Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 33 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

3.5 stars

33 reviews | 3.7 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
9
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 stars
1
1-20 of 33 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Great Scope For The Money!
7/27/2012

Customer review by TastyGameHunter

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by TastyGameHunter
by TastyGameHunter

This scope works very well with excellent clarity. No problem seeing .17 caliber holes in a target at 100 yards. I know there have been some less glowing reviews, but this scope has more than met my expectations. Considering the low cost it is a phenomonal value. The tripod takes a little getting used to but once you get the hang of it, it works well. The elevation crank handle on the tripod is probably the weakest part so just make sure the centerpost is free before working the crank handle because placing too much pressure on it could cause it to break easily. So, just use a little caution and I think you will be very satisfied with this scope, plus the purchase won't put you in the poorhouse or get you in trouble with your spouse!

Was this review helpful? (60) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TastyGameHunter
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Simmons Blazer Spotting Scope
12/31/2012

Customer review by USMCDI

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by USMCDI
by USMCDI

Let's make one thing perfectly clear here, this is a 59.00 scope with tripod. It would be totally unrealistic to compare this scope to the high end scopes. With that being said, here is my reveiw of this scope. First ditch the tripod, it is extremely unstable. The head assembly of the tripod, where you mount the scope; is poorly made. The slightest vibration will cause the sight picture to jump all over the place. Go out and purchase a good quality camera tripod, the mounts are the same. Now the scope is good, zoom and focus works well. I was able to clearly see my pistol shots at the 25 yard line and my rifle shots at the 50 yard line. I have no dought this scope will perform well at the 100 and 200 yard lines. A good tripod is the key as you need a sturdy platform for the scope.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
USMCDI
Ashtabula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great deal
8/8/2013

Customer review by bluumax

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by bluumax
by bluumax

I bought this scope several months ago for target shooting and it's a winner. The tripod is flimsy, but it IS INCLUDED! I was thrilled they included a tripod and it has a number of features I use regularly. The 3 position adj legs are great for uneven ground and it has pan & tilt as well as a quick release that's really handy. I have a small video camera that I mount on the Simmons tripod and a heavy duty tripod I use for the scope. The video camera acts as my spotter and records hits for very long distance targets. The optics are as good or better than any other in this range. I like where the focus knob is on the body, not close to the range adjustment so they don't get confused. Scopes are often blamed for bad optics but Air turbulence, heat mirage, dust, humidity, haze and other atmospheric conditions all affect image quality so take that into consideration while reading reviews. I'm using this to look for pencil size holes in paper and cardboard two hundred yards away. That's two football fields away, usually with wind and dust, and it works great. For about $60 it's an awesome deal. And since I have a friends scope to compare with... It doesn't matter which one I use, the farther the distance the lesser the image quality and the harder it is to get aligned. I didn't expect thousand dollar optics and I didn't get them, but I did get a better deal than anticipated!

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bluumax
Duncan, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Worthless Tripod
1/25/2013

Customer review by Toothdok50

3.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Toothdok50
by Toothdok50

While the optics and functions of the scope are acceptable for the price, the tripod included is awful. Its made of thin aluminum and very cheap, flimsy plastic. It attempts to give you table-top and ground set-up in one device and does neither well. The tripod is just flimsy and you can't get zeroed in on an object. You can adjust and adjust for five minutes and then only get your object slightly centered in the end. The scope vibrates around in the slightest breeze and should you give it the lightest touch, the image bounces around. Simmons could have made this product a LOT better just by pairing it with a simple, table-top tripod instead of the tripod it has with extendable legs and a crank-up stem. The tripod, in a word, is just junk and barely usable in any format. It wouldn't keep a camera stable for a shot at 10 feet, let alone a scope that's zeroed in at 200 yards! I'll keep the scope and retro fit it to a tripod of my own design made of steel.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Toothdok50
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
The eye relief at the long zoom range is unusable
9/12/2012

Customer review by WilliamL123

2.0 stars 9/12/2012 by WilliamL123
by WilliamL123

It is good at 20x range but when it gets closer to 40x or 60x, then it is unusable.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WilliamL123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Good Scope - Not so Good Tripod
1/4/2013

Customer review by Wizofid

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Wizofid
by Wizofid

I bought this scope for use in sighting in our hunting rifles. It seems to work good for that purpose. Haven't had a chance to do anything else with it, but it's early in the year. The tripod for it is pure junk. I used my camera tripod and it's pretty stable. The eye relief at the higher setting don't work well with my glasses, but I don't need them so much when looking through the scope. I think for the price it's well worth it. Just toss the tripod to begin with.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Wizofid
Kimberly, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Very unstable
5/26/2012

Customer review by OldEngines

2.0 stars 5/26/2012 by OldEngines
by OldEngines

Very unstable and difficult to focus and 100yds.

Was this review helpful? (12) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OldEngines
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Poor long range view
3/30/2014

Customer review by ConsumerJ0E

2.0 stars 3/30/2014 by ConsumerJ0E
by ConsumerJ0E

I purchased this scope to spot for target shooting. I saw all the reviews about the poor tripod, but it is fine if you're using it on a bench/table top. Viewing targets at 100yrds was excellent, but the scope would not focus clearly on a target at 200yrds and beyond and the view was foggy. I was hoping to be able to use this scope for distances up to 300yrds but it didn't make the cut so I returned it. I was hoping to get by with a cheap scope, but it looks as though I will have to spent a little more than $60.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ConsumerJ0E
Columbus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
9/28/2012

Customer review by Sleprock

5.0 stars 9/28/2012 by Sleprock
by Sleprock

Exactly what I wanted. Great to shop without leaving home and using expensive gas.

Was this review helpful? (13) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sleprock
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
12/21/2012

Customer review by Redblazer

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Redblazer
by Redblazer

Great scope for the price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Redblazer
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good spotting scope for a beginner.
10/4/2013

Customer review by Jackson3232

4.0 stars 10/4/2013 by Jackson3232
by Jackson3232

This Simmons Spotting Scope was exactly what I was looking for. I have deer and other wildlife in a field about 400 yards away. This scope brings them into good view. The tripod was a little short and I need to put it on a table, but it is all good. The zoom and focus features are in a good position and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jackson3232
Vicksburg, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Buy
7/2/2014

Customer review by BKSC1Rider

4.0 stars 7/2/2014 by BKSC1Rider
by BKSC1Rider

I have got to admit I didn't think this scope was going to be much, but I was surprised. I took out to sight in a iron sights 20" Rossi 45 colt at 150 yards. After a couple shots I took a look at 60 Power it was clear and sharp. I think this scope would be good up to 300 yards. You get what you pay for but great for the price. For the person who wants something for occasional shooting this is the scope. I hope Walmart continues to stock them. The down side the tripod is cheap but works if you glue the mounting bracket to the post. Also the carrying bag only holds the scope and offers no protection. I had also bought a scope from Harbor Freight and took it back. Its wouldn't make a good kids toy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BKSC1Rider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Decent for the price, but tripod is trash
1/22/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 1/22/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

First one had bubbles and other imperfections on an inner lens so it was returned. I actually got the only one in nearby stores, so I had a competitor price match and bought it there. 2nd one I got had a hard time screwing in the tripod mount (store display unit tripod mount was completely stripped out) but once I got it threaded it was OK. Opened up the tripod and one leg was busted... the tripod is literally junk. Replaced tripod with a better one I already had as well as a tabletop tripod for when a full sized is not needed or just too big. Find a good one that's not busted and it's worth the $60

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Melbourne, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Spotting Scope at an Affordable Price
2/2/2015

Customer review by ArtD

4.0 stars 2/2/2015 by ArtD
by ArtD

I own a Kowa spotting scope that I use for high-power matches, so I have experience with quality optics and understanding the fundamentals of image quality in optics. The common phase, when it comes to optics is: "You get what you pay for!” I typically believe this, but the Simmons Blazer 20-60X60mm spotting scope is an exception. Our club started up a 4H air rifle team last fall and needed a spotting scope that would not break the budget. The scope had to be less than $100 and focus down to at least 30’ for 10 meter air rifle. Obviously, the image quality needed to be sufficient to spot a .177” holes in a target under artificial lighting. I purchased and returned several scopes before settling on the Simmons Blazer 20-60X60mm spotting scope. I was so impressed; I bought myself one, in addition to the four I purchased for our 4H team. I have no problem recommending this to someone that needs a 100 yard scope. PROS: • The Scope easily focuses down to 27’ • Has clear, bright optics for 10 meter work • Focus is excellent from edge to edge, both side to side and top to bottom • Holds focus when going from max zoom, (60X), to min zoom, (20X) • Focusing knob rotates easily • Nice black rubberized finish CONS: • Wish it had a lower zoom setting, (15X), to increase field of view • Does not have a rotating tripod collar • Tripod is flimsy Bottom Line: The Simmons Blazer 20-60X60mm spotting scope is a good low price entry level scope.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ArtD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
decent, for the price.
8/26/2014

Customer review by tictocdoc

4.0 stars 8/26/2014 by tictocdoc
by tictocdoc

I have used the Blazer at home looking at various distances in the woods. The scope works well at all powers (20-60) showing a good clear picture. When mounted on the tripod, it seems very front heavy but that also helps stabilize the scope and prevent teetering back and forth in the winds. The neck of the tripod should be made stronger. For the price, I would say that it is a good value. For people who shoot at the range occasionally, it will do the job up to 100 yards and not break the bank.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tictocdoc
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/12/2013

Customer review by 1stsilentone

3.0 stars 9/12/2013 by 1stsilentone
by 1stsilentone

This product is a super buy as far as the scope itself goes. However, the tripod is a piece of junk. Fortunately I had a tripod for my camera and am using it with the scope. I like the scope a lot.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1stsilentone
Alamogordo, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope
11/21/2014

Customer review by fjhintz

3.0 stars 11/21/2014 by fjhintz
by fjhintz

For the price, it is a good scope, at first I had a little difficulty with the view finder, with the very light weight tri-pod, it does bounce around a little, but if you put the scope on a shooting table or some other solid foundation, it seems to work ok, I did not want to spend a lot of money on a spotting scope, and this unit will do for me, but I have a feeling that for very serious shooters they will want more. However, if you are like me, that shoot occasionally, and not in competition, this scope should fill your needs... hope this helps with your decision.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fjhintz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good scope for the money
9/14/2013

Customer review by Daveg64

4.0 stars 9/14/2013 by Daveg64
by Daveg64

Scope is pretty well built works and looks good. Tripod is ...well lets just say,junk!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daveg64
Castroville,ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good deal for the cost
1/5/2014

Customer review by EagleWatcher123

4.0 stars 1/5/2014 by EagleWatcher123
by EagleWatcher123

It was bought as a Christmas present and paid extra to have it shipped for two day delivery to open box and was broke. Returned it and got money back and lucky enough to find one in a store within 30 miles and I'm happy with it except the tripod is very cheap I would recommend to buy a different one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EagleWatcher123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
OK scope, tripod is worthless
6/5/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/5/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The scope seems to be OK for $60. The tripod is complete garbage. The mount that screws into the scope broke on first try. Top section fell off when I pulled it out the box. When you lock all adjustable points down it barely holds the scope before falling apart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Washington state
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews