Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 3.8out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5 | 51 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 51 reviews
1-20 of 51 reviews
DON'T THROW OUT THE TRIPOD!!!!!!
5/7/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For $60 you are not buying time on the Hubble! But the optics are good, quality acceptable. But the tripod? Well, it has one problem and it can be fixed for nothing! Ever have to borrow boots for a hunt? Ones too big? So you put an extra pair of socks on! Bingo! The camera 'foot' supplied is too small for the 'boot" receiver. Fix ? Take the included in the box lense cleaner and place it in the boot before you mate them! I tried vinyl electrical tape to build up the foot but it didn't work as well as the cloth lense cover. The tape was rigid, the cloth dampens the jitteriness. You bought a scope for $60. Spend $10 to $30 more for a Targus Tripod? The boot/foot is tighter but the rest of the of the tripod is the same quality as the included tripod. Use a $300 to $3000 professional bamboo scope on a $60 scope ? Not unless you already own one, Ansel Adams! Unless you have an unlimited budget, or ego, or a military purest, this does the basic job and very inexpensive.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (31)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worthless Tripod
1/25/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
While the optics and functions of the scope are acceptable for the price, the tripod included is awful. Its made of thin aluminum and very cheap, flimsy plastic. It attempts to give you table-top and ground set-up in one device and does neither well. The tripod is just flimsy and you can't get zeroed in on an object. You can adjust and adjust for five minutes and then only get your object slightly centered in the end. The scope vibrates around in the slightest breeze and should you give it the lightest touch, the image bounces around. Simmons could have made this product a LOT better just by pairing it with a simple, table-top tripod instead of the tripod it has with extendable legs and a crank-up stem. The tripod, in a word, is just junk and barely usable in any format. It wouldn't keep a camera stable for a shot at 10 feet, let alone a scope that's zeroed in at 200 yards! I'll keep the scope and retro fit it to a tripod of my own design made of steel.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (38)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Scope For The Money!
7/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This scope works very well with excellent clarity. No problem seeing .17 caliber holes in a target at 100 yards. I know there have been some less glowing reviews, but this scope has more than met my expectations. Considering the low cost it is a phenomonal value. The tripod takes a little getting used to but once you get the hang of it, it works well. The elevation crank handle on the tripod is probably the weakest part so just make sure the centerpost is free before working the crank handle because placing too much pressure on it could cause it to break easily. So, just use a little caution and I think you will be very satisfied with this scope, plus the purchase won't put you in the poorhouse or get you in trouble with your spouse!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (86)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great deal
8/8/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this scope several months ago for target shooting and it's a winner. The tripod is flimsy, but it IS INCLUDED! I was thrilled they included a tripod and it has a number of features I use regularly. The 3 position adj legs are great for uneven ground and it has pan & tilt as well as a quick release that's really handy. I have a small video camera that I mount on the Simmons tripod and a heavy duty tripod I use for the scope. The video camera acts as my spotter and records hits for very long distance targets. The optics are as good or better than any other in this range. I like where the focus knob is on the body, not close to the range adjustment so they don't get confused. Scopes are often blamed for bad optics but Air turbulence, heat mirage, dust, humidity, haze and other atmospheric conditions all affect image quality so take that into consideration while reading reviews. I'm using this to look for pencil size holes in paper and cardboard two hundred yards away. That's two football fields away, usually with wind and dust, and it works great. For about $60 it's an awesome deal. And since I have a friends scope to compare with... It doesn't matter which one I use, the farther the distance the lesser the image quality and the harder it is to get aligned. I didn't expect thousand dollar optics and I didn't get them, but I did get a better deal than anticipated!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Simmons Blazer Spotting Scope
12/31/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Let's make one thing perfectly clear here, this is a 59.00 scope with tripod. It would be totally unrealistic to compare this scope to the high end scopes. With that being said, here is my reveiw of this scope. First ditch the tripod, it is extremely unstable. The head assembly of the tripod, where you mount the scope; is poorly made. The slightest vibration will cause the sight picture to jump all over the place. Go out and purchase a good quality camera tripod, the mounts are the same. Now the scope is good, zoom and focus works well. I was able to clearly see my pistol shots at the 25 yard line and my rifle shots at the 50 yard line. I have no dought this scope will perform well at the 100 and 200 yard lines. A good tripod is the key as you need a sturdy platform for the scope.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (56)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
On the spot!
11/3/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
It did not take me long in my search for this item. A friend told me to check out his scope on the Walmart site & the purchase was made. The bummer of the deal, was that 3 friends who have this model paid exactly half the price that I paid, just a couple of yrs. ago. Even still, this scope is more than worth the money paid. It is crystal clear with a very sharp focus at 100yds. The view will not be distorted out as far as 600 yds. It is easy to set up. Once this is done, it stays rock steady & on target. It has had some improvements made over the previous model & is totally reliable & trustworthy to spot anything you are using it for. Do not hesitate to make this purchase. Customer service @ pick up was great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
It's a tool. A good deal with reasonable care.
1/6/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Not the cheapest one out there, but close. Regarding eye relief... I have to flip my prescription glasses up @ full magnification. No big deal. The entire scope has a rubber "coat" which is comfortable at the eyepiece. I can focus the scope to a fairly clear image for my naked eye at all magnifications. If a little extra care is shown to the tripod, it should last a while. Especially in regard to the height adjustment. My $40 Chinese 6-24x40 rifle scope has better optics and lets more light in... I would have purchased an extra one to use as a spotting scope... But I'd have to figure out some way to stabilize it for static viewing. There is no case for this tripod, although... The scope fits in the nice soft case with the mounting base attached. The case zippers don't seem like they'd last long with rough treament. Again, if reasonable care is taken, they should last a while. It is what it is, nothing more, nothing less. It should work at the range with average to good light and little wind. If there is wind, I suggest hanging extra weight from the tripod for added stability.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Buy
7/2/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have got to admit I didn't think this scope was going to be much, but I was surprised. I took out to sight in a iron sights 20" Rossi 45 colt at 150 yards. After a couple shots I took a look at 60 Power it was clear and sharp. I think this scope would be good up to 300 yards. You get what you pay for but great for the price. For the person who wants something for occasional shooting this is the scope. I hope Walmart continues to stock them. The down side the tripod is cheap but works if you glue the mounting bracket to the post. Also the carrying bag only holds the scope and offers no protection. I had also bought a scope from Harbor Freight and took it back. Its wouldn't make a good kids toy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Poor long range view
3/30/2014
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this scope to spot for target shooting. I saw all the reviews about the poor tripod, but it is fine if you're using it on a bench/table top. Viewing targets at 100yrds was excellent, but the scope would not focus clearly on a target at 200yrds and beyond and the view was foggy. I was hoping to be able to use this scope for distances up to 300yrds but it didn't make the cut so I returned it. I was hoping to get by with a cheap scope, but it looks as though I will have to spent a little more than $60.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Scope - Not so Good Tripod
1/4/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this scope for use in sighting in our hunting rifles. It seems to work good for that purpose. Haven't had a chance to do anything else with it, but it's early in the year. The tripod for it is pure junk. I used my camera tripod and it's pretty stable. The eye relief at the higher setting don't work well with my glasses, but I don't need them so much when looking through the scope. I think for the price it's well worth it. Just toss the tripod to begin with.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
12/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great scope for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good scope
3/16/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Scope is good, but the tripod that comes with it is horrible.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Spotting Scope at an Affordable Price
2/2/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I own a Kowa spotting scope that I use for high-power matches, so I have experience with quality optics and understanding the fundamentals of image quality in optics. The common phase, when it comes to optics is: "You get what you pay for!” I typically believe this, but the Simmons Blazer 20-60X60mm spotting scope is an exception. Our club started up a 4H air rifle team last fall and needed a spotting scope that would not break the budget. The scope had to be less than $100 and focus down to at least 30’ for 10 meter air rifle. Obviously, the image quality needed to be sufficient to spot a .177” holes in a target under artificial lighting. I purchased and returned several scopes before settling on the Simmons Blazer 20-60X60mm spotting scope. I was so impressed; I bought myself one, in addition to the four I purchased for our 4H team. I have no problem recommending this to someone that needs a 100 yard scope. PROS: • The Scope easily focuses down to 27’ • Has clear, bright optics for 10 meter work • Focus is excellent from edge to edge, both side to side and top to bottom • Holds focus when going from max zoom, (60X), to min zoom, (20X) • Focusing knob rotates easily • Nice black rubberized finish CONS: • Wish it had a lower zoom setting, (15X), to increase field of view • Does not have a rotating tripod collar • Tripod is flimsy Bottom Line: The Simmons Blazer 20-60X60mm spotting scope is a good low price entry level scope.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Simmons Blazer 20-60X60 Spotting Scope
11/21/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For the price, it is a good scope, at first I had a little difficulty with the view finder, with the very light weight tri-pod, it does bounce around a little, but if you put the scope on a shooting table or some other solid foundation, it seems to work ok, I did not want to spend a lot of money on a spotting scope, and this unit will do for me, but I have a feeling that for very serious shooters they will want more. However, if you are like me, that shoot occasionally, and not in competition, this scope should fill your needs... hope this helps with your decision.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
SCOPE OVERVIEW
12/26/2016
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
WORTH THE $ compared to many others, clear optics, powerful very clear even @ 200yds down range...angled eyepiece is both a plus yet a minus sometimes, cant have both...TRI POD is as many others say VERY FLIMSY...already replaced it to stop the accravation, overall a good purchase
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
decent, for the price.
8/26/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I have used the Blazer at home looking at various distances in the woods. The scope works well at all powers (20-60) showing a good clear picture. When mounted on the tripod, it seems very front heavy but that also helps stabilize the scope and prevent teetering back and forth in the winds. The neck of the tripod should be made stronger. For the price, I would say that it is a good value. For people who shoot at the range occasionally, it will do the job up to 100 yards and not break the bank.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good spotting scope for a beginner.
10/4/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This Simmons Spotting Scope was exactly what I was looking for. I have deer and other wildlife in a field about 400 yards away. This scope brings them into good view. The tripod was a little short and I need to put it on a table, but it is all good. The zoom and focus features are in a good position and easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The eye relief at the long zoom range is unusable
9/12/2012
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It is good at 20x range but when it gets closer to 40x or 60x, then it is unusable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
General Purpose Scope
3/24/2017
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
A good spotting scope out to 200 yards. Maybe 300 yards if your eyes aren't too old. The tripod is terrible. If you have a decent tripod from a camera, use it!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Decent for the price, but tripod is trash
1/22/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
First one had bubbles and other imperfections on an inner lens so it was returned. I actually got the only one in nearby stores, so I had a competitor price match and bought it there. 2nd one I got had a hard time screwing in the tripod mount (store display unit tripod mount was completely stripped out) but once I got it threaded it was OK. Opened up the tripod and one leg was busted... the tripod is literally junk. Replaced tripod with a better one I already had as well as a tabletop tripod for when a full sized is not needed or just too big. Find a good one that's not busted and it's worth the $60
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642870, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-