Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
16
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
1-20 of 75 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
1st reader for me
1/5/2012

Customer review by Oldman2u

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Oldman2u
by Oldman2u

As my nickname implies, I am a 74 year old man. This is the very first reader I've ever owned and I am reading almost on a constant daily basis. After looking at all the other brands, decided on this Sony. Am I glad I did! Haven't had ANY of the problems that other posters have mentioned here on this product. Touch screen is very fast, either by finger, stylus, or controls on bottom. Love the feature that it remembers your place, even if you wait a day, read another book on the reader, then return to the original, it brings up the very page where you left off. Thin style, page numbered at the bottom of every page, ie, 208 of 452. Been using 2 weeks and battery is still showing a full charge. Able to connect w/any public library where you have a card, check out books @ no charge. That's an economical benefit to actually having to buy a book. It comes in 3 different colors, black, purple, or pink. I ordered the black one and it was delivered to my door in 2 days. What else can I say? Oh yes, no longer have to burn gas going back and forth to the local library any more! This thing will pay for itself in no time. Can you tell I like this product? :-)

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oldman2u
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Excellent Ebook Reader
4/7/2012

Customer review by TheElectronicsGuy

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by TheElectronicsGuy
by TheElectronicsGuy

Working in Walmart's Electronics Department, I get to play with the different brands of E-Readers and tablets quite a bit. This is probably the best 4th gen ebook reader, excluding the Ipad and Kindle Fire which are more expensive and don't have the e-paper display. I chose the PRS-T1 over the Kindle, Kindle touch and the Nook touch for it's expanded list of supported formats and lack of advertisements while I read; as well as the light weight and open-source book support for library rentals. It has a great touch screen, supports mobi, azw, JPEG (in black and white), and PDF, and allows you to surf the internet (via wifi) or listen to Mp3 music while you read. The battery life is superb, on first charge it allowed me to read more than 16 books and is still at 50%. You can charge it via the included USB cable via your PC, or (as I found out) any 5volt microUSB phone charger between the 1000-2000mah range will also charge it with no problem. This means almost any phone charger for cell phones or bluetooth headsets made since 2009 can be used to charge the PRS-T1 reader. My only complaint is that it feels rather fragile with the extremely light weight and large glass screen, and I hesitate to take it traveling with me. I am waiting to get a decent cover or carrying case (which are expensive), and I imagine that will fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheElectronicsGuy
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Sony
4/27/2012

Customer review by Ginny45

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Ginny45
by Ginny45

Terrific item to have if you are a reader. And the website where you get books is also good. Sony can do no wrong.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ginny45
Angola NY
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Love it!
5/14/2012

Customer review by gagaforreading

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by gagaforreading
by gagaforreading

It is easy to jump right in and start using this ereader, very user friendly!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gagaforreading
colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Ereader
12/11/2011

Customer review by RB1234

5.0 stars 12/11/2011 by RB1234
by RB1234

This is an excellent product, especially now that the price has dropped. I checked out the Kobo Wifi beforehand, and I find the Sony Reader to be much better designed. The dictionary function leaves you on the page, so you can see your word in context. It also gives you links to look up online at Google or Wikipedia. Very handy! And the Library function is great! So easy to find and download library books, and also to "return" them when you are done. Much better that the Kobo system (we bought one for a friend and helped her set it up, so I have used both and Sony wins hands down). The software runs well and is easy to use. And it auto updates which makes things easy as well. Liked this so much we bought another one for my mum!

RB1234
Markham, ON
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
BIG Improvements
10/14/2011

Customer review by sabrothe

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by sabrothe
by sabrothe

I've always argued that Sony makes better readers overall because they were made with good materials and were not super restrictive over the ebook formats it allows. This new version will make kindle users sit up and take notice! I love all the new features and how light it is but what really caught me off guard was the FULL WEB BROWSER! I totally expected some native apps for Wiki, GoogleBooks, and the Reader Store, but they don't advertise that this reader has a full freaking browser, not just native apps! I was super excited to see that I could easily access gmail and news! My only issues with the new reader wifi are minor: 1) Sony no longer includes a basic cover with the reader (understandable really since the price has dropped dramatically). 2) The stylus cannot attach in any way to the reader itself. This means that losing the stylus is pretty much a given. 3) (this is really a software complaint) You still cannot edit tags of your ebooks directly from the Reader PC library (like editing artist or song name in iTunes). I understand this is more difficult for rtf, word or txt but you can easily do it in Calibre, so why not Reader? 4) This reader still cannot recognize .lit files! A ton of my files have to be converted to epub or pdf because the guys behind the Reader PC software still haven't included this format.

sabrothe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very pleased with the PRS-T1!
10/10/2011

Customer review by e4f4

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by e4f4
by e4f4

Just got mine yesterday. Had the PRS-505 which I liked a lot. This is even much, much better. Same size screen, but in a smaller, lighter package. Too, I really like the touch screen. You also get a scribe...you don't need it to read books, but it comes in handy for jotting notes. Also comes with a virtual keypad so that you can type notes. The Wi-Fi, dictionary, touch screen, note taker, audio, browser, photo album, huge storage, USB mini port, SD card slot...and so many other treats! Thanks, Sony! P.S.: Charges through the mini-USB port, connected to your computer. Fair enough...but, I've got to have a stand alone charger (available for $25). I understand...the price would increase accordingly, and this is a very competitive market. For me, a happy solution is that I realized the same charger for my HTC Incredible phone is a perfect match. I would still buy it, even if it meant paying extra for the charger. That's how much I like it.

e4f4
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Reader Wi-Fi
9/26/2011

Customer review by RadicalReader

5.0 stars 9/26/2011 by RadicalReader
by RadicalReader

This product looks amazing! Great price and the display is beautiful. Hands down, best Reader yet and at a great price! Library books directly to the unit from your local Library. Great sync feature. Built in wi-fi. What more could you need for reading books. Awesome!!

RadicalReader
Brooklyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent experience
12/7/2011

Customer review by newT1owner

5.0 stars 12/7/2011 by newT1owner
by newT1owner

A great option for those looking for a new eReader; Kindle doesn't have ePub or Library support, Kobo doesn't have the form-factor or traditionally-sexy Sony design-aesthetic. Only 4 stars for reliability since some freezing issues, but will be fixed by promised firmware update soon (hopefully!)

newT1owner
Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It is amazing!!
10/5/2011

Customer review by Joricy

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by Joricy
by Joricy

I just received this today and I am so impressed with the screen resolution. The words on the page are crystal clear. The compact size is perfect. The $149 price is more than reasonable. I had an older Sony Reader that I absolutely loved but this new one has blown the old one out of the water! Thank you, Sony! I HIGHLY recommend this new Reader.

Joricy
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great little reader
11/17/2011

Customer review by Sunnylady

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by Sunnylady
by Sunnylady

Recently bought the T1 for my husband--his very first reader. He looked at all the various readers at our local Best Buy and came home with the T1. His big concern has always been screen clarity and brightness. Sony leads the pack on this feature. He likes reading on the T1 and seems to be reading more. I like being able to change fonts, wish my 950 had that option. All in all a great little reader.

Sunnylady
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wow, what fun!
11/17/2011

Customer review by SonyGeek

5.0 stars 11/17/2011 by SonyGeek
by SonyGeek

Have been waiting for Sony to produce a competively priced touch screen reader and they've done it! The Reader for PC software and interface work very nicely, though there are some minor user-friently issues linking the reader for the purpose of backing it up. In all, it is a delight to use.

SonyGeek
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
All Sony Ebook Readers
12/21/2011

Customer review by Didip

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by Didip
by Didip

I have owned 2 ebook readers from Sony. The first one PR-505 was stolen from where I work. The 2nd was chewed up by my German Shepard and left in the rain in mud in my back yard. It still works - even though the entire case is scratched like crazy. After 5 years of experience with the Sony ebooks, and after purchasing a tablet computer just recently - I have to give the utmost kudos for Sony for building a great product for hard-core readers. It's too bad they kept the price so high for so long; now that they are even cheaper than what I purchased my first two for I will have to buy another one just so I can have a hot pink one to read!

