 by 32780Mom0f5
by 32780Mom0f5

I got this for my 9 year old daughter for Christmas. Could not get it to work. Tried using customer service, but they were very hard to get ahold of. When I did get an answer, it didn't help. Now I cant reach anyone at all. Very frustrating for both my daughter & I.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
32780Mom0f5
Titusville florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
I dont recommend this to no one.
4/8/2013

Customer review by is8189

1.0 stars 4/8/2013 by is8189
by is8189

I recently orderes this product online and once I got it with the 10 minutes I was using it it stopped working. Not worth it

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
is8189
wildomar ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
12/27/2012

Customer review by Lyndex

2.0 stars 12/27/2012 by Lyndex
by Lyndex

this machine runs very rough. it does well on the stitches but seems to malfunction in the reverse stitch. every time my daughter uses the reverse it jams. The manual is not good at all. very little information for what you need. If I have not found the problem in reverse stitching I will return it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lyndex
Canton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great for a beginner.
6/6/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 6/6/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

also small enough to able to take with me on trips.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews