Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

68%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
16
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
1-20 of 75 total reviews
68%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews
1st reader for me
1/5/2012

Customer review by Oldman2u

5.0 stars 1/5/2012 by Oldman2u
by Oldman2u
Top 1000 contributor

As my nickname implies, I am a 74 year old man. This is the very first reader I've ever owned and I am reading almost on a constant daily basis. After looking at all the other brands, decided on this Sony. Am I glad I did! Haven't had ANY of the problems that other posters have mentioned here on this product. Touch screen is very fast, either by finger, stylus, or controls on bottom. Love the feature that it remembers your place, even if you wait a day, read another book on the reader, then return to the original, it brings up the very page where you left off. Thin style, page numbered at the bottom of every page, ie, 208 of 452. Been using 2 weeks and battery is still showing a full charge. Able to connect w/any public library where you have a card, check out books @ no charge. That's an economical benefit to actually having to buy a book. It comes in 3 different colors, black, purple, or pink. I ordered the black one and it was delivered to my door in 2 days. What else can I say? Oh yes, no longer have to burn gas going back and forth to the local library any more! This thing will pay for itself in no time. Can you tell I like this product? :-)

Was this review helpful? (27) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Oldman2u
Mobile, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Disappointed
10/23/2011

Customer review by Archaeo

2.0 stars 10/23/2011 by Archaeo
by Archaeo

I anxiously awaited Sony's new reader - I pre-ordered the new one as soon as the option was available. I also have the 505, which I will be going back to. The PRS-T1BC not what I had expected, nor do I want. The plastic is cheap and the layout is gimmicky. If I wanted a toy, I would have purchased a different brand. The reader froze twice within one hour - the first time after 30 minutes of reading normal text; then after an additional 10 minutes. Certainly not a stable platform. The touchscreen is far too sensitive - I am constantly getting the program to look up a word instead of moving the page ahead. I miss the page turning buttons on the right hand side. Requiring yet another form of book reader software is annoying - why could Sony not have integrated the old software with the new reader? As I mentioned at the beginning, I had anxiously waited for Sony to come out with another 6 inch screen; however, what they have delivered is quite the disappointment after my years with the 505.

Archaeo
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? No
Im sure it will be Sony's usual top quality!
9/28/2011

Customer review by wimedtypr

5.0 stars 9/28/2011 by wimedtypr
by wimedtypr

I currenlyt have 2 Sony ereaders. The original one which I consider my best gift ever when they first came out. It has sentimental value and also have an upgrade and now I cannot wait for this one. I like Sony because not only do they always stay competetive with features we want but they do not sacrifice on style and durability and functions. I love how easy the Sony Readerstore is to use as well as the fact I can borrow books from my local e-library, as well as buy books from any site that has Sony formats which is a lot. I love the durability and reliability of the ereaders as well as the accessories. This will be my first wifi reader so I am excited about that and I am excited about the lightness and the ability to pinch and expand (no more reading glasses). I love Sony products in general. There is a quality there you cannot match. You really get your moneys worth, way beyond. So I will post an update when I actually use the new reader. This again is a presale feedback.

wimedtypr
wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent Ebook Reader
4/7/2012

Customer review by TheElectronicsGuy

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by TheElectronicsGuy
by TheElectronicsGuy
Walmart associate

Working in Walmart's Electronics Department, I get to play with the different brands of E-Readers and tablets quite a bit. This is probably the best 4th gen ebook reader, excluding the Ipad and Kindle Fire which are more expensive and don't have the e-paper display. I chose the PRS-T1 over the Kindle, Kindle touch and the Nook touch for it's expanded list of supported formats and lack of advertisements while I read; as well as the light weight and open-source book support for library rentals. It has a great touch screen, supports mobi, azw, JPEG (in black and white), and PDF, and allows you to surf the internet (via wifi) or listen to Mp3 music while you read. The battery life is superb, on first charge it allowed me to read more than 16 books and is still at 50%. You can charge it via the included USB cable via your PC, or (as I found out) any 5volt microUSB phone charger between the 1000-2000mah range will also charge it with no problem. This means almost any phone charger for cell phones or bluetooth headsets made since 2009 can be used to charge the PRS-T1 reader. My only complaint is that it feels rather fragile with the extremely light weight and large glass screen, and I hesitate to take it traveling with me. I am waiting to get a decent cover or carrying case (which are expensive), and I imagine that will fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheElectronicsGuy
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Needs a lot of improvement.
5/26/2012

Customer review by frothe3

1.0 stars 5/26/2012 by frothe3
by frothe3

I purchased this Sony Reader yesterday, after see what a great deal I could get for it. When I opened the packaging, I was shocked that Sony has become so cheap!! Only a USB cable for charging and nothing else!!! Different design than the PRS-600 BC that I lost, but feels too plastic, not sturdy. ONLY a microSD card slot, no proprietary Memory Sitck slot! No place to slide in stylus, therefore it will be easily lost. No neoprene case like the other Sony Readers previously. Had to reset the Reader last night, so this might be troublesome. Comes with WI-FI, but since I do NOT have a router and use my SE mobile as a modem, this is something of a non-issue to me. I like the PRS-600 BC much better, SD and Memory Card slots, hefty, sturdy build, a nook to place the stylus. I like my older model Reader better than this one. And my experience with Sony in general has been very negative, although the support for the Reader is a bit better. I am holding off recomending this Reader until I have it for a little while.

frothe3
Freehold,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very pleased with the PRS-T1!
10/10/2011

Customer review by e4f4

5.0 stars 10/10/2011 by e4f4
by e4f4

Just got mine yesterday. Had the PRS-505 which I liked a lot. This is even much, much better. Same size screen, but in a smaller, lighter package. Too, I really like the touch screen. You also get a scribe...you don't need it to read books, but it comes in handy for jotting notes. Also comes with a virtual keypad so that you can type notes. The Wi-Fi, dictionary, touch screen, note taker, audio, browser, photo album, huge storage, USB mini port, SD card slot...and so many other treats! Thanks, Sony! P.S.: Charges through the mini-USB port, connected to your computer. Fair enough...but, I've got to have a stand alone charger (available for $25). I understand...the price would increase accordingly, and this is a very competitive market. For me, a happy solution is that I realized the same charger for my HTC Incredible phone is a perfect match. I would still buy it, even if it meant paying extra for the charger. That's how much I like it.

e4f4
Denver
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
need improvement
12/16/2011

Customer review by jianping

3.0 stars 12/16/2011 by jianping
by jianping

suggestion: 1) wifi surfing is sluggish (my router is wireless G, signal is strong), no response for most of websites. 2) no custom font support, should allow user to install custom fonts to read books in language other than english. 3) need heading bar while reading book, so that users are able to know current time, battery level etc (currently, even in home page, no time shown on heading bar) 4) when tap on word at bottom of page to lookup dictionary, the dictionary shouldn't display at bottom (display at top instead), user are not able to select sentence to highlight etc 5) epub page number displayed at bottom should display the page number calculated in current font setting, do not use page number assigned by epub file (it confused me with "page 8-9 of 80", or sometime display the same page info like"page 20 of 80" after turned to next page, and made me think no page was turned)

jianping
calgary
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sony
4/27/2012

Customer review by Ginny45

5.0 stars 4/27/2012 by Ginny45
by Ginny45

Terrific item to have if you are a reader. And the website where you get books is also good. Sony can do no wrong.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ginny45
Angola NY
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Best 6" reader so far!
5/18/2012

Customer review by lionspeaks

4.0 stars 5/18/2012 by lionspeaks
by lionspeaks

I'm using the Sony prs T1 from a month,soo far it's working smooth and it's actually helping me as a companion on my journey.I'm from India and we don't have an store support , so there is no buying of books,and downloading books from other sources is quite easy.the only thing that's negative about reader desing is plastic bezzel around it which sometimes pumps up the reflection on to the screen,thats only concern about hardware and design. I'm not a fan of partial page refresh because it leaves the shadows of previous pages , for me full page refresh is ok! ,One feature that I wished to have in sony reader is text to speech support ,and home screen can be improved a lot,they can add additional row for recently read books . I never used sony desktop software cuz I'm using linux, so even the sloppy software(most people hate sony desktop software) won't work on my machine.Calibre is doing fantastic work on behalf of sony's.I didn't root my device cuz many of those we rooted are constantly complaining about battery drying and so much flashing . So those who are in plan of buying this one will be delighted after the buy.

lionspeaks
HYD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No I phone app for Sony
9/24/2011

Customer review by zendogs

5.0 stars 9/24/2011 by zendogs
by zendogs

Sony has develop an app for the iPhone/ipod/ipad but it's apple who has tossed the wrench in the works. Sony has published a statement that they have opened a dialogue and are trying to work with apple. I have an iPod which gets kindle stuff, ibook, B&N, but not the Sony Store. I'd like Apple to make this happen. There is a NYT article, feb. this year that discusses it. Click on any button for the iPhone sony app and you'll get Sony's statement on the issue. I inherited an older Sony model, the 600. It's not backlit and it's not on line, nonetheless, I do like it. Feels like quality. The Sony Store has a better than average selection of Sci Fi. or so it seems. Sony Store has lots of good free stuff. The new one appeals just for the wi fi and the great colors. It's nice to shop right from one's reader. Good service from their techs too.

zendogs
southwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beware of using the Reader Store with the reader
1/9/2012

Customer review by Avoidreaderstore

1.0 stars 1/9/2012 by Avoidreaderstore
by Avoidreaderstore

Beware - once you buy a book from the Reader Store the software will want it to stay on your reader. It will put it back on your device EACH time you sync with the computer. There is no way to delete a purchased book (even if it is free). If you dislike the book it still shows up. If you are given a book by your future ex it shows up even when you hate them. If you don't want to be reminded of them don't sync the reader and your computer. You are stuck with your mistakes. Books from other sites do not have this problem. The included software is clumsy to use. I have not found a way to include books on the SD card in the collection. Pros: It does not have adds like some of the other readers. It is easy on the eyes. When using an EPUB format it refreshes very fast. It refreshes a bit slower if you are using PDF and have re-sized the text.

Avoidreaderstore
Alma, Ontario
Would recommend to a friend? No
I love it!
12/26/2011

Customer review by loopycare

4.0 stars 12/26/2011 by loopycare
by loopycare

I had a Sony Pocket Reader that is 2-3 years old. I had some issues with it at first, but those have resolved with the wonderful help of customer support. For Christmas this year, my husband upgraded me to the wi-fi. It is slimmer and lighter than my previous e-reader. I had some trouble getting it set up until I uninstalled Sony Reader from my computer and reinstalled it from the new reader. The new Reader software on the computer is not as easy to use as the previous software, but I'll figure it out soon enough. The only reason it is not getting 5 stars is that there is no place to store the stylus. It doesn't even look like the covers available have a place for the stylus. I just know I'll lose it. I'm going out today to by a cover with a night light and a screen protector so I don't scratch it. So far I'm very happy with it.

loopycare
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wretched Product, Wretched Customer Service
1/14/2012

Customer review by 3565

1.0 stars 1/14/2012 by 3565
by 3565

This was a replacement for a PRS-650, which was almost a perfect product: beautifully designed and executed. The only drawback with the 650 was the absence of wifi, which is why I designed to "upgrade." It was a horrific mistake. The new model is made of cheap plastic, unlike the 650's brushed aluminum case, and it came out of the box with a crack that kept getting bigger. The well-known screen freezing issue began to show itself almost immediately, and kept getting worse. And the wifi interface proved to be almost unusable. But as bad as the product is, the customer service experience was worse. I've spent more than a week trying to get confirmation of a refund for both the returned product (no replacement, thank you very much) and the 650 that I foolishly traded in under the Sony Ecotrade program. I've spent hours on the phone, being given what might charitably be called "mistaken information," directed to nonexistent departments, disconnected and generally treated extremely shabbily. The score so far: More than $100.00 spent, one very good reader gone, one very bad reader returned, no refunds received. And one Sony customer lost for life.

3565
Stamford, CT
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works Great for an unexpected price.
12/23/2011

Customer review by Aulus

4.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Aulus
by Aulus

I was looking for a christmas present for my dad and when I saw the pros i listed and the price I had to buy one for myself as well. The only thing that really bothers me about this is the transitioin animation for switching programs looks the the screen is broke as it the image is scrambeled while the new page is loaded. I'm not sure if that is by design or if I actually have a faulty product but everything else works so I assume it's by design. The transition should be something more simple like when you change pages in a book. For reading books and listening to music color is not needed but since it can also display pictures it would be nice if it could show them in color. I don't plan on using this feature much anyway. The internal memory is plenty large for most people but I could easily fill that with just music.

Aulus
USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Upgrade
11/8/2011

Customer review by Kitdae

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by Kitdae
by Kitdae

I was fighting with myself over whether or not to upgrade from my PRS-600. Being that it was on sale this week I jumped on it and have since given my old one to my mom. The fact it is lighter is nice, but I'm afraid to tap it because of its not metal case. My old one had a very good protective case that is too big for this one and there is none on the market yet. I found an old kindle 3 case on clearance that seems decent until i have the money for a better one. The layout is much easier to use as opposed to the older ones. Though it took me a while to figure out i had to install another program to get it to work. I think it's nice of Sony to keep the older program the same, as upgrading tends to neglect older models. All in all, I enjoy having the new reader, and I love that the dictionary has its own button now!

Kitdae
Brick, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Wait for an update
11/11/2011

Customer review by stropdasje

3.0 stars 11/11/2011 by stropdasje
by stropdasje

The PRS-T1 is a promising reader but unfortunately not quite finished. Some bugs need to be resolved first. The most irritating bug is shown here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xX60B0bjp90 According to polls on the internet this occurs in 50% of the readers. Other problems are with PDF and DRM protected books. But once resolved it would be a very nice reader. It is light and very good readable in both low light and bright sunlight conditions. Also web access works above expectation, however remind that this is a Reader, not a tablet. The reader cannot read manga files (comic books), I have no idea if they would have been readable on the eInk screen but since web pages can be displayed maybe it could., especially because pitch and zoom is supported. Reading ePub files is very good, the letter type and size can be changed and touch make flipping pages easy. Touch is very responsive and only needs almost no pressure due to the IR sensor technology. Also battery consumption is low, you can read for days without recharging. Conclusion: Wait for the bugs to be resolved before buying this reader. It will be a very good reader once the bugs are fixed. There is no estimate for a fix however.

stropdasje
The Netherlands
Would recommend to a friend? No
So happy with this ereader
1/22/2012

Customer review by gingerannb

5.0 stars 1/22/2012 by gingerannb
by gingerannb

I originally had the PRS-600, which I had no complaints about, but upgraded for the WiFi and longer battery life. I believe this is the most user-friendly device out there. I've look at them all. It has a clean look and all the options you could want in an eReader. I don't want/need a color screen, because I just want this to be a BOOK, so that was not a drawback for me. I don't like the new software that we have to use with this upgraded model. The old software was easier to use and had more capabilities. I have gotten past that though. Sony's Customer Service is awesome, too. They've been great about helping when I had questions. The chat service is quick and easy to use. I can't imagine someone choosing any other eReader, once they've looked at this one.

gingerannb
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good move
9/22/2011

Customer review by Baboy

5.0 stars 9/22/2011 by Baboy
by Baboy

This is a good move by Sony: trimming the product line to a single model, reducing the cost, adding WiFi, and bundling in a power adapter. I don't know why people are complaining about the lack of a 7-inch model. I had the 7-inch model for about a year, before losing it. When I replaced it a year ago, I got the 6-inch PRS-650, as it was cheaper. I expected the smaller size would be difficult to read or inconvenient. It isn't. I expected it would take some time to get used to. It didn't. And although it is only a little smaller than the 7-inch model it replaced, it is significantly more comfortable to hold while reading, and quite a bit more convenient to carry around (it just seems to fit into more pockets -- I can slide it into my cargo pants, for example, which wasn't possible with the 7-inch). Someone wanted to know if it's possible to zoom in on PDFs. It is on the 650, so unless Sony has taken their software backwards, I don't see why the new model would be any different. In fact, Sony's handling of PDFs is nothing short of amazing. My only complaint is that there's no trade-in program so that I can upgrade myself from the 650! (Can't really justify shelling out for what would be my third Reader in as many years!)

Baboy
Sacramento, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Better than ever!
2/1/2012

Customer review by CruisingJake

5.0 stars 2/1/2012 by CruisingJake
by CruisingJake

This model Sony eReader is a replacement for my first one, a four year old, model PRS-505, that was damaged and not worth repairing. This model is a significant improvement to my older one in that page changes are almost instantaneous, you can adjust the style of font and its size from several different ones offered and everything is accessible via the touch screen. The older model required multiple button actions to access everything and font sizes were only small, medium or large. The reason I stayed with Sony versus other makes is that you can access eBooks from many different Web sites since it uses the standard ePub format for books. The Kindle uses a proprietary format that only allows the ebook owner to purchase books from the Amazon Web site.

CruisingJake
Central New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great ereader when you don't want a tablet
3/21/2012

Customer review by BookGurl

5.0 stars 3/21/2012 by BookGurl
by BookGurl

I bought this ereader as a replacement for my original Sony ereader PRS-505 that I bought 4 years ago after I damaged the screen of my old ereader, I was impressed at how much lighter this ereader was than my old one. My other favourite feature is that I can use my cell phone charger to charge it when I'm not at home. I love the extra font sizing that gives me more versatility than my old ereader. The main reason I stayed with Sony versus other ereaders is the open format that Sony uses. I can get books from the library as well as anyone that uses the ePub format. With Kindle, you have to convert the ePub format into their own format, which is a pain if you're not technically savvy. Overall, I'm very happy with my decision to stay with Sony.

BookGurl
Edmonton, Alberta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1-20 of 75 reviews