Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 64 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

64 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
11
1-20 of 53 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews
meets my needs
3/22/2013

Customer review by calla

3.0 stars 3/22/2013 by calla
by calla

I received this little machine 2 days ago from a big chain store for 56.25 When I saw the price at Walmart I could have flipped--39.97 The machine arrived with a sample piece of fabric under the presser foot with all the different stitches. After reading every word in the manual, I plugged it in and only tried a few stitches on the sample fabric, the stitches looked exactly what had been sewn on the fabric sample. In the manual on page 10--it states the thickness of cloth to use with this machine. Best to sew double layers of cloth, thus every stitch is available. And best to use No. 6, 7, and 8 stitch to sew soft cloth or silk instead of other stitch patterns. As for the thread breaking the problem maybe the needle or tension as suggested in the problem page in back of the manual. The main purpose of purchasing this machine was to use in our 5th wheel when traveling. I think it will do its job for what I want it to do. A word to the wise---ALWAYS CHECK WALMART PRICES FIRST

Was this review helpful? (56) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
calla
Alpine, Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Great little sewing machine
1/14/2016

Customer review by Cutie102

5.0 stars 1/14/2016 by Cutie102
by Cutie102

The sewing machine arrived within a week undamaged and well packaged. The sewing machine was a little bigger then I was expecting it to be, but other then that. It worked great and it makes a great beginner sewing machine. The sewing machine just isn't designed for sewing thick fabric like, thick blue jeans, quilts, and comforters. This sewing machine is only designed for sewing thin fabric. I tried sewing something thin and it worked great, but when I tried sewing something thick. The needle bent almost in half. It you wont to sew think fabric. You would most likely need a thicker needle designed for sewing think fabric or a bigger sewing machine. This is a beginners sewing machine. So don't expect it to sew every type of fabric, because it wont. The sewing machine is only useful for small projects. Any attempts to sew thick quilts, blankets, or coats, will cause the needle to bend or brake. One last think. If the sewing machine isn't threaded right or low on thread on the bobbin or thread spools. The sewing machine will not sew until thread spool or bobbin thread is refilled or replaced. So don't assume the sewing machine is broken.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cutie102
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for beginners!
12/16/2015

Customer review by eveyfinding

4.0 stars 12/16/2015 by eveyfinding
by eveyfinding

I stood in line during Black Friday a few years ago just for this little guy, and I'm so glad I did! I've always just sewn by hand, but when I started sewing dresses, I learned tha it's a very, very long process to sew strictly by hand. So I knew it was time to invest in a sewing machine. This was great for the price, and it is very beginner-friendly. I love how easy it is to use (just read the manual!). I taught myself how to thread the machine (is that how you say it?), the difference between the types of stiches, etc. I've had this for a couple years now, and it's been fabulous! I've made dresses, pillows, blankets, stuffed animals, and more all because of this machine. I have two complaints though... Because it is slightly smaller than the regular size for sewing machines, it takes smaller spools of thread. I wish I would have known that before I went out to by more thread. I couldn't fit the spool on the little stick because it was too big for my small machine. That was disappointing. Second complaint is that sometimes the thread will break, shred, etc. It was really bad at first, and it's gotten better as I've learned to use it. However, it continues to break, and I don't like having to re-thread every 10 minutes or so. I've heard similar complaints from others who have the same machine. Overall, I'm so glad I invested in this. I'm looking to upgrade, but this little guy has done wonders for sure!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eveyfinding
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love the machine BUT.......
1/6/2016

Customer review by DonnaShreveportLA

1.0 stars 1/6/2016 by DonnaShreveportLA
by DonnaShreveportLA

This was a christmas gift for my granddaughter. We just took the machine out of the box/plug it in the wall socket and the machine start running in the off postion. I will be returning this to the store.

Was this review helpful? (1) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DonnaShreveportLA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't Like it
2/19/2012

Customer review by Kris1777

3.0 stars 2/19/2012 by Kris1777
by Kris1777

I thought this would be a great sewing machine, but after I began to use it, it wasn't at all what I expected. It doesn't sew straight and sometimes it gets stuck and will not stop. Plus you have to keep untangling the bobbin, Maybe this would be good for a kid that is first learning on how to sew but not for sewers.

Was this review helpful? (112) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kris1777
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good learner, minor frustrations
7/8/2012

Customer review by mgarc73

3.0 stars 7/8/2012 by mgarc73
by mgarc73

This is a good sewing machine for a beginner or for someone who wants to occasionally craft. I purchased it for my 7 yo daughter to use for making doll clothes, etc. It is extremely light weight and small making it very easy to store when not in use. I wanted something with a foot pedal vs. just batteries and the fact that this machine comes with a pedal is a bonus compared to other small machines in the same price category. We have not used every stitch thus far - - only the straight stitch and the zig zag stitch. Each have worked fine. It is very easy to switch between stitches by using the dial on the front of the machine. Being an experienced sewer, it was easy for me to overcome any of the frustrations that came with this machine but an inexperienced sewer might give up on sewing altogether if using this independently (without someone there to help you out/to help you problem solve). Here is a rundown of the issues that we had with the machine: - The thread broke quite frequently but that being said, this machine is VERY easy to thread. - The bobbin winder was pretty ineffective, winding the bobbin very poorly and sloppily. The thread slipped off the bobbin while winding and wound itself, instead, around the bobbin pin (perhaps there is a missing cap or something of that sorts?) Rather than struggling with this I just used my little side winder to wind any bobbins that we needed. Please note that you must use metal bobbins with this machine as the bobbin tension is set with a magnet. - The machine comes with a cap to put on top of the spool, but we almost immediately lost this top. :( This is not your typical cap. Rather than sitting on top of the thread it kind of "locks" into place. The machine still works without it, but the thread will sometimes, but infrequently slip without this part. - Spool size is an issue with this machine. Only the smaller half-sized thread spools will fit in this machine. This is not really because of height but rather girth. The spool pin sits down in a little gully of sorts. A regular sized spool is too fat to fit in this gully. In addition to the half size spools, I also managed to use the taller, skinnier Gutterman thread spools with this machine. When using these you can not us the spool cap at all. Without this cap, the thread sometimes slipped. - The feed dog is very, very weak. You have to basically use some light pushing and pulling to get the fabric through. This became a nuisance at both the beginning and ending edges of the project, and was very challenging for my 7 yo daughter. We overcame this by me starting and finishing off each row for her. But, it should be noted that even I had a difficult time starting and stopping each row since without a properly working feed dog, the fabric would easily get stuck in the machine. This issue also made it very difficult to keep a straight line while sewing. - The arm on the machine is what you see is what you get - - stationery. So, doing arm holes or hemming would be rather difficult on this. Bottom line - - if you are wanting to sew seriously and this is your only machine - - I would not purchase this. But, if you are teaching someone to sew and want to spend little this seems to be an o.k. purchase used in conjunction with existing sewing tools that you already own (such as bobbin winder, more advanced machine, etc). Another good use of this machine is if you want a lightweight portable occasional machine for crafting or light sewing, this machine will do the job.

Was this review helpful? (240) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mgarc73
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Desktop sewing m/c good for small craft project
12/6/2012

Customer review by lshaikh

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by lshaikh
by lshaikh
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I brought this sewing machine for my mother who wanted a handy machine for alteration and small craft projects. It met her expectation but if you are looking for a sturdy and fast machine buy a full size model. The price and quality seems reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lshaikh
Easton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for beginners (Kids)
12/26/2013

Customer review by MissT4Real

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by MissT4Real
by MissT4Real
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My 10 year old granddaughter has developed an interest in sewing. She made pillows of all family members with my sewing machine. When she opened her gifts and saw this machine, she was overjoyed! She could not wait to use. It is more her size and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (71) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissT4Real
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
2/29/2012

Customer review by dezzie48

1.0 stars 2/29/2012 by dezzie48
by dezzie48

if you are doing small projects its ok but would not recommend if you are a person that is going to sew a lot, not a good choice presser foot too small.

Was this review helpful? (56) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dezzie48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Little Machine
12/9/2015

Customer review by Diane

5.0 stars 12/9/2015 by Diane
by Diane

Purchased this for my 7 year old granddaughter as a Christmas present. It came already threaded which was very nice. And with an extra set of white and black threads and bobbins. Tensions were also set. It is very light weight which made me a little worried about quality. But I played around with all the stitches and it seems to work fine for what it was purchased for. Its not something to use on heavier fabric, but for light weight cotton it should be fine.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Diane
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/6/2012

Customer review by santheen

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by santheen
by santheen

this is a great startter machine, i just have to get use to the machine running without me stepping on pedal.

Was this review helpful? (46) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
santheen
stafford, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Don't risk it.
2/14/2013

Customer review by bcjad

1.0 stars 2/14/2013 by bcjad
by bcjad
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I've know how to sew for 60 years--learned on an old-fasioned treadle machine and moved on from there. I never did figure out how to get this machine to catch a stitch. I suspect the problem was with the bobbin, but I couldn't be sure. There was nothing in the printed directions to help me. When I called the customer "help" number a recording referred me to the web page. When I went to the web page, there were no FAQ's as promised and when I clicked "support", the screen said that page couldn't be found. At that point, I gave up. I hope I just happened to get a rare lemon, but the customer support fiasco might indicate otherwise.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bcjad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
was given as a charity gift
12/8/2015

Customer review by MrsKringle

3.0 stars 12/8/2015 by MrsKringle
by MrsKringle

I honestly cannot give a rating or a review as this was a 9 yr. old's request through the local Goodfellow"s Christmas Charity drive. It looked & felt substantial, had 8 different stitch patterns, but i was amazed at how compact it was (compared to my Singer :) ). I just hope it makes this young girl happy and possibly a future star on Project Runway Junior

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsKringle
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this little machine
8/8/2012

Customer review by Dairhean

2.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Dairhean
by Dairhean

I use this machine for sewing quilt pieces together and for ditch quilting. It can attach borders with difficulty. I have to use the hand wheel and a 16 gauge needle for this. I would not recommend it for garments because the stitches are not tight enough. However, the looseness of the stitches and longer stitch length (3 options) make it perfect for quilting. I have a 1972 model Husqvarna Viking and a 1964 Montgomery Ward Straight Stitch, and this Michley is my every day machine. I love the light weight portability. I can use it anywhere. Other machines have feet and require special furniture. This one has a flat base so I can use it on any level surface, even my lap. The slow speed means fewer mistakes and consistent seams. I also like the drop in bobbin. This machine has a lot of drawbacks. It is not for the impatient or the inexperienced. It does not function like a standard machine because it does not have the motor power. It only has one speed and that is slow. The wiring schematic was not followed correctly in the factory and this basically makes it a lemon. But, I've learned to make lemonade. Disregard what it says in the item description. This machine must be used with the foot pedal and the switch in the OFF position. The Low/High switch positions were mis-wired in the factory and do not function properly. Using these positions will cause the machine to run by itself with or without the foot pedal. It sews fine with the switch in the OFF position using the foot pedal. Do not try to use it any other way; you will only get frustrated. The back stitch function is difficult because the switch doesn't lock. You have to hold it down with one hand while guiding the fabric with the other. An auto stitch lock function would have been better, but they probably would have screwed that up too. The length of even the shortest stitch makes back stitching a waste of time anyway. I leave long tails of thread when I remove a finished piece from the machine, tie a knot in each and pull the thread under the fabric with a needle like in hand quilting. The thread loop (number 2 position on the machine) does not hold the thread very well. It will occasionally come out and the thread will catch in the bobbin, causing a bird's nest and the machine will hang up. A simple solution is, using two small strips of the new painter's tape, secure a piece of fabric over the opening. The thread will not slip or adhere to the tape. This new tape does not leave a sticky residue and can be removed and placed back easily for threading. The spool pin does not accommodate a standard spool. I use a bobbin on the spool pin and it works just fine. This trick can be used on any machine and several bobbins with different thread colors can be stacked on the pin. To change thread, simply remove it from the needle and place it back out of the way and re-thread with a different color without moving the bobbins. This works for using a twin or multi-needle when you only have one spool pin and for embroidery. The plate does not have seam guides, so I marked 1/4 and 1/2 inch with an ultra fine permanent marker. I haven't used the bobbin winder because I have a Side Winder. Considering that the machine does not function properly, I feel that I paid too much for it. $20 would have been a better price. I still like the machine and will continue to use it.

Was this review helpful? (32) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Dairhean
Bradley, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great sewing machine for a 7 year old beginner.
12/30/2012

Customer review by GrammySew

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by GrammySew
by GrammySew

The power in the machine is just right for a young beginner. She can control it easily. And yet when she masters sewing you can use the faster speed button. She stitched her Girls Scott badges on with ease. Love the many stitch selections. I worried that I should have spend my money on a more advanced model for her but I am very happy with the machine. I have been a sewer for many years so I have some knowledge as to how a machine works. On any machine, the bobbin area can easily jam up, you have to be careful to keep the threads in the bobbin area how they should be.

Was this review helpful? (47) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GrammySew
Hoffman Estates, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent for light usage
12/17/2013

Customer review by grocshopgal

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by grocshopgal
by grocshopgal
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I love to quilt. I have been using it for sewing my quilt blocks. It is good if you don't have a lot of room. Also for the first time sewer very good.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
grocshopgal
Ward AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quit on Day 1
1/20/2015

Customer review by consumerzz

1.0 stars 1/20/2015 by consumerzz
by consumerzz

This machine was a very poor purchase. I had to return it the very first day! It is poorly constructed. When I tried to change the bobbin, the mechanism fell apart!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
consumerzz
Would recommend to a friend? No
Cute
10/16/2015

Customer review by Sueblue

5.0 stars 10/16/2015 by Sueblue
by Sueblue

A good sewing machine for a teenager learning how to sow.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sueblue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Hate it!
9/27/2012

Customer review by Blueraven60

1.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Blueraven60
by Blueraven60

It's way too slow to get anything done and the stitch size is inconsistent. So is the tension. Pay the $60 and get something that works!

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Blueraven60
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Started off okay but it doesn't last
7/15/2014

Customer review by RockyMtnReviewer

1.0 stars 7/15/2014 by RockyMtnReviewer
by RockyMtnReviewer

I am a serious novice when it comes to sewing but I needed a simple machine to sew the dozens and dozens of patches and merit badges on my sons' Boy Scout uniforms. This machine worked okay for about a year, but now suddenly the bobbin thread won't engage with the top thread. I spent hours trying to work this out with the product maker via email, to no avail. While they did respond, they really didn't have the advice I needed to fix it. I even took it into a sewing machine repair shop who couldn't figure out why the bobbin thread wouldn't pull through. They of course told me it was a cheap P.O.S. So the bottom line is - it worked for a while, but you get what you pay for. This was just too cheap and I should have know better. I'll spend a little more on the next one so it will last longer

Was this review helpful? (5) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RockyMtnReviewer
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1-20 of 53 reviews