Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 26 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

26 reviews | 4 out of 5

84%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 21 total reviews
84%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews
3/16/2012

Customer review by Radar59

5.0 stars 3/16/2012 by Radar59
by Radar59

Price was right and deliverly was quick. The life time updates sold me. I am replacing a Garmin. The Megellan has much more information displayed in a better format. Very pleased with the gps and the ease of ordering and the quick delivery.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Radar59
Muncie, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best GPS Unit in my opinion
4/20/2012

Customer review by WizardLady

5.0 stars 4/20/2012 by WizardLady
by WizardLady

This is my second Magellan RoadMate. The first one I had, the battery wouldn't charge anymore. I did not hesitate to purchase another Magellan RoadMate. I am a traveling nurse and am not familiar with the area since I am transplanted from another state. My Magellan RoadMate has gotten me to 99.9% of the places I needed to be. I would highly recommend this product to anyone who wants a GPS.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WizardLady
Swainsboro, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Magellan RoadMate 1424-LM - Great Value!
4/14/2012

Customer review by TNGeocacher

3.0 stars 4/14/2012 by TNGeocacher
by TNGeocacher

When I saw the Magellan RoadMate 1424-LM with life time map update, at this unbelievable price, I just had to try it. The price for a full featured road GPS is truly a value. The features are comparable to more expensive models, but the best part is the lifetime map update. However, one knock on this model is the display. Even at full brightness, it is not as bright as other Magellan RoadMates that I own. In bright sunlight or when the sun is coming from behind you the display is almost unreadable. And, the display is very dim even if you just mount it on the windshield. However, if you have if out of the direct sunlight it is much more visible. I wish there was a way to increase the brightness. Additionally, the unit is not as sturdily built as other RoadMates. The housing is more lightly built than my Magellan Model 1412 which is a much more ruggedly built model. The mounting bracket for the Model 1424 also appears to be of a more flimsy construction that the factory one for the Model 1412. I guess Magellan has to cut these corners in order to offer a RoadMate at such a low price with life time map updates. Also, they probably figure you will break the unit and replace it because of its low price before it costs them too much for the life time map replacements. In other words, Magellan expects this unit's "life time" to be short.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNGeocacher
Collierville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
as good as any gps I have used
2/24/2012

Customer review by eebob

4.0 stars 2/24/2012 by eebob
by eebob

This is a refurbished GPS. It looks new and functions very well. Sometimes it confuses which side the the road has odd or even addresses. So what it says is on the right may in fact be on the left. The One Touch menu is difficult to program. This is my second Magellan and I still have not figured out a reliable way of entering an address into the "One Touch" menu. The users manual is very limited. My other GPS is a 1470 series with the same One Touch menu and the same problem trying to figure how to enter data.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eebob
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I like Magellan better than the last 3 Tom Toms!
3/15/2012

Customer review by loLafolana

4.0 stars 3/15/2012 by loLafolana
by loLafolana

The Magellan is light and easier to attach to your car than a tom tom. I'd recommend Magellan to anyone who hasn't been satisfied with their current GPS system.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loLafolana
Norfolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
OMG!
6/12/2012

Customer review by ShaneinWV

1.0 stars 6/12/2012 by ShaneinWV
by ShaneinWV

Unit went bad within 3 weeks and had to send to Customer Service(?) with an RMA. Repeated "cut and paste" verbage replies to virtually all my inquiries. (been 3 weeks now, they said 7-10 days). Finally got an email today saying the 1424 is discontinued and want to offer me a refurb lower end model. I didn't buy a refurb, I could have went to ebay for that. Very unhappy with the product and especially the so called customer service. Save yourself a major headache ... keep shopping.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShaneinWV
Parkersburg, WV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Life time updates
4/13/2016

Customer review by MarineforLife

2.0 stars 4/13/2016 by MarineforLife
by MarineforLife
Walmart associate

Very good unit, but a real issue with the updating. The process is unfriendly and foolish. It will send you in circles and customer service is non responsive!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MarineforLife
Would recommend to a friend? No
Walmart associate
5/9/2012

Customer review by beshe

3.0 stars 5/9/2012 by beshe
by beshe

older version of Magellan was always accurate,this model has let me down serveral times as to turn direction etc.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
beshe
florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
5/31/2012

Customer review by BetSuet

2.0 stars 5/31/2012 by BetSuet
by BetSuet

The gps worked somewhat but did not tell you when you were at your destination. It would say your destination is in about 800 feet, which would have you looking everywhere for your destination. Also did not call out the road names. Have a TomTom that is old that works better. Would not recommend Magellan to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BetSuet
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
I am pleased with my purchase,have not used it yet
2/16/2012

Customer review by TIGERLILLYDAY

5.0 stars 2/16/2012 by TIGERLILLYDAY
by TIGERLILLYDAY

I really like Megellian better than the one my friend has. I do not like that little car on the map. It confuses me as to where exactly on the road I am and I like the womans voice the best. thanks again. And yes, I do reccomend this product

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TIGERLILLYDAY
Rich Creek, VIRGINIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
6/6/2012

Customer review by Ladybeth2003

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Ladybeth2003
by Ladybeth2003

Gives great directions. Easy to program. Lots of great features. I especially like getting map updates free for life!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ladybeth2003
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
4/7/2012

Customer review by purpledolphins9

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by purpledolphins9
by purpledolphins9

Love the free map updates!! Directions are great, along with turn by turn directions!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
purpledolphins9
New Cumberland, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/26/2012

Customer review by JLTL

4.0 stars 2/26/2012 by JLTL
by JLTL

Love it! It was a great purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JLTL
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
2/28/2012

Customer review by j915b

4.0 stars 2/28/2012 by j915b
by j915b

maps are good. voice is really annoying and hard to understand at times.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
j915b
Dallas, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Don't try to update it!
5/6/2012

Customer review by idtrucker

1.0 stars 5/6/2012 by idtrucker
by idtrucker

It only lasted one day. I foolishly tried to update it's software and maps before researching this on the internet, and the unit immediately bricked. So I took it back to the store, no Magellans for exchange so I got a Tom Tom with store credit. Still works so far, WITHOUT updating the unit.

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
idtrucker
4/19/2012

Customer review by Paisan5150

4.0 stars 4/19/2012 by Paisan5150
by Paisan5150

AT times you could be be 2 miles down the road before it shows where you are. Other than that, I have NO PROBLEMS with the unit..

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Paisan5150
Sonora, CA.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
All I Expected......
1/3/2013

Customer review by MEW15522

5.0 stars 1/3/2013 by MEW15522
by MEW15522
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Received very next day, after ordering !!!!! Easy to use, corrects for driving deviations, lifetime map updates a plus.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MEW15522
Central, P.A.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Magellan GPS is a very good product
4/8/2012

Customer review by MSlinker

5.0 stars 4/8/2012 by MSlinker
by MSlinker

easy to set up and learn. Although low cost it is an excellent product!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MSlinker
SW FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
excellent service
6/1/2012

Customer review by Buffum007

5.0 stars 6/1/2012 by Buffum007
by Buffum007

my product arrived promptly and in good condition. I am pleased

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Buffum007
Miami, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
11/18/2012

Customer review by Kadillehopper

5.0 stars 11/18/2012 by Kadillehopper
by Kadillehopper
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Seems to be very good at what I need GPS for in travelling.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kadillehopper
Odessa,TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 21 total reviews
1-20 of 21 reviews