Didip
Las Vegas, Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Im sure it will be Sony's usual top quality!
9/28/2011

Customer review by wimedtypr

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by wimedtypr
by wimedtypr

I currenlyt have 2 Sony ereaders. The original one which I consider my best gift ever when they first came out. It has sentimental value and also have an upgrade and now I cannot wait for this one. I like Sony because not only do they always stay competetive with features we want but they do not sacrifice on style and durability and functions. I love how easy the Sony Readerstore is to use as well as the fact I can borrow books from my local e-library, as well as buy books from any site that has Sony formats which is a lot. I love the durability and reliability of the ereaders as well as the accessories. This will be my first wifi reader so I am excited about that and I am excited about the lightness and the ability to pinch and expand (no more reading glasses). I love Sony products in general. There is a quality there you cannot match. You really get your moneys worth, way beyond. So I will post an update when I actually use the new reader. This again is a presale feedback.

wimedtypr
wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good move
9/22/2011

Customer review by Baboy

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by Baboy
by Baboy

This is a good move by Sony: trimming the product line to a single model, reducing the cost, adding WiFi, and bundling in a power adapter. I don't know why people are complaining about the lack of a 7-inch model. I had the 7-inch model for about a year, before losing it. When I replaced it a year ago, I got the 6-inch PRS-650, as it was cheaper. I expected the smaller size would be difficult to read or inconvenient. It isn't. I expected it would take some time to get used to. It didn't. And although it is only a little smaller than the 7-inch model it replaced, it is significantly more comfortable to hold while reading, and quite a bit more convenient to carry around (it just seems to fit into more pockets -- I can slide it into my cargo pants, for example, which wasn't possible with the 7-inch). Someone wanted to know if it's possible to zoom in on PDFs. It is on the 650, so unless Sony has taken their software backwards, I don't see why the new model would be any different. In fact, Sony's handling of PDFs is nothing short of amazing. My only complaint is that there's no trade-in program so that I can upgrade myself from the 650! (Can't really justify shelling out for what would be my third Reader in as many years!)

Baboy
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Upgrade
11/8/2011

Customer review by Kitdae

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by Kitdae
by Kitdae

I was fighting with myself over whether or not to upgrade from my PRS-600. Being that it was on sale this week I jumped on it and have since given my old one to my mom. The fact it is lighter is nice, but I'm afraid to tap it because of its not metal case. My old one had a very good protective case that is too big for this one and there is none on the market yet. I found an old kindle 3 case on clearance that seems decent until i have the money for a better one. The layout is much easier to use as opposed to the older ones. Though it took me a while to figure out i had to install another program to get it to work. I think it's nice of Sony to keep the older program the same, as upgrading tends to neglect older models. All in all, I enjoy having the new reader, and I love that the dictionary has its own button now!

Kitdae
Brick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ordered sight unseen
9/30/2011

Customer review by banjoman

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by banjoman
by banjoman

Sounds like a great reader. This is an answer to the person from Portland OR. Go for the Kobo if you must. I have a Kobo and my wife has a Sony Pocket Edition.Hers works perfectly and my Kobo is going into the trash as soon as I get my new Sony.Trouble downloading books from the Kobo site, can't get books from the public library and their help site is worthless.

banjoman
Peosta IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Touch screen
10/3/2011

Customer review by dreamingbear

5.0 stars 10/3/2011 by dreamingbear
by dreamingbear

There are people who do not want and/or cannot use a touch screen. Such as the old or disabled. I treasure my PRS-505. I also have a PRS-650 and an ant crawled on the screen one day. The screen went crazy. It took forever to find my place. How about a version without the touch screen? I know that there are some upgrades that would have to be changed around, but I have confidence in you.

dreamingbear
Decatur, Al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No I phone app for Sony
9/24/2011

Customer review by zendogs

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by zendogs
by zendogs

Sony has develop an app for the iPhone/ipod/ipad but it's apple who has tossed the wrench in the works. Sony has published a statement that they have opened a dialogue and are trying to work with apple. I have an iPod which gets kindle stuff, ibook, B&N, but not the Sony Store. I'd like Apple to make this happen. There is a NYT article, feb. this year that discusses it. Click on any button for the iPhone sony app and you'll get Sony's statement on the issue. I inherited an older Sony model, the 600. It's not backlit and it's not on line, nonetheless, I do like it. Feels like quality. The Sony Store has a better than average selection of Sci Fi. or so it seems. Sony Store has lots of good free stuff. The new one appeals just for the wi fi and the great colors. It's nice to shop right from one's reader. Good service from their techs too.

zendogs
southwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not just the best Reader but more....
1/4/2012

Customer review by DamianF

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by DamianF
by DamianF

This product is a Sony. That sums it up. Sony products are simply the best.

DamianF
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews