Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
16
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 stars
2
1-20 of 41 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews
DON'T THROW OUT THE TRIPOD!!!!!!
5/7/2015

Customer review by qazWSX

5.0 stars 5/7/2015 by qazWSX
by qazWSX

For $60 you are not buying time on the Hubble! But the optics are good, quality acceptable. But the tripod? Well, it has one problem and it can be fixed for nothing! Ever have to borrow boots for a hunt? Ones too big? So you put an extra pair of socks on! Bingo! The camera 'foot' supplied is too small for the 'boot" receiver. Fix ? Take the included in the box lense cleaner and place it in the boot before you mate them! I tried vinyl electrical tape to build up the foot but it didn't work as well as the cloth lense cover. The tape was rigid, the cloth dampens the jitteriness. You bought a scope for $60. Spend $10 to $30 more for a Targus Tripod? The boot/foot is tighter but the rest of the of the tripod is the same quality as the included tripod. Use a $300 to $3000 professional bamboo scope on a $60 scope ? Not unless you already own one, Ansel Adams! Unless you have an unlimited budget, or ego, or a military purest, this does the basic job and very inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
qazWSX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worthless Tripod
1/25/2013

Customer review by Toothdok50

3.0 stars 1/25/2013 by Toothdok50
by Toothdok50

While the optics and functions of the scope are acceptable for the price, the tripod included is awful. Its made of thin aluminum and very cheap, flimsy plastic. It attempts to give you table-top and ground set-up in one device and does neither well. The tripod is just flimsy and you can't get zeroed in on an object. You can adjust and adjust for five minutes and then only get your object slightly centered in the end. The scope vibrates around in the slightest breeze and should you give it the lightest touch, the image bounces around. Simmons could have made this product a LOT better just by pairing it with a simple, table-top tripod instead of the tripod it has with extendable legs and a crank-up stem. The tripod, in a word, is just junk and barely usable in any format. It wouldn't keep a camera stable for a shot at 10 feet, let alone a scope that's zeroed in at 200 yards! I'll keep the scope and retro fit it to a tripod of my own design made of steel.

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Toothdok50
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
i believe this scope is great one for the money
8/1/2016

Customer review by c376

5.0 stars 8/1/2016 by c376
by c376

I got mine yesterday and went to the range today. I was shooting my M&P AR 15 sport 2 at first the 50 yard target and it was great to be able to see where the rounds hit. it was clear as it could be. Then I moved it to the 100 yard target. I got it set up on the target and it was clear as a bell. I had no problem seeing the holes from a5.56 round. I was using iron sites. I love this scope because I can fire five rounds and see how I am hitting the target. It is so much better than having to wait to go down and see how I was doing when the range was cold. The tripod is a little shaky but once I had it set all I had to do was look into the eyepiece without touching and it was great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
c376
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Scope For The Money!
7/27/2012

Customer review by TastyGameHunter

5.0 stars 7/27/2012 by TastyGameHunter
by TastyGameHunter

This scope works very well with excellent clarity. No problem seeing .17 caliber holes in a target at 100 yards. I know there have been some less glowing reviews, but this scope has more than met my expectations. Considering the low cost it is a phenomonal value. The tripod takes a little getting used to but once you get the hang of it, it works well. The elevation crank handle on the tripod is probably the weakest part so just make sure the centerpost is free before working the crank handle because placing too much pressure on it could cause it to break easily. So, just use a little caution and I think you will be very satisfied with this scope, plus the purchase won't put you in the poorhouse or get you in trouble with your spouse!

Was this review helpful? (75) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TastyGameHunter
Augusta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great deal
8/8/2013

Customer review by bluumax

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by bluumax
by bluumax

I bought this scope several months ago for target shooting and it's a winner. The tripod is flimsy, but it IS INCLUDED! I was thrilled they included a tripod and it has a number of features I use regularly. The 3 position adj legs are great for uneven ground and it has pan & tilt as well as a quick release that's really handy. I have a small video camera that I mount on the Simmons tripod and a heavy duty tripod I use for the scope. The video camera acts as my spotter and records hits for very long distance targets. The optics are as good or better than any other in this range. I like where the focus knob is on the body, not close to the range adjustment so they don't get confused. Scopes are often blamed for bad optics but Air turbulence, heat mirage, dust, humidity, haze and other atmospheric conditions all affect image quality so take that into consideration while reading reviews. I'm using this to look for pencil size holes in paper and cardboard two hundred yards away. That's two football fields away, usually with wind and dust, and it works great. For about $60 it's an awesome deal. And since I have a friends scope to compare with... It doesn't matter which one I use, the farther the distance the lesser the image quality and the harder it is to get aligned. I didn't expect thousand dollar optics and I didn't get them, but I did get a better deal than anticipated!

Was this review helpful? (39) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bluumax
Duncan, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Simmons Blazer Spotting Scope
12/31/2012

Customer review by USMCDI

4.0 stars 12/31/2012 by USMCDI
by USMCDI

Let's make one thing perfectly clear here, this is a 59.00 scope with tripod. It would be totally unrealistic to compare this scope to the high end scopes. With that being said, here is my reveiw of this scope. First ditch the tripod, it is extremely unstable. The head assembly of the tripod, where you mount the scope; is poorly made. The slightest vibration will cause the sight picture to jump all over the place. Go out and purchase a good quality camera tripod, the mounts are the same. Now the scope is good, zoom and focus works well. I was able to clearly see my pistol shots at the 25 yard line and my rifle shots at the 50 yard line. I have no dought this scope will perform well at the 100 and 200 yard lines. A good tripod is the key as you need a sturdy platform for the scope.

Was this review helpful? (44) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
USMCDI
Ashtabula
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
This is great for what it is.
7/7/2016

Customer review by chacha69

5.0 stars 7/7/2016 by chacha69
by chacha69

For this price point, you are getting a lot. I have never used a high end spotting scope to compare this one to but this seemed to be perfectly functional. Seemed clear enough out to 200 yds.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chacha69
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good optics for the price
8/4/2016

Customer review by Tommy

4.0 stars 8/4/2016 by Tommy
by Tommy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The tripod is barely usable so I bought another one. I have not been to the range yet, but the scope's image is quite good at the lower powers 20 to 35. If you need 50 or 60 power look elsewhere and spend more. The scope is not too heavy but seems longer than some of the others. The focus knob is recessed so it won't snag or catch going in or out of bags and while it works fine, it is a little slower to use than the ones you can grip with two fingers.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Spotting Scope at an Affordable Price
2/2/2015

Customer review by ArtD

4.0 stars 2/2/2015 by ArtD
by ArtD

I own a Kowa spotting scope that I use for high-power matches, so I have experience with quality optics and understanding the fundamentals of image quality in optics. The common phase, when it comes to optics is: "You get what you pay for!” I typically believe this, but the Simmons Blazer 20-60X60mm spotting scope is an exception. Our club started up a 4H air rifle team last fall and needed a spotting scope that would not break the budget. The scope had to be less than $100 and focus down to at least 30’ for 10 meter air rifle. Obviously, the image quality needed to be sufficient to spot a .177” holes in a target under artificial lighting. I purchased and returned several scopes before settling on the Simmons Blazer 20-60X60mm spotting scope. I was so impressed; I bought myself one, in addition to the four I purchased for our 4H team. I have no problem recommending this to someone that needs a 100 yard scope. PROS: • The Scope easily focuses down to 27’ • Has clear, bright optics for 10 meter work • Focus is excellent from edge to edge, both side to side and top to bottom • Holds focus when going from max zoom, (60X), to min zoom, (20X) • Focusing knob rotates easily • Nice black rubberized finish CONS: • Wish it had a lower zoom setting, (15X), to increase field of view • Does not have a rotating tripod collar • Tripod is flimsy Bottom Line: The Simmons Blazer 20-60X60mm spotting scope is a good low price entry level scope.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ArtD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It's a tool. A good deal with reasonable care.
1/6/2016

Customer review by Happy

4.0 stars 1/6/2016 by Happy
by Happy

Not the cheapest one out there, but close. Regarding eye relief... I have to flip my prescription glasses up @ full magnification. No big deal. The entire scope has a rubber "coat" which is comfortable at the eyepiece. I can focus the scope to a fairly clear image for my naked eye at all magnifications. If a little extra care is shown to the tripod, it should last a while. Especially in regard to the height adjustment. My $40 Chinese 6-24x40 rifle scope has better optics and lets more light in... I would have purchased an extra one to use as a spotting scope... But I'd have to figure out some way to stabilize it for static viewing. There is no case for this tripod, although... The scope fits in the nice soft case with the mounting base attached. The case zippers don't seem like they'd last long with rough treament. Again, if reasonable care is taken, they should last a while. It is what it is, nothing more, nothing less. It should work at the range with average to good light and little wind. If there is wind, I suggest hanging extra weight from the tripod for added stability.

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Happy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent spotting scope
7/21/2016

Customer review by LRosencrans

4.0 stars 7/21/2016 by LRosencrans
by LRosencrans

Don't get me wrong with the 4 stars. The scope itself is fantastic however, Simmons seriously needs to re-evaluate the trip-pod. The slightest bump of the table or even movement from wind - shakes the scope like there's an earthquake (and since I was in one, I have a reference point for the comparison). We're definitely keeping the scope but we're going to have to find a better tripod for this.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LRosencrans
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Buy
7/2/2014

Customer review by BKSC1Rider

4.0 stars 7/2/2014 by BKSC1Rider
by BKSC1Rider

I have got to admit I didn't think this scope was going to be much, but I was surprised. I took out to sight in a iron sights 20" Rossi 45 colt at 150 yards. After a couple shots I took a look at 60 Power it was clear and sharp. I think this scope would be good up to 300 yards. You get what you pay for but great for the price. For the person who wants something for occasional shooting this is the scope. I hope Walmart continues to stock them. The down side the tripod is cheap but works if you glue the mounting bracket to the post. Also the carrying bag only holds the scope and offers no protection. I had also bought a scope from Harbor Freight and took it back. Its wouldn't make a good kids toy.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BKSC1Rider
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/21/2012

Customer review by Redblazer

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Redblazer
by Redblazer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great scope for the price.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redblazer
Ocala, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Scope - Not so Good Tripod
1/4/2013

Customer review by Wizofid

4.0 stars 1/4/2013 by Wizofid
by Wizofid

I bought this scope for use in sighting in our hunting rifles. It seems to work good for that purpose. Haven't had a chance to do anything else with it, but it's early in the year. The tripod for it is pure junk. I used my camera tripod and it's pretty stable. The eye relief at the higher setting don't work well with my glasses, but I don't need them so much when looking through the scope. I think for the price it's well worth it. Just toss the tripod to begin with.

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wizofid
Kimberly, Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Simmons spotting scope
7/4/2016

Customer review by Enos

5.0 stars 7/4/2016 by Enos
by Enos
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Love this item make easy for zeroing at the range work great and for the price you have all in one packech

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Enos
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good spotting scope for a beginner.
10/4/2013

Customer review by Jackson3232

4.0 stars 10/4/2013 by Jackson3232
by Jackson3232
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This Simmons Spotting Scope was exactly what I was looking for. I have deer and other wildlife in a field about 400 yards away. This scope brings them into good view. The tripod was a little short and I need to put it on a table, but it is all good. The zoom and focus features are in a good position and easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jackson3232
Vicksburg, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor long range view
3/30/2014

Customer review by ConsumerJ0E

2.0 stars 3/30/2014 by ConsumerJ0E
by ConsumerJ0E

I purchased this scope to spot for target shooting. I saw all the reviews about the poor tripod, but it is fine if you're using it on a bench/table top. Viewing targets at 100yrds was excellent, but the scope would not focus clearly on a target at 200yrds and beyond and the view was foggy. I was hoping to be able to use this scope for distances up to 300yrds but it didn't make the cut so I returned it. I was hoping to get by with a cheap scope, but it looks as though I will have to spent a little more than $60.

Was this review helpful? (11) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ConsumerJ0E
Columbus
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope
11/21/2014

Customer review by fjhintz

3.0 stars 11/21/2014 by fjhintz
by fjhintz

For the price, it is a good scope, at first I had a little difficulty with the view finder, with the very light weight tri-pod, it does bounce around a little, but if you put the scope on a shooting table or some other solid foundation, it seems to work ok, I did not want to spend a lot of money on a spotting scope, and this unit will do for me, but I have a feeling that for very serious shooters they will want more. However, if you are like me, that shoot occasionally, and not in competition, this scope should fill your needs... hope this helps with your decision.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fjhintz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
decent, for the price.
8/26/2014

Customer review by tictocdoc

4.0 stars 8/26/2014 by tictocdoc
by tictocdoc
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I have used the Blazer at home looking at various distances in the woods. The scope works well at all powers (20-60) showing a good clear picture. When mounted on the tripod, it seems very front heavy but that also helps stabilize the scope and prevent teetering back and forth in the winds. The neck of the tripod should be made stronger. For the price, I would say that it is a good value. For people who shoot at the range occasionally, it will do the job up to 100 yards and not break the bank.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tictocdoc
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The eye relief at the long zoom range is unusable
9/12/2012

Customer review by WilliamL123

2.0 stars 9/12/2012 by WilliamL123
by WilliamL123

It is good at 20x range but when it gets closer to 40x or 60x, then it is unusable.

Was this review helpful? (18) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WilliamL123
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1-20 of 41 reviews