Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 55 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

55 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

55 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 stars
10
1-20 of 44 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews
Good learner, minor frustrations
7/8/2012

Customer review by mgarc73

3.0 stars 7/8/2012 by mgarc73
by mgarc73

This is a good sewing machine for a beginner or for someone who wants to occasionally craft. I purchased it for my 7 yo daughter to use for making doll clothes, etc. It is extremely light weight and small making it very easy to store when not in use. I wanted something with a foot pedal vs. just batteries and the fact that this machine comes with a pedal is a bonus compared to other small machines in the same price category. We have not used every stitch thus far - - only the straight stitch and the zig zag stitch. Each have worked fine. It is very easy to switch between stitches by using the dial on the front of the machine. Being an experienced sewer, it was easy for me to overcome any of the frustrations that came with this machine but an inexperienced sewer might give up on sewing altogether if using this independently (without someone there to help you out/to help you problem solve). Here is a rundown of the issues that we had with the machine: - The thread broke quite frequently but that being said, this machine is VERY easy to thread. - The bobbin winder was pretty ineffective, winding the bobbin very poorly and sloppily. The thread slipped off the bobbin while winding and wound itself, instead, around the bobbin pin (perhaps there is a missing cap or something of that sorts?) Rather than struggling with this I just used my little side winder to wind any bobbins that we needed. Please note that you must use metal bobbins with this machine as the bobbin tension is set with a magnet. - The machine comes with a cap to put on top of the spool, but we almost immediately lost this top. :( This is not your typical cap. Rather than sitting on top of the thread it kind of "locks" into place. The machine still works without it, but the thread will sometimes, but infrequently slip without this part. - Spool size is an issue with this machine. Only the smaller half-sized thread spools will fit in this machine. This is not really because of height but rather girth. The spool pin sits down in a little gully of sorts. A regular sized spool is too fat to fit in this gully. In addition to the half size spools, I also managed to use the taller, skinnier Gutterman thread spools with this machine. When using these you can not us the spool cap at all. Without this cap, the thread sometimes slipped. - The feed dog is very, very weak. You have to basically use some light pushing and pulling to get the fabric through. This became a nuisance at both the beginning and ending edges of the project, and was very challenging for my 7 yo daughter. We overcame this by me starting and finishing off each row for her. But, it should be noted that even I had a difficult time starting and stopping each row since without a properly working feed dog, the fabric would easily get stuck in the machine. This issue also made it very difficult to keep a straight line while sewing. - The arm on the machine is what you see is what you get - - stationery. So, doing arm holes or hemming would be rather difficult on this. Bottom line - - if you are wanting to sew seriously and this is your only machine - - I would not purchase this. But, if you are teaching someone to sew and want to spend little this seems to be an o.k. purchase used in conjunction with existing sewing tools that you already own (such as bobbin winder, more advanced machine, etc). Another good use of this machine is if you want a lightweight portable occasional machine for crafting or light sewing, this machine will do the job.

Was this review helpful? (187) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mgarc73
Austin, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't Like it
2/19/2012

Customer review by Kris1777

3.0 stars 2/19/2012 by Kris1777
by Kris1777

I thought this would be a great sewing machine, but after I began to use it, it wasn't at all what I expected. It doesn't sew straight and sometimes it gets stuck and will not stop. Plus you have to keep untangling the bobbin, Maybe this would be good for a kid that is first learning on how to sew but not for sewers.

Was this review helpful? (92) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kris1777
FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
2/29/2012

Customer review by dezzie48

1.0 stars 2/29/2012 by dezzie48
by dezzie48

if you are doing small projects its ok but would not recommend if you are a person that is going to sew a lot, not a good choice presser foot too small.

Was this review helpful? (49) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dezzie48
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great for beginners (Kids)
12/26/2013

Customer review by MissT4Real

5.0 stars 12/26/2013 by MissT4Real
by MissT4Real

My 10 year old granddaughter has developed an interest in sewing. She made pillows of all family members with my sewing machine. When she opened her gifts and saw this machine, she was overjoyed! She could not wait to use. It is more her size and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (53) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissT4Real
Pittsburgh, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
meets my needs
3/22/2013

Customer review by calla

3.0 stars 3/22/2013 by calla
by calla

I received this little machine 2 days ago from a big chain store for 56.25 When I saw the price at Walmart I could have flipped--39.97 The machine arrived with a sample piece of fabric under the presser foot with all the different stitches. After reading every word in the manual, I plugged it in and only tried a few stitches on the sample fabric, the stitches looked exactly what had been sewn on the fabric sample. In the manual on page 10--it states the thickness of cloth to use with this machine. Best to sew double layers of cloth, thus every stitch is available. And best to use No. 6, 7, and 8 stitch to sew soft cloth or silk instead of other stitch patterns. As for the thread breaking the problem maybe the needle or tension as suggested in the problem page in back of the manual. The main purpose of purchasing this machine was to use in our 5th wheel when traveling. I think it will do its job for what I want it to do. A word to the wise---ALWAYS CHECK WALMART PRICES FIRST

Was this review helpful? (34) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
calla
Alpine, Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
3/6/2012

Customer review by santheen

5.0 stars 3/6/2012 by santheen
by santheen

this is a great startter machine, i just have to get use to the machine running without me stepping on pedal.

Was this review helpful? (42) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
santheen
stafford, tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
I love this little machine
8/8/2012

Customer review by Dairhean

2.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Dairhean
by Dairhean

I use this machine for sewing quilt pieces together and for ditch quilting. It can attach borders with difficulty. I have to use the hand wheel and a 16 gauge needle for this. I would not recommend it for garments because the stitches are not tight enough. However, the looseness of the stitches and longer stitch length (3 options) make it perfect for quilting. I have a 1972 model Husqvarna Viking and a 1964 Montgomery Ward Straight Stitch, and this Michley is my every day machine. I love the light weight portability. I can use it anywhere. Other machines have feet and require special furniture. This one has a flat base so I can use it on any level surface, even my lap. The slow speed means fewer mistakes and consistent seams. I also like the drop in bobbin. This machine has a lot of drawbacks. It is not for the impatient or the inexperienced. It does not function like a standard machine because it does not have the motor power. It only has one speed and that is slow. The wiring schematic was not followed correctly in the factory and this basically makes it a lemon. But, I've learned to make lemonade. Disregard what it says in the item description. This machine must be used with the foot pedal and the switch in the OFF position. The Low/High switch positions were mis-wired in the factory and do not function properly. Using these positions will cause the machine to run by itself with or without the foot pedal. It sews fine with the switch in the OFF position using the foot pedal. Do not try to use it any other way; you will only get frustrated. The back stitch function is difficult because the switch doesn't lock. You have to hold it down with one hand while guiding the fabric with the other. An auto stitch lock function would have been better, but they probably would have screwed that up too. The length of even the shortest stitch makes back stitching a waste of time anyway. I leave long tails of thread when I remove a finished piece from the machine, tie a knot in each and pull the thread under the fabric with a needle like in hand quilting. The thread loop (number 2 position on the machine) does not hold the thread very well. It will occasionally come out and the thread will catch in the bobbin, causing a bird's nest and the machine will hang up. A simple solution is, using two small strips of the new painter's tape, secure a piece of fabric over the opening. The thread will not slip or adhere to the tape. This new tape does not leave a sticky residue and can be removed and placed back easily for threading. The spool pin does not accommodate a standard spool. I use a bobbin on the spool pin and it works just fine. This trick can be used on any machine and several bobbins with different thread colors can be stacked on the pin. To change thread, simply remove it from the needle and place it back out of the way and re-thread with a different color without moving the bobbins. This works for using a twin or multi-needle when you only have one spool pin and for embroidery. The plate does not have seam guides, so I marked 1/4 and 1/2 inch with an ultra fine permanent marker. I haven't used the bobbin winder because I have a Side Winder. Considering that the machine does not function properly, I feel that I paid too much for it. $20 would have been a better price. I still like the machine and will continue to use it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dairhean
Bradley, OK
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great sewing machine for a 7 year old beginner.
12/30/2012

Customer review by GrammySew

5.0 stars 12/30/2012 by GrammySew
by GrammySew

The power in the machine is just right for a young beginner. She can control it easily. And yet when she masters sewing you can use the faster speed button. She stitched her Girls Scott badges on with ease. Love the many stitch selections. I worried that I should have spend my money on a more advanced model for her but I am very happy with the machine. I have been a sewer for many years so I have some knowledge as to how a machine works. On any machine, the bobbin area can easily jam up, you have to be careful to keep the threads in the bobbin area how they should be.

Was this review helpful? (43) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrammySew
Hoffman Estates, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Excellent for light usage
12/17/2013

Customer review by grocshopgal

4.0 stars 12/17/2013 by grocshopgal
by grocshopgal

I love to quilt. I have been using it for sewing my quilt blocks. It is good if you don't have a lot of room. Also for the first time sewer very good.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grocshopgal
Ward AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Terrible product.
1/10/2013

Customer review by Pfauxmeh

2.0 stars 1/10/2013 by Pfauxmeh
by Pfauxmeh

I bought the Michley as a first sewing machine. I wanted to learn how to sew and I was excited to try. I learned a lot with this machine...mostly about what things can go wrong. I had issues with: - The thread coming out of the eye several times in the middle of sewing. Occasional breakage also. - I had no idea how to thread the bobbin. I did it by accident a few times, but it was hard. I looked in the manual AND I watched several videos to try to figure it out to no avail. I had to go to a sewing store and have a professional help me. The lady told me that this machine was more of a cheap child's toy than a sewing machine. - One time, the needle just fell right off in the middle of sewing. - The top thread didn't want to pick up the bobbin thread a few times. I had to call customer service at one point. They could barely speak English and had very little skill or politeness. - The machine is very noisy and the bobbin spinner shakes/clanks like it's falling apart. - The tension is very hard to manage. I had issues with skipping, keeping the thread even and tight, etc. - The bobbin winder was AWFUL. It would wind the thread normally and tightly at first, then it would widen and send little loops out all over the place. I tried to sew with it just like that and numerous times, the machine would eat the loops of thread because they'd hang out. - The thread will sometimes come off and wrap around the top or the bottom of the holder. - The plastic thread holder is cheap and will pop right off if you let it. Admittedly, I learned how to machine sew no problem. But all of the issues it took to learn plus all of the bad things that continuously cropped up ARE NOT WORTH IT! I know everyone is trying to save money these days, but my advice is to save your money for a better machine with a real name behind it, such as Singer or Brother. Do some research and get a machine that will last you YEARS, not a couple of months like mine. I returned this machine and I will avoid Michley/Tivax products like the plague.

Was this review helpful? (14) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Pfauxmeh
Hiram, GA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Hate it!
9/27/2012

Customer review by Blueraven60

1.0 stars 9/27/2012 by Blueraven60
by Blueraven60

It's way too slow to get anything done and the stitch size is inconsistent. So is the tension. Pay the $60 and get something that works!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Blueraven60
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Don't risk it.
2/14/2013

Customer review by bcjad

1.0 stars 2/14/2013 by bcjad
by bcjad

I've know how to sew for 60 years--learned on an old-fasioned treadle machine and moved on from there. I never did figure out how to get this machine to catch a stitch. I suspect the problem was with the bobbin, but I couldn't be sure. There was nothing in the printed directions to help me. When I called the customer "help" number a recording referred me to the web page. When I went to the web page, there were no FAQ's as promised and when I clicked "support", the screen said that page couldn't be found. At that point, I gave up. I hope I just happened to get a rare lemon, but the customer support fiasco might indicate otherwise.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bcjad
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Machine
9/11/2012

Customer review by zygulka

5.0 stars 9/11/2012 by zygulka
by zygulka

I used couple time recently. It is small what suit me. Easy to operate and only for simple mending. I like it.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zygulka
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great sewing machine for beginners
10/30/2012

Customer review by TahMoney

5.0 stars 10/30/2012 by TahMoney
by TahMoney

I believe this product is great . I would recommend this to everyone who wants to sew .

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TahMoney
philadelphia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Desktop sewing m/c good for small craft project
12/6/2012

Customer review by lshaikh

4.0 stars 12/6/2012 by lshaikh
by lshaikh

I brought this sewing machine for my mother who wanted a handy machine for alteration and small craft projects. It met her expectation but if you are looking for a sturdy and fast machine buy a full size model. The price and quality seems reasonable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lshaikh
Easton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/1/2013

Customer review by javita18

5.0 stars 10/1/2013 by javita18
by javita18

I love the easy to carry around sewing machine as it is very light weight. I tried the basic stitches and worked very good. It is going to be a gift, so the other features were not checked out.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
javita18
Round Rock, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really is So easy'
11/22/2014

Customer review by HappyNanabanana

5.0 stars 11/22/2014 by HappyNanabanana
by HappyNanabanana

Bought for 11 yr. old granddaughter and she loves it. Easy to learn how to sew with this machine. My son-in-law showed her one time and she picked it up and ran with it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyNanabanana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/7/2013

Customer review by kiani143

1.0 stars 4/7/2013 by kiani143
by kiani143

Dont but this machine its way to small and doesn't work I Recived it and it only worked for 1 min then it got stuck didnt work at all returned it .

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kiani143
Philly ,pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Quit on Day 1
1/20/2015

Customer review by consumerzz

1.0 stars 1/20/2015 by consumerzz
by consumerzz

This machine was a very poor purchase. I had to return it the very first day! It is poorly constructed. When I tried to change the bobbin, the mechanism fell apart!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
consumerzz
Would recommend to a friend? No
great lil sewing machine
11/20/2014

Customer review by NCRetirees

5.0 stars 11/20/2014 by NCRetirees
by NCRetirees

We needed a small sewing machine to do mending and small sewing jobs. Easy enough for my husband to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NCRetirees
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1-20 of 44 reviews